Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Marantz NR1609

7.2-channel slimline home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # NR1609

Marantz NR1609

Marantz NR1609

7.2-channel slimline home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # NR1609

21 reviews
View this product

Marantz NR1609

John from Poulsbo, WA on 11/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AVR in my primary system is a Marantz 7012, so when I set up a secondary system in another part of the house I chose this 1609 to drive a set of Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble speakers which, years ago, had been my primary speakers. The on line owner's manual provided instructions to recognize these 6 ohm speakers. I did have one hiccup setting up the unit using the quick start guide. I initially did not get any sound through the speakers, but step one of the troubleshooting portion of the on line manual was to reinitialize the unit, which solved the problem. The AVR and HEOS apps on the iPAD can distinguish between the two AVRs, which is a definite plus. One thing I have noticed with both of these AVRs is that after a power outage I can't access the HEOS favorites using the remote unless I sign in to my account again. However I can access the favorites using the iPAD app. In summary, I am satisfied with the performance of this AVR.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

User manual not helpful

Crutchfield customer from Glenshaw, PA on 10/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up was well explained but the user manual is terrible. Sounds great otherwise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from Damascus, MD on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for and sound for our room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Music to my ears

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood Lake, NY on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what the doctor ordered! Holy cow - welcome to the 21st Century.

Pros:

Cons: Like any new electronic device, all instructions are online.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Leon from Arlington, TN on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best!!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound with reduced power consumption!

Crutchfield customer from Florence, OR on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound through my 7 channel system with great compact size and runs very cool! Living in a motor home one must be careful how much power is consumed at any one time, the system is limited to a max 30 amps. Running a 42" screen and full size computer at 500w to add the sound for games that I enjoy with movies means reducing the power my Yamaha consumed, the Marantz does that.

Pros: This Marantz allows me to cut power consumption without sacrificing sound quality and at 50 watts per channel can put out undisturbed sound beyond my limits.

Cons: None that I have found.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Sethuraman from Chennai, India on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small and sleek but it makes other Receivers weak in terms of sound output and video clarity. The science of sound is clearly defined by Marantz by virtue of nr1609 the prodigy amongst audiophile

Pros: Divine sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent AV receiver!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 8/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz 1609 is an excellent AV receiver. I bi-amped my B&W speakers and the sound is nothing short of outstanding. It was easy to set up - just hook up the tv and follow the on screen directions. The interface is a little dated, but so what? It is easy to follow which is really the point. One set of speaker terminals is assignable, which again was easy to do, so I was able to set up the bi-amp without a problem. (Bi-amping still leaves you with the ability to have a 5.2 set-up.) If you have legacy equipment, this unit has component as well as composite inputs. One caveat: the unit is relatively deep. If you plan on putting it inside a cabinet and are using banana plugs for your speakers, make sure you have the depth. All in all a great sounding receiver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from Damascus, MD on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size for the master suite, along with legendary Marantz quality and features. FIVE STARS!!

Pros: Great Receiver at a great Price. THANKS Crutchfield

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from Perkasie, PA on 8/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound...rich. enjoying the 7 channel! Setup mic really dials the room in...pair it with strong sub and dont look back! Heos versus sonos versus air play....grrrr... let's all play nice, guys!

Pros:

Cons: Additional speaker terminals for sub room/zone 2 are needed....

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Bch, FL on 8/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a lot of research before buying, advice from Crutchfield made a big difference. The NR1609 is more than I expected !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product - fast service

Crutchfield customer from Bountiful, UT on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the Marantz NR1609. Through the wireless wifi, the setup was easy. I have Amazon's Alexa which interfaces to it for playing music. All the set up is done on your tv screen, it had straight forward instructions, easy to set up. It is a slim line receiver so the power is not as big as other receivers but in my family room it is perfect.

Pros: Slim line, all the connection you will need, works with Alexa.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great apartment receiver. Does everything you need it to and set up is easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

What an improvement!

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, AR on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this thing! My ex left me a 15 year old receiver that finally gave up the ghost. I also have 15 year old surround sound speakers. Decided to get this receiver to replace my old piece of junk. We got the system going, did the setup testing and it is great!! My old speakers actually sound great! Can't wait to get new speakers and really enjoy it.

Pros: Smaller profile allows a better fit in my wall unit. Allows for air flow.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from Mission Viejo, CA on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver! Lots of great features, don't let the size, or the power rating fool you. 50 real watts is plenty of clean, warm, crisp, Marantz power for a small to medium sized room, especially with a powered sub. Audyssey room correction is great! Plenty of connections for a receiver of this size. Definitely more hi-fi sounding than others. Couldn't be happier with this purchase. Crutchfield as always provides AAA+ service!

Pros: Slim profile, great sound, phono input, loaded with plenty of current features.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from Signal Mountain, TN on 6/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great AV receicer. Needed the short case size and all the hdmi inputs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

A sound purchase

DLL from Scituate, MA on 5/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple on menu set up. Good receiver for small to medium- large rooms. Works well with the best bookshelf speakers of higher efficiency on the market. I have an older version of this driving Kloss design Cambridge Soundworks Speakers of 2 towers a center channel and smaller ambience speakers. It sounds great! This newer one drives Klipsch bookshelves and a center channel it also sounds great. It can take 2 subwoofers and with them I can't imagine much better sound than that. I couldn't resist the sale price and using my awards card to to get this one. Crutchfield is a good place to buy the model of anything you want when you want to get a specific unique well designed model or brand. They have most everything in stock and that is important. Delivery is fast always within 2 days of an order. They save you a lot of gas and heartache in any purchase decision. Thankyou Crutchfield!

Pros: Well designed with most current options in a low profile receiver design. Sounds great for my application.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Great sound in a slim case that fits in my cabinet

Daniel A from Shirley, MA on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really love this A/V receiver. The setup walked me through connecting my 5.1 surround sound speakers. The sound is great. The iPhone app for the Marantz makes controlling the device easy. I downloaded the HEOS app and was easily able to play music from my iPhone and Amazon Music. I still have much to learn about this A/V receiver, (like setting up Alexa) but so far, a great experience.

Pros: Slim case, great sound, easy to use.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, MA on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from the 5001 to get 7.2 surround. Airplay and Bluetooth is awesome. Paired with paradigm ct 100, sounds terrific. Super easy set up guide .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz NR1609

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this because of its low profile and so far I am very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP