Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jamo S 801

Bookshelf speakers (White)

MFR # 1064375

Jamo S 801

Jamo S 801

Bookshelf speakers (White)

MFR # 1064375

32 reviews
View this product

Nice looking speaker

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wife approved look. It sounds once in a small package. Not sure because I've got an open box, but Audyssey gave polarity warning. And it does seem to have flipped polarity internally. Other than that, it is working good so far and sounds nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, IN on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good surrounds for my setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Attractive small speaker

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfld Hls, MI on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound and attractive. Not quite as "rich" sound as comparable size Bose (I compared to 141's). But these look nicer and the magnetic front is a nice touch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beauty and the Beat

Damon from Chicago, IL on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let's get the obvious part out of the way first: these things are BEAUTIFUL! As enthusiasts, we tend to overlook the frequent unsightliness of A/V equipment and speakers, but you're going to want to proudly put these babies on full display! The wood tone pops beautifully against the matte white finish, and the brown-gray linen (magnetic!!!!!) grills almost add an element of fashion. Oddly, they're simultaneously bigger and smaller than you'd expect. While I haven't used them for their intended purpose (Zone 2 speakers in the dining room/kitchen), I was able to connect them in the living room with a variety of musical styles and they sound great! Clear highs and acceptable low-end (based on specs and size) result in a wide, immersive soundstage. I was concerned that the rated wattage for these was lower than my receiver (60 versus 110, respectively), but I heard nothing that indicated any strain or struggle, even at considerable volume. I'm really pleased with these!

Pros: Stunning looks! Fantastic sound! Fair price!

Cons: The keyhole mount is external hardware-not built into the cabinet itself. At a glance, it seems a bit flimsy for speakers this size. (Fingers crossed I'm wrong!) Additionally, it prevents the speakers from being flush on the wall to create a sheering weight. I plan on finding small foam supports so that the speaker hangs parallel to the wall and gives a little clearance for the rear port.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, CO on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty great for the size and price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Vienna, VA on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got the speakers for my wife for christmas to use with her old record player. These sound fantastic for the price and look just as good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

GORGEOUS

Anna from Ephrata, PA on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for to use with my new turntable. Works seamlessly with the Bluetooth amp I got and I could not be more pleased. The quality and design are modern and compliment my space perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound and amazing service as usual!

Pros: good looking

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Chatsworth, CA on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound quality and love the modern design.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 801 / Walnut

Stephen from ELORA on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Jamo S 801 / Walnut I thought, yeah, these will be good enough for a partially finished attic. They're way more than good enough! Yuk it up all you want about the cabinet size. Won't be doing that when you hear 'em. Running an old Sherwood into these, and results are nice. From flat: notched up the bass two, and the treble one. Mids still there, done. They provide sound for a DVD player as well. Quite happy with this set of JAMO speakers.

Pros: good sound. good deal. they have a little bass, compared to a lot. you knew that anyway.

Cons: the white cabinets look stupid with the grills off. that's why i didn't buy them.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound but don't go low

Crutchfield customer from Willoughby, OH on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was going to use them as bookshelf speakers for my record player. They sound fantastic, but the frequency response isn't as low as I'd like. So I'll use them as my rear speakers in my main setup. Should have got the Jamo 803s. They look amazing, to boot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

excellent

Crutchfield customer from Cave Creek, AZ on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent especially for price perfect for home gym

Pros: small good sound excellent price can handle good treble

Cons: none that i have found

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Charlestown, MA on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very high quality for the price. We use these in our kitchen, and bigger Jamo speakers in the living room. Sound quality is great across the board, highly recommend. They're also very sleek looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing value.

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to replace smaller Boston Acoustics bookshelves. Highs are crispy and midrange is right where I like it. My receiver is under powering them so I feel that they have more to give. These things look amazing too. I love the magnetic grills and the white/gray theme. Can't wait to hear what they can do with a new receiver. They will be wall mounted once I'm done remodeling.

Pros: Value, highs, toned down midrange.

Cons: Lacking bass but they aren't designed for that.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really great value with excellent performance.

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these as a gift. The price was right reviews were good and Crutchfield service easily made it a great choice. I dropped by after the recipient had them set up. I would say really nice sound for the price, actually better than expected. They experimented with room positioning to get really good bass. Definite recommendation over the same price range big box, and big online company (you know who) offerings. Great value for the money.

Pros: Excellent highs and mids Cabinet well built Attractive finish Great Value Performance exceeds the budget friendly price

Cons: Bass is a bit thin but still good

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, IN on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice look,nice clear sound for my master bedroom. Bottom base seems to decouple to improve sound. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros: Better sound away from walls.

Cons: Highs can get bright.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

??hotness

Crutchfield customer from Long Is City, NY on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These units were exactly what I was hoping for. The sound is so crisp and the bass so nice and low. I put them on these little copper Kanto stands (you should get! And Jamo needs to make their own honestly). They angle just enough to give me a nice direct audible experience. ??Thinking about splurging on some higher quality units and an amp/receiver for my home theater. Lets see.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 6/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound for little cost! I've been using these speakers for over a month now and they are amazing stereo speakers. I have them step up in a small room connected to a Marantz receiver. They provide rich and warm sound with excellent highs. If you're looking for quality sound but don't want or need to take out a second mortgage, take a serious look at these Jamo's. Can consider for stereo applications or surround sound. Oh, and they look beautiful. Highly Recommended!

Pros: Warm sound, great mid's and high's. Easy on the pocket and great looks!

Cons: None. These speakers do exactly what they should. Provide great sound quality for a very reasonable price. Highly Recommended!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Kenmore, WA on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very classy clean look, and lovely sound. I'm a first time home audio speaker buyer and by no means an audiophile, but for what it's worth I'm extremely pleased. Also Crutchfield has great customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good looks, uninspired sound, unadvertised power-saving shutdown

John from Arlington, VA on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to like these. They seemed to meet my requirements for an attractive speaker I could place on my desk in my home office, connect via USB to my Surface Dock, and use for both music and to support the audio on computer-based video calls. They satisfied the first requirement, looks. They're attractive - both with and without the grills. But on the other criteria they failed. Listening to music, to my ear they lacked any life. No bright highs; no tight lows. I don't expect a speaker this size to have deep base, but these sound muffled. And any percussion that calls for a crisp image, a pop, a crash - the sound of contact - just fell flat. But the real deal killer for me was their failure to support third requirement: audio on calls. These speakers are inalterably programmed to turn off after 20 minutes of non-use, after which you must manually turn them back on via the remote. This is unadvertised in the product details on Crutchfield or even acknowledged in documentation. I only learned this after my friendly Crutchfield tech support specialist called up Klipsch, the parent of Jamo, and learned of this himself. You might think the speakers, after going on standby, would wake on signal, so the next time a played music or joined a call they'd come alive. Nope. They don't. You might think it not a big deal to turn on the speakers when necessary. Not the 1st - 50th time. But now I'm sick of it . Sending them back. Still love Crutchfield though!

Pros: Good looking in a home office

Cons: Poor imaging, muffled lows, no life.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Great speakers - great purchase!

Crutchfield customer from Montpelier, VT on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shipped quickly and safely. Installed easy. They sound great with my system and in my space. Thank you!

Pros: Easy setup. Sound great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 12 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, OH on 10/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound quality for a compact speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Steve from GARDNER, KS on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these for my daughter, surprise gift. Pushing them with a neat little Dayton Audio Hybrid Tube amp with blu ray capabilities. She loves streaming music, videos and pod casts and these little speakers sound very nice. Detailed and warm. Hooked them up to an older vintage receiver and a name brand cd player just for kicks and they really came to life. Sounds were pleasant and detailed. Just what you would expect from a quality bookshelf speaker. Confident they will sound even better as our ears get used to them and as they break in. The speakers themselves have a quality solid feel and are beautiful to look at which is a bonus. I'm pleased with the purchase and my daughter couldn't be happier. Great product and great Crutchfield Service.

Pros: Great Price, Great Looks and Great Sound

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great clarity! Big sound for small speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic speakers with wonderful clarity and full sound. I replaced some mid-late 80's Polk Audio monitors with these and was pleasantly surprised.

Pros: Extremely clear sound. Carries with clarity through the house. They look fantastic and blend in with or without the magnetic covers on.

Cons: Lighter in the bass range but that was to be expected for speakers of this size.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Layton, UT on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They look incredible, with or without the cloth cover; and they sound just as good.

Pros: Look amazing Sound great

Cons: A tad bit quieter than I was expecting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers!

William from Oberlin, Ohio on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I needed was a simple pair of bookshelf speakers since I was downsizing my system and these Jamo speakers just seemed to be the right look and the right price. What I got was speakers that sound better than than almost anything I've ever owned. What a sweet surprise! Crutchfield sent them out in a timely manner and they have the best customer service ever. Five stars everyday!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Arnold, MO on 5/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 23 found this helpful

High Quality Low Cost

Cary from Griffith, IN on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Are you kidding, i.e., they only cost this much a pair? I have been buying speakers for 40 years. Many of my bookshelves averaged $1,500 a pair. Not only do the S801s sound great, they look great (no screws around the drivers). The "trick" on these speakers is to have them on a stand with "no top plate" (I use the Revel M stand). It also looks better without the top plate. The google reviews indicate "no bass." They are wrong because you must use a stand with no top plate (I actually had a carpenter trim down my Revel stand to 21 inches; it is all MDF wood). The bass is perfect in a small room (even though only rated at 76 hz). I do have $7,000 in Rotel components & audioquest cables, so this obviously helps. You may not notice the awesome sound at first blush. Those "audiophile" bookshelves out there may be good, but the S801s are something special. You can also "keep your drivers fresh" over time by buying another pair. This is something you cannot do with a $5,000 bookshelf speaker (unless you want to take a loss). My experience has shown me that clean, fresh drivers are critical over time. Five Star rating by far! I am stunned. Why did I buy those expensive bookshelf speakers over the past 40 years I will never know.

Pros: Great sound, low cost, bright treble, solid bass, they look good, the walnut finish has a nice "retro" look.

Cons: None, i.e., I rate "5 stars" for both sound quality and appearance.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Right There with the S 803s

Guest from Brookfield, WI on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing little speakers. I purchased the Jamo S 803s from Crutchfield and they were so good I then purchased the five speaker Jamo S 803 HCS (Home Cinema System). These S 801s are the surrounds in that system. However, by themselves I found these really hold their own against the S 803s. They use the same tweeter and crossover in the S 803s but are half the size because they use a smaller woofer and are rear ported. The sound is crystal clear, imaged and expansive with bass that is incredible for their size. You can use these without a sub and would be just fine but of course, like with any bookshelf speaker, a sub is better. Just don't cram then up against a wall because of their rear port. Jamo is really doing great things under Klipsch.

Pros: Crystal clear highs and sweet upper midrange. Great punch and bass for their size.

Cons: Back of speaker needs some space from wall but you'll be rewarded.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

EKACHAI from Brownsburg, IN on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sound very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great looking, simple speakers

Louis from Antioch, TN on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use them as bookshelf speakers wired to a Denon micro receiver. Sounds pretty good. The build quality is excellent, and they feel high end. To bad the logo is so big and brash on the side of the speaker, but its not a deal breaker.

Pros: Awesome looks Pretty Good sound Simplicity

Cons: Large logo on sides (not shown in Crutchfield's pictures)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Jamo S 801

Crutchfield customer from Ballston Spa, NY on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speakers. I'm using them as the rear in a surround sound setting. They really sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 20 found this helpful

TOP