Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
404 256 572 3
Connect ID #
404 256 572 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Marantz TT42

Fully automatic belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Turntable without phono preamp)

Item # 642TT42

Marantz's TT42 turntable makes it easy to breathe new life into your record collection.

Marantz's TT42 turntable makes it easy to breathe new life into your record collection.

Item # 642TT42

Temporarily out of stock

Ship date unknown

$329.00

Other options

About the Marantz TT42

Marantz's TT42 turntable makes it easy to breathe new life into your record collection. It offers both 33-1/3 or 45 rpm playback speeds with the flick of a switch so you can enjoy your LPs and 45s for years to come. Marantz even includes a 45 rpm adapter for added convenience. This 'table's sturdy base and belt-drive design minimize the vibrations that can compromise sound quality. The included moving magnet cartridge delivers smooth, detailed sound, and comes pre-mounted for quick and easy setup.

Marantz's TT42 turntable makes it easy to breathe new life into your record collection. It offers both 33-1/3 or 45 rpm playback speeds with the flick of a switch so you can enjoy your LPs and 45s for years to come. Marantz even includes a 45 rpm adapter for added convenience. This 'table's sturdy base and belt-drive design minimize the vibrations that can compromise sound quality. The included moving magnet cartridge delivers smooth, detailed sound, and comes pre-mounted for quick and easy setup.

Automatic playback with manual control

The TT42 gives you convenient fully automatic operation, with auto-return and shut-off. A cueing lift lever also lets you manually raise the tonearm and place it precisely on any track you wish without the risk of scratching your records. The included detachable dust cover helps keep your 'table clean between uses.

READ LESS

Product highlights:

  • aluminum platter
  • belt-drive system with DC servo motor ensures accurate speed and rumble-free sound reproduction
  • low-coloration tonearm with universal cartridge mount
  • fully automatic operation
  • manual lifter mechanism
  • moving magnet cartridge included
  • removable dust cover
  • attached RCA audio cable
  • heavy base construction
  • speed selector: 33-1/3 rpm & 45 rpm
  • frequency range (with included cartridge): 20-18,000 Hz
  • signal-to-noise ratio: 65 dB
  • 16-9/16"W x 5-3/16"H x 14-1/4"D
  • weight: 11.9 lbs.
  • warranty: 3 years (60 days on cartridge and stylus)
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee
  • MFR # TT42

What's in the box:

  • Turntable chassis
  • AC power adapter (with attached 6.5' DC cord)
  • Platter
  • Felt pad
  • Dust cover
  • 2 Hinges
  • 45 Adapter
  • User Guide

Customer reviews

Loading reviews...

Marantz TT42 reviews

Average review:

39 reviews

Thanks for submitting your review

Filter by rating

Customer photos

Sort reviews

Sort by:
Items per page:
View page:

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response

<< >>

More details on the Marantz TT42

Stacey B.

Features & specs

Features
Operation Fully Automatic
Speeds 33-1/3, 45
Drive Type Belt
Pitch Control No
Cartridge Type MM
Phono Preamp No
USB Output No
45 RPM Adapter Yes
Specs
Signal to Noise Ratio 65
Wow and Flutter 0.07
Weight 11.9 lbs.

Product Research

Features
Specifications

Features

Overview: The Marantz TT-42 is a fully automatic, high quality turntable with DC servo belt-drive, low-coloration tone arm, & transparent dust cover. The TT-42 is the ideal answer to your need for a high performance source component for analog records.

Fully Automatic: The Marantz TT-42 turntable features full automatic operation for easy & comfortable operation that protects the stylus from damage. The turntable offers automatic start, plus automatic tone-arm return & stop.

Low Noise DC Servo Motor: The Marantz TT-42 full automatic turntable employs a DC Servo motor belt-drive system (with rubber belt & metal bearings) to ensure accurate speed & rumble-free sound reproduction.

33-1/3 & 45 RPM: The TT-42 offers two speed selection playback in both 33 1/3 & 45 rpm (adapter included).

MM Cartridge: The Marantz turntable's MM cartridge is compatible with a vast majority of the amplifiers & receivers.

  • This turntable offers a pre-adjusted/pre-set counterweight that is designed to work with the included MM cartridge. The counterweight cannot be adjusted as it is fixed into position, so swapping out the cartridge for a different one, or fine tuning using a force gauge is not possible.
  • A replacement stylus is available from Audio Technica (Model: ATN-91) and can be purchased if there is a need to replace the one that originally comes with the turntable.

Attached Stereo RCA/Ground Cables: The Marantz TT-42 is fitted with an attached 44" stereo RCA cable & 35" ground wire.

Specifications

Turntable Section:

  • Platter: 11.968"
  • RPM: 33-1/3 rpm, 45 rpm
  • Signal-to-Noise Ratio: 65 dB
  • Wow & Flutter: +/- 0, 10; 0.07%
  • Overall Weight: 11.9 lb

Tone Arm Section:

  • Effective Length: 8.307"
  • Overhang: 0.767"
  • Offset Angle: 26°
  • Tangential Tracking Error: 0.15°/cm Radius
  • Tracking Force: 25mN (22.5-27.5 mN)

Cartridge (Audio Technica AT91):

  • Frequency Response: 20 Hz to 20 kHz
  • Output Voltage: 3.5mV
  • Cartridge Weight: 5.7 g

Loading accessories...

Customer Q&A

13 questions already asked

Q
is there a replacement 12 volt power supply for a marantz tt42?
[ Joe  Mar 20, 2020 ]
2 answers
A
Not that we carry. You might try reaching out to Marantz directly at 800-654-6633.
[ Cosmo  Apr 08, 2020 ]  Staff
A
No
[ JACKIE A  Apr 04, 2020 ]
Q
I have a complete mirantz system. Equalizer EQ140, cassette SD142, phonograpgTT240 and receiver SR940. I also have the cabinet that houses the entire system. How can I determine what this is worth?
[ lynn  Jan 08, 2020 ]
1 answer
A
Hi Lynn, thank you for your question. Sounds like you have an amazing system built! Unfortunately, we do not offer any appraisals or estimates. I recommend searching your Marantz components online. There are many forums that could be useful in helping you find an appraiser, or you can check eBay to see if anyone has similar products listed for sale, and look over their pricing. Good luck!
[ Jess  Jan 23, 2020 ]  Staff
Q
It doesn't appear Marantz has an easy replacement stylus for the TT42. Is this correct? All the companies that sell this turntable mention no replacement option. I mean the stylus will eventually wear out, right? (500-1000 hours)
[ Ken  Dec 27, 2017 ]
2 answers
A
STYLUS FOR MARANTZ TT-42 TT 42 TT42 TURNTABLE LPgear. The Marantz TT 42 TT-42 TT42 turntable was fitted with a Marantz DMS 251S DMS251S phono cartridge and a Marantz DN251S DN 251S needle stylus. A photo of the stylus replacement is supplied above. The color of the stylus varies. Do not order this stylus if it looks different from what you have. It will not fit if the original cartridge is missing or has been changed. Please contact us if you need assistance or prefer a new cartridge. If possible, provide us with the markings on the existing cartridge and stylus (look for the brand and model number). Photos will be helpful. Upgrade Options - For upgrades and accessories that enhance sound quality and fidelity, refer to Related Products.
[ valdemar  Dec 30, 2017 ]
A
Yes it will wear out but I have more than 500 hr. of play time and it works great. so, no I have not a need to replace yet. keep your records clean and do not play ones that have bad tracks and your needle will reward you.
[ valdemar  Dec 30, 2017 ]
Q
Where can I get a replacement stylus and what would I specifically need?
[ Richard  Aug 15, 2017 ]
1 answer
A
I have not had to replace my stylus at this point. Great question
[ Timothy  Aug 18, 2017 ]
Q
Does this have a diamond point needle ?
[ Myra  Dec 13, 2016 ]
1 answer
A
The owner's manual indicates that it includes a "diamond stylus" though it's unclear if that's the material of the needle or the manufacturer/model name of the stylus. If you would like to discuss further, feel free to contact an Advisor directly by phone (1-800-324-9695) or online chat. You can also try reaching out to Marantz' support at 201-762-6666. I hope that helps!
[ Larry  Dec 18, 2016 ]  Staff
Q
How will the TT 42 match up with the Marantz SR 7007 ?
[ Robert  Dec 11, 2016 ]
1 answer
A
We have not received any answers from other customers on your question. I would recommend reaching out to an Advisor by phone (1-800-324-9695) or online chat. They should be able to help answer your question.
[ Kenny  Dec 16, 2016 ]  Staff
Q
Why does Marantz TT42 turntable arm skate across album in auto mode?
[ Mike  Jul 22, 2016 ]
1 answer
A
If you purchased the product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can walk you through the configuration of the product and see if there may be a fix. Our toll-free Tech Support number is printed on your invoice, and is also available under the "My Orders" tab in the "My Account" section of our website. If you did not purchase the unit from Crutchfield, then you may want to contact the manufacturer. You can also post your question in our forums: http://community.crutchfield.com. Or try our online support center: http://crutchfield.custhelp.com/app/answers/list/kw/.
[ Kenny  Jul 22, 2016 ]  Staff
Q
I am wondering what the construction of the switches are...are they plastic or metal?
[ Craig  Apr 24, 2016 ]
3 answers
A
plastic
[ Steven  Apr 25, 2016 ]
A
What switches are you talking about ?
[ MANFRED  Apr 25, 2016 ]
A
They feel like metal to me.
[ Alexander  Apr 25, 2016 ]
Q
size of marantz TT42-wxhxd-without dust cover and with dust cover?
[ turntable size  Jan 31, 2016 ]
1 answer
A
The dimensions listed on our website are with the dust cover (16-9/16"W x 5-3/16"H x 14-1/4"D); without the dust cover the turntable is 16-9/16" W x 4-5/8" H x 14-1/4" D My Bio: http://www.crutchfield.com/Support/Bio.aspx?bio=159
[ Larry  Feb 02, 2016 ]  Staff
Q
If you upgrade/switch to a better phono cartridge than the one supplied, how do you set the tracking force and anti-skating on this turntable? I see no marks on the tonearm counterweight. Thanks.
[ Perry  Dec 27, 2015 ]
2 answers
A
I was always told never to up grade to a different cartridge for two reasons it voids the warranty on the turn table, and you should only use the cartridge made by the manufacturer for your turn table as other off brand cartridges may not be manufactured to fit your turn table arm to a tee so to speak. The prongs may be a bit thicker etc,., and then you have the problem that you are now having balancing the weight of the arm and getting the tracking to line up correctly. Unless you are playing damaged records and heavly scratched records you should only be replacing the cartridge every (2) years or so. How long have you had this turn table ?
[ Frank S.  Dec 29, 2015 ]
A
I have no idea how you set the tracking force and anti-skating. However, the user guide implies that you only need to replace the cartridge providing the replacement is one of "the stylus types recommended in the technical data of the (old) cartridge". I'm also not very knowledgeable as to where one locates such technical data. Sorry I couldn't be more helpful.
[ CHRESTON  Dec 28, 2015 ]
Q
I have a marantz model 2500 am adnd marantz model 3300 control stereo and am/fm stereo tuner, will the turntable work with what I have?
[ Jo  Apr 04, 2015 ]
5 answers
A
yes in deed it will
[ RAYMOND C  Apr 09, 2015 ]
A
Hi Jo, I do not know enough about the Marantz tuners to say yes or no. Our Marantz turntable is powered by an 8-10 year old Yamaha receiver w/ 7x140w & a phono input. The turntable works great!
[ JULIA  Apr 06, 2015 ]
A
Jo, most if not all iterations of your 2500 and 3300 have phono preamps. As long as yours have phono settings and inputs, the TT42 should work with it. I should say, though, that I'm very underwhelmed by the build quality of the TT42 I purchased for a friend, and think your money would be better spent on a Pro-Ject model, or possibly an Audio Technica AT-LP120, which has received good reviews and is quite a bargain at its price. Hope this helps. -- Jim
[ Jim  Apr 06, 2015 ]
A
The Marantz 3300 Preamp has 2 Phono inputs. Also the Marantz 2500 receiver has 2 Phono inputs. As long as the input is labeled "PHONO" you will be fine with a turntable that does not have a built in preamp, such as the TT42. *Note : Check out your gear to see if it is in working order, capacitors dry out over time, your receiver and preamp could be due for an audiophile/professional tune-up.
[ David  Apr 06, 2015 ]
A
I do not know because I have a Kenwood am/fm stereo tuner, which works well with the turntable and a Marantz CD player
[ BERT  Apr 06, 2015 ]
Q
I'm trying to plug this turntable into two KRK powered studio speakers (with RCA jacks) but I am not getting any sound. I didn't plug the "earth cable" in because I am not using a receiver with a ground. What am I missing?
[ Kyle  Jun 30, 2014 ]
5 answers
A
I really can't say. I've never come across this problem before. So Sorry...
[ E. L.  Jul 02, 2014 ]
A
Hi Kyle. The reason could be the receiver you are powering the TT42 with is not equipped with a phono input. Such was the case with the Sony amp I own. So therefore I purchased a Pro-ject Phono Box pre-amp which is compatible with both moving magnet and moving coil phono cartideges. Then I was able to enjoy that wonderful warm sound of vinyl!!! I don't believe the issue to be with the ground wire. Good Luck. Let me know how you come out. Jeffj
[ JEFFREY M  Jul 02, 2014 ]
A
You will need a phono (magnetic) pre-amp between the TT and the KRK speakers. The RCA jacks on the KRK system are driven at 'line level' which is far higher than the phono cartridge will deliver. You will also need to attach the "earth cable" to a chassis ground - it makes no difference whether you are using a receiver or not - or you will get massive hum from the speakers.
[ MARK  Jul 01, 2014 ]
A
This turntable requires a receiver with a "Magnetic Cartridge Phono" input. It may look the same as a Line Level input, like AUX or CD, but it is not the same. If you want to use this turntable with your powered speakers you will need to buy a "phono preamp", separately. That is why, in the description of this turntable, it clearly states "without phono preamp". Back in the day, all receivers had a Phono Level Input labeled "PHONO". And only a turntable such as this one could be connected to that SPECIAL jack.
[ David  Jul 01, 2014 ]
A
You will need a Phonio Pre Amp or a receiver set up for a turntable.
[ RICHARD S  Jul 01, 2014 ]
Q
Is the software of the Marantz TT42 compatible with Window 8 and later versions?
[ Denis  Jan 07, 2014 ]
3 answers
A
This turntable doesn't have a pre-amp. You need a phono preamp to get sound out of it.
[ Kile Anderson  Jul 01, 2014 ]
A
I'm trying to plug this turntable into two KRK powered studio speakers (with RCA jacks) but I am not getting any sound. I didn't plug the "earth cable" in because I am not using a receiver with a ground. What am I missing?
[ Kyle  Jun 30, 2014 ]
A
Thanks for your question. It does not look like the TT42 includes any software. It is designed for connection directly to a stereo or home receiver.
[ Jeff  Jan 08, 2014 ]  Staff
SHOW MORESHOW LESS

Loading articles...

TOP