Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

BDI Corridor 8179

Audio/video cabinet for TVs up to 85" (Natural Walnut)

MFR # 705176817918

BDI Corridor 8179

BDI Corridor 8179

Audio/video cabinet for TVs up to 85" (Natural Walnut)

MFR # 705176817918

23 reviews
View this product

Excellent Home Theater Cabinet

William from HARRIS, NY on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All the reviews are spot on. This is a beautiful addition to any room. If you open the doors the center channel speaker placed on the top shelf does seem a bit brighter. Since the center shelf has a permanent back (and our center speaker has a rear port) the bass was boosted so we adjusted that. It's perfect if you want more bass from your center. Also, the various remotes do work a little better with the doors open. We just close the doors during a movie or when not in use. No problem. Assembly by two people took about 2 1/2 hours. The glass top is beautiful and cleans up easily with glass cleaner and paper towels. Seth was very helpful with our purchase. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BDI Corridor 8179

Crutchfield customer from South Dartmouth, MA on 9/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice cabinet

Pros: Good quality modern looking

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BDI Corridor 8179

Crutchfield customer from Ontario, CA on 5/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit, fit and finish are done well. It arrived with one broken wooden piece, Crutchfield gave me the "scratch and dent" price and I fixed the damage myself. I cannot fully express how much I like the customer service at Crutchfield, it is just the best. Very happy with the unit.

Pros: Beautiful design, great craftsmanship

Cons: Additional shelves are unavailable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not Crutchfield's Fault

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Falls, IA on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield, including the incredible tech support and customer service is the best company I've purchased from. Ever. I've been a customer for over 15 years and will remain a loyal customer. However..., the purchase of the BDI cabinet has actually been one of the worst experiences I've had with an on-line ordered product. The cabinet ships direct from BDI, and so tracking was not automatic. I had to contact Crutchfield for the link to track. After the cabinet was shipped, sat in Chicago for about a week, and was delivered about a month later, the real issue became apparent. Somewhere on the way to my house, at the BDI factory or on the way here, the unit was dropped or crushed. We realized this when my wife and I had the cabinet unpacked and noticed the doors were misaligned. After closer inspection of the interior I found the cabinet wood had been cracked and split, and the back panel separated from the top by almost 1/4 inch. I immediately called Crutchfield and received incredible customer support, with Crutchfield making the calls to BDI, providing pick-up of the damaged cabinet the very next day. I was disappointed that this particular color of the cabinet was no longer offered, and we had to choose another option for our TV/entertainment center cabinet. I would have liked to stay with Crutchfield because I trust them. 2 stars = 5 stars for Crutchfield - 3 stars for delivery experience. I'm sure a BDI cabinet is great, but didn't have t

Pros: Crutchfield customer support!

Cons: BDI shipping.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Furniture Great, Delivery not so much

Donald from COSTA MESA, CA on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have no issues with the product. It came as advertised. Stylish and functional. Everyone who visits my family room remarks how beautiful this piece is. Remote controls don't work as well so I have to orient the remote either up and down but it's a minor inconvenience. I would have given it a 5-star rating except the delivery experience was horrible. I was expecting "white glove" service where they would deliver and set up. Instead the delivery crew dropped the unit on my front walkway saying they couldn't bring it into the house because it was on a pallet and they were under COVID-19 restrictions. So I had to take it out of the box on my front walkway and carry the individual pieces into the family room. Putting aside the fact that I've had many other furniture deliveries set up without issue during COVID-19, it would have been helpful to know that I wasn't getting "white glove service," which I'm sure was included in the price of the unit.

Pros: Easy to assemble, looks cool, plenty of capacity for components

Cons: Delivery service

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent cabinet -- I like BDI more than Salamander

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent cabinet -- I like BDI more than Salamander, for appearance and versatility Very quick delivery. Note, delivery is "white glove lite." They unpack everything, make sure all is OK, and you have to assemble it (no big deal with these cabinets)..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice!

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Real nice unit. Very sturdy. Heavy. Not too hard to handle once out of the shipping package. Wheels are a very nice touch. Very happy with the purchase and delivery process. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Choice

Don from MURFREESBORO, TN on 2/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this console about 45 days ago and I totally love it. I looked very closely at this one, another BDI and several of the Salamander models. I spent an exhausting amount of time looking at reviews, specs, customer feedback, Youtube videos, etc to get what was just right for my media room. I was very skeptical of the sound passthrough and acoustics of the slatted wood/center speaker. I spent a week or two waffling on this and finally decided to go with the BDI. I can tell no distortion or muffling with the center channel speaker. The looks of it are great. It has great cable management pass-through and back panels, great ventilation and is overall a terrific unit. I really like it and am happy with my choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

BDI Corridor 8179

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well built and provides all the room I need for my multiple audio components. The hidden wheels are a definite plus. I would recommend this furniture.

Pros: High quality media furniture, the hidden wheels are a plus.

Cons: Very expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beautiful cabinet, functional and modern design

K from Seattle, WA on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this cabinet. I have had it for about 3 years now and it is looking like it is still new. Looks to provide some good ventilation and it holds a lot too. I'm thinking about adding an integrated amp but wonder if this cabinet could house a tube amp without getting too hot?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing Stand, but...

James E from Riverview, FL on 2/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Okay, so I'm going to give this cabinet 5 stars because it's exceptional quality and arrived in pristine shape. Strictly speaking about that stand, it's exactly what I hoped for. Now for the not so great. No white glove delivery. At this price point, there should only be white glove delivery. Not sure who to ding on this, Crutchfield or BDI, but since it ships from manufacturer my guess is BDI. Delivery guys were professional and even initially offered to help....until they realized that it was more complicated than a simple unbox. Then they were out of here so fast they left a vapor trail. No big D. Who doesn't want to assemble a 200 lb piece of furniture that they left in your house that is standing on end. Yes that's right...vertical...on its end. Luckily I've assembled several pieces of furniture before or the fact that there weren't any instructions to be found may have been problematic. Even sans instructions I got the base on and the Direct TV guy who was also at my house (just moved in) help me lower in and move it into position. I mention all of this for your awareness only. Like I said, the stand itself is awesome. It's the other details that could use someone's attention. No white glove...still SMH. Final grades: Crutchfield=A+; Direct TV guy=A+; BDI Customer service (called them for status update)=A+; BDI packing QC=F, BDI assembly crew=A; and finally Delivery=D.

Pros: Best TV Stand out there for my needs.

Cons: Lack of white glove delivery is frankly insulting at this price point. No instructions in box was pretty lame also.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

BDI Corridor 8179

Crutchfield customer from The Woodlands, TX on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking and functional. Placing the center speaker behind the doors gives it a clean look and doesn't hinder the performance. The only thing I think BDI could add is to have a mount or something for a surge protector strip or UPS. I have a Boston Acoustics sub on the left side, Polk Audio CSi A6 in the upper center, Apple TV, and on the right side, Xbox X, Marantz SR7012 and an Air Infinity S8.

Pros: Great looking, soft closing doors

Cons: wish it had a mount for surge protector.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Beautiful Console

Crutchfield customer from Petoskey, MI on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a beautiful console. The doors take a little bit of patience if they need to be adjusted but directions to do so are very clear and all tools needed are enclosed. This was the best packed item I have ever received. I was continually amazed as I undid the layers to reveal the console. BDI has really thought carefully about how to package this and their design team has done a beautiful job creating a simple but stunning piece of furniture. The only thing that could have worked better for me was the type of shipping. Shipping was included in the price but there was no choice to purchase white glove service. So the console had to be left in my garage and I had to round up two strong guys to get it into my living room. Crutchfield might consider offering a higher level of delivery at an additional cost. Otherwise I have nothing but praise for Crutchfield and BDI.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful media stand!

Aaron from Seattle, WA on 8/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful piece of furniture. Arrives mostly assembled, you just install the feet, braces, glass top and handles. Guests always comment on how nice it is. The color was more natural white oak than the pictures would lead you to believe. It's not quite as orange and yellow as the online pics, which is a good thing. Cable management is great, and the louvered doors make it easy to hide everything, but still use your remote with the doors closed. No changes in sound with a center channel installed in the cabinet and doors closed. I was even able to get my subwoofer into the cabinet with no rattling or noise thanks to the use of a SubDude II isolation platform and how well this media cabinet is made. Soft hidden wheels are hardwood floor friendly, but I would recommend putting felt on the bottom of the leg levelers if you intend on using them on hardwoods.

Pros: Well constructed Looks fantastic Built in cable management Soft close hinges Hardwood friendly hidden wheels

Cons: Expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Almost great

Norberth from California on 7/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As others have said, the cabinet has excellent design and build quality with minor quibbles. Deep components (such as Yamaha RX-A3040 for example) will only fit on the sides and may require leaving the back open behind them. One of the holes in the support beam under the console was misaligned so there's no way to run a bolt through it (if you have the cabinet you'll understand why). But the most frustrating aspect is the eventuality that the cabinet may arrived damaged as it did in our case. Shipping company drove a forklift through the box and punctured a door. Crutchfield was outstanding as always, but since replacements ship straight from the manufacturer, I've received a door that (given the natural variations between batches) is completely mismatched stain and finish wise with the remaining ones. Bottom line - recommended item with good value considering its quality, but be prepared to live with the consequences if the shipping experience is less than perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Details that matter

charliebaltimore from Stafford, VA on 7/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been looking for a media center for quite a while for man cave 2.0 and stumbled upon BDI. After putting my eyes on the actual product in-store I decided on the white oak finish. Order arrived within seven days, well packaged, with no damage. The finish exceeded my expectations. While I'm not a fan of pressboard, the type used is thick and well made. Love the cable managment, routing options and hardwood friendly wheels. Tons to vents to keep things cool!

Pros: Wheels, cable management, build quality... A piece that will turn heads!

Cons: A little pricey, but you get a well designed piece that will last a long time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

BDI Corridor 8179 Review

Paul from Upstate New York on 5/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best piece of audio furniture I have ever purchased. It is beautiful and functional. You can adjust the shelves and fit an extremely large center speaker in the center portion. And it is very easy to put together. Worth the money.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

Bryan from Texas on 3/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be happier with purchase of BDI Corridor 8179. It fits perfectly in my house with it's functional design as well as aesthetic appeal. I love the retro modern design. It was easy to put together with everything you need in the box.

Pros: Easy to put together Looks Functional design

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Corridor details

Bob from Upstate, NY on 12/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just providing more accurate details on this product. The Corridor stands 28.25" inches tall, not the 17.25" listed in the details tab here. Also, I've learned that there is no inventory kept on this item. They're built to order, so plan well in advance.

Pros: Appears to be a well thought out design from an audio gear practicality viewpoint.

Cons: I find it strange that this unit has been on the market for over a year and the only images available from BDI are 3D illustrations. For a product that is largely sold via online retailers, actual product photos would certainly help buyers make more informed decisions.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Well made and functional

Rick from Spokane, WA on 5/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This audio/video cabinet arrived undamaged in 13 days from order. The fit and chocolate walnut finish of this unit are exceptional as is the attention to detail. The old adage about "you get what you pay for" applies to this cabinet.

Pros: This unit hides all my components, but the louvered doors allow remote control access with the doors closed. The rubber wheels allow the unit to be easily moved away from the wall for rear access.

Cons: The hinge diagram in the BDI documentation does not match the ones on my unit. I was still able to perform adjustments after some trial and error.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Corridor TV Equipment Cabinet

Vince from Austin TX on 5/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product came extremely well packed and suffered NO DAMAGE. It came in a timely manner (about 7 days from order)

Pros: It is a beautiful cabinet and extremely functional - we love it. Could not be more pleased.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Sleek and practical

AGirgis from Houston, TX on 1/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived in one box almost fully assembled, very sleek and practical. Large compartments to accommodate all of our AV components, including a large Center speaker in the middle compartment, very well made of high quality materials, lots of ventilation and easy access back, wheels are available for easy moving. Worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

BDI Corridor AV console

Vince S from Bay Area, CA on 12/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stunning, sleek with fine lines. Hides all the clutter of wires and cables. Extremely well vented cabinet. Easy access back panels. Beautiful walnut slatted front, soft-close hinged doors, and adjustable shelves. This was a pricey item but the quality craftsmanship throughout tells me I got what I paid for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

TOP