Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

AudioQuest DragonFly® Black v1.5

Plug-in USB DAC/headphone amplifier, compatible with Apple® and Android™ mobile devices

MFR # DRAGONFLYBLK

AudioQuest DragonFly® Black v1.5

AudioQuest DragonFly® Black v1.5

Plug-in USB DAC/headphone amplifier, compatible with Apple® and Android™ mobile devices

MFR # DRAGONFLYBLK

52 reviews
View this product

Buy this thing!!

Joe from Culpeper, VA on 11/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased the AQ Dragonfly Black and Jitterbug. The jury is still out on the Jitterbug. First, I have to ask myself "why did I wait so long to try this thing?" It is truly fantastic. My PC is a lower-end h-p with "integrated sound." It's actually not bad, but WOW what a difference the Dragonfly Black makes. My speakers are high-end, however. They are the absolutely fantastic Monsoon MM-700, a 2.1 amplified system with planar magnetic satellites. Although good before, these things really sing when fed by the Dragonfly. Once adjusted, the system sounds great. Clear highs, excellent dynamics, great bass, and a much improved soundstage. Truly unreal for a mere $99 investment. I borrowed a set of headphones from my Granddaughter ($13 no less!) as all of mine are ¼-in plugs and the sound floored me. I'm not kidding. Unreal. Videos tried include the excellent Cranberries Zombie 1999 Live (RIP dear Delores), and several Nena vids (yeah, Nena of the 99 Red Balloons smash hit of the early 80's). If you love kick-ass rock check out Genau Jetzt and Nur Getraumt, and then there's the unbelievably beautiful In Meinem Leben (all recorded live in concert in Germany). You're welcome. Nena is pushing 60 and is more beautiful and sounding better than ever. She performs on stage with three of her adult children. Amazing. Truly. I never realized what a talent she is, but I'm a believer now. The vids have German/English captioning so so give 'em a try.Oh yeah, and don't forget: BUY!!!

Pros: Terrific sound. Tremendous value. Easy to set-up (96kHz for me).

Cons: Huh? What?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, MA on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This DAC provides a surprising upgrade to the sound quality from the standard headphone jack on the computer and small lightning to audio jack adapter. I was most excited to have a higher output voltage from my iPhone however the increased output was rather small, only about 45mV RMS more. I tried both version of the lightning to USB camera adapters and the output voltages were the same. I was only able to achieve the rated 1.2V RMS when I was plugged into a laptop. The higher output voltages are needed to drive my DIY class A amplifier to full power.

Pros: Noticeable improvement in audio quality.

Cons: Needs to be plugged into a computer to achieve the maximum output voltage.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, IN on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does make a big difference, listen to a song you know well. Then add dragonfly and listen

Pros: Does actually make a difference

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Concord, MA on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DragonFly Black is the real deal! To my ears, the Black makes mp3s sound nearly as good as a CD. When using the Black with my iPhone 6, I had the best results when connecting with Apple's more expensive Lightning to USB 3 camera adaptor. The improvement in sound was not subtle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just what I hoped for

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 9/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I knew my audio with a quality internal laptop audio system, Spotify Premium and ATH-M50X/Sennheiser HD 569 headphones was good for what I have. Bass is heard a little more clearly now, in terms of actual pitch of notes on bass staff and the separatiom can now be heard when playing in unison with piano. Vocal lyrics are clearer, and sound" feels" more quiet/less blury. Turning the volume over to DragonFly via laptop controls required reducing Spotify volume bar which was set one digit below maximum. Otherwise volume was hard to adjust in gradations.

Pros: More detail, separation, timbre, quiteness, with no loss of warmth. Laptop notifies me it was setting up the "device" and notified me again in about ten seconds it was "ready to go"!

Cons: Be aware of need for possible adjustment to streaming volume bars as well as difference in numbers on the computer audio window!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Guest from Titusville, FL on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little device. Cant wait to try the red. Thanks cody.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Must have for any stereophile

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 6/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is awesome, I needed a dac pre amp to go with my Blue Mo-fi headphone with it built in amp . Sound quality was improved by 90 %

Pros: A must have

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Westborough, MA on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought it for my laptop music library,to improve the sound,I got no improvement,but static from time to time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/12/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your DragonFly. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Keith from Arlington, VA on 4/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this after trying it out with the Speaker Compare kit, and was amazed how much it improved the sound of my headphones when plugged into my computer. It works well on a smartphone as well, but it is kind of clumsy, since you have to plug it into a dongle in addition to the Dragon Fly itself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Noticeable improvement for a reasonable price

Crutchfield customer from Mount Laurel, NJ on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been considering purchasing a DAC, primarily for use with my work laptop and Bose Quiet Comfort 25 noise-cancelling headphones. Based on numerous positive reviews both here and elsewhere, I decided on the DragonFly Black v1.5. I've had it for just over a week, and have been impressed from the start. The sound had a fuller feel to it, and I was able to hear more of the nuance in the music (particularly with jazz compositions). I also liked that I no longer had to crank up the volume on my laptop - I rarely need to turn it past 15, whereas before I had to set it to close to 50 to achieve the same effect. Setup was easy with both my Windows 10 work laptop and Windows 7 home laptop. The small footprint works well on my crowded office and home desks, and I am considering buying an adapter so that I can use it with my Pixel 2 phone. Overall, I am quite pleased with this device.

Pros: Great sound, simple setup, small footprint, good value

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Dac's a Fact Jack

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never understood Dac's or felt it was worth the price the Dragonfly was a good choice to learn. When using higher resolution sources the music is cleaner crisper and more defined. More noticeable in my car that is more hi res than my home. But I'm trying to bring the home system up. The Dragonfly is nice because it will run off anything so I can run it off my phone or computer. It also tells you the resolution you are getting so I've learned laptop gives me higher res. I now see me downloading hi res files to it to try in the Saab. Depending on the source or the system it may make a difference but for the price it was a good choice for me.

Pros: Portable. Easy to use. Works with multiple sources and system.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great USB DAC for the $$

Crutchfield customer from Iowa City, IA on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AQ DragonFly Black is a good USB DAC. It compares very favorably with the Audioengine D3 and my old Apogee Duet Firewire for sound quality. It doesn't have a tremendous amount of power to push volume into higher impedance headphones, however. I have 250 Ohm BeyerDynamics...the volume level is adequate, but I often have to set the output to near full volume on my Mac in order to achieve that. But the sound quality is excellent, and I love way the dragonfly light changes color to denote the frequency setting. It also feels like a solid and sturdy unit with a nice rubberized matte black coating. Really classy look and feel.

Pros: Great SQ Nice form factor and solid build Color-changing light tells you the frequency (44.1 vs. 96 Khz, for example)

Cons: High-impedance headphones may be under-driven by this unit. Struggles to get enough voltage into 250 Ohm Beyerdynamic DT-880s.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Soldotna, AK on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm suprised by the change in sound quality while running my iPod through my vintage stereo system. Tremendous value upgrade!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Extreme Clarity & Immaculate Connectivity

Gerrit from Phoenix, AZ on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So, I got the Audioengine D3 several years ago and have loved it so much for what it did to my Sennheiser HD558's. My biggest complaint with it over the years was that I couldn't hook it to my phone. As soon as the Dragonfly black came out I wanted it, but with the purchase of a home and some other expenses it had to wait. I finally decided to sell my D3 and buy this one. Well, let's just I shouldn't have waited to do that, because not only does it work fantastically with my phone, but the sound quality is better than the D3. This thing is pure magic. I'm hearing sound reproduction at it's best and the albums I love in at a level of detail I did not expect differently from the beloved D3. Props to Audioquest for knocking this out of the park.

Pros: Works so amazingly well with my Samsung Galaxy Note 5

Cons: so far none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Dragonfly is a hit

Fran from Conrad MT on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible product. I know little about electronics, but a friend of my husband who used to work for your company texted and told me about this product for my husbands Christmas gift. I followed Woody's suggestion and gave my husband Steve this for Christmas. Steve LOVES it! Steve has a degree in music and knows what he's listening to. He is so happy with the DragonFly that he has his ear buds in most of the time. I scored with this gift. Thank you team

Pros: superior audio quality, compact size, turns my i-phone xr into an audio phile-grade devise,

Cons: when using it with ios devises you need an Apple lightening to usb adapter which makes it a little less convenient.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed with product and Crutchfield

Ben from Boynton Beach, FL on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great but I was hoping for a controller for my iPhone X, which tech support said would but it didn't so they suggested AudioEngine D3 which was way worse so I returned it

Pros: None

Cons: Everything I asked for amounted to stress so I gave up and accepted the expensive equipment for my needs to avoid more stress, time and money

Crutchfield response on

1 of 19 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Cloquet, MN on 8/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good price. Has improved my listening. Easy to setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Improved sound

Timothy from Vancouver, WA on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Improved highs: sopranos don't screech and busy violins don't distort. Now I will hold off buying an expensive headphone. Bass seems to have improved but I wasn't listening that close. There are too many connections between the tablet and phones: cable, Dragonfly, and Dragon Tail so I have to carefully lay everything on a flat surface to keep them from coming apart. That's my only negative.

Pros: Undistorted highs

Cons: Too many connections to come loose

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Sperry, OK on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to investigate what all the buzz about portable DACs was all about. I was not disappointed with the DragonFly Black. There was a definite noticeable difference in the clarity and tightness of music when I use it. I use it on my phone and my computer at work. I don't know that I want to listen to music without it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Benjamin from Canton, OH on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a tough review. It's very subjective to try to analyze sound quality. I got this originally with my old desktop speakers, and since then got a pair of JBL LSR308's. I notice more difference with the JBL's, but still a subtle difference. I can tell that the harshness of things like cymbals are brought down when going through the Dragonfly, as well as more clarity in the instruments. But there is no WOW factor here. The first time I plugged it in I felt that the difference was great, but that's because I was actually critically listening to the music then, which we tend to when we buy something new. As I kept listening and switching between the Dragonfly and the jack on my laptop I heard less and less differences. I am continuing to listen and test it, but unless you are an audiophile I'm not sure this is for you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 15 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Richard from Cloverdale, CA on 1/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little thing works fantastic. I plugged my new dragonfly into my laptop there was an immediate and radical improvement in the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Charles from Jackson, MS on 11/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I suppose this DAC has enhanced the sound quality coming from my Bose speaker that connects with and sits atop my television, but it's not the dramatic improvement I had hoped to achieve. It was very easy to install, however, and it's not terribly expensive.

Pros: reasonably priced and easy to install

Cons: barely discernable improvement in quality of sound.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great start for a budding audiophile!

Michael from Charlottesville, VA on 10/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a music enthusiast, but not really an audiophile . I bought the DragonFly on the recommendation of a coworker who assured me a DAC would help me squeeze just a little more performance out of my new noise-cancelling headphones (which I'm in love with). I'm glad I listened to him! Even as a quality-audio novice, I can tell the DragonFly gives my music more "oomph". Though I listen to music on average a few hours at work every day, I noticed the most remarkable difference when pairing the DragonFly with my phone and DragonTail adapter (which I purchased separately). I fly regularly, and the power and quality boost of the external DAC over my phone's built-in DAC were prominent. The sound went from shallow and quiet, unable to overpower the sound of the plane's engine, to making me feel almost as if I were sitting at home with my headphones on. If you're already pretty happy with the sound from your usual listening device, the DragonFly might not blow you away. The money might be better put toward a headphone upgrade. But if you know your device is putting out less-than-magical sound, the DragonFly will make you a happier listener!

Pros: very easy to set up, small/portable, huge improvement over mobile device

Cons: less noticeable improvement over my PC's DAC

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

MartinLogans on My Head!

Paul-Michael from Reno, NV on 9/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I primarily use this for listen to my iMac at night as I write so as to not to disturb others in my apartment complex. I stream two Beautiful Music Stations: Amityville Community Radio on Long Island along with Jones College Radio out of Jacksonville, Florida. My DagonFly powers my Grado SR80e headphones with no problem. Listening to the above, I love the full rich sound I get. the voices are nice and warm; very well balance. I also stream Acorn TV... WOW! I can hear detail in the background of scenes and love when a car goes across the screen I can hear it go from one ear through my head to the other ear! MY DagonFly makes my DVDs come alive! Right now I am veiwing my brand-new Star Trek: The Original Series Complete Collection. I love the opening of each episodes watching Enterprise go across my iMac's screen and hearing it go through my head! I play my CDs through my iMac: My Phil Keggy's "Wind and The Wheat" is so airy! I can hear each and every instrument clear as if I am in the studio. I can even hear Phil's fingers on the the strings! Eugene Ormandy and The Philadelphia Orchestra's recording of Clair de Lune by Debussy is all out awesomeness!!! I can see The Fountains of Bellagio dancing in my mind; think Ocean Eleven. This is like having my old MartinLogan speakers on my head. Oh, I should say I had to buy this as the headphone plug on my iMac broke and could not listen for awhile. There is a night and day difference between the 'old plug' and using my DagonFly!!

Pros: Easy to install and use: just plug it in, down load the program, set it and forget it!

Cons: I do wish I could run it to make the internal iMac speakers sound better.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Lisle, IL on 8/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DragonFly Black is transformative. I use it with my android phone for music and tablet for video. The upgrade over the internal hardware in my devices is far beyond my expectations. The largest impact is to dynamics, from the most subtle wind blowing through leaves to bombastic explosions. Musical imaging and detail are vastly improved as well. I highly recommend the DragonFly to anyone listening to audio on a mobile device.

Pros: Dynamics, imaging and nuance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audioquest Black

Jose from Cabo Rojo, PR on 8/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best portable DAC I have owned. However, I have all of my music in iPod Classics and there is no way except an iPhone or modern iPods where it will work. Nor is there a modern iPod that I know of that will hold my whole 200+ CDs as the IPod Classics with their 160mb capacity. Maybe Apple or Audioquest can put out a connector or modify their software to service iPod Classic fans!

Pros: Good sound. Good volume for Grado headphones.

Cons: Unable to listen all of my music collection in my iPod Classics. (I own 4 Classics each with a different genre of music)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Danville, VA on 7/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5 is an amazing little sound device. The sound is crystal clear when used with my iMac and Yamaha stereo receiver. The bass on my old tower speakers is really tight, and the highs are clean and crisp. Plus it is simple to use. There is no comparison between this and the Mac sound card I was using prior to purchasing the DragonFly. You cannot go wrong with this product. I just can't believe that something so inexpensive can be so effective.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Joseph from Nashville, TN on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's awesome I can take this anywhere! I tested my new headphones with and without the DragonFly and I was surprised to hear such better quality with the DragonFly when listening to standard mp3's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 4/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boosts clear audio output over that available through the notebook headphone output jack. All it needs is accompanying software that provides tone and dialogue enhancement, a la Dolby Home Theatre v4. This could be a ChaChing for an AudioQuest/Dolby collaboration. An "audiophile" HiFi source from your beater laptop!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little item is a no-brainer. I downloaded all my cd's to digital on my mac. When I play them with and without the DragonFly attached it is night and day to me. I'm a happy camper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from North Lima, OH on 3/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's simple and works great. I have a few devices around with bad 3.5mm ports and this even sounds better than the devices with good ports.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Products, and I was surprised!

Vin from Ontario, OR on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought both the Dragonfly Red and Black to compare them side by side. I compared them on my Samsung Galaxy S5 and S7, and with headphone output on my laptop. To me, the Black is better. Volume level 3 on the Black with my S5 was louder than max volume on the Red with the same phone. I am also using the USB Player Pro App on my S5. Don't get me wrong, the Red still sounded very good, just not as much volume. On my S7, it was plug and play, no USB Player Pro App required (the S5 requires this program to play music with these DAC's). I used the Samsung Music Player on my S7. Interestingly enough, 3 spots down from top volume level on the Black equaled 3 spots up on my S5. The Red played slightly louder on my S7, not enough to equal top volume with the Black on this phone. I thought the Red sounded better on my S7 than my S5. With laptop, the sonic differences became more apparent. Volume level was greatly increased on the Red, putting it on a better comparison with the Black. The Red on my laptop sounded fuller, more subtleties in the sound came out. The Black still sounded good, but the overall sound and Soundstage was better with the Red. I mostly played Top 40 (pop), electronic dance music and some rock. Now, these differences weren't immense, but if you want a more audiophile sound on a PC, go with the Red. If you want something to play on your phones (what I do mostly), the Black is the clear winner, since it does fairly well on the PC, too. Good luck!

Pros: Excellent volume output with Android phones, big quality difference compared to headphone out on phone, excellent build quality.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Great, inexpensive upgrade for PC, Android and iOS sourced systems

Alec from Bethesda, MD on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Dragonfly Black has been a great addition to my office sound system, which was driven by my PC to a pair of Tivoli 2 speakers (essentially a Tivoli One Radio plus a matching speaker and an old, inexpensive Cambridge Soundworks PC subwoofer). I also pair it with the Dragon Tail that allows me to pair it with my Samsung smartphone and headphones. For the price, it's a fantastic way to upgrade any compatible source. The sound is both much more powerful and clear. Highly recommended as a way of inexpensively and conveniently improving audio quality. As usual Crutchfield was great about getting and shipping it ahead of the expected "in-stock" date.

Pros: Great boost for clarity AND power Inexpensive Small and convenient to carry Easy to install and configure PC sound setting

Cons: Does not work for tablets generally Needs a Dragon Tail to pair with Android or iPhone and is cumbersome if the phone isn't sitting somewhere

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Truly tasteful listening

William from Seattle, WA on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic little device for two reasons. First, the sound quality is downright shocking for a hundred buck product. Excellent sound-staging on familiar acoustic works, plus good bass slam on fun dance and other rhythmic tunes. I have the good fortune of being able to compare it to reference products at home and I have not once had that "it's good for what it is" feeling; I just listened to the music and enjoyed it! I'm using it to drive highly efficient IEM's, so the power is multiple times what I need. Second, the form factor simply just works. Unlike several other portable amps I've owned, where the amp sits back-to-back with the phone, this thumb-drive-sized rectangle works inline between an OTG cable and your headphones. No more worrying about over-bending a stiff audiophile USB cable. With regard to battery life, I am able to listen for a 6-hour flight without completely draining my phone battery, so AQ's claims of low power consumption seem to be realistic. Do make sure that your chosen music app gives you sufficient control of USB output to take advantage of this amp. If you don't know or care about transcoding, bit depth, or re-sampling, this isn't the product for you. Net-net, I strongly recommend trying out this one. From a value perspective, what AQ has achieved with this product is wonderful. It's a taste of high-end listening where ever you are, which is never as much time as you'd like to spend in dedicated in-home space.

Pros: sound-staging; bass impact; dynamic contrast; form factor; phone battery drain

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

A great little "stick"!

Dickie from Austin, TX on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice addition to my PC while playing my music playlists, as well as my streaming music. I am very impressed and would recommend to anyone wanting to improve on music playback.

Pros: Big bang for your music

Cons: None, that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great music

Steven from St Petersburg, FL on 2/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this DAC, because of the reputation. The sound is better than I could have hoped. Another music GREAT addition to my laptop.

Pros: Easy to set up and clear sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Magical little device

Mike from Houston, TX on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely worth the money. Makes a big difference on my Macbook Air and even bigger difference on iPhone. Significantly more depth and sounds you can't even hear before. Volume is about 1/3 higher than without DragonFly. On a PC with a high quality sound card the difference becomes much more difficult to hear. Also the size of the improvement depends on what you are listening to both in terms of music style (classical/jazz vs hip hop) and the amount of compression of the recordings. Highly recommended if you're using something run of the mill for playback.

Pros: Great sound Easy to Use

Cons: A bit cumbersome on a phone.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

James from Wayne, NJ on 12/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have read many reviews on the DragonFly Black and all versions scored very high. Unfortunately, I am one of the few who disagree. I have tried all combinations of two desktop computers, iPhone 5c, iPhone 5S, Monster Inspiration headphones, and high end PSB M4U1 headphones, listening to various rock, blues and modern pop with 128, 192 and 320 bitrates as well as Spotify. In any scenario, I could not tell the difference, other than volume. I even tried blind tests between myself and a friend, adjusting for volume to not make it obvious, with and without the Dragonfly, and I got it wrong every time. I gave it 2 stars for the amp giving a bit of a volume boost, which is good for some old recordings, but other than that, it literally did nothing recognizable to the sound for me. I really wanted to like it and for one full month I tried hard to listen for even the slightest difference, but I just could not find it. I'm asking to return it.

Pros: Decent amp.

Cons: No noticeable difference in sound whatsoever, which is the point of the product.

Crutchfield response on 1/2/2017
James, we're sorry you were disappointed with your Dragonfly. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 5 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Mark from Broomfield, CO on 12/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, currently the unit I have has become lose inside. Not 100% sure but this may be the cause of the intermittent pausing while using the solution mobile. When this happens I have to pull my phone out and start the song again..basically can't use it for active mobility. That said, Crutchfield has been great and I have one on order, actually went with the Red this time because those are supposed to come in first. As far as the solution goes though I love the sound quality it adds to music listening via the laptop and or phone over headphones alone.

Pros: - small and portable - Good sound - inexpensive relative to other DAC's

Cons: - seems to cause intermittent pauses on phone.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Muscatine, IA on 12/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adds incredible detail. I can now hear where a drummer is hitting the high hat!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

awesome sound cheap price

ryan from Paradise, CA on 11/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very very impressed with this 99 add on to my iPhone 7. I have never gotten such good portable sound before. Audioquest just needs to make one with the lightning connector already attached and even an extra charging port so you can listen and charge at the same time. All in all this is a no brainer even my non audiophile friends could immediately hear the difference when when tried in on the stereo in a rental car. I am getting an occasional digital clock type clicking noise. Sometimes if I remove and re install the DragonFly it goes away. Not sure what that is about.

Pros: very open and spacious detailed sound compared to not using with iPhone 7

Cons: I am getting occasional digital clock type noise.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 11/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price , the Dragonfly made a very noticeable improvement to the fidelity of the music while streaming Tidal from my iphone. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Vincent from Sammamish, WA on 10/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am surprised by the big sound this little guy can produce. Sound-wise It is as good as my older ~$300 HRT music streamer ii+, but the small size (full size USB thumb drive size) make it so convenient to bring around. For this low price, I think there's no DAC/amp out there that can beat it at this moment. Awesome product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 10/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and provides fuller sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

DragonFly Black v1.5

Richard D from San Antonio, TX on 10/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! I thought my 1998 home system: Thiel CS2.3 floor speakers, Krell amp and NHT subwoofer was great, so I was hesitant when your Crutchfield team suggested I try the DragonFly v1.5. I plugged it into my Iphone 6 IPOD and now I'm a believer. This unit sends out a superior sound, crisp, clear and up front. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is my understanding they offer their upgrade unit, the Red v1.0. Can't wait to hear that one!

Pros: Easy to take with you to satellite locations.

Cons: Non.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Value

Brian from Seattle, WA on 9/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value for a portable USB DAC! Great quality and nice finish makes this feel good in the hand. Works perfectly with an iPhone lightning to camera/USB adapter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

DragonFly v1.5

Daniel from Elmhurst, NY on 7/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had problems with this product from day one. The sound was horrible and, for some reason, slowed-down. I was ready to return it, but somehow it started working properly again. 3 days later, it stopped working altogether. I checked other websites for customer experiences and feedback with this device, and it appears, my problem is far from isolated.

Pros: None

Cons: Never had such a bad experience with a renown product like this one ever.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Dragonfly DAC

Geeman67 from Pearland,texas on 7/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This DAC is the ultimate portable device that will give your music the oomph it needs when listening through headphones!

Pros: Tiny footprint. Awesome sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice simple way to get into DAC audio streaming.

rick from Canyon Country, CA on 7/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this with a MacBook Pro and Grado headphones. I was using a Fiio, USB, amplifier and getting good sound. This also provides nice clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

definite enhancement

Adam D from Catonsville, MD on 7/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been reading reviews about digital to analog converters for quite some time and decided the time had finally arrived. I listen to music at work all the time. I went for this one because it was the least expensive, and it seemed like it wasn't worth fussing over what I would get with the higher priced models. Listening to streaming on Spotify is definitely enhanced. I listen through an old set of Bose computer speakers, or an old Audio Technica pair of headphones. The sound is warmer, crisper, and in front. I think after a couple years of listening pleasure, it will be well worth the investment. I also enjoyed reading the user manual and learning a bit more about sound conversion and playback.

Pros: Improved sound

Cons: Shouldn't all audio players have built in digital to audio converters? (sort of a joke)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dragonfly Black

Tree from Byron, MN on 6/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

D to A converter improved sound quality from my desktop PC. Stunning at first and Pandora steaming quality outstanding. Also improved the audio from my iPhone 5. I use the phone for music while traveling and the audio improvement in my car is quite noticeable. I recommend the Dragonfly for versatile D to A converter.

Pros: Easy to use and excellent value

Cons: No problems, only improved tunes.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WOW! What a difference!

FlyFish77 from Park Ridge, IL on 5/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Dragonfly Black for use with headphones with both my Windows Desktop computer and with my iPhone. I wear noise canceling headphones pretty much all day at work to drown out the sounds in my office. I figured that I might as well listen to better quality sound while I am working. The Dragonfly made a massive improvement in sound when used with the computer. CD quality music streamed from Tidal and from my computer sounded much more clear and crisp than playing the same music through the headphone jack in the computer. Lossy music played from iTunes or Spotity also sounded much better. With the Dragonfly Black it was easy to tell that music streamed from Tidal was superior to music streamed from Spotify. When using the Dragonfly Black on my computer, I had to turn the computer volume way down. The Dragonfly Black also improved the sound of music played through my iPhone, but not as dramatically as it did on my computer. The improve was still easily noticable.

Pros: Sounds great. Excellent bang for the buck.

Cons: None. For this price, how can you lose?

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP