Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Marantz NR1509

5.2-channel slimline home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # NR1509

Marantz NR1509

Marantz NR1509

5.2-channel slimline home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # NR1509

31 reviews
View this product

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Hattiesburg, MS on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is an excellent fit for our great room. We replaced our Unity system and were able to use our Boston Acoustic speakers. I did have to buy another subwoofer (Polk). Crutchfield techs have been very helpful. We are enjoying the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is simply a wonderful receiver for the money. Crisp powerful sound through my Paradigm tower speakers.

Pros: Great sound Great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Attleboro, MA on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sounding Receiver with some limitations.You can't pass analog video signal and hdmi together.The sound is clear for the price!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality receiver

Crutchfield customer from Merlin, OR on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For what I needed, this receiver is perfect. The sound is great, the setup was straightforward and easy, the remote is easy to use, and the Bluetooth is quite nice. I replaced an old receiver which had a lot of features which were never used. The Marantz is simpler and the sound is definitely better.

Pros: Easy setup, great sound, lot of options

Cons: No outputs for speakers in a second room

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz surround sound reciever

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 10/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Receiver works perfectly, delivery was excellent to front porch, perhaps even faster than promised. Only problem was not enough documentation for setup of additional hardware, like cable box and older Apple TV equipment. May just need smarter operator on this end.

Pros: Nice mid-range reciever

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Gaithersburg, MD on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome little AVR. Works perfectly in my small bedroom setup. I don't use a center speaker and it does a good job of mixing the center signal into the FR / FL. Sounds great even when turned up loud, especially for the small size. The setup process is easy and the UI is pretty good. Plenty of inputs as well for my needs.

Pros: Small size Plenty of inputs Sounds great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

WInner

Crutchfield customer from Kingman, AZ on 10/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple setup. 50 watts per and it sounds great. I have a large room and using the bose single cube system sounds incredibly clear. Easy to us functions..Perfect first time receiver or for the experience who wants a nice clean setup on a 5.1 system.

Pros: Simple setup. Great full sound. Internet radio....Love it. Turntable next

Cons: I would have like d100 watts but 50 per channel is good enough

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Vero Beach, FL on 10/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this to replace a Yamaha V377 which experienced a bizzare failure - another whole story. Pleased so far with quality if sound it produces with my QAcoustic speakers. Set up was quite straightforward atfer an assist from a Crutchfield rep.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Warm and Balanced

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid . This receiver replaced an 850.00 integra. The integra died in just 3 years. Onkyo-Integra's customer service is pathetic. Buy this unit. The sound is balanced and warm. Setup was unbelievably easy.

Pros: Setup was easy, warm accurate sound.

Cons: Might need a little more power

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for my 5.1 set-up

Crutchfield customer from Webster, NY on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced a Pioneer Elite which was big and complicated. The Marantz is easy to use, sounds good and is 1/2 the size. I only run 5.1 so why get more channels.I was able to hook up my turntable via the built in preamp which is a nice plus. Really glad I got this amp

Pros: Easy, fast setup remote is uncomplicated

Cons: Some might need more power

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Germantown, MD on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is amazing. It greatly enhanced my existing speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Timothy from CADILLAC, MI on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WARNING Will Rodgers.... WARNING. 90 days after purchase it does not work. Crutchfield was NO help. I had read the great reviews about their great service and felt confident in my selection.... MY bad. This is my first experience with any type of service. And I assure you, I will do my homework next time and purchase somewhere else.

Pros: When it worked, it sounded 'ok'. NOT great.

Cons: Spotify connect does not work. App does not work.

Crutchfield response on 9/18/2019
We were sorry to hear about Timothy's experience and with our Tech Support team. Our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to help him further. We strive to provide the best service, before, during, and after your purchase, and it looks like we missed the mark this time. We hope Timothy gives us another chance to prove we're the best in the business.

1 of 5 found this helpful

My First Marantz Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first Marantz receiver I've ever owned and if the other models are as good as this one, it won't be my last. I've only had this for a few weeks, but, it has been an excellent upgrade to the small system in my bedroom. The lower profile of the unit is perfect and fits in the cabinet with room to spare. I upgraded from a Sony and this unit does everything I need it to. Yes, the power output is not huge, but, it gets the job done for me. I wanted a low profile unit that had 4k and 5.1 capabilities that wouldn't break the bank. The Heos and Marantz app could use some improvements, but, I use a Harmony remote, so, I don't need the app for the receiver. If you have similar needs for a receiver, this unit will get it done.

Pros: Low profile Good price Good setup menus

Cons: None to speak of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Poolesville, MD on 9/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great as a stereo receiver too

Crutchfield customer from Curaçao on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Marantz NR1509 about a year ago, and I'm very happy with this receiver as a stereo receiver. I replaced an old Arcam amplifier with this receiver, and my 80's Kef 303 speakers sound great, probably even better now. Digital music and streaming sources do sound much better with this receiver. The NR1509 has more functions than I will ever use. I am not planning a 5.1 surround at the moment, but it is definitely an option for the future.

Pros: Great sound. Small size.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A bargain receiver!

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 8/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little receiver far exceeded my expectations. It's easy to set up, easy to use, and sounds great! My front speakers are large and pretty inefficient, and the 1509 has no problem playing them at full theater volume, even though rated at only 50wpc. Very happy with my purchase!

Pros: Small space saving design.

Cons: At this price, none!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz vs Onkyo

Crutchfield customer from Ballston Spa, NY on 8/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found the setup simple. Setting up the speakers takes some time and effort but still easy to do Great sound I like the compactness of the unit I had an Onkyo which used to be quality but I sent it to the factory once for the hdmi problem and it worked for awhile then I would lose the hdmi throughput and had to reset the unit monthly I figured time to replace and decided on the Marantz

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to setup and use. Sounds very good.

Pros: It has Left and Right channel outputs so I could in integrate into my stereo system.

Cons: None that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, NM on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great unit! I am not very tech savvy, but the step by step set wizard made it very easy to connect the TV and Sat box through it with one remote controlling everything. The low profile is very nice as a room saving feature!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Little Full featured AVR

Crutchfield customer from Fair Haven, NJ on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife gave me grief about the HT setup in the basement gathering dust. My old Harmon Kardon receiver, lacking HDMI, just wasn't cutting it since everything is HDMI nowadays. After a bit of research, it became apparent that HK no longer played in the AVR market aside from a few token products. Really an unbudgeted expense, so I was keeping things on the low end. I discovered that Onkyo/ AKA Pioneer had a reputation for HDMI switch issues. Yamaha was in the mix, I gave up on Sony AVR's prior to my HK purchase. Denon, although it shares a lot with Marantz tech-wise as they come from the same parent company, didn't seem to have quite the same level of positive reviews or reliability. So I got the NR1509. Setup was easy, I discovered from a webchat on the Denon sight that you cannot use Denon HEOS speakers as surround speakers with this AVR. Regardless this is a nice little unit fits the bill perfectly and I have not tapped its full feature set. The one thing I have to say is I miss the sound of my old HK. It weighed about 25 pounds and this guy is 18 pounds. The weight is in the amps. The NR1509 drives my Klipsch reference series admirably, they just sounded better on the old HK which is now my stereo receiver driving my old A/D/S speakers. No regrets - if I wanted more I could have opened up the pocketbook. My daughter is now kicking my son out of the basement so she can watch movies with friends, the HT is back to life.

Pros: Compact, easy setup, lots of features

Cons: Amps could use some more power

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clean sound! The quality in sound produced by this receiver is exceptional!

Pros: Very efficient sound! Easy set-up.

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 7/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does work well easy set up

Pros: great sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Beast in a miniature package

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 7/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic little beast! Recently had to replace an old Pioneer Elite AVR when it decided to up and quit with the video portion of Audio/Video. Not quite sure what happened, but didn't want to risk paying the local AV repair shop $95 just to diagnose the issue. I ultimately decided I wanted to step down from a 120W monster to something I'd actually use to Fuller potential. Enter Denon/Marantz. Fairly comparable sisters until you get into the lofty top tier stuff, but what won me over was just how slim the 1509 is. Gone are the days of keeping the AVR cooped up in the cabinets of the old media console. I can actually fit it on the slim, open air shelf next to ye olde Xbox and have far easier access to the unit for future tweaks as I continue to build my home theatre. Don't let the lower wattage rating fool you, Marantz eeks out every last decibel they can, this baby can get LOUD but manages to stay crystal clear for it's pricepoint. Wonderful machine.

Pros: Loud for it's wattage. Plenty of features. Super easy set up.

Cons: None for my particular set up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

You won't be disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding receiver with quite a few "bells and whistles." It might seem a little expensive but it performs as you would expect (from a Marantz) and you soon realize that 50 watts RMS is more than adequate for most listening environments. It's attractive and compact to boot! One of the most valuable features is the Audyssey Dynamic Equalization that provides great sound even at low volume levels. I wasn't planning on spending as much for a 5.2 system but I did my "homework" and found that this is the best "bang for the buck." I'm very happy with my purchase.

Pros: Great Sound, Compact, full of features.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Crutchfield customer from Golden, CO on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great slim receiver. The 50W per channel was more than enough to drive my home theater setup. The dynamic eq and volume setting are very nice at ensuring voices are not lost in movies. Airplay works great as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Orris from Brookfield, WI on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always, Marantz stands above the main brands in quality and performance. The audio and video quality were both noticeably better with the same cables, speaker, and TV

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A Little Touch of Magic

Crutchfield customer from Sneads Ferry, NC on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for small/medium sized rooms. At $399 sale price, I really don't think you can do better than this little jewel. This replaced a Harman Kardon 1710 that I tried to love for a couple of weeks and ended up returning. The Marantz is a breath of fresh air as all functions work without fail. Movies and sports are great once calibrated correctly. But the best in my opinion is the sound quality of 2 channel, non-processed Stereo. I listen to alot of vocal jazz, indie-alternative, and reggae. Pure-Direct mode is extremely revealing and even Apple Music-sourced Airplay tracks sound fantastic. So glad I ditched the Harman Kardon and much happier in the music world than the my previous Sonos system that never delivered any sort of soundstage. I'm extremely happy

Pros: Sound and Build Quality Functionality

Cons: HDMI ARC forces you to listen to audio that corresponds to video. This will be no big deal to most, but I enjoy watching sports programming while listening to music. HDMI ARC doesn't allow this. I work-around via optical audio input.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Home theater amp

Crutchfield customer from Horseshoe Bay , TX on 3/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helpful staff, easy to order and received quickly

Pros: Very easy to setup by just following the on screen and on line directions

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

Bill from Rumson, NJ on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not flashy, but a. solid receiver that has plenty of power.

Pros: Smart teceiver

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Good all around sound

Eric from Vista, CA on 11/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Liked the sound an many features. Remote is good. Social media options are a plus but really bought to upgrade my old Marantz.

Pros: Many inputs, souround setup is good.

Cons: Instructions could better on initial setup.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz NR1509

James from New York, NY on 10/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great, and set up is easy. Love the WiFi feature. Received in two days! Thanx Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

TOP