Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Marantz TT42

Fully automatic belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Turntable without phono preamp)

MFR # TT42

Marantz TT42

Marantz TT42

Fully automatic belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Turntable without phono preamp)

MFR # TT42

36 reviews
View this product

Simple, Stylish, Marantz.

G M P O from Woodbury Hts, NJ on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first turntable I've ever bought new. It might sound a bit silly, but it was done solely because of aesthetics - I just wanted something to match my gear in my secondary listening room. It functions as expected, and sounds great. The one con to this unit is the lack of adjustments that would allow you to replace the cartridge with something different - that said, I was happy with this as it meant set up was a bit easier, no need to dial anything in, just plug it in and it works out of the box - perfect for a secondary system i don't plan to mess with much, or someone who just doesn't want to bother. I realize this is basically just a re-branded Thorens / Dual model, but i trust the Marantz name enough to assume that if they were happy with said stylus, I probably will be too. Turns out I was right, nice accurate sound with maybe a hint of warmth to it, very pleasurable to listen to. Strangely, the pictures here on Crutchfield are inaccurate of the product I received. While it was already pointed out by others that the details on this model are silver (which is pictured, there are also pictures where it is more gold. trust me, the highlights are silver-ish, not gold-ish.) Additionally, the pictured black Dual stylus was not included, but instead a yellow/orange Audio Technica. Apparently this is an upgrade that was changed mid-product life. Unfortunate for me, as I really wish it was all black to match the look of the system better. Overall, g

Pros: Easy to set up, no need to adjust arm balance etc. It's a Marantz, sort of - Made in Germany. Even the plastic 45 spacer. Sounds great immediately with no messing around.

Cons: The toggle switches are made of somewhat thin plastic material that feels and looks a bit cheap compared to the rest of the unit. You can probably get a much "better" unit for only a little more or about the same that allows these customizations and would allow the unit to sound better in the long-run, at the cost of ease of set-up and out-of-the-box performance. No 78 RPM playback.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 4/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy play, good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Marantz turntable

John from Punta Gorda, FL on 9/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros: it is automatic and beats my old manual turntable

Cons: no preamp, which I did not need, but just the same, you need to know

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Crutchfield customer from Los Alamos, NM on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, lacking some features and style

Pros: Great sound and easy to use automatic

Cons: No balance adjustment, and cheap feeling switches. Tone arm and controls are functional, but just don't look great like you'd hope at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent quality

Albert from Somerset, NJ on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the sound quality for the price

Pros: Great sound for the price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

This is not the turntable you're looking for

Reuben from Brooklyn, NY on 7/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I cannot believe the name Marantz is attached to this cheap piece of junk. Immediately on unpacking it was obvious the build quality was lacking just in general weight and appearance. But plugging it in and slapping down some vinyl, the stylus just slides all over the place. There is no adjustment available for the counter weight, it's a solid chunk of plastic. Do not buy!

Pros: - Has "Marantz Logo"

Cons: - Cannot keep the needle on the vinyl and there are no adjustments available to the counterweight

Crutchfield response on

22 of 26 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs flawlessly, as advertised. Easy to install and combined with my Cambridge receiver and Klipsch speakers, sounds terrific.

Pros: Fully automatic, great sound, easy setup.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Turn Table

Pat from North Richland Hills, TX on 7/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great turn table. Easy to set up and play. Hi end? No! Great for playing my 35 year old records. Yes!! Very pleased with purchase.

Pros: Easy set up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Lee from Chambersburg, PA on 3/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it is working really well,I'm very pleased with it.

Pros: simple and works as it should.

Cons: needed wire connectrors for the left and right lines as they are only long enough to set the turntable on the amp.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

A nice, basic, FULLY AUTOMATIC turntable

Jack from Reno, NV on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are looking for a fully automatic turntable, your choices are rather limited, and this Marantz unit compares quite favorably to other turntables in the fully auto category (and even to those too-cool-to-be-automatic turntables which are marketed as audiophile). Look in the manuals posted online here at Crutchfield to compare how this table stacks up against its more razzmatazz competitors. Note, this is a Dual turntable manufactured in Germany for Marantz. Admittedly, this is a lower level Dual turntable, not one of the legendary models of years gone by. Still, the TT42 does a fine job for the money. I have been playing the TT42 with a Yamaha A-S301 amp and Elac Debut B6 speakers and have found nothing to complain about with the sound of this system--no unwanted noise from the table itself and great reproduction of sound across the frequency spectrum. If you are not a DJ, if you are happy to let a machine do the lifting and replacing of the tonearm, if tinkering with cartridge upgrades and tonearm adjustments are not your thing, and if you are not itching to spend hundreds of dollars more than what the TT42 sells for, then this may be the turntable for you. Order the model with the built-in pre-amp if your amplifier does not have a phono input, in which case you will connect through any available analog input connection.

Pros: Fully automatic. Good Dual cartridge with readily available replacement styli. Simple, elegant styling. Simple; no DJ turntable features, unnecessary adjustment features, or USB outputs. Good performance characteristics; compare the performance stats for this unit with other turntables in the same price range.

Cons: Some might consider the lack of tonearm balancing adjustment and anti-skating adjustment as a con; but you do not need such features if you don't plan on changing the cartridige, which you don't need to do, as the Dual cartridge supplied does a good job and will last the life of the unit. Replacement and upgrade elliptical needles are available cheaply from lpgear.

Crutchfield response on

30 of 33 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Crutchfield customer from San Rafael ca on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap and flimsy. Packing also flimsy. Returned for manual audio technia lp120 which is superb. Didn't work either.

Pros: Automatic

Cons: Doesn't work. Lightweight flimsy capitalized on brand name

Crutchfield response on

7 of 15 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a perfect turntable. Great price, sound and quality. I got it for my husband for Christmas and we've been playing it daily since he opened it. This turntable has a fully automatic mechanism that plays records with one touch of a button. It has a low-coloration tone arm, DC servo motor, and belt drive. We chose it for it's simplicity and are not disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Sean from Lewisville, TX on 1/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The turntable sounds great. The only reason I did not give it five stars is because the description implied to me that you change cartridges in it but you are lock down to using the cartridge that comes with the turntable. This is because you cannot adjust the tracking force

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: Can not adjust tracking force

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Get those old LPs out!

Rick from Tn on 12/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Turntable arrived when expected and setup was easy. I placed it on top shelf of a solid oak homemade shelf system. The full system is NAD pre-amp, Adcom GFA-555 AMP driving Bose 901s. I am very satisfied with the end results. Auto function of the turntable works without a hitch for both 33 rpm LPs and 45 rpm records. I did receive some rumble feedback thru the turntable plastic cover on loud bass heavy LPs, but I can dampen that. The turntable is made of aluminum and not much mass. (Those looking for a massive table to help with stable rotation speeds should look elsewhere). Personally, i could not detect any waiver in sound. Overall this was just what I needed to once again enjoy my 70's record collection.

Pros: Cost, function,

Cons: Rumble feedback thru plastic cover

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

nice

maria from Canyon Country, CA on 12/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros: easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Had to get a new one

skip from Ellensburg, WA on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Skip from WA State. This item is just what I needed, bought it to match up with my Marantz 2238B works great plays all my old LPs have some almost 40 years old. This turntable looks good works well, Crutchfield's, customer service was awesome and the staff at Crutchfield was able to help me with my decision. Highly recommend this to anyone who has old vinyl's that they want to keep and play. thanks everyone

Pros: Affordability, simplicity, reliability, Automatic feature

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Crutchfield customer from Conyers, GA on 9/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well, went through several turntables before discovering the Marantz. Crutchfield's,customer service was awesome and the product arrived on time and in perfect condition. The Marantz plays vinyl that wouldn't llay correctly on other turntsbles. 100% satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 23 found this helpful

Just what I needed!!

Crutchfield customer from Gorham, Maine on 7/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed to replace an older Technics system component (turntable) and found this at Crutchfield. Got it and plugged it into to system and it works perfectly. Only thing I forgot to connect ground wire on turntable after I noted humming on phono only, once I did that sounded awesome.

Pros: Price. Fast delivery, ease of set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect turntable for me

Paulsmusicroom from Santa Cruz, CA on 4/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with my recent purchase of this turntable. I wanted something I could afford, was reliable, and not junk! This was perfect for my humble little sound system and pairs nicely with my marantz receiver and Polk floor speakers I also purchased from Crutchfield. Fast delivery! And now I'm enjoying my jazz vinyl again!

Pros: Affordability, simplicity, reliability

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Love it!

Deek from Woodbridge, VA on 4/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable for the money!

Pros: Cost, Automatic feature, Stylus cover, sound quality, Felt pad

Cons: I don't have any cons based on my expectations for the cost.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

JG from Lake Forest, CA on 4/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It plays great - sound, ease of operation, looks. My many, many lps are now going to get the play they need. However, instructions with the "scratch and dent" unit I bought were misleading. No stylus guard was included and I ended up pulling off the stlylus by mistake! (Hard to get back on.) We'll see how this continues as I've only played a couple of records (jazz and not yet any classical) in short time I've had it.

Pros: Ease of operation and great sound.

Cons: Misleading instruction with unit I got.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

As advertised

Grumpy from council bluffs, IA on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

performs as advertised and as expected for Marantz. Good value for the price.

Pros: solid performance

Cons: turntable mat could be heavier -tends to stick to the lp and lift off.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz tt42

J Shipton from McPherson , KS on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Worth the coin paid. One of the best turntables I've ever owned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz TT42 Automatic Turntable

John J from decatur, GA on 1/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb performance as expected and implied. All things considered this was an excellent purchase.

Pros: Sturdy/excellent German quality. Easy to set up per include instructions.

Cons: Platter mat occasionally sticks to the album when it's removed from the unit. If the unit is placed in a cabinet 11 inches of room is needed to keep the turntable cover in an open position.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Crutchfield customer from Indiana on 12/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, great value

Pros: Performs as advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great turntable at great price pount

Mike from Camp Hill PA on 9/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received my new turntable in only two days. It was packed with care box in box.I was able to set it up in very little time about 10 minutes, just connect the ground wire, place platter on, phono lines in, plug in wall and enjoy! Sound is awesome, midrange and highs are stunning. Decent bass as well. No issues whatsoever.

Pros: Simple,reliable, and awesome sound quality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TT 42 for every type of record collector

David from Medina, Ohio on 8/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow what a difference 25 years have been. I have owned a fairly large record collection for many years, but have not listed to it because my turntable had died. The Marantz TT 42 is everything I had expected it to be. The turntable runs smoothly and practically without any noise and there is no vibration and it looks great too. The stylist is of extremely high quality. Due to the high quality of the TT 42, I will need to replace my CD player since its playback quality is far superior to my run of the mill CD play. I would recommend this turntable to someone who is an avid record collector as well as one who is just starting experimenting with records

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

LorieP from Michigan on 3/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a Yamaha CR-820 and Yamaha turntable system. Just replaced the CR-820 with a R-S300 receiver and this Marantz turntable. I think I liked the Yamaha turntable more because I could adjust the rpm. There was a balance beam that reflected when the turntable was rotating at the correct speed. This is much simpler. That said, it's still a terrific value. I am pleased with my purchase but may attempt to connect my old turntable to this new receiver to see if it works. It's a 40+ year old turntable but not excessively used. Either turntable will please me.

Pros: Automatic play

Cons: No room for adjustment of speed

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Frank in Tempe from Arizona on 3/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turn table is awesome, easy to set up, and it came with a decent cartridge, the sound of my old vinyl records was fantastic. The staff at Crutchfield was able to help me with my decision. Highly recommend this to anyone who has old vinyl's that they want to keep and play.

Pros: Easy set up, high quality sound, and the turn table comes with a stylus cartridge.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

JoeI from Florida on 3/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Marantz-TT42 Turntable is everything that I hoped it would be. The setup and connection was flawless (Yamaha 7.1 rcvr w/o phono input). The sound is very clear even at very low volume levels. There is no noticeable hum or feedback. This is a good buy and my daughter loves the automatic features and the amazing sound coming from her old vinyls.

Pros: Automatic operation. Good cartridge/stylus included.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

great turntable

Russ from South Carolina on 1/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This table was recommended to me buy a Crutchfield staff member and I couldn't be happier. Sound is fantastic. I have to disagree with the reviewer who said it was cheaply made. The only thing that might have been better is the felt mat. It sticks to the records when they are taken off. Great deal for a fully automatic table. Another great Marantz product.

Pros: Easy set up. Great sound

Cons: Platter mat

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Cecil from Beckley, WV on 1/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with 45 year vinyl

Pros: Good price, great service

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz TT42

Crutchfield customer from Normal, IL on 9/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first turntable. Wanted something not super cheap, but didn't feel comfortable getting a more "audiophile" table costing >$500. Sound quality is excellent. Table looks very attractive. Doesn't feel quite as high quality as some older tables with metal swing arms, and doesn't seem to be adjustable as far as needle pressure, swing arm weights, etc. Still, it plays well and sounds very good. I really like having both full-auto and semi-auto play control options. My needle got quite dirty after only maybe a half dozen plays, dirty enough that it was affecting playback. I think this may be because it's a higher quality ("sharper") needle. Bought some LP #9 cleaner from Needle Doctor and now have no playback issues. My model does not have a built in pre-amp, but I knew that before purchasing and have no need for one. As a whole, I would recommend this turntable to a friend. It's middle-of-the-road in cost, with good sound quality, easy to hook up and run, and plays glorious records! Very happy with my purchase so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

MARANTZ TT42

R.F. LEONARD from C.C., TX on 11/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, let me just say, I've owned Marantz stereo gear for over 30+ yrs. And absolutely love it! But, this turntable has me a little doubtful... I bought it to replace a very good 'Stanton' turntable that i had because i wanted a new one to match my existing Marantz 'stuff'. Also, i wanted a semi-auto turntable as my Stanton was completely manual. So, while I've only had this tt-42 for about a month, this is my first impression; it looks and sounds really nice, but, upon closer inspection it seems to be very cheaply made! The tone arm, its cradle/post, cueing lever(s), base, etc., all seem to be made of very cheap material(s). My Stanton was a bit more expensive but, it was a substantially more well built, heavier unit that could take some abuse and last a long time. I've had numerous Marantz 'pieces' over the years and they've "stood the test of time". I don't know about this tt42... With Marantz's reputation and history, i think they should have come up with 'something' alot better!

Pros: Looks and sounds nice...

Cons: Appears to be very cheeply made.

Crutchfield response on

37 of 43 found this helpful

Great turntable for the money

JimG from Collingdale, PA on 7/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Analog heaven! Fits in nicely with my receiver that has a phono input. Nothing like the warm sound of vinyl.

Pros: Price, easy set-up, easy to use

Cons: platter cushion could be better quality; have to spend more money to buy LPs I gave away years ago for CDs

Crutchfield response on

22 of 29 found this helpful

TOP