Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
016 476 929 3
Connect ID #
016 476 929 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Marantz PM8006

Stereo integrated amplifier

MFR # PM8006/U1B

Marantz PM8006

Marantz PM8006

Stereo integrated amplifier

MFR # PM8006/U1B

34 reviews
View this product

Excellent quality and Sound!

Alexis from Ciales, PR on 5/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a wonderful sounding amplifier. It retains some of the signature warmth of the Marantz house sound that I love. The punch provided by this amp is nothing short of amazing! At only 70 watts per channel, it sounds far more powerful. The inclusion of a newly designed phono preamp running in class A and a new electronically controlled volume control is an added bonus. The input selection is vast, allowing you to hook up just about anything imaginable! It also includes two sets of speaker binding posts of very high quality, making bi wiring a breeze. The build quality is nothing short of amazing! It is very heavy (27 lbs) and built like a Sherman tank...the front fascia is done very tastefully and harkens back to the older Marantz amps with the included midrange tone control. The input selector is of very high quality with distinct detents, as well as relay clicks during input changes. The corresponding blue led lights let you know which input has been selected. I don't think you can get any better at this price. Marantz, imo, has a winner in the pm8006.

Pros: Fully Analog, plenty power and warm sound!

Cons: No Subwoofer output.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006 - Perfect amplifier!

Evgeny from Tallinn on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had Marantz PM8006 and sometimes ago bought turntable Thorents TD202. There was many eulogies to Marantz PM8006 phono stage. No no no! More then 10 times I switched phono stage between integrated phono in Thorents and integrated in Marantz Pm8006. Best sound - integrated phono in budget Thorents!

Pros: All what do PM8006 - Great!

Cons: I do not think, that Marantz PM8006 phono stage is too good, how it is inflated in the press...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006

John from New Haven, IN on 1/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice reciever

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 12 found this helpful

WOW !

Jon from Polo, MO on 10/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you consider music as nothing more than background noise, save your money. You can get something to make noise for a lot less cash than the Marantz PM8006. But I consider music a priority, and, as a musician, I'm pretty particular about the sound quality. When my old receiver laid down after 24 years, I contacted Crutchfield and told them what I was looking for. I want enough clarity to hear the water glasses in the beginning of Pink Floyd's "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" and enough bottom end to feel John Bonham's kick drum on any of my Zeppelin CDs. I want to be able to pick out each and every instrument at any point in a song and be able to hear what's being played. My Crutchfield advisor, Adam, steered me towards the Marantz PM8006. It arrived yesterday, and I put on Led Zeppelin 1 for a test drive. My neighbor, whose house is about 40 yards away from mine, called me within 20 minutes- ha ha! The PM8006 had absolutely no problem with my 4 ohm 250 watt Cerwin Vegas. I've had them 24 years and they've never sounded better! Next, I turned on the Sirius classic rock station from the satellite, and the sound was amazing! Even though I've heard some of those old, worn out, played-to death songs a thousand times, hearing them with such clarity through the PM8006 made them sound fresh and new! $1,500 is a lot of money (or it is to ME ), and a pretty major investment. But if music is a priority to you and not just background noise, treat yourself !

Pros: Clarity and power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

34 of 35 found this helpful

Great Integrated Amp

James from OCALA, FL on 8/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the 8006 for a year now and I could not be happier. This integrated amp has plenty of power to drive my Elac UB5's. It makes these 4 ohms speakers really sing. My home office in which I am using them is only 12x12 so even at half volume it's loud really loud. Great sound stage I can close my eyes and it's like the band is right in front of me. I play this system more then any other I have in house and it now sounds better than the day I got it. This is the first Marantz amp I've owned and I would buy it again if something happened to this one. I would love to try other speakers with it but it sound so sweet just the way it is. It's built like a tank and although I'm driving some hard to drive speakers with it doesn't get all that warm I love it!!

Pros: It's all good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Best money I ever spent

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Last summer I bought a pair of Wharfedale Diamond 225 bookshelf speakers. Even though they sounded great powered by my $150 consumer grade receiver, I knew they would never reach their full potential until I upgraded to a proper integrated amp. There were countless options. I chose the PM8006 because my Marantz CD player is literally amazing and the PM8006 supposedly had a high quality phono stage. In short, this was the best $ I ever spent. I briefly considered the cheaper model but don't regret springing for the PM8006. My Wharfedale's came to life. Bigger soundstage. More bass. You could FEEL the kick drum. Even my humble budget turntable sounds better through the PM8006. As I upgrade to nicer components in the future, I can rest assured that I have proper amplification to power them with confidence and authority. I also like that the PM8006 is all analog without digital outputs that I'll never use. Without these digital connections that will inevitably become outdated, you're left with an old school amp that will never go out of style. I intend on owning this amp for the rest of my life.

Pros: Quality phono stage. All analog. No digital connections.

Cons: Like others said, the volume control IS annoying on the remote. Any "normal" touch provides a BIG jump in volume that is inappropriate for apartment dwellers and late night listening. I found that if you consciously give the lightest tap, you'll get a reasonable volume increase. Also, an LED on the volume knob would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Old school.

Crutchfield customer from Baldwin, NY on 7/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always liked the Marantz sound, and with the PM8006, so far so good. Sounded nice right out of the box, and is getting better with time. Of course there is better for more money, and worse for less, but the Marantz is a good compromise for the price. I wold recommend if your speakers are not very efficient, you may want a little more power.

Pros: Nice amp for the money. Easy set up, simple controls, and overall Amp feels very sturdy. Like the fact it's made in Japan, so expect the Amp. to be very reliable.

Cons: Nothing I care to mention, but if your speakers are demanding, you may want more power.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006 with Wharfedale Linton Speakers

David from SAINT CHARLES, MO on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am absolutely loving the combination of the Marantz PM8006 with the Wharfedale Linton speakers I had purchased from Crutchfield back in February. The build quality of the PM8006 is excellent, with all controls having a good solid feel to them. While I would not claim to be an audiophile, it feels like the PM8006 brings the Lintons to life and I can hear a lot of things I was missing before with a much fuller sound. I had ordered the Yamaha A-S801 first, but was disappointed with it from both a quality and sound perspective. Crutchfield made it very easy to return.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

AS 501, AXR 100, PM 8006, A11 Tribute

Crutchfield customer from Clyde, NY on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 501 has been my main for awhile. I have squeezed every ounce of soundstage and amazing sound out of this integrated. An 8006 open box was a option worth trying. I discovered it had a loose binding post. I was able to audition it, and within a week my 501 was sold. The 501 is a 5 star amp. It simple has a very clean, detailed, analytical sound. Yes I do miss it. The 8006 is a grand replacement. Everything has weight to the sound. From voices, guitar strums, piano strikes, and of course all the bass. The 8006 soundstage is huge compared to the 501. The 501 is very very enjoyable, yet the 8006 is so much more complex. Well CF was informed of the loose binding post. They offered a new unit as soon as it arrived. I ordered the AXR, A11, and the new 8006 all arrived within 3 days. If I was gonna spend this money lets be sure. The AXR first up and man if your running BT and love FM this cant be beat. It gives you that big sstage and big bass. The A11 next, this reminded me of the Yamaha precise sstage but much more complex. Tight bass but not weighted. The A11 sounded modern compared to the others, not what I was looking for. The A11 was the easiest to use and the best looking to me. So I opened the brand new PM 8006 and hooked her up. Instantly no contest it blew everything away, including the 8006 with the loose binding post. I could not believe the difference. The treble and midrange had so much air. Cymbals and strings oh my. Of course the big bass was there. Diamond 11.3s

Pros: AXR 100 FM and BT Soundstage this one if not the 8006 A11 Tribute precise expanded Soundstage very easy to use very much like the 501 not as sterile 501 with the tone controls and variable loudness this amp can change the sound to your liking PM 8006 simply gives you a tremendous sound from top to bottom with no effort from the listener Crutchfield is simply the best they have done everything right with my many purchases and returns. Thank You Doug

Cons: I cant keep them all.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006

Crutchfield customer from Hobe Sound, FL on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely a nice integrated amplifier, however it does not have the sound "staging" I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Smooth, Warm, Well Build w/ Great Phono Stage

Errol from Springfield, IL on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll start by saying I really like this amp. The build quality is exceptional. You know you have a quality product from the moment you open it, hook it up and start listening. I previously tried the Yamaha as701 which is a powerhouse, but found it to bright and harsh to listen to with my Klipsch rp160m speakers. The PM8006 delivered a smoother, warmer sound via the rp160m which I liked a lot. After a couple of weeks of listening I started to notice some of the detail and pop from percussion that I liked from the as701 was missing from the PM8006. I purchased an RSL Speedwoofer sub to see if this would help the situation. I also ended up with a set of RSL CG25 speakers (dent sale). The RSL speakers are excellent, but also brought a warmer tone to everything (as701 may pair better) and are great with acoustic instruments and vocals with the PM8006. I was still missing the slam I like and instead of going backwards I decided to give the Cambridge Audio CXA81 a try. It was a tough decision, but I decided to keep the CXA81, it had the right combination of drive, detail, and slam that I am looking for. As always Crutchfield is awesome and will continue to get my business. Other notes on the PM8006. The phono stage and headphone out are really good. The phono stage was on par with my Proj-Ject Phono Box S2. The headphone out worked well with my Senn 6xx, Hifiman 4xx and BD DT990. For digital I fed the PM8006 from an Aune X1S DAC and RPi streamer and everything

Pros: Phono Stage, Build Quality, Power, Tone Controls

Cons: Sightly lacking in detail and drive.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Excellent value for the quality

Crutchfield customer from Alva, FL on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, affordable price, great look and made in Japan. This Marantz amp sounds amazing with a very old, 30 plus years, pioneer CD player, which i'm looking forward to replacing with a newer technology/higher quality CD player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Broken out of the box.

Crutchfield customer from Lisle, NY on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased a outlet Marantz PM8006 because of no stock anywhere and the Phono input does not work. Tried 2 different phono's and both work with 2 other amplifiers Everything else is great and it sounds perfect. Feels like its somewhat under powered. Not sure if I will send it back as of yet.

Pros: Sound is fantastic.

Cons: Feels underpowered.

Crutchfield response on 3/28/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

5 of 15 found this helpful

Marantz

John from New Castle, PA on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this a year ago, I have owned several nice amps and integrated amps this Marantz PM8006 is pure quality providing a smooth mid & high range sound stage and enough pure clean power to deliver powerful delivery of punch to my definitive Mythos mid range to fill in where the powered subs leave off. I understand that this model PM8006 is made along side the more expensive models in Japan. The Marantz case is like a fine crafted jewel box solid and clean you can feel the quality of this model. IMO this classic brand has found a way to keep making quality affordable audio equipment that will last many years.

Pros: solid classic, using high quality internal components

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Love, Love, Love!

Crutchfield customer from Hudson Valley NY on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted refined analog sound through a solid, first class receiver that won't need replacing as the digital music/streaming technology ahead shifts and changes. After much deliberation, I purchased the Marantz PM8006 and I could not be happier. The perfect fit for me. Paired with B & W 606's (an upgrade from decades old B & W 310s) and an old school Technics SL-D5 that still sounds good. Saving for a network audio player, not sure which one yet, to stream music to the outside pool and porch areas and to add digital music/audio options (whole-house Sirius/XM access will be part of the upgrade goal). All-in-all a great investment.

Pros: The sound is full and satisfying whether playing Saturday night or Sunday morning levels.

Cons: None. It's perfect.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee, OK on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having owned a Marantz PM 8004 it was no surprise that this PM 8006 would be a keeper. The sound it produces is warm and mellow yet when needed the power reserve is readily available giving tight Bass, smooth midrange and a Treble that is not fatiguing. The 70 watts per channel is underrated and plenty to drive demanding speakers. The only item that disappoints me is the Electronic Volume will not let me adjust at small increments while using the remote control, it wants to climb immediately to a level too high for nighttime listening. It has a nice Phono section that compliments my turntable. Overall a solid built well performer.

Pros: Solid built with plenty of options for a nice 2 channel analog system

Cons: Electronic volume control to sensitive when using remote control

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

The Best of Both Worlds

Crutchfield customer from Irvington on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Marantz PM8006 to add to my home theater setup so that I would be able to listen to pure stereo sound when I wasn't watching movies. I had read a lot of reviews online and watched videos when researching, some not favorable, claiming that the Source Direct button on the PM8006 actually made the sound worse and/or only increased the treble level, and that the sound stage was not adequate. This was not my experience at all. I put on Bowie's "I'm Afraid of Americans" (the song I like to listen to when trying new equipment because of its super low bass vibrations and super high digital electronica sounds). Incredible! I was hearing sounds I had never heard before. I have my Denon AVR-4700H plugged into the Power AMP direct in back of the PM8006, and I can toggle easily between watching movies on the Denon to listening to stereo sound from my connected Sony HAP-Z1ES or my Yamaha CD player by simply holding down the Power Amp Direct button on the front panel for three seconds. Couldn't be easier. The only complaint is the same one a lot of people have. The volume control knob is too sensitive on the front panel, and not sensitive enough when using the remote. Overall, I'm extremely happy and satisfied with the Marantz PM8006 and would definitely recommend it. It allows you to play pure stereo and to switch easily to your AVR to watch movies.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Lovely Sound with Clarity, Character, and Power

Cliff from Arvada, CO on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm giving this integrated amplifier five stars but there are caveats. I'll try to keep this very short, but I want to provide some useful information to the thoughtful buyer. I am limited in the number of characters here, so I must be brief. I've had it for about a week. I have spent about 40 hours with it. Clarity, transparency, character, and quiet are the words I would use to describe the sound. There is clarity without sterility in the tone. The sounds is warm, but the low end is flat so your big speakers aren't going to boom. The highs are also flat, so you won't have any problem pairing them with bright speakers. Based on my research, this was the sound that I was expecting. Some say that they can hear a difference between pure direct on/off, but I cannot. The line is clean when no audio playing -- no hiss. I use the pre-amp out for the subwoofer. There is a lot of reserve power here -- way more than I need. It's well made. It's a bit more compact than I expected, which is great. But when you look down into it you see the large toroidal transformer, aluminum heat sink, and capacitors, and you know that you are getting something special. The fit and finish are excellent, and it survived UPS delivery. The only thing that I don't like is the volume control. It's way too sensitive, and there's not enough resolution when using the remote. You can see the position indentation only in the right light and at the right angle. Overall, I am very happ

Pros: * Clarity without sterility in the tone * Warm, but the low end is flat so your big speakers aren't going to boom * The highs are also flat, so you won't have any problem pairing them with bright speakers * Sounds/feels like way more powerful than 70 watts/channel

Cons: * Volume control is too sensitive * Volume control is too difficult to read * Volume resolution via remote is too coarse

Crutchfield response on

26 of 26 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with the Marantz PM8006.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006

Crutchfield customer from Palm Harbor, FL on 8/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive sounding amp. Delivers a clean smooth sound that gently fills the room. I do feel like it was a good choice for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Above my expectations

David from Cleveland on 7/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tight bass crisp mids and highs.My Acoustic Research AR11's have never sounded so wonderful! Plenty of power and easy to use. highly recommend!

Pros: easy to use plenty of power sounds great!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CA on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

only have sixty hour break in time,my opinion so far is sound stage is awsome,detail is good,sound is good for this price point,.tone controll ,turning on and off with remote during play is a great feature,power is o.k.using my polk 7 way floor speakers.what the amp.is missing is the sound is softer than i like .i want more dynamics,more punch more snap.i know thats a lot to ask at this price point.if i had smaller speakers i could live with this amp.dont get me wrong this is a great amp.not for my set up.

Pros: detail,sound stage,tone controll.looks.

Cons: soft sound ,dynamics,would like more snap,more punch.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Very Nice Amp

Arthur from ENGLEWOOD, NJ on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice amp. I'm now using most of its features including, phono pre-amp, cd, network input from DAC, and Power AMP direct in from my AV amp. They all sound beautiful. My recommendation is to connect the subwoofer to the B speaker line out instead of the suggested pre-out. This made a big difference in improving my subwoofer integration with my KEF LS50 speakers.

Pros: Great sound, reasonable price

Cons: Phone pre-amp needed shorter, well-shielded turntable wire.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

Marantz pm 8006

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This integrated amplifier produces a very detailed and natural sound. I have a separate phono preamp, but I prefer the internal phono section of the Marantz. I replaced a earlier generation but more powerful Yamaha amplifier and the 8006 blows it away. Great choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Should have gotten the pm8006 sooner

Crutchfield customer from Jenkintown, PA on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The pm8006 replaces a pm6005. My audio goal was amazing two channel sound At low, apartment friendly, late night volumes. I wanted a solution without the complexity of tubes. I didn't want a physically large solution like the yamaha As1100. I wanted something mass produced and Readily available. My classic, 20 yo infinity speakers are 90db And at low volumes the pm6005 gave a nice mid range and slightly accented treble and bass. I only ever use the source direct mode and now, with the pm8006, I noticed a more balanced sound with dynamic nuances that can incredibly be enjoyed in an adjoining room. The dynamics at low volume are no longer subtle. Mission accomplished.

Pros: Fit right into the space of my pm6005 even though the pm8006 is slightly taller, nice incremental increase over the pm6005 right out of the box.

Cons: For my application, this is the end of the journey for the foreseeable future as I will never need any more power (this is so overkill) or dynamics at these low listening levels.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

15 of 15 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006

Crutchfield customer from Southlake, TX on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful equipment, could not be more pleased. Much like my Crutchfield experience. I can't imagine a better source from which to make a purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Lots of power and punch for a 70wpc amp

J.E. from Bozeman, MT on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using the MP8006 with a ND8006 network player for day-to-day casual listening of all kinds of music in my kitchen/family room area. Compared to my somewhat laid-back sounding, entry level audiophile system of British origin that I use in the living room, this Marantz combination provides overall quite a bit more punch, straight forwardness and immediacy of the musical representation. I find this desirable, as the kitchen/family room area has usually a higher ambient noise floor. The sound of this Marantz set-up furthermore impresses through its clarity, instrument separation and open sound stage. Worth to mention is that the music sounds still really good in the adjacent rooms. Vocals, guitars, orchestral strings and piano sound extremely well. Surprisingly, drums and bass instruments can sound a bit too mellow, if not a tad timid, while orchestral and jazz big band brass can sound over represented and a tad too aggressive for my taste. I would think those aspects can be optimized with a proper speaker match. Quality differences of the source material are easily revealed with this set-up. The PM8006' EQ and Source Direct option complement each other very well and provide subtle, yet effective adjustments within reasonable boundaries. Overall I am happy with the amp as it does exactly what I need, plus it's upbeat character invites me to listen to a lot of music again that I have not listened to in a while. Kudos to Crutchfield for delivering faster than adv

Pros: - Good sonic accuracy and timbre for most instruments. - Dynamic and quick, upbeat musical representation. - Open soundstage - music is not attached to speakers. - Fantastic price/performance ratio (5 stars) IMO! - Pretty good (3.5 stars) compared to my existing "audiophile" pre/power components costing 6.5x as much. - Headphone sound has more clarity and openness compared to the ND8006' h/p out.

Cons: - Not really any at it's price point - Visual indicator (LED) of volume knob position would be nice to have

Crutchfield response on

27 of 27 found this helpful

Not a Soul Mate for Totems

Joe from Delano, MN on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved that this was a traditional, old-school, simply designed integrated amplifier, moderately priced, so I gave it a shot. Purchased it to power my Totem Hawks, but it just didn't have the power required to be a good match. No bass punch with the Totems, and some tinniness on the top end that was slightly fatiguing. If you are looking for a perfect match for Totem (Hawk) speakers, the NAD C388 will bring tears to your eyes for not too much more money.

Pros: Everything you want, nothing you don't

Cons: Not enough Goo for Totem Hawks

Crutchfield response on

16 of 42 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006

Crutchfield customer from Upstate NY on 10/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

On paper this amplifier does everything asked for. But it is not the Parasound HALO that will make you weep twice (once over the price and forevermore at the quality of the music) and it is not an Emotiva or Cambridge Audio (two brands seriously providing bang for the buck). The articlulation or rendering of individual bass note output on the Marantz is muddy and boomy rather than each bass note being distinguishable. Get this amp for voice and/or midrange rendering, but remember that this is a budget amplifier and that takes us back to other options that will get you more bang for the buck at just above half the price of the Marantz PM8006.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

26 of 76 found this helpful

Stellar sound!

Brian from Seattle, WA on 9/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An amazing reviewer dedicated to analog play back. Sound is stellar ! I paired it up with a Rega phono preamp and I can't imagine better sound from my turntable . It's not cheap but worth every penny.

Pros: Sound quality Build

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

'Go To' foundation for an analog system

Mark from Union, NJ on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a solid, 2-channel integrated amp that could support multiple analog sources (didn't really need digital, streaming, Bluetooth, etc.). After considering many amps I chose the Marantz PM8006. It's power is more than ample for my hard-to-drive speakers and it pairs nicely with my Marantz CD player. The 'Marantz sound' is often described as 'warm'; if this means not bright, harsh or analytical then I concur. Overall the sound imaging strikes me as transparent, refined, and engaging.

Pros: Independent Tone controls

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

23 of 24 found this helpful

Turntable heaven

Steve from Howard Bch, NY on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For what I'm useing it for Bingo

Pros: Simple, great auto eq

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 12 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006 Solid Superstar.

Baron G from Boise, ID on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This IA is built like a tank, but looks like a Limo. The Selector moves very precise and has a distinct switching sound and feel. It has all the inputs I need for my new Audio system. No video here. Volume and Tone controls are solid and smooth. The Phono EQ provides very deep punchy Bass. Mids are rich and clear, Highs are bright but tapper off like most Phono EQ's. I tried the Source Direct setting with my crappy CD player, The Marantz sound is so much better. Warm rich tones with no distortion or background noise whatsoever. Plenty of clean clear power. I'm very happy with my decision to purchase this Marantz.

Pros: Build, Style, Performance.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

35 of 37 found this helpful

Marantz PM8006

Howard from Phila, PA on 3/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Very good I should have gotten the Marantz the first time

Pros: All Pros

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

11 of 16 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound