Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

AudioQuest DragonFly® Black v1.5

Plug-in USB DAC/headphone amplifier, compatible with Apple® and Android™ mobile devices

MFR # DRAGONFLYBLK

AudioQuest DragonFly® Black v1.5

AudioQuest DragonFly® Black v1.5

Plug-in USB DAC/headphone amplifier, compatible with Apple® and Android™ mobile devices

MFR # DRAGONFLYBLK

105 reviews
View this product

Great and easy!

Carl from Island Heights, NJ on 1/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. This is my first headphone amp but it's fantastic. Really brings music to life. Basically plug and play with my iPhone. Have not tried it with my Mac yet.

Pros: Bring music to life.

Cons: Volume adjustments with iPhone doesn't have as many increments as I would like (this is minor).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Wellesley Hills, MA on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely wonderful improvement to iphone listening. Very natural, spacious and enjoyable. Great value for money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great quality, works flawlessly with my iPad Pro

Edward from RAPID CITY, SD on 12/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice DAC, good quality, plug & play with my iPad Pro ... works like a champ. Great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Beaver, PA on 12/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made a noticeable improvement in the music coming from my Klipsch six

Pros: Well worth the cost

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 10/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent affordable, portable DAC! Ive tried a couple of different portable DACs, and for the money you can not beat this dac its far more portable than most of the so called portable dacs on the market that well just aren't that portable. I use this mainly with my phone and sometimes with my iPad. I love this dac if your on the fence and looking for an affordable decent dac you can't go wrong by choosing this little beauty. It's easy to use and you will hear a massive improvement in your headphone sound quality. EXCELLENT !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Used with Phone

Crutchfield customer from Altavista, VA on 10/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Dragonfly Black to be used with my smartphone. The unit is solidly built and attractive. Pretty cool how the dragonfly lights up and changes color based on bit rate/ speed. However, I could not discern a lot of improvement in sound quality. The improvement was minimal, and not enough to justify the $130 (with Dragontail) for me. Crutchfield graciously let me return it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lot better compared to original black dragonfly. MQA is icing on the cake!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Willowick, OH on 8/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great screw wireless speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Such a small device, but such a big difference!

Crutchfield customer from Schenectady, NY on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such a small device, but such a big difference! I bought this to supplement a pair of Yamaha PC speakers on my desktop. I did a back-to-back listening session, and the Dragonfly makes the speakers sound fuller, image better, and sound crisper. Very happy, and Crutchfield got it to my lightning fast!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Must Have

Henry from Owatonna on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the DragonFly Black to use with my iPhone 6 for listening to music on my boats stereo system. I have owned a DragonFly Red for about six months that I use with the aforementioned phone to stream both itunes and radio through an old Yamaha receiver and an old pair of Bose 2.0 speakers in my garage. I was really impressed with the improvement a DAC makes with digital music files. The DragonFly Red was my first experience with a DAC and I liked it so much I almost purchased another one for the boat. After reading several reviews on the Black, I pulled the trigger and received it from Crutchfield last week. I was hoping for similar performance for a hundred bucks less than the Red and the Black totally delivers with sonic characteristics almost identical to the DragonFly Red. If you are researching prior to purchasing your first DAC, you can't go wrong with buying a DragonFly Black, especially from Crutchfield.

Pros: Small and Powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AudioQuest DragonFly Black DAC gave an immediate improvement in the sound quality via my laptop and headphones. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Noticable difference

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice addition to the sound. I stream Pandora from my iPhone to a strong 2 channel amp and to some nice Dahlquist speakers. The dragonfly made a noticeable difference especially when listening to my cd collection downloaded to my phone. Very clean and clear. Definitely use the apple camera adapter if you have an iPhone. I'm happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Cabo Rojo, PR on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, I was surprised how the music played on my QSC K12.2 speakers

Pros: Good product

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean up

Crutchfield customer from Merrimack, NH on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using in car to feed head unit from 9+ Android phone. Amazon music stream or not both sound crisp and allow u to get much more fron system. With dragon tail was 125 bucks or so. Good value for money.

Pros:

Cons: Have to use phone to select music

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Massena, NY on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought my Grado hemp headphones sounded great until I added a dragonfly black. This little dac/amp opened up the music so much more. Better bass and separation of instruments. Glad I bought this.

Pros: Portable. Don't need to plug in to an outlet

Cons: Works best if you buy a dragon tail to connect to your phone

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic device. Easy connected to my iPhone with the camera adapter and instantly understood the power of the DAC listening to master tracks on Tidal. Paired with UE CSX headphones and it's an exceptional listening experience. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 2/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely easy to get it working on my laptop. There is definitely improvement in the clarity and detail of the music coming through my headphones. It is just what I was hoping to get with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Paonia, CO on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first experience with this was by renting the SpeakerCompare Kit, which was a lot of fun. The sound quality from my music server (laptop computer) was so much better when using the DragonFly that I bought one. I have a couple of similar but older devices and this one is a very big improvement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't sure they would improve sound with my new HD660s, but there was a marked improvement in sound quality and volume from my older Iphone.

Pros: major improvement in sound quality and volume. Small flash drive size.

Cons: Small size (afraid I will lose it) Cost of extra connector to work with Iphone.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Cuba, MO on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am trying to improve the sound of my powered computer speakers and thought I would give a better DAC a try. Do notice an improvement in detail but not earth shattering. But it is a noticeable upgrade for only $100.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Effortless headphone driver

Bret from TULSA, OK on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

IMHO, compared to iPad Air headphone port, better dynamics and effortless driving of my Sennheiser HD599's. I don't regret not choosing the Red version, which has an improved headphone amp compared to the Black. The Black is capable of higher levels than I would ever listen to with these 50 O headphones. I wish it would power down when I shut down the music app. It appears to stay on if the app is closed and I close the lid on the iPad- the dragonfly turns red. So I have to remove it from the Lightning port to not continue to drain the battery when I put the iPad to sleep. If I had the option it would be 4.5 stars.

Pros: Great sound, better dynamics

Cons: power usage - see review

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

marcus from Atlanta, GA on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The headphone amp sounded good for less than a minute before cutting out. I had to reset the PRAM on my macbook before the dragonfly would work properly... It's working as advertised now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

DragonFly Black best used with Jitterbug

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing results in boosting low end quite a bit and high just a little with re-tuning the entire sound. Note: I did Not think that it improved the sound trying several different headphones tested- so the caveat is: Getting the Jitterbug + the DragonFly together -made great strides improving sound performance as described above. Would recommend the jitterbug with the Dragonfly Black !!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 1/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent audio quality for a very reasonable price. I am using it to drive an integrated amp from a Mac running iTunes, so I can't comment on using it with headphones or portable. But if you need a basic DAC that provides maximum bang for the buck, this is hard to beat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BUY IT

Adalberto from ONTARIO, CA on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are considering this thing, you know what it is and what it does, and let me tell you...It's worth every bit of $100. for my home system, the black is just fine for what I want to do. BUY IT. I've been into audio for awhile. This year I bought klipsch RP600M speakers and a Klipsch RP120 sub. I use vintage Adcom seperates, including an OG GFA-535 amp in my smallish listening area. I recently started listening to the free trial version of amazon HD music streaming, and I wanted to see if this chingadera makes a difference, and it does. The problem i have with Amazon HD, is that after the trial period is over its $15 a mo. and its like a streaming a movie...it slows down my computer if i try to do other things simultaneously. When I first played with it, I ASSumed that 96000 hz sampling would be best, because more is better, but it actually sounds better at 41000hz, per the instructions. At 96000 the bass was a little exagerated. at 41000 the bass is faster, and more realistic, and not exagerated. I futzed around a little setting up my computer, but after 4 minutes, i was set. Then I tried it with youtube. GAUT DAYUMMMNNN!!! Trying this thing with youtube , makes the music sound way less compressed than just using the headphone jack. Its not as good as Amazon HD, but it sounds acceptable...and for the time being its still free. I will have no heartburn canceling amazon hd after the trial period, and just listening to this music on youtube with this thing. BUY IT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Phil from Scottsdale, AZ on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was attempting to connect an Apple Mac Mini to a stereo amplifier/receiver using the headphone jack. In hooking up the same stereo system to a desktop Mac Pro the same way everything worked fine. With Mac Mini got no sound at all, unsure if the little computer did not have enough output to send the signal or if a DAC was needed. Called several local audio/video stores and one other online seller asking about alternatives, none were helpful or even showed much interest in my problem. Then tried Crutchfield, customer rep Sam listened to my description, suggested this product and upon receiving followed the simple install instructions. Voilà: beautiful music flows!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Riverton, UT on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using the Black as a DAC and preamp Out to a Schiit Heresy. Decent interconnect cables helped open up the imaging and separation and firmed up the bass. Using the Apple camera connector 3 as recommended by Audioquest. Works well with iPhone 6, 7, 8 which I use as music storage devices. Mostly have ripped cd's and some HDtracks downloads. Very nice overall and an improvement to the DAC In the phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

easy set up great sound

Crutchfield customer from Edison, NJ on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound; automatically set up on my iphone; It has enough power for the headphones I have. I also listen to wifi radio through iphone on my Denon stereo upstairs excellent sound, probably get another for the downstairs stereo.

Pros: automatic set up great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from South Orleans, MA on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great Just as advertized solid well built

Pros:

Cons: expense

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this enhances the quality of music. too bad it does not have built in volume controls or port for microphone so onw can use in tandem to karaoke/video game chats. It does the job, a bit bulky and heavy so over the long run item might sag or break easily if bumped into. PC settings allow maximized frequency/hertz outputs to any song. I also use it on my phone.

Pros: Clearer Sound

Cons: No Mic, No volume control

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works with Linux

Jeffrey from Hillsborough, NC on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While not specified in the product overview, the manufacturer does state that Linux is a supported operating system for the AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5, but "no support provided". I found it to be plug-and-play running Kubuntu 20.04. I added the following line to the /etc/pulse/daemon.conf file, "avoid-resampling = true", to disable the default behavior of PulseAudio to downsample higher-rate content to 44.1 kHz or 48 kHz and allow content to played at its native sampling frequency. The following command can be used to display the current sampling rate, "pactl list short sinks". Computer audio system consists of the AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5 feeding an Audioengine N22 integrated amplifier, with Audioengine P4 passive speakers (with DS2 stands).

Pros: Provides an easy path to upgraded audio.

Cons: Must use Windows or Mac OS operating system to upgrade firmware.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for use in the car. I also have the Cobalt Dragonfly for my headphones and I really like them both.

Pros: Durable, cool, clean, quality

Cons: Sometimes misses the sample rate and makes a loud grating noise. Simply closing the Tidal app, reopening, and choosing a new song fixes the problem.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bring out the best

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you own well built, well designed headphones like the KLH Ultimate One's or similar, then having an AudioQuest DragonFly Black DAC/AMP is the best way to bring out all the detail and clarity headphones of that caliber can deliver. It is the best way to hear MQA Masters off of streaming service like Tidal. I also like knowing exactly what resolution is being output via the color indicator in the backlit dragonfly log. A definite enjoyable accessory to my headphones.

Pros: Well built. Excellent form factor

Cons: Given its price, it should come with the USB to Lightning adapter.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Greatly Improved PC Sound

Eric from CARLISLE, PA on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the DragonFly for use on my desktop Windows 10 PC. I mainly listen to Amazon Music HD and SiriusXM's streaming service. I wanted to improve the overall sound quality. For example, my PC's motherboard sound couldn't really bring out the detail in the 24-bit audio from Amazon Music. The DragonFly is impressive! Music sounds so much cleaner and those details really come alive. Even old MP3 files sound better. One thing I've noticed is that, even at lower volumes, the sound is still crisp. It's not like you have to pump up the volume to hear everything. Before, I would have to listen on my phone with earbuds if I really wanted to get a higher level of quality. Setting it up is pretty straightforward. There's an instruction guide to help you use it with whatever type of device you have. The only free USB port on my system was USB Type C, so I had to get a "DragonTail" converter. Definitely a bargain overall. I'm not sure what the sound difference is when you compare it to the newer models, but this gave me a lot better results for not a lot of cash.

Pros: Price, Sound Quality, Ease of Setup

Cons: Required a USB Type C Converter

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Grand Forks, ND on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a good deal. Greater clarity, lower distortion. It makes a big difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

The dragon flies

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy to use. Portable.

Pros: See above

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Value!!

Crutchfield customer from Midland, MI on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just plug it in and be amazed. The boost in clarity is worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SIGNIFICANT IMPROVEMENT IN PERFORMANCE AT MODERATE COST

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

IN CONJUNCTION WITH MY SENNHEISER HEADPHONES , DRAGON FLY MADE AND IMMEDIATE AND SIGNIFICANT IMPROVEMENT IN MY SOUND (OFF OF A LAPTOP)

Pros: EASY TO INSTALL

Cons: I USE HEADPHONES, NOT A PROBLEM FOR ME

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleased

Crutchfield customer from Pelham, NH on 6/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is not much to it on the outside aside from the attractive glowing dragonfly. Its sound is an improvement over a direct headphone connection to my iPod while playing FLAC files. It doesn't have the most powerful amp, but this is exactly what I wanted because it allows a finer adjustment of the volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Recommended

Crutchfield customer from Hoffman Estates, IL on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An amazing device. This exposes an extra layer or depth to your music. Instruments are much clearer and concise.

Pros: Sound is much more open, has more depth, and the clarity is what you'd hope for.

Cons: Can't think of any other than I recognize that some individuals will not "hear" what this device is able to do.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Works great and at a good price.

Crutchfield customer from Webster, NY on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad I got this. Plug and play with my Mac and AKG headphones. Really lets me hear the music in my library in a new way. And the price is right. I don't know how would work with power speakers but maybe give Crutchfield a call to clarify. I've already told people about this great way to REALLY hear your music.

Pros: Fast and easy and really an improves the sound quality.

Cons: Really meant for headphones.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeton, NJ on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product failed within a week, but Crutchfield resolved the problem immediately to my satisfaction. Thank you.

Pros: I loved the product for the short term it worked. Crutchfield solved the issue quickly.

Cons: Not sure if the problem was a one out. Time will tell.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use the DragonFly with Grado SR80e headphones. The sound quality is excellent, and there's ample volume with my PC. I'm running Linux(Fedora 32) on the laptop, and there were no issues with this OS recognizing the device. I've also used the DragonFly with my Apple Iphone (and Apple USB3 adaptor). Once again, no problems with set-up, and even more volume in this mode. A Best Buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Night and day

Timothy from Greensboro, NC on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had no idea what I was missing! I had been streaming from my phone into a Pioneer SX 727 in my garage. I'm very generous with my music, and all of my neighbors talked about how good it sounded in their complaints to the homeowners association. On the advice of an audio expert, I tried this DAC, and was blown away! I could hear detail I never heard before. I could hear picks dragging on guitar strings, and percussive sounds in never knew were in songs! My garage is the best listening room in the house now!

Pros: Wow effect Price Simple

Cons: Needs an adapter for newer iPhones.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dragonfly..the best.

Crutchfield customer from Hollis, NY on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent in every way. The sound from my laptop through my headphones and or my stereo system was unbelievable clean and clear.

Pros: All good.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from La Crosse, WI on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am surprised buy the sound quality boost this little dac gives my music, have been using mostly with Meze 99 Neo headphones , I hear things in my music I never did before, good buy!

Pros: Good sound quality!

Cons: Hard to get the volume just right having to use laptops sound control, but I can live with that.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Significant Improvement

Andrew from Wayne, ME on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good little DAC. I use it with my Grado SR 80e's (so, $100 headphones) and my desktop, and it really makes the sound so much richer, adding punch and vibrancy across all the details. I'm a fan.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to like, hard to go back to stock audio

Crutchfield customer from Hillsboro, OR on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I considered getting the Cobalt but found multiple comments online questioning the quality-control of that other model. Honestly I don't care about 'clinical' lab measurements; as audio is a subjective experience anyway and nothing is a substitute for trying gear with YOUR ears. I am very satisfied with the improvement DFB delivers when compared to the stock audio jack of all my mobile-phone, tablet and PC. Now I can listen for hours with no fatigue. I wish I could give these away as gifts to friends and family.

Pros: Nice boost to your listening experience for headphones or PC speakers, at an affordable price

Cons: The rubbery paintjob looks great when new, but not very nice when worn

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Lives up to exceptaction

Crutchfield customer from Wantagh, NY on 2/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't sure, but I took a chance and I'm grateful I did. Dragonfly - where have you been my whole life (well, at least the last few years ;-) ). I popped this into my PC and queued up folk, metal and instrumental music and I was amazed the sonic improvement. Highly recommended!

Pros: Easy Installation Quality Sound Crisp vocals, more balanced bass Reputable Companies (Crutchfield and AudioQuest)

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Clover, SC on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

really enhances the sound of my computer setup. I am very pleased with the purchase and service from Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am well into my 70s so I have grown up with many different sources of music. Currently I love my cd collection, but I used an IPod for portable music . The AudioQuest Dragonfly attached to my IPod brings a fuller soundstage with near cd quality sound. I use the dragonfly on my treadmill so I can lay it down on the treadmill without fear of dropping it. I am very happy that I purchased the item through Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons: When attached with an Apple connector to the IPod and the Dragonfly, it is a rather bulky item.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Unit

Kirby from Ellicott City, MD on 2/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was skeptical at first but when I realized the sound quality form an iPhone through a vintage Pioneer receiver I was amazed. I purchased it to try to get better sound quality than I had with an inexpensive Bluetooth receiver I was using. I then joined HDtracks and that was the feather in the cap! This little thing is amazing.

Pros: Small, works with an iPhone.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Surprisingly good

Crutchfield customer from Rindge, NH on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was using the headphone out from my Toshiba laptop jack to power my speakers and powered sub through a preamp and amp in my workshop. Sound was pretty good. Got this Dragonfly Black 1.5 DAC and set it up to play through the USB port. Playing Spotify (premium), sound is noticeably richer. More crisp highs, better sounds through the sub and better imaging. Nice!

Pros: Easy setup, great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy this thing!!

Joe from Culpeper, VA on 11/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased the AQ Dragonfly Black and Jitterbug. The jury is still out on the Jitterbug. First, I have to ask myself "why did I wait so long to try this thing?" It is truly fantastic. My PC is a lower-end h-p with "integrated sound." It's actually not bad, but WOW what a difference the Dragonfly Black makes. My speakers are high-end, however. They are the absolutely fantastic Monsoon MM-700, a 2.1 amplified system with planar magnetic satellites. Although good before, these things really sing when fed by the Dragonfly. Once adjusted, the system sounds great. Clear highs, excellent dynamics, great bass, and a much improved soundstage. Truly unreal for a mere $99 investment. I borrowed a set of headphones from my Granddaughter ($13 no less!) as all of mine are ¼-in plugs and the sound floored me. I'm not kidding. Unreal. Videos tried include the excellent Cranberries Zombie 1999 Live (RIP dear Delores), and several Nena vids (yeah, Nena of the 99 Red Balloons smash hit of the early 80's). If you love kick-ass rock check out Genau Jetzt and Nur Getraumt, and then there's the unbelievably beautiful In Meinem Leben (all recorded live in concert in Germany). You're welcome. Nena is pushing 60 and is more beautiful and sounding better than ever. She performs on stage with three of her adult children. Amazing. Truly. I never realized what a talent she is, but I'm a believer now. The vids have German/English captioning so so give 'em a try.Oh yeah, and don't forget: BUY!!!

Pros: Terrific sound. Tremendous value. Easy to set-up (96kHz for me).

Cons: Huh? What?

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, MA on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This DAC provides a surprising upgrade to the sound quality from the standard headphone jack on the computer and small lightning to audio jack adapter. I was most excited to have a higher output voltage from my iPhone however the increased output was rather small, only about 45mV RMS more. I tried both version of the lightning to USB camera adapters and the output voltages were the same. I was only able to achieve the rated 1.2V RMS when I was plugged into a laptop. The higher output voltages are needed to drive my DIY class A amplifier to full power.

Pros: Noticeable improvement in audio quality.

Cons: Needs to be plugged into a computer to achieve the maximum output voltage.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, IN on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does make a big difference, listen to a song you know well. Then add dragonfly and listen

Pros: Does actually make a difference

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Concord, MA on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DragonFly Black is the real deal! To my ears, the Black makes mp3s sound nearly as good as a CD. When using the Black with my iPhone 6, I had the best results when connecting with Apple's more expensive Lightning to USB 3 camera adaptor. The improvement in sound was not subtle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just what I hoped for

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 9/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I knew my audio with a quality internal laptop audio system, Spotify Premium and ATH-M50X/Sennheiser HD 569 headphones was good for what I have. Bass is heard a little more clearly now, in terms of actual pitch of notes on bass staff and the separatiom can now be heard when playing in unison with piano. Vocal lyrics are clearer, and sound" feels" more quiet/less blury. Turning the volume over to DragonFly via laptop controls required reducing Spotify volume bar which was set one digit below maximum. Otherwise volume was hard to adjust in gradations.

Pros: More detail, separation, timbre, quiteness, with no loss of warmth. Laptop notifies me it was setting up the "device" and notified me again in about ten seconds it was "ready to go"!

Cons: Be aware of need for possible adjustment to streaming volume bars as well as difference in numbers on the computer audio window!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Titusville, FL on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little device. Cant wait to try the red. Thanks cody.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Must have for any stereophile

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 6/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is awesome, I needed a dac pre amp to go with my Blue Mo-fi headphone with it built in amp . Sound quality was improved by 90 %

Pros: A must have

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Westborough, MA on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought it for my laptop music library,to improve the sound,I got no improvement,but static from time to time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/12/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your DragonFly. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Keith from Arlington, VA on 4/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this after trying it out with the Speaker Compare kit, and was amazed how much it improved the sound of my headphones when plugged into my computer. It works well on a smartphone as well, but it is kind of clumsy, since you have to plug it into a dongle in addition to the Dragon Fly itself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Noticeable improvement for a reasonable price

Crutchfield customer from Mount Laurel, NJ on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been considering purchasing a DAC, primarily for use with my work laptop and Bose Quiet Comfort 25 noise-cancelling headphones. Based on numerous positive reviews both here and elsewhere, I decided on the DragonFly Black v1.5. I've had it for just over a week, and have been impressed from the start. The sound had a fuller feel to it, and I was able to hear more of the nuance in the music (particularly with jazz compositions). I also liked that I no longer had to crank up the volume on my laptop - I rarely need to turn it past 15, whereas before I had to set it to close to 50 to achieve the same effect. Setup was easy with both my Windows 10 work laptop and Windows 7 home laptop. The small footprint works well on my crowded office and home desks, and I am considering buying an adapter so that I can use it with my Pixel 2 phone. Overall, I am quite pleased with this device.

Pros: Great sound, simple setup, small footprint, good value

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Dac's a Fact Jack

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never understood Dac's or felt it was worth the price the Dragonfly was a good choice to learn. When using higher resolution sources the music is cleaner crisper and more defined. More noticeable in my car that is more hi res than my home. But I'm trying to bring the home system up. The Dragonfly is nice because it will run off anything so I can run it off my phone or computer. It also tells you the resolution you are getting so I've learned laptop gives me higher res. I now see me downloading hi res files to it to try in the Saab. Depending on the source or the system it may make a difference but for the price it was a good choice for me.

Pros: Portable. Easy to use. Works with multiple sources and system.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great USB DAC for the $$

Crutchfield customer from Iowa City, IA on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AQ DragonFly Black is a good USB DAC. It compares very favorably with the Audioengine D3 and my old Apogee Duet Firewire for sound quality. It doesn't have a tremendous amount of power to push volume into higher impedance headphones, however. I have 250 Ohm BeyerDynamics...the volume level is adequate, but I often have to set the output to near full volume on my Mac in order to achieve that. But the sound quality is excellent, and I love way the dragonfly light changes color to denote the frequency setting. It also feels like a solid and sturdy unit with a nice rubberized matte black coating. Really classy look and feel.

Pros: Great SQ Nice form factor and solid build Color-changing light tells you the frequency (44.1 vs. 96 Khz, for example)

Cons: High-impedance headphones may be under-driven by this unit. Struggles to get enough voltage into 250 Ohm Beyerdynamic DT-880s.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Soldotna, AK on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm suprised by the change in sound quality while running my iPod through my vintage stereo system. Tremendous value upgrade!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Extreme Clarity & Immaculate Connectivity

Gerrit from Phoenix, AZ on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So, I got the Audioengine D3 several years ago and have loved it so much for what it did to my Sennheiser HD558's. My biggest complaint with it over the years was that I couldn't hook it to my phone. As soon as the Dragonfly black came out I wanted it, but with the purchase of a home and some other expenses it had to wait. I finally decided to sell my D3 and buy this one. Well, let's just I shouldn't have waited to do that, because not only does it work fantastically with my phone, but the sound quality is better than the D3. This thing is pure magic. I'm hearing sound reproduction at it's best and the albums I love in at a level of detail I did not expect differently from the beloved D3. Props to Audioquest for knocking this out of the park.

Pros: Works so amazingly well with my Samsung Galaxy Note 5

Cons: so far none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Dragonfly is a hit

Fran from Conrad MT on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible product. I know little about electronics, but a friend of my husband who used to work for your company texted and told me about this product for my husbands Christmas gift. I followed Woody's suggestion and gave my husband Steve this for Christmas. Steve LOVES it! Steve has a degree in music and knows what he's listening to. He is so happy with the DragonFly that he has his ear buds in most of the time. I scored with this gift. Thank you team

Pros: superior audio quality, compact size, turns my i-phone xr into an audio phile-grade devise,

Cons: when using it with ios devises you need an Apple lightening to usb adapter which makes it a little less convenient.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed with product and Crutchfield

Ben from Boynton Beach, FL on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great but I was hoping for a controller for my iPhone X, which tech support said would but it didn't so they suggested AudioEngine D3 which was way worse so I returned it

Pros: None

Cons: Everything I asked for amounted to stress so I gave up and accepted the expensive equipment for my needs to avoid more stress, time and money

Crutchfield response on

2 of 24 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Cloquet, MN on 8/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good price. Has improved my listening. Easy to setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Improved sound

Timothy from Vancouver, WA on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Improved highs: sopranos don't screech and busy violins don't distort. Now I will hold off buying an expensive headphone. Bass seems to have improved but I wasn't listening that close. There are too many connections between the tablet and phones: cable, Dragonfly, and Dragon Tail so I have to carefully lay everything on a flat surface to keep them from coming apart. That's my only negative.

Pros: Undistorted highs

Cons: Too many connections to come loose

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Sperry, OK on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to investigate what all the buzz about portable DACs was all about. I was not disappointed with the DragonFly Black. There was a definite noticeable difference in the clarity and tightness of music when I use it. I use it on my phone and my computer at work. I don't know that I want to listen to music without it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Benjamin from Canton, OH on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a tough review. It's very subjective to try to analyze sound quality. I got this originally with my old desktop speakers, and since then got a pair of JBL LSR308's. I notice more difference with the JBL's, but still a subtle difference. I can tell that the harshness of things like cymbals are brought down when going through the Dragonfly, as well as more clarity in the instruments. But there is no WOW factor here. The first time I plugged it in I felt that the difference was great, but that's because I was actually critically listening to the music then, which we tend to when we buy something new. As I kept listening and switching between the Dragonfly and the jack on my laptop I heard less and less differences. I am continuing to listen and test it, but unless you are an audiophile I'm not sure this is for you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 18 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Richard from Cloverdale, CA on 1/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little thing works fantastic. I plugged my new dragonfly into my laptop there was an immediate and radical improvement in the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Charles from Jackson, MS on 11/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I suppose this DAC has enhanced the sound quality coming from my Bose speaker that connects with and sits atop my television, but it's not the dramatic improvement I had hoped to achieve. It was very easy to install, however, and it's not terribly expensive.

Pros: reasonably priced and easy to install

Cons: barely discernable improvement in quality of sound.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great start for a budding audiophile!

Michael from Charlottesville, VA on 10/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a music enthusiast, but not really an audiophile . I bought the DragonFly on the recommendation of a coworker who assured me a DAC would help me squeeze just a little more performance out of my new noise-cancelling headphones (which I'm in love with). I'm glad I listened to him! Even as a quality-audio novice, I can tell the DragonFly gives my music more "oomph". Though I listen to music on average a few hours at work every day, I noticed the most remarkable difference when pairing the DragonFly with my phone and DragonTail adapter (which I purchased separately). I fly regularly, and the power and quality boost of the external DAC over my phone's built-in DAC were prominent. The sound went from shallow and quiet, unable to overpower the sound of the plane's engine, to making me feel almost as if I were sitting at home with my headphones on. If you're already pretty happy with the sound from your usual listening device, the DragonFly might not blow you away. The money might be better put toward a headphone upgrade. But if you know your device is putting out less-than-magical sound, the DragonFly will make you a happier listener!

Pros: very easy to set up, small/portable, huge improvement over mobile device

Cons: less noticeable improvement over my PC's DAC

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

MartinLogans on My Head!

Paul-Michael from Reno, NV on 9/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I primarily use this for listen to my iMac at night as I write so as to not to disturb others in my apartment complex. I stream two Beautiful Music Stations: Amityville Community Radio on Long Island along with Jones College Radio out of Jacksonville, Florida. My DagonFly powers my Grado SR80e headphones with no problem. Listening to the above, I love the full rich sound I get. the voices are nice and warm; very well balance. I also stream Acorn TV... WOW! I can hear detail in the background of scenes and love when a car goes across the screen I can hear it go from one ear through my head to the other ear! MY DagonFly makes my DVDs come alive! Right now I am veiwing my brand-new Star Trek: The Original Series Complete Collection. I love the opening of each episodes watching Enterprise go across my iMac's screen and hearing it go through my head! I play my CDs through my iMac: My Phil Keggy's "Wind and The Wheat" is so airy! I can hear each and every instrument clear as if I am in the studio. I can even hear Phil's fingers on the the strings! Eugene Ormandy and The Philadelphia Orchestra's recording of Clair de Lune by Debussy is all out awesomeness!!! I can see The Fountains of Bellagio dancing in my mind; think Ocean Eleven. This is like having my old MartinLogan speakers on my head. Oh, I should say I had to buy this as the headphone plug on my iMac broke and could not listen for awhile. There is a night and day difference between the 'old plug' and using my DagonFly!!

Pros: Easy to install and use: just plug it in, down load the program, set it and forget it!

Cons: I do wish I could run it to make the internal iMac speakers sound better.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Lisle, IL on 8/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DragonFly Black is transformative. I use it with my android phone for music and tablet for video. The upgrade over the internal hardware in my devices is far beyond my expectations. The largest impact is to dynamics, from the most subtle wind blowing through leaves to bombastic explosions. Musical imaging and detail are vastly improved as well. I highly recommend the DragonFly to anyone listening to audio on a mobile device.

Pros: Dynamics, imaging and nuance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audioquest Black

Jose from Cabo Rojo, PR on 8/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best portable DAC I have owned. However, I have all of my music in iPod Classics and there is no way except an iPhone or modern iPods where it will work. Nor is there a modern iPod that I know of that will hold my whole 200+ CDs as the IPod Classics with their 160mb capacity. Maybe Apple or Audioquest can put out a connector or modify their software to service iPod Classic fans!

Pros: Good sound. Good volume for Grado headphones.

Cons: Unable to listen all of my music collection in my iPod Classics. (I own 4 Classics each with a different genre of music)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Danville, VA on 7/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5 is an amazing little sound device. The sound is crystal clear when used with my iMac and Yamaha stereo receiver. The bass on my old tower speakers is really tight, and the highs are clean and crisp. Plus it is simple to use. There is no comparison between this and the Mac sound card I was using prior to purchasing the DragonFly. You cannot go wrong with this product. I just can't believe that something so inexpensive can be so effective.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Joseph from Nashville, TN on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's awesome I can take this anywhere! I tested my new headphones with and without the DragonFly and I was surprised to hear such better quality with the DragonFly when listening to standard mp3's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 4/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boosts clear audio output over that available through the notebook headphone output jack. All it needs is accompanying software that provides tone and dialogue enhancement, a la Dolby Home Theatre v4. This could be a ChaChing for an AudioQuest/Dolby collaboration. An "audiophile" HiFi source from your beater laptop!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little item is a no-brainer. I downloaded all my cd's to digital on my mac. When I play them with and without the DragonFly attached it is night and day to me. I'm a happy camper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from North Lima, OH on 3/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's simple and works great. I have a few devices around with bad 3.5mm ports and this even sounds better than the devices with good ports.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Products, and I was surprised!

Vin from Ontario, OR on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought both the Dragonfly Red and Black to compare them side by side. I compared them on my Samsung Galaxy S5 and S7, and with headphone output on my laptop. To me, the Black is better. Volume level 3 on the Black with my S5 was louder than max volume on the Red with the same phone. I am also using the USB Player Pro App on my S5. Don't get me wrong, the Red still sounded very good, just not as much volume. On my S7, it was plug and play, no USB Player Pro App required (the S5 requires this program to play music with these DAC's). I used the Samsung Music Player on my S7. Interestingly enough, 3 spots down from top volume level on the Black equaled 3 spots up on my S5. The Red played slightly louder on my S7, not enough to equal top volume with the Black on this phone. I thought the Red sounded better on my S7 than my S5. With laptop, the sonic differences became more apparent. Volume level was greatly increased on the Red, putting it on a better comparison with the Black. The Red on my laptop sounded fuller, more subtleties in the sound came out. The Black still sounded good, but the overall sound and Soundstage was better with the Red. I mostly played Top 40 (pop), electronic dance music and some rock. Now, these differences weren't immense, but if you want a more audiophile sound on a PC, go with the Red. If you want something to play on your phones (what I do mostly), the Black is the clear winner, since it does fairly well on the PC, too. Good luck!

Pros: Excellent volume output with Android phones, big quality difference compared to headphone out on phone, excellent build quality.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Great, inexpensive upgrade for PC, Android and iOS sourced systems

Alec from Bethesda, MD on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Dragonfly Black has been a great addition to my office sound system, which was driven by my PC to a pair of Tivoli 2 speakers (essentially a Tivoli One Radio plus a matching speaker and an old, inexpensive Cambridge Soundworks PC subwoofer). I also pair it with the Dragon Tail that allows me to pair it with my Samsung smartphone and headphones. For the price, it's a fantastic way to upgrade any compatible source. The sound is both much more powerful and clear. Highly recommended as a way of inexpensively and conveniently improving audio quality. As usual Crutchfield was great about getting and shipping it ahead of the expected "in-stock" date.

Pros: Great boost for clarity AND power Inexpensive Small and convenient to carry Easy to install and configure PC sound setting

Cons: Does not work for tablets generally Needs a Dragon Tail to pair with Android or iPhone and is cumbersome if the phone isn't sitting somewhere

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Truly tasteful listening

William from Seattle, WA on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic little device for two reasons. First, the sound quality is downright shocking for a hundred buck product. Excellent sound-staging on familiar acoustic works, plus good bass slam on fun dance and other rhythmic tunes. I have the good fortune of being able to compare it to reference products at home and I have not once had that "it's good for what it is" feeling; I just listened to the music and enjoyed it! I'm using it to drive highly efficient IEM's, so the power is multiple times what I need. Second, the form factor simply just works. Unlike several other portable amps I've owned, where the amp sits back-to-back with the phone, this thumb-drive-sized rectangle works inline between an OTG cable and your headphones. No more worrying about over-bending a stiff audiophile USB cable. With regard to battery life, I am able to listen for a 6-hour flight without completely draining my phone battery, so AQ's claims of low power consumption seem to be realistic. Do make sure that your chosen music app gives you sufficient control of USB output to take advantage of this amp. If you don't know or care about transcoding, bit depth, or re-sampling, this isn't the product for you. Net-net, I strongly recommend trying out this one. From a value perspective, what AQ has achieved with this product is wonderful. It's a taste of high-end listening where ever you are, which is never as much time as you'd like to spend in dedicated in-home space.

Pros: sound-staging; bass impact; dynamic contrast; form factor; phone battery drain

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

A great little "stick"!

Dickie from Austin, TX on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice addition to my PC while playing my music playlists, as well as my streaming music. I am very impressed and would recommend to anyone wanting to improve on music playback.

Pros: Big bang for your music

Cons: None, that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great music

Steven from St Petersburg, FL on 2/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this DAC, because of the reputation. The sound is better than I could have hoped. Another music GREAT addition to my laptop.

Pros: Easy to set up and clear sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Magical little device

Mike from Houston, TX on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely worth the money. Makes a big difference on my Macbook Air and even bigger difference on iPhone. Significantly more depth and sounds you can't even hear before. Volume is about 1/3 higher than without DragonFly. On a PC with a high quality sound card the difference becomes much more difficult to hear. Also the size of the improvement depends on what you are listening to both in terms of music style (classical/jazz vs hip hop) and the amount of compression of the recordings. Highly recommended if you're using something run of the mill for playback.

Pros: Great sound Easy to Use

Cons: A bit cumbersome on a phone.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

James from Wayne, NJ on 12/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have read many reviews on the DragonFly Black and all versions scored very high. Unfortunately, I am one of the few who disagree. I have tried all combinations of two desktop computers, iPhone 5c, iPhone 5S, Monster Inspiration headphones, and high end PSB M4U1 headphones, listening to various rock, blues and modern pop with 128, 192 and 320 bitrates as well as Spotify. In any scenario, I could not tell the difference, other than volume. I even tried blind tests between myself and a friend, adjusting for volume to not make it obvious, with and without the Dragonfly, and I got it wrong every time. I gave it 2 stars for the amp giving a bit of a volume boost, which is good for some old recordings, but other than that, it literally did nothing recognizable to the sound for me. I really wanted to like it and for one full month I tried hard to listen for even the slightest difference, but I just could not find it. I'm asking to return it.

Pros: Decent amp.

Cons: No noticeable difference in sound whatsoever, which is the point of the product.

Crutchfield response on 1/2/2017
James, we're sorry you were disappointed with your Dragonfly. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

8 of 12 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Mark from Broomfield, CO on 12/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, currently the unit I have has become lose inside. Not 100% sure but this may be the cause of the intermittent pausing while using the solution mobile. When this happens I have to pull my phone out and start the song again..basically can't use it for active mobility. That said, Crutchfield has been great and I have one on order, actually went with the Red this time because those are supposed to come in first. As far as the solution goes though I love the sound quality it adds to music listening via the laptop and or phone over headphones alone.

Pros: - small and portable - Good sound - inexpensive relative to other DAC's

Cons: - seems to cause intermittent pauses on phone.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Muscatine, IA on 12/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adds incredible detail. I can now hear where a drummer is hitting the high hat!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

awesome sound cheap price

ryan from Paradise, CA on 11/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very very impressed with this 99 add on to my iPhone 7. I have never gotten such good portable sound before. Audioquest just needs to make one with the lightning connector already attached and even an extra charging port so you can listen and charge at the same time. All in all this is a no brainer even my non audiophile friends could immediately hear the difference when when tried in on the stereo in a rental car. I am getting an occasional digital clock type clicking noise. Sometimes if I remove and re install the DragonFly it goes away. Not sure what that is about.

Pros: very open and spacious detailed sound compared to not using with iPhone 7

Cons: I am getting occasional digital clock type noise.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 11/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price , the Dragonfly made a very noticeable improvement to the fidelity of the music while streaming Tidal from my iphone. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Vincent from Sammamish, WA on 10/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am surprised by the big sound this little guy can produce. Sound-wise It is as good as my older ~$300 HRT music streamer ii+, but the small size (full size USB thumb drive size) make it so convenient to bring around. For this low price, I think there's no DAC/amp out there that can beat it at this moment. Awesome product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest DragonFly Black v1.5

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 10/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and provides fuller sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

DragonFly Black v1.5

Richard D from San Antonio, TX on 10/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! I thought my 1998 home system: Thiel CS2.3 floor speakers, Krell amp and NHT subwoofer was great, so I was hesitant when your Crutchfield team suggested I try the DragonFly v1.5. I plugged it into my Iphone 6 IPOD and now I'm a believer. This unit sends out a superior sound, crisp, clear and up front. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is my understanding they offer their upgrade unit, the Red v1.0. Can't wait to hear that one!

Pros: Easy to take with you to satellite locations.

Cons: Non.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Value

Brian from Seattle, WA on 9/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value for a portable USB DAC! Great quality and nice finish makes this feel good in the hand. Works perfectly with an iPhone lightning to camera/USB adapter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

DragonFly v1.5

Daniel from Elmhurst, NY on 7/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had problems with this product from day one. The sound was horrible and, for some reason, slowed-down. I was ready to return it, but somehow it started working properly again. 3 days later, it stopped working altogether. I checked other websites for customer experiences and feedback with this device, and it appears, my problem is far from isolated.

Pros: None

Cons: Never had such a bad experience with a renown product like this one ever.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Dragonfly DAC

Geeman67 from Pearland,texas on 7/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This DAC is the ultimate portable device that will give your music the oomph it needs when listening through headphones!

Pros: Tiny footprint. Awesome sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice simple way to get into DAC audio streaming.

rick from Canyon Country, CA on 7/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this with a MacBook Pro and Grado headphones. I was using a Fiio, USB, amplifier and getting good sound. This also provides nice clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

definite enhancement

Adam D from Catonsville, MD on 7/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been reading reviews about digital to analog converters for quite some time and decided the time had finally arrived. I listen to music at work all the time. I went for this one because it was the least expensive, and it seemed like it wasn't worth fussing over what I would get with the higher priced models. Listening to streaming on Spotify is definitely enhanced. I listen through an old set of Bose computer speakers, or an old Audio Technica pair of headphones. The sound is warmer, crisper, and in front. I think after a couple years of listening pleasure, it will be well worth the investment. I also enjoyed reading the user manual and learning a bit more about sound conversion and playback.

Pros: Improved sound

Cons: Shouldn't all audio players have built in digital to audio converters? (sort of a joke)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dragonfly Black

Tree from Byron, MN on 6/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

D to A converter improved sound quality from my desktop PC. Stunning at first and Pandora steaming quality outstanding. Also improved the audio from my iPhone 5. I use the phone for music while traveling and the audio improvement in my car is quite noticeable. I recommend the Dragonfly for versatile D to A converter.

Pros: Easy to use and excellent value

Cons: No problems, only improved tunes.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WOW! What a difference!

FlyFish77 from Park Ridge, IL on 5/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Dragonfly Black for use with headphones with both my Windows Desktop computer and with my iPhone. I wear noise canceling headphones pretty much all day at work to drown out the sounds in my office. I figured that I might as well listen to better quality sound while I am working. The Dragonfly made a massive improvement in sound when used with the computer. CD quality music streamed from Tidal and from my computer sounded much more clear and crisp than playing the same music through the headphone jack in the computer. Lossy music played from iTunes or Spotity also sounded much better. With the Dragonfly Black it was easy to tell that music streamed from Tidal was superior to music streamed from Spotify. When using the Dragonfly Black on my computer, I had to turn the computer volume way down. The Dragonfly Black also improved the sound of music played through my iPhone, but not as dramatically as it did on my computer. The improve was still easily noticable.

Pros: Sounds great. Excellent bang for the buck.

Cons: None. For this price, how can you lose?

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP