Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Regular: 4-1/2" depth)

MFR # 050370

Boom Mat 6

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Regular: 4-1/2" depth)

MFR # 050370

62 reviews
View this product

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install.. helps with the bass!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Jorge from WEBSTER, FL on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made. They cover and seal very good. Would buy again. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great idea!!

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Heights, CA on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install with new speakers. Great idea for sealing in the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Guest from Pevely, mo on 4/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fitment and made the 6x8's sound so much better and keeps the hollow noise out also keeps the rattling down in the doors

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker Baffles

Doug from Covington, TN on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great.. Just poke a small hole for your speaker wires and install.. Simple as that.. As far as performance I really do not have a way to compare versus stock system since I replaced everything at once on top of the fact I completely covered my floors, doors & trunk with sound deadening material plus stuffed Poly-fil anywhere I thought needed..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Worcester, MA on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these to make rain guards for my drivers and not for what they are actually intended for. I cut them up so that only a portion is actually use over the woofer in the door to keep the water dripping down from getting into the voice coil and ruining the driver. For an actual enclosure, I'm not so sure these things would be stiff enough to work as one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 12/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Keeps speakers dry and extends Live of product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good baffles

fred from St Clr Shores, MI on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work well only complaint is that they seemed larger than they were supposed to be, cause i got the slim ones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Julio from Oshkosh, WI on 8/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit for my 2008 Mazda 3 Hatchback (6x8 speakers). Had to fold some parts to make room for the window when it rolls down. Definitely needed for my car because water sometimes leaks behind door panel. That's why one of my Bose speakers blew. Plus it makes my pair if infinitys sound great.

Pros: Material is flexible. Helps create a nice fit for speaker well. Helps improve the sound of your speaker too.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Michael from Fairdale, KY on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not fit in my 01 crown vic in the doors or rear deck as told they would. They are too deep, interfered with window operations in door and hit cross bars in trunk in tge deck installation.

Pros: Good idea

Cons: Did not fit.

Crutchfield response on 1/9/2018
Michael, we're sorry these baffles didn't work out for you. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for everyone

D. Woods from Shorewood, IL on 12/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I initially purchased these speaker baffles because the component woofer made my front door sound like a box chevy with a trunk full of gorillas trying to get out. Okay it rattled, but maybe not that bad, still it was annoying. So I figured why not try these out. If they work out well, I'll purchase another set for the rear door. I have to admit my rattle problem was no more, because it killed the low notes 100%. The vocals dramatically improved, which is great if I had a subwoofer. So I tried cutting a hole on the bottom as recommended. That only brought back maybe half of my low notes. Safe to say I will attempt to return these. Unless the music you listen to doesn't have bass or you have a dedicated subwoofer, these baffles will be great for you.

Pros: enhanced vocals

Cons: deleted all low notes

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Hawaii on 7/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 4/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. As advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from READING, PA on 3/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWESOME PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Midland, Tx on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit nicely, really improved the sound of the speakers!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

happy customer

jeff from Spartanburg, SC on 1/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and seems to improve sound quality.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fitment Issues in 2005 Ford F-150 Lariat

Kevin from Framingham, MA on 10/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I get the purpose of these and ordered them for my speaker refit project. I was particularly interested in using them to protect the new speakers, not so much for modifying the sound quality. As it worked out, they weren't shallow enough to clear the power windows in my 2005 Ford F-150 Lariat. Otherwise, they are very easy to work with and a great idea.

Pros: Great speaker protection, very easy to work with

Cons: Be careful to order the correct depth for your project

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for eliminating bass

HAL from CA on 8/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Contrary to all acoustic principles, these will cause any speaker to deaden all bass. After installing in 2012 Escape, I tried with one cappy factory speaker and one Rockfield Fosgate P1683 6 x 8 with a boom mat. The factory junk speaker had far more bass than the Rockfield Fosgate. There is no room once the speaker is enclosed inside the boom mat to allow any speaker to reproduce bass. The larger the enclosure, the more bass.It's an acoustic principal. In fact, the product info makes no claims about increasing bass. I cannot recommend.

Pros: May protect from water or rattles.

Cons: Deadens all bass from any speaker.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

best investment

KenC from Indiana on 8/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Originally installed new Rockford Fostgate 6x8 without these in my door, but sound was boxy and could hear stuff vibrating (buzzing). Later bought and installed these baffles and was amazed by the better sound quality. Great investment.

Pros: Greatly improved sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ford E-350 Passenger Van Tail Doors

Arthur M from Lee, NH on 6/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked perfect for my application. I did a slight cut to pass the wires through and definitely noticed the difference from just mounting new speakers to the mounts.

Pros: Fit as described and just needed slight trimming to fit flush in sheet metal.

Cons: None unless you were looking for pre made wire holes. Otherwise none from my need.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must have

Carlos E. from San antonio, tx on 5/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really helps the speakers reach their potential

Pros: Better bass and responsiveness

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Michael from Papillion, NE on 4/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't end up installing these as it was obvious they were too deep and would interfere with the window going up and down. I suppose I could have cut and cobbled them in somehow but didn't want to hassle with it.

Pros:

Cons: Too deep and would interfere with window.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

phserda

Pete S from Eloy,Az on 3/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works as described on webpage no installation issues

Pros: Easy to install gave my 3 way aftermarket speakers a better sound also using my Bluetooth phone thru radio speakers picks up less noise than before

Cons: A little big fitting thru speaker holes but worked okay didn't have to cut mount

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cool Product

Luke from frisco, TX on 2/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool product installs easy and make the bass tighter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker baffles

Tim from Cincinnati, Oh on 11/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They helped make my 6 by 8 component kickers sound like they had more bass

Pros: Easy to install makes bigger sound better

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Bass

Joe P. from San Marcos, Texas on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I install the boom mats when installing Polk 5x7/6x8 coaxial speakers in my brothers truck. After cutting a small hole for speaker wire to pass thru and a 1" diameter hole on the bottom to help speaker resonate I put them on the Polk speakers. Once the installion was complete I turn on stereo to hear the speakers. I could notice a big improvement on treble and bass response. I highly recommend this boom mats because they do help improve speaker performance and protect them from harmful elements.

Pros: Big bass improvement

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not fit 96 Ford Crown Vic

Jason from Arkansas on 3/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too big for my car. Would get in the way of the window. Also did not mesh well with the speaker or door. Even if it had fit, it would have looked very sloppy. Love the idea but in the end these were horrible. This has nothing to do with Crutchfield though as they are awesome. Great customer service.

Pros: None that I could find since they would not work.

Cons: Looks sloppy. Does not fit well. Too big as window hits the foam when it comes down. Just a disaster all together.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good product

Chris from El Paso TX on 3/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Protects speakers from potential exterior elements (like water) without affecting sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Waste of resouces

motorman from Northern Calif on 2/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Garbage; does not fit the front door of a 2002 F250. I hacked one up to try to get it too work, but it bunched up when trying to put the speaker in it, then the speaker doesn't fit and the door panel won't go over it too. I purposely got the slim fit for this application- not even close. Lost $ trying to do the right thing, so now my speakers are unprotected (just like stock)

Pros: no pros, just cons

Cons: do not buy for a Ford f250 front door install

Crutchfield response on 2/10/2015
Speaker baffles are a good idea for protecting your speakers and improving the way they sound. In fact, there are some vehicles where baffles are absolutely needed in order for new speakers to sound good at all. And then there are vehicles like this one where space is so tight that there just isn't enough room for the baffle. Sorry to hear they didn't work out - we have refunded you the cost of the baffles.

1 of 2 found this helpful

speaker pockets

Crutchfield customer from Hortense, Ga on 12/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product.

Pros: Helps with sound and bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ok i guess

Mark W from Wichita, KS on 9/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I placed these in my doors to protect from water and increase sound. I have not noticed an increase in sound from doors, but I have not finished installing the remainder of speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

BobM from La Marque, TX on 7/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit well and work great.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Pollar bluff, Mo. on 4/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great in my f-250, add more bass to speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does it's job

AG from North Hills, CA on 3/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works like it's supposed too. Protects the door speakers andsounds better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

frank from Austin, TX on 3/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product sounds better and I can turn it up more now plus I needed them I could see rust on the speakers terminals on a 2008 lincoln navigator

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom mat

Crutchfield customer from Bremen ga on 3/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom MAt 6x8 Baffle

RH from Sacramento on 12/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product that protects speakers from water in the door and improves bass response.

Pros: Well made great fit. thick material..

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

An OK product...for really just one purpose

RichM from Rahway, NJ on 8/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As other reviewers have stated before, buy this product to protect your speakers but not for better sound.

Pros: Sound protection but no real sound improvement.

Cons: Can be tricky to install securely

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat. No sound improvement. Save your money.

Henry from Charleston, SC on 6/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speaker baffles to me used in my Mazda 626 2001. My car audio installer tried using these with the rear speakers (the front 6x8 section had no room for speaker baffles at all) but the speaker response was poor. Without the baffles the sound was much better. I gave them a shot, they under performed so I'll probably throw them in the garbage. Not worth the hassle to send them back. Maybe let the kids make a hat out of them. I gave two stars because the quality of the product was still good. They just didn't work for me.

Pros: They didn't work for me. Sound was poor.

Cons: I won't spend any money on these for future systems.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Speaker baffles

Matt from Bellefontaine , ohio 43311 on 6/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great for doors with no insulation in them or for decks that are open to the trunk. They help with sound and bass quality. Easy to use also.

Pros: Easy of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat

Micah C. from Vestal, NY on 5/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these with all four speakers. They don't work with the door speakers though, my fault not theirs. When used with the rear deck speakers they really help direct the sound forward and out of the trunk.

Pros: Really help.

Cons: Don't use with door speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cool idea, but not enough room.

Robert from Tucson, AZ on 8/20/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When ordering speakers, the baffles looked like a great idea. When installing the speakers, there was not enough room for the baffles to fit. Oh, well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not worth it

Vince from San Jose on 6/30/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dont waste your money on these.I installed my speakers with and without and the only thing they do is protect the speaker from water.The sound wasnt any better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not for Ford F150

Will from Huntsville, AL on 5/21/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These baffles were one of three recommended baffle accessories. I have never used a baffle and thought I would give it a try. The baffle was way too big for the factory opening. After cutting down the flange of the boom mat to get it to fit the face of the opening, you had to cut a section out from the circumference of the baffle to get it to fit in the opening, (otherwise it prevented the speaker from being installed). After finally getting them to fit, I cranked up the stereo and was surprised at the results. It helped the mids and highs but the bass was muffled. I again modified the baffle by cutting half off of the back out to allow air movement for the speaker. The bass was better still not as good as the factory speaker. On the third try, I threw the Boom Mats away, installed the speakers without the baffles and rocked out! The speakers sounded much better without the baffles! Don't waste your money! I don't know why this is a recommended accessory for an F-150!?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Does its Job

FRED from Saint George UT on 5/12/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bought these to help keep moisture and dirt out of my speakers, accidentally ordered too deep of ones so had to trim them a bit but that was my fault.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good protection

Mike M from letssgo68@gmail.com on 4/7/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great for protecting speakers in my 07 Mazda6 doors. I had my new speakers installed for 2-3 days and they already got drops of water on them from a rainy day, so these boom mat baffles were a must. Now I'm sure they'll stay dry and clean. I do notice in my front doors the window does hit them just slightly when lowered all the way down, but being they're foam it cant hurt it. The baffles definitely seem over-sized, and required a little cutting of excess material, but such is life when you're installing a generic product. If they fit better they would get 5 stars from me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best speaker protection for the money!

WaTexan from Washington...the state on 3/2/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

IF you are going to invest in upgraded your sound from OEM, I would recommend this product. I read all the reviews and decided that it would serve me best to use them to keep water away from my door speakers. To top that, I have F-150 SCrew and one pair did the trick for all my doors, I cut them in half horizontally and placed them on the top portion of the speaker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Mike_Ohio from Hamilton, Ohio on 1/25/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are getting decent speakers, these are a must-have. For the cost, you are crazy to not buy them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A must!

Mike from Corvallis OR. on 10/21/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You wont believe you didn't want to spend the money. Insulates empty space behind speaker, sound difference is noticable. Keeps door speakers dry and clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x8" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi TX on 10/9/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed these in my 03 Tacoma the only thing they are good for is a gasket for the mounting flange of the speaker. They were way over sized for my 6x8s and it took a lot of fitting and trimming to get them to work. if you leave the whole Baffle intact it really cuts down on you're sound quality. I finally cut out the whole back side of the baffle and what a difference this makes. with that being said only buy these if you are looking for a speaker gasket to prevent vibrations and cut out the back side for sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Fits like a Saddle on a Sow

Crutchfield customer from McCall, ID on 5/25/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these to compliment 2 sets of Pioneer 6x8 speakers I recently installed in my '06 F150 Super Cab. I'm not sure how they measure these but a 6x8 speaker falls down inside of these completely, mounting flange and all. If the speakers measured 8x10 the speaker mounting flange might stay on the top lip but a 6x8, no way. After multiple attempts at trying to cram these 10 lbs monsters into a 5 lbs opening I finally gave up and installed the speakers without them. I don't know if these were oversize or what but if they aren't then I would recommend not using them where space might be a concern.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good choice for protecting your speakers

Crutchfield customer from Williamsport, PA on 5/1/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in my Mazda 3 with 4-infinity kappa 682.9cf's 6"x8". Heard a strong vibration coming from my back drivers side door from the boom mat vibrating up against the main cross brace inside the door, so i just pulled it out of the door more. It was my fault for buying boom mats that were too deep. They do sell them in other depths. But overall they do provide protection to the speakers if water gets into the doors and do improve the bass quality slightly. Overall a good buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

01 F250 with Factory radio Infinty speakers

Jeff from Artesia,NM on 5/1/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is TERRIBLE. tried them with infinity reference speakers and they distorted everything to the point I was going to send the whole setup back...... reinstalled everything with out these stupid things and I am completely happywith the speakers with them the speaker sounded as if you put a folded towel on top of them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

MAY CAUSE BASS DISTORTION

Bill from Raleigh, NC on 2/19/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these with infinity 6x8 6820cs woofers. Significant bass distortion was occurring at medium to high volumes. I ended up cutting out the bottoms of the boomats. Before I did this, the pressure wave from the woofers was bouncing off the bottom of the boomat and interfering with proper operation - they sounded as if the surround was broken.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome product !!!

Glenvall from Batesville, Arkansas on 6/6/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have never used these before. Just installed them with 4 6x8 Kenwoods in doors. They definitely improve the midbass !!! They also completely eliminated vibrations in the doors !!! These foam baffles are awesome and I would recommend them to anyone !!! Just cut a slit in the bottom side for the wires, which also allows for pressure release, and will retain the ability to keep the speakers clean and dry. Rock On !!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Okay...I think...

Casey from Texas on 6/5/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't really know if these made a difference at all. My intensions were to put them in all 4 doors, but the setup on the front doors would not allow these so they are just installed in the back. The back and the front pretty much sound the same to me, but they might make a noticable difference to you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Oooo....foam......

Kelly from The top of California on 3/23/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I guess these things are pretty cool. I needed to buy more stuff to get free shipping and these were the only thing I could think of, so I stuck them in. Can't say for sure if they sound any better since they went in with new speakers. They are easy to work with and went in smoothly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

They work

Shaun from Springfield, VA on 2/21/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To tell you the truth, I didn't expect these to work at all. To my surprise, they actually did. They made the lows a little punchier and the mids a little stronger. Since I'm running 4-way speakers it didn't do anything for the treble. I put these in both the doors and the rear deck on my 06 Mustang, there was a bigger difference in the front than the rear. I'd recommend these if you don't already have subs, otherwise the subs will just overpower the gains these make.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NICE & CRISP

Jetmd1967 from Romulus, MI on 2/15/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Baffles are very easy to install and they give my new speakers a Nice & Crisp, deeper sound. In addition they protect the backside of my speakers. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Quality-Easy Install

Chris from Southern California on 2/4/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The price is great. The quality is great. Make sure you check behind the door panels (with the windows down) to measure clearance. Crutchfield sells a shallow pair as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not too shabby.

Eric from Portland, OR on 11/16/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the other reviewer, I have an '05 Mustang and bought these when I got around to swapping out all four of my speakers. I have a confession -- I bought the baffles because they sent me over the minimum price for free shipping (making the baffles virtually free). That being said, these things are great. They're easy to install, really improve the sound quality, and are inexpensive. The foam is very easy to cut so it's no problem getting the wiring in and cutting them to fit after you've screwed the speaker down. The only other thing I feel I should mention is that they don't really have any other competition product from Crutchfield; there's no other product that does what they do. So, if you want this kind of thing, get them. If not, don't.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent baffles

Robert from Manteca, CA on 8/19/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally purchased these for weather protection inside the door of my 05 mustang. After hearing the tone difference in the speakers after installing the baffles into the doors i decided to install them in the back deck as well. There is a definate tone difference. A rich crisper sound. More sound and tone is channeled into the cab of the car instead of into the doors and trunk.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP