Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Jamo S 808 SUB

Powered subwoofer (White)

MFR # 1064600

Jamo S 808 SUB

Jamo S 808 SUB

Powered subwoofer (White)

MFR # 1064600

79 reviews
View this product

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Goleta, CA on 6/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sub, should have gone with the 10inch

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Ward , AR on 6/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Modern cabinet Easy setup Nice bass for a small cabinet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small size, solid bass

Crutchfield customer from Robbinsdale, MN on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For such a small footprint, this has a lot of bass. If you're dealing with limited space, I would definitely recommend this to help beef up your sound. Using in conjunction with KEF Q150s

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big power, Little box

Crutchfield customer from West Allis, WI on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had previously purchased the Jamo S809's and although they have plenty of bass response, I wanted just that little more oomph. When connected and then tuned properly, the Jamo S808 pairs perfectly with the 809's. Soundstage is full and the 809's really shine now that they can concentrate on the mid-high frequencies. The S808 is small, which is what I needed for the small room I am using it in. I have it against the back wall near the TV stand with the driver facing forward, in between the 2 S809's. Running the calibration tool on my Sony STR DH790 set the mains (S 809's) to small with the roll-off at 120 khz. I use this system mainly for music listening and find that this pairing has worked out perfectly. For anyone looking to add some deep bass, and don't require a giant box, this would be an excellent choice.

Pros: -Looks great -Easy to set up -Powerfull

Cons: -None so far. However, know that all the connections and controls are on the bottom of this unit. That can be cumbersome. But once you set it to your liking, there should be no reason to have to access them again.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Daniel from MELBOURNE, FL on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub sound is awesome fills the hole room. The only con is its big. I also got the bookshelf speaks to go with it. 2.1 sounds really good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Lares, PR on 4/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound and apperean

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far so good.

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 4/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great so far, I ordered two for my living room surround sound and have plenty of bass for that. They also fit perfectly behind my couch.

Pros: Sound great, nice sound

Cons: $$$

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly recommend the sub with the bookshelf speakers. Bluetooth paired up easily and remote that came with speakers also controls the sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

love it

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It great bass for its size, looks beautiful and isn't bulky whichI love. The controls on the bottom is different and a pain to adjust, but I knew that going in. I was afraid I'd need the bigger one but its enough for my living room. Extremely happy with it.

Pros: great base for size

Cons: controls on the bottom

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Easton, PA on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After warming up this is a surprisingly powerful and musical sub in such a small package. Can it "boom" - sure. But it really does an amazing job of filling in the low end with my bookshelf speakers. Best of all - fits great under my computer desk without me constantly kicking it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great sound

Franz from Salt Lake City, UT on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You don't know what you miss until you have it. This speaker has greatly enhanced the sound of my system. The controls allow for a fair amount of tailoring to suit individual tastes. However, all of the controls are in the bottom and the speaker being heavy it is awkward to make changes and it also limits the type of cable you can plug in for your amplifier.

Pros: Adjustable Full sound Good Looks

Cons: Controls and access on the bottom

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

J from NH on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good in a small/med room, the included rubber feet work great on wood floors, over all great value. The only minor negatives is the bottom location of the controls and inputs, the location makes it a pain to adjust when you are setting it up and adjusting your audio system however, the tradeoff is everything hanging off the back of the SUB, which then defeats the purpose of having a narrower SUB. Once set up and all adjusted I do prefer the bottom location of the controls because I will not need access to the controls on a routine basis anyhow. The included RCA cable with 90 degree connector, it will work and is very thin, so do yourself a favor and get a better one when you order the S808 as other commenters have mentioned.

Pros: Price, Sound Quality, Looks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 and Nintendo Switch

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sub for tight spaces. I have mine half behind a console which is obviously not ideal but I am only using it for Nintendo Switch. It really heightens the experience. I would absolutely recommend it for that. I tried it for music and it works but it needs to be tweaked for each application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo Sub Woofer

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub works just fine for my game room. It's an attractive looking component and works great with my Yamaha -N602 stereo receiver. I had never owned any Jamo products but I learned that they are manufactured by the Klipsch company. Overall, I am pleased with this small sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beautiful look AND sound

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Jamo S 808 is a perfect addition to our family room entertainment system. Mind you, this is not our home theater. If you're looking for bigger bass, you clearly need to go with a 10" box. However, if you're looking for beautiful, sleek design in a slim cabinet with solid punchy bass for elevated TV/movie/music enjoyment, THIS is the jam. It looks great with our white custom built-in shelving. Easy set up, and the auto-on is perfectly responsive. Choose your crossover, or assign LFE. Happy with this one.

Pros: Sleek, gorgeous, solid punchy bass

Cons: Not mega bass, but if that's what you're looking for get a 10"

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Remarkable vibrant bass

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding! I called and explained what I was looking for in our RV and fit the need we were looking for. Remarkable deep vibrant bass and fits perfectly in our RV. Would highly recommend and buy again!

Pros: Sound. Size. Weight. Cross over controls to adjust to the room. Price is well worth it and more.

Cons: Wish I had got it sooner.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound and value

Sherwin from KENT, WA on 2/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got this little sub delivered and set it up today. I'm using it in my office attached to some small blue tooth bookshelf speakers (not Jamo, not purchased from Crutchfield) while working and exercising. The speakers were lacking low end and this little 8" sub really filled in what was missing. I'm looking forward to my next work out having some good pounding bass to really kick me into the next gear. I wanted the smallest sub I could get at a reasonable price and I think this is it. I even ordered open-box and chose the slow shipping to save money. Open-box item did not disappoint, the sub looks brand new, cables, feet, and paperwork all look brand new. If you didn't know any better you'd think this was brand new never opened. I am very happy with my purchase!

Pros: Reasonably compact and sounds great!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Deal

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this connected to a Denon AVR-S540BT receiver and two Klipsch AW-400 outdoor speakers installed in my garage for music and occasional movie night in the driveway. My Klipsch are installed over a garage door firing out of the gap between the door and the top of the opening. The Jamo sits on a shelf between the two garage doors. With the doors closed, it sounds pretty good. More than enough bass for the garage. With a door open, it's enough bass to be heard at the neighbors house when turned up. But not, I don't think, offensive. I've not yet used it for movie night but I'm sure it will be more than adequate for our needs. The unit is solid and fairly well made. The front cover can stretch a bit if pushed too much. Under it is a little thing sticking out of the face which I originally thought was a nail sent too far from the backside. It's actually the tiny LED. Which is not green and never turns green despite the owner's manual. There's red when it is on and not getting a signal and blue when it is on and is getting a signal. It's also blue when on and the receiver is off. It is a bit annoying for setup to have the controls on the bottom. But I guess once you have it set how you like, it makes for a clean backside. And who doesn't like a clean backside? I wish it had a longer and better RCA cable. This one is pretty short and pretty thin. I also wish the power cord was more flexible. It is stiff and has retained its folded shape more than I would

Pros: Great deal at special purchase price Solid and clean build Good bass for small speakers

Cons: Short RCA cable Stiff power cable Out of date owner's manual Awkward setup with controls on the bottom

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sub for general purposes

Crutchfield customer from Mary Esther, FL on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is really great for the size. Had a more expensive cube prior and it finally crapped out. This is to replace it and I feel like it is feeling the void very well. Looks great and fits well anywhere in my small room.

Pros: Sound/size/look/price/finish/connectivity

Cons: auto on/off not working (probably due to my setup capabilities and settings of db) but for a general user it should have better explanations.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice and compact. Sounds perfect for my setting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, looks great and is the perfect profile for the small space. Very impressive response in such a small package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Gavin from Jax, FL on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect apartment/condo sub. Have it resting on a Pyle PSI15 foam riser (for the neighbors), paired with L/R Polk S15s (similar bookshelf risers at -5 degrees) and an SVS Satellite for a center. Really awesome for a HiFi and movie combo, works great as a 2.1 vinyl record team. I would think two of these in a ".2" system would be pretty good. I've tested a few vinyls for the HiFi and the theater audio litmus test "John Wick"...really fun. It's not like a small sub with a soundbar, the bass blends in perfectly with the audio image (have speakers set to small with an 80hz filter through the budget Yamaha 5.1 receiver).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound bar/subwoofer combination !

Tyrone from Baltimore, MD on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just received the subwoofer today and hooked it up along with ZVOXSB500 and it is the perfect compliment to the low in I was lookin for in my den. Once I got the crossover set to balance with the output from the ZVOX everything sounded great. Tv, soundbar and sub turn on and off from my direct tv remote ( the sub turns on a off with the remote sensing built into the subwoofer.

Pros: Easy to set up. Sound great in my small den.

Cons: No so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice compact sub

Crutchfield customer from Pflugerville, TX on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid sound overall, especially given footprint. I'm using this with Klipsch powered bookshelf speakers, and was able to adjust the crossover for a good match. It won't rattle your windows, but definitely fills out the sound well. One note-connections are on the bottom, which means you need to flip it over to make adjustments to settings. You also need a right angle RCA plug for sub connection; there's one included, but it's relatively short and light gauge.

Pros: Excellent sound for the footprint

Cons: Controls and connections are on the bottom

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo s808sub-Slim size w/ Good Bass Sound

Crutchfield customer from West Covina, CA on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good compact sub and it could easily be placed discreetly in a limited space environment. It sounded good and improved the sound of my Klipsch bookshelf speakers (over 25 years old). With my new Denon PMA600NE, the overall performance of my sound system became more enjoyable with more body in the overall sound quality due to the Jamo Sub providing a more distinct low frequency for the bass. Highly recommended if you're looking for good sub to be placed in a limited space.

Pros: Slim size with good low frequency sound.

Cons: Adjusting it for an optimum level could take some time.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Holly Springs, NC on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding sub and blends in well with light colored furniture. Comes with all that is required to hook up to your AVR.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S808 subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Mccall, ID on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only listened to jamo S808 subwoofer for a few days. Nothing definitive to say badly about this product. Has somewhat of a large footprint for use with the Kanto YU4 Bluetooth speakers ??. Does not overpower experience of the Kanto YU4 (as computer speakers), performance. Instead it's a rather nice enhancement to fill- out the overall sound qualities that work with the Bluetooth or auxiliary cable attached to a laptop. Tuned- off only the Jamo S808 subwoofer many times and listened closely as I flipped power of Jamo to on position. After doing this sound test for several times; conclusion is (obviously personal preferences), but I agree totally with individual who paired his Kanto YU4 speakers with this, not overwhelming bass , from the Jamo S808 subwoofer. They compliment each other quite adequately. Very well, in fact. A nice combo. Pays to read other people's reviews carefully before you commit to any specific speaker orientations, in the final analysis. Thank you Crutchfield for your help in getting these speakers set - up and running properly. Bill S.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Parkville, MD on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. Very satisfied.

Pros: Price

Cons: A little hum when idle

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bang for your Buck

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Liked the dimensions so I bought two of these to balance the look of my home theater. Great sound for 8" subs. Only reason I can not give a 5 star is because "Auto input sensing" does not work.

Pros: Dimension of box. Right angle power and rca cables included. Price, specially on sale.

Cons: Auto sensing of input does not work. I have tried 2 different subs on 2 different receivers to no avail.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

new customer

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 1/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everthing I expected. Expect to do business with you again. Maybe a while, totally happy with sales people, delivery and equipment. Would highly recommend. Thanks for the joy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic Bass Sound in a Slim Box

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 1/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Yamaha receiver provides an option for two subwoofers so I decided to add the Jamo 8" to my 12" Klipsch subwoofer I have placed behind my couch in the back of the living room. Added this speaker in front, along with two additional 6.5" Klipsch front surround ceiling speakers, and what used to be a so-so 5.1 speaker setup is now a 7.2 Dolby Atmos kick-ass entertainment surround sound utopia. I originally searched for a slim design speaker that would fit under my TV console and was surprised to come across this perfect sized cabinet with an 8" sub for sale on Crutchfield right before Christmas. The Jamo S808 is made by Klipsch so I knew it would be quality and did it ever deliver. It provides immersive bass sound to a large room with a tight and responsive "thump." This small box can easily power your entire surround system and offers low-profile configuration and placement options you won't get from larger square subs. I have it placed on its side in a confined space with the speaker facing up and it sounds fantastic. The volume, frequency, and phase controls allow you to tweak it to perfectly suit your room layout. The crisp and snappy bass adds a great effect to Dolby movies and video games, but also sounds great playing FM and digital music. With this speaker you'll get more than enough bass to power any surround configuration. You add this to just a speaker bar and your system will rock you won't believe! I am so glad I pulled the trigger on this. Highly recommend.

Pros: Slim Design Great Sound Nice Looking Cabinet Quality Materials Volume, Low Pass, and Phase Control

Cons: None that I have seen.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Super rich sound for the size

Levente from GAITHERSBURG, MD on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing! I have been thinking that my floor-standing Tannoy speakers needed some help to produce a really rich low-end but I did not want a huge box standing in our family room so I have been putting off buying a sub for years. I am so glad I finally got this one. Its size is perfect. It's hardly noticeable as it stands between my cabinet and bookcase with its thin size to the room. It does a great job with bass. I set it to only about 30-40% of the volume because I don't like overwhelming thumping bass, I just want to be able to hear the lowest notes, too. This way it seamlessly adds some nice, soft bass to my music. But even at this setting, when I watch movies the sound effects are really loud and I can sometimes feel the vibrations. I imagine if someone were to turn the volume much higher, it would be very powerful.

Pros: Small size, nice sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tim

Crutchfield customer from Lemon Grove, CA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds "Awesome" and has a small footprint. Setup and adjustment was easy and construction is solid and appealing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty good woofer, very happy.

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good size woofer with decent sound quality. It fits into the space and does its job, makes huge impact to my overall sound experience. Good looking as well.

Pros: Size and look

Cons: Maximum power

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

8" Double Bass Jamo Punch!

Crutchfield customer from Baldwin, NY on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a smallish audio/video/entertainment room. Was using a 10" Polk sub which was way too boomy and too large-(pictures included) with my Marantz 1200NR and JBL Studio 530's. Wanted a smaller form factory, quicker bass response, feeling each double bass kick drum in rapid fire and covering each side of my 2.0 setup. Enter The Jamo 8" inch beast x2. Exactly what I was looking for! Quick as a bullet, the frequency response below 80Hz I needed to pair with my JBL's, absolutely amazing and stylish looks with the tweed grills. Did tons of research and for my needs which in this specific room and setup-(mostly music) it could not have worked out any better. Plus, Crutchfield prices compete and sometimes beat that big company starting with an "A"and their shipping speed was super impressive. 5 stars to Jamo! 5 stars to Crutchfield!

Pros: Great form factor, priced amazingly, incredible style, perfect speed, punch and tightness.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sub for tight spaces

Crutchfield customer from Malden, MA on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sub sounds a lot better than what was coming out of my bookends, all while being neat and compact. The connection points and dials feel solid. It is a bit of a pain to adjust when you get it into place, as the controls are on the bottom, but I get why this is important aesthetically. Additionally, more markings on the crossover frequency knob would be helpful in adjusting the setting (maybe like every 10 hz). This is my first subwoofer, so I cannot comment greatly on the quality of the sound, but to my ears it did exactly what I was hoping it would. Gave my setup stronger and better defined low bass, all while not being an eyesore. Would buy again if given the chance.

Pros: Compact Good build quality

Cons: Setup is a little tricky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for our attached house.

Crutchfield customer from Flushing, NY on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My house is attached on both sides. So I don't need earth shattering bass upsetting neighbors. But this does deliver enough to keep me satisfied with my 5.1 system if I wanted to have the bass pump through. And it gave me more room than the usual box shaped subwoofers that are out there. So far so good, especially at the price.

Pros: Slim and decent bass for price

Cons: Dials are underneath the subwoofer so you'll have to tilt it over to make adjustments.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bass in a slim package

Joshua from CLIFTON, VA on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. I needed some extra kick for my turntable but the space available was limited. I was skeptical about a slim profile sub but Crutchfield has great customer service and a great return policy so I ordered one. Now my turntable set-up sounds full and complete. One word of advice...if you're going to utilize a high-end subwoofer cable get a right angle connector since the outlet panel on this sub is on the bottom of the unit.

Pros: Easy set-up...sounds great

Cons: due to the slim fit design the outlet panel is on the bottom...but once you set it up you don't have to worry about it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great small room sub!

Crutchfield customer from Mercerville, NJ on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub has definitely impressed me. I chose this one because of a smaller room15'x20', not having a place for a larger speaker and wanting a great sounding speaker that supported my Klipsch bookshelf speakers (RP- 160M) which are primarily used for stereo listening. I love the tightness of the sound with my jazz and classical, and the depth with movies is better than I thought it would be. The shape of the speaker allowed me to tuck it along a wall behind my couch with minimal visibility. However, it has a great look, like a piece of furniture, even if you didn't want to hide it. I really like this sub and will enjoy it for a long time!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Washington, MO on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent sub for living room surround sound system. Can't beat the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

what a joy!

Crutchfield customer from Dumont, NJ on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

by far, an exceptional sub woofer for its size. this sub does fill my room and it can hit a nice bottom. i use this in a tv room with sony 5.1 surround. i only needed something to fill the missing bottom that my sanyo 2 ways couldn't provide. this sub is a marvel. worth every penny.

Pros: big sound from a small package.

Cons: weigh a ton.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for a study room

GSR from AUSTIN, TX on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this sub along with my Audioengine HD3 speakers inside a 12x12 study room with 10ft ceiling. For my use case, this sub works perfectly. It fills the lower frequencies where the HD3 cut off. I have the HD3's in the "low bass" mode which cuts off frequency below 100Hz. Thats where the sub picks up. Obviously its not earth shattering bass. Its fills in really nicely. Few things I noticed: 1. When the power is in Auto mode, the sub doesnt switch ON if the volume is low. I think it needs a certain amount of volume to detect input signal. So I left it in ON always. This is no different than my REL HT/1003 in the media room. 2. The audio cable and power cable are a little short. I wish it was another 2ft longer. Overall, I am really happy with this purchase. I bought it from Crutchfield for the extended warranty coverage and the awesome support. Thanks.

Pros: Perfect for a study room

Cons: Needs longer cable

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Final touch

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is exactly what I was looking for as a second Sub for my new home's surround sound entertainment for our Great room. All other speakers are in wall or in ceiling. This finish is the little touch that my wife was agreeable to. As it's finish and size is perfect.

Pros: Size and sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased two units (for L+R) when it was on sale. I like the relaxed (not flabby) upper bass from the sub. My other sub, 8 inch Mirage, has tight bass but it does not sound as easy as Jamo. When you listen to music in your car there is no deep bass but you enjoy the music because of the strong upper bass. The unit is compact. Build is ok. Grill cloth is nice but it does not stay on tightly on both units. Controls on the bottom of the unit is nice. You can face the front in any direction. Plus becomes minus when you have to make adjustment. The amp lacks features. No speaker level input. I had to buy a Y rca splitter in order to connect the sub. No big deal for home theater receiver users. I use passive preamp. The sound of satellite speakers sounds better (more focused) when the rca going to the sub is disconnected. I guess I need a preamp(active) or buffer. At retail price, I recommend this unit for smaller rooms . Sounds nice but does not play super loud. For larger rooms you can get better units for the price.

Pros: Size/geometry Relaxed upper bass. Totally hidden controls Nice grill fabric

Cons: No speaker level input. Hard to reach the controls The grills could be held more tightly

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

great value in a 8" sub

Crutchfield customer from Denver, NC on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added S 808 sub to my existing S 805 towers used in a AV system I noticed an instant improvement and sound was greatly filled out Unit's design provided additional placement options

Pros: design adds placement options

Cons: none noted

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 6/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm grateful Crutchfield could offer The Jamo S 808 at a reduced price. It made the decision to purchase simple. I almost went with the next best model but I'm at the point where I know Crutchfield wouldn't sell me a bad product. I like how its thin (My other sub box great but bulky) yet does the job of the "bulky one" I have had for over a decade. When it goes into "sleep mode" it truly sleeps and takes a little while to "wake up". An "uppity" audiophile might get upset by missing that "low end non-directional sound" for two/three seconds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great for me

Crutchfield customer from Punta Gorda, FL on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the outlet price this was a major bargain. I only use this in a system for music, mostly jazz and classical. My Jamo towers provide excellent bass and the 808 nicely supplements what little they miss! Crutchfield is my sole supplier of gear: their support and service is exceptional.

Pros: Price, compact footprint

Cons: Probably less then ideal for home theater/movies.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Little Sub

Crutchfield customer from Flowood, MS on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little sub for it's size. Frequency and volume adjustments are a plus to tune to your likings or room placement. I suggest moving it around your room placing near corners, between furniture or even under furniture to find that sweet spot. It's not going to produce the deep bumping bass as a 12" big box would but offers a great controlled low end that would probably suit most listeners.

Pros: Size, price and adjustments

Cons: Don't expect low bumpy bass.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamon! Sub S 808

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was the missing piece to my bedroom system in which it could serve as a main system. Performs almost as good as my velodyne on the main in the media room. Job well done jamo!

Pros: Does its job very well

Cons: Only 50 watts.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works well for space saver

Crutchfield customer from Holiday, FL on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nicely balanced sub. You won't get seismic bass but it works really well in a HT system mostly for music and Tv/movie viewing. I got this to replace a great 12 inch Klipcsh sub that really kicked but was a huge black cube. (-20 WAF. LOL) The 808 does a good job overall and wife is happy. One small negative is that during long mutes or pauses it will shutdown. Will probably just leave it in on mode

Pros: Small size, great sound ,good price, nice aesthetics

Cons: During long mutes or pauses auto shut-off turns it off

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Kings Park, NY on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid sub and clean design. Great bang for your buck!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Billy from Bloomington, IN on 2/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the sub, in desgin and quality. Only regret is not going with the 10"

Pros: Great design and quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Lk Havasu Cty, AZ on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect Fit where I needed it in my 5th wheel travel trailer great sound very happy with the speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Kenmore, WA on 10/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great price, fit my list of requirements, so far so good

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife HATED the big sub box on the floor out in the open, needed a sub to fit in the ent unit. Mostly TV, some movies, some music - didn't need huge low end, just enough to round out the sound. This sub is certainly small. I laid it on its side firing up, ent unit has plenty of air flow. This is just a little larger than a av receiver. Sound blends well with my existing speakers. I have not yet tried pushing it to its limit. But when you buy an 8in powered sub, that's prob not something you needed anyway... I have not heard any of the amp clipping mentioned in other posts. Great price, fit my list of requirements, so far so good.

Pros: Price, size, sounds blend well at moderate volumes

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Temecula, CA on 7/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this sub. I am using in conjunction with Audio Engine P4 speakers connected to iTunes on my computer. The sub provides the right amount of bottom end grunt.

Pros: Great sound for the money.

Cons: Controls for the sub are on the bottom on the unit, so I just rotated it 90 degrees for better access. No big deal.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Merrillville, IN on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, fast shipping what more could you ask for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really delivers!!!

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful and affordable way to add depth and texture to my sound system. Well spent dollars on a great subwoofer that delivers!!

Pros: Beautiful fit with furniture!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A thin subwoofer with good bass

Delivered from Bourbonnais, IL on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently downsized my entertainment center and was trying to eliminate the bulky subwoofer from being on the floor. This was able to fit into my entertainment center perfectly. Now all you see is the entertainment center and no subwoofer, however you know the bass is there, because it makes my highs and midrange speakers sound full. Though it's only an 8" subwoofer, it can create a punch. I don't have the sound to strong, I just want the highs, mids and bass to compliment each other. Perfect for what I needed it!

Pros: Thin, good bass, all around a very nice subwoofer

Cons: Personally the speaker was great for what I needed it, but price is pretty bulky. I guess your paying for the thin design.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Grove, UT on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for my purpose. Good sound, compact form. Fit exactly as I hoped it would.

Pros: Compact. Good sound.

Cons: Outputs on the bottom. Strange placement.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Low end support

Adam from Brooktondale, NY on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't expect the world from a cheap 8" sub and you'll be pleasantly surprised. I use two of these to compliment my Polk LSIM703 and they're a lovely fit. They offer support where it count in a stylish and aesthetically pleasing form factor. For the price, you can't go wrong.

Pros: Stylish, capable

Cons: Doesn't go as deep as you might want

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Timothy from Stockbridge, GA on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was the perfect addition to my music room. Small compact with great sound. I ordered a scratch and dent and it was defective , called crutchfield and Gage took it care if it in a few minutes , I had a new one 2 days later and happy to report it works great.

Pros: Cost Compact Great sound

Cons: Outputs on the bottom , takes a right angle audio cable (included) but wasn't able to find an upgrade.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound and fit in a smaller space

Alexander from Farmington, MN on 2/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very impressed with the performance of this sub for the size. Using this in a smaller basement remodel it fits extremely well behind other furniture and even at the lower power settings delivers strong audio that I did not expect from a unit this size.

Pros: Size, Appearance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great size, plenty of power for my small room

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, NC on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid bass filling in with 2 smaller speakers in my office. It's great fitting in next to my desk where I don't have much space. It has plenty of power to handle the smaller room, I'm glad I didn't pay more for the 10 inch model. I appreciate the 90 degree power cord since the panel is on the bottom, but I wish it came with a 90 degree audio cable as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Love it!

Pete from Smithville, TX on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Sub has what it takes! The sound is great and works likes is supposed to.

Pros: Compact and can be placed under a sofa.

Cons: Cannot find any!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Fitchburg, WI on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer. Very adjustable so you can get just the right amount of base and rumble. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Duxbury, MA on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unique design not found in other subs. Good looking and easy to hide because it is so thin, unlike a cube. . Front firing element spreads sound around much better than floor-firing cubes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JAMO subwoofer

Eric from Trotwood, OH on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big sound from a smaller subwoofer. Works great in my smallish condo living room setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, NH on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be more satisfied with your products and customer service. Great company and deals. I know where to continue for excellent audio components.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Walnut S 808 Sub

Bruce from Dallas, TX on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, this subwoofer has a great entry level price. There are enough controls to get decent performance from this subwoofer. In my particular case running a pair of bookshelf speakers I was able to dial in acceptable sound with the filter set at 40Hz and Volume around 50%. If I set either control higher the sub started to boom somewhat which got worse increasing either control. Likewise, turning up the volume also caused more boom. I suspect there was a gap in my frequency response at this setting, but it was all together listenable, albeit at low listening levels. This was not a deal breaker for me as this unit was used to round out the sound at low listening levels. The unit did however start to randomly thump. I originally thought there was a thunderstorm in the area and kept walking outside for two hours before I realized the sub woofer was the culprit. Crutchfield has given me a RMA and I am returning for a different unit. I think the unit is well worth it given the price, I probably just received a lemon.

Pros: Great Price Good Sound Small Footprint

Cons: Quality Control

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Two thumbs up... way up!

J. from Pasadena, CA on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this to my newly downsized stereo "system": a pair of KEF C95s I've been happily listening to for 30 years driven with an NAD D 3020v2. Wasn't looking for thundering disco bass, just a subtle visceral edge to blend seamlessly into an already-magnificent soundscape. ("Is it even on? Oh, wait... now I hear it.") Size & shape were very important; would have bought a sub decades ago but resisted adding a big black cube to my humble decor. I enjoy a wide range of musical genres, but mostly acoustical recordings & classical. This is a beautifully designed & executed product. It brings me great joy.

Pros: Size, shape, appearance, performance, price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what the doctor ordered ! just the right amount of bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for Movies and music in my 200 sq ft room. Looks great also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

The Little Sub That Could

Chris from Milton, WV on 9/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think this little sub does a great job. My main sub is a Velodyne CT100,,,around 15 years old and still kicking. But this Jamo complements it nicely. Was looking to add a second smaller sub since I upgraded to a 7.2 receiver. This one fit the bill for where I needed it to go. It was a scratch and dent model that looked about new to me. If you're limited on space this will do nicely.

Pros: Small. Sounds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little sub with good bass. Works wonderfully in my space. Seems to be well built and can get down to some super low bass!!. Crutchfield is a good company to buy from. Great people:)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, CA on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first 8" subwoofer I have ever owned. I bought this one not because I wanted an 8'' but because of space constraints this unconventionally shaped sub in the 8" size was the only product that would work for my intended use. I gave it five stars based on its build quality, looks, and performance relative to its price. I have multiple playback systems in my house and the subs I currently have in use are a 10" Velodyne, two 12" Hsus, a 12"Dayton Audio, a 12" Klipsch, a 12" Orb, and a 12" Rythmik. And no, this little 8" Jamo won't rattle the windows but your can't expect Ferrari performance at Toyota prices. What it does do is provide more than adequate bass for movies and music in a small to medium listening room at moderate to loud-enough-to-bother-the-neighbors-in the-apartment-next-door listening levels. It is a ported design but is not boomy and for an 8" is surprisingly articulate. You will probably not find a better sounding sub for this price point. I have had more expensive subs that don't sound as good as this one. It compares favorably to 10" subs from well-known manufacturers and costs considerably less. As a bonus it is a relatively unobtrusive piece of furniture if that is important to you or your spouse. And the auto-on function works better almost every other sub I own: even at very low levels it wakes up at the first signal

Pros: Unbeatable performance for the price. Punches way above its weight class.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this purchase. Quality build and materials. Size and sound are perfect for my needs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Jamo S 808 SUB

Dan from Clemson, SC on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll be honest I have been impressed by this little sub. I purchased to replace an older Harmon Kardon sub that was starting to pop and was way to big for the small living room. I primarily chose the Jamo for the price and size. It definitely does the trick for my needs. The sound is pretty clean and definitely has enough power even at 50w. I would recommend this to anyone on a budget needing to add some low end sound in surround system.

Pros: Very small

Cons: I would not use this in a large room as my primary sub.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

TOP