Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
519 409 152 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
519 409 152 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Regular: 4-1/2" depth)

MFR # 050380

Boom Mat 6

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Protect your speakers
Regular and slim-line sizes (Regular: 4-1/2" depth)

MFR # 050380

71 reviews
View this product

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work well, be sure to cut the lower half out of the back for the speaker to work properly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Townville, SC on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Logically they seem legit. In reality, they don't work with ram trucks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Lakeport, CA on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

work good but i had to trim around to fit my car properly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Complement any speaker

Pros: Protection

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Their good protection from water dripping on your new speakers when installed in car doors

Pros: Cheap insurance for your new investment

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Suffocating speaker sound

Nate from Florissant, MO on 11/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these in the door of my F150. Easy to install. Still a little too deep for the front doors and rubbed the windows when rolled fully down. Good protection for the speaker but reduces the airspace of the speaker. This resulted in lack of bass and chocked sound for full range speakers. Probably not a problem if you are not running full range speakers. I pulled these out after a few months and immediately heard the difference in my speakers.

Pros: Easy to install Protects speakers from outside elements

Cons: Not good for a full range speaker Takes away all bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Protect Your Speakers

Bob from ID on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these to protect the speaker from the weather. It's a small price to pay for protecting your expensive speakers. It has been worth it for me....I don't notice any sound difference with using an O.E. HU.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, MI on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having used these speaker baffles in other projects there was no doubt I would purchase the same baffles for my 1966 Chevelle project. They really do make a big difference with how a speaker sounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Horrible

Marciano from St Louis, MO on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These made the speakers sound choked on sound and made the bass nonexistent. DO NOT PURCHASE

Pros: keeps water out

Cons: makes speaker sound terrible

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, SC on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Douglass from Mansfield on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great soud

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Highland, CA on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not use in the front door of my 2005 Dodge Ram 3500 quad cab as the window regulator barely cleared the speaker frame.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Rylan from Saint George, UT on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works for what it's supposed to and provides nice insulation for the speakers, but foam doesn't seem to be that great for quality, and required quite a bit of trimming to install.

Pros: Seems to work well after install

Cons: Lower quality foam Tricky to fit into door panels

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boom support

Dustin from Kailua Kona, HI on 12/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These certainly add some midbass thump! Nice protection for my speakers too.

Pros: Cheap Quality addition

Cons: Tricky to fit in rear car deck

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speaker addition

JD from Lakeside, CA on 10/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. These took the shrill out of my speakers and gave them a much warmer tone. No longer do I have to have my treble and mid levels turned way down. Super easy to install and should be bought with all new speakers imho

Pros: Warmer speaker tones. Top end no longer hurts my ears. Used with Kixker KS speakers a great buy in themselfs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Rafael from Orlando, FL on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked for application of placing speakers and holding them in place more sturdily than just by them self. Great product, and sound does sound alittle better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Keith from Niceville, FL on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hard to say if these really do much for you. I have a Ram megacab; I thought there'd be plenty of room for these in my front doors. However the gears from my window assembly promptly tore one of mine and after a month it's causing a squeak while putting my window all the way down. Not necessarily the products issue, just something to consider before purchasing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from San German, PR on 2/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Give me a nice sound in the back. Good product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Not compatible with 2018 Crosstrek

Brian from Santa Fe, NM on 2/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While these may or may not help with sound quality, they actually added too much bulk to the install on my '18 Crosstrek preventing 2 of the door clips from clicking into place. It was really a matter of millimeters that prevented these from working and I've notified Crutchfield so hopefully they won't sell them for '18 Crosstreks anymore.

Pros:

Cons: not for 2018 Crosstrek

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tossed both of them into the garbage. Only installed one, testing the fit, when the window came down it tore the back off of it, so I didn't install the other one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Now tight bass

john from Holmdel, NJ on 1/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great Tightened up bass a intended

Pros: Fit was perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bass reduction

Crutchfield customer from Saraland, AL on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 2005 Dodge Ram doors. They reduced bass significantly. Had to cut bottom out to get sound back and still have protection.

Pros: Quality material

Cons: Reduces bass response.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

William from North Beach, MD on 11/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WILL NOT work with Jeep Patriot or Compass

Dan from Culver City, Ca on 11/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, so I said that I was going to leave a review of these Boom Mat speaker baffles once I got them and installed them. I did have very high hopes and really thought I was going to be leaving a great 5 star review. Not the case. To start, although Crutchfield and the rep were great, these were never suggested to me when I purchased my JBL speakers that I still love. After having my new speakers for a few weeks, I'm feeling that I needed something to "tighten up" the sound. In other words, I feel too much of my sound is being lost in the door cavity of my Jeep. After doing a lot of research on the baffles and reading many love/hate reviews, I decided to go ahead and order them. For me and what I was trying to do, it seemed like the right thing. Got them yesterday and went to install them last night. Not good! First, the baffles just seemed way too big and they have a lot of extra material around the edges. Before I could even begin to try and install them, I had to trim the edges and thus never able to actually "return" them. In fact, there is NO WAY to even try them without cutting in some way, thus a return policy is useless on baffles. However, my biggest disappointment came in the fact that my Jeep opening is designed where there is no way for these baffles to fit in. Why doesn't Crutchfield know this? So now more cutting is required, but still no way to fit them in. Bottom line? Although I still feel they would have helped my situation, I will never know. UPDATED 11/22/17: I did leave another review on here the other day, but didn't put something VERY important in the review. Although I think these baffles would be a great thing to do to clean up your sound, just be 100% they will work on your specific vehicle! WARNING: If you have a 2007 through 2017 Jeep Patriot or 2007 to 2016 Jeep Compass, DO NOT order any baffles for your 6x9 door speakers!! There is no way to install them unless you totally cut them up to the point where they will not help at all. I decided to do this second review because I really wish someone else (with a similar Jeep) would have posted this before I wasted my money. I'm not blaming Crutchfield. It's my fault/responsibility, but I wish they would have known the baffles would not work.

Pros: none

Cons: Bad design, no way for me to know they would not work in my Jeep, very expensive for what they are, and no way to know if they will work till you begin to "cut them to fit" and now they are non-returnable. UPDATED 11/22/17: Just plain will not work in my Jeep.

Crutchfield response on 11/22/2017
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support team reached out to Dan to issue a refund. We do not recommend speaker baffles for this vehicle.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Buena Vista, CO on 10/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to use. Probably better than infinite baffle of trunk or door. Had to cut a port to allow woofer to breathe. Bass much better with about a two inch port.

Pros: keeps speaker clean and dry. Not convinced of any sound improvement.

Cons: Had to cut port for woofer. No guidelines for port size or location.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Joe from Ballston Spa, NY on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have to use adapters in newer F-150 which would rattle at higher volumes. These took care of that and added nice mid-low punch. Don't forget to cut out a port on the down facing surface.

Pros: No more rattle and enhanced sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Jeffrey from Newburgh, NY on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality of product was good They did not work in my truck, interfered with the window mechanism.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/23/2017
Jeffrey, we're sorry the baffles didn't work out for you. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!!! My van (2013 Grand Caravan) was rattling too much in the rear. Once I placed these in, no more rattle. You do lose some volume, but the bass is amazing. This was the perfect recommendation from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Nick from Long Island City, NY on 7/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't fit in Speaker Well. Waste of Time and Money ...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/4/2017
Nick, we're sorry you're disappointed with your baffles. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

excellent baffle

alexander from Kentucky on 6/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product, it makes a curround for your 6x9 which makes it sound better, plus if you have subs in your trunk this helps protect it from the force of the subs moving air!! very sturdy.

Pros: easy to work with, strong

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat; Didn't Use

Adam from Chillicothe, MO on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't able to use it because I couldn't get the speakers bolted back down with the boom mat in.

Pros: Seems like a good concept

Cons: Didn't fit in Speaker Well

Crutchfield response on 6/20/2017
Adam, we're sorry you were unable to use your baffles. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't Fit

Brent from Carlsbad, CA on 5/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sales associate on the phone was very insistent that I add these to my order. She told me they would fit. They didn't. My window got hung up on them and they tore. I had to take my door apart all over again and take them out. Crutchfield did refund my money.

Pros: I guess they weren't too expensive?

Cons: Didn't fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gave my 6x9's a nice sound bed for my car!

Pros: Worth the extra $ for enhancing sound. Especially trunk speakers

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Moody texas on 1/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit . Thicker more durable material than some others .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Northridge,California on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my 2015 Durango's front door speakers. The JBL speakers from Crutchfield sure helped as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Don from San Antonio, TX on 10/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Will have to cut and modify quite a bit to fit 2005 Nissan Frontier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Brandon from Ft Collins, CO on 10/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too big and cumbersome. I couldn't use them since I did my own install. I imagine a professional could get them in easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Guest from Harrisonburg, VA on 9/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These help make the sound of my speakers better and also protect them as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Wv on 9/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker Baffels

Crutchfield customer from Niagara Falls, NY on 5/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speaker baffels were a disappointment, I ordered the shallow mount baffels, when trying to install them in my door, they did not fit even after trimming them. It seems like these will only work on a back deck.

Pros:

Cons: Do not tapper with speakers, so do not fit in doors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

William R from Fairfield, CA on 5/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does a great job protecting the speaker and keeping the sound in the car not in the trunk

Pros: Easy to install for my application. Will by another set for my other car price is right

Cons: By with other product so you can get free shipping, because shipping my cost almost as much as the item

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Do not install without cutting out bottom

Sean from Hugo, MN on 5/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried these boom mats and they suck the life out of your music - mid-range becomes hollow and muddy and there is no bottom end. Cut the bottom out and your speakers come back to life. I ended up not installing them in my rears but I did leave them in the doors, except I cut out the back and bottom and left the top to protect the speaker from moisture. I honestly would not buy these again for car speakers because what's the point if you have to modify them anyway.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Ruins music quality, particularly mid-range and bass.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Jonnyjuggler from Quincy, IL on 4/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't beat the price or the service... Great place to shop..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

overall

Whalen from woolwine va on 2/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit great!!!! Seams to work well!!!!!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Well needed extra!

Rootsmusic from Richmond, VA on 1/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are some "extras" companies try to sell you that have no bearing. This is NOT one of those items. Sound deadening, vibration control, and directionality are critical components to a proper audio installation. The price is not a factor, nor is the difficulty of instillation.

Pros: Cost effective. Easy to install.

Cons: Not enough depth sizes available to fit every custom job.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product great price

Ken C from Washington on 8/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product at a great price, easy to install and does a great job of protecting your speakers

Pros: Great design, good price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Major sound improvement.

Crutchfield customer from Buds, Texas on 7/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing these eliminated the rattle at base notes in my Tundra.

Pros: Eliminates rattle

Cons: Require modification to fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Baffles

KATO from Florida on 3/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Sounding Material over Speaker.

Pros: Helps Speaker stabilize sound.

Cons: Sometimes it's just speaker adjustment that's needed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

6x9 boom mat

biggsteve from Kansas City, Mo on 1/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The boom mat speaker baffles seem to be well made but look like they have been mistreated while in the warehouse. Also seem to have been in said warehouse for a long period of time. Overall still where worth the money.

Pros: insulates against vibration. Helps seal speaker mount.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

Crutchfield customer from Harrisonburg, VA on 8/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They help out a lot. Helped tighten the bass in the speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It helps

JL from colorado on 8/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helps sound quality and ability to get it louder with out distorting. They are thick though and I had problems with depth and rolling down my windows

Pros: -sound quality (less distortion) -sound volume

Cons: -depth

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Useless

Cheesehead from Pago Pago, American Samoa on 4/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These will only work if there is plenty of extra room in the speaker cutout. Unfortunately, that is not the case with the factory cutouts on a 1997 Honda Accord. I had already trimmed the flange to fit, so into the trash they went.

Pros:

Cons: Will not fit in tight factory speaker cutouts.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mats for 6x9 Speakers

All Things VeeDub from Paxton, IL on 4/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked up these boom mats since the 6x9 speakers I had installed in the rear parcel tray in my 69 Beetle didn't seem to have much bass. After the install, seemed to help a bit since the speakers now have their own contained airspace. I used contact cement to glue them on to the underside of the parcel tray, and used a few staples to secure while the contact cement was curing to full strength.

Pros: Cheap, light and easy to install

Cons: Can't think of any cons. I like them enough where I may get some for my front speakers as well.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Helps keep your speakers safe in your door

Kevan from Volcano, HI on 3/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these because water running down my window was the cause of my old speakers going bad. I first installed them as the manufacture recommends- fully sealed and used rtv to seal off the speaker wire. The bass response was greatly reduced. I ended up doing what Crutchfield and many of the other reviewers recommend and cutting out the bottom to allow ported air. Now it sounds great and still does the job of preventing water from above.

Pros: Does protect your speakers if installed in a door

Cons: The manufactures instructions caused a reduction in speaker performance, you need to cut out the bottom to allow air to the rear of the speaker.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

decent product for the money

Toddfuel from o'fallon mo. on 3/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good product for the money . does what its recommended to do.

Pros: easy installation and keeps speaker from touching metal rear deck

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Just Fine

Rob K. from Pompton Lakes, NJ on 1/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These baffles will keep your new speakers free from moisture when mounted in doors. Just had to poke a small hole to fit the factory wiring up through the bottom.

Pros: Simple to install and with different depth choice these fit Perfect.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A little big

Ryan from Lafayette, La on 10/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old lady drives a 2012 Jeep Patriot Sport. 6" x 9" in all 4 doors. There is a piece of plastic trim behind the speakers that needs to be cut out to get these baffles in. They are a little over sized as far as fitting around the speaker which creates the need for finesse while performing the install. But, they are usable and they do make a huge difference in overall sound quality in a positive manner.

Pros: Water resistant material. Makes the speakers sound WAY better.

Cons: Little big and loose around the speaker.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

baffles

pat m from Amarillo, TX on 10/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They look good. I haven't had a chance to install them yet so I can't review on the performance, but as far as the feel and look. I believe they will work great.

Pros: Should work fine

Cons: can't think of any yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product, great price!

AndyL from South Florida on 9/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speaker baffles will keep my speakers clear from dust and moisture from the trunk area, as well as keep my highs and mid-tones from reverberating throughout the trunk space. I also bought some circular baffles to keep the moisture and dirt out of my front door speakers. I'm highly pleased with them. If you want to keep your investments clean, get baffles and make sure you measure them correctly before buying and then buy the next deepest baffle. Your bass will be tighter, however, so if you like loud, loose bass you may not like the effect these baffles have.

Pros: Keep speakers clean, tight bass notes, prevents speakers using doors and/or trunk as reverberation chamber.

Cons: If you like loose bass you may not like the effect of speaker baffles.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not really necessary

Larry M from Los Angeles, CA on 8/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these in the speakers I installed on the rear deck of my 2007 Honda accord without porting them and they were absolutely terrible. The speaker could not breath. Good thing I read up on it and many people said to cut a 3 inch diameter hole to let air in and out. I did and it sounded better. With that, I cut just about half of the bottom out. Sounds much much better now. If anything, it serves as a good gasket for the speaker as well as protection from accidentally hitting them when putting things in the trunk. Overall, it does absolutely nothing to enhance the sound. It just protects the speaker.

Pros: Protects the speaker.

Cons: Doesn't enhance the sound at all.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6" x 9" Speaker Baffles

Michael Z from Janesville, WI on 6/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Product. They worked well with my speakers and increased their performance alot.

Pros: Fit easily for my speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good water protection very bad sound

mark from knoxville from knoxville on 8/16/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for water protection for my kenwood 5 way 6x9's. The baffles killed my sound really bad. Even with large holes cut out of the bottoms. I removed them and my sound came back. With the baffles by expensive speakers sounded like factory sound.

Pros: Water protection

Cons: Kills your sound

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

speaker baffles

jdmeaux from Lafayette, LA on 6/13/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although these are supposed to be for low profile speakers, I had nothing but interference due to their depth. There is nothing like hearing a squeaking window when you want to put the window open. The problem wasn't the window, but the baffle was rubbing on it.

Pros: directs sounds into your vehicle

Cons: too deep, easily torn

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works for me

Wayne G from Slidell,La on 5/3/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to trim around the case in my door panel, but its a nice touch to help protect and does add to sound quality

Pros: protection

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6x9

DK from Charleston, SC on 2/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ended up removing them. I thought it was worth a try. They may work in other situations, but the rear deck is open to the sub box and you could hear the baffles fluttering so I removed them. The speakers were also a little difficult to install with the baffles in place.

Pros: Nice idea

Cons: Just didn't work for my application.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boom matt utility

PJB from LA, CA on 1/17/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Usless. Used in a speaker box and ended up removing them due to sound issues. Save the money.

Pros: None

Cons: Negative impact on sound (muffled, blurred bass).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Not a bad product so far

John from from PA on 12/5/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these 6x9 Boom Mat to protect my door speakers in my '95 Dodge Ram for the most part. After reading the poor reviews on it I gave it a try anyway. I needed to replace my 6x9 door speakers anyway so this time I went with a 6-1/2 round speaker with the 6x9 speaker adaptor plates. The opening for the speaker is near the bottom of the adaptor and some excess material at the top. What I did was take a hole saw and cut a 1-1/2" hole there and made a port,then got my 3-1/2" deep,6x9 Boom Mat behind the speaker and adaptor. It is like I have a ported speaker box. My review is early since I don't have my door panels on yet but decided to gave it a 4 star rating for now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boom Mat 6"x9" Speaker Baffles

James from Ansonia, CT on 6/18/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these for my dodge ram 1500 07' pickup for the doors. I Have dynamat on the doors, but cant access the interior skin to Soundproof so i tried to install these. They fit perfect until i had to Roll the window down, then the gears on the power window touched The baffle. I even purchased the slimeline ones and had to make a Small slice into them for the gear to pass by......game over!!!!! Fit was Perfect again until i reinstalled the door panel and then cranked The stereo up......a full on rattle trap!!!! I guess for a rear deck maybe, But if you have to alter them then return them before you cut them Or you have a high dollar foam speaker ring!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

bass problems

Andy from Detroit MI on 11/6/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This will keep your speakers clean on the back side but they won't do much to improve the sound. I just bought a new set for the rear deck and thought I'd give these a try. They seal so good they prevent the driver from moving to produce sound. I cut the top ring off and just used for a gasket.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Nice Addition

Pat from Apopka, Fl on 9/10/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They help make better sound. Enough said.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 20 found this helpful

TOP