Contact us
Close contact box

Marantz MM7055

5-channel power amplifier

Item # 642MM7055

Behind the elegant facade is a muscular, refined amplifier that excels at musical detail and transient peaks.

Behind the elegant facade is a muscular, refined amplifier that excels at musical detail and transient peaks.

Need help?
Contact our Virginia-based experts.

Item # 642MM7055

Ships free today

Low stock
$1,199.99

About the Marantz MM7055

Five channels of home theater horsepower

Even with the advent of 7.2- and 9.2-channel surround sound systems, most home theater lovers still opt for tried-and-true 5.1-channel sound. Recognizing this reality, Marantz built this 5-channel power plant as the primary companion to its AV7005 preamp/processor. You won't have to buy more amp channels than you need, but you can easily add one or more MM7025 2 x 140-watt amplifiers to your setup for more surround channels or multi-room audio.

Five channels of home theater horsepower

Even with the advent of 7.2- and 9.2-channel surround sound systems, most home theater lovers still opt for tried-and-true 5.1-channel sound. Recognizing this reality, Marantz built this 5-channel power plant as the primary companion to its AV7005 preamp/processor. You won't have to buy more amp channels than you need, but you can easily add one or more MM7025 2 x 140-watt amplifiers to your setup for more surround channels or multi-room audio.

Behind the MM7055's elegant facade lies a muscular, yet refined current-feedback amplifier design that excels at reproducing both fine musical detail and hair-raising transient peaks.

The MM7055 is comfortable driving high-performance speakers. If your preamp or A/V processor has XLR outputs, you can connect to this amp's XLR inputs and enjoy the superior sound quality they provide.

READ LESS

Product highlights:

  • 5-channel power amplifier
  • 140 watts per channel into 8 ohms (20-20,000 Hz) at 0.08% THD, with 2 channels driven
  • frequency response: 8-100,000 Hz (±3 dB)
  • signal-to-noise ratio: 105 dB
  • one RCA and one XLR input for each channel
  • Discrete Current Feedback circuit for accurate, natural sound at all volume levels
  • DC trigger input/output
  • IR flasher input
  • massive power supply for high current and low noise
  • gold-plated binding post speaker terminals
  • detachable power cord
  • weight: 34.6 lbs.
  • 17-3/8"W x 7-1/4"H x 16-1/4"D
  • warranty: 3 years
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee
  • MFR # MM7055

What's in the box:

  • 5-Channel power amplifier
  • 68" AC power cord
  • 44" Remote control cable (single RCA on both ends)
  • User guide (English/ French/ Spanish)
  • USA Warranty information
  • Canadian Warranty information

Customer reviews

Loading reviews...

Marantz MM7055 reviews

Average review:

20 reviews

Thanks for submitting your review

Filter by rating

Customer photos

Sort reviews

Sort by:
Items per page:
View page:

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response

<< >>

More details on the Marantz MM7055

Stacey B.

Product Research

Features

Current Feedback: The MM7055 is equipped with a current feedback circuit and uses the same complimentary push-pull circuit as the far more expensive SM-11S1 power amp, providing minimal phase shift and excellent detail resolution. The current/voltage conversion section has a Wilson current mirror circuit to improve circuit stability and high-speed processing.

Instant Power Supply: The final stage of the power amp uses the same LAPT (high efficiency power transistor) as the SM-11S1, offering instant power supply capability. The power section has a large transformer and Marantz original 33,000 μF / 71 V x 2 block condensers to provide a powerful, presence filled sound.

Heat Dissipation: The chimney-shaped heat sink efficiently processes the heat emitted from the amp and a quiet cooling fan removes the heat from the chassis. A high-sensitivity temperature sensor IC is used to control the cooling fan's rotation speed to match the amount of heat generated by the amp.

Auto Standby: With the Auto Standby Mode is turned on this unit will enter standby mode after approximately 30 minutes (continuous) with no input signal.

Speaker Outputs: The five speaker output terminals are binding posts; they are not 5-way posts, but will accept single banana plugs, pin connectors, and bare wire. A plastic collar prevents their use with spade lugs and they're too far apart for dual banana plugs.

Inputs: Each channel has an RCA (unbalanced) and XLR (balanced) input. Separate switches for each channel specifies which is engaged.

Display: A blue indicator on the front panel display and a blue ring around the display light when the power is on; the blue ring around the display can be turned off if you prefer. Separate red indicators on the display light when the protection circuit or Auto Standby feature is engaged.

Remote Power Control: This unit is equipped with a remote power control function; when a compatible Marantz preamp is connected, this unit's power can be switched on and off simultaneously with the preamp. The RCA Remote Control input is connected to the preamp and the Remote Control output can be connected to other compatible Marantz components; CD player, DVD player, Tuner, etc.

Flasher Input: The IR flasher input is useful with universal remote controls; power and mute remote codes are available for the MM7055.

DC Control: The 3.5mm mini-jack input allows the MM7055's power to be controlled by another device (5-15 V). The DC Control output allows the MM7055 to control the power of another compatible device (12 V/44 mA).

Specifications:

  • Power: (20 Hz-20 kHz, 0.08% THD, two channels driven simultaneously)
    • 8 Ω: 140 watts x 5
    • 6Ω: 170 watts x 5
  • Input Sensitivity:
    • RCA: 1.2 V/22 kΩ
    • XLR: 2.4 V/30 kΩ
  • Signal to Noise Ratio: 105 dB
  • Power Consumption: 660 watts
  • Standby Power: 0.2 watts
  • Weight: 34.6 pounds

Loading accessories...

Customer Q&A

Q
Crutchfield asked: Why did you buy this?
A
Reasonable priced [ Michael  Mar 12, 2018 ]
A
Love Marantz and it replaces a 20yr. old Marantz amp. [ les  Jan 12, 2018 ]
A
Quality [ lawrence  Mar 26, 2016 ]

14 questions already asked

Q
I have a Marantz SR5012 hooked to my tv and a set of B&W CM10 s2 towers, CM s2 center and ASW10CM sub. I've been told this receiver isn't enough to power these speakers (believe they're 300w each - CM10's) and I should add a Marantz 7055 to push more power to the speakers for an improved, better sound. I'm far from a tech expert, so any help or opinions would be great. Do I really need it and if so, would it make a noticeable difference?
[ Robert  May 22, 2019 ]
1 answer
A
I had to look up the specs for those speakers online and seen they are pretty efficient speakers. They can work with a wide variety of power. That being said, speakers like these can sound even better, even more detailed, with more power than the SR5012 can give them. This amp will make they play better and should be enough of an improvement for a lot of people to hear the difference My Bio: https://www.crutchfield.com/bio/Paul
[ Paul  Jun 03, 2019 ]  Staff
Q
How well does this amp process treble response? My speakers are lacking in the upper ranges so I need an amp that is exceptional in this range. If you are a current user of this model, or have listened to it extensively, how would you rate this model on a scale of 10 for its treble response?
[ DWinVa  Apr 10, 2019 ]
1 answer
A
Amp used in home theater set up and was purchased to allow biamping side & rear Kef floor standing speakers. Overall sound improvement including upper frequencies was nothing short of mind blowing. Highly recommended!
[ Dr. Ronald  Apr 20, 2019 ]
Q
Is there (would there) be a noticeable difference in sound quality with this AMP + Marantz 5013 receiver Vs Marantz 5013 receiver (solo) driving Def Tech bp9060 x4 and cs9060?
[ Manoj  Apr 05, 2019 ]
1 answer
A
You get a little boost from the amp. It's not extreme but you will notice better performance at the high and lows of your floorstanders for sure..
[ TYRONE  Apr 13, 2019 ]
Q
is this 140 watts times 2 or 5?
[ Paul  Mar 12, 2019 ]
4 answers
A
This amp will provide 140w per channel only when driving 2 channels. When driving all 5 channels it will be less than 140w per channel.
[ David  Mar 12, 2019 ]
A
X2
[ PERRY W  Mar 12, 2019 ]
A
The unit is powered at 140 watts times 5.
[ TYRONE  Mar 12, 2019 ]
A
This unit is rated 140x2. It is possibly more powerful than that. Using the balanced inputs, the sound is quite "muscular" yet clear.
[ BRANDON  Mar 12, 2019 ]
Q
Hi, I own the Marantz SR6006 AV Surround Receiver. Can I hook up the Marantz MM7055, and use it to drive my speakers?
[ Robert  Mar 09, 2019 ]
1 answer
A
You sure can connect this amp to your receiver! The SR6006 has the preamp outputs needed to get the audio out of it and into this amp My Bio: https://www.crutchfield.com/bio/Paul
[ Paul  Mar 16, 2019 ]  Staff
Q
Can this power Klipsch Reference Premier speakers? I have Klipsch RP6000F (125W), RP250C (100W) and R15M (85W). Will 7055 be an overkill?
[ Sriram  Oct 31, 2018 ]
3 answers
A
I have it hooked up to a pair of Klipsch RP 600M speakers and they sound great. The other 3 channels are hooked up to Cerwin Vega speakers. I love the MM-7055 it's only downside is it runs a little hot temperature wise
[ Tom  Oct 31, 2018 ]
A
Since most listening situations call for a small fraction of the Marantz amp's rated power, having the extra power gives the amp plenty of headroom when playing wide dynamic range audio material in music or movies. You should like the combo with the Klipsch speakers
[ Douglas  Oct 31, 2018 ]
A
I have a very similar klipsch setup and its works nicely, it is not overkill and makes them come alive
[ TYRONE  Oct 31, 2018 ]
Q
Is this powerful enough for the Polk RTI A9??
[ Mishy  Mar 25, 2018 ]
2 answers
A
I have this powering a pair of LSiM 707 towers, LSiM 706c, and a pair of LSiM 703 surrounds. PLENTY of power to get the job done, with ample room to go more. Never had any problems, though I've only been using it for a little over 2 months.
[ Jonathan  Mar 25, 2018 ]
A
The Polks are relatively efficient speakers (90db @1w). The Marantz amp has plenty of power (realistically 100w RMS/ch x 5). So unless you plan to drive the speakers to ear shattering levels, I would not hesitate to pair the Marantz with the Polks. Enjoy!
[ Douglas  Mar 25, 2018 ]
Q
What do you do for a sub with this?
[ Hardinge  Nov 06, 2017 ]
5 answers
A
My sub is powered so I kept it connected to the receiver I have.
[ TYRONE  Nov 07, 2017 ]
A
Powered sub is connected from the pre amp, 7005 in my case. system works well.
[ Helen  Nov 06, 2017 ]
A
You will connect your powered sub(s) to your pre-amp/processor - and then your fronts, center and rears are powered by this amplifier.
[ MATTHEW  Nov 06, 2017 ]
A
In my configuaration I'm running the sub off of the receiver/processor not the amp. But that means my receiver is powered - yours may not
[ neal  Nov 06, 2017 ]
A
I signal my sub through my SR6010. Use the 7055 to power all speakers in a 7.1 system other than the fronts, in which I rely on the 7025. Sweet set up, perfect for me and my wife! Good luck and if you have any other questions, please ask!
[ SONYA  Nov 06, 2017 ]
Q
Can it handle 4 ohm load speaker? What's the power rating for 4ohm?
[ Mara  May 16, 2017 ]
3 answers
A
This is an additional response to my first. I'm guessing you have some really nice speakers at 4 ohms you don't. want to part with. I get that but they are unusual. I have a pair of Polk LSi25's that are at 4 ohms. I use a couple of old DENON mono blocks that are like 25+ years old since they are very stable at the low impedance. You can look for an old solid state amplifier on like ebay for something like that as most of the modern amps don't go below 6 ohm in there specs.If you find one you may consider having the capacitors replaced to give it optimal performace as they where down over time. Not to expensive to do if you can make you way with a soldering iron. The other option is to go for a tube amp. Tube amps love the low impedance and perform well in this environment. They can get a bit expensive but the sound is very warm. If I could afford one now I would get one myself. Just some additional options. I use the 7055 to power my home theater with Klipsh speakers 2 of which are 25+ years old as well but they run at 8 ohms and 99 db.
[ David  May 17, 2017 ]
A
A quick look at the 7055 owners manual - available on the Marantz website would raise concerns about using this amp with 4ohm loads. The specs only go down to 6ohm loads. You might consider doing a search for audiophile reviews of the amp that would provide a more comprehensive analysis of the loads this amp is capable of driving without problems.
[ Douglas  May 17, 2017 ]
A
As far as I know its stable down to a 6 ohm load. It can likely handle a 4 ohm load but could possibly put a bit of stress on the amp and over time if you push it hard could wind up damaging the output power transistors. If you try I would get a an extended warranty on it in this case.
[ David  May 17, 2017 ]
Q
will this work with yamaha rxv 677?
[ randy  Jan 30, 2016 ]
2 answers
A
You will want to contact an Advisor by phone (1-800-324-9695) or online chat to discuss compatibility. They will be able to pull up your equipment and see if this will integrate. If it does not, then they will also be able to discuss other options with you.
[ Kenny  Jan 30, 2016 ]  Staff
A
I Don't know, but crutchfield should.
[ Keith W.  Jan 30, 2016 ]
Q
Will this amp work together with Yamaha RX-V2073 reciever?
[ Gerry  Dec 25, 2015 ]
2 answers
A
YEs! As long as the receiver has pre outs ! Your receiver will act as a pre amp !!ddd Yes !! If your receiver has pre outs ! I believe yours does.
[ robert  Dec 27, 2015 ]
A
Your receiver will need to have pre-amp outputs and it will work. I found this amp to be on the weak side was not as powerful as I expected. Depending g on your needs you might just consider upgrading your receiver to a new Marantz receiver with the latest technology and will drive your speakers just as good as this amp will
[ PATRICK  Dec 26, 2015 ]
Q
Will a pre-amp signal power on this amp?
[ William  Mar 12, 2015 ]
9 answers
A
I have the Marantz AV7702 pre-amp and I am able to power up this amp using the cable supplied by Marantz.
[ BRIAN  Mar 14, 2015 ]
A
No, a pre amp signal will not power on the amplifier. The amp does have a remote power on switch.
[ JAMES  Mar 13, 2015 ]
A
No, not that I know of. You must switch on the power amp manually.
[ GEORGE  Mar 13, 2015 ]
A
No
[ milton  Mar 12, 2015 ]
A
first time i am turn on then automatic off right away.so i just takeout for until now. never use it. thanks. anh.
[ ANH  Mar 12, 2015 ]
A
Yes it will. That is how I have mine configured,.
[ CHRISTOPHER  Mar 12, 2015 ]
A
I am not sure. I have four of them, and there is some kind of trigger feature which allows me to turn them all off by simply hitting one button. My system was put together by a professional, I pretty much just listen to it.
[ VINCENT JAME  Mar 12, 2015 ]
A
Yes. I have a Marantz pre-tuner that powers it on.
[ Andy  Mar 12, 2015 ]
A
Yes it will. I power up both a MM7055 and an MM7025 with mine.
[ LAWRENCE  Mar 12, 2015 ]
Q
Can this amp be hooked up to the SR7007?
[ Michael  Jan 01, 2015 ]
4 answers
A
if your receiver has pre outs on the back ? then yes ! your receiver would then act as a pre amp . All your power would come from the mm7055 and would be a significant upgrade ! hope i helped !
[ robert  Jan 05, 2015 ]
A
As you are aware, this is the SR 7007 A/V receiver and not a pre amp/processor? And this application will work as well with the MM7055?
[ Michael  Jan 05, 2015 ]
A
Yes, Yes, a thousand times yes. The signal voltage levels used by preamp/processor/power amp manufacturs has been consistant for decades. There may be a few weird exections out there, but almost any preamp/processor and almost any power amp will work just fine with each other. In my recent experience, a Marantz AV7701 preamp/processor woks equally well with a modern Marantz MM7055 5ch power amp as it does with 30 year old Crown PS 200/400 amps. One caveat to watch out for is the polarity of the XLR connectors, if you use them, Marantz uses the Euro standard while others may use the American standard. Recent Marantz produducts will certainly be compatable with each other. In short, the inerface between preamps/processors and power amps is almost like USB....just p;ug them in and they willl work, regardless of the respective manufacturers.
[ Matthew  Jan 05, 2015 ]
A
It could be use with any preamp. Have RCA & balance input.
[ milton  Jan 04, 2015 ]
SHOW MORESHOW LESS

Loading articles...

TOP