Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Onkyo TX-8270

Stereo receiver with HDMI connections, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Chromecast built-in

MFR # TX-8270

Onkyo TX-8270

Onkyo TX-8270

Stereo receiver with HDMI connections, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Chromecast built-in

MFR # TX-8270

59 reviews
View this product

Amazing Stereo Receiver!

Eric from ONTARIO, CA on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver really rocks with my Monitor Audio Silver 50s. I appreciate the high power transformers delivering crystal clear power for all my hi res sources. Worth the investment if you love music.

Pros: Clean 100W RMS per channel, rock solid build quality, tons of connections for inputs (analog and digital), even HDMI out for on screen menus.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice features and not overly complicated

Crutchfield customer from Mazeppa, MN on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works quite well with my 4K Fire TV , tablet and PC. I ordered this model to get HDMI input with ARC and menu option for 4 ohm speakers. I thought I needed internet capability so that I could stream AMAZON music direct. I had to do a firmware update to get AMAZON and then dowload the ONKYO control APP onto my tablet to run it. It is not as convient and lacks features found on the AMAZON PC/tablet apps. I use my PC to search for music and set up play lists etc. From what I have observed I get the best ultra HD quality using bluetooth from my Samsung Tab A.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from Bon Aqua, TN on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It,s just what I was wanting ,sound is great ,I just play cd,s but it,s nice to have the other options incase I want them at hand ,plan to order more crutchfeild again good people,great service.i feel I can trust in them .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Preamp - Kinda Blah Amp

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this as a pre-amp to run my Niles 12 channel Amp for home music. It's the only 2ch receiver for under $500 that has HDMI switching. There is literally nothing else that's reasonable to run home audio for this price range. Other brands are close, but either lack multiple HDMI inputs or don't have a pre-output to run the multi-channel amp. It got good reviews from many places. But compared to my Outlaw Audio receiver (at nearly 2x the price) the sound was really blah. But this may get better as it breaks in. Frankly, I dont really care since I'm only using it as a pre-amp. Simply put. If you are looking for something to control a large bank of left/right ceiling speakers and be able to run computers, DVD players, and TV into it, there is nothing else.

Pros: Great features for the price. Light and easy to manipulate. Setup is very intuitive. Solid value.

Cons: Sound from main amps is flat and boring. No punch or sparkle. Mid range sounds ... gritty/grimy. (But this may go away with burn-in).

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Feature Rich Stereo Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using this product for nine months. The features for the price point are excellent. I use Group A speakers in Zone 1. Then I use Zone 2 to run pre-amp analog to another room and into a TV soundbar. It allows music in two rooms without a second system setup. I am currently exploring the option of Group B speakers for an outdoor porch setting. I use the unit for a CD player, record player, TV, and Internet Radio. After discovering the Internet Radio option, I did not have to hook up AM or FM radio as I can get it on the internet. A future model enhancement would be to cover Bluetooth Class 1 transmitter with low latency Codec.

Pros: Input options for CD and Record Player, Output for Group A & B and Zone 2, Internet Radio, good amplifier

Cons: Not sure what happened to the "Flareconnect" technology.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

WAY TO GO ONKYO

Crutchfield customer from Northridge, CA on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So Far SO GOOD ... After I Made HZ. Adjustments The Unit Became Much More Capable Of Handling my " OLD " Infinity Kappa 8 ... Very Happy ... these Hard VERY HARD ON AMPS ... The Subwoofer Is A Must & Works Fine ... PHONO Works WELL ... .. I Use The Remote Output ALSO ... THIS is Important as The Units COMPLIMENT each Other and Very Happy with the Zone 2. Applications.. Once You get Used To Remote it's Very Easy to Adjust... Speaker Wire HOOKUP IS VERY WELL MADE .. This Is Very VERY IMPORTANT IN ANY STEREO UNIT . YOU GET A TIGHT CONNECTION & DO NOT HAVE TO GO BACK AND PLAY WITH WIRES ...!!! I love The DIMMER TOO ... I wish it went Blank BUT AT LEAST ONKYO PUT IT IN ... VERY BEAUTIFUL SOUND FOR PRICE .. COMPARES WITH MUCH MUCH MORE PRICEY STEREO SO ... WAY TO GO ONKYO

Pros: Easy / Fun / Great Value

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Lot of features, little excitement

Jason from GA on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was building a bedroom stereo setup that I wanted music to be a focus but also needed to be able to pull av service. This was the only "receiver" option I tried out, other options I tried are integrated amplifiers. I picked it up because it has hdmi switching which just makes life easier. I hooked it up to a pair of Klipsch RP-150M's with a turntable, blu-ray and a tv. Connected to wireless network for simplicity and didn't experience any issues. Streaming spotify through the tv connected roku over hdmi or straight from bluetooth or through spotify connect or google home worked simply enough. Theres enough options, getting content to the receiver isn't the problem...its deciding which one to make the default. Also streamed some local FLAC rips of cd's from my NAS and played some cd's via the blu-ray player. Vinyl also worked fine. About the only thing I didn't try was the hi-res playback or wired LAN. I boxed it up after bouncing between it and an integrated amp though. Voices are definitely muddled/unclear and theres an impression that you're listening to music through a thin wall...about the best way I can describe it. Went with one of two integrated amps I compared it to, both of which sounded significantly better, and I use a hdmi switch to handle tv inputs instead. Turns out I don't need a dozen ways to hit play.

Pros: HDMI switching in stereo!!!!! Why isn't there more of this? A dozen ways to hit play

Cons: Sound quality....sound quality...sound quality. It just isn't there for the MSRP Almost the same size as my 10 yr old 7.1 Pioneer receiver A dozen ways to hit play

Crutchfield response on

7 of 17 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from New Tripoli, PA on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very flexible on music source; blue tooth is extremely convenient. Powerful. Drives my Polk Audio RTi A7's with chest pounding power.

Pros: Good value; Onkyo high quality.

Cons: The volume knob is light weight plastic with no mass. Feels cheap, which is a shame given the overall product looks and quality.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

not for me

Ken from Lowell, IN on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this reciever for the subwoofer out and HDMI features and they worked very well. However the sound quality to me was really lacking in almost every way . Not one time did that warm hi end sound grace me like a different 100 watt high current reciever that i currently use in another part of the house. After one month of switching two sets of tower speakers around, one set being vintage infinity alpha 50s, and the other being newer polk s55s i returned the reciever . As usual the crutchfield staff was nothing but professional and understanding.

Pros: sub out on a 2 channel receiver,easy to setup and control.

Cons: very plain sound,

Crutchfield response on

11 of 18 found this helpful

2-Channel that is worth a hard look!

Jeff from Hampton, VA on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this receiver recently and it is quit nice. If you are looking for a 2 channel unit you should take a long look at this one. The 8270 is quite powerful and has some really great streaming options built right in. Almost every major steaming service is there as well as built in Chromecast and Bluetooth. There are also some really nicely made binding posts and gold plated connectors included. I was powering two Klipsch RP5000F towers with this and they worked great. Sadly I ended up returning this unit and purchased an Onkyo RZ820. I decided that I actually needed something more capable than a 2 channel unit could offer.

Pros: Great 2 channel receiver with tons of Network and Streaming options.

Cons: A little more power would be nice. Not to say that what is has is overrated but more cold have been squeezed in I am sure.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Gadgetry, but Sound Is Unbearably Bright, Icy, and Digital

Bill from Ft Wayne, IN on 1/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit from Crutchfield because of their wonderful on-staff team of technical experts (I called twice--I could NEVER have figured out how to set this unit up by myself) and because of their 60-day return policy (I will be returning it). I had previously purchased the Onkyo TX-8020 and liked the sound. I returned it because it lacked power. Since the TX-8270 has 100 watts per channel, I thought this would work out. Unfortunately, the sound is extremely bright, icy, thin, and digital sounding. It completely lacks warmth and fullness and naturalness. Even after toning down the treble, I can't even bear to listen to it. I had previously bought the Integra DTM-6, which is made by Onkyo. I also thought it sounded bad, and I wrote a rather unfavorable review for it. To my ear, and I admit that I hear high frequencies very well, the Onkyo TX-8270 is even worse. I do like being able to connect to Net Radio and was even able to connect to Operavore, but what good is that when you don't like the sound? I also think the 100 watts of power was overrated for 8 ohm speakers.

Pros: Can hook up HDMI, ethernet, opticals, lots of gadgetry.

Cons: Bright, white, icy cold sound totally devoid of warmth and fullness and naturalness.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 22 found this helpful

Great product and great customer service

Alan from Sterling, IL on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, Crutchfield customer service is top notch. I made several calls with questions and they provided me with options and answers. Wouldn't have made my purchase through crutchfield if it wasn't for that. They are fantastic. The Onkyo TX-8270 has been a great product so far in accomplishing what I needed it for. It's just the first piece I needed for my set up. I will be purchasing the rest of my equipment from crutchfield as well. Thank you!

Pros: Sounds great and covers all aspects of my audio needs.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from Smithville, MO on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Stephen from San Diego, CA on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is terrific. It replaced an 8 year old Harmon Kardon that did not have the features this has. Love being able to play music over wi-fi. Looks beautiful, and has a great remote. Plus it was right in my price range Drummer was very helpful with his recommendation, based on my component specs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect if you want Stereo

James from Dawsonville, GA on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has been a while since I bought a receiver. My last was a Cambridge Audio that was purchased based on the space available. It was good but not great. In this case the Onkyo was exactly what I wanted but did not know it until I spoke with Mike at Crutchfield. Stereo, not 5.1 or 7.1 or 37.1. Plenty of inputs, WiFi, Bluetooth, BluRay HDMI. Good power, good features. Unfortunately another remote control to learn.

Pros: Plenty of inputs HDMI Easy to use Good Power It's Stereo!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Unit and Exceptional Customer Service

Kevin from Naperville, IL on 11/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this unit for almost a month and really enjoy. I connected my older Canton speakers and Triad sub-woofer. The sound is incredible and music at all volumes are clear without distortion. I run the music off my iPhone via Bluetooth and there are no issues, latency, etc. When I get a call the music goes to silent and then after call the music smoothly goes back to the listening level. I work from home a lot and this works great!! The next rating is with Crutchfield and support. Archer was my salesperson and who recommended this unit that i have nothing but positive reviews. Crutchfield also earns an "A" in customer service with purchase, follow-up and support. Customer Service to me has really fallen to the wayside with other companies, but Crutchfield still treats the customer as number "One!" I will be purchasing future products based on customer service over price. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: All Positive

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Rick from Mentor On Lk, OH on 11/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just started playing with the onkyo, but very pleased with my initial use. Setup was very easy.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very powerful, excellent quality

Kristi from Anderson, SC on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great muscle, great sound, packed with features. I use this unit to power some big speakers in a big room, loudly, and it has more than enough power in reserve. It is physically a heavy receiver, which is a sign of a seriously powerful amp with a good power supply. While it has Bluetooth connectivity, the front or rear USB ports will not play music from my IPhone when connected via a USB cable. A minor gripe, but I got used to the convenience of this feature on my old Onkyo TX-8060.

Pros: Great power, packed with features

Cons: Both USB ports will not play music from my IPhone when connected via a USB cable.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from S San Fran, CA on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice tuner, sounds great for two channel music only receiver. Connected a Klipsch subwoofer, sounds great while streaming Spotify and Sirius XM.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 10/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Performance is as expected. Cruthfield custmer service is the reason I keep coming back!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crisp sound.

Bob from Arlington, TX on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I find the sound crisper. Setup was easy. Some characters for password for wi-fi were on a different keyboard screen and I did have to have help getting to it, this is a manual problem as it was not mentioned in the manual or guide---had to use the caps button on the remote to accesses those characters which switched keyboard screens

Pros: Easy Setup

Cons: Wi-fi keyboard switching not in manual for additional characters when entering passwords. The "caps" button switched the screen to access the other special characters.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Guest from Little Silver, NJ on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was so excited to finally see a two channel receiver with HDMI switching. This is ideal for certain rooms or your patio where you will not even think about putting in a 5.1 speaker configuration. Once the unit arrived, I quickly ran into some challenges. First and foremost, I am using both Speaker A and Speaker B terminals, one for the patio + tv and one for the pair of speakers in our kitchen. This would be perfect, except that there is no A/B speaker function in the Onkyo Controller app. I called Onkyo, and they apologized and told me just to return the receiver (that is ridiculous). Even worse, Onkyo combined two buttons into one (on prior units, one of which I also own, there are two distinct buttons). The one button cycles through A, then B, then A+B. So now that there is no A/B function on the app, I have a harmony remote and found a way to program it so the A/B switch would work. The problem is that you never know what options are selected unless you go to both rooms and listen or go to the receiver (under stairs for mine) and look at the screen. Overall, I'm fine with the 2-channel AV receiver and will not return it. Instead I'm just using my old 2 channel Onkyo receiver in the kitchen. Onkyo could do a lot more in the area of programming its apps and thinking more about the end user.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 23 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from Pottstown, PA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We got it working!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 13 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from Old Bridge, NJ on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brought my 19 year old B&W 603's back to life.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Big basic stereo Hifi

James from Christiansted, VI on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first modern receiver. Controls Blue Ray/ CDs,Apple TV, Recieves Bluetooth from multiple sources. Matches the large stand mounted Klipsch bookshelf speakers and sub woofer,turning my small apt into a concert hall.

Pros: Plenty power and inputs,runs two speaker zones and HDTV

Cons: Need external Dolby Digital decoder for download movies

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

New receiver

Tom from Maiden, NC on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed to upgrade old receiver. Great sound and features. We now have an endless supply of music.

Pros: Features and sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Fantastic connectivity, lots of power, sounds great.

Alex from Berkeley, CA on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a stereo receiver or amplifier for music in my small home office. I chose this one primarily for its connectivity and power, and for that, it totally delivers. It needed to sound at least as good if not better than the Pioneer VSX-815 it was replacing, which it does. (I would say a bit better) I primarily listen to music using Spotify, Airplay, or Internet Radio. I love that the receiver will wake up from standby simply by playing via Spotify Connect from my computer, or automatically switch to Airplay when its told. I also love that I can assign a preset button to my favorite radio station, KCRW in LA, via TuneIn. Basically, however you want to connect to your music, this thing has you covered and makes switching between sources simple.

Pros: Network connectivity, power, sound is up to par.

Cons: Lame that you have to connect to a screen via HDMI for some of the setup.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great sound but disappointing build quality

Kevin from Davis, CA on 4/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this receiver now for 3 months and the power button broke when it was pushed to turn it on. I simply pressed the button and it popped right into the body of the receiver. It is my third Onkyo and probably my last. Unfortunately, it has nice sound quality but I expect an item like this to last many years without trouble.

Pros: Features, sound

Cons: build quality

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

18 of 25 found this helpful

Great purchase

Big R from Norton Shores, MI on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this stereo to replace the old pioneer in the garage, all I can say is wow, this receiver is amazing, easy to operate right out of the box. Sound is solid and powerful. I am very happy with this purchase!

Pros: Perfect for garage or patio and the price is decent also

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect for my setup.

Kurtis from Lago Vista, TX on 3/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with Klipsch speakers and subwoofer. HDMI support makes this a breeze to set up with my Samsung Smart TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Chuck from Cibolo, TX on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality product. I was looking for a suitable replacement for an 11 yr old Yamaha so I could have WiFi, Bluetooth and some of the other neat stuff the newer receivers are coming out with. I watched the movie "Edge of Tomorrow" with the TX-8270 and then with my older Yamaha. The sound, video of the Onkyo just did not compare with my Yamaha which I had also purchased from Crutchfield 11 years ago. So I am going to return it and utilize Joey's expertise to help me pick out a more suitable replacement receiver. I want at least the same quality when listening to music or watching all these neat and new Blue Ray movies coming out, especially the new Thor movie. Had I not made the comparison I wouldn't have been able to make this call. The sound with the Yamaha was much ricer and the video of the movie was brighter, clearer and just all around nicer. I am thinking about looking into another Yamaha of similar caliber or look into maybe a Denon, Anthem or Cambridge.

Pros: Nice quality, great looking, simple, easy to make all connections and extremely easy to Set Up.

Cons: Just didn't measure up to my Yamaha.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from Huntington, NY on 2/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. User friendly, sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Very happy

Tag from Walden, NY on 2/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a few weeks of using the receiver I am more than pleased. I was replacing a thirty year old Yamaha R9. This unit doesn't seem as loud initially as the Yamaha but as you crank it up it seems to deliver a more crisp and detailed sound through my speakers. I also love the Bluetooth capability.

Pros: Easy to use Crisp clear sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Old school meets new school

Mark from Eugene, OR on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall setup is easy. Sounds is good. Delivered 0n time and in good condition. Bluetooth works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Sean from Lansing, NY on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Onkyo TX-8270 has great sound. Very clear and precise. The receiver has every connection I needed and a few more for expansion later. Programming slots was easy and quick. I am happy with my purchase. Hopefully this will last as long as my last receiver did.

Pros: Clear precise sound, plenty of power.

Cons: The remote is small and the text is impossible to read without reading glasses

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from El Segundo, CA on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this receiver. It pumps out the wattage needed for my JBL speakers very clean. HDMI, BLUETOOTH, USB, and many more connections very useful. My only negative is that it doesn't come with a user's manual. Setup was tricky without one. Performance is outstanding!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good receiver

Nick from Canton, OH on 1/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm used to older stereo receivers with bass and treble knobs along with a loudness button. Though the TX8270 does not have a loudness button it does have a "Double Bass" feature. Once I got it hooked up I realized the Double Bass feature only works on the sub output. The sound for me, even with the bass knob maxed, was lacking punch. I know what my tower speakers can do but this receiver was not giving me the sound I was looking for. Crutchfield is kindly sending me a different receiver to better suit my needs (i upgraded to the Yamaha R-N602).

Pros: Looks, power (100rms x 2), tons of hookups

Cons: Double Bass feature only works on the sub output. Volume knob has a cheap plastic feel

Crutchfield response on

13 of 16 found this helpful

The Swiss Army Knife of AV Receivers

Crutchfield customer from West Lebanon, NH on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This has become the Swiss army knife for my cordcutting house. The setup was easy-peasy and we had all of our devices wired in in under 30 minutes. We can connect all of our devices virtually to share audio and video easily. We have most Apple products and have had no problems with the Apple TV, iPads/iPhones and Airplay. The receiver also has a strong FM tuner which allowed us to pickup NPR over the air rather than through the TuneIn Service. My only issue was that the connection to the second zone of speakers is through RCA audio cables. We have hardwired speakers through multiple rooms, and were not able to setup the second zone. Not a big issue with the receiver, but with our home setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound, user friendly interface.

Crutchfield customer from Vergennes, VT on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear sound, relatively friendly user interface. I'm old school and am happy to have bass and treble controls on the front panel again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from West Babylon, NY on 1/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Only hitch: wish we'd known what kind of wires we needed to connect it. Fortunately had some old ones of the right type in the attic. Ended up being a longer process to get everything hooked up than planned, but ultimately worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from Esko, MN on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally more than enough power to run my sealed 12's at 4 ohm. Only cons Bluetooth is low on volume but I have not done the firmware update yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Powerhouse Stereo Component

Ernest from Salem, NH on 12/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Onkyo TX-8270 Provides the latest features allowing reliable access to my web music,media servers.

Pros: Great Stereo Performance

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exactly What I Needed

Jeremy from New York, NY on 11/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I searched long and hard for a receiver, and had to decide between "5.1" and "stereo." I finally pulled the trigger on this Onkyo after some conversations with a very helpful Crutchfield staff (who even matched a price from somewhere else). It took a little setting up, of course, and I needed to assign some devices to odd inputs (AppleTV connected to Game), but, with that said, I appreciate how you can customize the display to show what is actually attached. I really have no complaints. It is perfect for my small apartment, paired up with a Smart TV, AppleTV, cable, and turntable.

Pros: Relatively Simple and Straightforward

Cons: I will have to get back to you . . .

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect for small space

Senjiwe from San Francisco, CA on 11/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is replacing a Denon bookshelf system I had in the kitchen. I really like the options on this receiver, hardwire to the internet so we have options for music sources, connectivity to CD and cassette players, including a USB port on the front. And Bluetooth! The remote is not too cluttered which is really important as the receiver is on a high shelf in the pantry. One day I will connect the kitchen HDTV and videos we watch there will really shine.

Pros: lots of connectivity options

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Simplicity at its best

Brian from Boston, MA on 10/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is great. We're not a high tech family (no streaming, no cable tv) and this receiver is perfect in its simplicity. We've plugged in Klipsch Heresy speakers and, a new Oppo cd/dvd player and our television and that's it. Our music and movies have never sounded so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Tower of 2-Channel Power

Lamont Simpson from Brooklyn, New York on 8/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this new receiver the beginning of May. I was already anxiously awaiting for it to make its debut since I was in the market for a new 100 watt unit and thought that I'd have to settle for a home theater-type receiver. Since I'm not really into a home theater use for one of these, just music, this receiver is astounding for the way it stands out in pure sound quality and giving the extra wattage than the previous Onkyo 2-channel models. I was not disappointed with this and you won't be either with all the advantages it has to offer the serious listener. Well worth the money for a 2-channel stereo receiver.

Pros: Ideal setup with no difficulty. Excellent features More than affordable price for this type of unit. Excellent driving power Great for people who aren't really into a home theater use who want a unit for straight-up music without having to spend A/V receiver kind of money.

Cons: None thus far.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from Bowling Green, OH on 8/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too early to rate just yet. No full manual in the box, so set-up and connections are difficult and requires more work on my part. Thought this had a 3.5 mm audio input jack, but it does not. May cause me to return and replace.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 31 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a great price. Thanks to Dallas at Crutchfield for your advice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extremely capable 2-channel receiver

Crutchfield customer from St Cloud, MN on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Onkyo TX-8270 replaces 40-year old Bang & Olufsen components and stably drives two pairs of 4 ohm 4-way B&O speakers. The specification indicates 340 watts output with this configuration. The 2-channel receiver serves as HDMI hub connecting TV, AppleTV, iMac, DVD, CD, and switching between components using the remote control could not be simpler. HDMI passthrough allows simultaneous TV viewing and audio listening source. Central connection to HDMI assures perfect lip-sync. Built in Wifi and Bluetooth eliminate use of Apple AirportExpress and associated cabling, and make for tidy and reliable connection. Users manual PDF is 420 pages. Deep and refined settings will take time to learn and program but the initial setup is straightforward. On screen programming (HDMI to TV) makes programming simpler. This quality receiver offers 100% of the high-end features desired. Five stars!

Pros: Step into the 21st Century.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 18 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Nicholas from Columbia, MD on 7/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, easy to set-up. I have it in my basement closet to control my living room and outdoor speakers from my phone. Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent Stereo Receiver

Charles from Naples, FL on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was concerned about having enough power to drive Martin Logan Motion 60 floor standing speakers without overheating. I set the impedance in the menu to 4 ohms and this receiver is absolutely terrific. Plenty of power without compromising my listening level. Music sounds great and does a terrific job with movie soundtracks. Dialogue crisp and understandable. Thanks Crutchfield, I am very happy with this receiver.

Pros: Plenty of power without running hot

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 6/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear sound. Love the bass dial. It really makes a huge difference in fine tuning the bass you need. You can control bass from the app too

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Worth it so far...

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, OH on 6/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit sounds amazing has plenty of power. That being said still waiting on the play-fi to become availible... I have noticed when using bluetooth sound quality is not as good as expected but im sure updates will become available... To sum it up if you have 500 bucks to spend you want clean 2 channel sound with enough power to make bookshelf speakers feel like there going to blow out of there shell than this is for you....

Pros: Power sound quality other than bluetooth.....

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Ellie from Glen Ellyn, IL on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product at a fair price. I had an old (15+ years) receiver that just died and I needed to replace it. This product has everything I'll need -- wi-fi, blue tooth, connects to Pandora. The quality is very good and I'm pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Tony from Cumming, GA on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Onkyo makes great products and this one is no different. The styling is sleek and controls are easy to understand.

Pros: Extremely versatile in connecting with various music formats.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Too may technical issues. half baked.

Ori from Hackensack, NJ on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to like this unit but despite some good points and great sound when things worked, the unit had too many issues and quirks. Will be returning it and getting something else. I was looking for a long time for a stereo receiver with HDMI inputs/ outputs so I can have a single unit for both video and audio without getting a giant AVR for my 2 channel setup. The good: setup was pretty easy and firmware update was painless. When the unit plays music from a USB or DLNA source, the quality is excellent. No video issues. The bad: The music quality dropped significantly almost in all other connection formats. I was expecting it with the bluetooth lossy connections but the same was true for Airplay (from both my iPad and PC) Quality from the built-in ChromeCast was good but the connection is not stable and will not connect from the iPad sometimes. Another ChromeCast Audio I had connected through the Optical input also suffered from lower quality sound Playing from a USB device works well for a small playlist but with I connected my 10,000 songs in it just crashed the unit. The app that comes with the unit is very basic and for DLNA / USB sources does not have a shuffle feature. Also, it connects after each song so there is a huge gap between songs and intermittent connection problems. The DTS Playfi promised is not yet available and no date has been provided Switching between sources of music can take minutes Bottom l

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 37 found this helpful

Great sound and connectivity

Eric from La Crosse, WI on 6/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo receiver. The sound is incredible. The connectivity options are great (bluetooth, network, regular audio connections, etc). We have it hooked up to a Onkyo CD player (model 7030), a turntable, several wi-fi connected computers, and an iPod (bluetooth). A few things to know: 1) there is no printed owner's manual comes with it, but you can easily download one online. 2) despite what the quick set up and owner's manual suggest, you do NOT need to have the system hooked up to a TV for initial set up (although that would make it much easier). You also do not need a phone or tablet either. 3) it does take a little bit of time to get the network connected when you initially turn on the stereo system. 4) Updating the firmware is very easy.

Pros: Sound Connectivity options

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

James from San Francisco, CA on 5/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really terrific receiver. Easy set-up, complete control from my i-phone or tablet. Easy switching between Pandora, Spotify or playing music from my library. Sound great. Replacing a top-end Dennon that my kid killed at some 16 year old party while I was out of town...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-8270

Eric from Antioch, CA on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding Great power and features!

Pros: Everything

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

TOP