Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Jamo S 808 SUB

Powered subwoofer (White)

MFR # 1064600

Jamo S 808 SUB

Jamo S 808 SUB

Powered subwoofer (White)

MFR # 1064600

25 reviews
View this product

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Kenmore, WA on 10/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great price, fit my list of requirements, so far so good

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife HATED the big sub box on the floor out in the open, needed a sub to fit in the ent unit. Mostly TV, some movies, some music - didn't need huge low end, just enough to round out the sound. This sub is certainly small. I laid it on its side firing up, ent unit has plenty of air flow. This is just a little larger than a av receiver. Sound blends well with my existing speakers. I have not yet tried pushing it to its limit. But when you buy an 8in powered sub, that's prob not something you needed anyway... I have not heard any of the amp clipping mentioned in other posts. Great price, fit my list of requirements, so far so good.

Pros: Price, size, sounds blend well at moderate volumes

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Temecula, CA on 7/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this sub. I am using in conjunction with Audio Engine P4 speakers connected to iTunes on my computer. The sub provides the right amount of bottom end grunt.

Pros: Great sound for the money.

Cons: Controls for the sub are on the bottom on the unit, so I just rotated it 90 degrees for better access. No big deal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Merrillville, IN on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, fast shipping what more could you ask for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really delivers!!!

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful and affordable way to add depth and texture to my sound system. Well spent dollars on a great subwoofer that delivers!!

Pros: Beautiful fit with furniture!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A thin subwoofer with good bass

Delivered from Bourbonnais, IL on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently downsized my entertainment center and was trying to eliminate the bulky subwoofer from being on the floor. This was able to fit into my entertainment center perfectly. Now all you see is the entertainment center and no subwoofer, however you know the bass is there, because it makes my highs and midrange speakers sound full. Though it's only an 8" subwoofer, it can create a punch. I don't have the sound to strong, I just want the highs, mids and bass to compliment each other. Perfect for what I needed it!

Pros: Thin, good bass, all around a very nice subwoofer

Cons: Personally the speaker was great for what I needed it, but price is pretty bulky. I guess your paying for the thin design.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Grove, UT on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for my purpose. Good sound, compact form. Fit exactly as I hoped it would.

Pros: Compact. Good sound.

Cons: Outputs on the bottom. Strange placement.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Low end support

Adam from Brooktondale, NY on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't expect the world from a cheap 8" sub and you'll be pleasantly surprised. I use two of these to compliment my Polk LSIM703 and they're a lovely fit. They offer support where it count in a stylish and aesthetically pleasing form factor. For the price, you can't go wrong.

Pros: Stylish, capable

Cons: Doesn't go as deep as you might want

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Timothy from Stockbridge, GA on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was the perfect addition to my music room. Small compact with great sound. I ordered a scratch and dent and it was defective , called crutchfield and Gage took it care if it in a few minutes , I had a new one 2 days later and happy to report it works great.

Pros: Cost Compact Great sound

Cons: Outputs on the bottom , takes a right angle audio cable (included) but wasn't able to find an upgrade.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound and fit in a smaller space

Alexander from Farmington, MN on 2/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very impressed with the performance of this sub for the size. Using this in a smaller basement remodel it fits extremely well behind other furniture and even at the lower power settings delivers strong audio that I did not expect from a unit this size.

Pros: Size, Appearance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great size, plenty of power for my small room

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, NC on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid bass filling in with 2 smaller speakers in my office. It's great fitting in next to my desk where I don't have much space. It has plenty of power to handle the smaller room, I'm glad I didn't pay more for the 10 inch model. I appreciate the 90 degree power cord since the panel is on the bottom, but I wish it came with a 90 degree audio cable as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Love it!

Pete from Smithville, TX on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sub has what it takes! The sound is great and works likes is supposed to.

Pros: Compact and can be placed under a sofa.

Cons: Cannot find any!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Fitchburg, WI on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer. Very adjustable so you can get just the right amount of base and rumble. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Duxbury, MA on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unique design not found in other subs. Good looking and easy to hide because it is so thin, unlike a cube. . Front firing element spreads sound around much better than floor-firing cubes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JAMO subwoofer

Eric from Trotwood, OH on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big sound from a smaller subwoofer. Works great in my smallish condo living room setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, NH on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be more satisfied with your products and customer service. Great company and deals. I know where to continue for excellent audio components.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Walnut S 808 Sub

Bruce from Dallas, TX on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, this subwoofer has a great entry level price. There are enough controls to get decent performance from this subwoofer. In my particular case running a pair of bookshelf speakers I was able to dial in acceptable sound with the filter set at 40Hz and Volume around 50%. If I set either control higher the sub started to boom somewhat which got worse increasing either control. Likewise, turning up the volume also caused more boom. I suspect there was a gap in my frequency response at this setting, but it was all together listenable, albeit at low listening levels. This was not a deal breaker for me as this unit was used to round out the sound at low listening levels. The unit did however start to randomly thump. I originally thought there was a thunderstorm in the area and kept walking outside for two hours before I realized the sub woofer was the culprit. Crutchfield has given me a RMA and I am returning for a different unit. I think the unit is well worth it given the price, I probably just received a lemon.

Pros: Great Price Good Sound Small Footprint

Cons: Quality Control

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Two thumbs up... way up!

J. from Pasadena, CA on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this to my newly downsized stereo "system": a pair of KEF C95s I've been happily listening to for 30 years driven with an NAD D 3020v2. Wasn't looking for thundering disco bass, just a subtle visceral edge to blend seamlessly into an already-magnificent soundscape. ("Is it even on? Oh, wait... now I hear it.") Size & shape were very important; would have bought a sub decades ago but resisted adding a big black cube to my humble decor. I enjoy a wide range of musical genres, but mostly acoustical recordings & classical. This is a beautifully designed & executed product. It brings me great joy.

Pros: Size, shape, appearance, performance, price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what the doctor ordered ! just the right amount of bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for Movies and music in my 200 sq ft room. Looks great also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

The Little Sub That Could

Chris from Milton, WV on 9/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think this little sub does a great job. My main sub is a Velodyne CT100,,,around 15 years old and still kicking. But this Jamo complements it nicely. Was looking to add a second smaller sub since I upgraded to a 7.2 receiver. This one fit the bill for where I needed it to go. It was a scratch and dent model that looked about new to me. If you're limited on space this will do nicely.

Pros: Small. Sounds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little sub with good bass. Works wonderfully in my space. Seems to be well built and can get down to some super low bass!!. Crutchfield is a good company to buy from. Great people:)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, CA on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first 8" subwoofer I have ever owned. I bought this one not because I wanted an 8'' but because of space constraints this unconventionally shaped sub in the 8" size was the only product that would work for my intended use. I gave it five stars based on its build quality, looks, and performance relative to its price. I have multiple playback systems in my house and the subs I currently have in use are a 10" Velodyne, two 12" Hsus, a 12"Dayton Audio, a 12" Klipsch, a 12" Orb, and a 12" Rythmik. And no, this little 8" Jamo won't rattle the windows but your can't expect Ferrari performance at Toyota prices. What it does do is provide more than adequate bass for movies and music in a small to medium listening room at moderate to loud-enough-to-bother-the-neighbors-in the-apartment-next-door listening levels. It is a ported design but is not boomy and for an 8" is surprisingly articulate. You will probably not find a better sounding sub for this price point. I have had more expensive subs that don't sound as good as this one. It compares favorably to 10" subs from well-known manufacturers and costs considerably less. As a bonus it is a relatively unobtrusive piece of furniture if that is important to you or your spouse. And the auto-on function works better almost every other sub I own: even at very low levels it wakes up at the first signal

Pros: Unbeatable performance for the price. Punches way above its weight class.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this purchase. Quality build and materials. Size and sound are perfect for my needs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Dan from Clemson, SC on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll be honest I have been impressed by this little sub. I purchased to replace an older Harmon Kardon sub that was starting to pop and was way to big for the small living room. I primarily chose the Jamo for the price and size. It definitely does the trick for my needs. The sound is pretty clean and definitely has enough power even at 50w. I would recommend this to anyone on a budget needing to add some low end sound in surround system.

Pros: Very small

Cons: I would not use this in a large room as my primary sub.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

TOP