Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

AudioQuest Golden Gate

Stereo mini-to-RCA adapter cable (2 meters/6.6 feet)

MFR # GOLDG02MR

AudioQuest Golden Gate

AudioQuest Golden Gate

Stereo mini-to-RCA adapter cable (2 meters/6.6 feet)

MFR # GOLDG02MR

16 reviews
View this product

AudioQuest Golden Gate

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethton, TN on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes, these are expensive for simple audio cables. But they are well made and fit snug on the equipment you are connecting to and make an excellent connection. I expected the sound quality to be quite good and I wasn't dissappointed. I use this cable for an IPod Touch through a Dragonfly Red into Klipsch Reference R-28PF speakers. I'm no audio expert, but for me, the sound is excellent. Of course, the Klipsch's have a wonderful presence. For me with this set up, I wanted a very good quality cable.

Pros: Good build quality, good fit, good performance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Golden Gate

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cable works and sounds great. Use it with a lightning adapter to connect my iPad to my system

Pros: Great way to hardwire your iPad to your system

Cons: None yet. I could say price but don't you get what you pay for?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Golden Gate

Crutchfield customer from Montauk, NY on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product! I use all RED RIVER cable from audio quest for my sources and speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I phone Connedted to Home Stereo

James from Mentor, OH on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My goal was to be able to connect my i phone 8 to my home theater system so I could listen to my Pandora channels. The AudioQuest Golden Gate cable and Crutchfield customer service did not disappoint. Believe it or not, this simple set up actually sounds pretty darn good.

Pros: Inexpensive method to listen to Sirius XM and Pandora at home. Note: Sirius XM subscription is required.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Listening to all the music

David from Grain Valley, MO on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to bring out the full sound of my music from my Onkyo DP-X1A. The AQ Goldengate really does make a difference!

Pros: Hook up easy with snug fittings. Well built. Solid construction. Fantastic sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest Golden Gate

Crutchfield customer from Hillsboro, OH on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cable will make a positive difference to your sound.

Pros: Overall sound upgrade

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest Golden Gate

Paula from Johnston, RI on 3/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to connect my Amazon Dot to my stereo, and after reading reviews, I picked the AudioQuest Golden Gate. The music streams beautifully, and the sound is wonderful. This cable is a very good choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioQuest Golden Gate

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

offers exceptional vehicle for sound exchange in regards to my home entertainment audio system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioQuest Cable

David from Charlton, MA on 5/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this cable to connect my computer with an AudioQuest Dragonfly to my home audio system. The connections are solid and the sound quality is excellent.

Pros: High quality cable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

just another quality product from audioquest...

Erik from Honolulu, HI on 3/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything fit snug and the cable felt and performed like the normal high quality you expect from audioquest. worth the extra little money for a superior product vs. cheap cables included with some products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product

John from Pennsylvania on 10/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am utilizing this between my Audioquest Dragonfly DAC and Audioengine A5+'s and this provides an open and clean signal. Definitely a recommended combination.

Pros: Look, durability, price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent product, but stiff and springy

Ray Garrison from New Haven, Connecticut on 11/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using a Geek Out DAC with my laptop to play mostly hirez files. Needed a miniRCA to RCA cable at least 12 feet long to reach from couch to amp (Cambridge Audio Azur 640A V2). I had been using a basic well made cable from another cable manufacturer, but I have a lot of electronics in the room, I'm using Klipschorn speakers, and I was picking up some noise between the laptop and the amp. The AudioQuest shielding totally fixed that problem. Sound quality wise I can't really compare, because the elimination of the noise made such a big improvement any other changes are swamped. Construction is top notch, connectors fit my equipment tightly without latching on with a death grip that makes me afraid I'm gonna pull the female RCA's out of the amp if I remove the cable. Mini jack fits my Geek Out, DragonFly, and DroidUltra sockets perfectly. You should be aware that between the shielding, jacket and the type of copper used in the conductors, this cable is much stiffer that a typical generic cable, and has some degree of "springy-ness" to it. This is not a problem for me, but if you plug in an iPod and set it on the table, the cable might wind up dragging your iPod around as it tries to coil itself back up. I didn't downgrade the 5 Star rating for that, as it doesn't make any difference at all for me using my laptop / amp setup. If you have any of the new generation USB DACs and you're looking for a cable to connect it to your main system, this one is excellent.

Pros: Excellent shielding totally eliminated noise / interference issues I had Very well made Connectors fit tightly but not too tightly

Cons: Connect it to a small, light device and the tail will wag the dog Might be tricky to connect stand RCA male connectors to your system if the RCA jacks are in a recessed panel or have limited space (Neither of these are any issue for me, so gave it full 5 Stars)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good sound bad connection

Jmayernaise from Mount Vernon, Ohio on 9/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good cable for sound, too bad it had a terrible connection. The 3.5mm end was wiggly in the iPod and whenever the iPod or cable was moved the connection would break and the iPod would pause. Just like it would if the cable was pulled from the iPod. Any other cable I owned would hold a perfect connection. Maybe it was just a 3.4!! ;)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

NICE!

bobb from Albuquerque,NM on 8/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much more clarity over the factory wires. Another good sounding cable!

Pros: Good quality build.

Cons: hard to find any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worthy upgrade for desktop and mid fi setups

SteveP from Charlottesville, VA on 3/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently entered the digital music side of the audio hobby; my main system consists of a Citation I tube preamp, McIntosh MC275 power amp, Bozak B302 speakers OR Magnepan MMG-I's. My main source is a Rotel 1072 CD player. My mid fi system is a Macbook Pro using an Audioquest Dragonfly 1.2 DAC, connected to a Fisher X100B tube integrated amp that has been fully restored. Speakers used were Infinity Crescendo CS 3006s. I used 24/96 versions of Tom Petty's Live Anthology: "It's Good to be King"; Santana's "Evil Ways", Pink Floyd's "Shine On You Crazy Diamond", and, "Wearing the Inside Out", and also The Eagles, "Hotel California" as sample tracks. This was not a double-blind test... I knew which set of cables I was using. I alternated between my original Monster Cables, the Audioquest Evergreen, and the Audioquest Golden Gate. The Evergreen is a worthy upgrade in it's own right. Quality construction and improved sound for around $30 some dollars (2 meter version). The step up to the Golden Gates was noticeable. Bass was stronger, cymbals more lifelike, the sound stage a bit more forward. I found this true with both of my systems but the improvement was most noticeable with my mid fi/PC system. I might have to try the Big Sur cable next, but I am keeping the Golden Gates for now. They've really improved the sound coming from the Dragonfly DAC.

Pros: Better highs, more sold bass, improved transients. Overall improved sound quality and imaging.

Cons: None at this price point. It's an all around winner.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

AudioQuest Golden Gate cable

gbar from Coastal NC on 10/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cable rocks!1 Hooked up to the AudioQuest DragonFly DAC to the stereo, sound is incredible. Much more open soundstage, better highs, bass is tighter and deeper, and a lot quieter. Highly recommended!

Pros: sound great, easy to hook up, well made

Cons: Expensive , but well worth it, and a very good value if the stereo system is up to it

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP