Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Marantz MM7055

5-channel power amplifier

MFR # MM7055

Marantz MM7055

Marantz MM7055

5-channel power amplifier

MFR # MM7055

25 reviews
View this product

Marantz MM7055

Crutchfield customer from Florissant, MO on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and tune. I'm still learning about all of the new features added but so far I'm loving it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Massive improvement.

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used to have a Denon 4308 CI with 140 watts driving Bowers and Wilkins CM7's. The old Denon receiver died and I replaced it with a Denon AVR-X360- which is highly rated by What Hi Fi . I was very disappointed .The new amp was easier , had lots of bells and whistles but did not have the power to drive the speakers. It was particularly disappointing when I tried to play music in Stereo -so I often had to use a programmed sound effect to compensate (eg DTS Neural X) which would bring to bear all the speakers in my 5.1 set up . I was nervous about spending more on a power amplifier than I had spent on the Receiver -but decided to give it a go . I connected only the front three speakers to the Marantz MM7055 on the basis that the Denon receiver had plenty of power for the rear speakers and the power sub woofer . I was immediately delighted with result . I now have ability to play stereo music (without a sub) and the results are superb .It has also lifted the whole system when in surround sound mode . Marantz is supposed to produce a warmer sound and it certainly seems to sweeten the the sharp ( at times slightly brittle) precision of Bowers and Wilkins. PS I signed up for Amazon music HD ,which this power amplifier can give full justice to. and has also given a significant improvement to my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great 5 channel amp

Robin from Hilliard, OH on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Marantz MM7055 and the Marantz AV7705 as my first move into separates after only having had receivers in the past. At 140 watts it gives plenty of power for the speakers. Going with A/V separates makes a huge difference in sound and power.. The build quality is top notch. I am a fan of Marantz sound, a slightly warm but very precise and musical output. Marantz somehow manages the precision of digital components without the tiring, metallic effects of many other amps.

Pros: Great warm sound and runs cools for the price

Cons: none that I know of so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz MM7055

Crutchfield customer from S Glastonbury, CT on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs as advertised. Using this to drive Martin Logan ElectroMotion IW front presence and rear surround speakers in a 7.2.2 system. It really shines whether playing music on 9 channels or watching a movie cranked up to get all the nuances out of the surround tracks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz MM7055

Crutchfield customer from Ipswich, MA on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp was added to Marantz stack I already own . Thats why I bought it. Replaced a tired Adcom. New what I was getting- clean, crisp, powerful. Its driving 4 Klipsch towers. Love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz MM7055

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clean sound, plenty of power and great looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Bozeman

Paddy from Bozeman on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bad Amp. Had for almost a year and can't get it to work properly. Protection circuit trips way too easily. Sometimes I can't watch TV for more than 20 minutes without the protection circuit tripping. The cooling fan is loud enough to hear over the TV show I am watching. The cooling fan changes speed/sound like a bearing is starting to seize. Have sent it to Marantz twice for repair and they tell that there is nothing wrong with it. They even made me pay for the shipping cost the first time, ($65)(Be sure to keep your original box so you can ship it back to them). Bought an expensive surge protector that did not correct the problem. Have switched out everything connected to this amp and nothing has completely cured the problem. I have figured out that it does not like a Bose center speaker or Bose 501s as surround speakers. It will not play at 75% volume for more than an hour without tripping. It also cannot be in any type of typical stereo cabinet as it will overheat. It even trips when there is nothing connected to it! It also can't be next to any other component that produces heat. Don't even think warm thoughts when you are near it as this could cause it to trip! Make sure the electrical connection is easily accessible as you will constantly be unplugging it to reset the protection circuit.

Pros:

Cons: Protection Circuit Trips ENDLESSLY!

Crutchfield response on

22 of 41 found this helpful

Marantz MM7055

robert from Easley , SC on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MM7055 is a pretty stout amplifier for the price. No complaints

Pros: Sound quality Ease of setup and use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Balanced XLR only.

Aurelio from Greensboro, GA on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried connecting the preout RCA terminals of my new Marantz SR5013 to the XLR socket on my new Marantz MM7055 ampli and zero sound from ant speaker. The XLR switches were all set to unbalanced bc this is an unbalanced connection. When I connected the RCA from the AVR to the RCA of the amp everything worked, except that I'm the proud owner of 5 unbalanced XLR cables.

Pros: Great power

Cons: Heavy

Crutchfield response on

4 of 15 found this helpful

Clean power

Brandon from Little Rock, AR on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong and clean power. Has both balanced and unbalanced (RCA) inputs. Did not test on reference equipment, but this amp made a marked improvement over my previous amp.

Pros: Powerful clean power. Has balanced inputs. Looks great.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz MM7055

Crutchfield customer from Bethany, CT on 2/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was expecting. Quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Plenty O Clean Power

Les from Studio City, CA on 1/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty O' Power, clean looks, a die hard Marantz fan. Replaces a 20yr. old Marantz amp.

Pros: Hard to find flaws with power delivery. Nice clean look. Easy Install

Cons: none that I know of

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz MM-7055

Carl from Lake mary, FL on 6/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the marantz MM7055 with the marantz AV7702mkII pre, I have used denon and Yamaha , pioneer systems with my klipsch speakers, all of them sound very nice. But now, I'm in a hole other ball park. All my speakers have a min of 99db sensitivity so without saying I don't need 170 watts. The amp sound so clean that without any music playing I can turn it all the way up and I don't hear any hiss out and othe sounds. But when playing the sound is so warm and natural . I am running it in a 7.1.2 setup, the only non klipsch speaker is my center speaker witch is a old Yamaha folded horn 2 way speaker And now my center sound so find in detail. Without saying all the klipsch speakers sound great also. It does not care what I use on it , anything from the PS4, xbox1 blue ray and the kodi box and even over the air tv shows. They all sound great. I was hesitant on spending money on this kind of system but it's been well worth it I should've done this long ago The amp runs cooler then my krell, rotel and the denon amps I have.

Pros: Great warm sound and runs cools Apps for my iPhone to run the system

Cons: Set one day aside to set it up and learn how to use it

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

New Life into your AV

Jim from Kapowsin WA on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I bought this because I just wanted too add a amp to my SR7010 and i wanted it to match and I just love the fact that marantz is a AUDIO brand. Well this guy breathed new life into the 5 channels....so much that at reference there is zero distortion and much more clarity to every part of the soundstage. I was STUNNED....for real just speechless. I could not believe the difference. And the build quality is top notch. I feel this can easily compete with McIntosh and I have owned both. If you think your stereo is dead...buy a amp, it takes the load off the AV processor and gives it new life. You won't be disappointed if you are contact me and I'll buy it . They are that good. And also if you want to add even more channels...I.e Atmos you can piggyback the mm7025 with it. I just can't say enough of how good this really is. You will not be disappointed.....Jim ....Cascade Mountains

Pros: Solid build , toroidal power, 5 channels

Cons: Non I have found

Crutchfield response on

17 of 21 found this helpful

Clean, capable powerhouse

Matt from Croton on Hudson, NY on 2/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very capable, clean amp for my 5.2 system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz MM7055

Ron from Birmingham, AL on 1/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Driving 4 channels, 2 electrostatic ,2 regular speakers. Using in combination with 8807.Plenty of power / well defined sound/ no obvious distortion.

Pros: Great value for money.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great power Amp

Irving from Bronx, NY on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

going with A/V separates makes a huge difference in sound and power. I came from an Onkyo 807 7.1 receiver with Def Tech Pro Cinema 800's for about 6 years. I upgraded over the holidays and bought the marantz MM7055 with the marantz AV7702mkII pre-pro and it blew my mind away. This amp powers my Definitive Technology BP-9040 with no issues what so ever. I run a 5.4 system no atmos just five speakers and four subs and I am more than pleased on the clean sound and power from my system. I will never look back. five stars ***** go out to Crutchfield for helping me out thank you

Pros: great performance

Cons: didn't break the bank

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

good pairing with the 7701

jimmy j from North Carolina on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the 7055 amp to go with my 7701 pre/pro. Excellent sounding combo. A few months in to my amp purchase it started distorting on some of the channels and then just shut down altogether. I was watching and listening to an F1 race. Can't remember which one. Took it to a local authorized Marantz service depot and about a week later a brand new amp showed up on my door step delivered by a big brown van. I was totally surprised. The second amp works great and has for over a year now. I did manage to drive it to clipping one time and the protection circuit shut it down. It is not a 200 watt per channel amp but it is not advertised as being one. The specs are dumb though with a max amp rating of 2 channels driven (what?...it's a 5 channel amp). This setup really sings with Aq Rocket 33 cables and Aerial 5 speakers. If Marantz made a 200watt per channel 5 channel amp, I would buy one in a heartbeat.

Pros: sound

Cons: can run out of steam if driven to hard

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Marantz MM7055

Pete V from Michigan on 9/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice powered amp. Using to power high frequency with two channels. And low frequency wit the another set. Really cleaned up my sound and furnished improved detail. Don't think I could have gotten the improvement for this reasonable cost.

Pros: Easy to connect Nice sound Good value

Cons: Documentation unclear Standby power switching a bit useless and not worth it

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Under Powered

Patrick P from Virginia on 4/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Marantz MM7055 and the AV7701 as my first foray into separates after only having had receivers in the past. This was intended to be an upgrade from my 16 year old Pioneer Elite 5 channel VSX09TX which was 100 watts/channel X 5 channels. I was really hoping the separate power Amp at 140 watts would provide more power to really push my PSB 8 ohm bookshelf speakers. However I found little discernible difference in power from the Marantz Amp to my old pioneer Elite receiver. In fact the Marantz seemed to provide less power until I went into the settings and boosted the front channels to the max setting. With boosting the levels that the combo is acceptable but far below what I expected. I could get the same performance with a receiver and walk away spending $900 less. I was really looking for power and the Amp just doesn't deliver to expectations. Maybe I expected too much at this price. Actually the combo is not bad and the AV 7701 is an EXCELLENT pre-amp. Set up was a breeze, it converts digital internet music beautifully, everything sounds clear and clean and it's fairly easy and intuitive to figure it out. So this combo might be good for many people especially if movies is your main thing, you've got a relatively small space and are comfortable with modest power. I will be testing out Crutchfield's return policy and will order another Pioneer Elite receiver since I had good success with my previous one. Then I'll add a 200 watt amp just for front Ch.

Pros: Nice Clean Sound

Cons: Under Powered

Crutchfield response on

20 of 38 found this helpful

MM7055

bob m. from New York on 12/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have found the 7705 5 channel amp . to be a very good match for my av7005 pre amp !! very happy !!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 9 found this helpful

Deep, Relaxed Power Reserves

Crutchfield customer from Idaho on 3/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Movies' biggest challenge for sound systems seems to be their wide dynamic range. I have owned 75W/ch & 100W/ch systems, and with each step up have found the movie watching experience to be transformed. But no previous systems prepared me for this upgrade. I am a fan of Marantz sound, a slightly warm but very precise and musical output. Marantz somehow manages the precision of digital components without the tiring, metallic effects of many other amps. I wanted the power of this amp for dynamic surges in music and special effects, and I wanted that range without giving up the nuance of dialogue and acoustic music in soundtracks. This amp delivers. Since the size of this amp is significant, and it requires a separate pre-amp, I might add that the styling is also appealing.

Pros: Relaxed, plentiful power reserves. Clean but non-metallic sound. Cool look. DLR and RCA connections.

Cons: Nada.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 16 found this helpful

A step up.

T.H. from Arkansas on 11/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use my home theater system every day, so I feel like I get more bang per buck out of the money I spend on it than with other things I spend money on. I replaced a 600 series Onkyo a/v receiver with this Marantz MM7055 amplifier and the Marantz SR7005 preamp. I'm not an audiophile, but one thing I've learned over the years is that watts matter when powering speakers. The 90 watt Onkyo sounded fine for most tv viewing on my 5.1 surround system, but the extra watts as well as the fine engineering of this Marantz system produced a really powerful and enveloping sound I didn't get with the Onkyo 600 series.Blu-ray audio is a real treat on the Marantz system. I did also get to listen to an 800 series Onkyo a/v receiver, and it's extra watts made up a lot of ground sound-wise on the Marantz system for a lot less money. However, I felt like the Marantz had a small advantage in terms of an effortless, non-fatigueing sound at higher volumes over the Onkyo 800 series. The Onkyo 800 series is a steal at its price, but the Marantz system looks and sounds like a work of art, so I decided to take the plunge and have no regrets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Good amp, good power

SleeplessNJ from White House Station, NJ on 4/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this with the 7701, upgrading from a receiver with less power. (Lucked out and got both at open box price.) The amp does seem to match its rated 5 channel power, many amps I've seen or tried recently appear to suffer from inflated power ratings, but not this one. My speakers are pretty efficient, so this drives them to sufficiently brain-rattling volumes for space opera videos, or for listening to music. My test is symphonic music - the more complex and dense the sounds, the more you can show an amp's weaknesses, and this does a fine job, no muddling, every instrument clear, decent imaging. I got this as a price-driven compromise, figuring I'd upgrade it in the future if it wasn't everything I wanted, and that will probably happen in a year or two. I compared this amp to my high end amp (using the 7701 as pre-amp in each case) for stereo audio and the 7055 didn't have as much sound stage depth and breadth, which is what I'd have expected for an amp that's about 1/8 the price. Note it's NOT 1/8 the sound quality - compared to another amp I use in my studio audio system, priced a bit higher than the 7055 and only two channels, the 7055 is a better sounding in terms of detail and imaging. It beats daylights out of the receiver (which cost about the same as just this amp alone) that the Marantz combo replaced, in clarity, slam, and imaging. Night and day. And once you've got five speakers hooked up, 2 speaker imaging isn't so important.

Pros: Good price, honest power, good sound quality five channels

Cons: Big

Crutchfield response on

18 of 21 found this helpful

Well worth adding to the system

Carole from New Mexico on 12/16/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp was added between our Marantz SR7005 A/V rcvr and our Polk RTi, CSi, and F/Xi speakers. The home theater was already great, but when we added this amp, it got even better. We had enough power without the amp, but the increased headroom and range does improve the sound in our room. We don't have close neighbors and don't use dynamic volume or dynamic EQ, so we can really enjoy this thing. Holy Hi-Fi, Batman! We watched The Dark Knight Rises and were so impressed, we had to send you this review. And, as always, we appreciate the information on your website, efficient order process, and reliable delivery.

Pros: Matches our other Marantz components. Remote control from the receiver. Outstanding value for the performance increase of our system.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

29 of 30 found this helpful

TOP