Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
246 469 441 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
246 469 441 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Regular: 4-1/4" depth)

MFR # 050340

Boom Mat 6-3/4

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Regular: 4-1/4" depth)

MFR # 050340

51 reviews
View this product

High Quality Baffles

Beth from Nashua, NH on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These foam baffles were much thicker than I expected and will definitely protect my speakers better from dust, dirt and road crud than I expected...and help isolate the sound some too. I am very pleased with the quality so far!

Pros: Thick & well made Available in different depths to accommodate your car's door Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Haines City, FL on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great they brought back the sound i wanted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

JP from Crofton, MD on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks to Jess for recommending these. Certainly keeps highs and mids in focus. Modified slightly by cutting out the bottom third to preserve bass response, which was actually recommended by Crutchfield in the product page write up.

Pros: Solid construction, reduces vibration and keeps sound focused in the cabin.

Cons: Needs minor modification with a box cutter or Xacto knife.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't buy if you care about sound base

Guest from Gainesville, FL on 5/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is misleading. It's kill all the base from all my new Kickers speakers upgraded. At first I was thinking that Kicker speakers don't do the job and very disappointed. But no, this speaker Baffles caused the issues. The packaging doesn't warn you anything about this. Wasted my time and time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker baffles

Crutchfield customer from Lilburn, GA on 5/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are worth the money to keep from losing sound into the car door. I would purchase again.

Pros: Makes speakers sound better. Reduces loss of sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 4/3/2019

2012 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install and really helped with sound!

Pros: Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from North Benton, OH on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works wonderfully

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Worcester, MA on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these to make rain guards for my drivers and not for what they are actually intended for. I cut them up so that only a portion is actually use over the woofer in the door to keep the water dripping down from getting into the voice coil and ruining the driver. For an actual enclosure I'm not so sure these things would be stiff enough to work as one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke Rapids, NC on 3/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got them to protect the speakers from moisture. the old factory speakers were not working because the moisture was getting to them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Deltona, FL on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speaker baffles not only make the speaker sound better but protect them from dust & other contaminants.

Pros: Very well made & easy to install

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had some problems fitting, because of doors. Some modifications.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Ozark, MO on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a small price to pay to make sure my $200 speakers stay out of the elements and help keep the sound quality at its max potential. The factory door speaker had standing water in the connection. I can guarantee that won't happen on my new speakers.

Pros: Keeps speakers out of weather, keeps outside noise from interfering with speaker audio

Cons: If you could call taking 5 seconds longer to install a con, that would be the only con.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does exactly I was needed to be done

Edmund N from Belleville, NJ on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The desired effect that I wanted was achieved by tightening the bass response from the four door speakers and focusing on the mid to mid-bass range. The subwoofer took care of the rest. The baffles help to keep the sound focused into the vehicle instead of rattling around the doors.

Pros: Great material,

Cons: A little difficult to cut.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Battle Ground, WA on 4/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They do what I purchased them for, a little bulky to install but didn't have too much of a hassle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good product

Crutchfield customer from House Springs, MO on 4/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it was a easy install lots of basic features that make it perfect choice.

Pros: easy to install

Cons: price is a little high considering what it is made up. although works perfect.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Chad from West Chester, OH on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These fit perfectly on the front doors of my chrysler 200s. Protects the speakers from the rain very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood, IL on 10/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did just what I needed. I did cut out the bottom side to let the speaker breathe. Sounds great. Fit was a little tight. Probably could of used the 6 1/2" set.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Joe from Ballston Spa, NY on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have to use adapters in newer F-150 which would rattle at higher volumes. These took care of that and added nice mid-low punch. Don't forget to cut out a port on the down facing surface.

Pros: No more rattle and enhanced sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Jason from Pasadena, Md on 7/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a fan... while the concept of these is a good idea, they totally hindered the sound of my alpine spr 60 c's. They did help with road noise, but until I removed them I had very little mid bass. Speakers sounded 100 times better without these baffles

Pros: Protect speakers from the elements

Cons: Hinder sound quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean up your Room & protect the Boom

Shawn from Murfreesboro, TN on 7/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality/thickness seemed sufficient. Cut a "hole" in the back, at the bottom for the wires to come out. Increased hole size until the speakers seemed to have sufficient air flow (based on CF recommendation). Hole was about 3-4" - not round but worked fine. Installed behind JBL Stage 600C speakers in American International NSB710 mounts. 2002 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab - front doors.

Pros: Durable, flexible, improve sound and protect from water.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Matts

Roel from Loveland, CO on 6/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a difference these boom matts make, wow, the sound now is clearer than ever, plus keeps dirt and water from the speaker. Also keeps the road noise from destroying the speaker.

Pros: Makes the bass sound deeper longer and keeps the road noise out, so the sound is clear coming out the the speaker.

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Vicksburg, Ms on 6/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Hollister, CA on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very useful features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mini enclosure

JP from Clarksburg, MD on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome mid bass

Pros: Inexpensive. Effective. Easy.

Cons: Make sure you have window clearance in doors. These can add depth to speakers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Jeremy from Ohio on 2/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like good sounding speakers but even the best speakers sound like trash with an improper install... These are great for adding the mid-bass that you paid for not to mention the weather protection you get.

Pros: Just read the review

Cons: There are none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Matthew from Orange, TX on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality, and I'm sure for certain applications they work great - however not mine! I installed 4 of these with my new speakers and after a week, I pulled them out. The sound was much better -without- these installed - your results may vary!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker baffels

Randy from Hillsboro, Or on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Insulate speakers easy install

Pros: Nice product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Brandon from Ft Collins, CO on 10/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too big and cumbersome as I did my own install. I couldn't make them work and sent them back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Protection

Troy from West Jordan, UT on 9/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for water protection, not to try to improve sound quality. I thought mine were too large at first, but they actually fit just fine for my 6.75" speakers. They form a nice gasket between the back of the speaker and the mounting surface, and it's easy to cut out the 1/4 of the foam that faces the bottom of the door. The result is a well-protected speaker that sounds great.

Pros: Protection from water leaking through the door/window seam. Fits Serves as a foam gasket between the speaker and the mounting surface

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from AZ on 9/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was skeptical at first, but I think they're worth the money. Made rear bass sound warmer & speakers sit more snugly. Easy to install. On Crutchfield's recommendation, cut out a quarter-size hole at the bottom.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

If your ok trying them

pharmboy35 from Duluth, MN on 7/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought them to create more low end in my new JBL 6 3/4 inch speakers for my 2005 Corolla. Simply, they were too big and interfered with the window. Had to completely cut the back off and was left with an inch or so of the foam circling the back of the speaker. Easy to work with, decent quality foam.

Pros: easy to work with, good quality foam

Cons: too big for application, desired "bass" effect non-existent due to modification.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom mat

Daryl m from Bakersfield ca on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works puts some deep being the speakers without they sound hollow

Pros: Light Easy to cut

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Kelly T. from stanley, nc on 3/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice thick material and absorbs vibration but take note these come in packs of 2, i ordered 4 thinking they were individual

Pros: nice fit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice

SAMM from HOMESTEAD,fl on 3/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never used them before, it really helped on the bass. Jus cut a small hole in the bottom and that's it...i shall recommend it to all my friends

Pros: Perfect

Cons: Should come in a set of 4

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not good for sound.

Mark from Michigan on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a prior review on these boom mats but was not able to do a proper before and after because I replaced factory speakers with new ones. Yesterday I replaced all four door speakers (front and rear) in my HHR with new aftermarket speakers along with boom matt baffles. I was amased at how Dead the new speakers where after I installed them. I knew something was wrong as I put out a lot of cash for those speakers and expected a huge improvment over the factory speakers. Today I removed the boom matt baffles and was amased at how good those new speakers sound Without the baffles. It only makes sense though as I wrote in my first review that if you mount a set of speakers that are designed to work best in free air and you install them in a small, almost air tight space they are not going to have the bass or mid response they are supposed to. I did give them one star because they would be usefull as sold to be protection from the elements if that is a problem.

Pros: would keep the speakers dry if that is what you need.

Cons: Dampens the speakers performance.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Boom Mat from New York on 12/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great. sound from new speakers with mats is great. Some cutting was needed in the rear. Would buy again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Junk

Suburban Sasquatch from Hawaii on 10/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product but did not improve sound from new speakers, I had to remove them after hearing the difference. I installed the back speakers with these baffles and the front speakers without. After hearing the difference, it was a no brainer. I pulled the baffles for triple the bass output.

Pros: Easy to install, looks great when done, for sure protects the speaker.

Cons: Didn't make the new speakers I purchase sound better made them sound worse, had to remove them (the speaker baffles).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Size matters

Bryan H from Wisconsin on 6/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like others here the size was almost too big, felt like I needed a shoehorn to squeeze these into the speaker cutouts

Pros: cheap, though material

Cons: smallish, might impede some installs since clearance may be an issue.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Baffles

Steven G from New York on 4/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my use

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Connecticut on 4/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the slim line 6 3/4" baffles with JBL 6 3/4" speakers. The slim baffles were more than enough depth for the speaker. However, I probably could have used 6 1/2" baffles because the diameter of the baffle flange was too large. They fit, but barely. I had to squish the baffle to reduce its diameter to fit the hole in the door, and give the speaker flange something to sit on. I tested the new speakers with and without the baffles. The baffles definitively helped the clarity of the sound by reducing the reverberations in the door cavity.

Pros: Protect the speaker Improved the clarity of the speakers

Cons: Seem to be manufactured too large

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Mark from Michigan on 4/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boom mat 6 3/4 where easy to install but I cannot actually do a before and after because I installed them while installing a new set of speakers.

Pros: easy to install with new or oem speakers. The material they are made of is thicker than they look in photos.

Cons: The only question I have is that when installed they create a closed box enclosure behind the speaker. Most car speakers are desinged to work best in free air.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does its job

a1 bussin from Georgia on 3/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i ordered these to go with my new door speakers because the old ones got ruined from water damage somehow. so far so good

Pros: does its job

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Inexpensive speaker protection

BrianP from Georgia on 12/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boom Mat protects the back of your speakers, is inexpensive and easy to use. I found out too late that the full-depth version I got wouldn't clear the window, but that was easily fixed and only compromises the protection a little. (To test, remove the interior trim, roll down the window, and with a rigid rule, measure from the inside surface of the door to the rolled-down window glazing.) If your Boom Mat extends beyond that, just take some scissors and cut the back off, allowing an extra 1/4" or so for window clearance.

Pros: Inexpensive, Protects speakers, isolates speaker frame from direct contact with door structure.

Cons: You don't know your clearance until AFTER getting inside the door..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

don't install new speakers without this type of product

EK from Houston Texas on 9/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plain and simple don't install new speakers without this type of product. The sound gain is amazing. All the listed benefits are there.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice

Stan from Michigan on 8/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good product increases sound quality and output and lenthens the life of the speaker

Pros: easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

05 Jeep Wrangler

ErinB from Charleston, SC on 5/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced factory Jeep sub. There was a lot of air space, in such a small enclosure. These were the perfect size to solve that issue.

Pros: Slim-line are perfect size for Jeep sub box

Cons: no complaints

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stupid me

everyone is an expert from minneapolis on 4/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately I used to work in plastics and injection molding. I am not amused or impressed. I purchased these only to prevent damage from water leaking onto the new speakers. Acoustically I should know better. The full or slimline will work in my car. I give these a 1 because Crutchfiled got the correct part in the box. They were only mildly crumpled up. The order was on time enough and I am happy so far with the other items. I got 6.75" speakers and 6.75" BOOM BOOM MATS. But for some reason the speaker falls to the bottom of the baffle and misses the flange one is instructed to trim. STUPID ME. Fortunately, knock on plastic, there is no trace of rain leaking into my doors after 14 years. There is actually stock noise damping insulation and sealing in the door already. I would send these back. However, the extra pollution for $10 is just not worth it. If nothing else I can wear them as dunce caps for not analyzing properly.

Pros: These might make okay planters to sprout seeds in. Lightweight food and water dishes for the dog. Might be dishwasher safe and microwaveable. Might be able to cut them and use them in a loudspeaker/horn cabinet.

Cons: Have not figured out how to suffocate myself with them yet.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 14 found this helpful

Boom mat seems like a gimmick

Chris from Arkansas on 7/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Probably wasn't needed but used a set to try them out. There was a lot of air space where I used them, so basically used them to reduce it.

Pros: Supposed to protect the speakers from the elements

Cons: Making holes in them to mount the speakers. Pretty much have to install the speaker twice.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6-3/4" Speaker Baffles

Jason from Lacona ny on 4/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality great value. Fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Must have for door speakers

Kestas from Frisco TX on 4/9/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a must have for door speakers. They reduce road noise and give a more consistant base with a much fuller rich sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Easy to install

Duncan from Albuquerque,NM on 11/10/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is a great way to protect the new speakers in your car door from the weather, as well as providing better sound. It is very easy to put this product behind the speaker just before you install the speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

TOP