Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
453 071 641 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
453 071 641 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Onkyo TX-8220

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # TX-8220

Onkyo TX-8220

Onkyo TX-8220

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # TX-8220

71 reviews
View this product

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Elk , CA on 2/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Simple set up,easy operating. Great sound and power. Love it !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, CA on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just wanted an inexpensive receiver for my bedroom and this is just the ticket. It has blue tooth and many other features I'm very happy with. I would highly recommend this receiver. Also, the Crutchfield team is very accommodating and very helpful when it comes to decision making on the certain product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for my needs

Crutchfield customer from Maumelle, AR on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this receiver to help replace a Sonos Play:5 (Gen 1) in my home office that Sonos was ending updates for. Connected a new Sonos Connect:Port (replacing Play:5) and driving an older Polk satellite/sub system I had laying around. With the FM tuner and Connect:Port's line-in, I can play live (not streamed) radio through the other Sonos speakers in my system. IMO...the receiver driven Polk sat/sub speakers sound much better than the Play:5 Gen 1. This receiver had the sub-out that I needed for the subwoofer.

Pros: Ability to assign digital inputs (optical or coax) to any other input source. In my case, I assigned the coax digital input to the "line" source for the Connect:Port. The "line" input was analog by default.

Cons: Can't rename the inputs on the display. Would like to rename "line" to "Sonos", but that's not configurable.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to simplify down from a Yamaha 5.1 surround receiver, and this has fit that need perfectly: Intuitive set up, easy navigation through the inputs, and a remote that I don't have to put glasses on to read. Plus it powers my JBL Control Monitors nicely. And BlueTooth! Crutchfield delivered as promised in A-1 condition. Thanks!

Pros: Good clean power Easy set-up and use Great value

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't impressed with the salesman that said it would work with a external amplifier

Pros: Nice looking stereo

Cons: Cannot hook external amps to it

Crutchfield response on 1/22/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am running this with two Sony bookshelf speakers and a powered sub. Sounds great. Super simple. Great receiver for the cost.

Pros: Good quality sound. Actually affordable.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second one I have purchased. The first was for me for a small 2.1 stereo rig for my living room. It has been an Excellent choice for my purposes. The second one was a Christmas gift for my daughter and son-in-law. They needed a stereo only receiver for a spare room and will also be used to power a pair of speakers on their back porch. Sound quality and feature set is perfect! Onkyo has always had decent stereo receivers-I still use a TX-8255 in my shop and it powers my deck speakers also. Great units and good quality!

Pros: Good feature set especially bass/treble control from remote. phono input,and sub output.

Cons: Wish all manufacturers would get pre/main couplers back on these units as well as a tape monitor(not just a tape in/out)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Speakers rejoice

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very impressed with the bright, clear sound produced by this receiver. For the money, an absolute winner. I have highly rated bookshelf speakers and they seem to just rejoice in the signal coming from the receiver. I needed a music oriented receiver and listen to primarily blues and blues/rock, but was elated when I played some acoustic guitar music to test it. I use this in a 300 square foot room and have little need for home theater multi-channel. The receiver has enough power to fill a larger room. Bluetooth is great and has phono input. I run my TV and DVD through it. All sounds great.

Pros: Sound, sound, sound. Easy setup. Adequate power. Ability to connect to your existing music inventory - inputs for: phono, CD player, tape player, and more, plus has Bluetooth.

Cons: I would like to have wi-fi, for internet radio and music.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

worth it!

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

amazing and affordable receiver for a new hobbyist audiophile like me. i'm always amazed by the customer support and guidance with crutchfield--one of the best companies i've shopped with online, and will continue to do so. the receiver itself is smartly crafted and produces clear audio for my floor-standing speakers. the bluetooth is a great touch too. love this product!

Pros: great audio, easy setup, easy to use, clean design

Cons: can be slightly more visually appealing, but no major cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Middle Village, NY on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from West Roxbury, MA on 11/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fine quality receiver to use with a simple audio set up. Works great, sounds great. This unit was just the moderate power system I needed.

Pros: Good for use with a simple existing audio set up. Looks good, works great.

Cons: Instructions on naming tuner stations a bit complex.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Winterville, GA on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great basic stereo receiver. Bluetooth works great. Could use a little more power. Would recommend to anyone with a medium size space to fill.

Pros: Sounds good and Bluetooth works well.

Cons: Needs a little more power.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 10/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the Onkyo TX-8220 about two weeks now. It sounds great. Glad I bought it. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Indianola, IA on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed for my garage

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Kerrville, TX on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what I purchased it for. An added bonus, it was not made in China!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Mark from Garfield NJ on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm really enjoying this receiver, its been just as advertised. All the features and power I need for a small listening space. Its been a long time since I've listened to music on anything other than vintage receivers and so far I love this Onkyo and the built in bluetooth works flawlessly. I looked at a few other receivers but settled on this one based on the better audio specs as compared to higher wattage receivers. Also having controls on the face of the receiver is a huge plus, not a fan of only having controls on the remote control.

Pros: Good clean sound Controls on the face of receiver

Cons: Don't like how the volume control has no start and stopping point it just turns and turns. Also you have to really turn it a few revolutions to raise and lower volume.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, LA on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, user friendly control.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good stereo reciever with digital inputs

Crutchfield customer from Dunlap, IL on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to use on my master bedroom setup paired up with a set of klipsch speaker and they sound great. Easy to set up and use the features. I lile that it has optical inputs and has a remote. Bluetooth is a plus.

Pros: Bluetooth, digital inputs, sub output, remote

Cons: I wished the remote had lighted keys.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Davis, CA on 7/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Mc Connellsburg, PA on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This

Pros: The price is right for this quality receiver. Using it for Bluetooth has been a new one for me and I like the feature a lot. The controls are easy to learn and simple...

Cons: .....the controls are hard to find on the front panel without a flashlight. Everything is black there, and the lettering is small faint print.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Gates, OR on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a truly an easy Stereo Receiver to deal with. Great simple hook ups. Looks good also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma, WA on 6/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price, excellent value, well build glorious sound.

Pros: Easy to use, no complexity, good bluetooth

Cons: none so far, just started using

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great Buy

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great buy! Bluetooth and digital optical input. Excellent budget amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Southborough, MA on 5/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a terrific receiver. I was used to one with lots of dials on it so it took me a few minutes to figure things out but I am really enjoying it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Nice little amp

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mary, FL on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little amp. Sounds is bright and clean. Not powerful, but what you would expect from Onkyo. Bluetooth works well. Easy setup and clean phone input

Pros: Price. Sound quality. Dimming display. Remote layout. Bluetooth operation

Cons: Large housing.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Feeding Hills, MA on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is great. Hooking it up was not difficult and it sounds very good when connected to a pair of Polk TSi300 speakers. Levi's advice was right on. I'm extremely happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Davenport, IA on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality and prompt deliverey"

Pros: Lots of quality items great prices.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Mason, OH on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product works wonderfully it's easy to set up with your bluetooth works great and it's a great value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

So Far So Great

Kenneth from Billings on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I have had it about 2 weeks and am using it to play music over bluetooth, and to power the speakers for the TV, which are Boston HD7s which I have had for 30 years. I bought this to replace an older Onkyo receiver which had served me well but did not have bluetooth or a remote. I appreciate the remote, one of the better ones I have used. The sound seems great but I have not much to compare it to. So my main comment is that the receiver is well thought out.

Pros: well thought out design, no snags that I have encountered

Cons: I have not found any

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Apple Valley, MN on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am happy with the Onkyo TX-8220. The sound is distinct and crisp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Timothy from Stockbridge, GA on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound ! I needed a receiver with a sub pre out , this one was perfect. It sounds great with my Polk audio T15 bookshelf speakers. The adjustable treble and bass is a nice feature. It has plenty of power for my music needs. Bluetooth very easy to hookup to iPad.

Pros: Sub pre out Adjustable treble and bass Bluetooth

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Nice stereo receiver, very affordable

Mitchell Dewayne from Edmond, OK on 2/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent stereo receiver for a home office - works well combined with PSB Alpha B1 speakers and Onkyo C-7030 CD player.

Pros: Good features, including Bluetooth playback

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Farmingdale, NY on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice set of features, bluetooth, line out, digital inputs, phono, remote speaker output, bass and treble on the remote. Very nice sounding, clean appearance and layout of controls. I have it set up in medium sized rooms. Can't beat the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 2/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality. Power provide by the unit easily fills the living /great room. I wish that the remote provided a button to switch between speakers (A or B or A/B). Button on the face of the unit for the speakers is small and hard to see and use. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase!

Pros: Sound quality. Power to speakers is very adequate to fill a living / great room, study or any other middle size room.

Cons: Button for changing the speakers is lacking on the remote.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

works and looks great

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, MI on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a new receiver/amp for my vintage stereo. Sounds great, looks great. and was a great buy for what I needed.

Pros: had all the necessary hookups for my vintage phonograph and other inputs. Works great, what packaged well. thanks

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great service

Bill from Sandusky, OH on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and as usual, your consultants really helped me with details to make final choice between three final options.

Pros: Love the new receiver and variety of inputs for all my components

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Plays well with vintage components

Mark from Mc Donald, OH on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second Onkyo product I have purchased. I use this little receiver to power a pair of Technics SB-7000 speakers in my TV/Listening room. It drives them quite nicely at 45WPC with no discernible distortion. I wanted the up to date features of an optical input, Bluetooth, and remote control, along with a phono in for my Technics SL-1900 turntable and a line out to feed my (2)Technics SE-9060 amps when I feel like it. The versatility, quality and price of this unit make it a perfect choice for what I was looking for.

Pros: Plays well with vintage hi-fi components. Optical input from TV and Bluetooth for iTunes and Spotify.

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Sounds great

Crutchfield customer from Cohocton, NY on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We've been using Onkyo products for a long time and they've always been great. I'm really happy with this receiver too. Sounds great with a pair of Yamaha 3 way speakers and a Klipsch powered subwoofer! Easy to set up and adjust. Enough inputs to connect my other components. I like that it has a line out for recording and a phono input for a turntable. The Bluetooth is nice for playing music from my phone also.

Pros: Line out for recording, phono input, subwoofer pre out, Bluetooth

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Philpot, KY on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit does everything I need I to do, works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Fairview, TN on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the new amp. Drummer was very helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Pickerington, OH on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, can't beat it in this price range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The features I needed at a good price

Jim from Suffern, NY on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Modern "progress" forced me to upgrade to a modern receiver from our perfectly good 25-year old Sony - our new Bravia TV didn't have RCA audio outputs (tut-tut) and had the usual terrible TV sound, so we needed an amplifier with optical input. I chose this particular one because it was the only lower-end receiver with RCA outputs to run other devices, in this case a set of wireless earphones. The sound is great, and the operation is straight-forward. However, both AM and FM performance leads something to be desired, at least with the supplied AM loop and FM wire antennae, and we're not exactly in a fringe reception area, being less than thirty miles from Times Square. The output (speaker) terminals are a nightmare: they are crowded, and they accept wires only at impossible angles - there were infinitely better push-and-click connectors on the old Sony. All of this is a bit picky - actually I really like the unit (but I hope I never have to connect the speakers again).

Pros: Straightforward operation, RCA output

Cons: Crowded output (speaker) terminals, so-so AM/FM reception

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

One Great Reciever

Jack from Redford, MI on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say? It was easy to set up. My records, CDs and bluetoooth sound great. It had the features I wanted. I haven't tried the FM yet and will likely never use the AM. This is no big thing, but the ability to dim the display is nice. Now I wish I could do that on my CD changer. I have Klipsch Heresy I speakers, so the 45 WPC will be all I need to blow what brains I have out. This is replacing a Marantz Twenty-Six that was something like 14 WPC. If you have inefficient speakers and have your stereo set up in a gymnasium, you might want more power. I couldn't be happier. If you need an inexpensive stereo receiver with a phono input and a sub outpput that does bluetooth, here's your receiver!

Pros: All the inputs most of us could want. Unobtrusive when you dim the display Bluetooth

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

I needed a simple receiver

Dan from Stafford, NY on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to set up. Setting up my iPad to broadcast music through the receiver was easy and Bluetooth connection seemed reliable. That is all I have tried so far. I just needed a basic receiver with very few features. This receiver replaced an '80s Onkyo receiver I have had since college.

Pros: Easy setup, reliable Bluetooth connection.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Shawn from Little Rock, AR on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A perfect receiver for simple, 2-channel fun. This is my first Onkyo and I wanted something simple, for music. I paired this receiver with Klipsch RP-600M bookshelf speakers for a small bedroom, converted into a small home office. A 40 year old Marantz Turntable hooked right up and some old vinyl came back to life. A 20 year old Kenwood 200-disc changer plugged easy with the coaxial input and the Blue Tooth is awesome. Pairing both an iPhone 6 and iPad mini in seconds, I have the entire iTunes library at my fingertips tips, from anywhere in our condo. For $200 you can't go wrong with this little jewel. An easy remote with simple bass and treble controls. You can also use the EQ feature within the General settings on your phone or tablet, to change sound settings. 5 stars all the way!!!

Pros: Simple, 2-channel, easy set up, blue tooth, phono connection with ground, real speaker connecting post.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Reggie from Aurora, CO on 11/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm glad I bought it. It has all the features balance, tone, headphone jack and blue tooth for a great price.

Pros: Price, separate tone controls and balance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Menomonie, WI on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look nice haven't used It yet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 12 found this helpful

Nice receiver

Gregory Dolecki from Northwest CT on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pleasantly surprised with this receiver. I has the inputs I need and nothing fancy that I don't need. My 35 year old Harmon Kardon unit finally gave up (capacitor failure) and I just didn't feeling like fixing it. So, I first bought a new HK receiver. It sent it back after a week due to substandard sound, too many bells and whistles and a very confusing remote control. I then did some research and found this receiver. It is not high powered but has all the guts that I need in my family room. It is also priced right. I like that the bass is centered around 100Hz. My old HK385i was centered around 50Hz. That made for some annoying sub-sonic rumble while playing vinyl. This Onkyo does not have that issue. My vinyl sounds great. I like that it has an optical input for the TV and an easy to use remote. I recommend this receiver for a no-frills audio experience.

Pros: easy to hook up good sound easy to use remote good price has phono and optical inputs useful tone controls

Cons: small fonts on the front panel lettering

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Tom from Tacoma Washington on 10/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy Installation, works great. Replaced an old unit and provides everything I need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best system for all formats!

John from Winston Salem, NC on 10/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit allows me to enjoy my old records, tapes, CD's and still enjoy the convenience of Bluetooth when I want to.

Pros: Versatile, good sound.

Cons: None that I've found!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Kerrville, TX on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit. This was a replacement for a 30 plus year old system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Mount Upton, NY on 10/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just an outstanding receiver. Great sound by far than other new receivers I have listened to. I purchased this receiver to replace my aging Kenwood KR 900G that I purchased many years ago while serving in the Navy. It was an excellent replacement, and for an outstanding price as well. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Jon from Plainfield, IL on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has all the features I wanted.

Pros: It has great features!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Very good for what I needed.

Richard from Woodstock, GA on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a reciever to power my pool speakers. Also needed it to be equiped with bluetooth Stream music from my phone via bluetooth. Works great. Easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Leo, IN on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Receiver for the price. Easy to install and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pleased and Happy!

Crutchfield customer from Parkville, MD on 7/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Onkkyo TX-83220 certainly fulfills my "old school" needs for a basic receiver to power my vintage 1974 large Advent speakers! No problem so far, only pleasure. However, should I ever have an issue or question, I feel that Crutchfield will have my back! Great product reviews and descriptions, fair pricing, and fast free shipping. What else can I say...You folks rock!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Michael J. Caldare from Cerritos, CA on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

FM Stereo sounds really super. AM antenna is some what a problem to adjust for "best" reception. My previous Onkyo Receiver was a Model TX-8211(B) it had several really great features deleted from the TX-8220: (1) two 115V AC outlets on rear panel, (2) RI connector when connected to other Onkyo units so equipped allowed use of a single remote control, (3) The binding posts for speaker connections are poor substitute for the terminals provided on the TX-8211(B), (4) the terminals for the AM antenna connection are very poor (extremely difficult to use). (5) there is no mention of this unit getting hot in the manual with a 3 inch clearance above the unit and11/2 inch below the temperature on the top center rises to 112 F after 15 minutes of operation! The bluetooth feature is a plus as well as subwoofer connection. MY previous Onkyo lasted 151/2 years

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Holden, MO on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit bought it for my outdoor speakers in my garage, used it in conjunction with a speaker selector running 6 pairs of speakers. Bluetooth is a nice touch for this unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy, simple to use!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

nice receiver

Crutchfield customer from New Kensingtn, PA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would have given the receiver five stars overall but I don't like the volume control (no physical start or stop point on the dial control) and the balance control does not completely cut off the output (one channel on 10 but sound is still audible from the other). Other than those two things, the receiver is great. Easy controls, clean layout and good sound. It does the job and the price is great. Crutchfield rep was great, too.

Pros: Sound, layout, price

Cons: volume and balance controls

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Brian from East Troy, WI on 3/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice receiver.own other Onkyo products.sounds excellent nice looking unclutter front.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

William from Morristown, TN on 3/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. The Bluetooth was a breeze to set up.

Pros: Great sound. Easy set up. Adjustable treble and bass. I love it.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Granby, CT on 3/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a decent receiver to play my music from my IPHONE on my stereo system via bluetooth. This was recommended and it serves my purpose just fine. All my other connections, CD and phono also work well. Th useful remote is another plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Worth the price.

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 3/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use it in my small music room to practice my bass with. It sounds good and the bluetooth feature is nice. A subwoofer connection was the final selling point for me. Very good receiver for the money.

Pros: Good price, bluetooth and subwoofer.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

All the receiver that I need.

Allen from Crawfordsville, IN on 2/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is very nice and meets my needs. Set-up is easy. As noted in another review, it isn't overpowered but, perhaps, my hearing will decline more slowly as a result! It has plenty of power for my living room, however. I'm quite satisfied with it.

Pros: Radio sensitivity is better than the one it replaced. Remote makes it convenient to operate and bluetooth is easy to set up.

Cons: Not overpowered but enough for my living room.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Works OK

Kurt from Angleton, TX on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a Sherwood receiver that went wonky. Not quite the same tone, but serves the purpose. Switchable A/B speaker is a must for a center channel bass. Works good as a replacement in the back music room. 45W x 2 is OK, but slightly lacks the headroom.

Pros: Good for the price. Lots of input options, including BlueTooth, a big surprise plus. Real speaker connectors!

Cons: Cannot control the A/B speakers or add a preset station from the remote.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

Exactly what I wanted.

Alan from Silver Spring, MD on 2/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was exactly what I needed. I wanted to a simple hi-fi stereo receiver that I could use with both modern inputs (bluetooth) and a turntable. Also, I have a pair of 4 ohm speakers that I might decide to use with this receiver. So having a receiver capable of handling 4 ohms speakers was important.

Pros: Good sound quality, bluetooth, speaker binding posts as opposed to clips, phono preamp, and simple & easy to use controls and remote.

Cons: Limit to its volume, but more than enough decibels for most standard-size rooms.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Paul from Linthicum Hts, MD on 2/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the quality and installation was very easy. Excellent.

Pros: Made if high quality parts. Well designed.

Cons: N/a

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from 62234 on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean clear low distortion receiver. Very underpowered. Double the wattage and you have a winner.

Pros: Low harmonic distortion . Great clarity. Clean uncluttered face and rear of unit.

Cons: Underpowered.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 16 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8220

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 1/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it works very well. A replacement for a 35 year old unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best product

Sarah from Brunswick, MD on 1/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound!!!

Pros: Love it!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP