Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Onkyo TX-NR696

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Chromecast built-in

MFR # TXNR696

Onkyo TX-NR696

Onkyo TX-NR696

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Chromecast built-in

MFR # TXNR696

61 reviews
View this product

Good Reciever for the $

Crutchfield customer from Durham, CT on 10/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Receiver is very nice and sounds great for the price. Bluetooth connection is very weak though. I use the airplay feature which works better. Also the remote doesn't always turn the tv off at the same time. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. Also, the Onkyo app for Android is pretty bad.

Pros: Sound quality Price Plenty of HDMI ports

Cons: Bluetooth weak Android app is not great Remote doesnt always shut tv off at same time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver from Onkyo

Crutchfield customer from OBERLIN, OH on 10/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver. I selected it with considerable help from an expert adviser at Crutchfield, based on my requirements, including needing lots of inputs and in particular a line out which I use with a pair of transmitter/receivers to feed a stereo signal to a receiver in a separate room. It's easy to see why CNET declared it the new king of the do-it-all big black boxes. I appreciate everything about it, including the new-to-me internet radio capabilities. The automatic speaker setup with the included microphone worked well, although I did choose to manually reset a couple of crossover frequencies and had to adjust the subwoofer levels and the left/right surround channels. I'm using it as a 7.1 with Klipsch speakers which I'll review separately and also chose for my somewhat unique requirements with, again, the expert help of a Crutchfield adviser.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Cullman, AL on 9/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's fantastic, everything I was looking for. Crutchfield's tech support is undoubtably the absolute best, thanks J T. I refer all my friends to Crutchfield. Thank you so much.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from East Greenwich, RI on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds Great, easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having problem with set up. can't balance subwoofer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

working great with my system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not happy

Mike P from Hammonton, NJ on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this last year 6 months later all the hdmi ports won't work

Pros: The first 6 months it was great great sound loved it

Cons: It only worked for 6 months very upset

Crutchfield response on 7/7/2021
Mike, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Brookfield, WI on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Priced right, simple setup, sound is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Setup was easy. Wish the remote had more range

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Another great Onkyo Product

Crutchfield customer from Rosemount, MN on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first blush it seems like a great receiver. Purchased this to replace a 10 year old Onkyo THX receiver and the transition was smooth and easy. Seems like it has great power and easy to use features. Have only used for TV and streaming thus far, so cannot comment on other virtual features, Bluetooth, etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, GA on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, easy to setup, very compatible. Amazing customer service helped me through the entire process of setting it up. 10/10 would buy from here again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Everything I needed and more.

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, MI on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful, easy to set up, and great sound!

Pros: Intuitive set up.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Upgraded from a 10+ year old Onkyo. This receiver is fabulous! Easy and intuitive during installation. The key to any electronic is read the specifications and take your time. Onkyo's specs were on point and their "wizard setup" makes the initial installation simple. You can tweak the settings later to your desired sound.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup- lots of options- still learning but it great so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent product!

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, VA on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another great onkyo product. Excellent design. Excellent sound reproduction and surround decoding. I'd reccomend this receiver to anybody looking for a really good receiver at a reasonable price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Adamsville, AL on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to why this was the 2020 best pick unit. Wonderful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

nice and good performing unit

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is very good, I replaced the 797 model with it. Basically it's the same unit wit the exception that 797 has 7 HDMIs, this one has only six.

Pros: easy to configure

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to setup, delivers on features most likely to be used everyday

Crutchfield customer from New Albany, OH on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a TX-NR605 which had an HDMI board fail, after 9 years of use. The NR696 was easy to set up in a 5.1 config with Klipsch speakers/sub. We did change some of the recommended settings - Increased Sub and Front speakers, decreased rear/surround speakers but it did not take long to make the adjustments. First receiver with Dolby Atmos and it sounds awesome. It did require that we upgrade to a Roku Ultra to make the most of it. Really like the blue tooth connectivity and streaming capabilities as well. Overall this receiver is a great value at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Built-in Chromecast and tons of inputs!

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The TX-NR969 is pretty awesome compared to what we used to have. It has tons of HDMI inputs, an eARC HDMI port, component inputs, an Ethernet port, and the ability to connect to your WiFi network. You can also connect surround sound speakers and it has 125 watts per channel. It also has Chromecast built-in so we were able to give our external Chromecast away. Nice! One thing that confused me is this receiver is advertised as "Sonos-compatible" and I have no idea what this means. To make our existing Sonos system work, I had to connect it just like we did with our old receiver and I still needed the two Sonos amps and the Sonos Bridge. I was hoping I would not need either. Online reviews said the remote was confusing/complicated but I did not experience that, using it was pretty straight forward to me. Lastly, I had to call Crutchfield for support twice and they were great! Support from the reseller is new to me and VERY appreciated.

Pros: - lots of inputs - built-in Chromecast - connects to wired and/or wireless network

Cons: - confusing product description, especially regarding using with Sonos

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Stevens Point, WI on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful surround sound and a significant upgrade to my old Sony receiver. User friendly and easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does everything I need

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace a Pioneer Elite that was taken out by a lightning strike and it does everything I need it to do. It does a great job with my new Fiestick.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good receiver.

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this receiver for a month now and so far it's great. Very easy to set up, tons of options to micro adjust every aspect of your speakers. I was unsuccessful setting up Alexa it just didn't work I may call CS at try again. The app sucks but it's a must have , onkyo needs to improve the app so you can eventually avoid using through remote all together. WiFi was a little glitch so I'm using a wired connection to internet. Works perfect now. Overall I'm happy. Will review again if I can get Alexa to work.

Pros: Set up. Sound quality. Surround options. Works great with Spotify.

Cons: Onkyo app.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty easy to setup, very happy with the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Glen from Grover Beach, CA on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, MD on 1/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit! Works well for my man cave!

Pros: Great price and value for amount of investment

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Replaces an old Technics Surround sound Dolby Pro Logic system 3.1 from the late 80's. what a huge difference in music clarity and true 7.1. I have it setup 5.1 with the extra channels bi amped for the front speakers. Easy setup. Speakers are Boston Acoustics VR series with a VR series subwoofer. Too bad They are out of business.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Wallkill, NY on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this system for movies and it is great. I also play music and it sounds wonderful. It is hooked up with 5.1 surround and I love the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Boyds, MD on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

FANTASTIC product!

Crutchfield customer from Gun Barrel Cy, TX on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I work in the A/V industry and I can tell you that Onkyo is an extremely solid brand that works with SONOS and will give you years of great sound. Typically, when we replace Onkyo receivers, it's only because the customer wants to have the new, higher resolution (4k) HDMI passthrough from the receiver. We rarely find one that has just "given up the ghost".

Pros: Great power Powered zone 2 with line out if another amp is needed App controllable Works with SONOS Looks good in the cabinet/rack Easy to use interface

Cons: The wand remote that comes in the box can be a little difficult to understand, especially when switching it to control zone 2 and back again. This isnt a deal breaker though and one tutorial will have you fixed right up.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Toa Baja, PR on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best price and excellent features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a perfect replacement for my previous Onkyo receiver. The new features were an added bonus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from The Woodlands, TX on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Moved from a Pioneer SC-25 AV receiver to the Onkyo TX-NR696. Found the Onkyo unit to be very easy to set up with some really good features that are easy to use. Great sound management.

Pros: Easy to set up, great features, integrates well with the new LG OLED TVs.

Cons: None noted

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Methuen, MA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We're enjoying ours, just hope that your app. Lasts longer than the pioneer elite one did.

Pros: Like the ease of set up

Cons: Do not care for lack of onboard controls

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Snellville, GA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent choice for home theater

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Marvelous

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, this is my second receiver, easy to set up. Got a great deal on this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Three's a Charm

Crutchfield customer from Langhorne, PA on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my third Onkyo receiver, and none of them have stopped working yet. This 696 is 4K and it's as good as all the others. It was rated the highest of all the receivers by Crutchfied, and it was a good buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just what I've always wanted.

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very versatile, very adjustable home theater amplifier. I use it mostly for music listening. It even plays records on my turntable. I like that you can use wifi to make any sound adjustments, so it can be placed out of sight. I bought 2 of them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A/V Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Stanwood, MI on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding A/V Receiver. As advertised. No surprises.

Pros: Met all my needs for the application.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696 - Do it!!

Chris from Alverton on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently upgraded my Tv to a big 4k. I wanted to keep my Receiver matched with my TV for obvious reasons. I had an Onkyo HT-R680 that has served me well for a very long time. Paired with several TV over the years, the last being a 75" 3d Samsung. Using the same speakers and subs, this new Receiver is unbelievable. Truly the difference is staggering! The new Onkyo TX-NR696 blew my mind. The quick setup time to house shaking clarity was awesome! If you're considering a new Home theater receiver, ensure this is on your short list. I love it!!

Pros: Incredible sound and the ability for network firmware upgrades vs my old receiver. Same great setup as past models.

Cons: I didn't buy it sooner.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Winona, MN on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Receiver. Following set-up guidelines was advantageous. Worth the effort.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Gladwyne, PA on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple setup, powerful and works as advertised. This is my 5th Onkyo receiver (all 4 others still in use!) and they have never let me down

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from BOZEMAN, MT on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Love the zone 2 option for playing music in my garage. Shipping was super fast with Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

CJD 2020 REC

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of power - no over heating issues. Power doesn't fade. This unit has plenty of HDMI ports. Conveniently Places 1 on the front for easy use(aux plug in on the front as well - most units don't even have this hook up). Setting everything up "out of box" couldn't have been easier. Sound set up was very simple and took about 8 min. This stereo is packed with features and benefits. Total win for the money spent. Remote control is kind on your eyes and comfortably lays all the buttons out. This is a great product that works well. 5 out of 5!

Pros: Power packed!

Cons: Don't like the low lit ugly green display (not a deal breaker- more of a preference)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product and even better customer service

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, operate and intuitive receiver. Great sound for movies and music. I researched a lot of options and this was the best for the money. My overall experience with Crutchfield was OUTSTANDING!. In a world of autobot calls and poor customer service, Crutchfield stands out as they are the exact opposite. When you call you get a real person quickly and they are customer service oriented at every point. The sales advisor (Trish) advised me on what to purchase and always informed me of their price match guarantee after purchase. The week after I received my Onkyo, it went on sale at other places, I called back and Brendan in customer service quickly refunded me the $100 difference. Everyone I have worked with has been exceptional - engaged, knowledgeable, and customer centric! I so appreciate this level of service and will not buy electronics anyway else in the future. Great job Crutchfield and please never change your service focus!

Pros: Customer service and awesome Crutchfield employees! It is clear they have a great company culture.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great receiver. Skip chromecast.

Chris from Fall River, MA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Sounds great. Works gear with my tv and bd player and phono and cable. I love the buttons on the front that let you control a lot. It's 100 watts per channe but still powers my massive JBL speakers and subwoofer fine. I like how it has bass and treble control right up front and on the remote. It also has a lot of cool configurations for music and movie sound options. I would warn you though that the built in Chromecast is an Orwellian feature. It tries to take over every stereo, tv, and speaker in your house. It absolutely sucks. And it will blast your iPhones too. For example, it will screw with your ability to do simple things like Bluetooth your music from your iPhone to the receiver. And I found it screwed with every receiver in my house of which I have three. So bottom line. Buy this receiver, but don't enable Chromevast unless you know exactly what you are doing because the program sucks and it will ruin your day and from what I experienced it makes both your iPhone and receivers malfunction. Chrome cast is junk.

Pros: Sound. Power. Audio options.

Cons: Chrome cast is an Orwellian feature that will ruin your day.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, CT on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't used all the features yet, but it does exactly what it was advertised to do!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Kris from MI on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Lots of options, plenty of power. Main reason I got this one was because the Chromecast built-in is still being updated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 11/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good, of the highest quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Horseshoe Bend, AR on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my fourth Onkyo amp. The other three are still in use at various places in and around our home. Just wanted to get a newer version with the latest technology. It is awesome!!! Delivery from Crutchfield was fast. First time buyer from them. Will definitely do more with this company.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Harrisonburg, VA on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got a great deal on this unit. Selected it because it has a secondary pair of speaker outputs that play from a separate source than the main outputs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

finally

john from Wilkes Barre, PA on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

tried ..3 different recievers and the 696 was the one i keep ..other receivers got hot, a went into thermal protection mode..the 696 plays loud all day ! crutchfield is by far the best company i have EVER dealt with and the only one i will use from now on !!

Pros: good heat sinks and or fan

Cons: funky EQ..still tweeking the sound..

Crutchfield response on

16 of 18 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, CO on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Onkyo's have yet to let me down. They are reliable and get the job done. The options to configure my set up are straight forward and easy to use but allow for everything I need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

great receiver, network security issues

Matt from North Little Rock, AR on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver, but be aware that it runs an Onkyo version of Linux and my Bitdefender/NETGEAR Armor software flagged four unresolved security risks. I've updated all the firmware I can but the fixes aren't there. If you don't use the Chromecast or network features, you can just unplug the ethernet or kick it off your wireless network. But Onkyo needs to address the issues and push out some new firmware updates.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

29 of 38 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to set up. I came from a 2006 model and it's nice how far along they have come.

Pros: Bluetooth, on screen display....

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Just great everything wow

Pedro from Gwynn Oak, MD on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the onkyo 4k receiver it work very well with my sony x800e and I can play all my 4k movie in Dolby atmos and dts x and I work very well for movie and music just wow wow

Pros: Its just so prefect and it does the job its supposed to do

Cons: There no cons

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

Crutchfield customer from Kapaa, HI on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy setup. sounds exceptional

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 24 found this helpful

A very good product

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood, MO on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this receiver in use for around 3 weeks at this point and feel like I can now provide my opinion of it. We use it for 7.1 surround sound primarily in our TV room. I really really like it and it can provide great channel definition. It was easy to set up, pretty intuitive and not hard to adjust. The results of auto audio balancing with the remote mic on a tripod were okay to good, but not perfect. The center channel speaker was very often way to soft and needed further adjusting but I got it right on the money via the online IO&M. I haven't yet figured out yet if I can program it to Cable box mode when it is initially turned on but hey, that is what Crutchfield's service line is for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Great Unit

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfld Hls, MI on 10/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit, like the last 3 three Onkyo A/V units I have owned. The last one lasted 8 years before breaking down. Still learning how to use features. Only disappointment is that the built in Chromecast is audio only....doesn't say that anywhere.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Great sound! Easy to setup but all the bells and whistles fall short.

Crutchfield customer from Montoursville, PA on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver's sounds is great. Setup was pretty easy. I was excited for the chromecast ability however it only will cast audio, no video! Kind of wish I had known that I probably would have gone for a different model. Also, the "App" you can download to control it is absolute garbage. It doesn't remember your settings it switches to demo mode constantly and does not do anything productive.

Pros: Easy Setup Great Sound

Cons: App is horrible Chromecast is audio only Once you use Chromecast once it takes over the remote so beware!

Crutchfield response on

31 of 31 found this helpful

ONKYO TX-NR696 great mid price avr

Crutchfield customer from Washington, PA on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Onkyo TX-NR696 is a excellent AVR... Wanted to wait a month to post a review and see if i would experience any trouble. So far no problems and really love this avr. I wanted a avr that was straight forward and easy to set up and fine tune. This fits the bill! This avr has alot of power and with my Polk speakers in which the set up is for 7.1 system both movies and audio mainly vinyl and CD's my man cave ROCKS! What i really love is the sound fields this machine has to offer including THX select. Also updates are easy to install via memory stick for best results and the menu is easy to navigate . There are alot of other features on this machine in which i'm sure they would be nice but not interested to use as of now. For the $ and the quality Onkyo has put into this mid price avr ''in which there are a hell of alot of them out there'' can't see anything wrong with my purchase.......

Pros: great performance

Cons: would be nice if the remote was refined ...ex.... number pads a little bigger and include a light..... Other than that n/p

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Onkyo TX-NR696

CARLOS from Dallas, TX on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT AND WAS EASY TO SET UP AND ROCKS A KLIPSCH 300W SUB, 2 BOSE 10.2'S, 2 POLK BOOKSHELF'S AND A CENTER W TWO BOSE 161'S ON REAR HANGING ON CEILING. SOUNDS LIKE A BAR!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Pros: GREAT PRICE FOR ALL IT HAS

Cons: NADA

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

TOP