Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Onkyo TX-NR6100

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # TX-NR6100

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Onkyo TX-NR6100

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # TX-NR6100

40 reviews
View this product

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Nicole from Wallingford, CT on 5/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product. Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Eric from Lenoir, NC on 5/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was great I ordered it in less than 24 hours it was on my doorstep

Pros: All Pros no cons

Cons: I can't find anything wrong with it it's a great receiver

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Frank from Myrtle Beach, SC on 5/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second Onkyo AV system and I love it, much more digital options and awesome sound. I am still trying to connect my Sonos audio system but I am sure I can make it work(after all I am 77 years old)

Pros: simplicity and great quality

Cons: set up slightly difficult for elderly

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Thomas from League City, TX on 5/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was able to hook the Onkyo up with no problems, program the new receiver without any problems. This is the fourth Onkyo that I have owned. I had to reboot the satellite receiver, Onkyo, and TV to get everything in Sync. My surround system is up and running with no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Better than expected

Joseph from PORT ST LUCIE, FL on 5/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately had to replace an Onkyo TX-NR656 that was only about 4-5 years old. Decided to stay with Onkyo and couldn't be happier. This 6100 is a very nice upgrade. the automatic THX settings done with the microphone during setup have set my crossovers to a level that has my sound experience sounding like it never has before. Now I just can't wait until I can incorporate the Klipsch RP8000f that are sitting unused as I am looking to do a minor remodel to the room to accommodate the custom entertainment wall that I built years ago. I would 100% buy this again and would recommend it to anyone.

Pros: Ease of set up, sound clarity

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Jack from Fort Davis, TX on 4/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The remote works great on these Onkyo's. As with all brands of receivers it's hard to set up the settings to get it how you want it to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

David from Fort Wayne, IN on 4/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Dennis from Atco, NJ on 4/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just purchased the Onkyo TX-NR6100. Only had it for about a week. The unit is smaller and much lighter than the older receivers. The sound is good, but it doesn't seem to have as much punch as the older units. It's rated at 100 Watts, but for some reason to me it doesn't perform like it. I've had issues with it communicating with my Samsung 65 inch TV. Not sure as of yet what's going on. I'm hoping I can work out the kinks and that this particular unit is not defective.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Edward from N Ft Myers, FL on 3/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Onkyo. Previously had one and glad to buy another. Sounds great and manual is much easier to understand than previous.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Pradeep from Oakboro, NC on 3/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied

Pros: Great variety of audio/video features.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Mark from Clarksville, TN on 3/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Setup was easy sound is great. Only complaint now when I turn off everything the TV and receiver comes back on and goes to DVD. Still trying to figure this one out. I will call for support but want to try on my own first.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Jay from Sarasota, FL on 3/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received when expected, setup was assisted through the excellent people at crutch field and working like a charm

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great value and sounds fantastic for the price.

Brandon from Denver, CO on 3/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look no further. This does about everything you'd want, 4k/8k, dolby atmos, bluetooth, wifi, etc. Sounds great, and the microphone used for the speaker setup calibrates frequency, and levels automatically. Great value for its features and price

Pros: Easy to setup, sounds great.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100 A/V receiver

Roger F from Raymond, NH on 3/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was time to upgrade my audio system to include HDMI eARC streaming movies. This receiver exceeds my expectations -- especially after taking the time to download the manual and configure all that is engineered into it. The speaker setup process with included microphone is outstanding! We also love the integration of streaming audio channels (minimizes need for Bluetooth and smartphone), and how it integrates with the TV to display menus, make selections, and display audio source info.

Pros: Well engineered, very capable (includes phono M/M input).

Cons: You need to download the manual. Changing from Dolby 7.1 to 5.1.2 (for Dolby Atmos) requires the manual.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

LOVE this ONKYO amplifier

Eileen M from Davis, CA on 3/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE this amplifier which replaced my 20-year-old VC. It is compatible with my older peripheral components and will work with new ones when they need replacement. It is a GREAT amp. The Crutchfield advisor steered me completely right to get this terrific amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Scott from Excelsior, MN on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an 11 year old Onkyo AV receiver when the board went out with this model. Great performance and easy to setup. Prefer to use banana plugs and this receiver supports those speaker inputs for ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love the TX-NR6100

Jesse from Ham Lake, MN on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my old used and abused Onkyo with this unit. Has the same great sound processing that I expect from Onkyo. Paired with Klipsch RP-280F and Klipsch Reference R-120SW. This system sounds absolutely fantastic. The Onk delivers plenty of power and has many sound EQ and level options. The only downfall I have is that you must enter into the menu system to make certain adjustments to the levels or sound. You cannot do this in "real time" which can make fine tuning a bit challenging if performing by ear. Otherwise, it is a very user friendly unit and easy to navigate the menus and settings. I have all the in/outs I need as well as multi-zone and other features ready for system expansion. No issues after a month and looking forward to years of listening enjoyment on this unit.

Pros: Power, sound quality, Ins/Outs, large system expansion capabilities, audio adjustments, setup. Great price for performance.

Cons: Making some adjustments to audio levels/crossover during live playback is limited and can be time consuming.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Crutchfield customer from Rowland, NC on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Grate unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 23 found this helpful

Perfect has all the up-to-date technology can't beat it for the price

Jaime from Houston, TX on 3/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is awesome don't be fooled by the reviews saying it is lacking an audio quality because it is definitely not. I upgraded to this one from my 12-year-old Sony receiver and it is Perfect. Has all the up-to-date Technology. I am running this with all Polk speakers and two subwoofers. To my ear this thing sounds amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Love my 6100

Shawn from Collegeville, PA on 3/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once the firmware updated the TX-NR6100 was a breeze to setup. The menus and functions are very similar to my other Onkyo receivers. I purchased this receiver because of the strong value it provides. It is very hard to beat Onkyo's offering of atmos and VRR at this price point. I added this receiver and Polk 90-RTs to my existing setup and all I can say is wow. Atmos changes the feel of the movie completely and somehow my existing speakers sound better too!

Pros: Sound, features, and price (especially if you by open box like I did)

Cons: Availability is the biggest challenge right now for most receivers.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Donald from Texarkana, TX on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome receiver. I had originally gotten klipsch kd series speakers, but changed to polk.. This receiver has so any adjustments. Plus the thx .

Pros: Lots of adjustments

Cons: Only thing I didn't like was the remote not being UHF. But as an app.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Brendan from Fort Worth, TX on 2/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great so far. Was easy to set up. One primary factor in my purchase of onkyo brand over denon was works with sonos feature to optimize integration with my sonos port - this also has worked as described.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Jeff from N Cambria, PA on 2/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to upgrade an older onkyo mainly for 4K passthrough, upscaling and bluetooth features. But it didn't perform well. 1st problem was the cable input wouldn't work. I called Crutchfield tech, which was very helpful. I explianed the problem and told him I hooked it up the same as my old one seems pretty simple. I also informed him theres no directions. He told me I had to download them off the internet. The only directions (Booklet) you get are in chinese. A piece of equipment at this price and they can't give ya directions in english, WHAT Onkyo. The tech had me try another input which worked. 2nd the bluetooth didn't I coundn't get any sound out of the speakers I tried 3 different phones, we could see the display on the tv and receiver as to what was playing just no sound. 3rd while watching tv it would just go black you could still hear sound but the tv would go black for like 10 seconds did't matter what channel you was watching. I packed it up after 2 days of use and sent it back. I have to say Crutchfield was very understanding on the return.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Well Designed Home Theater Receiver

Rodney from Fairfax, VA on 2/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver sounds great. The on-screen setup is easy to navigate. I really like the Chromecast functionality. When I cast to it, it will automatically turn on from its standby mode. It's been a great addition to my home theater.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice System

David from Eustis, FL on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quirky but not too difficult to set up. It sometimes changes the input source without being requested upon start up (BD on HDMI 1 vs Fire stick on HDMI3) I haven't been able to trouble shoot that yet. Bluetooth transmit caused issues with HDMI after being used resulted in a reset to correct. Sound quality with BD Dolby Atmos is terrific. Music sources (phono,tuner,CD) is just average.Since this was purchased mainly for a home theater use, it is fine but if your emphasis is music maybe not so much. Overall it seems to be a solid piece of equipment. Crutchfield's delivery was excellent as always.

Pros: Home Theater Sound Quality

Cons: Music quality not the best

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Robert from Abingdon, VA on 2/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the Onkyo TX-NR6100 as it is an upgrade from a Sony STR-DH790.The Onkyo plays music and movies with ease and great authority.It has everything that I need in an audio video receiver plus the speaker terminals are not the cheap spring loaded type that some offer, but rather the kind that receive banana plugs and heavier gauge wire. It is also large ,weighty and beefy , a welcome change compared to some other models trending toward smaller, lighter designs. I first heard about Onkyo fifty years ago, and have not owned one until now , so far I am impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

David from Oakland, MI on 2/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWESOME!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Worth the money

Zachary from Sulphur Spgs, TX on 2/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good receiver. Handles everything I throw at it spectacularly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great buy!

James from Pawtucket, RI on 2/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a little research so I would know exactly what I was buying. It is and does exactly what it's supposed to do, great Bang for the buck.

Pros: Plenty of HDMI inputs and assorted connections.

Cons: I guess like everything else it would be nice to be able to control it with your phone. But it's not all that important.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great on company

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 2/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After look for a receiver at the big box stores and not finding one, due to supply chain issues.I looked on line and found Crutchfield. I ordered the Onkyo 6100. Received it in two days and slowly set it up. Works like a charm. I will use then whenever I need electronic equipment. P.S. Onkyo 6100 on line setup directions need to be updated with a drawing on how to hook up the receiver to a cable set top box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Swapping a denon for onkyo6100 yikes

Dave from Spring Hill, FL on 2/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a denon 1600 receiver with the Onkyo 6100. Talked to crutchfield before buying and they felt it probably wasn't worth the upgrade. I was so impressed with their honesty, I still decided to get the new receiver I've been watching for months, the 6100. I'm old and always worry about the wiring and setup. Well it came quickly as advertised and in perfect shape. After waiting a day to build my courage I finally went ahead.being that I already had the denon, it wasn't awful changing them. Well all went well and after 2 hours I was up and running. Only problem was no picture or sound. I use an earc cable so after checking , whoops a mistake. Fixed everything and suddenly I was close to perfection. The 6100 is really easy and the early results are excellent. Moved all my hdmi plugs from tv to receiver and all is running perfect. Even my harmony elite remote was easy to set. Picture and sound are great and I'm finally relaxing. Good purchase from a great dealer. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Guest from North Charleston on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded to this from a Denon S760H bc I didn't have the power I needed to drive my Polk Reserve speakers. This does that job, and does it well. I'm very happy with the stereo settings and playback. However, something is up with the surround sound for my 7.1 setup. It just doesn't play sound and effects nearly as well as the Denon. I'm sure if I keep playing with it I'll figure it out but the Denon was just plug and play in this department. Other than that, good luck finding a receiver at this price point that does 100W/ch of good, reliable power. Oh, and I love the Onkyo app. It works very well and you can EQ anything in real time. Once I get the settings saved into my presets this thing will be perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 9 found this helpful

Audio not that great

Crutchfield customer from Arizona on 12/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As another reviewer noted, this receiver is definitely lacking in audio quality. The mid-frequencies seem too faint while the highs are too prominent, and no matter how I calibrated the crossover for the LFE, the front L/R speakers always seems to be outputting those frequencies when my sub-woofer should be handling them. After spending a couple weeks trying to use auto-calibration along with adjusting the manual equalizers, I could not get the sound that I had with my previous Yamaha receiver. Unfortunately, I had to return it. With that being said, the video pass-through quality is great...no issues there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Fantastic receiver for this price range

Crutchfield customer from Forney, TX on 12/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's nice when things work as advertised. This new receiver works very well and has current HDMI specs which works with our television. Video upscaling looks very good, and the sound is fantastic.

Pros: Has all the latest specifications.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

edwin rodriguez from York Haven, PA on 12/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TI SOUNDS JUST GREAT WITH 8 OHMS SPEAKERS FORM POLK FLOOR STANDING SPEAKERS.

Pros: GOOD IN SOUND

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Audio

Crutchfield customer from Flint, TX on 12/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The audio is not what I had expected. It seems "hollow", no body. In fact, the audio is less than the audio from the television, alone.

Pros: Relatively easy to install.

Cons: Audio lacking

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 12/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver accomplished our goals. We had mulitple speaker wires hanging down in a closet from a house surround system that was left when we purchased and needed a receiver for the CD player . The audio teams wanted between 2 and 8 thousand to do the job. We did it ourselves with this receiver .The phone tech assisted with getting us set up on the instruction guide to installation. Easy and excellent !

Pros: Great delivery and fast.

Cons: None that we can think of. Perhaps a written guide would be easier for those not so tech savy in the downloads.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Crutchfield customer from Ladson, SC on 12/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had two older Onkyo receivers and was really blown away by the sound quality of the new NR6100. The on tv setup instructions were the simplest and easiest to follow that I've ever seen. It recognizes any av source input and automatically transfers the source once you power up say, your Apple TV or DVD player. Also a nicety is the controller app which is really convenient and easy to use (when you loose the remote). Now what I cannot speak for is the 4K or 8K pass through on the video. I bought this to upgrade down the road and currently don't have a 4K/8K source. Other than that it provides the fullest and richest sounds I've ever heard on a home AV unit. Would recommend to anyone.

Pros: Sound quality, easy of installation and setup. Auto shutoff when not in use. App.

Cons: It can get a little warm so have it ventilated and don't put anything on top

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, MO on 12/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it was easy to set up and sounds great. There are many preset audio settings to match the current tv display. From Sports to movies.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR6100

Crutchfield customer from Apex, NC on 12/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up took awhile to figure out but once set up it has been working great. I haven't set up a second zone so can't comment on using that feature. Sound is great and connection to other components worked flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound