Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

7.2-channel slimline home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # NR1711/U1b

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

7.2-channel slimline home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # NR1711/U1b

18 reviews
View this product

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

Bobby from Pensacola, FL on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My brother operated a full service audio/video retail business for 50 years. His expertise is without question...his company was the Klipsh authorized store in Birmingham as was he the Macintosh dealer. Fast forward 25 years and he recommended this Maranta NR1711 for my new home/studio office. I sold both my businesses and retired 10/10/2020. After installing the NR1711 and dual Paradigm Premium speakers I can categorically say the NR1711 lacks any semblance of punch, audio dynamics, low-volume EQ separation or any other nominal audio outputs that Marantz advertises. Don't buy this unit unless your goal is to own a nice radio with multiple HDMI outlets. I added a Schitt's MANI for my Oracle TT (Ortofon 2Mm 5.5mv stylus) just to get normal listening levels without pushing the volume past 60... I am not trying to create product harm here...just saying I am thoroughly disappointed in what (I thought) was going to be a terrific sound system for my small 13'X14" office. I do like the size of this unit... albeit expensive considering its lack of delivery.

Pros: Smaller size.

Cons: Tiny audio delivery.

Crutchfield response on 12/8/2020
Bobby, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Holland

Tim from Holland on 11/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this receiver for a month and it is certainly a nice upgrade from my 20 year old stereo receiver. It is one step in the upgrade to a surround sound media room. One detail that is not clear at all in set up instruction either online or in the manual, is this unit DOES NOT pass analog video thought the HDMI digital connection to the TV. Although it shows connection to input component and composite video, you will need a separate output line to the TV and likely need to change TV input source to view. I am happy with the functions and sound quality, and look forward to the complete installation with more speakers to be added soon.

Pros: Thin size 2 zone capability Heos and AVR apps

Cons: Poor detail available on connection requirements, especially with older video sources

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Geneva, IL on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds wonderful!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Poughkeepsie, NY on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm loving it. The form factor is great. I went from having a stereo and a phono device, to just a single device. Works great with Apple TV. 8k ready even though I only have 4K tv and Apple TV 4K. No issues. And the sound quality is superb. I use it as 5.1 but I hope to make it 7.1 soon and take full advantage of atmos. Great investment. I already know this is going to be with me for the next 8-10 years. Unless technology dramatically changes before that time.

Pros: Easy to connect Instructions clear Audio is excellent

Cons: Only con is that it turns off when the Apple TV turns off. But if the Apple TV wasn't on in the first place it won't do it. It has just happened a few times when listening to records.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointing

Bob from Albany, GA on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the receiver about two weeks ago. It was easy to setup and I like the GUI. It has installed one firmware update. There are issues. 1. Occasionally when changing stations on my HD Off-Air Tuner the NR1711 will lose its connection to the Off-Air tuner. Sometimes the sound is gone and sometimes the sound and video output of the receiver are gone. It takes a bit of button pushing to restore the audio and video. 2. My 4K Roku will occasionally give HDCP errors. Again, it takes some button pushing to recover. 3. The GAME HDMI input seems to be like a pass-thru. I have not found a way to make the receiver's GUI display the volume settings on the monitor screen when the GAME input is selected. 4. When the energy saving ECO mode is Off the receiver runs quite hot. I am using small floor-standing Klipsch speakers that are nominally rated at 8 ohms. 5. When the energy saving ECO mode is ON there is audio distortion in the speaker outputs. I feed a 400Hz sine wave to an analog input. When ECO is on I hear a subtle buzz in all speakers. When I turn ECO off the buzz goes away immediately. When I turn ECO back on the buzz slowly gets louder for about 3 seconds. The photo shows the right channel output (400Hz 0.6v p-p sine-wave). The white circles show the audible non-linearities.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Smithville, TX on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is small and does the job without taking a lot space. Has enough power supply speakers. Maranta always performs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Glen Ridge

William from Glen Ridge on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best receiver I have ever owned. It's only been a week but I am so impressed with the sound and features. I can understand the criticism on the power but it's plenty loud for me at 65.

Pros: Quality of the immersive sound.

Cons: The Marantz app is just ok. Heos is very cool though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Mehhhh

Keith from Myrtle Beach, SC on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I purchased this to pair with an Lg cx, PS4 and Xbox. I will say that it does work when it wants to. But too many issues so I sent it back. I obviously didn't get to see if the 4K/120hz pass through works as advertised because I don't have my ps5 yet. But based on my experience with this amp I'm not sure if I'd have faith in it. Issues: 1. HDMI switching inputs was very janky. Would just click repeatedly then switch. 2. Hit the menu button and sometimes it will take you into setup sometimes it would just click but nothing pops up on the tv. 3. Sound quality was decent but nothing that my Yamaha from 2016 wasn't already doing and it was $300. Not the end of the world I just sent it back for a refund but a big waste of time. Since I always read reviews on here I wanted to contribute my experience so maybe it helps someone else out there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 16 found this helpful

Great Size, Nice Features (if they all worked!)

Jim from La Mesa, CA on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this AVR for about a month. Plenty of power for a small to medium sized room. The dynamic volume and EQ work great! Overall it's a nice receiver but it has a few problems. The biggest problem is, many times I get no input signal when switching inputs and I have to power cycle the receiver to rectify this. The setup includes "Power On Volume Level" but no matter what I set that to it is always at 0 on power up. I have yet to get either of the android apps it supports (Marantz AVR 2016 and HEOS) to find or work with my AVR, these apps simply do not work (I am a network professional and work with routers, switches and multiple networks every day). If you can live with these problems then it is a great AVR, but I can only give it 3 stars because of these issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Not All Watts Are Created Equal

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was concerned that a fifty watt amp might not be adequate to drive my speakers. Not true. This AC receiver sounds great. Setup is a breeze. Dynamics are awesome . A great value.

Pros: Powerful musical amp.

Cons: Connections on the back of the receiver are a bit close together.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great overall product

Crutchfield customer from Valley City, OH on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't like that you had to use a hdmi cable for the tv ,I have a 6'x2'x2' equipment cabinet in my den and had to run a 50 ft cable to connect to the tv , The Bluetooth range is to short,anything over 15 ft it starts cutting out,!! But the sound is great ,and I like the built in EQ. !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slimline model fit my space requirements perfectly. Driving 4 wall speakers+ center channel+ subwoofer. Plenty of power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from El Dorado, KS on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NR1711 is a 5 star plus. Very easy to set up with Crutchfields staff guiding you the whole way. I feel very lucky to come across the Marantz NF1711 and of course Crutchfield.

Pros: Everything including the Bluetooth

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

little beast that could.

Crutchfield customer from Pearland, TX on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

was not sure if this little beast was going to satisfy my needs in power,but this baby is a beast. i have been into electronics when bose was barely a name and bought products from carver for sound effects before dolby was anything. this puppy puts out the juice without breaking a sweat.to my 5.2.2 system. all the proper sound enhancements are present for my needs with plenty hdmi connections including hdcp 2.3 and 8k very easy set up.

Pros: plenty of horse power and future proof.

Cons: sub woofer preouts run in parallel.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Sunnyside, NY on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing. The setup assistant took all of the guess work out installing the system. The receiver takes up very little space. Very happy with this purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cheap, soulless, garbage

Nareg from Glendale, CA on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a cheap, poor attempt of bringing HDMI 2.1 and Surround Sound capability to a more budget market. It has many features, but doesn't do a single one well. It's HDMI 2.1 is only 40gbs, so its not real 2.1, its sound quality is extremely poor, I've had some $200 amp/dacs that sounded better. The NR1200 is at least 10 times better in sound quality, the difference is simply enormous, all while being much cheaper than this junk. Here's a recommendation, eARC won't do you any good until a few years later, so if you just want to listen to a nice stereo and output audio from your TV for movies or games, get the NR1200, it will be great for a long while. Stay away from this trash heap if you have any respect for music. It simply killed the audio in my living room, I'll be sending it back soon.

Pros: HDMI 2.1 40gbs

Cons: Very poor sound quality, ridiculous price for such terrible sound. The NR1200 is at least 10 times better, most especially for audio.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 28 found this helpful

Excellent receiver and a worthwhile upgrade.

Bill from INDIANA on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've used this for a couple weeks with no issues. Setup was easy and everything worked great after I found and replaced a bad cable. This receiver was a replacement for an older Sony. After performing the Audyssey setup and calibration for my speakers, the sound was VERY noticeably improved. I was impressed. My B&W 607s and M1s really opened up and worked at a level that the Sony could have never matched. Overall 5+ stars. Well worth the cost and I couldn't be happier.

Pros: Audyssey speaker calibration, smaller footprint, power and features.

Cons: NONE (so far)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz NR1711 (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. I replaced an existing AV receiver in a multi-room setup. Video is noticeably better.

Pros: Easy setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP