Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale LINTON Heritage

Matched pair of stand-mount speakers with speaker stands (Red Mahogany)

MFR # Linton

Wharfedale LINTON Heritage

Wharfedale LINTON Heritage

Matched pair of stand-mount speakers with speaker stands (Red Mahogany)

MFR # Linton

11 reviews
View this product

Wharfedale Linton Heritage

Marty from Old Hickory, TN on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have been playing great music since the day I received them. I was searching for a small floorstander and came across some great reviews of the Linton Heritage. Although these are categorized as bookshelf speakers they perform way beyond their size. I have the Lintons paired with a Marantz sacd player and an Accuphase E-270 integrated amplifier and Transparent Audio cabling. The bass, although not super low, is very tight and accurate. The bass performance will not disappoint the listener at all assuming a quality amplifier is present. The midrange is smooth and pulls you into the music, as any good midrange is supposed to do. The treble is very pleasing with no harshness or excessive qualities. The overall sound is very balanced meaning that none of the sound is too forward in it's presentation. Wharfedale has done a great job building a high quality speaker. The speaker has very traditional looks and blends well in the home especially with wood furniture. I purchased the walnut finish and it looks terrific with a little lean toward gray/brown versus what one would expect as a typical walnut color. Crutchfield did an excellent job delivering these units. I have not written many reviews over the years although I am an avid audio listener. I wanted this review to be seen especially by those who might be "on the fence" regarding the purchase of the Linton Heritage and know how pleased I have been with them. No regrets here!

Pros: A very seamless and neutral performance with very musical tendencies. This speaker bridges beautifully between a bookshelf and a floorstander. The quality of construction is impeccable. A wonderful addition to any system.

Cons: None worth noting.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Beautiful Classic Design and Sound

John from Lancaster, PA on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was coming from a set of Klipsch Heresy III that were smack in your face all the time. There is nothing warm or inviting about them but there was something magical when you played Led Zepplin on Vinyl at volumes that most people including my wife would cringe at. However, I'm getting older and those volumes very rarely get pushed and my listening style has changed dramatically. I sit back now and actually listen to what's being played at low to mid volumes. I have had a lot of equipment over the years and as much as I had loved my Klipsch they just didn't do it for me anymore. I wanted something warm, inviting, robust that I haven't had in a long time. I shopped around for weeks, read 100's of reviews and watched 100's of videos before I decided to pick these up. Skeptical due to there price for a 3 way design. They can't possible sound better then some of classics I have had over the years costing triple or quad what these cost. Well I can say after putting at 100 hrs on them with a tube pre and solid state amp 100 watts into 4 ohms, they are without a doubt a fantastic sounding speaker. Can you get better in this price range and up? You would have to dish out significantly more money to get what your getting here. Very Very happy with this purchase as these maybe the last set I ever own...

Pros: Excellent mid range and vocals. Bass is very accurate and articulate. Very warm, rich full sounding with all types of media. Image very well when placed right. Can't beat the price to performance. Cabinet is beautiful and rock solid. They make quality recordings come to life. Don't need a sub with music unless it's set below 40Hz and perfectly blended.

Cons: Bass can be boomy if placed to close to the wall. Can get unwanted vibration without the rubber feet between the cabinet and stand. Some equipment can make them sound harsh on the top end.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Wharfedale LINTON Heritage

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, they seem bigger in person once they are out of the boxes and sitting on top of the very sturdy stands. Great craftsmanship. I have the walnut set. I'm still re-arranging my gear so I have not placed the speakers into their final spots, but in the meantime I have been listening to them and trying to break them in. Initial thoughts were amazement of the clarity, imaging, and layered depth of the music I played through them. I could hear the sounds of various instruments playing from the speakers and then the sound of vocals perfectly centered in between them. I'm hearing things I've never heard before in much of the music I listened to. The sweet spot is truly an immersive experience. There is a nice amount of bass present and it seems very punchy but not overpowering. I do like to use a sub with the setup but I'm still tweaking that out too. By themselves with no sub woofer reinforcement and no sound adjustments, the speakers offer a full range sound and provide an openness that I haven't heard since the last set of "wide" speakers I relinquished 20 years ago. Vocals come across as smooth and wonderful. I could listen to these things endlessly. Vinyl sounds great too. They are replacing an Atlantic Tech HSB 3.1 soundbase. Oh boy, what a change. I am driving them with a Yamaha RX-A2040 receiver. They play loudly and cleanly. My receiver doesn't have any problems powering the speakers, but it certainly gets a little warm to the touch. BU

Pros: Big open sound build quality appearance sensitivity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Musical, articulate, rhythmic.

Zdzislaw from Waco, TX on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received these right at Xmas. They are driven by a KT88/6N7GT tube amplifier, 48w. Silvered speaker wire. I played a variety of music on the speakers: Cluyens Berlin Phil Beethoven's 9th; Dwight Yoakum sings Buck; CSN&Y Deja Vu; Rolling Stones Let it Bleed; Fitzgerald w/ Basie; Benny Goodman Sing, Sing, Sing; Brubeck Take 5; RL Burnside on Burnside; Basie/Fitzgerald. Something to get out of the way quickly: it'll take +/- 50hrs to break them in. The bass is strong to below 40hz and well controlled. It is well controlled and bass notes are well defined. Accoustic bass sounds appropriately woody; electric bass and bass drum / tympani do not boom. The mids are strong with refined nuance if present in the source. Harrison's electric guitar sounds like a guitar, and identifiable by make. Piano sounds the way the hammer sounds when striking. The treble is well extended. Violins can be piercing in the upper registers, the Lintons can be allow the treble to come through with definition. Cymbals shimmer. Brass assertive and musical. Soprano when loud is not irritating but is both powerful and lovely. Massed choir is not a muddle, and individual voices appear discernible. Lintons keep up with driving rhythm (Gene Krupa; Burnside trance blues. They work well w/ a slight toe-in. The stands could be taller. I use hockey pucks as isolation under both stands and speakers, so they are 2 inch higher. Sound like my old Snells (35yr ago) & more balanced

Pros: Great speaker; beautiful cabinetry; better than their price; balanced nuanced sound; rhythmic - never out of control; deep soundstage.

Cons: Take awhile to break-in; Wharfedale stands could be taller but are well suited.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Diggin' these.

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 2/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really enjoying the big sound with these. They're beautifully made, solid and gorgeous. Only thing minus is the top end is a bit unrefined, but that might change with further break in, I've only had them for a month. Overall very happy with the Lintons! Matching stands are excellent, highly recommended.

Pros: Great bass and mid, beautifully made.

Cons: Top end could be more refined.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Linton Heritage - Vintage?

Crutchfield customer from Parrish, FL on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nicely built speakers. Excellent definition and separation. Packaging was very impressive, included white gloves. Stands are very heavy and sturdy.

Pros: 80's vintage, definitely.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Wharfedale LINTON Heritage

Darrell from La Crosse, WI on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been listening to the Lintons almost a month and they're making me smile. They're beautiful in both sound and appearance, exuding craftsmanship and quality. They're heavy! The classic design and character is just about perfect for what I wanted. I'm currently driving them with a Harmon/Kardan stereo receiver pushing approximately 80wpc@8 ohms and 100wpc@6 ohms. They perform really well with this combination. Midrange is silky smooth and powerful while treble is almost as smooth with slightly less forwardness. Bass is somewhat reserved (as it's still an 8" woofer which is not large by any means), but that's not what I'm after anyway. I've played them paired with a sub and it's big-room perfection. If you have them in a smaller room it may be optional but they sound awesome accompanied by a sub. Since I intend to keep them, I'll order the stands now. Highly recommended!

Pros: Midrange & Treble Efficiency Cabinets & Build quality Matching stands

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great for LPs and vintage sound!

Gregg from SPIRIT LAKE, IA on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks to an informative and entertaining visit with Tyler I had to end way too soon because of a meeting on my end, I ordered these speakers. Had not upgraded my speakers since purchasing my Polks in 1984. These are for listening exclusively to my LPs with a vintage Pioneer SX-780. Went with walnut finish for "classic" look - they came flawless. A few hours in and all I can say is they are an amazing upgrade for my vinyl collection and I'm really enjoying them. Anything from Led Zeppelin/classic rock to jazz (especially the vocals and instrumental nuances in the jazz LPs) is simply terrific! Bass great, mid-range super and I'm not sensing any issues with the treble at all that some say just needs some breaking in, but if it's possible for these to sound better, I'm all ears, lol. Great service! Also got the stands - solid as can be and each holds more than the 25 albums some reviewers out there (who probably didn't fill them up) claimed they would hold.

Pros: Clear, crisp, plenty of bottom end.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great Job Wharfedale and Crutchfield!

Mark from BOSSIER CITY, LA on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received the pair of Linton Heritage speakers w stands within 2 days of my order placement so was able to pull them out and set them up for the weekend. The speakers and stands LOOK AWESOME! I got the Mahogany setup and they are beautiful. I disconnected my Def Tech BP30's (24 years old) and tied the Heritages into the Emotiva XPA-DR3 and fired them up. They SOUND as AWESOME as they Look! Tuned them a little by playing with the graphic equalizer on the Marantz SR8012 and ended up with them about 24" off the back wall and toed in slightly. They do like the power and at 6 ohms, they draw what they need. Plenty of nice tight base with clear distinctive vocals and the sweet highs from the warm tweeter. It is truly hard to believe that they fill my 18' x 22' living room so well especially from speakers this size!

Pros: Great sound from a rather small package. The stands are awesome as they were already assembled and match perfectly. Price was right (I feel like I stole them for this price!). 2 Day delivery (just in time for weekend!).

Cons: What Cons???

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale LINTON Heritage

Alexander from Stamford, CT on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had beautiful Wharfedale speakers since 1971. They a nice to look at with soothing to the eye warm, real wood cabinets. They are a tradition unto themselves and fit with any furniture genre. The sound is impeccable. At low or high volumes still clear and precise tones. They have never failed to deliver and trustworthy friends that never fail to deliver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Wharfedale LINTON Heritage

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these are book matched pairs!!! WOW. I have been around stereos longer than I would like to admit and have made some of my own speakers as well.So, turn it turns out I was at my neighbors house just the other day maybe a 6 or more thousand dollar system , maybe 5 ft. tall (Thiel) and I am telling you these sweet sounding little honeys (ha,,,40 lbs. ea.) favorably compare but sometimes have a sweet twinkle on top! I LOVE these!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP