Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
321 002 722 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
321 002 722 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Marantz CD6006

Single-disc CD player with USB port for iPod®/iPhone®

MFR # CD6006

Marantz CD6006

Marantz CD6006

Single-disc CD player with USB port for iPod®/iPhone®

MFR # CD6006

120 reviews
View this product

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Temple Terrace, FL on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new CD player. I am hearing details and nuances in my CD's that I didn't know existed. Great investment. I looked at this item and read reviews for several months before making the purchase. My only regret is that I didn't buy it sooner.

Pros:

Cons: My only wish is that the display was brighter; but that is a minor issue.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Absolutely quality player.

Claude from CHESTER, VA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow!!!! Superb sound right out the box. I have a Sony 4k Blu-ray player that's top notch for movies, however, the Marantz CD6006 sound quality for music enjoyment is hands down superior! If you are considering purchasing a dedicated CD player, get this one! My equipment consists of Yamaha A780, Wharfedale evo 4.2 front channel, a Canton Ergo center, and Wharfedale D330 rear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Elma, NY on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this receiver from scratch and dent. Well. there isn't a scratch on it. It came packed in the original box and all accessories were there. I set it up and it works perfectly. I had some CD's that would skip or get stuck in one spot with my old player and when I played them on the Marantz CD6006, they played like new. This is a very heavy well built player unlike many other that feel like an empty box. All the features work and you still get the three year warranty. Great purchase and the shipping was fast as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Highlands Ranch, CO on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the best CD players on the market at twice the price! If you are in the market for a new player that will bring your CD collection back to life, look no further!

Pros: sound quality USB input on front build quality

Cons: nothing at this price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very musical...

Crutchfield customer from Port Orange, FL on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am always weary when purchasing highly rated products because in my experience most often the products don't live up to the hype. Often they don't even sound good. This isn't the case here. This unit is very musical. The DAC is of very good quality and is very well implemented. Many CD's are mastered to sound bright (some ear piercingly so) which I don't understand as I cannot tolerate sibilance and shrill highs. This unit does a very good job at taming bright CD's. It produces a very warm, musical, analogue type sound. I purchase very well mastered CD's but I deliberately tested tracks that I knew to have lots of sibilance and were pretty much unlistenable to me and this unit made those tracks listenable. I was very impressed. I rip all of my CD's to WAV files and listen via USB. My thumb drive is connected to the CD player so I can listen to my entire collection without having to frequently get up to change disks. Everything sounds as good as CD however this leads to my only gripe with this unit. I am still playing with it and need to check the manual again but from my experience you cannot access the individual artist folders from the USB drive. The unit filters all of the audio files and plays them in sequential order. So let's say you want to listen to ZZ Top you can't directly access the ZZ Top folder on your drive. The unit will play the earliest artist first in alphabetical order and you will have to skip all of the tracks on your drive to get to the ZZ Top tracks.

Pros: Musical Good DAC Produces a warm, analogue type sound. Great remote that can be linked to a Marantz amplifier so that one remote controls both units.

Cons: I don't believe you can access folders on your USB drive. Via a USB thumb drive this unit automatically queues audio files and plays them in alphabetical order. My unit always starts with Anita Baker and if I want to listen to Teddy Pendergrass I have to skip a lot of tracks to get there. I can't access the drive's Teddy Pendergrass folder. This is a bit of an inconvenience, especially if you have many songs on your USB thumb drive.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent Full Range Classical Music Player

David B. from Knoxville, TN on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an outstanding cd player if you are into classical music. It will give you the full overtones and emotion that make great music great. Kiri Te Kanawa's final aria in Madame Butterfly will bring tears. The organ introduction to "Phantom of the Opera" will create sympathetic vibrations inside your body. The sound quality of this player is well worth giving up the convenience of a multi-disc player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

pattys sound system

Crutchfield customer from La Porte, TX on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love this I got this for my birthday. im so excited I am building my new sound system all marantz

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The promise of CDs finally fulfilled, at a reasonable price

Crutchfield customer from Kernersville, NC on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For 35 years, through several generations of CD players, I've been a card-carrying member of the "CDs just can't touch the sound of good vinyl" club. This Marantz unit has finally burst that balloon. It has the richness, fullness, and subtle detail of a good LP/turntable/cartridge combo at half the cost and without the inevitable drawbacks of vinyl. Yes, really. Even my wife instantly heard the improvement, and that rarely happens with my upgrades. Integration with my 80GB iPod Classic was simple - plug it into the front USB port with the iPod cable, select USB input, and play. The sound is great with AIFF and Apple Lossless music files on the iPod. I give only 4 stars for 2 reasons. First, the remote setup is a bit clumsy with the location of the most-used buttons in the middle, and that it is a multi-device remote with a lot of buttons I'll never use. Second, once after switching from iPod playback back to CD, it got into a mode where the drawer would open and immediately close again when you hit the Open button, not giving you a chance to insert or remove a disc. Unplugging/replugging the power solved the problem, but it's something that bears watching to see if it repeats or shows up in other situations. Even with that, I wouldn't give this unit up unless it becomes a chronic situation, it just sounds that good. Marantz CD6006 player, vintage Mission Cyrus 2 amp, Polk RtiA9 speakers. Classical, jazz, rock, folk, Americana genres.

Pros: It's all about the sound. Smooth, rich, detailed, deep bass and clear highs. Vocals and individual instruments just stand out and you'll hear and understand lyrics and sonic details you've never heard on your discs. Dimmable display, including off. Multiple gain settings on headphone output to match the power requirements of your cans. Heavy, solid build.

Cons: Setup of the remote buttons could be better. Almost invisible gray-on-black labeling of front panel control buttons (industry-wide pet peeve). Remote does not control the headphone volume, must use knob on front panel. Drawer open/close issue described in review.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Mixed feelings about this

Walt from Main St, USA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tested on my Yamaha A-S701 amp and Polk RTi A7 speakers. Two disappointments: First, the headphone amp is actually inferior to my Audioengine D1 DAC/headphone amp (also purchased from Crutchfield). Second, I think a lot of people have been wondering if the 6006 can play high resolution WAV files via the USB input. I want to settle this once and for all and tell you that sadly, it does not. I literally just tried with a freshly formatted (FAT32) USB thumb drive, and created three separate test folders: 96 kHz 24 bit, 48 kHz 24 bit, and 44.1 kHz 16 bit. It immediately started playing back the 44.1 kHz 16 bit files and the USB playback was flawless. Absolutely no sign of any glitches like you sometimes get when playing files on a computer. But with all the 24 bit files, it immediately says "No Support". And sure enough, according to the owner's manual, USB WAV playback tops out at 48 kHz 16 bit. If you are a nit picky audiophile, I would only recommend the 6006 if you also have a neutral sounding external DAC (mine rhymes with "Whit") that you can switch to on your amp when a particular album needs more clarity or tighter bass. Why? Because (in my opinion) the Marantz "house sound" is often too warm at the expense of clarity and definition. If you listen to a lot of CDs that already have tons of warmth baked in (e.g., DCC discs by Steve Hoffman), it's gonna be WAY too warm. (unless you have a really bright sounding room). Your mileage may vary but don't say you weren't warned.

Pros: Really great as a transport. Playback is glitch free when using built in DA converter and also via coaxial into my external DAC (no weird switching noises when jumping to a different song). Seems very well built (but with one glaring exception, see below). My favorite feature is that the sound stage is sometimes enhanced with increased front to back depth and snare drum hits sound excellent. Can sound great with certain 1980s CDs that were mastered with a really thin two dimensional sound.

Cons: In my opinion, the entire tray mechanism's build quality (including how it extends out) is inferior to the rest of the unit. Within the first month it malfunctioned on two different occasions (tray abruptly closed just before I was about to put a disc in). Not a big deal but does not inspire confidence so early on in the game. On a really nicely mastered CD, the presentation can actually be excessively warm and the bass is not as defined and focused as it would be on my external DAC.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz Quality with USB Input

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 5/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Having the flash drive input is much better than having a five disc player (which this replaced). We now have five flash drives with our CD collection favorites on them. The random feature also provides interrupt free music for many hours.

Pros: Great sound. Easy to use and set up.

Cons: Would be nice to have the random selection on the player instead of just on the remote. Remote way more complicated than it needs to be.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Diamondhead, MS on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent price/performance ratio. Well built, with easy operation. Sound quality is also excellent. Previous owner of Marantz gear, with great results. Recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, PA on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always been well satisfied with Marantz products and this player is no exception. I think their products are well designed and built. This player is easy to use and seems to be of very good quality. I would recommend this player to anyone who needs to play cd's with great sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent CD Player!

Martin from Chino Hills, CA on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have owned a nice Sony ES-series CD player for 25 years but it was showing its age so I started looking for a replacement. After reading numerous professional and owner reviews , decided to give the Marantz CD6006 a try. Very impressive build quality and the weight (14lbs) and 3-year warranty are reassuring. Most importantly, the sound quality is superb with a nice balance of warmth and detail. If you're looking for a quality CD player that won't break the bank, the Marantz CD6006 is an easy recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Eaton, CO on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this CD player to replace a unit that was skipping a lot. I've played several cds that would not track before and they all play beautifully. The sound is great with my high end amp and speakers. Shipping time was awesome. You folks at Crutchfield did a great job.

Pros: Nice looking unit. Tracks great, even cds that skipped before. Great sound.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional Sound! A very well built instrument of sound reproduction!

William from WICHITA FALLS, TX on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first CD player I have owned in 25 years. The designers and engineers have been busy during that time! This unit sounds alive and natural. I'm listening to Laurence Juber "The Fab 4th" and it is awesome. I am very happy with my purchase. I have been buying audio from Crutchfield for 35 years and have never been disappointed. The customer service is second to none. Tech support before you buy by people who care!

Pros: Natural Sound. Beautiful design. Well Built.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fabulous value

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, OH on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While obviously not the top of the line player compared to some audiophile manufacturers, the 6006 is a remarkable value. After two weeks of burn in and discs: excellent resolution of detail, excellent sound staging with air around each instrument as appropriate, balanced tonal presentation, reserved and polite presentation overall....not as cool and distanced as my Levinson 390s, but not in your face as with some other players. I bought the 6006 for my second system, replacing an ancient Denon 1520, and it certainly exceeds my expectations. Again, and excellent player for the money. Buy one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Bowling Green, KY on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. 1st player wouldn't work. Tried resetting it but had to get a replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Sherrill, IA on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't had it long but have played it continuously ! Seems great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Brookhaven, GA on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, it's great1

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD player. Love the transport, and it sounds great. But, like others I don't like the tray open button, but I could get by if the remote had the ability to open the tray, but that's a no also. Seems like an oversight to me.

Pros: Smooth transport. Hefty solid build. Great sound.

Cons: Small tray open button and no way to open tray with the remote.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Palm, PA on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 30yrs my Denon DCD2560 stopped working so I decided to purchase the Marantz CD6006, Emotiva ERC-4 and a NAD C568 to compare. I did a/b listening test and in my opinion the Marantz and Emotiva had no discernible difference. The NAD had a very slight edge over the others ($300 difference?) The Marantz was the clear winner for me with high value, great features, robust build quality and excellent sound.

Pros: Excellent sound, solid build quality and high value

Cons: Would prefer a dedicated remote and brighter display.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz CD

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, OH on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a single unit CD player to complement a new audio set up. Having owned Marantz receivers in the past, and having had good performance in the past, I chose the 6006 unit to replace an older Sony. Thus far the unit has operated as expected, and has a warmth during playback that mimics that of an analog turntable. The unit is solid, and looks clean. My only negative thoughts with respect to this unit are that it isn't offered in silver, and that the remote control is a bit cumbersome and without an eject button. In addition, a night time glowing remote may have been a nice touch as well. Once again, many thanks to the team at Crutchfield for their excellent sales and service!

Pros: Built well, clean warmth in sound reproduction, nice look.

Cons: No silver unit offered, bulky remote without eject function, no low light glow to remote.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second Marantz CD player in my household. Very pleased with the sound and love the headphone options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Purchase, NY on 1/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD player is not only well built but performs beautifully. If you are looking for a player for under $500 this is the one to get. I agree with other reviewers that the remote control has controls for components you may not even have connected to your system. Marantz is a reliable company and I have been very pleased with all their products over the years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Totally Happy!!!

Crutchfield customer from Goodyear, AZ on 1/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a had this new CD player for a few weeks now and couldn't be more happy with my purchase. I had just bought some new speakers, used NHT 3.3's and this player really does sound so good, I have been exploring my CD collection and purchasing new ones as well. I do have a vinyl set-up on this same set of speakers and it may not be quite as warm or detailed but for the ease of playing and the quality of sound it is such a small trade-off that I'm fine with it. Also the turntable is way more intimidating to my wife and this makes it very easy for her to listen to her music. Would certainly recommend this to anyone that is in the market for very capable CD player without breaking the bank.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great CD player.

Anthony from SAN DIEGO, CA on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to replace an older, Sony 5-disc player and decided on the Marantz CD6006. First, props to Crutchfield - the original unit proved to be a dud, failing to spin discs prompting a 'No Disc' error - but one call to Crutchfield yielded live humans who arranged shipment of a second unit even before the first was returned. The CD6006 is operationally straightforward, with an easily navigable front panel, a minimum of controls, and a clean, elegant layout. Others have objected to the inclusion on the remote of buttons operating other components, but when set to the CD function I found the remote easy to use. Aurally, the CD6006 is an amazing and transformative device and a surprising improvement over my Sony. Clearer, cleaner, and richer the CD6006 yields music I have never heard before from discs I have grown up with, like an '84 AAD copy of the Stones Let it Bleed. The improved detail on my Floyd stuff is simply astounding; the title track from Wish You Were Here has David Gilmour sitting in the room with me. Particularly noteworthy are a heightened low-frequency response, delivering deeper and more accurate bass tones, plus terrific channel separation, creating a broad and accurate soundstage. And discs that skipped on the Sony play fine on the CD6006. Wow all around!! If you want a terrific sounding player that will transform your CD collection, yielding sounds you've never heard before, buy the Marantz CD6006 and be very happy indeed. I love mine.

Pros: Amazing and transformative sound. Great detail, improved low-frequency response and channel separation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Fort Payne, AL on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this CD player to replace a Denon CD player that had failed. The sound quality using this CD player is superior to the Denon CD player. Highs are clearer. I am using it with a Nakamichi CA5 preamp and PA5 power amp with AR90 speakers. Service from Crutchfield was excellent

Pros: excellent sound quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006, vs Denon DCD800nr

Crutchfield customer from Northeast on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a review of both the Marantz CD6006 and the Denon DCD 800ne CD Players. I've owned both, and they each deliver wonderful sound. SOUND: Both have wonderful fidelity and have overcome the mid-range, digital harshness found in many CD players. The Marantz may be a little warmer and the Denon a little cleaner. The Denon has the edge in sonic specifications. Unless you have exceptional hearing, listen intensely for differences or are obsessed with purity, they are pretty comparable. If you are going to have a lot of gear (headphone amp / pre amp, tube buffer, equalizer etc.) between your player and main amp, the Denon should provide the cleaner source signal. Both are somewhat finicky about the condition of the CD they are playing. FEATURES: Counterbalancing this, the Marantz has a headphone jack (and a good sounding amp to go with it) while the Denon does not. Both accept HD USB inputs. BUILD QUALITY: While the construction of the Denon seems perfectly adequate, the Marantz is much more robust. It's considerably heavier and they have taken significant steps to keep the effects of vibrations to a minimum. Also, the Marantz comes with a heavy, detachable, power cord; the Denon is equipped with the type of cord found on much less expensive machines. CONCLUSIONS: If audio-obsessed, get the Denon; otherwise, get the robust unit with the headphone jack (Marantz). -Why 4*s? I returned my CD6006; playback problems; may have been due to

Pros: Wonderful sound Solid construction

Cons: Somewhat finicky about condition of CDs.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, TN on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz CD6006 is proof that you don't have to pay top dollar to get top-notch sound from your CDs. It plays most basic disc formats, as well as audio files from USB drives or Apple devices, it delivers full, clear, detailed sound. I have been a Marantz fan since my High School days in the 1970's . Marantz has always built quality products with great sound for the money. With physical media making a come back, vinyl and CD's, you can breath new life into your CD collection with the CD6006. When coupled with any of the Marantz PM Series Stereo Integrated Amplifiers its a match made in heaven. Toss in their 3 year warranty and its a "No-brainer". You can get a CD player for less money, but you wont find the build quality, great warranty and rich sound in those like you will the Marantz CD6006!

Pros: - CD, CD-R/RW playback, Front USB input certified "Made for iPhone/iPod" - Support of WAV, MP3, AAC, WMA file playback via USB devices - High quality 192kHz/24bit D/A conversion (CS4398) and accurate system clock - Full discrete headphone amplifier with HDAM-SA2 and gain control

Cons: None at this Bang to Buck Ratio

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Daddy likes his player very much

Crutchfield customer from Winfield, IL on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

How could you NOT love a perfect product! Even though it a single disc player and now a 6 disc changer, this unit delivers exactly what I wanted - High quality CD playing with a minimum of fuss. It was easy to install and set-up. Package that with the Marantz name and you have perfection in a box. Worth every penny paid. And ordering from Crutchfield was super EASY.

Pros: Great sound, easy to set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Newburgh ny on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Maranta is great as usual couldn't believe how great it sounded compared to the nakamichi it must have seen it's better days the usb is a great option you can actually play utube concerts thru a vintage stereo I have a smart tv if you start the WiFi and the smartphone at the same time sometimes it'll be like watching a Godzilla movie if you don't synchronize It right lol the free 2 day shipping was just like they said

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

BEST CD PLAYER FOR THIS PRICE

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a $5,500.00 McIntosh CD player. I have extremely expensive high end gear in my living room. In the bedroom, I have a modest system consisting of a Marantz CD-6004 CD player and a Marantz PM-6004 Integrated amp to go with a pair of $300 PSB bookshelf speakers. ALL fine for the bedroom. Now, I needed a little system for the one room where I can smoke cigars. I already had a modest receiver and speakers but needed a new low priced CD player. ALL of my friends have CD players in that range so I've heard them all. So, being happy with the Marantz 6004 in the bedroom all these years, I figured I'd go with their newest mid fi CD player, the CD-6006. I expected it to sound exactly the same. YIKES, if you are going to buy a CD player in this price range, BUY THIS ONE. I have NO idea why it sounds so much better than the 6004. I even took it into my living room, plugged it into my preamp and compared it to my McIntosh MCD350 SACD player. I heard the difference. My wife and friends could not. SO, if you want to spend this much on a CD player, look no further. Nothing compares. The only thing I do NOT like is the remote. The old CD-6004 came with its own CD remote. The PM-6004 Amp came with a remote that can control all the components. NOW, they give you the same COMPLEX remote that came with the amp, with this 6006 CD player instead of just a nice simple CD player remote like the one that came with the 6004. I guess it's cheaper for them to make just one remote.

Pros: Sound is GORGEOUS compared to other CD players at the same price. MUCH better than the Marantz CD-6004. Nice build quality and controls

Cons: I HATE the remote. In the past, Marantz made one remote for their amp that you could use to run all your gear and another simple one for the CD player. NOW they give you that PATHETICALLY complex remote for the CD PLAYER TOO!. I guess it's cheaper to just make one remote for everything you sell. That's what they did here. I do NOT like it. TONS of functions that I do NOT need to just play CD's with a remote.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Brea, CA on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The build quality of this CD is very good...reinforced bottom plate, substantial cabinet, and controls that work very smoothly. Comparing the sound quality to an older unit which it is replacing, evidences a better sound definition and warmth. Controls on the unit are very simple and evident. The remote control includes many buttons not associated with this CD player...a Marantz amplifier for example. The remote is confusing and limited and is not dedicated to this CD player. By comparison my other CD player by NAD (NADC538) remote is far superior and even allows opening the tray. Having a dedicated remote would be a much better idea. While I cannot fault the sound quality of this CD player and have no reason to return it because it does not perform well, I am much happier with the NAD player (in this price category). Also, this player is not as willing to play any CD...you may run into a CD that skips or will not play. Playing that same skipping CD/failure to play CD on the NAD CD player did not yield the same result...it played with no problem. Playing that same CD on my old Magnavox CD650 unit yielded no problem. It was not enough of a problem to return the player and did not happen on many other CDs. This issue and the "poor featured" remote control is the reason for four stars and not five stars. If you are interested in a single play CD unit, I would consider the NAD or another manufacturer.

Pros: Build quality/clear and warm sound quality

Cons: Skipping of certain CDs/poor featured and confusing remote control

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

A great cd player

Crutchfield customer from MAMARONECK, NY on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While searching for a new cd player, to replace my 1991 Denon unit, I came upon the several offered from Marantz, and the many positive reviews for them. What stood out for me was the frequently made point of them having a warmer sound; something many cd players are not always associated with, but, for which Marantz equipment has a good reputation (including their receivers, I'm told) I then decided to try the cd 6006, knowing I had 60 days with Crutchfield's return policy to give it a good audition, and so far, after about only two weeks in, I have not been disappointed. It really does sound better than expected, and without that annoying harshness and edginess that was all too common with cd players in the past.

Pros: A warm,smooth sounding player, and at a fair price; Marantz still lives up to it's excellent reputation. Crutchfield's generous return policy makes it easy to buy with confidence, and their customer service is, as always, first rate.

Cons: Nothing to prevent me from giving it a very good rating, although I would prefer the digital display to be larger, and a little brighter.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A quality player at a fair price.

Crutchfield customer from Johnsonburg, NJ on 10/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A quality player at a fair price. I bought this to replace 830-year-old and a D CD player, partly because I wanted to be able to use an external deck. However I must say the internal deck on the Marantz prove to be a substantial improvement or by itself over the NAD revealing significantly more detail and a bit brighter higher end.

Pros: Apparent high build quality

Cons: Overall Size seems to be a bit larger and then it would have to be yet the video display is on the small side making it hard/Impossible to read from across the room. USB port is a nice feature but is limited in the types of files that it will read.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Essex, CT on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent equipment. Great service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built & well designed.Marantz has it together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Natural, musical, and no fatigue

Crutchfield customer from East Schodack, NY on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very surprised how good this player is. It has a natural, musical sound that is non-fatiguing which is so important. I would say it is slightly on the warmer side in a very good way. This player has gotten me to not always go to vinyl when listening to music. I am running it through a Marantz PM8006 biwired into Klipsch RP-260 floor standing speakers. Worth mentioning that I had a Marantz SA8005 for awhile and I actually like the Marantz CD6006 more. It boots up faster, loads discs faster, and displays cd text. Also, the SA8005 had an almost artificial bass boost to its sound. The CD6006 is so natural sounding it's the first cd player in my system where I feel like everything matches. Highly recommended!

Pros: Fantastic sound Boots up fast Loads disc fast Displays CD text

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Petaluma, CA on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality. Clean, crisp, slightly warm. My CDs never sounded so good.

Pros: Great sound Reasonable price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Hendersonville, NC on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ease of purchase and timely shipping g were stellar!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Doug from Grand Junction, CO on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to up-grade my Marantz CD5400 deck. It did that very well. Even though the specs are very similar, the CD6006 sounds warmer and smoother than the 5400...which was no slouch in itself. Very pleased with this purchase and with the fast delivery from Crutchfield.

Pros: Warm and smooth sounding player.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

DAC is Great!!!

Crutchfield customer from Roscommon, MI on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great DAC! Long time Marantz fan was not disappointed. Solid build with strong functioning drawer that should not fail. (Tried others that had to be returned.) And then the music starts and some 30 year old CDs come to life like never before. I bought this to match my newer Marantz integrated amp (PM8006) which is fully analogue and makes this part of the system complete. It is really nice to purchase a brand name you know and it still deserves the higher status and not been watered down for a quick sale. They should give a lifetime warranty for this machine because it will be here and working long after I am not.

Pros: Power, durability, high tech applications in new directions for the DAC

Cons: None yet!

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 7/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CD player. Get it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful quality.

Crutchfield customer from Mcminnville, OR on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality! I love this CD player. What a joy to play my old CD collection and enjoy them this much.

Pros: Great mid range.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Longmeadow, MA on 6/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from a 7 year old Yamaha 5 Disc player to the CD6006 in search of better music playback and DAC conversion. I expected it to be better, but I was surprised and thrilled at how much better my CDs sound with the Marantz. Excellent detail, bigger sound stage, much truer analog quality conversion. Could not be happier with my choice. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Playback quality, DAC conversion, build quality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clarita, CA on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my purchase. I play CD's often and the sound quality from the Marantz is excellent. Also using with my iPad to play my Amazon music library.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Aamir from Torrance, CA on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this CD player after reading reviews for this and other players online. I've been a fan of Marantz since I was a teenager, often visiting the local hi-for store to sample their speakers. A few years ago I even bought a Marantz DVD player - this was in the pre-Blu-ray era - that served us well. So I was confident when purchasing that the Marantz CD6006 was going to be a good product. What I was pleasantly surprised by was how good this thing is. The clarity and definition on the music is astounding. Even my wife, who doesn't listen to music much, could appreciate the difference. Compared to music from the iPhone (iTunes) the CD's sound alive and vibrant. I haven't tried the CD player's USB/iPhone function yet; we're still too enthralled with music from our CDs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Palo Alto, CA on 4/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome fidelity from a very substantial CD player!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Fairport, NY on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product delivering fine sound quality as expected. Again, service and delivery from Crtuchfield was outstanding. Happy I returned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

PAUL from Mesa, AZ on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Significant improvement in sound. Stylish look.Well worth the money.

Pros: Sound. Good value for the quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Still Listening and Speechless

Lehman from Victorville, CA on 3/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Nothing more to say without repeating all 5 star reviews. I am replacing my 30 years old JVC 6-disc changer. It still works but having tracking issues on new discs. The 6006 has a rugged exterior with classic styling. More important is the component architecture inside. The sound quality is miles ahead of any player previously owned. This player is matched with the AV-7702. I am hearing music from my discs that I did not know was there.

Pros: Best CD component I ever owned.

Cons: Absolutely nothing!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz's best CD and great value.

Baron from Boise, ID on 3/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally got to pair this with my Marantz PM8006 Receiver. I knew this would sound better than the cheap Sony CD player I was replacing, but boy was I blown away by the HUGE difference in clarity and purity. I first played The Beatles Let It Be. I was in the mood for some piano. Completely amazing!. Then I threw on Adele 21. Words cannot describe what I could clearly hear from this album for the first time. Later, I tested the Headphone amplifier with some Jakob Dylan. Same superb sound quality and the gain control has plenty of headroom, I could only handle just above 1/4 gain. This is an amazing player at this price. Highly recommend.

Pros: Huge jump in quality sound. Big bang for the buck.

Cons: USB only plays FAT16/32 formatted devices.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 2/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quite satisfied with our new Marantz CD Player. Listening to Baroque Music, I am quite amazed at the added clarity and cleanliness of sound compared to our old Marantz Player. Better presence of sound too. Not interested in the remote, which from reviews I've read, is probably a good thing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fine cd player with great sound etc. The remote control is, however, more complicated than it needs to be. Several buttons have several functions and one needs to read the manual very carefully to catch the differences.The remote also assumes an entirely Marantz system which mine is not, so many of the functions are useless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

My Upgraded CD player

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 2/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looked at many CD players before selecting this model.Limit was 1000 or less.Now mind you i was replacing a perfectly functioning Fisher Gold studio Standard that was only 31 years old with 4X oversampling..I have two Pairs of high end JBL studio monitors and a Velodyne 1812 subwoofer with a Crown Amplifier.The reason for this model was in large part because i could play pandora through the USB port.For some reason higher up models did not have this feature.As far as function and sound quality i was very surprised and pleased .The remote is a bit bulky but whatever.The quantum leap in technology was obvious from the start and certainly exposes the limitations of CD's of poor recording/production quality.I think for the price it is a very satisfying purchase..would recommend without reservation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

James from Chattanooga, TN on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this cd player because I was having playback interruptions using a sony 4k blu-ray player. This cd player has played every disc flawlessly. This is a redbook cd player; it will not play sacd or other hires formats. I compared the analog outputs to the digital and I prefer the digital going into a Marantz SR5012. I Really enjoy listening to my cd's now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

mary c from Bryson City, NC on 1/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We love the sound that is coming from our CD's. We hear more of the background and different instruments than before. The many voices are also heard. My first Marantz and totally satisfied.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Towson, MD on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been buying music on CD since '83. Was turning back to vinyl and decided to upgrade my CD player. This player makes my CD's sound awesome. Glad I made this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Hickory, NC on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thoroughly researched this product for a year, paying close attention to user reviews from various websites. This player is as advertised. Produces very warm, pleasant sound, especially with discs that have always been mediocre sounding. It carries a lot of power...does not need much amp help. Also really like the USB feature. Downloaded music sounds great through it. Very pleased with this purchase!

Pros: Great sound Ease of use USB quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Loudon, TN on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this CD player very much and feel it might be the best sounding CD player in the under $1000 price range (had tried a competitor's CD player that was $200 more than the Marantz CD6006 that I definately didn't care for). The only thing I miss with the Marantz, and this is minor, is that you are not able to open or close the drawer with the remote. The Marantz provides a wonderful analog-like sound and does a great job placing instruments across the soundstage.

Pros: Beautiful analog-like sound with a high degree of realism.

Cons: Cannot open or close the drawer with the remote.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Sidney, MT on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I expected from Marantz. This unit is what I'd consider a budget minded component with great value. Very happy with my purchase. It's a good addition to my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not a ugly baby. Worked first time.

Iron bottom from Butner, NC on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item came out of he box undamaged. After a couple of cords being connected, it started right up. It has played any cd inserted. Exactly what I wanted.

Pros: No hassel to installing.

Cons: Nothing at all.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Bill from Rumson, NJ on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value. Totally satisfied

Pros: Easy to use Good value High end performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Tom from Cedar Lake, IN on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value for the quality of product. Good reputation. Very satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Britten from South Jordan, UT on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Playing actual CDs sound amazing, even old CDs that are scratched.

Pros: Great sound and clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Jorge from Secaucus, NJ on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

La calidad del producto es exelente. Peso, detalles y todo lo que uno puede esperar de Marantz. La calidad de audio se mejora mucho, personalmente yo estaba escuchando mis discos en un Blu-ray player, al usar el Marantz no hubo punto de comparación, claridad, detalles, nitidez. Se los recomiendo 100%. La entrega del producto fue rápida, exelente y profesional la gente de crutchfield.

Pros: Todo

Cons: Ninguno

Crutchfield response on

5 of 16 found this helpful

Clean simple CD player with fantastic sound.

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a simple CD player with great sound quality for my home stereo. This is it. Easy to connect and easy to use. More importantly, it sounds brilliant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz 6006 CD player is a handsome piece and well thought out. The clearest sound ever and easy to use. The controls are intuitive and a pleasure. I particularly like the UBS port for favorite jazz from the iPhone. The cost is very reasonable and quality of sound and workmanship go way beyond the price. A sure winner in my book.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

JMFleming

Crutchfield customer from Fishers, IN on 8/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with my Marantz CD player. It plays much better than my old unit. I like the clarity and the dynamics, and have found the quality to be better than the music I stream. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a better sound.

Pros: The clarity and sense of presence.

Cons: The hand controller is at first a little complicated.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Marantz CD6006 player

Elliott from Washington, DC on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has only been two weeks, one of which I have been away, so I'm reluctant to award five stars. That said, the Marantz is solidly constructed and with its DAC the fidelity is at least two notches up from my Denon changer, which had finally begun to fail reading discs. I think this was a blessing, which prompted me to upgrade speakers as well.

Pros: DAC, fidelity, ease of operation, solid build

Cons: None thus far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MO on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, looks great, very smooth operation, solidly built.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

An audio bargain!

Dave from Rochester, NY on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding CD player. It offers nice imaging and soundstage, with each instrument in its proper place. I've owned this model about 5 months, and have played many of my older CDs, each time hearing more detail than my previous top of the line Denon. I couldn't be happier. I believe this model is a bargain, and have convinced several friends to buy one. If you're looking for an excellent CD player, you won't go wrong with a CD-6006 or CD-5005. I love Marantz, you will too!

Pros: Tracks very well. Loads & plays smoothly. Flawless sound, well balanced. High quality build.

Cons: Remote has many buttons unrelated to CD operation.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Crown Point, IN on 7/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaced my beloved Denon, bought 31 years ago, that died after a lightning strike (despite GFI and a quality power strip). I typically read a lot of reviews and do research in the standard publications before purchasing and found the CD6006 to have the most consistent reviews in this price range ($500-1000). When I received the unit, I was surprised at the weight of it. It's a well built device and the sound quality is excellent. Aesthetically pleasing design and straightforward controls. The only "meh" is the remote, which it shares with the Marantz Integrated Amp. It's a little too much for just the CD player alone, but not a deal breaker. Great unit! Very pleased with it to date!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sounds much better than the price tag

Vince from Rock Hill, SC on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CD6006 is a very non-CD sounding CD player. Unlike many CD players, the CD6006 is not at all harsh. The 192/24 Cirrus Logic CS4398 DAC does an amazing job of retaining detail while sounding more like vinyl than CD. While not a reference CD player. the CD6006 shares a great deal of technology with the SA-14S1 including a large toroidal transformed and thus sounds well above it's price tag. The CD6006 display can be formatted a number of ways, supports CD Text and can be dimmed for those late night listening sessions and can even by disabled to allow for critical listening. The build is very good with a good solid feel with improved isolation (and let's face it - it just looks cool!) The remote has a black brushed aluminum face plate and feels very solid. The remote can operate other Marantz products. I have not tried the front USB, nor the adjustable headphone output, but I'm sure they are fine. All in all a highly recommended CD transport!

Pros: -Very detailed sound while not being harsh -Very analog sound -Quick transients -Solid build -Removable IEC plug

Cons: It might be overlooked as it's sound is well above the price tag.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Thomas from Corning, NY on 6/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audiophile grade sound, great Cirrus dac...excellent transport.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent CD Player. Not Quite What I Hope but Good Value

Robert from Cuba, IL on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a quality player with good features. It has that warm Marantz sound with good detail. Only drawback is that it is not a significant upgrade from my Sony SACD/CD player as I was hoping it to be.

Pros: Detail, warmth, features such as direct iPod input, value

Cons: Not a significant upgrade from previous player

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Smooth playback

Jeffery from Anchorage, AK on 5/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The whole transaction was great. The lady that helped me with on-line Master card transaction confusion, Thank you! Marantz CD6006 is smooth, detailed (way more than Yamaha cd c600) with impressive 3d sound stage. It is used in conjunction with NAD integrated amp, Focal stand-mount speakers and another brand of sub-woofer along with with Audioquest wiring. Do not encounter tizzy tin-can sound normally associated with compact disk with this configuration.

Pros: looks better than pictures suggest. Open/close drawer is snappy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006 is a winner

Dave from Rochester, NY on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my CD6005 (moved it to my headphone system) with the new CD6006. I really liked the older model, but the 6006 is a tad better. I'm also into vinyl, and the 6006 has many qualities that I like about vinyl. This CD player actually provides good imaging and is musical. I listen to allot of classical, and the soundscape is right with this player. It also lacks the harshness that some CD players exhibit. I own Marantz and McIntosh tube equipment, and am a big fan of both companies. The Marantz CD6006 doesn't disappoint!

Pros: No harshness Great imaging Excellent value Well built Proven reliability

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Mars Hill, NC on 4/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound at a good price. Only wish I cold get a CD changer that sounds this good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Paul from New Hyde Park, NY on 4/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaced a long serving, good sounding Marantz CD5000. I decided on getting this CD player as I am familiar with the Marantz sound signature and quality ( the previous one lasted more than 10 years ) This is linked to an outboard DAC to drive my main system, SCHIIT FREYA pre and PARASOUND A23 amp or a tubed PRIMALUNA PROLOGUE amp driving MONITOR AUDIO Bronze 6 and a HSU subwoofer VTF 2 mk4. This sounds simply marvelous, fully detailed and full bodied. I do a near field listening, treated my room for the early reflection arrivals and it paid off well. I am using the CD 6006 outputs direct to my headphone amp SCHITT VALHALLA and ASGARD to drive a SENNHEISER HD650.

Pros: Solid bass, clean mids and sparkling highs,

Cons: There are times when the drawer will not respond and will require a firm push on the eject button to operate.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Hanahan, SC on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CD player worked well for about 30 minutes, then stopped in the middle of a song and thereafter would not play any song on that CD. The next CD I tried to play (a commercially produced CD that I have been playing on several players for 20 years) prompted an "unsupported" error message. I polished the disc and still received the same error message. Every CD I tried afterwards would simply stop playing during the first or second song. A machine with one job to do...

Pros: Sounded nice for the brief time it actually worked.

Cons: A CD player that won't play CDs.

Crutchfield response on 3/27/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the CD player working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

22 of 28 found this helpful

Unbelievable sound, quite amazing!

Randall from Hillsborough, NC on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a very old NAD 515 with the Marantz 6006. I always thought the NAD was a great sounding unit, but with its age it was time to replace. Boy, do I wish I had done this sooner. Like many say, I'm reliving my CD collection and hearing things I've never heard. I'm running the 6006 through a NAD C 356BEE and B&W 683's and music has never sounded so full, rich and open. My wife and I have been spending hours listening to CD's we haven't heard in years and its been such a treat with the 6006. Also using the USB has been a pleasure, sound is fantastic! If you have any doubt about replacing an older CD player, run, don't walk for the 6006.

Pros: Solid build, amazing sound quality, USB ability, extremely affordable for the return in sound quality.

Cons: Not a big deal but the remote is overkill if you don't have other Marantz products. Otherwise, none.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great for MP3 files on USB!!!

David from Pentwater, MI on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all Thanks to Tom, my advisor for great service. As a mobile DJ for decades and a pioneer of the MP3 format since 1999, I wanted to write about this Marantz CD6006. When I first took it out of the box I was impressed with the weight. It feels like a quality unit with an oversized power cord. I have been running out of options for playing CDs in my collection, so I needed a good CD player. I have owned top of the line equipment over the years including, Threshold, Linn, Panasonic DAT, Bryston & other great equipment, so I know a little about great music. But it's the MP3 file playback that I'll be using the most on this unit. I took a tiny 64GB thumb drive & loaded it up with thousands of MP3 files. The navigation of folders, random play options, data display of the tagged files, is something of an answer to a dream for me. Everyone who loves their MP3 collection should buy this player. It's my favorite player now. Thanks Crutchfield & Marantz!

Pros: Low cost/packed with features!

Cons: None that I've come across yet.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

The best CD player I've heard at this price point.

Craig from North Bend, OR on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The review title say it all pretty much. This CD player has very balanced output. I do think that it benefits from having good inter-connects between it and amp-- lots of detail and with a very engaging sound across many types of music. No listener fatigue here-- even after hours of listening. and it's nicely built too. I certainly do recommend the CD6006.

Pros: Excellent musical balance and quite easy to use. Easy to program.

Cons: I would like a less cluttered remote, but even as is it's very easy to program. (I just use CDs).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Stylish and exceptional performer

Anne from Porterville, CA on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I started with my conviction in the quality of Marantz, rooted in the long-passed time when Rock and roll was my passion. Life seemed to remove music enjoyment into the wings for a while, and as it re-emerged I found myself falling in love with classical music. The difference between .mp3 sound quality and .wav file quality made me realize that I wanted a CD player that would last well into the future no matter what new money-saving, sound-degrading technologies came along next. The reviews claiming Marantz still made on of the best affordable players caught my eye - these reviews seem spot-on to me now that I am listening to the player. I am hearing the music collection as though it is entirely new. Orchestral and chamber music all richer and more distinctly delivered; nuances of tone and detail, like violin and cello plucking and the sound of keys being fingered in the treble end of piano performances, are so much better. The difference between poorer recordings and good ones is more evident, but I enjoy this and consider it part of an education in music appreciation. I'm absolutely delighted with the CD6006. I've ripped quite a few CDs to store on USB discs (as .wav files) to protect the CDs,and the sound quality off the USB drive is just as good as it is from the CD. Not always so when I play the flash drive in other players. Two incredible upgrades in the past winter, a hybrid tube amp purchase and the CD6006 have redefined my music experience. Speakers next...

Pros: Sleek appearance Exceptional sound quality Versatility of input with equal sound delivery from all formats tried

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Another Marantz triumph

Judge Tom from Brookeville, MD on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced an 8 year, 2 month old $600-$700 , 17 lb.,top of the line Onkyo player that was highly rated by Stereophile Magazine with this Mrantz which at least equals if not outperforms it. In classical music, in small chamber and instrumental pieces there is definitely more depth and resonance to the strings, especially plucked strings. Large orchestral music is clear, unabrasive and impactfull. The upper bass is not as obtrusive, while the deep bass is tight and punchy. The time in disc reading is much faster than the Onkyo as is the drawer mechanism and just as sturdy. The discs fit more tightly with more secure seating of the disc. Overall build quality is excellent. The machine sits as firmly as a rock. I would discount all those complaints of the disc drawer and read time. The Onkyo had a drawer just as thin, but it kept working until the player died electronically. I used as a temporary replacement for the dead Onkyo a decades old Marantz CD 63. If the CD 6006 lasts as long it will out live me. The one flaw which also afflicts my ancient Marantz is the inability to read heavily smudged spots on the disc. It only requires a quick glance and wipe to solve this problem on the rare occasion that I encountered it.

Pros: Great build and sound. A all around best buy.

Cons: Discs smudged by sticky fingers disrupt playback.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Southport, NC on 2/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality sound, great features, it's what you'd expect from Marantz. (They've in the neighborhood for awhile!)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sweet sounds

Howard from NEW YORK on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just hooked up to my adcom 555 and the sound is amazing. Warm and smooth. Speakers are martin Logan theos. Really makes them sing

Pros: Great player

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Re-discover your CD collection

Jim from Hillsborough, NJ on 1/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz CD6006 is quickly becoming the workhorse in my system. A few years ago I walked away from vinyl and CDs in favor of streaming music through a bluetooth DAC. After I added high quality custom speakers i discovered (or Re-discovered) the full sound produced by physical media like vinyl and CDs. As luck would have it, my old CD player kicked-the-bucket and I needed a new CD player. After much review and consulting with the techs at Crutchfield, I selected the CD6006. The performance did not disappoint. I was looking for a mid-range CD player with a quality DAC to allow for an analog connection for my older receiver. The ability to by-pass the Marantz DAC and output a digital signal may come in handy in the future. I like the full bodied output provided by the CD6006.

Pros: Quality DAC producing full body sound Allows for both analog and digital feed to receiver. Good Value

Cons: 1-Disc capacity

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent value, great sound quality

Craig from N Ferrisburgh, VT on 1/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful sound quality; easy to operate. It's a perfect replacement for our decade-old CD player that recently bit the dust.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

WOW!

Kevin from Kent, WA on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding fidelity! The singer is in the room with you! Very happy with purchase and delivered to Washington state in three days as promised!

Pros: Outstanding fidelity

Cons: Not a changer (single disk only)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from La Porte, IN on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player, very happy. Nice detailed stereo sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great CD player

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this together with the Marantz PM6006 Integrated Amp and the pair does a beautiful job of playing CDs. The sound is superb with a great acoustical range with no distortion that I can hear through 4 speakers. I am very happy with the unit. The two units match beautifully and look very nice stacked. Very happy with the purchase so far.

Pros: Plays CDs with great range and no distortion. Pairs perfectly with Marantz PM6006.

Cons: None so far but wish it came with a printed manual.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Extremely pleased!

John from Tucson, AZ on 12/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace a long in the tooth Sony player. I was tossed between a much higher priced unit and the 6006 . I started by Googling as many reviews over both units. I discovered many sites that had a lot to say. The 6006 seemed to get the most positive reviews. I finally weighed all of what I read and decided the 6006 would satisfy my needs. My advisor Drummer answered all my questions and concerns, so I pulled the trigger. My Marantz CD6006 arrived via FedEx and was put into service immediately. My unit had a build date on the back of May 2017. Unit is solid, it has some weigh to it. To hear some people talk of the "flimsy" cd drawer, well I guess if your heavy handed and careless with your equipment then yes. I found it just fine. AND as the manual states DO NOT push the drawer closed, use the button. The remote is designed to work with the CD player and other Marantz components. It gives you the essential controls over the player.It is not back lit. The sound quality of this player is fantastic. It reproduces sound beautifully. It has gone through its "burn in " and its superb. Great highs and lows. My go to sound check CD's have never sounded so darn good. The 6006 is hooked to my new Outlaw Audio RR2160 2 channel stereo receiver (optical) and ELAC Debut B6 speakers and it's a sonic delight! Not a single complaint . I have NO issues hooking up my iPhone 8 Plus to stream my music from it, simply sounds great. A great investment. Highly r

Pros: Well packaged for shipping. Build quality. Solid. SOUND. Accepts iPhone / iPad perfectly.

Cons: Remote. Not back lit. Big. Black. wished it was available in SILVER. Manual on the included CD. ( easy to print, though)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Peter from Venice, FL on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this with my IPod Touch configured with Apple Music and output through my vintage McIntosh preamp and amp, driving B&W speakers. Very open, detailed and well balanced sound. CDs also sound great. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, solid value

Louis from Cypress, TX on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player was a great find. Now that most people are streaming or ripping music to hard drives, it's great that Crutchfield stocks so many CD players, and especially this open, musical sounding unit. In fact, this is the best sounding player I've ever owned and I was expecting to have to pay a lot more for sound this good. The construction is solid, too. Operation is straightforward, and as a bonus, the remote for my Linn preamp also controls the Marantz so I only need one remote. I have not used the headphone jack or the USB input so far, but I thought they were worth paying a little more for. Why only four stars, then? Because my vinyl still sounds better.

Pros: Excellent sound, easy operation, plays nice with my Linn components.

Cons: Doesn't sound as good as my vinyl.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Not Up To Expected Quality Level For Marantz

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 11/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, this Marantz CD6006 is a good CD player. But, it has downsides. First of all, the CD tray is flimsy plastic and not much different from CD trays found on much less expensive products. The tray simply does match the quality of the chassis and the feet. The display is OK, but it takes too long to load after inserting a CD. The unit has a USB port for use with an external device such as an iPod. But, the instructions warn that Marantz is not responsible if your external device suffers damage or data corruption after playing it through the CD6006. I care not to risk the 10,000 song library on my iPod so have been afraid to try using the USB port. The remote is huge thanks to it being a general purpose remote having DVD controls and more. A much smaller, CD player specific remote would be appreciated. The remote has small legends for buttons and the like, but is not backlighted so I have to use a flashlight with it in dim light. For the cost of this unit, I should not have to put up with these inconveniences. The sound quality is fine, but sometimes the player hangs up or freezes on a CD which plays just fine in another, cheaper player. After I polish the CD surface, it plays OK in the Marantz. I have to conclude the Marantz is more sensitive to slight smudges or other surface reflectors. I was going to give the unit three stars but after writing this review, I'll drop it to two stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 37 found this helpful

A stunning new player!

Rick from Laguna Niguel, CA on 8/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a wonderful CD player, and very pleased with it, the sound is better than expected for the price. The Marantz CD6006 replaces an old Mitsubishi DP-311R that I have had and loved since 1988. It finally gave up after all those years, just a few months ago. It was a great player. But now the Marantz CD6006 seems to be an even better player. I am hearing new parts of my music I had not heard before. It is as if I am listening to my CD's for the first time. Just a stunningly beautiful CD player. The quality of sound is excellent. And the build quality of the player seems to be just as excellent as well. Extremely happy with my purchase, and very pleased with Crutchfield as well. The only negative would be the display is way too small to see or read from across the room from my listening location. Other than that, everything about this player is top notch, love it.

Pros: Everything is awesome, except for the display.

Cons: I wish the display was larger, cannot see anything from my listening location.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Stunning

Chris from Silver Spring MD on 7/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm shocked at how good the CDs can sound through this machine. I've gotten too accepting of their sound in a car Cd player, and this Marantz blows them away. It prompted me to repair my 35 yr old components, and it all works well together again. Keep up the good work!

Pros: Ease of setup, use. Good price point Works with new or old equipment. Nice to have remote

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

playing it hard ,usb ipod decent ,the sound with the new mobile high fidelity yes albums fragile and yes album (first album)in cd format woo sounds real good,,,meadow Lark speakers,,,,,,,,I will be playing this hard for the next three months,,,and give vinyl a break

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006 - did not measure up to expectations

CBell from Gastonia, NC on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz CD6006 player is well made. But unfortunately, that's where the the good stops for me. The player did not deliver sound quality that I expected. Maybe that is my fault. I have an older CD player which sounded much better. More encompassing, fuller range, and tight base. The Marantz was disappointing in three aspects. One, it did not provide dynamic range. Two, the sound from the headset was poor. The individual sound level was moderate at best. I would expect great sound from this DAC using a good set of headphones. Thirdly, the remote control was not design for a CD player. I was more or less design for a multi-system setup, not a CD player. I believe if you are going to spend money on a CD player it should also incorporate fast forward and rewind capabilities. Not just skip selection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 29 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Allenton, WI on 6/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A super sounding CD player, It looks & feels very well made.I am very happy with this CD player it sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

You can't go wrong

Frank from Bronx, NY on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been playing my cds on a very old player. It always seemed fine but I decided it was time to upgrade and boy am I sorry I didn't do it long ago. The Marantz CD6006 is good. Real good. It's causing me to pull out old discs just to hear what I never heard before. I know sound is subjective but this player is solidly made, simple to use and will make those old cds seem new again. Buying from Crutchfield is easy and reliable. BTW, it looks real good too.

Pros: Great sound and looks

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Exceptional Sound

Darrell from Abilene,TX on 5/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CD6006 is the best of both worlds. It combines a high quality CD player when you want to go old school with a USB port for enjoying digital files. The USB port allows you to access the built-in DAC to make the most out of near CD quality music files. If you don't have a quality DAC, it doesn't matter how good the musuc files are. The chain is only as strong as it's weakest link. I have it paired with a pair of B&W DM604 S2s. My music has never sounded better. Well done Marantz.

Pros: Sound quality is fantastic, and I love the USB capability.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Marantz CD 6006

Theodore from Seattle, WA on 5/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good sound. Solidly constructed, except for the CD tray, which is a flimsy plastic affair. I like the USB input, which allows me to process streaming audio from my tablet/phone. It adds new capabilities to my classic stereo system. Overall, I'm satisfied with my purchase.

Pros: Good sound. Streaming through the DAC

Cons: Cheap CD transport tray

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Larry E. from Henderson, Nv. on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was everything I expected. My cds came alive, I didnt really expect that much difference, so I'm really impressed. Great quality in this unit and easy to operate. Ill be playing my cds a lot more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A Fantastic CD Player

Brad from St Paul, MN on 4/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic CD player. After researching a variety of different CD and network music players I settled on the CD6006 as a means of playing both CDs and MP3 via the USB input located on the front panel of the CD player. While I am spending most of my listening time rediscovering my CD collection the USB input has provided a convenient and satisfying way to listen to my MP3s without investing in a separate network player.

Pros: Beautiful Warm Sound Integrates Seamlessly with PM6006 Int. Amp. USB Input for Listening to Music Files

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz leader in affordable audio

Glenn R from Boca Raton, FL on 4/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hope this review will help the other reviewer who said "You should be able to program a disc and adjust features but you can't." Make sure you push the the cd button next to the power button on the top row of buttons on the remote, that puts the remote in cd mode. I can do everything I need to do with the remote EXCEPT eject the disc which he stated which IS a minor hiccup. When I want to eject a disc I use my Simaudio Moon remote which uses the same protocol. If you have another cd remote laying around, try it. I am very happy with the way my Marantz 6006 performs, it gives my very expensive Simaudio Moon player a run for the money and it costs 1/6th the money !! He may have a defective remote??

Pros: Versatile, great sounding DAC, looks great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

The CD deck you want

Billy from Austin, TX on 3/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so pleased dedicated CD players are still made in 2017, especially ones like these. It would be unfortunate if the only option were cheap boomboxes with iPod docks. I am a first time Marantz owner and, though this may not be news to longtime customers, this machine is a true CD deck! It has superb sound and the kind of features and build quality you knew from days past when such hardware was the centerpiece of your home stereo system. Terrific sound and built to last. Really happy!

Pros: Superb sound and build quality.

Cons: The remote. You should be able to program a disc and adjust features but you can't. The button labels are, amazingly, useless. I consulted the manual and it doesn't go into detail on the buttons, so that was also useless. I've tried a whole host of different combinations and still nothing. I called Marantz and still nothing. There isn't even a "tray eject" button. This is by far the most frustrating aspect of owning this machine, as well as the most disappointing.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound!

Joel from Havre, MT on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first purchase from Crutchfield and i will say customer service was top notch....i will return!! As for the player itself, I hear details in passages that I've never heard before. Bass is very tight, not bloated, and the treble is very crisp and clean, not shrill. I wouldn't say it's night and day difference for me vs a blue ray player, but there is definitely a difference in detail. So much so that my wife could notice a A-B difference consistently.....so yea, maybe there is! Buy this item, and buy from Crutchfield!!

Pros: Everything

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 3/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's Magic! Finally all my old discs have come to life.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

This unit sounds great overall! Crisp highs, great bass.

MotyMusic from Culver City, CA on 1/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Marantz CD player is one of the best-sounding players I've heard. And best of all, since I own a recording studio and master to USB Flash Drives, it's very convenient (and much cheaper) to take my mastered song on a Flash Drive from the studio to my home and check out the latest mix on my home stereo without having to burn a lower-quality (44.1 KHz) CD! I can hear the master exactly as it was recorded, and see what it does on a completely different amp and set of speakers! And it makes my old mixes on CD sound GREAT!! I would definitely recommend this unit to the pro who would like the convenience of hearing his REAL mix on his home stereo... because if you're a pro, you already know that studio monitors LIE!!!

Pros: Ultra convenient for the Pro, great sounding for anyone who just wants a great-sounding CD player. It's a bit heavier than some, but that's because THERE ARE ACTUAL PARTS IN IT!!! NO CORNERS WERE CUT HERE!

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Michael from Redding, CA on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After some consideration and dimensions of a unit that would fit in my space, I decided on the Marantz CD6006. When the unit arrived, I thought Crutchfield accidentally sent me a receiver. This unit is pretty heavy for what I thought I was getting. It turned out to be the right product however. I hooked it up to a Martin Logan Motion Vision Soundbar and a Paradigm wired subwoofer that I previously owned. The sound clarity was very impressive. I played a couple of Holiday CD's and couldn't believe how good they sounded. I'm very happy with my purchase and believe it was money well spent. I recommend Crutchfield for quality products and service. After I receive the link, I'm going to post my review on the Soundbar that I also just received from Crutchfield.

Pros: Great sound quality. Solid build Very attractive unit.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great Value for Price

Keith from Phoenix, AZ on 12/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to replace a 2000 vintage Sony XA-20ES player (~$750 new) that is still working fine, but I thought that improvements in DACs over the years might provide improved performance, and chose the Marantz based upon reviews and recommendations. The unit I purchased was a "scratch and dent" unit, and while it had clearly been opened, all the MFG accessories were included, and the unit and accessories were absolutely pristine. Based on this purchase, I wouldn't hesitate purchasing scratch & dent units from Crutchfield. After several days of A/B testing, the only noticeable differences in performance between the players were in soundstaging. The Marantz has a slightly narrower, but slightly deeper soundstage than the Sony. In the end, I preferred the Sony performance (maybe due to my familiarity with the sound) so I returned the Marantz. Had my Sony died, or had problems, I would be happily keeping the Marantz. It's great player with a balanced, even and musical presentation, and with no weaknesses I could detect (using Meridan electronics and amplification, Wilson Audio Sophia 2 speakers). The player held it's own in my ~$30k system, so I don't think anyone would be disappointed with this player in any system. Throughout the purchase and return the Crutchfield customer support was exemplary. An A-1 company to deal with.

Pros: Balanced and even presentation, Musical, deep soundstage with slightly less "edge" on harsh vocals than more "analytical" players, Solidly built, Smooth and quiet transport mechanism

Cons: Only one - The headphone jack volume can't be controlled by the remote - manual control on the face of the unit only.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Great performing unit

Ruben from Whittier, CA on 12/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this unit for about a month now, using it every day for hours and it has performed flawlessly. CD'S sound much more detailed and powerful. Also it has many useful and handy features ,one of my favorites is the quick replay that lets you press the replay button on the remote and the CD will go back ten seconds so you can hear that part of the song that you really like. I think what really impressed me was the sound I get when I use the USB connection for my IPOD, It is like night and day the difference you hear going thru this units DACS [ it really is amazing] . If your looking for a player in this price range I think you might want to try this one .

Pros: Just about everything build, sound, features , looks

Cons: Couldn't find any!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from St Paul, MN on 11/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid build, looks nice, but most importantly my CD's have never sounded better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz CD6006

Noah from Highland, NY on 10/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had a few cd players in the past , this one takes the Cake! Combined with my yamaha r- s700 reciever and elac uni fi ub5' s it sounds amazing! the accuracy, depth of sound field, rhythm and pace are superb ......highly recommended !!

Pros: Rhythm and pace and depth and width of soundstage!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome and Affordable CD Plawer

Rick from Vancouver, WA on 10/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Attractive design with robust sound and high end internal components. All the levels in the treble, midrange and bass frequencies provides an outstanding listen. I listen to Easy Jazz, Rock, Electronic, and Classical music and very pleased with the Marantz CD6006 results.

Pros: Performance, Build and Connectivity.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Audiophile Quality on a budget

John from Mancelona, MI on 9/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could tell a difference right away. This replaced my 22 year old Onkyo that sounds great. There was nothing wrong with my Onkyo, just wanted to retire it before something did happen. So I put in my reference CD by Acoustic Alchemy, " Back on The Case " .. and it was crazy good. The sound stage is wider, tighter, and fluid. Bass and mid-bass are better defined. I could hear things I could not before. You'd think I had spent 1000 dollars on this .. that is how good it is. And trust me, I have dog ears when it comes to music. I can't even stand to listen to XM radio because of the low quality it puts out. So if you're looking for entry level audiophile, or even possibly intermediate audiophile without breaking the bank, this is for you.

Pros: Wide sound stage Incredible detail for the money Tight sound, but yet liquid ..

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

WOW!!

Roberto from Cincinnati, OH on 7/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Bought it for my new setup and did not disappoint me. The sound is rich and works well with every kind of music I throw at it. I mostly listen to latin music especially latin jazz and the punch and ambience is great.

Pros: Excellent sound beautiful finish looks and sound much more expensive than it is. Headphone amp USB with WAV compatibility Remote control with lots of features (hard to find these days)

Cons: None at this price range

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP