Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Marantz NR1200

Slimline stereo receiver with built-in Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, HDMI, and HEOS

MFR # NR1200/U1B

Marantz NR1200

Marantz NR1200

Slimline stereo receiver with built-in Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, HDMI, and HEOS

MFR # NR1200/U1B

67 reviews
View this product

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Smyrna, SC on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz NR1200 receiver was the perfect choice to connect the AudioSource AMP1200VS. The Bluetooth feature gives you endless choices for music

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Tillamook, OR on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great design with lots of value.

Pros: Slum design.

Cons: Bluetooth is kinda spotty.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good sound and connectivity

Crutchfield customer from Brownsville, TX on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to power a pair of 3-way DIY pro-audio stand speakers for my home. Since I'm using a Beyma "supertweeter," the highs are quite shimmering, and so I wanted a receiver that added a bit more warmth rather than adding more high-end. This worked out quite well for the sound. My speakers still have those shimmering highs similar to when I play them on my old Harman Kardon AVR55, but now I have all the connectivity I would want! I'm running 8K HDMI from a computer to the NR1200, and another 8K HDMI from the NR1200 to an HD projector. Picture and sound are both great. Though I've found the feature I use most is just sending Spotify from my phone to the Marantz via Wi-Fi (NOT bluetooth).

Pros: Clean, powerful sound. Great connectivity. Easily controlled via smartphone or remote

Cons: Wasn't especially easy to get set-up with Wi-Fi at first, but after I learned the letter pattern, it became easier.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

For digital and analog collectors -- almost excellent

Tarso from Jamaica Plain, MA on 6/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like my NR1200. There is a potentially huge market of people like me, who want a quality compact system that handles both analog and digital *collections* (not just streaming from digital subscription services) with excellence. The NR1200 falls a little shy of excellent, but is solid and with some improvements Marantz could be a true industry leader. I've got a turntable, and thousands of CDs stored on my NAS, which is also a cloud device so that I can stream my music collection at home (through 3 pairs of wired speakers) and on the road. This is a powerful combo. But, the NR1200 is limited by the clunky Heos app, and lack of Heos support for Plex (or similar). To avoid the Heos app I put an old Sonos Connect device btw my NAS and NR1200 that streams my digital music collection by way of Plex media server and phone app. (Sonos integrates with PLEX; Heos does not.) The Plex interface is superior in many ways: Fewer levels to navigate, customization, visual browsing of collections, etc. Then there's the limitation of wireless speakers to the Heos line. The proprietary wireless speaker market is not of Marantz's making, but it's a headache. IMO wireless speakers should be more like wired ones, with various brands suitable for any system, and a longer life span. If Marantz could build or integrate a better app/media server, and/or innovate ability to use more than one wireless speaker brand, the NR1200 would be a knockout. For now, it's pretty good.

Pros: 3 wired speaker pairs Reads digital music from NAS Support turntable/LP collection Well integrates support for digital and analog music collection

Cons: Heos app is lousy (led me to do a work around) Doesn't support better digital media servers like Plex Heos wireless speaker limitation expensive, inflexible

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Thrilled!

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the vintage Marantz receivers. And this receiver sounds just as good. To say the least, I am very glad I spent my stimulus money on it and some Kliipsch. Speakers. Thanks. Jeff Long

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome for 2 channel sound

Crutchfield customer from Keller, TX on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is phenomenal. Set up was a little bit challenging using the digital messaging on the face of the unit. I primarily listen to music and bypassed the tv input. It has Bluetooth, analog phone input, and gives me the opportunity to add a subwoofer. These were the items on my checklist.

Pros: Marantz - quality build

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very happy with this product. Great sound and quality workmanship.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Malakoff, TX on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit doesn't play well with other components. Not sure if the Samsung QLED Q9f is trying to take control or if it is the NR1200. The ARC works with the TV but the Dish receiver is iffy. The optical connection doesn't seem to work at all. Maybe it's just a learning curve for me, but I have been connecting different components for years and this one has proved the most challenging.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/25/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from American Canyon, CA on 5/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect ARC for tv sound and simple to operate. Powerful sound , Bluetooth receiver and Bluetooth transmitter, air play etc. Plays DSD files.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Grand Island, NY on 5/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this purchase. Have wired speakers in multiple rooms and this receiver works very well for how the home is set up. Easy to install. App works well for streaming music. Enough hookups for aux input and for my record players. Sound is powerful over multiple speaker pairs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, OH on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz receiver is a cable receiver but after 2 days the HEOS quit working. I bought a new receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/11/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, GA on 5/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a replacement amplifier so I could listen to my awesome Marantz CD player and FM radio. And also bluetooth for listening to streaming music. I really like how this receiver has physical knobs for bass and treble. First of all, the sound quality is outstanding! I have a picky ear and the sound exceeds my expectations. One note - the default setting is subwoofer ON, so when using 2 bookshelf speakers there was very little bass. But once I set subwoofer to OFF, all the base comes through the speakers and BOOM. I didn't even hook up my sub because the sound is excellent as-is. The M-DAX really works and makes everything sound amazing. Even FM radio sounds like a CD with M-DAX on. But if you are listening to something like classical music, you can turn it off to get the un-enhanced sound. I am not using any of the HDMI nor did I even have a need to set up HEOS yet, but good to know it's there. What else... the dimmer function is great - it looks cool with just one red or blue LED (Pure Direct Mode) lit up. Once again the sound quality is fantastic - full, extremely clear, wide stereo separation. Oh and the FM tuner is quite sensitive compared to my old receiver. Note there is no RDS on the FM radio - seems like it wouldn't have been too hard to include that feature. I have had this thing on almost non-stop since I bought it and so glad I splurged a little and went with this one.

Pros: Outstanding sound quality Looks cool Excellent build quality

Cons: LED display is slightly different color than the matching Marantz CD Player. Wish it had RDS on the FM radio.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 4/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, connect and use. Wifi streaming is great, direct from spotify and the Helo app. Using to power 4 outside bose free space speakers. Sounds great, plenty of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Reliable Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Cataula, GA on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always wanted a Marantz since days stationed in Cuba. The E T'S Had one in their Barracks. It was the Best to Listen To Black Sabbath back in the 70'S.

Pros: Looks good and Sounds good

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from North Haven, CT on 4/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to hook up, harder to set up, have to download user manual first in order to do complete set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Brookville, OH on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it, sounds great, very pleased, Crutchfield great to work with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from New Braunfels, TX on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Old school + new school = excellent receiver

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 3/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the NR1200 because it has HEOS Built-In and fits the space in my console designated for a receiver. I only use it for audio; it's not connected to a TV. The NR1200 was very easy to set-up and integrate with my home wi-fi. The knobs have a soft-touch feel and the sleek design looks good. What I really like is the app, which I can use as a remote control from anywhere in the house. It's intuitive, easy to use and is integrated with the HEOS app. The auto-select function for saving radio stations starts at 92 on the digital dial, which is odd, but there's a manual work around. The volume knob is very sensitive and it can take a good number of turns to get to the correct volume, esp. when I'm playing LPs. The volume control on the app works better (is less sensitive) and I use it more often. The receiver has an "eco" mode, which turns off the display while in use, and a power-saving auto-off function, which turns the unit off if it hasn't been used for @ 10 minutes - both good for the electricity bill and the environment. Another nice touch is the speaker connection automatically turns off when I plug my headphones into the jack. The Direct AND Pure Direct functions seem a bit much - I haven't noticed a difference in sound quality between the two settings, but that's a minor quibble. Overall, a great receiver that delivers what I was looking for - multi-room wi-fi capability with quality analog functionality.

Pros: Excellent app Sleek design Wi-fi plus analog functionality

Cons: - Volume knob is too sensitive - Auto-select function for pre-setting radio stations starts at 92 (as if no one listens to NPR or local jazz/classical anymore), but there's a manual work around

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sounds fantastic, some things could be better

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A couple of weeks in, I really like this receiver. Sound from all sources is vastly and strikingly improved over my vintage amp...Couldn't be happier with that. Music streaming via Spotify works great/sounds great. I'm going to try Tidal soon. Airplay works well for streaming from iTunes. Would love it if Bandcamp were supported (but Soundcloud is). As to the limitations: One of the main things I wanted to do is play my (large) music collection over my home network, and that has proved difficult to set up. I think that largely reflects the current state of the technology, but in any case there's a pretty steep learning curve involved. Crutchfield tech support helped, but I am still working to find the solution that works best for me. (I use this receiver just for music so far, not video.) The Denon/HEOS instructions for setting up a network are weirdly limited and incomplete. I'd never have gotten anywhere without tech support. As many others have documented, the HEOS app is kind of disappointing...Seems like it should look better, work better, and do more than it does. (Again, music streaming is fine) Don't know if Sonos would have been better for home networking, but the multitude of connection options is one of the main reasons I chose the Marantz. Bottom line, sound quality is the most important thing, so I'm happy with my choice.

Pros: Beautiful sound, streaming works right out of the box

Cons: Network challenging to set up, HEOS app seems kind of basic

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sweet analog music to my ears.

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this primarily for the phono input and tuner a few weeks ago. I'm using Pioneer Andrew Jones Floor-standing Speakers. I'm only disappointed in myself for not buying this sooner. Set up was simple. My single issue was getting it to connect to WiFi; I had to use the WPS function on my router to push the connection to the receiver because the receiver couldn't find my SSID due to special characters being used. The Direct and Pure Direct Sound modes on the phono input make any record pressed in the 1970s and prior sound absolutely incredible. Don't bother using it on records pressed in the past twenty years due to how they were mastered, they will just sound terrible.

Pros: Easy set up Phono input Small footprint

Cons: WiFi setup was difficult due to the name of my SSID.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, MD on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got it hooked up still evaluating so far I am please with tone quality excellent low 's

Pros: Easy to hook up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Madison, IL on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very please with this receiver at first I was worried about the sound levels from reading reviews but not only does it bumps loud music and I love it loud the sound quality is unbelievable. I like music with a lot of base like reggae/RBI's so this receiver brings out the best sound out of my two klipsch speakers and subwoofer. Internet radio is a plus lots of free music stations and the receiver setup was easy. I've purchased many receivers and Marantz is the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Finally replaced my old system

Steve from Toronto on 2/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my aging 5.1 system with the Marantz NR1200. Paired with Totem Skylight speakers and B&W ASW608 sub. This is an amazing little system with enough inputs to accommodate all my devices and includes both bluetooth transmitter and receiver. I would like to add the Marantz CD6007 if I can one in stock and convince my wife we need one.

Pros: loads of inputs bluetooth transmitter/receiver

Cons: the unit is much deeper in size than what I would expect for a receiver

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Old Timers enjoying new receiver

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Our new Marantz NR 1200 receiver is working very well with our new CD Player and our old turntable and amplifiers/speakers. The sound is excellent especially with the remastered Beatles CDs. We are old timers (70 years +) and got everything plugged back in without calling for help! Thanks for your great product line.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Exceptional Sound, Not A Blow Off The Doors Receiver

Mark S from FAIR OAKS RANCH, TX on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, Crutchfield has been great. Very fast shipping on an item that was in tight supply. I had a question regarding this unit and Eric was very helpful. I love Marantz products and have always loved loud rock music (played through a Marantz 2325 receiver and JBL L220's). I sold those to save my hearing. I purchased the NR1200 from Crutchfield as I wanted upgraded sources (Bluetooth, etc.) but still maintain 2 channels. I haven't tried everything yet but the bluetooth from my IPad works great with the NR1200 and was very easy to set up. I'm a little disappointed in that if you want a receiver to rock the rafters, this isn't it! However if you're looking for extremely clean output and a soft sound this receiver scores 10 out of 10. The live version of the Eagles Hotel California sounds superb. Easy Living by Uriah Heep and the NR1200 are not a good Match. I'm a satisfied customer but I'm hoping this review helps to let someone know the NR1200's limitation. I use this as a stereo and not for my TV.

Pros: Extremely clean music, Marantz quality. Well suited to sit back in the easy chair and listen to some great tunes, easy listening.

Cons: Volume is limited and doesn't feel like you're getting all 75 watts (not suited for loud rock music). Operational manual has to be downloaded and not supplied in the box.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville on 1/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver! I was looking for a two channel receiver with a good phono stage and networking capability. The phono stage pairs well with my Denon turntable and the networking capability is a feature that I use daily. It's set up in my listnening room which was convereted into a home office, and I use the second set of speaker outputs for a pair of desktop speakers. I've hooked it up with speakers from KEF, Klipsch, and Audioengine - and they all sound good. Hell, I can even pick up FM stations again. I had no trouble setting up the receiver our of the box and I'm not using this with a TV, so I can't speak to the video capabilities. And while the remote is kinda bulky, I drive it easily off the mobile app. Overall, I couldn't be happier with this receiver and with Crutchfield's customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Shelburne Falls, MA on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit produces a good sound , especially when using a turntable or CD player. It was fairly easy to use the quick start up to connect to home wireless and to send Bluetooth from iPhone and iPad. The remote control is useless for Heos or Bluetooth,as the display on the unit is too small Heos can be used through the app on an I device. . The on line instruction manual does not provide enough information for some of the functions. Some of the remote control buttons are a complete mystery. The unit will not connect to my new Sony headphones, which is very disappointing. The Crutchfield technical rep could not figure out how to do that. I am usually good with electronics, but this one is very difficult.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: Poor instruction manual Very difficult remote control functions

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Poughkeepsie, NY on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound. easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

milky

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantastic, easy to use, and very connection capable. sound is great through my small martin logan speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great buy!

Crutchfield customer from Adkins, TX on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Receiver his a great buy for this price range. It allows me to control everything remotely and sounds fantastic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR 1200

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited a loooong time for this Marantz NR1200 and it was well worth the wait. I have this with my Yamaha C600 cd player that I also purchased from Crutchfield and the sound is fantastic...crisp ,clear and full. The Marantz receiver just looks so great. It's paired with huge Klipsch floor speaker that I got in 1997! Orbit turntable with an Ortofon 2M cartridge. I'm in heaven....thank you Crutchfield!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Everything I need in one unit!

Crutchfield customer from Punta Gorda, FL on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz NR1200 checks off all the boxes, with all the streaming options,TV play through, CD player this receiver is an awsome addition to my entertainment unit.Also it pairs well with my new B&W 606 s2's -- I'm loving it!

Pros: Compact design

Cons: None Yet!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good little unit

Crutchfield customer from New London, OH on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a Marantz fan since 1974. I still own a 2252B receiver. This unit has great modern features, sound is good but lacks the overall power/depth of a classic receiver with the same power rating. I would recommend this unit to anyone connecting it to less demanding, higher efficiency speakers. They will be very happy with the performance.

Pros: Lots of features. Appears to be built well.

Cons: Slightly underpowered for inefficient speakers. No users manual.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

As a zone controller

Crutchfield customer from Davie, FL on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

as a zone controller the unit is too large and difficult to use. To program it has to be connected to a TV or monitor. I do not understand the reason why it is made to control two pairs of speakers since as zones in a home one has only one pair. I elected to change for the Heos Amp units at less cost. Also if you have an AVR Marantz unit when using the Marantz control all Marantz units are turned on. Heos application also does not control the unit easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Donaldson from Orange, CA on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After spending endless hours comparing specs and reading reviews online, I purchased this stereo receiver. Immediately upon setup I felt it was the correct choice, and now after several months I feel even more so that this was what I hoped a Marantz receiver would be. Setup was easy, great FM reception over the air, easy WiFi and Bluetooth - no headaches with any operation at all. Great looks, and the tactile feel of the bass, treble, and balance knobs make them a joy to use. Plenty of power for my bookshelf speakers. Connecting my pc to the receiver via the optical connection gives excellent results, proving the quality of the dacs in this unit - much better than when I tried this with a Yamaha slimline unit (IMO the Marantz slimline is superior to the Yamaha slimline in virtually every feature). Also appreciate the turntable connection. Lastly, the display is easy to read (at my age that is very important). All around this piece of gear does everything I want and does it well. My only regret is that I waited so long to buy something Marantz. The quality of the NR1200 is more than commensurate with the price. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding audio amp for the money with a few modern features which is a nice bonus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not Comatable with TVS

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit for sound but it is not compatible with any of our TVs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/23/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 13 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very user friendly, great sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Westover, MD on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sirs, I have some problems with the NR1200 I purchased recently from you. 1 .No manual included in package so I downloaded two different versions. 2. Fm radio works great and brings in marginal stations well. 3. Am radio is very weak. I used the antenna that came with it and another one like it that I had that worked with previous radio. I also hooked a long wire antenna that worked slightly better. Can not recieve AM stations I got with old radio. 4. USB flash drives do not play or are read. Tried several and several formats. 5. CD player (Pioneer) plays however Remote feature does not. 6. I can not get Internet Wi Fi (Verrizon Jetpack) to connect. I do not have a TV or Smart Phone, 7. Downloaded Manuals Not much help. I am very sorry to say I am not happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/14/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

8 of 20 found this helpful

Just what I needed

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and great sound. Performs as expected. Needed some detailed help for audio where Crutchfield really shines.

Pros: Wireless connection Good sound for our environment

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Cibolo, TX on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally bought this receiver several months ago and thought I had to have something bigger and badder but I was wrong. I sent it back to Crutchfield and regretted it. I tried several units before I realized what I started with was perfect. I even told the sales rep Reid when I ordered it again that I made a mistake to send it back the first time. What can I say, guilty as charged. I should have kept it from the beginning. I am enjoying this wonderful Marantz NR1200. It looks great next to my Marantz 6006 single play CD player and it sounds crisp, clean and rich.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, I think this AVR is very good, it has the features I wanted, HDMI-ARC, and sufficient inputs to act as a hub for my 2.1 system (5 stars await the system that can achieve this in a smaller more elegant box). Set-up was straight-forward, although the resolution of the set-up interface looks out-dated on a 4k tv. It sounds good, although given I upgraded my speakers at the same time, I cannot entirely attribute the difference to the avr. Dialog in movies comes through clearer than my previous set-up (Vanatoo T-0's attached via optical cable). Music sounds good although it requires a little tweaking of the bass and treble controls after watching the TV, to find the sound I like (so I am pleased they are available). Spotify connect works seamlessly, and the HEOS app although a little clunky allows me to stream music from my NAS. What's missing? Would have been nice to have room-correction available in the system, though I suppose this would have pushed the price up. In summary a nice sounding, well featured system allowing integration of tv/DVD, game console, streaming music and turntable.

Pros: Ample power Simple 2.1 stereo set-up All the inputs/outputs you could ever need (unless you want surround sound) Bass and Tone controls

Cons: No room correction Big, even though it is compact for an AVR On-screen set-up looks like it was designed in the tube tv era

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Calabash, NC on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good, compact design. Easy to set-up. Works well with HEOS app. Provides support for multiple modes of streaming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Gulf Breeze , FL on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an old Sherwood receiver. Much more crisp and improved depth of sound. Easy to integrate with my home network.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Saint Peter, MN on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clean sounding receiver/amplifier. I like the fact that you can attach additional power amplifiers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Runnemede, NJ on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great simple receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The volume knob is very odd. Its basically useless until you get to 50 or 60 out of 100. You can't hear it until 40 or so. The sound was ok, but my early 90s onkyo was better. The marantz sounded thin and tinny comapared to the onkyo and especially compared to my Sansui from the early 70s. Perhaps there is something I don't know about this reciever, but I ended up returning it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 38 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Belmont, MA on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything it claims, and very easy to set up. Wifi, wired and blutooth all work great. Totally satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic for use with the Iphone but not much else

Scott from Dallas, TX on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this receiver to replace my 40yr old Yamaha "Natural Sound" CR 440 (30 watt) receiver which had a failing phone preamp input(tuner works fine). Both units are powering my 40yr old Genesis 2 speakers. To get decent sound levels out of the Marantz tuner & turntable input you have to have the volume level at least at 70. My Yamaha you could turn the volume to 3 and it was as loud as the Marantz. Sound quality is tinny with not much depth unlike my Yamaha. Set up was easy just make sure you have the ARC output enabled on the Sony A8G tv. What was incredible was playing SiriusXm via the HEOS app on my Iphone. It was true HiFi when set to stereo. Sound was rich and warm with lots of depth. Obviously this is where the dollars went. Sound from the TV sounded like the tuner & turntable.

Pros: Exceptional performance when using and Iphone

Cons: Expensive for what is claims to be will try a separate phono pre out and connect to another RCA input to see if that works better. But I do like the internet capabilities.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 32 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 2/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say is this thing is awesome I couldn't believe the versatility of this Marantz NR1200 I'm a Audioholic I recently jumped up in the world a bought me a 75 inch smart tv so now I had to have some awesome audio to go with my new video and boy did I find it because you can hook up old school 2 channel sound with today's perfect 4K video and I love my 2 channel stereo sound... I have a Behringer 10 channel mixer with a 882i BBE sonic maximer with a Behringer ultragraph pro EQ with my Cerwin-Vega powered 18 inch subwoofers and my Cerwin-Vega powered highs and mids and I have a 4050 watt QSC power amp running 4 Cerwin Vega 500 watt 4 ohm x4 ea plugged into the QSC and all of these are tapped into what else ,but my awesomeness MARANTZ NR1200 So all I can say is thank you Marantz!!! And thank you CRUTCHFIELD for caring such a perfect product and giving it to me at such a good price!!!

Pros: Everything!!????

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 7 found this helpful

Great stereo receiver!

Albert from Corpus Christi on 2/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this stereo receiver to power my Definitve Technology speakers in my patio. Sound is absolutely detailed and the network features work flawlessly. I love Marantz products.

Pros: Plenty of power for large speakers. Detailed soundstage.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

the new Marantz...

Crutchfield customer from Arendtsville, PA on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Marantz has listen to it's customers and came out with a reciever that fullfills today demands for better quality and diversitiliy!

Pros: exceptional quality and performance!

Cons: nothing at this point!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz and Customer Service

Crutchfield customer from Avondale Est, GA on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have wanted a Marantz receiver for a long time. I finally pulled the trigger and am glad I did! The sound output is incredibly clean, powerful and everything I hoped it would be. Crutchfield's customer service is always top notch - which makes it an even better experience. Mike was knowledgeable, friendly and patient with all my questions.

Pros: The slim design takes up less height space and looks very sleek. The sound is very clean and clear - especially with movies and television. It also has several component inputs and the bluetooth options work better than I expected.

Cons: The sound is better with movies and TV than it is with music. It does not put out a lot of bass and but does put out high treble (the only reason for 4 stars and not 5). With 2 subwoofer inputs this could be easily solved. The con on that is you have to spend a little more to get the bass levels where they should be.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 14 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, MO on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great was worth the money sound quality is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful Design, Killer Functionality

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is downright...cool. The design is slim and beautiful; and captures the essence of high-quality audio gear. I purchased this particular model due to the primary Stereo functionality while having the versatility of modern video capability with HDMI ARC. I look forward to continuing to fine-tune the surrounding components and make it an integral part of the way my family listens to music in our home.

Pros: Serious Stereo Horsepower Component Versatility Great remote design and capability HDMI ARC

Cons: Need to run a remote flasher to use the remote in another room. Still worth it!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Despite Its (minor) Flaws, I Love It Still

Crutchfield customer from Kent, WA on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great! A couple of things, however. 1) Once you set a pre-set station, there's no way to remove it from the pre-sets - per Marantz customer service. Frankly stupid, IMHO. 2) You can't control it from a PC, only from an iOS or Android device - and there's an exception to that - you can get an Android emulation app for a PC and run it from there. Otherwise, the sounds quality is astounding. I've had other supposedly high-end (in the price range) receivers previously, and I'm coming off a Denon, and the sound quality from this unit is head and shoulders above those.

Pros: Great sound. Clean as a whistle from the low end through to the high end - and precise.

Cons: Pre-sets radio stations are difficult to manage and can't be removed.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Marantz is the best

Crutchfield customer from Gold Canyon, AZ on 1/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. My husband loves his albums and receivers that have an internal amp to play his phonograph had been hard to find. He had a Marantz many years ago, but it quit working. I'm so happy to have found this receiver. He's pretty happy too. And to have Crutchfield ship this 2-day free shipping was awesome! This unit has all the modern conveniences as well as the capability for older technology. The sound is great. We couldn't be happier.

Pros: Easy to set up. Sounds great out of the box.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NR1200 works as advertised and the manual and titorials were spot on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Si lo tuyo es el contenido digital el Marantz NR1200 no te fallara

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Si tu librería música es en formato digital tanto CD como archivos en tu computadora y música en streaming como la mía el Marantz NR1200 es perfecto. Su sonido es una delicia lo tengo emparejado con unas bocinas Monitor Audio Bronze 2 y se escucha de maravilla. Me había alejado de los receiver y con esta combinación encontré lo que estaba buscando para escuchar mi música en estéreo. Lo digo si tu contenido es digital este receiver no te fallara, 100% recomendado.

Pros: Sonido conectividad Aplicaciones en Streaming Diseño

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Great little package--warm Marantz Sound and all the Bells Whistles

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bch Gdns, FL on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing little package. Im' using in 2.1 setup, great sound for small room but big enough to biamp speakers. The Heos is a little sketchy. . . but bluetooth works like a charm. Really nice sweet sound (classic Marantz). Uses old remote, but has an APP you can substitute. Def a great value for what you get.

Pros: Compact, Marantz quality amp, can biamp, bluetooth, hard wire or wifi streaming, Good value for $$

Cons: Heos and functionality needs some updates. I had problems with it dropping (even hardwired). The online web support for the HEOS not great (and shares with Denon)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Modesto, CA on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am really glad to get this unit. Our old Yamaha RX-596 had developed some issues which made it very annoying to use. Even though we are only using the Marantz NR1200 as a stereo receiver, we are happy that it works with our 4 OHM rated speakers and connects to our CD, Cassette, Turntable, and Laptop. It also compatible with the internet which we have not used, yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Schenectady

Mark from Schenectady on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I 've had this receiver for 2 days now. If my review changes I'll update my review. I did my research and I had it narrowed down to the Yamaha R-N602 and this. The deciding factor in favor of this one was its size. It is a lot shorter (2x) than the Yamaha and the ventilation requirements are less strict per owner's manual. I like it. The control panel is not complicated at all and the online manual I found was pretty good. I like the choices for music, streaming. . . Haven't tried USB for MP3 files off my flash drive yet though but I like the USB for that hard connection from my phone and it charges it at same time. During my research I contacted Crutchfield several times (via Chat). These people are top notch and they answered every question I had with confidence. I had a little trouble setting up my connection to the TV but their tech support walked us right through it.

Pros: everything

Cons: When you turn it on it makes kind of a loud noise which i knew from a review I watched. I think I can live with it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's versatile, but the functions are difficult to access. The sound? The jury is still out, I'm running 2 different pairs of book shelf speakers; Focal 706's and B & W 607's.

Pros:

Cons: To setup or change the configuration for even the most basic functions, connection to a TV is a must. Otherwise it's very, very difficult, and some functions seem impossible without being connected to a TV.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 17 found this helpful

Marantz VS. Onkyo

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a 2-channel receiver with HDMI ARC compatibility. I listen to a lot of CD's, but also have my TV audio playing through my stereo speakers and subwoofers. I was hoping to minimize remote control clutter by going with an HDMI ARC receiver. After looking at the four options under $1000, I went with the Onkyo TX-8270. It had 25 more watts per channel and there was an Outlet unit available for $150 less than the NR1200. The Onkyo functioned as intended. My TV remote controlled the volume and both receiver and TV turned on/off simultaneously. (I use an OPPO Blu-Ray player for audio CD's, so I like having my TV on when playing CD's because it displays track info etc) But, the sound was not good. At first I thought maybe I had a bit of an ear infection or something. The sound was kind of tinny and harsh. I'm not a fussy audiophile. I've never returned an audio product. But something was not right. Maybe just a poor marriage with my Klipsch speakers? Still questioning my ears/sanity, I exchanged the Onkyo for the Marantz NR1200. Immediately the sound was correct. It was smooth and detailed. The lower wattage meant nothing. Both receivers would rock me out of the house at half volume, but the Marantz sounded great turned up loud. The Onkyo went from bad to worse as you turned it up. Also, the Marantz has better tactile feel on the front panel controls and just comes across as a higher quality unit throughout.

Pros: Great sound! HDMI switching and less futzing with remotes for volume and power controls. Unused HDMI inputs can be hidden (less scrolling when changing devices) and used inputs can be renamed. Preamp outputs. Looks and feels like quality construction for the price point.

Cons: I could not get the Marantz remote app to work on my iPad. It doesn't bother me, since I probably wouldn't use it much anyway. But if it's important to you, be prepared to have some IT skills to get your mobile device, modem, and receiver all playing nice together.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 22 found this helpful

Very happy with my new Marantz NR1200

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn Park, MN on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looked around quite a bit for a good two channel receiver and finally decided on the NR1200. Great two channel stereo with video theater capabilities as well. The stereo sound is very good, has great wireless and bluetooth features, and I love the Apple Play for playing itunes from my Macbook. I really am quite satisfied and would buy it again. If I could change anything it would be the way the control knobs function. For example the input selection knob. The knob spins freely to allow you to select functions. I would like it better if I could feel a 'click' or something for each setting as the knob is turned and each input is selected. Nit picking, I know. Also the volume range is 0 to 98, it seems like I need to go to 50 or 60 to get a nice volume level in my small office/cave. Below a level of 23 or so I can't hear the sound at all. I would like a tighter, less variable volume control with a range of maybe 0 to 20. But it is a great receiver with all the feature you could want in a two channel setup.

Pros: Sound quality, versatility, and features.

Cons: Control knob function.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Plenty to like about the piece!

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver! I was looking for a unit that would allow me to listen to anything from analog to digital, and connect quite a variety of accessories via HDMI. I do find some of the features a bit hard to figure, but that might be more about being excited to use it and less about the owner's manual being clear enough. I do wish the speaker connects would open wider to better allow for my wider gauge wire. Overall, a powerfully built piece that looks quite nice too!

Pros: Plenty of connections, built-in phono stage, lots of power

Cons: Narrow holes for speaker wire

Crutchfield response on

24 of 28 found this helpful

TOP