Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Marantz ND8006

CD player/music streamer/DAC with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and HEOS

MFR # ND8006

Marantz ND8006

Marantz ND8006

CD player/music streamer/DAC with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and HEOS

MFR # ND8006

32 reviews
View this product

Old man's new toy

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the wait, this is the one, you'll love it.

Pros: Price

Cons: Doesn't play SACD's

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Like a smartphone for audio components

Bruce from ARLINGTON, VA on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great unit. I was able consolidate some audio things by selling my separate CD player and DAC/headphone amps. I probably don't need an FM tuner anymore either. Music streaming via Wi-Fi is very reliable, unlike some devices I've owned from other manufacturers which had trouble consistently holding an Internet stream. Also, I think the built-in headphone amp circuit is worth mentioning. (For what it's worth, according to Marantz's website, this circuit ("HDAM-SA2") is the same headphone circuit they also use in their more expensive SACD 30n networked SACD player. Note that the ND8006 has an adjustable headphone gain setting in its Setup menu, separate from the headphone volume control on the front panel. The gain should be set to match low, medium, or high impedance headphones--by default it's set to Mid). Overall, I'm very happy with my ND8006.

Pros: Stable internet over Wi-Fi, great overall build and audio quality

Cons: I had to configure internet connectivity for my Apple Airport network by plugging in an Ethernet cable to the Apple base station; once done, it works fine over Wi-Fi

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Classic Stereo Upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Battle Creek, MI on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz ND8006 has helped to bring my classic Carver and Marantz stereo systems into the modern music streaming world. I love the combination of CD player and Network player all in one. It has connected to my phones, tablet and computer with flawless ease of set up. The sound quality is quite satisfying. If it could play SACD it would be perfect. Very happy with this purchase and recommend it highly. Crutchfield's efficient shipping had it to me in 4 days including the weekend. Crutchfield's after purchase support is second to no ones, so I have ease of mind in knowing if I run into a problem or have a question, help is just a phone call away.

Pros: Versatility Steaming CD quality HD internet radio Marantz sound quality CD player and network streamer in one package

Cons: SACD not supported

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee, OK on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An awesome unit that serves my Digital Streaming of music very nicely. The CD player is a great addition.

Pros: Solid built that performs well

Cons: No SACD

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very solid piece, CD player is sturdy with smooth mechanics. What makes this a worthwhile piece of equipment for me is the wide range of digital music that can be played on this device. It works smoothly with Airplay 2, it has HEOS which is a decent program, excelling in high definition music delivery (Ultra HD sounds like Ultra HD) while having a fair search engine for the music services (It will play Tidal, Amazon HD, Sirius, Pandora, and about 6 others). The DAC is wonderful. I am playing through Klipsch Forte IIIs with an ADCOM 7500, Denon Pro DN500 AV. It would be a better piece with an LED screen to show album art, it just gives text of the song and artist.

Pros:

Cons: No LED screen for album cover art while playing.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a two channel audiophile and not a digital geek so I can't go into all of this device's capabilities but the CD mechanism is solid and sounds wonderful. The bluetooth connection is quick and strong for background music from your portable device. I haven't explored the other inputs as yet but I expect them to be just as good. My only complaint would be the width is 17 & 1/4" which prevents it from fitting in an older 17" cabinet that my previous machine was in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great, versatile CD player

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very versatile CD player. Great sound, easy to set up. I really like the WiFi connectivity with my iPad. Very, very happy.

Pros: Multiple ways to listed to music. Solid build quality. Investment quality component.

Cons: Not cheap. But worth it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to use, great sound

Crutchfield customer from Wilson, WY on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, great sound (paired with Klipsch R-51PM) for an easy CD / streaming set up. Had Sonos system prior, this setup far superior in terms of sound.

Pros: Easy set up, high quality sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and balance. The warmth even from pure digital processing is very welcome.

Pros: Ease is setup and use.

Cons: None I can mention.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from La Mesa, CA on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is great! Sound is fantastic. The only complaint is the documentation, it's not very good. There's almost nothing in the paper startup guide and the CD PDF isn't very helpful either, especially in regards to setting up HEOS.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

2 thumbs up!!

Crutchfield customer from Advance, NC on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sweet, all I can say! Everything I wanted and love the Heos app. I have my entire library on my iPhone and the Bluetooth is impeccable! very nice, well built unit. In fact, I liked it so much I bought 2. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great machine for playing CDs or streaming through Bluetooth from my p

Crutchfield customer from Derby, KS on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great machine for playing CDs or streaming through Bluetooth from my phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

QUALITY COMPONENT

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While not having MQA the DAC in this unit has a wonderful sound and can definitely outperform other streaming components for clarity and resolution regardless of the CODEC. On CD's amazing sound ,this unit also has HEOS with Apple AirPlay 2 after firmware update for running all streaming platforms and whole house distribution,2 audio filters with one having a more of analog flow which many may find more engaging. Also has inputs for other digital sources , I connected my 65 inch LGCX and ran music apps thru it as well. YouTube app especially benefited , seemed to decompress the sound of what is lossy compressed audio through YouTube .While not being completely inexpensive what you get in build and sound quality as well as a CD transport and player.This unit will last for a long time ,bang for the buck highly recommend .

Pros: Build and Sound quality, hi end hifi sound, quality CD playback

Cons: No HDMI input ,or MQA however not missed because of sound quality from unit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 9 found this helpful

Very nice all-in-one digital front end

Bruce from San Diego, CA on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been using for about a month, daily for several hours (I work from home). Easy to setup and use. Typical Marantz sound, mature, refined, stays out of the way, yet engaging and involving. I use it mostly for classical hi-res streaming, but also play CDs. Much, much lesser use is internet radio (uses the TuneIn directory). Haven't used the DAC directly, but the CD player and streaming feed through, so I can't imagine the DAC sounding different for a different source. I'm running it through a Bryston B60R integrated amp and a pair of Gallo Ref 3 speakers and its a good match. Random notes: - My router is on the other side of the house and it stays connected. Rarely, when I start a stream, music may stutter as it buffers, then smooths out. I believe that to be an issue with my Mac, as rebooting fixes it. Haven't had to restart the Marantz. - Skipping to the next track in Apple music gives a little delay, then an impulse of sound from the previous track before the new track starts. I've only seen this in Apple music. - CD tray rattled a bit when I first got it, but has stopped. Could have possibly distributed factory lube on the tracks through use. - Made in Japan - Variable outs means you can go straight to an amp and control volume from your device. I'm just trying it out, but based on how it sounds now, I think it will settle nicely into a neutral presentation. Needs a few more hours of break in. Could be a nice option for powered speakers. - I don't use HE

Pros: All digitals in one box Great Marantz sound Can go direct to a power amp...tempting

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Fantastic, intuitive, must-buy

AC from Westlake Village, CA on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am truly impressed with this piece of equipment. I had an older, entry-level Marantz CD player that was frankly nothing more than workmanlike. In contrast, this is a truly brilliant device. I had connected to my home Wi-Fi, mobile devices, and Mac within 10 minutes (slightly more complex for the Mac than the iOS devices, but the instructions are foolproof). My sound system is hardly elite - a Rega Brio amp and Tannoy XT-6F loudspeakers. Everything from Sibelius to the Smashing Pumpkins sounds precise and clean. The higher quality recordings from CD and Apple Lossless via iTunes are espeically pleasing. No fatigue at all with the harder stuff. Marantz has done something truly remarkable here by brinigng truly high quality and maximum format flexibility together in one piece.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sound great

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. I had it connected to my Quad Tube headphone amp. The sound quality is worth it. The only issue is getting the WiFI connected. If you have a droid phone It's impossible to try and key in the password. If you have an apple phone, I think it can be keyed in on the IPhone. My hands where to clumsy to key in the wireless password. I ended up hooking it up via an internet cable. Also, the manual is not so great. Crutchfield tech support was great in helping me out in the set-up of the internet.

Pros: Amazing sound quality

Cons: Wireless internet connection is difficult to set-up

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from Arcadia, CA on 3/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great addition to my older traditional stereo system. Maranta hit a home run.

Pros: So easy to connect the Bluetooth to my phone to play music

Cons: It's pretty expensive, but if it lasts forever, then it's worth it

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Must have product

Crutchfield customer from Yuba City, CA on 2/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took my home theater to another level!! Hearing instruments I've never heard before. Marantz pre amp. Paradigm speakers. All bi amp mono blocks amplifiers. One of the best new products. Even iTunes sounds better.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Buy this unit if your looking for a great CD player

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 2/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz cd player is the best I had in my system. That includes a Classe and Sony 5400es. The Sony was rated A+ in a stereo magazine review.The wifi connection is great, it allows me to open Spotify to a hugh amount of music. I am very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons: No sacd.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give sound quality 5 stars overall a 4 as I can't get my Oppo Bdp-93 to connect with optical or coax input. I was using the Oppo with a PS Audio Digital Link III. Their is no comparison between the two. The Marantz is a more detailed crisp sound. The bass response is more articulate and powerful even at low volume levels. Instruments sound just right. The soundstage is huge. I'm also using a Schiit Saga a Schiit Loki eq and an Adcom GFA-555 SE. The Heos app is easy to use and you literally have access to any song you want to hear. I subscribe to Pandora Plus and Amazon Unlimited. The Cd player is also phenomenal sounding. Yes it doesn't have Sacd capability but if you do your research you will know that upfront. I can't tell you how much fun the 8006 is. I listen to a song and can't wait to here how good the next is going to be. I'm in my 60's and have been an audiophile most of my life. My current setup with the 8006 is the best sounding that I have owned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 22 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from Newmarket, NH on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy to use app makes a versatile media player

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from San Mateo, CA on 3/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Debated a bit if I wanted a replacement for a dead DVD/CD Oppo player I was using (that had replaced an old ADS CD player). Glad I did. Noticeable higher quality sound and clarity. And as a bonus, it supports streaming audio via Airplay 2, Internet radio, and HEOS - didn't have to upgrade my amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great sound, small button.

Crutchfield customer from Orange, CA on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give it 4.5 stars if I could. I like Marantz's approach of all-analog integrated amplifiers, leaving the digital circuitry and DAC to other components like this one. The ND8006 sound quality is exceptional -- typical of Marantz products -- and superior to other components I tested in this price range. The CD transport is solid and quiet, and the network/wi-fi/bluetooth functions are as advertised. My only criticism is the CD load function. There is no CD-load button on the remote, which is OK since you cannot load a CD remotely. However, the load button on the face of the CD player is very small and part of a 5-function "wheel" that includes the play, stop, forward and reverse functions. You need to push the correct (top) part of the wheel to open or close the CD tray. In a dimly-lit room, you simply cannot see this button. I need to turn on a light to change the CD. My design preference would be to have a separate CD load button that is larger, separate from other buttons, and easier to locate and use. However, the sound quality of this player more than makes up for this small design flaw. It's a keeper.

Pros: Exceptional sound quality. Solid CD transport. Network and streaming functions work well.

Cons: Small, hard to use CD load button.

Crutchfield response on

33 of 35 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge improvement over old Sony system. I'm now hearing some greater detail in my music. There has been much more going on in the "Stop Making Sense" CD than I appreciated. I have not used the network applications yet, but the system is picking up the local HD radio signals.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good sound, lousy app

Peter from Redding, CT on 1/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit after trying and returning a Cambridge Audio Azur 851N, which sounded very harsh to me. I like the sound from this unit much better than that of the CA 851N, but I don't hear much difference between music played on this unit and the same music played through my old CD player. It may be that my ears are either too old or too uneducated to hear the difference. All I can really say is that, while I like the sound from the ND8006 and the convenience of having a network player, I don't really hear much improvement over my old CD player. Aside from the sound, I don't like the HEOS app at all. It's not very intuitive, and creating or editing a playlist isn't easy. It's also not possible to fast forward or go backwards in a song with the HEOS app. If the app is important to you, I would suggest first reading the HEOS reviews on the Apple App Store first. It would also be nice if the ND8006 had bass and treble controls. Finally, this unit has the same DAC as the Marantz NA6006, which is $500 cheaper. Marantz doesn't explain the differences between these 2 units, so part of me wonders if I paid an extra $500 just for the integrated CD player. Overall, I would give the ND8006 4 stars for its sound quality, but 2 stars for the HEOS app. Because the app is such an integral part of a network player, I've given the unit 3 stars. The good news is that apps can be improved, so I really hope that happens someday. If it does, I

Pros: Good sound. Easy set up.

Cons: Expensive. HEOS app is awful.

Crutchfield response on

38 of 45 found this helpful

New to Network Players - My Initial Impression

J. from Bozeman, MT on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having been a traditional stereo listener throughout my life, I am new to network players. The ND8006 seemed to be most attractive to me as a starting point for a second, versatile stereo system that I wanted to employ for casual listening in the kitchen & family room area, and for exploring new music and music resources. As such, the integrated CD player made this network player especially attractive to me. I did my initial listening test through the power amp of my entry level "audiophile" system. CD: Compared to my existing systems CD player and pre-amp, the ND8006 provides a stronger bass and lower midrange, which makes the musical presentation quite a bit more punchy and immediate - a welcome change to the laid-back character of my-existing system. This however comes at the cost of losing some detail, subtleness, and realism of the musical reproduction. The soundstage has a tad more energy in the center, yet still impresses me with its 3-dimensional character and airiness, which makes up for the before mentioned shortcomings. Pairing with smart phone via AirPlay: It turns out this is the mode of operation were the ND8006 absolutely shines! It is the most convenient, easy, fun and versatile way of playing MP3s and www-streaming all kinds of music. In this mode the ND8006 impresses with a balanced, engaging, musical and pleasing sound. Quite amazing and worth the ND8006s price in my opinion. It's a keeper! I am going to get some active speakers fo

Pros: - Plays all digital resources one can think of. - Very easy to set up and operate. - Variable output allows for direct connection with power amp or active speakers. No preamp needed unless one wants to tweak the sound. - Sounds really great with smart phone and AirPlay! - Display large and bright enough to be read from 15ft. away. - Solid, sturdy enclosure and connections. - Does exactly what I wanted it for. - Price/performance ratio meets my expectations.

Cons: - Headphone output sound did not impress me. But that's not what I bought the ND8006 for.

Crutchfield response on

22 of 24 found this helpful

Excellent value

Crutchfield customer from Wichita ,KS on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding unit. I bought it mainly to play hi-res music from a USB flash drive on the front panel. It's a little picky about the type of flash drive you use. The manual states it will read drives formatted in Fat16 or Fat32. This is somewhat outdated. Marantz needs to move on to more recent formatting like exFat. I did finally find a USB flash drive that works. All in all, it's a wonderful player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from Danville, CA on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product makes your music sound a lot better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Very good streamer!

Bill from Wilkes Barre, PA on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent streamer!! I upgraded to this from the Marantz NA8005. The positives are the network connection is more stable, and the HEOS app works better than the Marantz HiFI app. I tested this DAC against the NA8005 and my Marantz AV8805. Sound quality is very close to both, as it was not much of an improvement over the last generation NA8005. The stability though makes it worth it and that it also includes HEOS. Also the USB functions work better too, especially with DSD files! It is worth the cost!

Pros: Many different supported file formats, DSD is improved, network is improved, the HEOS app makes it easier to use.

Cons: Sound is pretty much the same as past generation NA8005, which was fantastic, so not much of an upgrade sound wise.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 5/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality very good but not ultra high end. Very pleasant sound and frequency range, soundstage limited between speakers in my system. Great interconnectivity and wifi Bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Marantz ND8006

GarageRat from Flushing, NY on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're on the fence, get off....This piece sounds great. Great DAC.... Mostly use CD and Stream. Usually "more in 1" items I stand back from but am stoked. Quality build and sound. Streaming from Spotify is amazingly good. CD's amazing. No SACD but I don't own any so no big deal. My very expensive Turntable is jealous now.

Pros: Looks, Ease of use, Build Quality, Sound, Multiple hook up options, Quality DAC, Quality CD.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

29 of 29 found this helpful

Maranz ND8006 is the bomb!

Kevin from Wisconsin on 2/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OH man, what a wonderfull piece of audio equipment. Exactly what I needed (wanted). I re-ripped all me CD's to FLAC format (If you are still using MP3's and you want high quality sound, change) on my entertainment center computer, and run them thru the high end ND8006 DAC via WIFI, bypassing the crappy computer soundcard. TV is hooked up to the ND8006 with optical cable. It all sounds so AMAZING! Such detail in the music. The bass is really coming out low and tight, way better than before. The HEOS app that runs this bad boy is so cool and easy to use - all thru my phone. Everyone that has listened to my system stands in awe. Thank you Crutchfield (Chad and Max) for the info that led me to the excellent decision. Thank you Marantz for designing exactly what the doctor ordered.

Pros: Imputs on ND8006 allow the use of high quality ND8006 DAC. WiFi allows use of DAC for all my music files and music streaming. Sounds amazing.

Cons: HEOS app - have not figured how to advance from beginning to end of song. Other than that, no cons I have run across.

Crutchfield response on

55 of 55 found this helpful

TOP