Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
980 004 941 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
980 004 941 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Onkyo TX-8260

Stereo receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Chromecast built-in

MFR # TX-8260

Onkyo TX-8260

Onkyo TX-8260

Stereo receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Chromecast built-in

MFR # TX-8260

51 reviews
View this product

Satisified customer

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, TX on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found the staff helping in making my decision as to what to purchase. They sent the item immediately. Very Happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo tops!

Crutchfield customer from Hanson, MA on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This OnkyoTx8260 replaces my 20+ year old Denon. It was easy to set up. Price was nice too. Music from my turntable, cd and cassette deck, outstanding.Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros: Fast delivery, easy setup, great music.

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Shoreline, WA on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good feature set for today's digital music playback environment

Crutchfield customer from Northborough, MA on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gave it 4 stars mostly because it solved a serious problem. After decades where a receiver, turntable, cassette deck and CD deck were enough to play any music I wanted to hear along came multiple incompatible digital file formats and streaming services. No one device could play them all. Until I bought this Onkyo, playing digital files or digital streams required four outboard devices! The Onkyo network and USB features let me connect a hard drive with music files, stream radio and Spotify Connect, all controlled by the remote or the phone app without any outboard devices. The sound is as good or better than my previous receiver (mid 1980s Sony ES). Nothing is perfect so my dislikes: 1. The remote control is really large and doesn't sit comfortably in my hand. 2. The volume dial is very sensitive...ranging 0-100 in increments of 0.5, 0-20 is effectively silent and the small increments require a lot of turns to adjust volume. 3. The front panel buttons are tiny and hard to see against the black panel in low light, easier to use the remote but the four "BGM" buttons recalling favorite radio stations are not duplicated on the remote or the phone app. 4. Song titles from streaming sources scroll across the display endlessly (annoying) but titles from files don't scroll at all. 5. Spotify requires using a phone or laptop to control, unlike other streams which can use just the remote control.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big improvement

Crutchfield customer from Castro Valley, CA on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old stereo died and I replaced it with this very reasonably priced Onkyo receiver. Using the same speakers it is remarkable how it sounds now!~I am very pleased.

Pros: Great features, easy controls.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect!

Crutchfield customer from Manalapan, NJ on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what I need it to do! I needed a receiver that could be app controlled and connected to a network so can control all my in ceiling speakers. It seems like everything today is a surround sound system and that was overkill for what I needed and way more expensive! This system is very very affordable! And has all good features!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crisp sound

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with it's performance and ease of use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

little too complicated

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Advisors!

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, TN on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield has incredible advisors available by chat. My advisor alerted me to several features the TX-8260 has that saved me $200 in selecting a receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Milpitas, CA on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and use. Good sound for a reasonable price. As usual, Crutchfield customer service was fantastic in helping choose this receiver which matched my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid performer at up to moderate volumes

Crutchfield customer from Winchester, VA on 4/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first new receiver in 30+ years, recommended by Crutchfield advisor after I told him what I wanted. I like all its functionality, ability to get input from multiple different sources , and especially the subwoofer capability. Teamed with Polk Signature S50 speakers and Klipsch 10" wireless subwoofer and it sounds great. My only concern, and it's a minor one, is that at rated output of 80W per channel, it starts to sound a bit "flat" (probably the beginning of distortion) at moderately high volumes. I'm not too concerned as I didn't buy it to be the sound system for a dance club.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Sparks Glencoe, MD on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Solid Receiver, handles all the essentials with ease, nice sound and easy to work with. Everything I needed to hook up to it was easily accommodated, my daughter was easily able to bluetooth from her phone, and it seems to be exactly what I was looking for, good value for the money.

Pros: Simple controls, clean design, good sound, plenty of versatility

Cons: Entering something like a wi-fi password is cumbersome and time consuming

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good sound, lousy build quality.

Matt from Denver, CO on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound. Piece of junk build. I bought it June 23, 2018. Yesterday April 5, 2019 the on-off button broke. (Only service center for the warranty is in California. I have to ship it there on my dime.) Onkyo's software is wonky. It freezes up regularly when I perform a search function and I have to restart my phone to get it to search again.

Pros: Love the concept of running Tidal directly through it w/ no phone. Sound is good (not exceptional) but what I expected for the value.

Cons: Clunky, glitch prone software on my phone. Receiver is poorly built. the power button broke off and fell inside after less than 9 months of use. If one uses the remote to search music services the small screen is a pain. (The screen reminds me of the old LCD screens from 1982.)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

14 of 16 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Sachse, TX on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

everything worked perfect. i am using the tuner for my outdoor speakers at the pool and for sound from the out door tv. i was able to send the tv sound out thru a blue tooth range extender to the tuner inside the house, now i get the tv sound thru the hard wired out door speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 3/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price and purpose. Crutchfield always makes it easy to select and purchase products. Great customer service.

Pros: Affordable In stock Shipped and received as promised

Cons: Should have upgraded to a more powerful unit for my purpose

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Amplifier

Lenny from Northeast MA on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, mid-priced replacement for my 33 year old previous amplifier. It sounds great, works as advertised. Especially like the bluetooth and Wi-Fi capable features. Definitely can recommend this product.

Pros: Many inputs, many features, great sound

Cons: Difficult and slow to use the remote to log into my Wi-Fi and my Pandora account

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Look elsewhere

Marcus from Quakertown, PA on 2/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a receiver it is functional, the balance has always seemed a bit off to me no matter how I tweak but I'm no audiophile. So the functional is how it gets all the way up to two stars, almost 3 but I can't do it. What makes it deserve negative is the terrible phone remote application. I bought this primarily for the wifi app because I have it hidden away in a closet in the basement and just wanted it to work. So when I first got it the app was -unbelievably- sluggish. Press play, count to 5 or 10 and off it would go. Updated firmware, app updates, much more responsive! Oh, but now locks up every couple days. So I put in a christmas light timer to reboot everyday at 0400. Fixed! Now requires location permissions just to use the app? Look, if you want a receiver, spend your money on a higher end model. If you're like me and want to hide it away? Don't buy this one, I've got no recommendation but not this one. Maybe you won't hate it day one, but with time you will want to go Office Space on this thing. (Crutchfield is still great. This thing is no reflection on them)

Pros: Functions as a receiver

Cons: Poor implementation of bells and whistles.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 17 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from King Of Prussia, PA on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid sound, very easy to use. Great decision to upgrade. You won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Clean crisp sound, easy to Stream music via Bluetooth!

Bill from Tuckahoe, NY on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks Crutchfield for your support in setting up my new Onkyo receiver. My primary goals were to have this power my old 1080s speakers which I resurrected from my attic which sound great. My next goal was to have easy Bluetooth streaming of music from any phone right into the system which is so easy to do. Now guests at my vacation home can play their favorite tunes. I am so excited that the receiver is powering my old B&O turntable playing all my favorite vinyl albums. So all in all I highly recommend this receiver. The FM attenna is also picking up stations in this very rural area in VT which was an added bonus!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Brooklin, ME on 1/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit. Loaded with features and quality. Only complaint is that the terminals for connecting speaker wire are too compacted to make for an easy wire connection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Long Pond, PA on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

IS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR PEOPLE THAT LIKE TO LISTEN TO MUSIC, WITH CLEAR, CRISP SOUD AND FIDELITY. GREAT BUY! THANK YOU GUYS!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great with Chromecast

Simon from Glen Head, NY on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it, especially the chromecast feature it works well with my Goggle Home

Pros: Great value, sound and network features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Rockaway Park, NY on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect Selection!

Nancy from Lancaster, SC on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We moved into our new house back in March. We gave speakers in all the rooms in the first floor and the screened porch. We ran out of money and just scraped together what we needed to purchase this receiver before our 12/15 Cnas party. It is WONDERFUL!! Beautiful music throughout the house. And now my husband can use the speakers in the family room to listen to the TV. No more closed captioning necessary!

Pros: Everything we hoped for.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 11/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente sonido sin distorcion audible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great quality

Daley from Snohomish, WA on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't beat buying from Crutchfield, great customer service and prices! Have used Onkyo for years and love the quality. Does everything it says it will do and sounds great too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sounding but not intuitive

Mark from El Paso, TX on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was not as easy as other products to set up Bluetooth. We also did not get any sound to be heard until turning up the volume to 50+ only a dog can here below the 50 range evidently.

Pros: Sound quality, design and layout

Cons: Not intuitive, volume control

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Not banana plug ready

Joyce from Las Vegas, NV on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the TX-8260 receiver. The only reason I did not give a five star rating is because it is not banana plug ready as stated. The instruction manual page 6, item 14 regarding speakers, states: "This unit is banana plug ready". Not so!

Pros: Fits all needs for a stereo receiver. Easy to set up and use.

Cons: Not banana plug ready.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Clean simple design

Crutchfield customer from Metuchen, NJ on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much better then expected. Bought this to replace a buggy Marantz unit. I can't express how happy I am with all the features.

Pros: Sound quality is outstanding. Super easy to set up and Onkyo's new app is a huge improvement over any of the competitors .

Cons: No way to switch between speakers A & B on phone app.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Quality Receiver

Franz from Salt Lake City, UT on 8/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this in December 2017 to be able to listen to live streams and Pandora/Tune-In, as well as to have a phono input for my LP collection. Setup and functionality is not optimal as far as listening to internet streams - sometimes it is very slow to respond to a change in channel/station - which is why I only gave it four stars. However, the sound is is outstanding when connected to a pair of Polk RTi A1 speakers, at least compared to my previous setup. Listening to MP3 files on a thumb drive is also another great option. So far I am mostly happy with it and I hope that with a future firmware update I will be able to listen to live streams from some of my favorite jazz stations that are currently not supported.

Pros: Solid build, great input/output options, multiple possibilities.

Cons: Buggy App remote and slow/laggy response to live streaming options through Pandora and TuneIn

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Remote Control

Tim from Anaheim, CA on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the unit so far. We purchased this unit with 4 Polk Atrium 6 speakers that we have mounted outside under the eves the the back yard. We can sit outside by the pool and totally control the unit with our iPhone or iPad using the music on the devices as well. The Polk Speakers sound great as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Internet funtionality only basic

Paul from Brooklyn, NY on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am disappointed with this unit as the internet capabilities are extremely basic. The unit cannot play back direct streams but instead must use TuneIn as an overlay program. I have the Bose SoundTouch system in other parts of my house and the Onkyo is a major step down from the functionality of that system. The android app is primitive and honestly seems to be a beta release that they barely cleaned up for public usage. Moreover there is no compatible PC version of the controller so that you have to pick up your phone while in the office to adjust volume or change sources. A bummer. My only hope is that there will be some update to these problems in the future but given how sloppily the control app was constructed I am not going to hold my breath.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 17 found this helpful

Nice piece of equipment but makes a hum!

David from West Orange, NJ on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver to play music in my bedroom and particularly to stream Spotify and other services and wanted something all-in-on rather than say buying a separate amp and a sonos. In general terms I like the receiver and streaming music is simple. But the amp has a hum that I can hear between songs and when the music is really low. Sounds like a transformer hum in particular. I've owned a number of receivers over the years and never encountered one that hummed. I'm guessing my ears are particularly sensitive and not everyone would notice but I do have to question why Onkyo would produce a piece of hi-fi equipment that introduces noise to the environment - even if it is a relatively quiet noise. Now all that said, Crutchfield was wonderful as usual and sent me out a replacement to see if I just had a bad one but unfortunately the replacement had the same issue. So I just switched my order to the NAD 338 which costs more but hopefully it won't make any noise beyond the music I stream!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this product I will be shopping again real soon !!!!!!!! ????????????????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

everything is fine except Chromecast

Walter from Fremont, CA on 3/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One feature of TX8260 stands out from the rest the network receivers is the Chromecast. Unfortunately it only works for its Chromecast build-in, which includes Pandora, Tunein Radio, Deezer and Google Play Music. It does not seem to work with other Cast-enabled apps such as Netflix or Youtube .... The 8260 is unable to see them and there is no connection. This is some what disappointing. Other than that it works fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Pete from Lawrenceburg, IN on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK so far, sound is good. Haven't quite figured out how the USB ports read a jump drive full of music. Not the same as the one in my car, or other receivers. I called tech support but they did not know either. Basically we were reading the operator's manual together. I will be calling Onkyo direct when I get home from vacation. The two times I have used tech support, by phone, the tech's were VERY supportive and mostly helpful. I am more impressed with Crutchfield's support than the receiver itself.

Pros: Sounds fine

Cons: USB ports do not read like the ones in the rest of the world

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 2/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want to use the built in Chromecast, you have to agree to Onkyo's Privacy Policy which is extremely broad and in their favor. Onkyo is granting themselves access to all of your web activity, listening habits, Facebook data and can then use that information in any way they see fit. If you are OK with being monitored by Onkyo, go for it!

Pros: Nice basic receiver

Cons: Privacy policy for Chromecast usage should be illegal

Crutchfield response on

26 of 37 found this helpful

Nice unit

Evan from Summerville, SC on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a quality receiver for a basic 2.1 setup and this one seemed to be the best bang for the buck. I was previously using a Denon receiver, as soon as I hooked up the Onkyo I noticed an increase in midbass, and an overall clearer sound. I've been enjoying streaming Spotify and it seems to sound pretty good so far with everything I've thrown at it. It seems well built and I quite like the looks of it. Hopefully it will last me for many years to come!

Pros: Sound quality, build quality, features

Cons: Think it has a few firmware bugs, mine will switch to phono input sometimes when using the remote volume control. Kind of weird but I realize some of the newer products have a few quirks at first, not a big deal to me.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from New Hyde Park, NY on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product performs exactly what I needed. Great help from Crutchfield locating the right system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for Old Turntable and New Net Inputs

Marty from Sumter, SC on 1/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super 2.1 system! I'm using Net input (Pandora), Optic cable from TV, Digital Aux from BD/DVD, a restored JCP MCS belt drive TT from the 70's, and upped my AM/FM channels with an amplified antenna. Everything is clear, crisp, and the tones are terrific. I'm using Zone 2 for a remote wireless speaker I can take throughout the house. My last system didn't have the ".1" so it's great to have the subwoofer back! Remote is complete and intuitive. No XM/Sirius input, so I catch that on BD/DVD player, and pump that in via digital coax. Very happy indeed!

Pros: Pandora works great

Cons: No XM/Sirius App

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Power for clear sound in a 30'x15' room

Richard from Rochester, NY on 1/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power for my Paradigm floor speakers. Smooth confident action on volume and bass, treble, and balance knobs. Intuitive controls and moving between functions. I attached my iPod nana easily, too.

Pros: Intuitive smooth controls. No discernible distortion, i.e. low THD. Plug-ins for every use.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Works well, paired with Polk RTi A3s

John from Winston Salem, NC on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure I can give this a robust review, but I have this unit paired with Polk ATi A3 speakers and the combination sounds great. I purchased the combination mostly for music listening and am very pleased after having tried and returned the Klipsch self powered RP15s and the Bose Soundtouch II 30. The Onkyo/Polk combo sounds great and was a good deal. I tried to follow the instructions and after fumbling through things, I was able to hook it up to my Ethernet network and download the Onkyo Controller app. I am able to play Spotify and Pandora and control things from my iPhone. I haven't tried to connect any other inputs yet. The Crutchfield rep was wonderful. Thanks.

Pros: Bought for music listening, mostly with Spotify and Pandora and to connect via Ethernet to my network. Seems to work well for that.

Cons: I was able to get things working, but it didn't go exactly as the instructions indicated. Worked after turning unit off and back on.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Breckenridge, MN on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price and it fits my needs. I wanted the WiFi and tune in app. Easy to figure out. Plenty of power for everything, in addition plenty plugins to add more products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Dekalb, IL on 1/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace an Onkyo 8150 that suddenly died. This is a much improved receiver as compared to the 8150. The network and Bluetooth both seem to work more smoothly than the old one. The sound is about the same as far as I can tell. That's a good thing because I thought the old receiver sounded great. I think this is a good choice for the person who is looking for a two channel receiver for music. I have it connected to a turntable, a CD player, Bluetooth for my phone and computer. It does everything that I would expect. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because I'm a little disappointed that my old Onkyo dies so soon. It was only about 6 or 7 years old.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

need extender

Paris from Denver, CO on 12/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wifi does not connect. I need to know what kind of extender is needed for my situation.

Pros: Good connections, east to set up.

Cons: Needs a wifi extender for my router which is about 20 feet away.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Love the built-in WIFI & Bluetooth

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Easy to set up. Love the built-in WIFI and Bluetooth. Quick delivery too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Hits all the marks

paul m from Mars, PA on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I live in a older house so the rooms are small by todays standards. We decided to replace our 20 plus year old theater system and go with a reg 2 channel stereo less speakers. I wanted a network receiver for internet radio and Bluetooth my wife has podcasts on her phone and would like to listen to them without earbuds. This unit hits the mark I went with a wired connection rather than wireless the setup was quick easy no need to enter passwords etc. We bought Def tech studio monitors 45 speakers again they're small but really sound good. Plan to add a power subwoofer later but this is a big improvement from our old Yamaha system. My wife has incredible hearing to the point I can be doing something in another room and she'll hear something and I get the what are you doing question it's really hard to slip something past her just because she hears everything. She says this system sounds really good so much better. I don't think there can be a higher compliment

Pros: Easy setup lot of nice features sounds great

Cons: Phone app works well enough just kind of slow carrying out commands so you have to give it a 5or6 seconds to carry out each command before you go to the next one

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Evan M from Parma, OH on 12/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver! Clear and surprisingly powerful!!

Pros: A+

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pleased with Purchase

Barry from Camarillo, CA on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality stereo at a nice price point. Plenty of power for driving 4 rooms. Super connectivity with almost anything but Sirius XM Radio. However, they live stream now so that's not a show stopper. Easy setup. Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8260

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid stereo receiver. Best receiver with network capability and phono output. Good clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP