Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
315 131 742 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
315 131 742 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Slim-line: 2-1/2" depth)

MFR # 050331

Boom Mat 6-1/2

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Slim-line: 2-1/2" depth)

MFR # 050331

197 reviews
View this product

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Cumberland, RI on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product , easy to install. Overall great sound improvement. Would highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bulkier Than They Look

Crutchfield customer from Oregon City, OR on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product seemed like it would have worked. Just didn't fit my car so I couldn't use any of them. Not the manufacturers fault. For compact vehicles, I would definitely recommend the "slim" versions. I thought the material would be something a little nicer than just foam. I will consider for next vehicle install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work well, be sure to cut the lower half out of the back for the speaker to work properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Mustang, OK on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality looks good. A little bigger then I thought. Slimline was a better option for me.

Pros: Great quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these with my new jl audio speakers to improve the sound just to hear if there was a difference. After I installed them and cut the back of the baffles due reviews of others cutting the back, I can tell you what a huge difference it made. Speakers sound louder and bass hits very nice. I did not install first time but after upgrading front speakers I decided to get some for the fronts and rears and glad I did.

Pros: Worth buying keeps the sound in the cab instead of all in the doors. Improves loudness and bass (depends on speakers).

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Cortland, OH on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good protection for your new speakers and they also help with the bass response

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit nice! I do not know if they helped or hindered the base response of the speakers, since I didn't even try installing them with out the baffles. I think it gave the speakers a more solid mid-bass though. I do like that!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

6.5 speaker baffles

Crutchfield customer from Grovetown, GA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted. Good quality also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better sound and fixed my water exposure issue

Crutchfield customer from Navarre, FL on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2004 Avalanche, replaced factory speakers with Infinity components and rain would get on the back of the speakers from dripping down the window. The factory speaker had a foam collar on it to protect it. I got these to do the same. If you are using factory adapter brackets, these may be a bit tougher to install , my speakers were bolted to the sheet metal. With the Bose amp and these baffles, I didn't get a muffled sound with the cups intact.

Pros: Waterproofed speaker Slightly better mid-bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ended up not completely installing these in my rear deck speakers. I was absolutely incapable of securing the speakers & adapters to the car with Dynamat and the baffles both pushing back. Used on door speakers (coupe) but I cut the sides and used the adhesive of the Dynamat to secure the baffle to the car.

Pros: In the doors, I see how they can protect the speaker from any debris the windows bring in.

Cons: Difficult to install w/adapters and Dynamat combined.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker baffles

Crutchfield customer from W Middlesex, PA on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was exactly what I was looking for. Insulates sounds from leaking outside of the vehicle and enhances the sound from the speakers you install with these.

Pros: Easy installation, sounds enhancement and worth putting in, in every installation.

Cons: Flange must be cut to match if installing in factory speaker positions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

auburn

stephen from auburn on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't express what a huge waste of money and time these are. They completely muffle the speakers and suck any amount of bass they might have out of them. The fun part was taking my week old truck apart... again to remove them. Clips decided to break this time around also.

Pros: You get to be a professional taking your vehicle apart and teaches you a valuable lesson in trying new products

Cons: Everything

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Better sound

Crutchfield customer from Midland, MI on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and makes sound of speakers much better. Also keeps them from the elements of water and dirt. Would buy with other speakers I buy in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great investment

Crutchfield customer from Saginaw, MI on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work great, definitely Enhance the quality of the sound makes the bass sound deeper and helps keeps more of the music in the car instead of the inside of the door panel, you do have to cut a hole in the back so the speaker can breath so it don't sound muffled/muddy but I'm glad I bought them for all 4 of my 6 1/2 speakers in my car definitely sounds awesome !

Pros: Worth getting they do protect your speakers and they definitely help the sound to make it louder in the car it self

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Mansfield, TX on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These boom mats were easy to install with a pair of Kicker 6.5" speakers in the doors of my truck. They are quality made and had no problem fitting them in the speaker adapters with the speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked well for 2007 Accord Sedan

HAMAD from West Chester, PA on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed it in a 2007 Honda Accord Sedan front doors as part of sound deadening project to block road noise coming through doors and door speakers. I never cared about BASS since I listen to news only and my bass setting is always set to the lowest possible, so I can't comment about the negative affect on bass. I chose the depth of baffles based on a Crutchfield sales rep advice, and with the bracket chosen automatically by the shopping cart when I ordered my front 6 1/2 speakers, it worked well and it is NOT interfering with the window mechanism.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Travelers Rest, SC on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great protection

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Deer Park, TX on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helped to remove the boomyness from my rear speakers in the doors.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

dave

Crutchfield customer from West Dundee, IL on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker cover for in door application!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Magnolia, TX on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

work perfectly also made better sound quality. if your limited on location this helps the sound better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good moisture protection

Crutchfield customer from Phenix City, AL on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install behind new speakers. My main goal was to protect my new speakers from moisture inside the door panel. Moisture is what killed my factory speakers. I cut a small slit in the bottom so I could feed the speaker wires and maintain the moisture protection. Seems to also do a good job of isolating the speaker from road noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Turlock, CA on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to protect my new door speakers and to get more base out of the speakers. The base is much better then the stock GM ones I took out and I'm not sure if it's just the speaker or has something to do with the boom mats because I didn't try installing any speakers without the mat. All I can honestly say is the sound is much better then what I had

Pros: More base then stock and protects speakers

Cons: They weren't free

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, MI on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having used these speaker baffles in other projects there was no doubt I would purchase the same baffles for my 1966 Chevelle project. They really do make a big difference with how a speaker sounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from San Carlos, CA on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perhaps a bit too thick for the job. Not sure if they helped. I punched a hole in them to "port" them, but not sure if it was helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

steve from Ocean on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Protect your investment- these are great I also used them with the dynamite- the sound is great

Pros: I cut mine to perfect size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good stuff

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to door speakers. Cut hole 2x3ish for muffle elimination if present. Try first without cutting.

Pros: As advertised

Cons: May need to cut 2x3 hole to remove muffle. No a big deal though.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from South Boston, VA on 9/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Transformation of my 97 Suburban

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The boom mats still the inherent vibrations from the doors making for a more wholesome sound. Love thrm.

Pros: Very effective enhancement.

Cons: Some locations required a little out if tge bix thinking.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy fix.

Crutchfield customer from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 8/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They do what they say they are gonna do. Originally I got them to protect the speakers but, the sound improvement was a welcomed benefit. I used them on a boat so it was an easy install.

Pros: Easy install, cheap fix.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Something to consider

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have never used these before,bought them instead of dynamat to deaden vibrations. Really like them. Didn't detract from the music. Will buy again when I get the front pair.

Pros: Eliminates door vibration and hollowness. Doesn't detract from sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Delmar, DE on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product got just what i ordered.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Wshngtn Ct Hs, OH on 6/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Help to bring out the bass in my Infinity Kappa 62ix speakers

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Deerfield, KS on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick delivery, and good fit

Pros: Good weather protection

Cons: No

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, SC on 5/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased. Easy to use and really increased midbass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Jeremy from Omaha, NE on 5/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these Boom Mat baffles. I am getting better response, protection for the speaker and vibration isolation in one small but fantastic package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good product !!

Crutchfield customer from Vicksburg, MS on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product I can tell more sound is getting in my truck and not being lost out inside door.

Pros: easy to use

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just get a nice mounting gasket instead.

Levi from Monument on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My speakers sounded pretty rough when I had these baffles on. Very high, no mid or low whatsoever. I did some googling, and I wasn't the first person to notice this. Some folks said to cut the back of the baffle off, because the speakers are designed to function within the full volume of air in the enclosure of your door, not the tiny sealed space that they sit in when these baffles are installed. The speakers sounded totally different once I cut the back of the baffles off. At this point, mine just serve as a thicker vibration dampening mounting gasket, but a pricey one at that.

Pros: Serves as a nice thick vibration dampening mounting gasket

Cons: Doesn't sound good at all until you cut the back off, which does away with its marketed 'seal from moisture and dust' purpose.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Not for me

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson City, MO on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Barely fit my 6 1/2in. Coaxial speakers and wasn't impressed with sound. Ended up taking them back off. Would be better used on a shallow speaker that doesn't handle much power.

Pros: Good quality...good idea

Cons: Didn't fit my big magnet speakers. And took away from there sound quality. Better suited for small speakers that don't handle much power.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

will not fit 2012 Subaru WRX STI Wagon Front door

David from South Dartmouth, MA on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These will not fit 2012 Subaru WRX STI Wagon Front door. The window hits when fully down.

Pros: don't know can't use them

Cons: Can't use them

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

2006 Chevy Silverado Boom Mats

Mike from Princeton, WV on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An improvement in sound by keeping it in the passenger compartment & out of the door! I did cut a small quarter size vent hole in the bottom of the mat to allow for the wiring & for air movement. Thanks Marshall for your help!!

Pros: Protects speakers & easy install!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Protect your speakers from the elements

Eric from Austin, TX on 2/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the slimline 6-1/2" speaker baffles on my 2004 350Z while installing some Kicker 43CSS654 components in the door panels. The slimlines are deep enough to give the speakers room but slim enough to stay out of the way of the window pane when it lowers. It's a pretty simple product, but seems well made. I made some cut outs on the underside to have easy access for the wires and to also allow some of the sound to travel into the door panel, while still providing weather protection from above.

Pros: Quality made product, good fitment with the slimline version, weather protection

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Talmage Gunn from Newcomerstown, OH on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with my purchase and recommend these speaker baffles over other brands that I've used.they are very simple to install and provide great sound in my 2000 jeep xj.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Highland, CA on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not use in the rear door of my 2005 Dodge Ram 3500. The baffles were to deep and would have interfered with the window regulators.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must have when replacing factory speakers.

Glenn from Chattanooga, TN on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these to help reduce road noise when replacing my factory speakers. Also helped with the speakers not rattling. Great product and recommend purchasing them to protect your investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Albert C from Columbia, SC on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed baffles but ended up taking them back out. The mids were missing and sound quality wasnt great. The speakers came alive after removing baffles.

Pros: Good quality material

Cons: Did not work well at all with my speakers

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Tony from Wirtz, VA on 10/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Baffles worked fine,maybe a bit too big but I made them squeeze into the speakers ports in my doors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Valentine from Orlando, FL on 9/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job and improve sound quality as well.

Pros: Laminates the rattling.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great idea, Poor Manufacturing

Steve from Corvallis, OR on 8/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found this product very disappointing. The first pair I ordered were too deep and were coming in contact with the door glass as it traveled down. I ordered another pair and got the same part number, but a slightly different dimension, which also did not work. Same problem. The 3rd pair I ordered also had the same number (shouldn't the part number be different if the dimension is going to be different?) but was shallow enough to clear the door glass. All in all, a lot of work and frustration. QC is very lacking in this company.

Pros: Strong, Heavy foam

Cons: This part has either been packaged incorrectly or quality control is seriously lacking. 3 orders of the same part number with 3 different dimensions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great with the speakers and adapters I used

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Mark from Massapequa Pk, NY on 7/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A MUST

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth It

Peter from Grand Rapids, MI on 7/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool product, installs easy. Kills distortion well.

Pros: Good product

Cons: A little to expensive for just foam.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Tom from Greenville, NC on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really helps with mid bass and protecting your investment!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Eagle Pass, TX on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just what i needed for my suburban. solved my problems with my speakers getting moister/wet due to leakage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Granby, MO on 5/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too tight, killed all my bass. Unless your going to add an amp or do like I did, I had to pull all my panels again and cut a 1"x2" hole in the bottom side, you wont have any bass. But they will protect tour speakers from the element's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Joshua from Pike Road, AL on 5/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was very difficult to install the speakers with the baffles onto the brackets provided by both JL Audio and Crutchfield. it was almost impossible (without major modification to the baffles) to secure the speaker to the brackets (that were made specifically for my vehicle) through the baffles without cutting holes for the screws to go through. i ended up having to buy washers, nuts, and longer screws to use so I securely attach them together.

Pros: protects speakers from water coming through window seal adds cushion to prevent vibrations when playing.

Cons: Difficult to use/install. almost considered not using them at all, but decided to modify by cutting major holes for bolts I bought.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

jorge from Milford, MA on 5/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I was looking for fit great very durable and sealed fantastic to the doors and speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Foam Speaker Baffle

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for something more substantial than open cell foam- foam that would better repel water seeping between the window seal rather than absorb water and acoustically seal a door speaker for the mid-bass. The Boom Box foam baffle does the job nicely, and unless the door suffers severe damage (i.e. car wreck, asteroid damage, or whatever) the one-piece construction and attachment to the door and speaker mount ensures the baffle will remain in place for years to come. The foam baffles that adhere to the base of the speaker would eventually fall off I suspect, and those type of baffle cost more for one pair of speakers than two pairs of the Boom Box foam baffles. Installing the baffles was interesting, but after the first baffle I cut out a V-shaped notch where the speaker screw was located. I sandwiched the baffle at the base, placing the speaker mount on top of it. I also cut a V-shaped notch located at the bottom and just big enough for a little breathing room and for speaker wire in the back cup of the baffle. The result was a great fit in the door panel and improved sound compared to an open air speaker install. I read some of the reviews claiming a tunnel effect in sound, but I for one do not see how sound cannot be improved by baffling speakers. Even bass speakers have insulation in the cabinet(s)- or should have. Otherwise there is too much reverb and/or vibration.

Pros: Speaker is protected from the elements. Improved mid-bass performance. Improved outside noise insulation. Somewhat limitless install options. Cheaper than stacked foam baffle kit.

Cons: One extra installed component to contend with, but takes little time to navigate around.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect. Had XTC previously but these are hardier. Nicely made.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

1canesfan1

Joe from New Smyrna, FL on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gives me a piece of mind the my speakers are protected and adds a little bass response

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Environmental Insurance for my speakers!

Robert from Nacogdoches, TX on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great environmental protection for the rear of the speakers. Had to cut and glue them to get the depth so the window didn't hit them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Quality Item

Ralph from Toms River, NJ on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am giving these 5 stars because they fit perfectly and appear to be of good quality. I cannot speak for any audio benefit since they were installed with new speakers in the doors of a 2009 Acura TL and the doors are pretty well insulated. However the baffles will help to keep the speakers clean and dry. Can't ask for much more than that.

Pros: Well made

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Wesley F from Birmingham, AL on 3/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit just right and gave my kickers that little extra to sound just like I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2018 Jeep Wrangler JK sound bar

Crutchfield customer from Cabot, AR on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised. I can't tell a difference in the sound, but it did work well as a gasket in between the speaker and plastic mounting material.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat speaker baffles

Stephen from Chardon, OH on 3/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product works as advertised, easy to install.

Pros: Was easy to install and work with.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Larry from Tuttle, OK on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and pushes the sound out instead of losing it in your door panels. Plus they'll protect your speakers if your window seals leak water.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, PA on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I feel better knowing they are installed, but I did not hear much of a difference in sound. These should come "included free" with any speakers you purchase just to save you the hassle of having to take things back apart just to install them. Since my Kicker components are the ones providing the actual sound output, I won't be too harsh on rating these baffles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 12/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect, keep sound in cabin and not lost in exterior

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Bob from Bethel Park, PA on 11/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect accessory for your car's door speakers. A snap to install behind the speaker bracket. No outside dust or water will come in contact with the speaker with the baffle installed.

Pros: Easy installation. Protect speakers from dust and water.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

William from North Beach, MD on 11/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Kris from Cimarron, KS on 11/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price and they sound good

Pros: Good quality, good price

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Boulder, CO on 10/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They fit my speakers perfectly, and help to keep any dirt and water out as well as slightly improving the sound quality of my speakers! Great product, great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Buena Vista, CO on 10/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Not sure of any benefit to sound quality. Great to keep speaker cneak and dry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfection

Jairus from Orlando, FL on 10/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is amazing helps create a tight enclosed seal for ultimate sound quality especially when you put a small amount of poly fill in it, a big thanks to crutchfield my forever audio provider.

Pros: Everything!

Cons: There no cons!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what it is supposed to

William from Oxford, ME on 8/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Rationale - I have an older 2004 Subaru Outback with "marginal" weatherstripping in a high humidity environment. The existing OEM mounting brackets have a partial built-in slanting "roof" over the speaker magnet and frame. I was looking for something more "inclusive" to keep out moisture and dust, hence a fully inclusive surrounding "cup" was desired. (Speakers used were Kenwood KFC-1665-S 6-1/2" with polypropylene cones (high humidity area). Install - I used the OEM mounting brackets, scraping the foam rings off, leaving the adhesive. I used the 6-1/2" Slim Baffles 050331), cut down to leave a 1/2" "lip" around each cup. I mounted the speaker as a bracket, speaker mounting ring, baffle lip, door cut-out rim "sandwich". This fit perfectly. (Note: the front wires needed rerouting inside the door to prevent wire abrasion).

Pros: Does what it is supposed to Easily customized for use in Subaru 2004 Outback

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superior speaker protection.

Anthony from Winchester, VA on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure about these yet. I gave 4 stars because the product was a good quality and everything fit ok. They definitely protect the speaker in the door. I am going to try these out and see if I like the sound.

Pros: Definitely protects speakers. Seems to be good quality.

Cons: No real directions for best install practice. Should it have a relief port or not? Where should the wires come through?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 8/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does a great job of preventing wasted sound and directing sound where you want it to go. I drive a Jeep Wrangler and this helps me hear podcasts with the roof and the doors off!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 7/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, it protects the speakers and gives a more defined sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for slim fit in subcompact front door

Alex from Kaneohe, HI on 7/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These shallow depth baffles are perfect for slim fit speakers in the front doors of my 2014 Mazda2 Sport with Infinity Reference 6522EX 6.5" 2-way speakers. They do help to insulate the speaker from both causing and receiving vibration from the plastic mounts. To a lesser degree, it provides protection from potential moisture hitting the rear of the speaker. Did not give it 5 stars because I am in the camp that believes you do need to cut your own opening in the baffle to allow the speaker to breathe. I've seen a dozen different opinions on this from do not cut an opening, cut a 1-inch diameter circle in the back, to cutting huge side portions out. I opted to cut a rectangle out the back where it says ?Boom Mat? as it stuck out a bit that would also contact the window glass. Why doesn't Boom Mat either have this pre-cut for best acoustics or warn not to cut it?

Pros: Reduces/eliminates mounting vibration Slim fit for slimmer speakers and tighter spaces Protection from moisture

Cons: Does not come with instructions for cutting a vent hole Must DIY for vent hole

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Donnie from Little Rock, AR on 6/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Waisted my money on this

Pros: I found none

Cons: Impeded the fit of the speaker had no affect on the sound

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Northfield ,MN on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great in my boat to protect the speakers under the seats.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Clarkston, WA on 6/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install and completely protect the back of the speaker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Protect speakers from moisture and dust.

James from Paso Robles, CA on 5/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Too deep for the front doors of my 2013 Subaru Outback, but they fit the speaker openings in the rear doors perfectly.

Pros: Easy to install. Protect speakers from moisture and dust. Reduce resonance and road noise.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Ryan from Spokane, WA on 5/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesn't fit speaker opening

Crutchfield customer from Hastings, MN on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was hoping to try and use these in my boat, but I would have to cut the openings larger to accommodate the thick foam. It was just not worth it to me. The speaker barely fits into the baffle on it's own.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/29/2017
We're sorry the baffles didn't work out for you. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Killed ALL midbass

Dylan from King, NC on 2/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Purchased these speaker baffles after reading reviews and hearing good things, People saying that it would increase midbass and reduce vibration. Well, As it turns out, Those reviews were wrong. I purchased 2 sets of alpine spr60c component speakers and wasnt getting ANY bass. I couldnt understand, I thought maybe I needed to tune the stereo or something. Nope. I removed these baffles and suddenly I had all the midbass I was missing. While these baffles might fix a vibration problem, they WILL NOT increase midbass. Dont waste your money folks! Cheap product=Cheap sound!

Pros: Vibration was not to be found

Cons: I had no mid bass. None!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Brecksville, OH on 2/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers sounded horrible with these on so I had to pay my installer to remove them. I am happy with the way it sounds now. I would not recommend these to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great all around sound

John from Woodworth, LA on 1/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received the baffles on time and have been pleased with the results. They were easy to insert and protects from moisture and dust as well as giving a much better sound to my speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good add-on to new speakers

Ronald from Worcester, MA on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product. Worth the money.

Pros: Quality product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

As Advertised

Tim from Mesa, AZ on 12/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised but make sure you measure you speakers. I assume 6 1/2 would work for all 6 1/2 speakers. They were a little small but will work, I think.

Pros: as advertised

Cons: A little small

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does not fit in 1999 chevy cavalier

Clay from Sauquoit, NY on 10/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 4"x6" baffles for the front door and 6 1/2" speaker baffles for the rear panel which I had to switch because the 4"x6" were too large in the front so I used them on the rear panel with a perfect fit. Measurements may be off from 6 1/2" being in the back because the 4x6 fit in the rear panel better. I suggest slims in the front to not cause interference with the window panel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not needed in this car

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, WI on 9/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2005 Dodge Stratus coupe. Would not fit with the mounting bracket and the factory cover

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/3/2016
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer. We'll either help him get these baffles installed correctly, or help him return them for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat

DK from Tampa, FL on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield technicians recommended adding these baffles to my order. I did not understand the reasoning for adding another part to the speaker installation, however, the small extra expense made a big difference in an improved listening experience.

Pros: By installing a baffle, the speaker is insulated from the vehicle, and road. The most noticeable sound difference in my vehicle was a dramatic reduction in road noise that had interfered with clarity of the sound signal. These baffles were a great addition to the sound system in my vehicle, and without recommendations from Crutchfield technicians I would not have known to order them!

Cons: NA

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Billy from Bloomington, IN on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing to install and well worth the low price

Pros: Sounds better with these

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

If it dont fit, you cant use them.

James D from Plymouth, MA on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was told these would be a good investment, and add them at an additional cost. I was told they would fit front doors of 2000 Jeep Cherokee, but this was not the case. Could not fit at all. I tried to make fit, but just do not have the depth within the door because of internall window track. Not even close.

Pros: Appears to be made of quality material and in theory would make sense.

Cons: But could not fit at all in my vehicle, therefore useless and can not be used. I called and no other size will fit either in my case. 2000 Jeep Cherokee.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom mat baffles awesome

Art from Santa Maria,CA on 8/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thos baffles are awesome,they protect the door speakers from moisture and prevent vibration7

Pros: Overall great product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat Speaker Baffles

bukifvr from Dublin, OH on 8/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were very simple to use and fit perfectly in the door of my 2011 Elantra. I like how they help protect my Infinity speakers from the elements. Sound is nice and tight. I don't think it affects bass from my speakers negatively, but then again, I use a Kicker Hideaway powered subwoofer to fill in the low end.

Pros: Protects my investment in nice speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worst thing that could happen to a good speaker

Ryan from Wilkes Barre, PA on 7/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my opinion these things are junk, other than shielding the speaker within the door. They were recommended as part of my install so I put them in. They restrict the speaker so much they are not only quieter, but there is zero bass. I cut the bottom half of the back out of them and the speakers came to life like magic. I would never recommend them to anyone. Try running down the road with your hand over your mouth and holding your nose.

Pros: none

Cons: completely restrict speaker performance

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Keeps the water out and sounds great.

JOSHUA J from Davenport, IA on 6/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Chevrolet Cruze has issues with water in doors if you replace the factory speakers. Sadly I had to find out the hard way. I ruined a pair of Alpine 6 1/2 speakers. Installed these baffles and they speakers are now water tight. Sound quality is fine. Easy to work with just fit in my car due to window clearance issues. Make sure to speak with an adviser before you order these to insure you are getting the correct size and depth. My speakers will no longer get wet!

Pros: Easy to install and work with. Strong material for being flexible. Handle door heat well without getting warped.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

CDT from Roanoke, VA on 6/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They do help with the sound and will provide protection from the elements.

Pros: Easy to install and work with.

Cons: Stick to deep into the door. Now opening and closing the windows it sounds like they have the farts.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

kingd from Hershey, PA on 5/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are sweet addition to the speaker install. totally worth it.

Pros: great protection and directed sound. Thanks for making this a viewable option when I selected speakers Crutchfield

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom mats

Ralph O, from Arizona on 5/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It made the speaker sound a whole lot better with a little more Bass. Great product.

Pros: Very easy to work with.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

deadens the sound.

Bill from Bozeman MT on 4/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They only fit on the rear speakers... the window gets in the way on the front doors. the sound was supposed to enhance the base but it actually deadened the sound. better base from the front.

Pros: weather proofs

Cons: deadens sound

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat speaker baffles

Cletis from Wahpeton, ND on 4/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these mainly to see if they'de at least mitigate the problems with moisture damaging the speakers in Silverados. I had to cut a slit to get the wires to the speakers and ended up cutting a 1/2" by about 1&1/2" hole in the back. That seemed to help get a clearer sound from the new speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome!!

Shane from Long Valley, NJ on 4/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these these foam baffles; they make it possible to have much more clarity sound from the speakers.

Pros: They fit great and easy to install with no hassle.

Cons: The only thing is that the baffles should come automatically with the holes needed to fit the speaker wires through; I shouldn't have to cut a hole myself.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than I expected.

Charles from Daytona Beach, FL on 3/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than I expected. They are thicker than I thought they would be and that allows much better baffling. I used these ones for a pair of Nakamichi shallow mount speakers and I have no complaints.

Pros: Quality Thickness

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too Tight Fit

Mark from roanoke, VA on 3/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There was not enough room to install these without cutting sheet metal. Two pairs just laying on the floor....

Pros: none

Cons: There was not enough room to install these without cutting sheet metal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great!

Dan from Banbury, UK on 3/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Performed as advertised. A little peace of mind to protect my highs. Seems to have upped the clarity of the woofers as well.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple and effective

Mike from harrisonburg, VA on 3/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a piece of styrofoam, there's not much more to be said. It will protect your speakers from leaky doors, (Honda Civic owners, that means you) and besides cutting a small hole for both your wires and a "breathing port" installation is very straightforward. I've also found that they're cheaper at Crutchfield than other retailers, so that's always a plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Glad I Got Them

Mopo from Seattle on 2/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these with Focal speakers at the front and rear doors. Go with the 6.5" for the Focals. I think Crutchfield calls them 6.75", but they are 6.5". This setup clears the window if you have a few layers before you add this to your speakers. I also made some small holes on the bottom to let them breathe. There is much debate over this, but I did it anyways.

Pros: The material is nice and thick. Should protect against dirt and water. Fairly inexpensive insurance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

great!

Pete from wolfeboro, NH on 2/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these in my doors of my 02 passat wagon with 6 1/2 inch polk components. These worked perfectly didn't hit the window. like everyone says you need to cut a hole in them so the speakers will work properly. and i cut a small 1x1 inch hole in the back of them and these work really good the sound is better the bass is more pronounced no more rattling doors.

Pros: thick and do what they are supposed to do.

Cons: not free

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy installation.

RickeyKenrick from Woodbridge, VA on 2/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installs easily into the front door of my 2005 Dodge Magnum. I installed Dynamat on the sheet metal of the door, placed the foam baffles on top, and then I installed my speakers. No rain yet but I believe that they will work as advertised. My speakers sound great! No rattles! maybe these helped? Oh, please remember to cut the bottoms out of the foam baffles before putting your speakers inside.

Pros: None.

Cons: Remember to cut the bottoms out before installing your speakers. This is just a friendly reminder!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

boom mat

chuy from California on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice . they are inexpensive . and work well

Pros: better sound!!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom

John M from North Carolina on 12/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provides additional protection for door speakers.

Pros: excellent fit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Gabe from Illinois on 12/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed one speaker with it and one with out to test and you can tell the difference in the sound. It's deeper sounding with the boom mat. I did cut a small quarter size hole at the bottom since I don't have subs I wanted to get the bass from the 6.5 speakers. With out the hole it seemed like the speaker had missing lows. The new speakers and new head unit sound awesome. Sounds better than my wife's Yukon with Bose system. I will purchase them for my other vehicles when upgrading speakers.

Pros: Better sound. Easy install. Protects the speaker.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

great product

Dan from Florida on 12/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great in my 2015 BRZ with a pair of JBL 6 1/2" coaxials. These baffles drastically boosted my sound clarity and added depth to the sound stage. No more flappy diaphragm movement., just tight, controlled mids and highs. if you're looking for bass, don't expect it from a 6 1/2" driver, that's what subs are for. Do Not Cut A Hole In The Baffle! you're only robbing yourself of clear, articulate mids and highs!

Pros: improved sound quality, easy to install, cheap

Cons: people claiming that they work better with holes cut in them...Do Not Cut Them! stop being cheap and get a sub for your low frequencies!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Jose from Colorado on 11/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a heavy duty baffle, best one so far.

Pros: Very solid construction

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

baffles

rickM from gauley bridge, wv on 9/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

work great a+

Pros: fit well in my 2013 impala

Cons: none that i know

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2"

Joe D from Ohio on 9/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit well, Easy to install

Pros: Keeps sound directed, dirt out, and cushions the mounted speaker

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fit nicely

Matt from Virginia on 7/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to modify the door so put these in for extra protection. Seem to work well.

Pros: Protects

Cons: Makes installation a little bit more time consuming.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

MF from Florence, AL on 6/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very neat little device.........Gives a "cleaner" sound

Pros: Easy to install....works great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Jay from Delaware on 6/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first time trying these out and for the cost you cant beat it.

Pros: They will protect your new speaker.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

nice little product

Crutchfield customer from El paso, tx on 6/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first time I've tried these and it worked out really well. The speakers sound louder

Pros: Cheap. Easy install. Protects speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Work perfect

CY from PA on 6/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit, and some added protection for the speakers.

Pros: Fit, price, protection for your gear.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

Chad from Brooklyn, mi on 5/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what you'd think. Piece of mind protecting new speakers in door of a convertible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked well

Steve G from Pennsylvania on 5/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic fitment. Just drop in and with slight trimming they worked good. I've used these in the past and they work good for not only helping a little with mid bass but also help keep the speaker clean and protected from the elements.

Pros: Basic fitment

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

baffles

mike from monroe, la on 4/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Baffles. Theres not much to say. They protect against dirt and moisture. So far they work great

Pros: Easy to install. Fit great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Nate from Utah on 3/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What is there to say? They fit perfectly! They install in a flash! They keep everything neat and clean and dry. Excellent addition to my system

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Other people who complain about a product because they don't know what they are doing.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat Speaker Baffles

bzGNR from Florida on 2/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My purpose in buying these was protecting the speakers from water. I cut out the back lower quarter to allow the mid-bass speakers to remain free-air as they were designed to be; otherwise the sound would be "cupped". Cup your hands over your mouth and speak- similar effect. So far I am happy with the results. Remember to take the thickness into account when seating speaker, particularly behind a door panel where distance between panel and speaker is finite.

Pros: Thick 1/4" foam, sturdy. Easily trimmed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cleaning up the audio

Eric from Beaumont on 2/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cleaned up the audio in my truck and stopped all the rattling.

Pros: Easy installation Easy to adjust to your needs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

EN from CA on 1/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did not use these. I had used the same type on the speakers I had installed in my doors but I didn't like how it sounded.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Affordable protection

Chumly from San Diego, CA on 1/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added behind Alpine SPS-610(C) & they sound amazing. The bass is tighter and the mids are transfered more directly so they seem louder at the same volume levels. I cut a 2" round hole with a hole saw on the bottom. As others are stating, this is needed to be done or you'll lose bass and will run into out-of-phase issues as the driver tries to do it's job, moving air. I feel 2" was enough for 6.5's and round holes are better than just taking a knife and making a square cutout. Install was a breeze and really easy to get the mounting screws through. They're affordable enough to justify adding them to your cart with your speaker order

Pros: -sturdy, thick, & easy to work with -very good sound damping ability

Cons: Probably very horrible if you don't cut a big hole.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Essential to Have!

TS from Oregon on 12/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For just a few bucks, they do two things great: 1) They make for a more refined sound inside the vehicle. 2) They lessen the sound outside the vehicle. Get them! These were used with a Crutchfield-provided snap-in adapter for my new speakers, and these did not prevent the adapter from being able to snap in. It was a bit tighter, perhaps, but no problem.

Pros: They help the quality of the speaker sound, and they keep you from annoying your neighbors as much.

Cons: None whatsoever.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect compliment ...

Mr Picky from Athens,GA on 12/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit right behind speaker adapter plate / an absolute necessity to protect speaker as well as acoustical benefits.

Pros: Where was this product years ago ? Love it ...

Cons: hmmmm .... None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

baffles

Crutchfield customer from New Hampton NH on 12/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My installer loves the product and how it helps keep sound directing into vehicle instead of losing sound through whole door.

Pros: Helps protect against weather that ma get into area of speakers.

Cons: Some systems require an up grade of more components due to how it changes the way your system sound before installing baffles.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker Baffles

IceCat from Kissimmee, FL on 10/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is mush better and I love the prize. whatever you do don't cut the back out or make a hole I just slice it (very small slice) to put the wires in.

Pros: Very easy to install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't Cut Any Holes!!

whatutalkinboutwillis from Asheville, NC on 10/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These other idiots have no idea what they're talking about. Do not cut the back of the baffle out. They would sell it like that if it wasn't supposed to have a back. How can it direct air flow with no back? Duh!! It's the same as not using one at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Boom

Greg from Santa Maria CA on 10/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wouldn't install new speakers in the door panels without them.

Pros: Protects new speakers and sounds great. Fit was no problem. Inexpensive.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Baffles, cheap & easy

Rick from Lititz, PA on 8/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After seeing all the dirt & garbage that fell out when I pulled the door panels off, I'm glad I installed these. I don't know if they make a sound difference or not, but they are a cheap insurance policy to protect your new speakers

Pros: Cheap & easy to install

Cons: Lack of installation info. I did some research online before install and some say cut bottom out, others sat side. Some say big hole, some say just big enough for wires. Found the options confusing. So I just did a 3/4" hole in the side for the wires, making hole face down to keep dirt out.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice easy to install Speaker Baffles.

Crutchfield customer from Maryland on 8/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a easy way to add some protection from water damage to the speakers I installed in my Harley Davidson Street Glide Batwing fairing. These baffles worked great.

Pros: Easy to install and trim to size.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good protection

island_boy from Guam, USA on 7/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good for protecting your speakers from dust and water. Can't speculate on the difference in sound quality as I installed it with aftermarket speakers all together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

boat stereo

reddog from ohio on 7/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

tight fit, still easy to install. got rid of rattles from fiberglass. great add on

Pros: no more rattles, improved soud quality. a must have on a boat. great bang for the buck

Cons: tight fit, but worth the effort

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Takes away from the sound

2011 chevy from oklahoma on 7/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It will protect your speakers but took away from the sound I wanted. I put them in but removed them a day later.

Pros: Protects speakers

Cons: Removes good sound quality

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Very Pleased

Rave from San antonio on 7/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased.

Pros: Got rid of the rattle and brought speakers back to life. Added a little more bass.

Cons: Tight fit area for speakers made it a bit difficult to install but not that much. Overall gave it a very snug fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great product

LT from South Dakota on 6/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy installation, and it makes a huge difference in sound quality and projection.

Pros: good price, easy installation, sturdy product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Reduces vibration and improves sound quality.

JoshuaW from Broomfield, CO on 5/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these with a set of kicker 6.5" in my 2014 Subaru Impreza. I first tried it with just a port cut out and then I tried it with the back side cut out completely. The latter produced the best sound quality. I think that they will still provide good protection as they still cover the entire back end of the speaker housing and connections. I also think it will be better for any instance where a very significant amount of water were ever able to get into the door cavity as the water will be able to drain out quickly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Frank from Colorado on 5/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice way to direct more sound out of a big door. Also very good for water-proofing the speakers on a truck that is off road occasionally.

Pros: Good thickness of material, easy installation.

Cons: A little snug for the cutouts in the door-panel - but being compliant - they were in without a big problem.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Improves base & reduces vibration

AV8OR from Tucson AZ on 5/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced the stock speakers in my Audi A3 and initially was a little disappointed. I thought the new speakers sounded a little tinny and vibrated in the door. I later bought and installed these baffles, and wow, what a difference. Deeper bass with no vibration.

Pros: Better sound, reduces vibration.

Cons: Depending on your door, you might need to cut out the bottoms prior to installation.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

boom mat 6 1/2 s speaker baffels

Crutchfield customer from Oshkosh Wiscinsin on 5/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never tried the boom mats before .I like them and getting another 2 for my other speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Helpful N' Cheap

Mikey from powder springs, GA on 5/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Why not buy these, they are inexpensive and help the longevity of your speakers. Just know that a cutting a hole in the back of the baffles is required, the hole will also help the air movement so the suction created from the baffles won't impair the speakers from doing their job.

Pros: They look nicer than the xtc brand (which doesn't matter) but i did not notice any difference in performace

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple product to protect tour investment

Noodle9 from Choctaw, Ok on 4/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very inexpensive, easy install.

Pros: Cost

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker covers

Big E from Alabama on 4/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast delivery and accurate

Pros: Good price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Mdlbldrnt from Sioux Falls SD on 4/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These baffles just make sense to use. My Crutchfield rep recommended them to me on my recent complete system overhaul. They protect the speakers, add some cushion to the mount in my installation and they are not expensive at all. Well worth the cost to add that little extra to the speakers.

Pros: Note expensive, east to install, light weight, great protection for the speaker

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mats

JSal from East Texas on 4/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boom mats work great make speaker sound a whole lot better and easy to install.

Pros: Sound better

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product!

JL from Scotch Plains, NJ. on 3/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! I used this product when I changed the front door speakers in my car. It took car of the vibration clatter out of my door panel. I have better clarity and overall sound without loosing base! NOTE: in my car the speakers use the door cavity for bass sound. So i cut out the back of the speaker baffle which allowed the speaker to breath. Great sound!!!

Pros: Works and easy to install!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Limits sound

Joat from Tennessee on 3/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have done many installs, but never with the foam enclosures. Be sure and cut a large notch out of the side of these facing down to keep water out, for air movement. I installed these in a Toyota Paseo, and the sound was lacking out of the thunder series MTX front and rear. I noticed the throw of the woofer was minimal to none, mostly just vibrating. These will seal the airspace required for the "throw" the speaker needs to produce quality sound. There is no instruction listed, so take it for what its worth. I just took these back out and the sound is 5x better. JMO

Pros:

Cons: Dampens sound.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

good product / perfect fix

Hector NJ from Camden NJ on 3/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this max work perfect,make your speakers sound a lot better

Pros: perfect fix,good quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom May speaker baffles

Vazquez from Savannah on 3/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, keeps my speakers dry and you get a better sound quality.

Pros: Made solid Light weight

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Product

Ultra Rider from Meadville Pa on 1/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product, could use precut access for the speaker wires. Fits nicely over the front raiding speakers. Much improved bass response.

Pros: Easy install and effective

Cons: Needs wire access

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Add ons

Tracy W from Tecumseh on 1/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These add-ons are worth investing in. Enhances the sound quality of any speaker.

Pros: Protects speaker as well as sound enhancement. Inexpensive.

Cons: Not sure of any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

JoshK from Decherd, TN on 12/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the 3rd pair I have bought for installing front door speakers. They work great! As for people saying they muffle your sound they do not! As for your bass, that is what a subwoofer is for. Not little baby 6 inch speakers. Also do not cut port holes in these, they are for speakers not subwoofers, and water can backup into the speaker. These are a must have if you want to have more precise sound, and keep out water, moisture, or dirt from shortening the life of your speakers!

Pros: Easy installation. Extend the life of your speaker. Better and more accurate sound production from speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Foam speaker cover

Crutchfield customer from 63139 on 12/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit is good and they seem like they will do there job to protect the speaker from moisture. Only time will tell.

Pros: Cheap insurance

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the few dollars the cost. Helped solve the sound loss caused by the large air space of my door.

Pros: Inexpensive and they work

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat Baffles

Kevin R from Mcdonough Ga on 11/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were installed in the rear deck of a 99Mustang Which has a set of Boston Acoustics S50 installed. The speakers already sounded great. Now they really shine. The baffles really silenced the small rattled I would hear at loud volumes. The baffles give the speakers a much warmer sound.

Pros: Great improvement

Cons: Had to cut small hole in the bottom for the connections

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker baffle

Crutchfield customer from Spencer, ohio on 11/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The baffle has improved the accuracy of the speakers I installed. The highs are much crisper and the bass seems to have more punch.

Pros: Easy to use, adaptable, inexpensive

Cons: None noted

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buy these!

Chris from Gilbert, AZ on 10/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these to give some added protection to the Infinity speakers I installed in the doors of my FJ Cruiser. They worked perfectly and I am confident they will protect the speakers during water crossings. The added benefit is they help to eliminate the vibration in the door panel at higher volumes. I would always purchase these when installing a new speaker system.

Pros: Thick enough to protect and they offer a good seal from the elements while improving the sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Swartz Creek, mi on 10/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great love them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Sam from California on 10/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as advertised. These were perfect for an install in one of our cars. I went into this purchase onlylooking to protect door and back desk speakers from the elements and items int he trunk. I did not test the sound with and without on the new system, as it seems some people did.

Pros: As advertised, good material.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

6 1/2 in Baffle

Crutchfield customer from Donna, TX on 9/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inexpensive and good way to protect your speakers

Pros: Inexpensive, great bang for your buck

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

AndyL from South Florida on 8/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product arrived quickly, well-packaged, and as-described.

Pros: Keeps dust and moisture out of the speakers; keeps the sound tight and prevents it from using the door as a bass cabinet.

Cons: No cons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Speaker baffles

randy from california on 8/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product great fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not impressed

Mcgee from Sheffield, AL on 7/31/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read a bunch of reviews before I bought these with my new MTX speakers and I thought I would give them a try. I am disappointed with the results! I have absolutely no bass in my speakers and there was not a thing in the instructions about cutting ports in the baffles. I am not an audio installer but how can you expect to get good results when there is critical information left out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Worked great

Otto from Bradenton Florida on 7/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had recently installed a all Alpine stereo system in my 2001 Chevy Silverado extended cab. For the front door speakers I went with the Alpine 6 3/4" Type R Coaxial. After they were installed and I cranked up the stereo and they sounded very hollow. I had bought these baffles hoping that they would clean up the Holllow sound and man did they ever. The sound quality was amazing. They were very easy to install I cut the bottom of the baffle out so that it would port the speaker, all in all very satisfied.

Pros: Easy to install Nice thick material Cleans up hollow sound Great protection

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

REDUCED SOUND QUALITY

Chris from Florida on 6/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good idea, but it severely reduces sound quality. THIS PRODUCT IS NOT FOR AUDIOPHILES!!!! These baffles essentially create a sealed enclosure for the speaker, which does not allow the speaker cone to move freely, bass sounds muddled and strained. I cut out the bottom of the baffles to allow air flow, this did improve the sound, but it sounded best with the baffles removed all together. Unfortunately the only way to fully protect the speaker without reducing the sound would be to design the baffle to the specifications of the speaker with a port facing inside the vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Speaker baffles

Lucas M from Knoxville, tn on 6/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick, easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from mount prospect, il on 6/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At every install you should purchase these boom mats. Great product to protect your investment and also it gives a better bass response.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 61/2" baffles

Dave from Vero bch,fl on 6/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First time using baffles and I am impressed with fit,sound and protection. Used in the doors of a Corolla,they made a difference in sound and I know they are sealed from the elements.

Pros: Sound improvement,easy fit and they work.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Protect your Stuff

Superfry from Cameron Park, CA on 6/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must if you are installing speakers in a door cavity.

Pros: Keeps dust and moisture away from the backs of your speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat Baffles

JMC from Bloomfield, MI on 6/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The baffles fit well and install easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

They do work

Ben from Heber Springs, AR on 6/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They do give better bass response. Just wish they didn't try to bunch up when you screw them in.

Pros: Do their job

Cons: Bunch up when you run screws threw them even though I poked holes for them

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Do what they were made for

Ben Scuffham from Heber Springs, AR on 5/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As long as you pre hole the areas to put screws threw they do their job. Bass response improves as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boom mat

Aaron from Taylor, TX on 4/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Might as well spend the little bit of $ to protect your speakers.

Pros: Easy install, improves sound, protect speakers

Cons: Make sure you have clearance for window when being rolled down.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good inexpensive Investment

BobW from Loveland, CO on 1/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good way to reduce outside sounds from being transmitted into the auto, while not losing any of the bass sound that resonates in the door. I installed these in a 1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. A couple things to consider. 1) I installed some new speakers (Infinity) and if using the Boom Mats, do not use the "plastic" mounting hardware that comes with the speakers. Mount them directly into the doors, drilling and tapping new holes for the screws. The Boom Mat thickness will cause the speakers to interfere with the door panels if you attempt to use the speaker included mounts. The boom mats provide excellent isolation of the speaker metal housing against the door metal. Excellent products!

Pros: Good sound isolation

Cons: Modified speaker bracket installation to achieve best fit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound and Quality

Sean from Georgia on 9/25/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great. I have a 97 Suburban. Had to slightly modify to fit, and they did not work with the clips I ordered that were a mock up of my original speaker clips. Self tapping screws easily solved issue. Highly satisfied with both build quality and sound quality after install.

Pros: Thick, Durable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

not impressed

Dave from fort collins colo. on 5/7/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

tried these out and made the speakers sound muddled tried them with a slot tried them with a larger port and now they're sitting on the work bench very easy to install and easy to remove other than tearing door apart

Pros: none

Cons: made new speakers sound terrible

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Most of the complaints are due to improper instalation

Rob w/ 2010 WRX from Surrey, BC Canada on 3/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars with better instructions. Most of the reviews of sound quality complaints are due to user error and improper installation! If you're a DIY'r "Read Instructions" even for the simple stuff you'd be surprised at how important even fine details can be to sound quality! #1 most important installation note: Most all door speakers are designed to be "open air" so you NEED TO CUT A "LARGE PORT" into the bottom of the baffles! ALL baffles, not just these! A larger port than one might expect, 25% or more off the bottom side! Err on the side of caution go "Bigger is better" as it impacts the air volume of the speaker's throw. Too small a port will yield horrible results! Most installers know this but the DIY types may not. Either the instruction sheets weren't clear enough or you tossed them out with the box without reading! They work very well when used correctly. For my installs I primarily use them as gasket to stop vibration and chatter the always happens to some extent between the sheet-metal and speaker baskets or adapter plates & speaker rings... with the secondary plus of keeping water drips off the speakers, nothing kills a speaker faster than a wet/damaged spider! They also reduce some road noises from the speaker region so the speaker sounds clearer. Also very important, try to cut a similar port in each baffle so that all equal speakers have equal ports for equal speaker throws for equal outputs. If you're skipping steps, skip baffles altogether.

Pros: Works awesome when installed and ported properly properly. Provides the best gasket, much better than foam tape to eliminate chatter between sheet-metal and speaker basket and/or fitment rings. Reduces road-noise "through" speaker. Sound deadening sheets like dynamat only do the surrounding sheet-metal not the speaker itself. Keeps water out of speaker bits.

Cons: 1. MEN generally install A/V equipment and we men never read instructions... 2. INSTRUCTIONS they need to be read and understood because: 3.Sounds horrible if you don't install them properly and leave baffles un-ported. 4.Would be nice if the speaker ports were pre-cut... thus eliminating most user error and by making port sizes uniform it would also improve "out-of-box" use and general sound quality. BUT Pre-cut ports would also prevent tune-ability...

Crutchfield response on

38 of 39 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

DownieTD from Stonington, CT on 2/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did the trick. Easy to install. Nice to know these types of products exists for car door speakers

Pros: easy to install

Cons: a little pricey for what they are

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Spokane WA on 9/30/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took too much clarity from the speakers. Removed them 2 days after installing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Galveston,Tx on 7/12/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They fitted the around the speakers nice, just a little thicker then I thought

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Don't waste your money

erik from Denver, CO on 7/4/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not sure what speakers these are designed for, but they actually make your speakers sound worse. When I bought these for my car, I forgot that 99% of 4-6.5" speakers that we all buy are made for infinite baffels - that is to say, they are made to work in no enclosure, like an unsealed door with holes everywhere. When you put these behind your speaker, you are creating a mini-enclosure and limiting the speaker dynamics. I installed these, had absolutely NO bass from my 6.5" component. I removed them, and the bass and midbass returned. I suppose you could cut the bottom half out and still use them as a shield from water dripping down inside your doors, but I just yanked them and was so much happier. For the record, they might work for really, really, really terrible, old speakers that have no bass response in the first place and were coincidentally designed for a 0.1 ft^3 enclosure, but really, if you're looking at these, you're looking for bass in the wrong place.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 14 found this helpful

Boom Mat seems to work!

KT from ECity,NC on 3/13/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put a set of these behind my Infinity Reference speakers in the front of my Sequoia. It sound great. I can only assume that the Boom Mat is helping because I have not tried the speakers without the Boom Mat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

If you think you need it...

db from Iowa on 2/12/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is exactly as it looks. Frankly, I think it could be half of the cost and the company would still make excellent profit. As for my personal experience, I purchased these hoping to reduce the rattling that my front speakers were experiencing. Upon installing, I realized that the screws weren't tight enough and that was the buzzing I was hearing (needed bigger screws for the pre-threading). After I installed the baffles, it ruined my sound stage and I'm still trying to correct it, but it just isn't the same. I'll probably be taking them out if I can't get it set up right again. A well-designed car already has weather-protection for the speakers. I think the "protection" element is just a gimick. If you think you need it, or you want to see if it sounds better, you'll find what you're looking for here. But frankly, I don't think I needed them to begin with. 1999 Chrysler 300m.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Had to get longer screws

Paul from Orlando. FL on 2/4/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The screws that came with the speaker brackets were too short for the foam. Worked fine after making a trip to Home Depot for longer screws.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Jun from Seal Beach CA on 1/18/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It did what it was suppose to by protecting the magnet side of the speakers from moisture. Leaving the speaker fully covered on the backside caused a 'droneing'' sound. I had to remove/cut bottom 1/4~1/2 of the Boom Mat in order to releave the back pressure problem.(out-of-phase)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-1/2" Speaker Baffles

Duncan from Albuquerque, NM on 11/24/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is easy to use. Just poke a small hole at the very bottom (this is important) for the speaker wire and then slip it in before screwing the speaker to the door. In my 15+ years of installing I haven't seen an easier way to protect a speaker from the water that gets inside the door or that improves sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

didnt work!

brian from brooklyn park,mn on 1/15/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i was getting water in my door speakers of my 2002 honda civic,and hoped these baffles would keep them dry. they might have,except the sound quality of the speaker went south! i have a set of polk component speakers and the sound after installation was very poor. on a whim i decided to cut the baffle in half to try and still keep the water out yet restore the sound quality,and the sound returned to very good so now im hoping the half coverage will help my water problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

23 of 35 found this helpful

TOP