Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sonos Roam

Wireless portable speaker with built-in Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth® (White)

MFR # ROAM1US1

Sonos Roam

Sonos Roam

Wireless portable speaker with built-in Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth® (White)

MFR # ROAM1US1

103 reviews
View this product

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 12/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This purchase has been a winner. It is so easy to use and beautiful sound. I also love how light weight it is and can sit horizontally or vertically with no loss of sound quality.

Pros: This purchase has been a winner. It is so easy to use and beautiful sound. I also love how light weight it is and can sit horizontally or vertically with no loss of sound quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, MD on 11/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice packaging and sound great. Will probably buy more than one.

Pros: Compact lots of sound

Cons: Would like to be able to adjust tone at unit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceeds High Expectations

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 11/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great. Setup, including stereo capability, is quick and incredibly simple. Great addition to the sound system!

Pros: Great portability Easy setup Super sound Reasonable price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly recommend!

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Bought this when our Bose Soundlink died recently.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far, Great! No Complaints

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 10/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for what I wanted. Was looking for a speaker connected to my music (I keep it in my office) that I could take with me. Obviously higher end Sonos have deeper tones and more volume but this speaker is a great option for, wait for it, roaming. I recommend it Watch the Crutchfield review it will tell you exactly what you need to know.

Pros: Portable, compact, convenient, Bluetooth

Cons: None really, as advertised.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Archdale, NC on 10/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound obviously isn't comparable to my Sonos Play 1 and Play 3 but I enjoy the portability of the Roam and the ability to switch between Bluetooth for my turntable or WiFi along with my other Sonos speakers.

Pros: Bluetooth or WiFi! Also the standby rest mode for quick connectivity. Very easy setup to both!

Cons: The standby rest mode can drain the battery (100% to 66% overnight) if you don't follow the instructions and manually turn it off when you're done.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome paper weight!

Crutchfield customer from Jonesboro, AR on 9/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ZERO STARS!!! Sanos should be ashamed to put their name on such a piece of garbage. The primary purpose of this speaker is portability, which should mean a descent battery life. I have been "fortunate" to maybe get two hours out of this speaker while playing at a very low volume. The sound quality is reasonable for such a small footprint but is worthless if the battery is dead. I would hope that sanos would recall this product but I sure they won't. My only regret was not returning this to Crutchfield when I had the chance.

Pros: Keeps papers from flying off desk in windstorm

Cons: Unacceptable battery life. Grossly over advertised.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Extremely poor battery life!

Jason from Palm Harbor, FL on 9/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The main reason for this rating is due to the battery. The battery life is horrible! I have a wireless charger and if you take it off the charger after its fully charged, the speaker is dead within 24 hrs. I have JBL portable speakers that when not in use will hold a charge until you use the speaker. I'm not sure why this speaker loses it charge when it sits unused. I have tried accessing the settings and nothing has helped. I was very excited to get this speaker because my whole house is set up with sonos products and this was going to allow me to carry music to areas I don't have sound, but if it's not sitting on the charger the battery is usually dead.

Pros: Sound is good for the size of the speaker.

Cons: Battery life is very poor, should be sold as a wired speaker

Crutchfield response on 9/20/2021
Jason, we're sorry you're having issues with your speaker. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Roam from Sonos is a great speaker his sound is brilliant and the bass is awesome . This speaker has a high quality of sound and the price is affordable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos does it again.....

Crutchfield customer from Huntersville, NC on 9/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was impressed with how much power was packed into a very small form.

Pros: Small form, big sound

Cons: Wish that it would ship with the charging base.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Guest from Burlingame on 9/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is very excellent for its size and weight (you won't find better). The sound is prob not quite as powerful as the Bose Sound Link Mini, but Sonos has better/crisper highs (but not as good mids and base as Bose). The Sonos Roam is much better for travel though because it is lighter and easier to carry. I don't like how it doesn't come with a charger (although it will charge slowly on most any wireless cell phone charger). I also don't like the power button as its hard to tell if the unit is on or off, and then usually the battery dies.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Battery

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 9/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good but battery life is too short

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Short battery life

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Shallow sound, limited output

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 9/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is shallow and doesn't suspend at all. Tones almost die out during the songs. I'm replacing my Bose mini because is buzzes so much and hoped this would be a good replacement. It falls fall short. There is no richness in the sound and it doesn't move the music out into the room. Will keep looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/7/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 9/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only works with S2 app which I didn't realize and is annoying. Not the richest sound but for the price, size, and portability, very well worth it!

Pros: Price, portability

Cons: Sound, not compatible with S1 app

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Little Sound Box

Crutchfield customer from Ewing, NJ on 8/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device is just as I expected - well worth the investment! Crutchfield shipped as promised too.

Pros: Great Sound Perfect for pool or deck Good battery Life

Cons: Hi Volume Can Cause Minor Vibrations Sound is On The "Bass" Side

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 8/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gave away as a gift.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Howard from WILLIAMSBURG, VA on 8/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is mediocre at best. Needs to be recharged pretty much daily (whether you use it or not). Almost impossible to read the embossed controls on the side of the speaker.

Pros: Nice size

Cons: See review.

Crutchfield response on 8/30/2021
Howard contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

not compatable

Crutchfield customer from Geneva, NY on 8/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to return the roam due to it's incompatibility with the rest of my system. I have been a huge fan of the Sono's products in the past but this has been a very disappointing experience. Sonos has changed their format which has made my existing equipment obsolete. I can't believe they would change the software to a point that it's not compatible with the legacy equipment. I have over 4000.00 invested in equipment that will not match up with anything I may want to add in the future!! They have lost a customer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sonos Roam is an amazing speaker. Don't let its size fool you!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seamlessly meshed with my existing SONOS system. I now have music in my garage and workshop.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Amherst, NH on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my Sonos system and love the ease of the on go part. Bluetooth is very easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, GA on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great. The user experience is exceptional.

Pros: Looks great, sounds great, easy to use, easy to interface with your sound sources

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Grreat add on

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All Sonos products are great. This is an add on for our system that parks in our master bath, but thrown in a bag for trips.

Pros: Flexible Small Part of the Sonos ecosystem

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam Dead

Adam from Dunwoody, GA on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was loving the portability and the incredibly good sound from such a small speaker. Then it died. I had owned it for about three months. I purchased direct from Sonos. I wish I hadn't. I bought direct to take advantage of their sale as a returning Sonos customer and actually bought a pair. I gave one away to a friend as a housewarming gift. I am really not looking forward to them calling me asking how to get it to turn back on once there's dies too. From the various comments and message boards I can find. This seems to be a pretty common issue and I have yet to see a fix.

Pros: Great little speaker with good quality sound while it lasts.

Cons: Dead speakers tell no tales.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Roam a great addition

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 8/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy to use and is very compact for taking almost anywhere. The Roam works well with existing Sonos app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Colonia, NJ on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, best sound I have ever heard out of a device this size

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

An ok product but falls behind.

Crutchfield customer from Scarborough, ME on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product but missing an aux port for 3:5mm jack. Also on the black unit the buttons are almost impossible to see. On some photos on the web they are misleading and shown in white.

Pros: Small and light.

Cons: No AUX port Hard to see control buttons Limited battery life

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Orchard Lake, MI on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Service. I called and they helped me connect with Blue Tooth so I could use this speaker with Google Assist, on the Patio, and on the boat. Great sound and easy to use. Very friendly customer Service contacts! Would recommend this product.

Pros: Great customer service. Great speaker sound.

Cons: The directions weren't that clear for setting up Google Assist and Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

you asked!

Crutchfield customer from Twin Lakes, WI on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not friendly when setting it up! Actually it was a pain in the ass! Specially since I already had five other Sonos speakers. But it does sound excellent when compared to my Bose.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buyer BEWARE!

Crutchfield customer from Centerville OH on 8/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buyer BEWARE! Do your research before buying! Especially check the Sonos forum. Plenty of Sonos LOVERS having major problems with this particular product. Just getting it to charge at all is very problematic (and very picky about what charger you use -NOT included with the speaker!). The unintuitive overly complicated lighting system makes it hard to tell when it's charging or not, or whatever else you are trying to do. Bluetooth? Not possible without first connecting to your home network via WIFI. WHICH, has proven VERY problematic for MANY people. Mine would supposedly connect, but then not be able to find it on my network, claiming I had more than one network. Read the horror stories of 3 hour phone calls with Sonos only for them to screw up people's entire home network. Portable, yes. Good for vacations? No. This unit loses it's charge within about 10 days because even unplugged (off), it constantly searches for WIFI. If you're like me and prefer a real manual, forget about it. EVERYTHING about this devise has to be found online, piece meal, and some info doesn't even come from Sonos! I for one wasted about 12 hours of my life trying to get this thing to run, and I never even got 1 single peep of music out of it. I don't care how good it sounds (or doesn't), the overly complicated design of this thing makes it way too complicated to be a reliable useful family device. I sent it back never hearing 1 single note of music. Seriously annoying and disappointing. Garbage.

Pros: Impossible to tell (not running after 12 hours of trying)

Cons: Overly complicated set up (no push button link play here) Won't find itself on home network (won't run) Can't use Bluetooth without WIFI set up (dumb) Loses charge even when not in use (brilliant - NOT!) Internet manual information too piece meal (cumbersome) Doesn't come with compatible charger included (WT heck?) Expensive compared to competition (get a JBL)

Crutchfield response on 8/4/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Disapointing

mike from STRATHAM, NH on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a long term Sonos owner I'm very disappointed in the Roam. The battery will go flat quickly even when powered off. It won't switch on, even when connected to a power source and the LED is lit, and the sound quality is 'meh'. I was hoping this would give me a cheap and flexible Roon endpoint when we're sitting outside, but sadly it's not living up to expectations. I'm just glad I didn't trade in any of my older Sonos devices as they wanted me to.

Pros: Looks nice

Cons: Battery life, power switch.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Catonsville, MD on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is awesome and I love that you can take it anywhere!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Canton, MI on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up was easy, sound is fantastic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Roam is a Disappointment, Especially as a Portable TV Speaker

Michael from Allen, TX on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new Sonos ARC and Sonos One surrounds, but the Roam is disappointing. It is useless as a remote TV speaker - my intention was to be able to take it into the kitchen and onto my patio and continue to listen to TV news and sports broadcasts. However, when listening to TV (but not when streaming music thru Spotify, etc.) there are lots of annoying dropouts that make the Roam unlistenable. Sonos support was not able to help - they said the Roam is not really intended as a TV speaker. (And I've spent hours experimenting with the delay and sync options in the Sonos app, but nothing helped.) Also, you must keep it charging at all times when not using it, or be sure to COMPLETELY turn it off when not in use, otherwise it will drain, causing a very long recharging cycle. I considered buying the $49 (!) charging pad, but after being somewhat disappointed with the unit, I did not want to pay such a ridiculously exorbitant amount for a charging pad. My feeling is this unit has too many bugs right now to be a seamless experience when using with a Sonos system, and is overpriced and underpowered as just a pure portable bluetooth speaker. Too bad - I was so impressed with my ARC system, and can't wait to add the Sub, but the Roam is at this point not very well engineered.

Pros: Good Sound Small and Light

Cons: Dropouts when listening to TV through the ARC (or BEAM) Only gets 6-8 hours on full charge Learning curve on controls Discharges QUICKLY when not in use and not plugged in $49 charging pad?

Crutchfield response on 7/20/2021
Michael, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pleasantly Surprised

Crutchfield customer from Eustis, FL on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent portable blue tooth speaker. Sound quality, in my opinion , is very good. I had original purchased a JBL Charge 4. The JBL did not match my listening style. I returned it and after speaking with an advisor decided on the Sonos Roam. Very pleased with the speaker. For being small it can fill a room in the house or our RV. The volume control is really good with a very wide step. You can listen to it really low or really crank it up. Compared to the JBL which the low was too low and then the next step up was TOO high. The Sonos app is also really nice along with the WiFi and blue tooth connectivity. the downside is I think I have been sucked into the Sonos ecosystem and will by buying additional Sonos products. Probably the Sonos one next.

Pros: Size Sound Quality Speaker Volume Control Smart Speaker Features Connectivity Options Sound Quality

Cons: The Sonos App takes some getting used to.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Device

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Easy to set up. Only negative is that it "wakes up" when in standby mode when you open the Sonos app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great portable speaker! You can take it anywhere! It ties right in with our other Sonos speakers! Great price for fantastic sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Bullhead City, AZ on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product and easy ordering....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from River Vale, NJ on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Recommend Roam

Crutchfield customer from Ada, OK on 7/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small package with an big sound! Other speakers may have more bass; however, for a light, portable speaker, it sounds incredible. Not as good in open spaces, but I bought this to travel with. I used it in a hotel room - it fills small spaces like that really well. I love that I can tie it into my existing Sonos system at home and then use the Bluetooth feature away from home. I have not had adequate time to determine if it can indeed get 10 hours or so off a full charge.

Pros: Great sound in a small portable package

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nearly a home run

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, MO on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's pretty good for home use and Bluetooth, but connecting to other wifi networks and/or hotspots is a bit of a pain. 4 stars for being great, but not outstanding. Also, the charging cable they include requires a USB-A power adapter, whereas USB-C would be more convenient for me personally.

Pros: Sound Quality, Volume, Size

Cons: USB-A Charging Cable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The little speaker that could.

Crutchfield customer from Marlboro, NJ on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable sound for such a small speaker. Being so small I wasn't expecting earth shaking bass or sound but got more than hoped for.

Pros: WiFi,Bluetooth,stream whatever music services you have.

Cons: None to mention.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Olivia from Charlottesville, VA on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my Sonos system in home and wanted something that was easy to bring with me. In its price range, it'd be super hard to beat this product as a bluetooth speaker regardless of the convenience of linking it to the rest of my house. It takes seconds to set up and has an added (but skippable) feature of learning its surroundings like other Sonos products to optimize sound quality. I've tried it in a few different locations (since this isn't a stationary one) and was impressed by its adaptability. Overall super pleased with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Mableton, GA on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is our 6th Sonos addition to the house, great for the patio or just to 'Roam' around. Great purchase!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Beaufort, NC on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, sounds great for a little speaher

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best portable speaker

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 6/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy set up. No problems using wifi or bluetooth. I think I may get another

Pros: sound size ease of use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Longboat Key, FL on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, easy to set-up and operate. Our home is immersed in Sonos equipment and the roam was a great addition. We have two play bars, three pairs of in-ceiling speakers with amps and a sub. Great sound system and now it is complete!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Howell, MI on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great recommendation. Love the sound. Love the Alexa feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small pakage with great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great for the small package. I got full day use on a battery charge. Only thing keeping it from 5 stars is the connectivity issues I have experienced with Sonos app. I use the Roam as a floating zone with three other sound zones on the app and the app frequently loses the device. I have experienced the same issue with the Sonos Move. I wish the app were more staple, when it gets "lost" you need to reset the device and reconnect it to app. That's a pain that I share with other users that I have found no easy fix to the issue. If you use this as a Bluetooth device I don't think this is an issue.

Pros: Size of a water bottle Nice sound Good battery life

Cons: Connection with Sonos App

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Carmichaels, PA on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not bad for its size. Easy to carry along for when you go Golfing in the cart . You can also hook up to your current Sonos system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Canton, OH on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for something so small. It's a good addition to my Sonos home system.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound from s compact device

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 6/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker. I'm a huge fan of Sonos products. Won't be disappointed should you invest in a Sonos Roam.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Independence, OH on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great on the patio and the golf course!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rhythm You Can Count On

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 6/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After discussing our goals with the Crutchfield rep (most helpful), we settled on this speaker to use as our Rhythm guitar player when off camping. We connect to it using Bluetooth from an application on a laptop that plays rhythm guitar and bass fiddle tracks. The sound is incredible for such a small speaker and it's a whole lot more reliable than any old guitar player. Our banjo and mandolin picking is on the rise. Crutchfield is tops!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Beachwood, OH on 6/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little speaker for my bathroom. Sound quality quite good. So far so good.

Pros: Small footprint. Easy set up. Pleasing sound.

Cons: As expected, minimal bass response.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Coral Springs, FL on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy to carry, excellent service and support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Arecibo, PR on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Practical size and weight. Good bass and sound quality.

Pros: Battery powered, bluetooth and wifi.

Cons: App should be updated.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from N Ft Myers, FL on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't always play when I turn music on. Have to manually play it. I love the sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great addition to Sonos system

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, NC on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speaker. I bought two Roam speakers to replace two Bose revolve speakers that I bought to listen to music on porch. The Bose often have connect problems which drives me crazy. I have Sonos in most rooms of the house. Pairing is easy and connection is automatic when turn on units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speaker and even more amazing service

Crutchfield customer from Malvern, PA on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sonos roam speaker. Was exactly what I was looking for in a compact but big sound speaker. Amazing how I got it in 1 day. Basically ordered the night before and it showed up at my doorstep the next day. Really great service thru crutch field. Will use them again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, WV on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW!!!!! This sounds AMAZING everywhere! It like a miracle speaker.

Pros: Amazing sound. Clear and crisp at any volume. And if you want volume, this speaker will deliver.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 5/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great in certain genres I tested like electronic music (with decent/generous bass, up to a point), jazz, and some rock. Good recordings sound good. The speaker is really portable and handy. Also, I think a very cool feature of the Sonos app is that it integrates all the major music apps out there all in one place, very handy too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Battery impedes otherwise excellent performance

Guest from New York on 5/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality is a huge jump from my Anker Soundcore 2. The built in mic adjusts for ambient room noise and works insanely well. I love this unit, but the designers made a huge mistake in the battery capacity. On a good day, I'll get three hours of it. The stickler is that when it drains to 0%, it takes 45 minutes via USB to USB-C and 15 minutes via a dedicated 9V USB-C from my iPad Pro cable/plug. There are zero battery warnings via the app, no alerts via beeps or vocals from the unit, and nothing other than a little flashing light in the corner of a room. Then when it's dead, it stays dead for a while. If you ever get it working, turn the Loudness feature off: it's terrible and the speaker sounds so much better without it. I would have gladly paid twenty bucks more for them to put ina better battery. Waiting for a firmware update or version 2.

Pros: Great sound Adaptive EQ

Cons: Battery Battery life indications Battery recharging ability Everything about the battery Fire everyone who had anything to do with the battery

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good, but not the absolute best at this price point

Crutchfield customer from Mandeville, LA on 5/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Portable, easily programmed. Actively adjusts its sound to better suit it surroundings, but I didn't find it helpful. Sounds best at lower volumes. When at higher volumes, it loses its definition. So the higher the volume, the smaller it sounds. Great speaker, but I have heard better. Bought two unseen, sent one back.

Pros: Full, clean at low volumes. Last the good part of a day on a full charge, bluetooth as well as WiFi.

Cons: Not particularly powerful, and when pushed it sounds small and inexpensive.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly recommended

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 5/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly recommended. Big sound for a small speaker. So far, I've only used as an add-on to my existing whole house Sonos system. Thinking about ordering another to make a pair. Easy to connect & use with wi-fi

Pros: Exceptional sound quality

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Luck

Crutchfield customer from Coatesville, PA on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointing: I experienced much difficulty trying to connect the Roam with to my wi-fi as well as my cellular phone. I resorted to contacting the reccommended support system that cost an additional fee. The technicians spent more than two hours getting the Roam to operate after informing me they needed to install an update that was not currently available in the Google Play Store. When the installation was completed I had to accept that bluetooth devices that I already own were equal to the Roam and two are better, much more easy to operate and cost effective.

Pros:

Cons: 1. Cost of the device 2. Additional cost for customer service 3. Difficult to activate/install

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Annapolis, MD on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound , pairing it to my iPhone took some time but I'm impressed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Gurabo, PR on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice!

Pros: Portable and easy house. Compatibility with apps.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Portability

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this little speaker. I take it to my back patio when I'm working in the yard and can listen to music through Alexia or to my Sonos saved music. The sound is great but the portability is what I really love.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Lynnwood, WA on 5/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with the sound and quality of this speaker. We also love our home system we bought a few years ago. The only thing we regret is not buying the Sonos Five when we bought our system. But the bar, base, and two speaker give us enjoyable surround sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound Design Designed for Sound

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 5/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and design. This unit was added to my other Sonos products in less than a minute. Connects to Bluetooth when I'm on the go, then re-connects to Wi-Fi seamlessly.

Pros: Unit switches from Wi-Fi to Bluetooth quickly. Great sound Easy access controls for volume, voice control and play options Sleek, ergonomic and attractive design

Cons: None to mention

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

The Little Speaker That Can!

Crutchfield customer from Longmont, CO on 5/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small, versatile, powerful and appealing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Upstate New York

Crutchfield customer from Cobleskill, NY on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We had a Sonos 1, then we got the Roam, we use the Roam all the time, it sounds silly but it is so nice to come in from the deck and still listen to the same music like it is following you around. We like it so well we will probably get another one so I can take it to my shop and fire pit while my wife is using hers to do gardening. Not sure what others mean about the battery life, so far we have run on battery about 6-7 hours and seems to be fine. We have not had a problem with battery life yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love it!!!

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sonos hits it out of the park here. Great little speaker with surprisingly good sound (enough for a 3 car garage at normal levels). If you need a party speaker, then obviously based on size this one won't do. Sometimes it doesn't wake up right away, but knowing this is a battery product there may be battery saving measures in its software when idle/asleep. Overall, I quite enjoy it. Sonos solved my issue of extending my listening area to the backyard/garage. Love this little speaker.

Pros: Small, pricing is on point, great sound (for the size)

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little speaker.

Crutchfield customer from Elkton, MD on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little speaker is impressive! Sound is good, not excellent like the Move, which was expected. Very durable, has been dropped and soaked without any issues resulting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! Great portability; seamlessly connects to my SONOS system or to Bluetooth. 10+ hour battery life. Very high WAF rating!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Zionsville, IN on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker has great sound quality and is surprisingly powerful and rich for its size. The battery life has been a pleasant surprise since I read a few professional reviews bemoaning its limited battery I've had it turned on and playing music on multiple occasions for over 6 hours and it's never drained below 30%. Two minor complaints prevent a five star: (1) the battery drains fairly quickly when not in use (a few days and you'll lose 25% or more while powered off) and (2) the wifi connection is a bit finicky which is surprising given my other Sonos products have been consistently connected for years without issue.

Pros: - Rich and powerful sound for its size - Pairs with the rest of my Sonos system - Surprisingly long active battery life - Wifi connectivity means no annoying loss of sound when calls come in or you're looking at the internet (unlike Bluetooth speakers)

Cons: - battery declined quicker than expected when unplugged and turned off - wifi connection seems less stable than with other Sonos products (I've had to reconnect three times since I owned this.more times already than in the five+ years I've owned the rest of my Sonos system)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Washington, PA on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from this little speaker! I keep it on it's charging base in the room where I didn't have a Sonos speaker yet but can easily take it anywhere in the house including the shower which is exactly what I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a small speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Michael from OLYMPIA, WA on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality for its size, easy setup, and good compatibility within a Sonos system. However, as others have noted, the battery life is nowhere near the 10 hours Sonos advertises for this unit. Even playing at a low volume, in mild temperatures, and no use of voice assistant the fully charged Roam lasts closer to 3 hours. Also as others note there is some battery drain even when unit is powered off completely. This is a big misrepresentation by Sonos.

Pros: Good sound quality, easy setup, portable

Cons: Sonos completely misrepresented battery life by about 70%

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Brewster, MA on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Poor battery

Steve from Glenside, PA on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very poor battery performance. While listening at mid volume it eats about 10% per hour (Sonos app). The real issue though is when you stop playing music - that 10% per hour battery drain continues unless you hold the power button for 5 seconds to actually power it off. I have $40 Oontz speakers too, and when we stop streaming through them, they automatically go into standby and shut down. The batteries in those last months, whereas the Sonos can't even last overnight without being 100% dead the next morning.

Pros:

Cons: battery, price

Crutchfield response on 5/19/2021
Steve, we're sorry you're having issues with your speaker. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nearly perfect

Crutchfield customer from Pompano Beach, FL on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is typical SONOS, very good vocals and smooth low end. Only negative is that it will not integrate with SONOS S1 app or older system components.

Pros: Pretty much everything

Cons: Does not integrate with SONOS S1

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

My Two cents

Edwin L. from Jacksonville, FL on 5/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first shot at a Sonos speaker so here is my take. This roam speaker really impressed me once I got over how small the speaker is -- the sound quality is really good and the the ease of use is also impressive. I have other portable speakers that put out very good sound but they are not smart speakers and cannot use Google assistant without the use of a phone or tablet. This speaker replaced the Harmon Kardon Invoke speaker I had when Microsoft discontinued their support for Cortana. Again, I'm impressed with the Sonos Roam... it's a keeper.

Pros: Ease of use and automatic adjustments.

Cons: Comes without a carry case.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Impressive sound and software

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 5/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first opened the box , the speaker seemed small . But once I connected it to a music source, I couldn't believe how good this speaker sounds. Automatically adjusts to its surroundings. When I bring it outside , the bass sounds as good as when the speaker is indoors. I have a pair of One SL's in my living room and it was easy to add on this speaker, not as surround sound , but as a supplement.

Pros: Automatically adjusts to its surroundings. Easily transported.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Roam

Crutchfield customer from Hamptonville, NC on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the unit. Sonos should have included the wall plug for charging, it is an extra few bucks on Sonos website as a regular cell phone charger will not charge the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sonos Roam Review

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the sound, size and convenience but concerned about the battery as the charge percent seems to drop a bit even when it is shut off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from East Brunswick, NJ on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent portable speaker. Great performance. I'll be very happy to recommend this to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sonos Roam Rocks

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greta addition to the Sonos Line. Perfect gifts for the young adult on the go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Jason from Sacramento, CA on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sonos does it again, the audio that comes from this small speaker is incredible. I am only giving it 4 stars because of the lack of battery life. The advertised 10 hours of playback is not realistic, I have turned off all of the features (trueplay, voice, etc.) and have found that playback is closer to 3-6 hours, if I am being generous. Hopefully there will be some type of firmware update to address this problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to add to existing Sonos system... love taking Roam out to the garden for quiet music

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Los Altos, CA on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! Really nice form factor as well. Battery life is good too. We're a Sonos-house and this fits right in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

La bocina tiene muy buena funciones, pero el sonido no es el mismo, ya que tienes que darle suficiente volumen para que se escucha fuerte.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Mayaguez, PR on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best of the Best. Exceptional sound with the auto-placement sound adjustment! Move it to any room and it will adjust itself to the area. Great buy. Handy to grasp and go! Limited only by its size.

Pros: Short recharge of battery.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Easton, PA on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect if you are looking for a small, light-weight speaker that can easily be carried room to room. Sound quality is good; however, you really have to crank the volume way up to get robust sound out of this little guy. The Move is a much larger and heavier portable speaker, but far superior sound quality wise. I also wish the Roam would have come with a charging base rather than a plug. To buy the base is an additional $50 and it's not yet available. Overall though we do really enjoy the Roam for sitting on the porch or deck. Would be a great speak for around a pool as well.

Pros: Size Easy to carry Small enough to fit in a small bag or take on trips Holds charge for at least 8 hours

Cons: Sound Quality

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Everything you could want

Crutchfield customer from Ramrod Key, FL on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Sounds great Has great features. Allow me to carry whole house sound out of doors. Flawless set up. Another great product from Sonos

Pros: good sound flawless integration with my Sonos network

Cons: have not found one yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sonos Roam

Crutchfield customer from Clive, IA on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for music on the go. Could use a bit more bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Eats 1% of battery life for every minute played!

Jimmy from Gig Harbor, WA on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable - just do a google search on battery drain problems for Sonos Roam - Sonos obviously rushed this to production without fully testing. There are two issues: 1) It drains itself even when turned off. 2) It drains very quickly when playing music, e.g., I started with a 100% charge as indicated by the app, and after playing music for 20 minutes, the app showed the battery at 77% - that's basically 1% of battery life for every minute played! So how is Sonos able to advertise 10 hours? At 1% per minute, that's 100 minutes play time. Will be returning and looking for another brand. It's a shame - it sounds incredible, but just is not practical. Instead of naming it "Roam", it should be called "Room" (as in you can't roam anywhere with it but just leave it sitting in a room where it can be permanently plugged into a charger).

Pros: Fantastic rich sound and auto sets EQ based on environment.

Cons: 1) Drains itself even while turned off 2) When playing music, burns of 1% of battery live per minute

Crutchfield response on 5/7/2021
Jimmy, we're sorry you're having issues with your speaker. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

I Hate To Say It, But... MEH

Charles from New York, NY on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My best purchase of 2020 was a Sonos Arc surround system--LOVE the sound and have gotten so much enjoyment watching television and movies with this system. (Thank you, Crutchfield!) So I had high hopes that the Sonos Roam--especially with its available connection over Airplay--would send my two go-to bluetooth portable speakers over to ebay for sale. Those speakers are the Dali Katch and the Bose Soundlink Mini 1st Gen. Tonight I staged a shootout between the three and... overall, if I had to rank them, I'd say the Roam finished third of the three, which was NOT what I was expecting. It's not that the Roam was bad, per se--the truth is that each speaker had its strengths and weaknesses. But I'm least sure about keeping the Roam. To my ears, its lack of bass compared to the Katch and Soundlink Mini--and I'm not even a bass head--made it the least satisfying for listening to many types of music. Rock and hip-hop fans, in particular, should definitely look elsewhere. However, if your tastes run more toward classic jazz, the Roam could be your jam. It has a wonderfully open, revealing and musical sound that lends itself well to this genre of music, and the speaker almost disappears. It also does well, for similar reasons, with vocals. But for any music where at least a semblance of bass is important, Roam sounded thin, dull and flat. Hopefully, an update fix is coming, so I'll wait and see.

Pros: Beautiful design AirPlay or Bluetooth Plays reasonably loud Auto TruePlay Very portable

Cons: Lack of bass Battery life Setup with Sonos app was wonky Can sound thin and dull with many music genres

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Laurel

Andrew from Laurel on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't waste your time or money. Barely loud enough to fill a small room. But that is not the worst problem. I've been on the line with Sonos support for 2 days (each time I was in a hold cue for 25 minutes) to get a live tech to figure out how to remove the roam from my S2 iphone app. I did the proper de-registration twice, and this Roam will not remove itself from the Sonos S2 app. So if you want a poor speaker with terrible tech issues then go for it. Sonos used to be great. Ever since they forced you to buy new speakers to play your iPhone content and then introduced S2, it is no longer a product I can continue to recommend. Buyer beware.

Pros: None

Cons: Huge technical issues.

Crutchfield response on 5/4/2021
Andrew contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP