Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Jamo S 83 CEN

Center channel speaker (Black)

MFR # 1064330

Jamo S 83 CEN

Jamo S 83 CEN

Center channel speaker (Black)

MFR # 1064330

8 reviews
View this product

Great center speaker

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first center speaker that cost more than $50 so I don't have another decent speaker to compare to, but I'm really impressed with this speaker with that being said. I've got no complaints about it. The sound coming out of it is waaaay better than what I've ever used before. If you're coming from a cheap speaker like me then you won't be disappointed with this.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: A bit large (could be larger than anticipated for some)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound and looks

Dustin from Apo, ae on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and looks

Pros: Sound. Price and aesthetics

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jamo S 83 CEN

Clifton from Luthvle Timon, MD on 2/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers love the sound !!!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Center Channel

Pete from Smithville, TX on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been looking for affordable speakers that look and sound amazing. So far the Jamo Studio series has impressed. I love the sound and the looks. The center blends in well with the Jamo towers. The sound is crisp, voices are natural. Sound stage is accurate.

Pros: Looks and sounds great!

Cons: The size

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound Great Looks!

G-Zam from Miami, FL on 11/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I previously had the smaller version with 4" woofers (81C) and it wasn't bad but I felt it was missing something, so I returned it and got this one instead. This version sounds much better. The tweeter plays the highs and the 2 woofers play mids and lows. The highs are not bright. The speaker has a neutral sound. The bigger 5" woofers give a natural sound to the vocals and the bass is not punchy. I personally don't like too much bass on my center so this speaker is perfect for natural sounding vocals. I let the subwoofer handle the lows but if you don't have a sub, this center channel will sound fine when playing sound effects like gunshots. The speaker is loud enough to the point where I lower the center channel volume so it doesn't overpower the sound from my towers. I like the effects and background music coming from my front channels to be heard so i tweak the volume to my liking. This speaker pairs very well with my Jamo S 807 towers (which I love!) but most of all they all look great in white and have a high level of WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor). Is it the best? No, but considering the price range and the looks, these sound great. I hear that the bookshelves Jamo S 803 sound amazing. This would pair great with those bookshelves. I will be getting them shortly and will use them as my surround channels although they make great front speakers. Jamo is not as popular in the US market yet but soon they will be a force to be reckoned with in the home theater arena.

Pros: Neutral Sound Great for vocals Beautiful vinyl finish Looks great w/ or w/o grille Magnetic grille

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Can't Complain

Anthony from Grand Rapids, MI on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this speaker from a different retailer in walnut because Crutchfield doesn't yet have the walnut. Hopefully it will come soon. This center speaker gets the job done. Not hissy and not bright to my ear. dialogue sounds accurate and natural. For the price, it seems hard to beat. Obviously is not perfect, I have heard better sounding center speakers, but this one is very good for the money. Very happy with it as it matches my S807 towers well. Looks better in person than it does online. The size of the center seemed large to me initially when purchased (I have a pretty slim center speaker in a different room), but now seems quite normal and has a nice design. Overall, very satisfied with this product.

Pros: Accurate, looks good, fills the room easily.

Cons: Goes deep, but not as deep as some other centers that may cost much more. Not enough of an issue to give it 4 stars.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jamo S 83 CEN

Crutchfield customer from Ballston Spa, NY on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this center speaker. I have been searching for a new surround sound speakers and was glad to come across Jamo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

soundstage plus

Steve from New Cumberland, PA on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great addition to my home hi-fi system. Pairs nicely and is acoustically matched well with Jamo tower speakers. This center speaker is somewhat larger than some others, has a slightly edgy design (forward sloped enclosure), big AND accurate sound without noticeable distortion, filling the mid-ranges in an otherwise dead space. Soundstage with tower speakers is very nice. Sitting about 12' or so from the set-up with the center speaker at ear height sounds delightful, especially with acoustic instruments. Nice fit n' finish on the enclosure. TV sound improvement ? Who cares ? The hi-def hi-fi system in my house just made a major improvement. While partially sold as a TV sound enhancement, it really shines for a music only system.

Pros: handsome, great soundstage, precise sound. Good addition for those who are building a hi-def system.

Cons: a little large, depending on location, i.e. under a tv.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP