Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Slim-line: 2-11/16" depth)

MFR # 050321

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Slim-line: 2-11/16" depth)

MFR # 050321

49 reviews
View this product

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Flower Mound, TX on 5/22/2021

2010 Volkswagen CC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit, easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 4/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great additional to an install. Easily cuts to any shape and protects the speaker. I cut the lower half out of the "cone" area to allow airflow for the woofer but left the upper half to shield from water/debris.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Poulsbo, WA on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product as described

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

For any door speakers larger than a direct replacement, just buy it.

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You need these for sure. They will prevent sound from reflecting off the back of your speakers from bouncing around inside of your door and muddying up your music, and they will keep your speakers dry. Use butyl around the lip to seal against your moisture barrier.

Pros: Simple but effective.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for ease of installing a seal between the speaker and adapter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Satellite Beach, FL on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect in dash of Jeep. Great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Gilberto from BRIGHTON, MA on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

make sure to rip two 2" holes on the bottom of it so you can have your cake and eat it too. helped with sound deadening and protection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Bang for the Buck

Crutchfield customer from Chelmsford, MA on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use the Boom Mat Baffles on all my speaker upgrade and car stereo projects. They really help to dampen any vibrations and keep road noise out/speaker noise in. Probably the best bang for your buck when it comes to upgrading the speakers in an older car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom mat 5 1/4 speaker baffles

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product it worked as stated. Thank you.

Pros: Worked as it was stated. No problem with installing.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Harriman, TN on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ended up not needing them sent them back .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paris, OH on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and thick

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid construction

Crutchfield customer from Hudsonville, MI on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for, heavy duty and thick!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Cornelius, NC on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service seamless transaction. Will always purchase audio equipment from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Lombard, IL on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item is cheap and worth every penny for speaker protection and sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Los Lunas, NM on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love them! Perfect fit for my 1999 Dodge Ram 2500 extra cab. All the sound comes right out into the cab. There nice and thick. Not thin and cheap . Crutchfield only sells the best! Thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not so much

Crutchfield customer from Keller, TX on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wouldn't fit with the speaker in the dash location

Pros: cheap

Cons: didnt fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

work great..................

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not fit the item...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/29/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Crutchfield customer from Highland, NY on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They do what they are advertised to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these in the fairing of a '14 Indian Chieftain. at standstill, there really is no noticeable difference, but at 70-80 mph, the sound is much more crisp and clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Daly City, CA on 5/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Protection

Mike from Sandy, UT on 9/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Baffles doing what they do best. Protecting and insolating the speaker.

Pros: Great product. But I did end up cutting the back and bottom edge off of mine. Needed more mid-base. Leaving the top and some sides to get the protection I was after. Seals off the back of the speaker to the door just as expected.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Improve your Boom & Clean Up Your Room

Shawn from Murfreesboro, TN on 7/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality/thickness seemed sufficient. Old door speakers showed excessive wear and WATER damage. This baffle helps prevent that. I cut a "hole" in the back, at the bottom for the wires and air flow (based on CF recommendation). Increased hole size until the speakers seemed to have sufficient air flow. Without the hole, the speakers didn't move much and the hole improved bass response. Used a Propane Torch to heat up / melt / shape the back part that was hitting my window. Installed behind Kicker DS 5/1/4" speakers in custom mounts. 2002 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab - rear doors.

Pros: Get the job done, flexible, improve sound, protect speakers

Cons: Thickness may seem good, but I had to use a Propane Torch to heat up / melt and re-shape the back of the baffle that was hitting my window. Likely different from one install to the next (and if like me, you put in over-sized speakers.)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product!

MIchael from Sylvania, GA on 7/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The baffles work very well! Protecting the speaker and directing more sound into the vehicle! Exactly what I wanted!

Pros: Provided the exact results I was looking for!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Jack from Folcroft, PA on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these in my truck doors. I like the way they make the speakers sound. I feel like the baffle will also protect the speakers from the weather.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surpassed my Expectations

Mark from Ironwood, MI on 4/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way more durable than I expected. Puts factory baffles to shame! I installed these in the dash and roll bar of my '97 Jeep Wrangler. At first they seemed too big for my speakers, but once I test-fit everything and marked the holes, they fit perfectly. The baffles seem like they will protect the speaker from dust and moisture and provide a secure padded installation. I was skeptical purchasing these, but am very glad that I did.

Pros: High quality Easy to install/trim Protects speakers from the elements and excess vibrations

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product and quick shipment.

Crutchfield customer from Hutchinson, KS on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These baffles really bring out the clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

David from NV on 3/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally worthless waste of money.

Pros: None! Would give it zero stars if the option was available.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/28/2017
David, we're sorry you're disappointed with these baffles. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned for a refund or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

rodforshort from Little Rock, AR on 5/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these behind the midrange driver in a pair of Pioneer Home Speakers model SP-FS52. The midrange open to the two lower woofer witch caused all kind havoc with the sound. Cleaned them right up. The mat material is not that quality and very fragile. There is not a big selection to chose from for this part.

Pros: deep, trim able,

Cons: fragile, easy to tear

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom mats

Butch C. from Hawthorne, MD on 5/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The boom mats worked great. the sound is clear& not tingy.No metal vibrations .I would like to buy a radio but the prices are a little more than I can do at this time.

Pros: Good sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

They are thick foam

DTgill from Burns or on 5/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install they are larger than I thought they'd be. At first I wasn't sure about them, they do their intended task.

Pros: Easy to install Helps to control the direction of the sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

dng from Garden Grove, CA on 4/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect. No more rattling noise. I recommend this product to everyone who cares about sound quality in his/her car.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat

Steve from Davie, FL on 3/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

don't fit the speaker holes in my car, want them back?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Rock from Brighton, MI on 2/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice upgrade to the OEM setup. My original speakers were damaged by moisture in the door, the sure will keep the new speakers dry.

Pros: Universal fit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unsure

John from Mooresville, NC on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seem like nice material but a little thick for the job and forced me to run to the hardware store to get some longer screws as the Boom Mat's thickness set the mounting adapter plate back. I did use them in both the front door and the rear deck speaker replacements on my 2003 BMW 325i but more because I already bought them. In hindsight, would have probably only used in rear deck.

Pros: Easy to shape and cut to fit how you need them too

Cons: Really thick, lack of clarity in how to prep them (one review said to drill a hole to allow speaker to move freely while playing, one guys said the hole should be big, next guy said round and not rough cut). No instructions on prepping the mat came with the mat. Personally, I cut a 1.5" round hole in the back of the mat. Unsure of the benefit of using the mats.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

5 1/4 Baffles

AndyQ from Issaquah, WA on 7/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was as described and worked well in my installation location. Sound improved as well as being protected from the elements. I accidentally ordered two pairs thinking they were sold individually as the description isn't clear. So, there you go, they come in pairs.

Pros: Cheap As Described Come in Pairs

Cons: Description isn't clear they come in pairs

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

They serve the purpose

mpls matt from Minneapolis, MN on 6/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Jeep TJ with a sound bar. I bought the boom mats to stop my dome light cover from rattling. They worked great, and super easy to install. The speakers are new also, so I can't compare the current sound to how it was without the boom mats. It sounds 10x better than the old speakers.

Pros: Super easy to install Stopped rattle of other vehicle parts

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Brian M from Virginia on 11/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit in the doors of a '93 Corolla. Keeps the crap off and doesn't affect the sound at all, maybe better. I also used the poor man's sound deadner... spray-on bed liner. 3 coats does the trick!

Pros: Works like it's suppose to.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Arnold S. from Streamwood Il on 8/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The baffles were an extremely tight fit in a Grand Cherokee door. We did test the speaker sound without a permanent installation. Frankly the speaker sounded better without the baffle. Would not recommend the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 7/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gets the job done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Mont Belvieu, TX on 6/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even though I got the wrong size the still fit in my doors and have done wonders keeping water off my speakers as well as improve sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

LT from South Dakota on 6/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

affordable and really easy to install. they really help to improve the clarity and projection of sound in the vehicle

Pros: affordable, easy to install, made of sturdy material that will last a long time if taken care of

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Woodridge, IL on 5/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They do exactly what they're speed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1997 Honda Accord - not needed

Cheesehead from Pago Pago, American Samoa on 4/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With Crutchfield's extensive fit database, I am surprised they sold them to me for my application. 1997 Honda Accord has factory baffles that are required to mount speakers. (Factory baffles provide spacing for magnet to window clearance inside door.)

Pros:

Cons: Unusable on 1997 Honda Accord front door application.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 5-1/4-inch Speaker Baffles

Will from Baltimore, MD on 3/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. I used these for installation of some speakers for the dash of my Jeep Wrangler. A little ingenuity got them installed and they help the speaker to sound great as well as keeping debris from entering into the back of the speaker.

Pros: good idea for keeping out debris and assisting the speaker in realizing its full potential

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 9/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in the rear speakers on roof of a 2001 jeep cherokee. They were a little too deep so I cut out the back of the baffles and used them for framing the installation and eliminating rattles.

Pros: Thick material - maybe too thick

Cons: muffled sound, check your depth

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install

Lucas M from Knoxville, TN on 6/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Use is pretty self explanatory. Seemed to fit pretty decent with mounting brackets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Reduce "boomy sound"

Dave_in_Rio_Rancho from Rio Rancho, New Mexico on 11/29/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The baffles do what they are supposed to do - isolate the speakers. Contrary to what is said in the description, the purpose of these baffles is to tighten up the lower midrange by "reducing the size of the enclosure". That is why you use enclosures for trunked mounted speakers so they won't sound "boomy."

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

28 of 30 found this helpful

TOP