Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Prime Series mono subwoofer amplifier — 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # R500X1D

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Prime Series mono subwoofer amplifier — 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # R500X1D

160 reviews
View this product

Awesome amp with great power

Alan from GROVE CITY, OH on 1/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good power at good price. Matched well with my kicker 10s. Small and compact. Only negative at all is the power indicator light on the remote. Its crazy bright. I just covered it with a piece of tape and now its manageable. I mean its like key ring flash light bright. I suggest finding the led light on the remote before mounting and make sure you plan for its location to not have it shining upwards or towards the drivers face, or cover it with tape.

Pros: Small, compact, all adjustments are easily accessible , more than enough power for my 10s

Cons: Blue LED light on remote is unnecessarily bright

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Carthage, TX on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A++++++++

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Ringgold, GA on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of bang for the buck! Powerful and compact.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, AL on 12/24/2019

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bang for the money!

Crutchfield customer from Flint, TX on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this amp to power my Fosgate P3D4 12" sub which is in the back of my 97 Silverado ext cab. This amp gives me great bang for the buck! Super hard hitting bass. I've had no issues so far, and with the professional Crutchfield sales and service, I can't go wrong. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Way more than the advertised 500 watts

Cons: Would like to see amp adjustment ports on the side of the amp instead of the tip. But, only because of the way I've mounted my amp.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Lagrange, GA on 12/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolute steal. Got mine and it benchmarked to over 630 watts. Performs excellently for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Folsom, CA on 11/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great compact powerful amp

Pros: compact, powerful, clear

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amplifier, puts out more than it's rated.

Ryan from COLDWATER, MS on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent RF Amplifier, more than meets its advertised ratings unlike many manufacturers today. It's rated to be 500w RMS 2 Ohms, my Birth/Dyno sheet states 658w RMS 2 Ohms. The only issue is this is a mono-block, and does not have second jacks for wiring multiple subwoofers together, but chances are if you're wiring more than one sub together you aren't purchasing this AMP (unless you purchased some RF P1-10 Shallows for a truck, then this is a great amp for it, though the wiring process is a bit complicated at that point). Fits perfectly under the second-row captain seats of a 2004 Tahoe LT, though I need to find a better way of strapping it down as it tends to slide out to the floorboard sometimes.

Pros: Size, Power Output, Excellent for single subwoofer systems.

Cons: Is not the greatest for 2 or more low-watt subwoofers, but is doable if you know what you're doing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, TX on 10/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm extremely satisfied with this amp highly recommended would purchase again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

A bang for your buck

Crutchfield customer from Coral Springs, FL on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Affordable and practical, the amplifier does come with the remote bass knob.

Pros: You can control the gains from the seat, so you dont have to go to the amplifier to modify this

Cons: You cant install it like a tower like other amplifiers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Porterville, CA on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with the right subs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Gibsonton, FL on 10/6/2019

1993 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To be honest this amp really thumps.... got it as part of a Fosgate bass package so I know they were matched right the amp blew the punch sub in a matter of weeks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice

Crutchfield customer from Fishers, IN on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great amp and good for it's price. It's easy to know what goes where.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Jency from Harvey, LA on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The addition of this amp meets and exceeds my expectations. My system pounds with some pressure now.

Pros: More than enough for 2 10's

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Hartselle, AL on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this amp and 2 r2d2 10's for my 06 wrangler. Had a box custom made and it sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp! Using it to drive a single kicker compr 12 at 2 ohms. Bass is incredible

Pros: Tiny footprint. Big power

Cons: Blue light on amp and remote is crazy bright at night

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Watervliet, MI on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powers my sub perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Guest from Salt Lake City, UT on 8/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, packs lots of power and perfect for my 4runner

Pros: Small but powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lots of power!

Martin from Texas on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound,lots of power,easy install and setup. Crutchfield has amazing customer service I have no worries spending my hard earned money with them.

Pros: Powerful,easy install,looks great,sounds great!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 7/10/2019

2007 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been a really solid little amp, for the price I'm kinda shocked it's been able to keep up and push power.

Pros: Price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great buy!

Crutchfield customer from Northampton, PA on 7/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to power Kicker 10's 44DCWC102. Does the job! Only reason I docked it a star is Rockford put this super bright blue led on the top of the amp where the gain settings are and it's literally blinding. They could of put it on the wire side so you could adjust the settings a little easier and same thing for the remote bass knob. I even mounted it out of site under driver side and the blue led still blinds me! Took a piece of electrical tape and some aluminum foil to fix the problem and now I have a cool glow effect for my feet! There's also no fuse on the amp like most mono sub amps so make sure to get an inline fuse 50 amp for this amp in manual.

Pros: IT'S ROCKFORD! ALWAYS DELIVERS THE POWER TO BANG!

Cons: Blue light!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Brooktondale, NY on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little amp really does a great job pushing 2- 10" p1 speakers in a ground whacker ported box. This is in a 2008 silverado crew. Zac really set me up right

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Can't go wrong with this little beauty!

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, PA on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power, small package, great price, pushes a RF P2 12 nicely!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awe

Guest from Houston, TX on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is the best for the price thanks Rockford fosgate

Pros: All good

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fosgate power and quality

Crutchfield customer from San Juan Capo, CA on 5/22/2019

2019 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid, clean and powerful. Can't go wrong with this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Marianna, FL on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple hook up. Great performance

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good amp and good value!

Crutchfield customer from Paducah, KY on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adequate amp to power the 2 - 12" subs in my car. The level control in nice to adjust the bass level due to the differences in recordings.

Pros: Plenty of power Level control Small size

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

THIS AMP ROCKS

James from Madison, AL on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp ROCKS! With teenagers in the house we have 3 cars that all have this amp. We love it- drives two 12" subs splendidly and really thumps. We have 2 set up in sealed boxes for Dad's music and one set up in a ported box. The ported box is really fantastic - very loud and sounds great! I have the 500W Alpine in my truck and it doesn't compare to this amp. Love RF!

Pros:

Cons: the light on the bass knob is too bright- If that's the only complaint, you know it's awesome!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Indianapolis

Jamal from Indianapolis on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A punch a lot of power for its small size it blew out my first 12 inch kicker I had to get a 12 in 1200 watt American Bass in the bass knob you can ask for no more it's just right for my full size 08 Buick Lucerne

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros: Great product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 9 found this helpful

Love this thing

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small powerful easy to install tons of punchn

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great start to build on.

Crutchfield customer from Statesboro, GA on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Rock solid amp that has plenty of power to push the P2D4-12 I have it running. Still tuning so not sure how I feel about the sound with the bass boost turned up more vs a very low boost setting and a little more gain or volume. With my 1.3 ft sealed box the bass boost brings out some unwanted peaky frequencies. But, in with the db boost in moderation, this combo has a very solid and smooth, deep bass that sounds great.

Pros: Plenty of power and plenty boost to spare. Easy to get set-up. Generates virtually no heat.

Cons: Deeply counter-sunk mounting holes, combined with low quality screws, were very challenging to get started and get snug without stripping the head. Loose the supplied mounting hardware and use some longer hex-head screws.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Corapeake, NC on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works very well with my 2- tens

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Cody from Claremore,OK on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp played fairly loud for a full 13 hour drive from Oklahoma to Alabama stayed cool and kept bumping love this amp

Pros: Small Powerful and Reliable

Cons: None that I have found except the crossover isn't the best

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Maricopa, AZ on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Benjamin from Central Point, OR on 1/2/2019

2013 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this as part of the 500 watt bass package. Excellently matched and surprisingly loud and clean for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Jay from Gilbert, SC on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came with a Bass Box set. Setup was easy and it work great with the system and 2 x 10' RF Subwoofers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Michael from Crawfordsville, IN on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp definitely powers my 15 without an issue. Sounds great and easy to install. Compact design really surprised me as to how much power this thing really puts out

Pros: Easy install. Packs a punch. Nice and compact.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great, small amp packs a helluva punch!

Robert from Richmond Hts, OH on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the cost. I have two, one for each of my vehicles. One is pushing a 12 inch rockford fosgate p3d4 sub ran parallel and the other is pushing two 10 inch rockford fosgate p2d2 subs. Excellent bass with a clean, hard punch. Small footprint for easy installation anywhere.

Pros: Small footprint, powerful, adjustable frequency and phase. Adjustable bass control.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Amp!

Kelley from Odenville, AL on 10/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have it on a P2D2 it sounds great. Hits harder then the 15 inch sub i had in high school.

Pros: its great to be able to turn the gain up and down from the drivers seat.

Cons: I haven't found any. wish i could buy more rockford fosgate stuff!!!!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Rockford Punch hard

HERBERT from San Juan, PR on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best small mono amp. Keeps cool even at high. Best site to buy. Free and fast shipping

Pros: Everything about it

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

R500x1d, r2d2-12

Rudy from Lockhart, TX on 9/15/2018

2013 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2013 Mustang gt with shaker 500, also have the datalink maestro mus1 kit and kenwood ddx795 head unit. I purchased the R500x1d with the bass package including the rockford fosgate p2d4-12 subwoofer and sound ordinance box. Absolutely wonderful. Sub handles the power effortlessly and plays clear deep bass. Performs best without punch remote.

Pros: Price, performance, sound quality

Cons: Punch remote blue light too bright

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Texarkana, TX on 9/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Shelby from Jonesboro, GA on 9/2/2018

2015 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a great amp, a lot of bang for a little buck. Its small and compact. All the connections are easy to get to. Love it!!!!

Pros: Great amp!!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

R500X1D = The Truth

Dee from Mobile, AL on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is roughly 6"x8" in size but packs a seerrrrous PUNCH! I was running one 4 ohm dual Punch 10 @ 2ohms (p2d4-10) in sealed box underneath my rear bench seat in my 2014 Ram crew cab. BOOM! Sounded great but of course I wanted more! So now I have 2 rockford 10" dual 2 ohms @ 2 ohms (p2d2-10) and man even though it sounded great already ...adding that 2nd speaker really shows you what sound this little guy is capable of producing (birth sheet at 651 RMS btw). It sounds even better. Clean, true, throaty bass punch. Thank you Crutchfield for all your wisdom on getting the best bang for my buck and for all the wiring tips. I'll be looking for an aftermarket head unit next on here. Tied in a Scosche loc2sl to my rear door speakers so I didn't lose my Uconnect capabilities...and for easy setup. This amp is the truth. Period. Local car audio store owner refused to discuss the "punch" model amp instead of this "lower end prime". He says it does all I'll ever need it to with the application(s) I had in mind before setup. He was right. Can't go wrong with this amp guys!

Pros: Remote knob, easy tuning, great output....even better with 1 dual 4ohm or 2 dual 2 ohm subs.

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, PA on 8/5/2018

2010 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have this powering a single rockford phosgate 12" in a sealed box. hard to beat for the price. Have been running it hard for the last few weeks with no issues. Amp stays pretty cool to the touch even after extended periods of use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Booming Amp!!!!

Chili from Los Angeles, CA on 7/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp has some serious power! I'm using this to push my 12 inch Rockford P3 in a Ground Shaker box and honestly the sub can't handle the amp turned up past 4!! This would easily push a two 12s or a 15" without breaking a sweat! I highly recommend this amp especially for a one sub setup. I would use this with a 15" L7 and you will be BOOMING down the block!!!

Pros: Small, powerful, tons of settings, affordable, well built

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Nazareth, PA on 7/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was bought as part of a bass package and has delivered everything our advisor said it would. Great amp. Thanks Kay

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Nate from Indianola, IA on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of clean power. It had much more than I expected

Pros: Small compact size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Product

Jerome from NC on 6/12/2018

2017 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made! Easy to install! Makes my RF 12 Punch R2 hit really hard in a Sound Ordanance sealed box! A head turner for sure in my 2017 Charger! Would be a good idea to include a wiring kit with your amps! Maybe a Crutchfield branded one that is automatically included in the price? Thanks! Oh and quick shipping! It came quicker than I thought and was very well packaged! Thanks again!

Pros: Easy Install Perfect size for my application Controls easily accessible

Cons: Wish it came with a wiring kit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Stephen from Aiken,%20SC on 6/12/2018

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been an installer for over 20 years and have always relied on MTX for adding bass to a system. But decided to try Rockford Fosgate for my work truck. I am very satisfied with this set up. Easy to install. Just enough power that you won't drain the battery. Sounds great, Hits the lower and higher bass clean. And this matching set is reasonably affordable. I would recommend this product to all who are looking for great sound and bass response. I am now a Rockford Fosgate fan.

Pros: Cost, quality, and ease of installation.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Solid amp

Colin from Pleasant Hill, IA on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Rockford Fosgate makes some solid amps. They understate their power ratings on their amps too; this 500W amp puts out 652W according to its "birth sheet". The inclusion of a bass knob is a nice touch as well.

Pros: Extended warranty if you use Rockford wiring Understated power ratings

Cons: None I can think of yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Run your system not your mouth

William from Mansfield, TX on 5/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked up to a Toby* dual 10" "Hit-man" sub-woofer. This amp claims 500x1 rms@ 2 ohms. Toby has them tested to put out 660 x1 rms @ 2ohms. I can hear and feel that it hits harder than my Alpine thats rated @ 500rms so I believe Toby's tests and is more than a 500 watt setup needs which is good to have. Combine a Toby sub and RF amp and you will heard long before you are seen. : )~

Pros: cost, easy hookup, hits hard,

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Newfield, NJ on 5/13/2018

2015 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 5/8/2018

2016 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazingly loud! Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Raul from Dallas, TX on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed and this small amplifier is VERY powerful. Makes my Rockford Fosgate 10" T1s quake! Small but VERY VERY powerful amplifier. Great amp for the price. Definitely do not regret getting this amp.

Pros: Makes my Rockford Fosgate 10" T1 quake!!

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Carl from Ward, AR on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small but powerful!

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Easy to use, well built, good looking

Cooper from Chicago, IL on 4/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great little single channel that I use for a dedicated Sub amp. The remote punch dial is a nice feature, and the amp is relatively easy to dial in to the settings you'd like. It's not tiny, but it's not as large as some products. The amp is built very solid, and it pairs perfectly with my 8" rear deck sub. I'm a newb with very little experience with car audio, but this amp was easy to install and easy to use. I'm very happy with my purchase, but like I said I'm a newb and I don't know much.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Michael from Bay City Texas on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is a good amp for the buck. put it with a 10" DVC 4ohm Kicker Comp and it blew the sub. yup had the sub over powered an bit but it dang sure did the job. i will be getting a 10" SVC 4ohm Kicker Comp sub this week and we will see if the sub can hold up. but the amp can for sure push out some AMPS. LIVE LOUD......

Pros: $$$$, AMPS output, size, and power/amp draw is low on the battery

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Mack from Natchez, MS on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is as advertised, small but packs a lot of power. I have only been using this amp for a short time but so glad I tried it.

Pros: Easy to hook up It doesn't get hot Small and unnoticeable

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome single channel amp highly recommended it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fosgate

Raymond from Madera, CA on 4/15/2018

2014 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice power and great price

Pros: Power size and price

Cons: Angle of power inputs, should be angled straight and not down

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Adam from Colby, KS on 3/29/2018

2014 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Eagle, ID on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality. Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from American Fork, UT on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp Very happy with this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Christopher Gage from Chester, VA on 3/5/2018

2000 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pushes exactly what i need for the p2 rockford

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Miguel A from Miami, FL on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is amazing. It puts out exactly what i need it to and since i got it on a combo deal it was a lot cheaper than stand alone. I have it paired with a 12inch RF sub and it shakes the whole car if ib want it to, i run out about 40% of it total power. I am extremely happy with my purchase and couldn't gotten a better choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Purchase

Justin from Clinton, TN on 2/25/2018

2002 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good constant power, looks great, and easy install

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great amp, do not underestimate its power!!!!

Don from Aliso Viejo, CA on 2/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought mine yesterday from a local authorized dealer. I bought it to power my JL AUDIO 10 inch stealthbox for my 2014 Honda CR-V. I was skeptical on getting this amp but when i played the first song, OH MAN!!!!! Lots of power, clean and no distortion at all even at a very high volume. It doesn't get warm, my JL SUB IS 400 watts RMS, power hungry but this amp does its job. GREAT GREAT AMP!!!! Great price, great power

Pros: Lots of power, clean sound, no distortion, accurate power rating, small and can be mounted anywhere

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

GREAT POUNDING BASS

Crutchfield customer from Unionville, VA on 2/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

VERY NICE AMP AWSOME POWER ROCK MY 12IN PUNCH WOOLFER

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Chelsea, MA on 2/12/2018

2010 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So happy with this amp. Purchased as a part of a package, and couldn't be happier. I love how small it is easy to mount and keep out of the way. Also the punch level knob is convenient.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

David from Slingerlands, NY on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great ,paired it up with JL sub box . In my semi stock stereo system. Easy to install , small and powerful , and adjustable volume for base . Filled the void in the car .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Banks, OR on 1/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it was an easy install and is delivering the performance I expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 1/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install!

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing quality product

Justin S from Arkansas City, KS on 12/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing pounds... This little beast truly put out around 635 watts rms @ 2ohms, comes with Rockford certified certificate showing actual rms "continuous power" tested @ 2ohms... From experience the rms is usually around 630... I have purchased 3 of these amps, one for my 16 yr old son's SUV, and 2 for my ram 1500 single cab... I run 2 of these BEAST each running @ 2 ohms paired with dual 4 ohm Alpine type r 12's, the new ones that run at 750 watts rms... This system is amazing, if you want an awesome reasonably priced subs and amp go with this set up! You will not regret it guaranteed...

Pros: Everything! Great dee sound, powerful punch, amazing lows, never gets hot!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Lyndon from Elmont, NY on 12/8/2017

2013 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing was awesome..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Totally Awesome!

John from Ohio on 11/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned this amp for about 2 months now. I needed an amp for a P2-12 inch woofer and the guy who sold me the amp said that this amp kicked butt! After I heard it the first time, I was sold. I have played it every day the entire time I have owned it. It doesn't kill my battery like the old amps used to do all the time. This amp will give you plenty of bottom end and I mean plenty. It literally shakes me good when i'm going down the road. I have played everything from heavy metal to the finest classical music and with the radio and mids and tweeters I bought I have one awesome sounding stereo. Great amp for the money, it'll deliver, I promise!

Pros: Super bass amp, great low end definition, easy to adjust.

Cons: None so far other than it could easily kill a woofer if you set your gain to high

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

My system

James from OH on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation it's part of one of the best kits I've ever owned.

Pros: Quality is good easy to tune and produces good quality sounds

Cons: I'm not sure what to say bad about it . I guess I'm wondering if I can run two twelves off it?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Price

Crutchfield customer from Elmore , AL on 10/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power. Have it hooked to a 12 sound ordinance. It hits hard

Pros: Come with remote bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice amp, easy installation and setup.

Scott from Orlando, FL on 9/18/2017

2017 Lexus GS350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amp so I can add a subwoofer to my Lexus GS350 with the Mark levinson system. I used the high level inputs from the subwoofer. After a quick adjustment of the gain it sounds great!

Pros: It's Compact and powerful.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Fort Drum, NY on 8/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, very simple set up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Bentley, KS on 8/21/2017

2014 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to set up and use, can't beat it for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Iroquois IL on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works awesome! Can't beat it for the money!

Pros: Awesome for the price!

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Bryan from Dublin, CA on 7/8/2017

2012 Volkswagen CC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great way to bypass factory system

Brian from Chandler, AZ on 6/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a owner of a 2015 Chrysler 300C I was left wanting by the factory stereo. Little did I know when I purchased this vehicle how difficult it would be to replace the factory stereo system. I went to a few local car audio shops and they wanted huge bucks to install a sound system I would be happy with. Then Kenwood and Maestro came together and released this amp. As soon as I heard about it I bought it. It was a bit of a pain to install sine the install instructions are very basic. I think they are intended for professional installers that already know how to install this system. I took my time and figured everything out and had it installed in about 5 hours. Then it was time to "tune" the system using the Android app. It's been over a week and I have spent many, many hours trying to get the sound just right. Without some kind of spectrum analyzer this is all by ear. The problem is using mp3's every song was recorded at different settings which makes every song sound level different. What a nightmare! This is not the fault of Kenwood. But Kenwood needs to release better tutorials for how to use the app. Thus only giving 4 star rating based on the app being so hard to figure out. Everything else was perfect except the way Kenwood shows you to wire the remote turn on wire for a separate amp is a problem. It only supplies 2.5 volts and my separate amp required a 12 volt source to turn on requiring me to find an alternate way to turn on the amp when m

Pros: Great sound and options

Cons: Meant for a pro to install and tune

Crutchfield response on

1 of 10 found this helpful

Nice amp

Crutchfield customer from Harlingen, TX on 6/25/2017

2012 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great look & small enough for easy placement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does the job for a 15 at 2ohm

Barry from Chico, CA on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Before reviewing the amplifier I put 2 weeks on the clock to help me form some feedback. I have it hooked up with a punch 15"dvc at 2 ohms and this thing is a monster. It has been able to send clean and stable signals to the subwoofer although it was rated at 500watts the information sheet on the manufacturer testing sheet shows it's pushing 628 watts. There has been no overheating issues on the amplifier and this is the middle of a hot summer in California. I have had amplifiers in the past with much less quality. Pros: Cons:

Pros: It is small and very sturdy feeling. Comes with volume control knob remote dial. Strong steady signals and it handles heat.

Cons: Turn the brightness factor on that control knob down on the next models. I coulda used that thing to replace my headlights! I had to put a few layers of tinted tape over it after day 1, I couldn't stand it.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Perfect amp

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant hill, CA on 5/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp. Have it hooked up to two polk db10s and wow they sound insane. Plus the remote for the bass level is nice to have. Overall would 100% recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Colton from MT on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Suprised me works really good I would buy it again

Pros: Small so easy for space

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, Ny on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Mass on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp and plenty of clean power best little amp for the $. Great addition to the Harman Kardon system in a Buick lacrosse

Pros: Small but ton of power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate Prime Amp

Beau from Sand Springs ok, on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im running 2 Rockford P1 10s with this amp at 2 ohms in a dual custom ported truck box for a single cab and they replaced my 2 10" kicker comp s subs ran with a 500 watt mono Alpine amp very similar to this amp and the new Rockford amp and Rockford Subs sound freaking amazing..They hit hard and sound great with all types of music and the lows are awesome! It absolutely shakes everything in my truck.. I strongly recommend this a.m. and just like my Alpine, this amp was actually tested and runs at 648 watts RMS and came with a True watts certificate.

Pros: Everything about it! Very small compact size and fits under my truck seat. Very powerful and it looks great..

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Grat price point

Tim from Flint, MI on 4/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this with the Rockford P2D4-12 and the Sound Ordnance sealed box. what a combination. RMS cert's at 613. you cannot get better bang for the buck.

Pros: cost options remote

Cons: blinding blue light on the control knob. this will be painted over.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Amp for the money

Tim from Herndon, VA on 3/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Really pushing my Kappa 800.

Pros: Open box price. Backed by the Crutchfield Team. Easy to wire in.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 3/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's small and powerful!

Pros: Came with a certificate with how many rms watts it actually has.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Morristown, TN on 3/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great amp, currently have two, awesome power for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Russell, KS on 3/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is great is you want to hook up one p3 at 500 watts makes the sub bump like a champ

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

aaron from Coldwater, MI on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great very sleek looking

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Hatfield, PA on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small powerful amp. To much power for small 10 woofer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Major power, tiny footprint, excellent product!

Jeff from Erie, PA on 2/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once again Rockford Fosgate has done it, and they did it big! The first thought once I unboxed this little R500X1D, it was amazed at how small the footprint of the amp is. The power certification sheet indicated 644 watts of total power. Rated at 500 but actually produces 644, that is a Rockford standard, overpowering their amps. I matched this amp to a pair of Rockford R2D2 and wired to a 2 ohm load. This amp has all of the power in the world to walk the 10's right out of their box! Awesome amp! Highly recommended!

Pros: Small Footprint Low Price Lots of Power Remote Bass Knob

Cons: Does not have high level turn-on if using high level inputs, must wire an on/off switch Indicator (power) light on Bass Knob is extremely bright, especially at night

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Dan from NY on 2/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp makes my system rock...I love it

Pros:

Cons: the mounting holes were a little inconvienant

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic amp

Matt from Port Orchard, WA on 2/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always been a huge fan of Fosgate amps. So when the Crutchfield advisor recommended this among others as options for my setup, it was a no brainer. I also appreciate that the recommendations I get from the Crutchfield experts are very reasonable and they're not trying to push you toward the most expensive stuff. This amp has loads of power for my needs. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: Plenty of power for the cost. Super reliable brand.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Mitchell from Columbus, GA on 2/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and extremely fast shipping!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple, yet very effective amp!

Phoenix from California, MD on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much like my sub review, this is my first mono amp! Very impressed! It is also for a 2015 Mazda 6 (non bose). Came with everything I needed-including digital inputs as the stock head unit does not have RCA jacks. Just tap to any + or - wire coming from behind the head unit and run it through! Fit perfectly in the side of my trunk! Awesome amp if you want to add more-but not murder your pocket! Also comes with a "remote" switch with a cable long enough to mount anywhere!

Pros: Price, size, two ways to adjust bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerful amp for a P3D2 19

Arauna from Glendale, AZ on 1/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this amp! Had it set up in my Toyota Tacoma, I did the install, and it did what it does to push my Rockford P3D2 10". Crutchfield team, has all the link needed for self installers. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Brendan from Yadkinville, NC on 1/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little amp is amazing to push a P3D4 10" RF sub to. Even though the manual does say 8 gauge w/ 50 amp fuse is recommended, I would suggest getting a Knu-Konceptz 4 Gauge Kolossus OFC complete wiring kit for it. Had it for about 2 months now and doesn't give me any problems.

Pros: Very small Easy to install Runs very cool (not related to me) If RCA's aren't present, you can tap into speakers with the high level output.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Thump from Small Amp!

Erick from Maryland on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a powerful little amp. I installed it in my 2015 Elantra and it suits my vehicle nicely. It's very compact and well constructed. It's somewhat heavy for its size but that just speaks to the quality materials. I bought this as part of a bass package and it works perfectly! I highly recommend this for any entry level audio set up, OR for anyone looking to add serious bass but not looking to rattle the whole neighborhood. :)

Pros: Size, build quality, appearance, remote punch knob for easy, on-the-fly bass adjustment.

Cons: Only con is screwing the amp to my seat was difficult because the slots where the screws go are quiet deep and hard to see into to align the screws.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Branford, CT on 1/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything exactly how its described!! Easy to wire, puts out great power and small enough to fit perfectly behind the seat of my pickup truck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big sound, little unit

Ken from Bellaire, OH on 11/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprising output from such a small amp. Appearance is beautiful, and all wire hook ups are clean looking even after installation.

Pros: Size, wire hook ups, punch subwoofer volume control

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product, great price

Dan from Auburn, AL on 11/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, performs as expected. Easy to install with the recommended amp install kit from Crutchfield, pairs perfectly with my Rockford Fosgate 10in subwoofer in my 72 Chevelle.

Pros: Easy to install, doesn't overheat, provides clean crisp sound to my system

Cons: The blue light on the remote punch control is really bright, make sure to mount it where it will not be in your vision at night.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp

Eran from Richmond Hill, Ga on 11/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Packs a punch (no pun intended) in a compact amp.

Pros: Easy to install and operate

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice amplifier

Nathaniel from Merritt Island, FL on 11/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sub powers my 2 JBL 12 inch subs

Pros: Easy to install, provides the perfect amount of power for what I need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Merrimack, NH on 10/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from crozet on 9/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp. Allows for many different settings. Easy to install. Once again another great product by Rockford Fosgate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Wes from Lignum, VA on 8/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powers my 2 12inch Rockford Fostgate punch 1's, sounds great and perfect amperage. Plus if you try to buy this amp witrout a wiring kit, Crutchfield shows you what kits are best for the amp.

Pros: Great power Easy to understand directions Easy DIY

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cool amp

John from Avon, CO on 8/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Package came neatly shipped with all parts required for installation. Amp seems solidly built. Runs very cool in a compact space in my car, so heat is not an issue. This amp has been putting out consistent performance for a few weeks now and i expect it to hold up to my demands for quite some time seeing as how cool it runs.

Pros: Sweet deal with bass package

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp with one minor problem

Jon from Springfield, Oregon on 7/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great budget amp. Has anyone else encountered this issue: Comes with a 60Amp fuse but the manual lists the device as needing a 50Amp. It clearly states in the manual that the 50Amp is not included. So, if you buy this amp, you should also buy the "Install Bay MANL50 Fuses" so that you can actually use the amp once you install it. In fact, all the amps listed in the manual don't even us a 60Amp fuse. They use 50's, 80's, 100's and 150's so I am not really sure why there is a 60Amp fuse included at all. I'm a novice at wiring stuff up, but that still seems obviously wrong.

Pros: Fits a budget system nicely and easy to wire up with plenty of cable length.

Cons: That fuse thing is weird.

Crutchfield response on 8/2/2016
Jon's new Rockford Fosgate amp, the Prime R500X1D, actually includes no fuse, letting him pick the appropriate wiring kit for your amp. We recommended the EFX amp wiring kit Jon purchased, which does include a 60-amp fuse. When an amp wiring kit doesn't include a fuse that matches the amp's recommendation, it's acceptable and safe to go with the next higher fuse rating as Jon did here to protect his electrical system.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great amp

Crutchfield customer from Houston, Texas on 7/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great amp I could tell the sound difference after switching it with my 500 kenwood. The control knob really helps with tuning and making the bass match the volume. I'd recommend this product to anyone for anything

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome budget amp

matt p from Louisburg, NC on 7/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this amp hooked up to a pair of P1S415s in a 2.5ft per sub sealed box 1in mdf in a 03 durango and they put out some clean low and loud bass..if you have a good head unit and with high pre outs and ofc 4ga wire you won't have a problem..great for a budget

Pros: 668 watts for the money. It's rockford compact what more to say..if you want a dependable but affordable amp go with prime series

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good overall product

Dan from Alaska on 7/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The install was straight forward and with the compact size it was easy to find space.

Pros: Clean crisp sound. Good power.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

10W3V3 in a Ram

Joshua from Bellingham, WA on 7/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi I have a 2015 ram 2500 Cummins Laramie with the Alpine 8" 10 speaker system. Had it for a year and finally replaced the OEM sub, it basically took a year to fork over the cash for a $650 single 10" speaker in a little carpeted box. I'm feeding the 10W3V3 with RF's cheap Prime 500/1 amp, it speced out at 608 watts @ 2 ohm RMS and makes it play very loud. Used an Audio Control LC7I to combat the bass roll off issues and mounted the Prime bass knob under the steering wheel to the right. The LED by the bass knob is really bright so I put a piece of tape over the light. I have a 500w Eclipse and 2 12" sealed Infinitys in my old Ranger and the JL/RF is probably as loud.

Pros: cheap/small/underrated/rad

Cons: Could have speced 700 or 800 watts on the birth sheet. ;)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

JB from Chandler, AZ on 6/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big punch, little box. I've got this guy set up with the 12" Rockford sub in my cube, and I'll tell you, that big sub does NOT beg for more power.

Pros: Power, sound, size

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Amp

Samuel from Rushsylvania, OH on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp and was easy to install. Powers my 12 in great.

Pros:

Cons: Only has one speaker hookup

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Big power little change

Ryan M from Nampa,id on 6/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stop! Don't pass this little monster up.648 rms for 120$...that's a steal...the power and sou d quality of Rockford lives on....it slams my kicker c10's to the max...love everything about the prime amps.

Pros: Power,cost,size,sound quality

Cons: There isn't one.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The perfect amount of bass!

Andrew from MN on 5/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good amount of bass. Doesn't overheat. Compact design

Pros: Compact

Cons: Not very big wire sizes.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

4runner

Jordan from Covington, LA on 5/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My fosgate sub amp is excellent, it holds up better than other amps

Brian H from Coatsville, pa on 5/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield is great on taking care of my order quickly. I had received my amp within 4 days añd installed it and it souñds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Performer

VWJet from Albuquerque, NM on 5/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp was part of a Rockford Fosgate Bass Package that included an R1x10 ten inch subwoofer and a RF designed sealed enclosure. This amp is performing flawlessly. I am controlling the crossover and amp level at the head unit, so I am not using the punch control. The sub is rated at 200 watts at 4 ohms and the amp is putting out 300 watts at that impedance. The amp runs cool and effortlessly pushes this sub, it hits deep and hard. Rockford Fosgate has made a life long customer, the quality of their products are evident in these two products. I am also running two pair of 6.75 inch interior speakers off of the head unit power and everything meshes together wonderfully. This is my perfect system.

Pros: Build quality. Efficiency. Power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lots of distortion problems.

Matt from Malden, MO on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is compact and doesn't heat up under the seat, but I've had distortion issues during the 2 years I've owned it. I find myself constantly adjusting the gain, frequency, and punch to no avail. Rock songs are OK even though the bass isn't very loud, but rap songs were constantly distorted during the the higher pitched bass. I finally switched back to my 7+ year old Kicker ZX300.1 amp and boy did I forget what I was missing. I only need to turn my volume up a third of the way as before and the bass sounds a million times better. My subwoofer is a Fosgate R2SD2-10.

Pros: Small, low-heat

Cons: Not as powerful as previous amps, distortion issues.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 13 found this helpful

Compact size, lots of power!

Ryan from Sebring, FL on 4/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp works great, I barely have to turn it up and I get a ton of power for my single 12" sub. Very happy with purchase, glad to see you can get an affordable quality amp without spending a ton of money.

Pros: Fits perfectly under seat out of the way

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

gary from New Holland, PA on 3/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid amp been useing Rockford amps since the mid 90a never had. Had a problem Rockford fosgate amps birth sheet says 617 watts pushes alpine type s 15 sub

Pros: Class d amp does not get hot easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D Amp is SUPER

Russ from Cornelia, GA on 3/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is definitely a 5 star product. Amp is everything we hoped for.

Pros: Great thump!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rocking out

Scott from suffolk, VA on 3/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and power

Pros: Easy install, meets all my needs for that thump

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This AMP Kicks butt!!!

Gordon from honolulu, HI on 3/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awsome amp. This amp is clean crisp and has power to spare.

Pros: Easy to install due to its compact size. Great sound and quality. Stays cool even when it is pumping out hard hitting bass. I'm convinced Rockford Fosgate is the best bass amp ever since I was a teenager in the 80's.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp

Torri M. from baker, LA on 3/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product, it isn't to over powerful it's right on the money for my subs.

Pros: Installation was simple, clean straight to the point plug-ins. The power and sound is great.

Cons: Draws a lot of power so a cap is needed or your gonna need a boost often

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great amp

Raja from fredericksburg, VA on 3/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price

Pros: Powerful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

John from franklin, TN on 3/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful amp.......useing this with two R2D2 12"s and love it........thinking about adding a second one and upgradeing the speakers......cant go wrong.......

Pros: Price......power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

This little guy is powerful

Waterbug24 from Thornton, CO on 2/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got it hooked up to 2 p1s2-12's 2 ohm and this little guy powers the heck out of them. I would recommend them to everyone and it is worth more than price.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Amp!!!

Atticus from moscow, ID on 2/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Amp is Awesome!! I am powering one fosgate 12" and hot dang does the combo bump. Great quality for the price.

Pros: A lot of power and easy setup.

Cons: Nothing at all

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Power in compact size

Danen G from visalia, CA on 1/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a lot of power in a small package and the Rockford Fosgate R500X1D fit the bill. I powered two Kicker 10" CompR subs with two of these in a Jeep CJ-5. Not a lot of space in a CJ-5, so needed small sized amps. These fit the bill perfectly. This amp comes with a remote Gain control and the Speaker Level input adapter, so you don't have to buy these items separately like with some amps - great value. The connection terminals are simple and solid. I recommend tinning your wire ends before installing - makes for a real solid mount. This amp doesn't have an onboard fuse, so an external fuse is recommended - I used a fused distribution block since I installed two amps, which makes for a clean install and easy fuse access. These amps run the subs with plenty of hit.

Pros: Compact Amp. Solid construction Everything you need and nothing you don't.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect!

Adam from ft myers, FL on 1/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this amp works perfect. its small and very effective, it doesn't get super hot which is nice. i mounted it to the back of my 2 12' sub box and has had no issues with the vibrations. if you are not storing this out of sight keep in mind there is a small blue light when there is power to the amp which is Very bright. the remote knob also has a very very bright blue light. i mounted mine near my right knee and at night it is distracting , I'm going to cover it up with a piece of electrical tape.

Pros: small, efficient, its a rockford, clean looks

Cons: extremely bright light on the amp and remote knob, remote does not come with screws for mounting,

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great amp!!

Houli from los angeles, CA on 1/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice small amp. Good sound pushing one 12" sub. Came rated at 609rms. Rockford fosgate is a solid product ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great amp!

justin from AR on 1/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, huge power for the physical size of the amplifier. Has no problem whatsoever powering a RF 400w P2 12".

Pros: Easy installation, comes with remote knob.

Cons: LED is super bright, all wiring is via screw terminal and they're at a slightly odd orientation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Crutchfield customer from Arkansas on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tonal separation!

Pros: Small, doesn't get HOT.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Mark H from Pennsylvania on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very cool Amp. gives me plenty of power to run my two Rockford Fosgate Prime 10's. I also like the small size of the Amp. Its so small sitting next to my other 2 Amps and it pumps out alot more power than them. I got an S.O.M4050 and a S.O.M2100. The rockford is about half the size of my M2100 (150 watt) And like 4 times smaller than my M4050. I was superised how much wieght there was to it. For a small Amp it sure does wiegh alot. Overall im very satisfied with the purchase.

Pros: Small Size. well built and Power. Also like the remote that you can run up to the drivers seat

Cons: I havent found any yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lots of power

LW from Virginia on 1/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this amp (wired at 2 ohms) with a Rockford Fosgate P2D4-12 sub woofer in a sealed enclosure in a regular cab F-150. It really pushes the sub and sounds great with a variety different types of music.

Pros: lots of power

Cons: none to note

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great

Tobbster from Texas on 12/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. Small footprint Good power

Pros: Small size. Power

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Powerful

BT from Raleigh, NC on 7/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy so far. Bought this to replace a MTX amp. Drives 2 12" @2 ohm. Hits hard. Especially compared to the MTX I replaced. And it does not overheat like the MTX.

Pros: Performance for the money Doesn't overheat and shut off when pushing it.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Win

Maynard from New York on 5/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its really good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Great amp

Kw from Texas on 4/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best bump for your buck

Pros: Pushing 2 12s in a sealed box for a dodge truck under the seats and it goes hard

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

jamesb from Oregon. on 1/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little guy is strong. The nice thing about rockford is they test the true RMS before sending it out and mine was rated for 640 rms.

Pros: Compact Strong

Cons: In the manual from Crutchfield It says to use 8 Guage wire with a 50amp. I did that and fried the fuse immediately. Switched to 6 Guage wire and a 80 amp fuse. Works great.

Crutchfield response on 1/27/2015
The Rockford's owner's manual for this amp does indeed specify 8-gauge wiring and a 50-amp fuse (which is why we also recommend that). But that's for a 500-watt RMS amp. If you're getting upwards of 640 watts, then it's no surprise that the 50-amp fuse wasn't up to the job, especially if you're really pushing the amp. And switching up to the 6-gauge wire is a smart move. That'll make it easier for the amp to get the juice it needs. Good luck and enjoy that amplifier!

12 of 14 found this helpful

Great Amp

Crutchfield customer from Charleston,SC on 11/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is great. It powers my 1 12"sub with no problems. The sound is very clean,I would recommend this to anyone!

Pros: -Clean sound -Small -Easy to set up and enjoy

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Love the amp

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge on 10/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great amp... nice price,,, pushing 2 12s pioneer

Pros: small.... great clean power....

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 7/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the way this amp performs and keeps the sub's slamming! Expect upwards if 600 RMS with this, mine came in rated at 652 RMS. Definatley worth the buy.

Pros: Small, Compact, Sound Quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Bang for the Buck

CCH from KY on 7/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this amp to power two R2D2-12" subs wired at a 2ohm load,and it rocks. The birth sheet that came with the amp showed that when it was tested it had a RMS power of 650 watts. Only have the amp turned up 1/4 of the way and on certain songs I am afraid to turn it up any more because I don't think the twelves can handle it. For it size and price you will not find a better amp. Clean sound, Great heat distribution, Remote volume level (punch level), and Crutchfield lifetime tech support, you can't go wrong.

Pros: Price, Sound

Cons: The light on the remote volume control is to bright for night. Nothing that a black sharpie couldn't fix.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

R500X1D

AScottE527 from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect Mono Block amp for the price! This powers my 10inch Rockford like its nothing.

Pros: Easy hookups and nice clean power an runs relatively cool.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

2 r500x1d on 2 15" soundstream r2's

synister audio from madras oregon on 6/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally bought 2 of these little amps to get through till i got my alternator in so i can run my big amps. That was some 5 or so months ago now and i refuse to switch them out. I have 2 of these each pushing a 15" soundstream r2 and they do it with no effort what so ever at only 5 out.of 11 they are almost too much for the subs. When they came in i opened the box and seen first off the birth sheet stating 620 rms watts and i couldnt believe it. I have both along with my bass processor mounted under the back 40 side of my 60/40 split bench with room to spare and even with both right next to each other they never get even remotly warm even after hours of continuous play time. Absolutly no issues with this amp and couldnt be more then pleased and for the money i promise you can not find a better deal. Will soon be purchacing 2 more of these and 2 of the 1000's for my test bench. Buy this and never buy another amp again. Keep ot up rockford im a customer for life.

Pros: Small in size, big in power, runs cool, mounts anywhere, made by the best. Great sound quality, includes remote and packs at least 120 watts rms more then stated

Cons: Only complaint is i wish it was 1 ohn stable so.i could suck out a few more watts but when i wire my subs too 1 ohm the light goes red, at 2 ohns tho no issues

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great amp

Rob from Nelson Va. on 3/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of power it looks good and is compact.

Pros: Power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Amp

Seth from Jackson Missouri on 12/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this amp powering a Rockford Fosgate P2D4 12" sub and WOW. The sub is rated at 400rms, my amp gain is on 4.5 of 11and im afraid to turn it up any more! I love this amp! Very powerful! I even drive to my cabin an hour away listening to my music and amp never remotely gets warm

Pros: Small, Powerful, looks great, runs very cold

Cons: not a single thing

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

Nate from Denver Co on 9/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is awesome. Everything I expected plus some. It powers my subs great and runs really cool.

Pros: Great amp, lots of power, crisp clean sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

TOP