Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Logitech® Harmony® Companion

Remote control for home entertainment and automation devices (Black)

MFR # 915-000239

Logitech® Harmony® Companion

Logitech® Harmony® Companion

Remote control for home entertainment and automation devices (Black)

MFR # 915-000239

65 reviews
View this product

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Ocean Springs , MS on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took a minute to realize the setup process worked much better using my computer but it is very convenient for controlling avr, tv, Apple TV. Trying to setup through the app kept getting stalled and wouldn't proceed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these remotes. I also have an Elite and got the Companion for the bedroom. They must have made some improvements in programming - or maybe it's the devices I have there - but programming was a breeze. Took me less than 15 minutes start to finish and have gone from three to one remote. I dinged it one star as there are a couple of minor bits I'm not happy about and one larger one. The Hub only connects via wifi and though in the bedroom it's running off wifi the one in my living room would be better served to have an ethernet port like their recently released Pro Hub. Also WTF with the 2.5mm emitter jacks?? Seriously guys, every standard IR emitter is 3.5mm. Easily fixed with a 2.5mm to 3.5mm adapter but why make me go through the trouble in the first place?? Biggest issue for now is the desktop software for the Mac is only 32bit so you need to be running MacOS 10.14 for it to work. I was having trouble setting up the hub via my iPhone so good thing I had one computer not updated yet so was able to use the desktop software to get it running. I seriously don't know what is up with some companies as Apple has been pretty vocal that 10.15 will be 64bit only so Logitech has had a while to fix this.

Pros:

Cons: MacOS desktop software is only 32bit so won't run on 10.15 as of 11/19/2019.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product.

Crutchfield customer from Winona, MN on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked exactly as directions said it would.

Pros: Eliminates multiple remotes and saves time.

Cons: Took a long time to connect with all the various pieces of equipment.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Copley, OH on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works mainly as advertised but you need to have all components within view of the hub or the external sensor. I had to move my receiver and components into the same space and then put the external sensor near the TV to make it work, I also need to leave my cabinet door open.

Pros: Once set up works well.

Cons: Need to have all components in view of the hub or sensor.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Had Logitech remotes for years, but the IR pointing and delays have always been a sore spot. This new Companion solves everything no pointing (even though I can't make myself stop doing it), instant response. Crisp tactile feel of buttons. Really nice setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Limited, quirky, rediculous product.

Crutchfield customer from Huntington, NY on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Junk. Quirky, loses control of the Marantz receiver, very basic control, does not know the status of a device it is controlling. and the android software is bare bones basic, and the buttons cant be seen in a dark projection theater. The only good thing is the off button.

Pros: The off button is the only good feature.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Bch, FL on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always like Harmony products, this is another one that is one of the better changers. Give it a try, can't go wrong.

Pros: Easy set up and use.

Cons: None that can't be solved.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Remote

Rick from HELENA, MT on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best Remote I've ever had! With all of the extra components that a person has to watch T.V. is crazy. From trying to keep all the remotes in one location and remembering which one does what. It is soooo nice to be able to just press ONE BUTTON and all of your components turn on and you are good to go! I love the fact that if I want to watch Satellite TV I can press one button and my TV, Surround Sound and Direct TV comes on. If I want to watch Netflix or Hulu I can press a button and just the components I choose come on and to the screen to start watching them. You can also program a button so you just turn on music on your receiver. It's great!

Pros: So much!

Cons: When programming TV to turn on you only get a select few channels that it will turn on to. Not a huge thing but it's a Con in my mind.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great remote and app

JOHN from Saint James, NY on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once I reset my Sony receiver to factory default, the set up via the Iphone app was pretty quick. Many features, still learning. Don't buy anywhere else - Crutchfield support is always there and responsive. Great choice and fast shipping.

Pros: single device to control all my equipment

Cons: As with many remotes, no backlight. The Iphone app however works fine in the dark.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Huntingdon Vy, PA on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to set up you can make certain keys dual functional. Love it.

Pros: easy to use, fits in palm of your hand.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

DENNIS from Lynchburg, VA on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up is not that intuitive. I set up the hub then the program had a hard time finding it again. I set up my activities, watch tv, watch movie, listen to music, etc. and it still doesn't work right. For example I entered watch TV and the stereo came on as well. I checked the settings and nothing about the stereo is selected. I thought I was tech savvy but this is still a work in progress.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Daniel from Stockbridge , MA on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works perfectly right out of the box. Easy to set up. We now control a Denon AVR 1912, a Panasonic Blu-ray player, an Apple TV, a Sonos System, and a 2007 Panasonic Plasma TV with one remote.

Pros:

Cons: Not a problem for the moment, but it would be nice to know what to do when the remote battery either needs replacing or recharging. No mention of this in the manual.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Read Carefully...

Jon from Wayne, NJ on 7/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am rather disappointed in this product. For the price you get a remote that is very difficult to operate in the dark. Even remotes you get at drug stores have backlit buttons. That being said, think carefully about your choice of dimmers. You either get the expensive Lutein Caseta dimmers that are direct compatible, or be prepared to shell out an additional money for another hub/gateway? Do you own a PS4? Do you use it to watch Bluray, Amazon Video, and Netflix? That would be great! Now you CAN'T! You have to get a PS4 PDP IR Blaster to use anything but your ps4 controller to do anything. That's more money. Crutchfield! Please update the info in the description and have techs that know this! You guys are better than this.

Pros: Two years ago this might have been a great idea.

Cons: -Not compatible with PS4 without additional purchase -many devices require you to purchase an additional gateway like Smarthings. - If you use the phone there is a load time and lag -No backlighting -Learning curve to program

Crutchfield response on 8/6/2018
Thanks for your review, Jon. We ran your feedback by our hands-on research team, and they gave us this info: "The Harmony Companion remote is compatible with the Sony PS4, but it connects and operates the game system via Bluetooth rather that IR. So you'll still have to use the PS4 controller to power on the PS4. But once the PS4 is powered on, you can use the Harmony Companion to navigate the menu, control playback, and turn the system off.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sweet and Simple

Nathan from Seacoast, NH on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was hesitant to purchase this product because of reviews stating that in was a bear to setup. It was the easiest thing I've set up in a long time! No issues. Well, one issue, my apple TV wouldn't respond to the Hub, but that was my fault, I didn't realize you had to UNPAIR the original remote first. i just shoved all my A/V equipment in a closet when my little boy turned one, and this made it possible. No more missing knobs to my stereo! yay!

Pros: Hidden equipment and so many fewer button pushes

Cons: I'll let you know when they arise

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harmony hub and remote

David from Sheffield Vlg, OH on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device worked perfectly to connect my Directv service to my Echo devices.

Pros: excellent product so far

Cons: none that I've noticed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product that consolidated all of my diverse home theater equipment into one easily used remote.

Pros: Can use only one remote, or Alexa for some items Setup was easy, with great support from Logitech if needed

Cons: Some of the Alexa interface isn't as easy to use as I'd like, but that will improve over time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Michele from Lantana, FL on 2/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great idea, not well executed. Poor app design. Difficult set up. 1 month after purchase still having issues. Connection with Alexa - works - but often fails. Have had to 'discover devices' multiple times even on the same day. Would I purchase this again............hmm........probably not. At least not until it's better designed and has received improvements. I have other smart home products which in no way, shape or form have been this aggravating to set up and use daily.

Pros: good idea and if it works - would be great

Cons: difficult set up; inconsistent response

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Needed addition to control multiple electronics

Richard from Dallas, TX on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazingly easy to set up. So far seems to work well. My only complaint is that the remote is not lit making is difficult to use in a dark room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Indian Land, SC on 12/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Easy to set up. Controls TV, Audio Receiver, DVD Player, 5 CD Changer, VCR, and Sirius Radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

henry from Suffern, NY on 10/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far just used home theatre feature. Great way to keep older equipment with dead or lost remotes from becoming door stops. It also helps that this really works!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just one entertainment remote! Great!

Don from Vero Beach, FL on 10/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great way to get rid of all your remotes but this one which also syncs to Alexa, a real plus. The setup can be a little intense but they customer service techs are there to take over and walk you through it. Once setup it is easy to use and you also have the added option of operating through their App. Th Alexa option is great as you can command it to turn on tv, Apple TV, smart tv or if linked to an a AVR receiver as I do ask it to play music.

Pros: Simplifies turning your audio equipment in a well designed, easy to use remote.

Cons: Setup can be a bit tedious, however a first class customer support staff is there to guide you through to completion. They even walk you through a couple of startups to assure everything is working as designed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Promising product / painful setup

Josh from Colorado Springs, CO on 10/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, this is proving to be helpful, but not entirely free if headache and some inconsistency. Setup is near impossible apart from tech support from Logitech®. It was not intuitive, and after banging my head against the wall trying to use the app to setup, then attempt By to setup using macOS myHarmony software on my Mac, only then did I call Logitech® To be told that the app was unreliable and the macOS version of myHarmony was not working. I had to track down a PC and go through the Windows-based myHarmony app. Even then, it took them ghuising me through some steps that were otherwise not intuitive. That said, with an initial setup complete I am pleased with performance, in general. It has not been entirely bug-free, however. At this point I'm still optimistic that with help from Logitech® and/or Crutchfield tech support I can iron out some remaining wrinkles. Assuming all wrinkles do get ironed out, I could still only give this a 4-Star review, for the time being, in light of be unacceptable setup debacle. If you're willing to trudge through that, you may be well on your way to having a nice tool in your tool belt for all your A/V and smarthome needs.

Pros: Great product design and functionality.

Cons: Unacceptably poor setup experience - at least for Mac users, with this product's current firmware and available installation app's version.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Center, IA on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my tv and sound system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sleek and easy to use

LT from Quinton, VA on 7/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I enjoy the remote, it was easy to setup. It's very sleek and has a good grip feels comfortable in the hand. The interface on the smart phone was easy to use, and it pairs with Alexa for voice automation. Cool setup, and I'm enjoying not having 3 remotes to keep track of.

Pros: Nice phone interface, easy to learn, lots of features, works with Alexa, form and finish

Cons: Would like a few more buttons at the top for activities. (being picky)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Junk device

Kar from Buffalo Grove, IL on 7/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Junk device. Don't waste your money. Never works most of the time.... use your device remote and save money.... Worst app ... poor software design.. Don't buy this

Pros: None

Cons: Poor interface

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Great Product

Richard from Delaware on 7/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Harmony ONE since before Logitech bought out the company and it was a great product. The Logitech Home/Companion is even better. If you are using the remote, iPhone, or iPad, the response is faster and better. Being that I was already familiar with programming the Harmony I found setting up the Companion easy and direct. If you are new to this kind of remote, take you time and follow what the program is asking. Remember, once you get it set up, you don't have to worry about programming again. Great product.

Pros: Quality Apps Experience of using

Cons: Numerical pad is small even for small fingers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Remote

Chad from Nicholasville, KY on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up....like realy easy set up with my phone. Works perfectly. For me it would be perfect if the number pad button were a little bigger and if it were backlit. I would buy this remote 1000 times over if it had those 2 upgrades. Overall happy however.

Pros: easy set up nice size smooth operation

Cons: no backlight small number pad

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good remote

Mike from Paducah, KY on 5/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with an iPad.

Pros: Allows to get rid of most remotes.

Cons: Hard to set up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Alexis from Warrington, PA on 3/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the initial set up was a little clumsy. I could not get the device to connect to my phone over wifi, I had to connect it to my laptop. Once I was able to start it on the laptop, I was able to easily switch to my phone to finish the set up. Once it was set up, my husband and I love it. It was well worth the money and minor issue with setup. Using it has made it so much easier for us to switch between Roku and apple tv

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 3/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first Harmony remote eleven years ago saved my marriage. With my new Companion and Hub, my grandchildren are talking to me again, or at least when they are not "Frozen." Easy to set up, easy to explain even to 7 & 4 year olds. I did call the Help line when using my, um, smart phone, and help was clear, thorough and patient. The remote is even more versatile and user friendly than I expected - and from Logitech I expected a lot. All around excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Convenient remote

Roger from St Petersburg, FL on 3/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product! Programming is not the easiest thing to do. I wish I would have bought the touch screen version for the extra money.

Pros: one touch magic

Cons: difficult to program

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Remote!

Rod from Virginia Beach, VA on 1/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my third Harmony remote and it has not disappointed! It controls all my equipment functions on my home theater and my Hue lighting in with ease. Now trying to get it to connect to my Amazon Echo Dot. Highly recommended!

Pros: Ease of use and easy integration with components.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 1/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up has been easy. I miss the page up and down buttons. Can only single up or down. Maybe I can program the generic buttons to page up but would be nice if it was automatic as most remotes have a page up and down. But set up has been easy. Hub is bigger than I expected but still sleek look sleeping. Long cable for hub so adds to bulk in back of TV set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Frank from Carolina, PR on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great remote no fuss no muss easy to install

Pros: Controls everything

Cons: Can't see in the dark

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Manteca, Ca on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Very easy to set up. The mini blaster needs to be very close to TV to turn it on / off but the app works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great remote with few drawbacks

Vaishnav from Redmond, WA on 12/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This remote is very similar to another cheaper logitech universal remote which does not have buttons for home automation. They are identical otherwise. I had some trouble during setup where it would randomly turn on all components except the TV. However, after exiting the setup mode, things are working. Not sure if I was doing something wrong or if there is some bug in the software. The universal remote is very useful and can control all my AV equipments. I could even configure it to control a 5 year old cheap fan I got from walmart! I have hidden the actual hub in a cabinet and used the included IR extender. I have also integrated the universal remote with Google home. With this setup I can provide voice commands to Google home to trigger activities through logitech hub.

Pros: 1. Controls a large variety of devices - AV equipments, Roku, Nest, Philips Hue lights, old fans etc 2. Setup is fairly easy 3. Included IR extended is useful for hiding the hub

Cons: 1. The remote is not backlit making it hard to use in the dark. 2. No easy way to switch devices to control a specific device. For example, when watching TV, I cannot switch to controlling the fan. 3. The IR extender's range seems limited. I had to adjust it a bit for it to control all my devices.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Kevin from Edmond, OK on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible remote, I'm returning.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Great remote

Charlie J from Star, ID on 9/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works perfectly, no problems with setting it up. Would definitely recommend it.

Pros: With all my components behind closed doors I have a nice clean look. No need to aim as it uses radio frequency.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 4/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use and set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

The best of both worlds in the palm of your hand.

Larin from phoenix, AZ on 3/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Take your time with this and get to know this remote I spent some time just exploring this remote and descoverd it is truly very powerful. When used with an iPhone/iPad I have full command of all of my devices.

Pros: Extremely powerful when used with your smart phone or pad.

Cons: The included handheld remote has limited capability.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Technology overtaking humans!!

Indy from los angeles, CA on 3/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Time has come where technology has matured enough to read a human mind!! this is a superb product. I had tried harmony remote 4 years back but had to return it as i was not able to control half of the AV devices. But now technology has matures so much that this remote knows what's around it!! Setup is a breeze but you have to know 1 or 2 thing about your AV equipment. Samsung TV, Sony Home theater, Dish DVR, XBOX, Amazon Fire stick, Samsung tablet, all connected & working in perfect harmony!! love this so much & glad i could retire 5 clunky remotes!!what would i do now with all those spare batteries?

Pros: Setup is a breeze, i was able to connect all my devices & control them with this remote

Cons: You have to know what are your AV inputs, took half hour to figure out.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

TIm from Whiteford, MD on 3/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm very satisfied. Set up was super simple. I already had a Harmony account with devices and activities saved and this unit just downloaded them. I was even able to tie it into an existing IR repeater system making things even more pleasant. I hope my luck continues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well Engineered Remote

Jnbjnb from Texas on 3/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having been a long time user of Logitech remotes, I had no hesitation in purchasing this one. I was looking for a more simple remote to control only my TV, AT&T STB, Xbox and receiver. Programming activities were a breeze compared with my older remote. The RF to IR translation works as advertised. Very satisfied.

Pros: Ease of use, RF feature

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Overall a good remote

mhalifax from halifax, va on 2/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall works well with most of my components, but not all.

Pros: Ergonomically, this is a great product. Good design. The feel of the buttons makes it easy to work

Cons: Does not work with my dish stb. I called dish and they know about it and are working on a work around but this will not be available for several months. I'm still using my dish remote and the harmony. Not a satisfactory solution but I like the harmony remote so I'm going to hold onto it for now.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does what it says

patc from Connecticut on 1/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The system does what it says. Invest some time in setup and it works really well. It won't replace the deep down detail commands your component remotes have, but you don't need those 99% of the time anyway. I was frustrated by cumbersome source changing and marginally compatible so-called universal remotes that came with my components. The harmony solved all of those problems. Even my wife can turn the TV on now and my 6 year isn't far behind. Kudos to a wuality product. The hub acts like the brains of one large entertainment system and seamlessly controls multiple components for each activity. I thought it would be mixed up by changing between sources that were already on but it's not. I don't know how it knows what's on and what's off but it does.

Pros: It just works. What a novel concept nowadays.

Cons: It can't automate SmartTV commands like it can with Roku. My Samsung SmartTV has Netflix and Amazon built in. Harmony can create an activity to watch Netflix on the Roku which will automatically fire up Netflix on Roku for you. It can't do that with the SmartTV. It will get you as far as the SmartTV initial menu but you need to drive from there. This integration can be improved.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Harmony Companion

Bullwinkle from Ohio on 10/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Downloads everything perfect. Set up is really easy compared to some others I've had. Remote works by RF so it has great range. The Hub which is IR also works well(at least for me). The IR Blaster is not so good. You have to be fairly close to the component (say 8-10") and it has to be aimed right at the sensor. It programs easily and Logitech support is very good at helping with questions or to solve problems. The remote is comfortable to hold and very light. IT NEEDS TO BE BACKLIT!!! It is difficult finding the right button in the dark.

Pros: Easy set up and works great

Cons: Lack of a backlight and the range of the IR Blaster

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

works great

Ry from KS on 8/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This remote work great after you get the setup correct. There are some tricks to that. Its a lot better than the traditional harmaony as it is Rf and does the sequen es faster.

Pros: Rf control

Cons: tricky programing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

frank c from Pennsylvania on 7/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up on my iphone and ipad. My main problem was the remote did not work out of the box and had to be returned to Logitech upon my insistence. I am also experiencing issues running my Apple TV from the app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Good but not Great

KJ from Texas on 6/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Programming is much improved with App vs the old Harmony website. Hub IR blast works great even with hub on cabinet shelf below TV. Improved button placement and individual device control would make it great. Not using any home automation devices currently.

Pros: Fantastic Value Easy programming with app

Cons: Lack of individual device control

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Although I loved my Harmony One

PSH from Texas on 6/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could. It would get 5 if it was backlit. I read many reviews about difficulty setting up the activities. While I had a little trial and error, mine were really just in trying to make the IR emitters work with a combination of closed cabinet and enclosed cabinets. I had mixed success with that, and could probably fix it with one more of the IR blasters and some positioning. Otherwise, the remote and the iOS apps work terrifically. Although I loved my Harmony One, my family never got as familiar with it as I did. They were able to use this iOS app right away with no problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Mr

Ronald S from New Jersey on 5/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall it's a relatively inexpensive way to consolidate a remote control issue that's becoming more common. I'm sure many people have universal remotes, however many of those universal remotes aren't able to learn RF remote commands, so like in my case I ended up with a universal remote for all my IR home theater equipment, then one for my Tivo and another for my Roku 3. The Logitech Smart home control solves that very well. It's able to learn both IR and RF commands which allows for consolidating everything into one. As much as I love having one remote for everything there are some drawbacks with the remote itself. The buttons aren't colored for easy identification. I use the mute button often (for commercials) and it would be useful to have it (and others) colored. Although the remote is laid out well the buttons aren't intuitive since they are preassigned with either text or icons on the buttons themselves. For example if i want to take the Tivo menu off the screen and go back to tv I have to hit the menu button, and not the exit or back button which would make more sense but that button is not assignable. Also some of the buttons are too small. Some buttons you can reassign and others you can't and set up for the Logitech can be a chore, luckily Logitech customer service was very helpful and they can do much of the set up for you over the phone, it seems they can do much of the set up with a while your on the phone via your pc. Overall it its the best choice for now

Pros: great consolidation of IR and RF remotes

Cons: Hard to set up, remote control is very limited and can be confusing when having it control multiple inputs

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Another Logitech Disappointment

philbear from San Francisco on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A few years ago I had purchased a Logitech universal remote. It was so disappointing, I put the expensive device in a drawer to collect dust. When I saw this product, I figured that after a few years they had time to get it right and purchased it. Boy, was I wrong. The same issues I had with the previous remote were still present. I was able to program the device correctly, but after one or two uses it would get out of sync again. The proper devices were not turning on/off, TV inputs that had previously worked would not switch when changing functions, etc. I tried "rebooting" and starting from scratch with the same results. Thankfully, Crutchfield has a 60-day return policy. The remote was back in the original shipping box and dropped off at UPS less than 48 hours after I had received it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 13 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 3/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mediocre experience with remote. Sometimes doesn't turn on new 2014 Samsung TV and 2013 Yamaha receiver. Not as responsive as remotes that come with devices. Had some challenges with smartphone app where program freezes. Delete and reload to solve problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great remote

Mark from Virginia on 2/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great remote for the money. Also the easiest universal remote to program.

Pros: Easy to program. RF works at distance from hub. Free smart phone app.

Cons: No IR built into remote. Must upgrade to Harmony touch for IR. Can be issue if TV is mounted in a remote location from your electronics and Harmony hub.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Logitech Home Control

kbc from Harrisonburg,Virginia on 2/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and set up.

Pros: Can control entertainment system with cell phone from anywhere, even in another room or outside.

Cons: Sometimes have to reset components

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Logitech Harmony Companion

Crutchfield customer from San juan, pr on 2/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

So far so good

MetroDCGal from the Washington, DC Area on 1/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only been using this for 2 weeks, and the set up was relatively easy the only glitch was that I was instructed to turn off the Sampsung AnyConnect+ feature on my TV in order for the remote to work. What it actually did was prevent my TV/receiver from acknowledging each other while in TV mode, so I could only use the TV speakers. When I tested by turning on the AnyConnect+ all was good, and the Harmony Remote still functioned as expected. This is my 2nd Harmony remote, and it looks a bit cheap for that price, but it's working so far. Every now and then, it doesn't turn on the right setting on one of the components, but that happened with the old remote, too.

Pros: Easy set up, works with all my media components

Cons: Cheap looking remote, remote buttons don't light up

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Good to go!

Kent from Oak Grove, MO on 1/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very cool remote. I have it operating my TV, Cable Box, Sound Bar, XBox and DVD Player. With the push of one button I can have everything on to watch TV.(TV, Cable Box, Sound Bar) or one button turns on XBox TV and Sound Bar. Went from 4 remotes to 1. And there is so much more you can do with this one remote.

Pros: Easy to set up but takes a little time. Easy to read buttons and works flawlessly.

Cons: Initial set up takes some time and understanding of operation functions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I returned it..

Stevo from Hawaii on 1/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Longtime harmony remote user. Not happy with the direction their going. I returned this remote after 3 weeks. Actual remote doesn't offer enough buttons/control. Using ipad or phone is a neat option but not practical. You have to look down to press the correct touchscreen button and it doesn't respond as well. I checked device compatibility of my hampton bay ceiling fan before purchase but it won't work. Apparently no RF devices will work, even though it can be an added device? Other home control compatible products would be nice, but you still need to buy their complete hub/system and set it up- why Logitech doesn't have their own outlets and switches yet I don't know. I will buy another Harmony One remote from somewhere (it's discontinued) as it is my favorite.

Pros: Price, set up is easy

Cons: Remote has limited buttons/control Doesn't control ceiling fans Ipad/smart phone use is impractical

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good product but remote keys 7,8,9 did not work

MarkP from New York on 1/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up was good but remote keys 7,8,9 did not work....so I sent it back.. I'm sure this was just a mfg defect and the vast majority of units are fine.

Pros: setup is good, functionality is good.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wow...this is fun

Dragaeran from atlanta, ga 30319 on 12/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This remote is great. It's easy to setup and most of all simplifies the "learning process" for everyone in the house for the new system. Logitech just keeps making better products and I'm loving it. My clients wanted simple, intuitive and a little tech bling....we got it with this one.

Pros: Easy setup, great functionality and sleek design

Cons: I'll let you know if I find any

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Harmony Home Control

Loren W from Las Vegas on 12/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced Harmony On with the Harmony Home Control and found it to be a much superior product. Harmony Home works with radio waves converted to infrared with a "blaster". The whole process of controlling four activities is much faster and more accurate. The remote is very compact and solidly built, very ergonomically correct. Bottom line a terrific product.

Pros: Very fast remote, no need to point at TV or other units. Works great behind closed cabinet doors. Small compact solid feeling remote.

Cons: Buttons are small and take a little getting used to.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing remote

Cindy from Virginia on 11/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing remote. Purchased to replace Logitech Harmony 600. This model is far superior; was easy to set-up; is easy to use; intuitive buttons. Love this product.

Pros: Easy to set-up, intuitive to use, nice size, controls multiple devices well, hub makes pointing at the devices perfectly unnecessary

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great idea, half-baked execution

Long-time Harmony user from SF area, CA on 11/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've worn out the buttons on my old 880's, so had to buy a new remote. I like the idea of a hub-based remote so I don't have to keep aiming the remote at the start or end of activities. I don't plan to use the IOS / Android abilities other than when needed (to change setup). I also haven't used the smart home feature (I don't have any wi-fi devices like a Hue or Nest), maybe when their future home automation extender comes out. My main problem is that the ability to find & setup the hub is router-dependent. Using my current router, it would not complete the hub discovery / connection process enough to setup remotes. After 2 hours on the phone with their support, I was still out of luck. After the call, I experimented with using an old (unreliable) router - the process worked without a hitch (I got the remotes basic setup done). But using the new router, sometimes I can edit the activity settings, sometimes not!

Pros: * Remote: better buttons & layout, 1-year battery life, cheap to replace when worn out. * If you have an existing Harmony remote, it will import it's configuration.

Cons: * Might not work with your router (like mine). * Android software is flaky (sometimes I cannot do the setup features).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A bit on the expensive side

Kayan from New York on 10/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

3 stars because the remote can be a hit or miss at times.

Pros: iOS app works fine controlling individual device, and launching different activities

Cons: Remote works about 90 percent of the times. When I try to launch my fios TV service in the morning, (tv, receiver and Motorola box) it has a hard time tunning to the correct input on my receiver. Also sometimes another device turn on by itself when I try to turn off the whole system using the remote.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP