Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Backup camera with LED lights and active parking lines — license-plate-mount

MFR # VTL17LTJ

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Backup camera with LED lights and active parking lines — license-plate-mount

MFR # VTL17LTJ

255 reviews
View this product

Back up Camera

Randy from ISOM, KY on 1/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a good camera for the price ..

Pros: It's good for the price

Cons: The picture could be better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works good but poor instructions

Mark O from TAMPA, FL on 1/9/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works! Wife is happy! Not too bad to install. Directions were impossible to read; 2 pages condensed to 1 small sheet. Had to get on internet to get a readable version. Did not explain that "parking guidelines" were actually the dynamic lines that are supposed to help you park.

Pros: Good display with lights for night

Cons: Horrible directions; unreadable and vague. Also, display flickers when brakes applied.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Robert from Portland, OR on 1/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it.. however, be aware if you have a rear hatch handle cause the camera can block it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Franklin from Harvest, AL on 1/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great

Daniel from Sebastian, FL on 1/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked out great. The instructions couldve been spelled out a bit better and larger text but all in all good product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

William from Minneapolis, MN on 1/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Haven't installed it yet but I know it will be great because it's from Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Daughter really likes it!

Jeff from Valparaiso, IN on 12/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This works great with the new radio. It has a great picture on the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

John from Raceland, LA on 12/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good images

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Jerry from North Vernon, IN on 12/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice upgrade on 2004 grand prix

Pros: Wide view

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Patrick from Palmyra, PA on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy hookup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Brett from Southgate, MI on 12/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not a bad back up camera for the money. Install took me longer than the radio but was to be expected.

Pros: Price

Cons: The screw to adjust the camera stripped immediately when trying to adjust the camera. Now I just have to hope going down the road the camera doesn't come out of whack when hitting bumps

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Carl from HUNTSVILLE, AL on 12/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installation was not difficult and provides a very clear picture. I like it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Todd from Bel Air, MD on 11/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear picture in the day time, a bit pixelated though. Night camera is too contrasty, kind of hard to see. Hook up instructions were poor. Crutchfield says they give you customized insertions, but that isn't true. Tech support wasn't able to help me get it hooked up either. They didn't know the product at all. Figured it out on my own that the camera has a power lead off of the RCA plug that I had to tie into the harness.

Pros:

Cons: Mostly blocks the trunk release.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera

Alan from Lenoir City, TN on 11/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well, very clear and wide view, instructions are lacking some, and lines that show up upon backing are a little goofy the way they try to follow the vehicles movement.

Pros: Very clear, wide angle, good mounting options

Cons: Instructions are weak, back up lines not very good

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Mark from Palatine, IL on 11/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great view works great with active park lines well worth it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Jeffrey from Wrightsville, PA on 11/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best money I spent in a while

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Phil from Concord, NC on 10/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install pretty straight forward. No surprises. Picture is sharp on dual head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't work

Walter from Martinez, CA on 10/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Didn't work returning. Got a different camera same wiring and it started right up. Unsure if camera was defective or not. I even redid wiring several times and tested wires with probes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install - meh resolution

Andrew from Kingston Spgs, TN on 10/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall, the quality of the unit itself, packaging, supplied materials, extra parts, etc. are all excellent. The picture however is pretty fuzzy, and seems to have some interference. It works, but there are likely better (probably more expensive) options.

Pros: Relatively easy install Solid construction Fits well.

Cons: Picture, not so great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Antonio from Alamo , CA on 9/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera itself is easy to install, and it seems to work. It's only been in one day. The true test will be years from now, but for the moment, it's working fine.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Large fuse on one side, RCA connection on the other, made it tough to pull the long part of the wiring through tight spaces.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

James from Newburgh, IN on 9/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice easy to install and works great like the line guide and the LED lights .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Arturo from Amarillo, TX on 8/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted a camera that had active parking lines that didn't break the bank and this delivered! Camera was easy to mount and run the wires and works flawlessly. Clear picture!

Pros: Active parking lines, clear picture, plenty of wire!

Cons: Price, there are cheaper ones on Amazon that do the same things as this camera.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Maria from Greenville, OH on 8/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

LOVE, love, love this rear camera system. Husband said it was not hard to set-up especially with Crutchfield's installation videos. Gives a super clear image with a wide view. This was another recommendation from Red and again he was spot-on!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Douglas from Grayson, GA on 8/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Plenty of wire for installation. Clear instructions and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Robert from Valparaiso, IN on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. No problems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Eric from Lago Vista, TX on 8/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great and easy to install. Highly recommended!

Pros: Good quality. Great tech support.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Frank

Frank from Mohegan Lake, NY on 8/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good product. Thanks for the help from Crutchfield for Great directions. The BOYO direction were printed very small and very difficult to follow

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little cam

Bryan from White Plains, NY on 7/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little cam. Plenty of wire. They don't explain it well in the instructions but the remote turn on wire and the red wire at the connector are connected so you don't have to feed it from both sides. The lines are nice (But also nice you can turn them off). Great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera.

Keith from Mckinney, TX on 7/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great backup camera. Love the active lines. LED lights do not help but do not hurt either. Great choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Valerie from Tacoma, WA on 7/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera is good not ideal for a hatchback or car with handle near license plate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid unit

Herbert from Bear, DE on 7/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Bryan from Tooele, UT on 6/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera! The video quality is much better than I expected, easy to install and set up. Parking lines are great!

Pros: Easy to install and set up

Cons: When you turn and back up it isn't that accurate but if your just going straight it's perfect!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Lee from Imperial, CA on 6/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really impressed by the clearness of this camera. Easily hooked it up to my Sony deck for a clear pic of what's behind me. FYI, on the camera cable, at both ends, there is a short 20 gauge red wire that needs to be connected to the excited reverse light wire. Boyo only provides a short piece of that wire on each end of the camera cable, meaning, it does not run the entire length of the camera cable. So, I connected those two short pieces of red wire with approximately 16' of 16 gauge red wire (cuz it's all I had), so I wouldn't have to tap into the reverse light wiring at the back of the vehicle. Thank you Crutchfield. God bless, Jesus saves.

Pros: Easy to mount and wire up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

William from Plainfield, IL on 5/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Artie was good he gave me a lot of information. Getting me started on choosing the right radio and tuner. Artie was very knowledgeable about everything that I had bought thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Jere from Dardanelle, AR on 5/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Straight forward installation, works as advertised, great on a truck used for hooking up to trailer.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Jeff from Westfield, PA on 4/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great product. Works as intended. The only issue was the wiring could have been a little longer for the positive and ground for the vehicles backup lights.

Pros: Works great

Cons: Wires not long enough

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good backup camera for the price.

Hai from Austin , TX on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you're technically inclined this isn't difficult to install. The build quality and wiring is good (plenty of length), and the picture quality is decent. The detection of turn direction was a nice surprise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Mike from Long Beach, CA on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clear picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Dan Brian from Broomfield, CO on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked as expected. And it has the pickup signal for the radio which simplifies wiring.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Crestview, FL on 12/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very high quality, great picture easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Mckinleyville, CA on 12/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I can see clearly now!

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 12/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This reverse camera is far better than the factory camera on my other car. The LED lights make everything easier to see when backing in my garage at night.

Pros: LED lights makes things brighter at night. The active grid lines help when backing up the driveway.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 12/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Back Up Camera

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 11/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good camera image, could include better instructions on how to wire the On Demand View, camera sticks out way too far off of the license plate - too easy to step on in my Chevy Pick Truck

Pros: Good image, simple to install on license plate

Cons: Could use better installation instructions when it comes to getting the On Demand Camera to work , camera sticks out too far from license plate - too easy to step on

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Cheaply made

Crutchfield customer from Warrenville, IL on 11/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lines are odd and blurry

Pros:

Cons: Not a good back up camera

Crutchfield response on 11/17/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your backup camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Siletz, OR on 10/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good camera picture and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Died after 15 months.

Christopher from Manahawkin, NJ on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Died after 18 months. Was pleased with it on cost and easy of installation. Nice clear, and good night vision. This is my weekend vehicle, so it gets maybe 8,000 miles a year. Imagine my surprise when all I now get is the parking grid lines and no camera.

Pros: Cost Easy to Install

Cons: Died

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

2014 Subaru Outback Premium 2.5i

Crutchfield customer from Milford, PA on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product, Easily mated up to Boyo VTM43TC mirror. Instructions from Crutchfield site now accurately describe connections. Do your bench testing, labeling connections to your own satisfaction prior to install. Learn the remote and options at your bench. There is a great YouTube on the hatch work needed to install the camera with NO holes to be drilled. (2010 - 2014 Subaru Outback Backup Camera Install) Run the single cable forward under driver side lower sills. This brings the necessary connections to Boyo VTM43TC mirror right beside the dashboard fuse block. (another helpful YouTube on removal of A-pillar trim). I left the temperature sensor up in the cabin under the headliner eye glass holder, for inside temp display, the Outback has an outside temp display. Compass calibrate worked easily for me. So finally, the In use rating is a full five stars, clear, crisp, colorful, responsive active guide lines, on display both day and night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy, and not bad at all.

Chris from Brownsburg, IN on 10/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I couldnt mount it on top of my license plate due to the trunk lid fin was too low. So I put it in the bottom license plate screws, and it works. I really thought since it has built in LEDS, that it would be brighter. The Lines pop up and curve when I'm backing up. I dont think its as sharp as I like though. The price was right. Installation was easy, but I may shop around for a different one I can mount instead of using the license plate frame. It works, and works well. Just my honest review.

Pros: The price was right. Installation was easy. The Lines pop up and curve when I'm backing up. It works, and works well.

Cons: I couldnt mount it on top of my license plate due to the trunk lid fin was too low. So I put it in the bottom license plate screws, and it works. I really thought since it has built in LEDS, that it would be brighter. I dont think its as sharp as I like though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Atkins, AR on 10/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Momoney

Crutchfield customer from Wheaton, IL on 10/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a great service during installation. Works perfectly..

Pros: Nice

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Gallatin, TN on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great choice for back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Beverly, MA on 9/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A great camera, that mounts easily to your license plate mounts with the mounting hardware hidden by the plate. Includes optional hardware for direct mount to auto body. Simple plug-in connection to standard camera input on receiver, and great definition and parking line assistance on display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, CO on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product provides as advertised. Uncharacteristically for Crutchfield, vehicle-model-specific instructions were not provided and would have been useful. On the other hand, a quick phone call to their best-in-the-world tech assistance people got me squared away. Hopeful that the camera proves to be durable--too early to know at this time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for 2013 Subaru Outback

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced the head unit in our 2013 Subaru Outback that did not have a back up camera. This worked well, picture is clear and the added LED back up lights are a nice bonus. I'm pretty comfortable with wiring and trim removal so for me this was not too difficult however it was relatively involved . In order to do it properly, because this is a hatchback you need to remove a lot of trim and do wiring. If you are not comfortable doing this I'd suggest getting professional help. The camera works well, fits nicely and the added back up LED's are a nice addition. Clear video too.

Pros: Fits well Good video Backup LEDs

Cons: Install is involved

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wife is happy to have a camera

Crutchfield customer from Mableton, GA on 8/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install when coupled with an updated stereo receiver. The wide angle view is a good thing but different from what I am used to and it is a bit of a fisheye feeling. The lines are also a learning curve but it gets the point across.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 8/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

How used this on 2 cars and it works great. Functional but unobtrusive

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Fishers, IN on 8/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am pleased with the camera and it worked with the existing aftermarket license plate frame.

Pros: Worked with existing aftermarket license plate frame. It does what I need and at a reasonable price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Lone Tree, CO on 8/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice and simple. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 7/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera and LED power connects right to the backup light wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not a great camera

Crutchfield customer from South Boston, MA on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This camera flickers when in reverse and the guidelines are confusing. They do not properly represent the sides of the car. Try a different one.

Pros: bright video

Cons: lines to guide you are not accurate

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Elko, NV on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy to install, customer satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice budget friendly option

Crutchfield customer from Borger, TX on 7/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very small space needed for this camera. Simple to install. Works great. Very clear image. I did have to get a replacement camera as I could not get the original to work.

Pros: Great price. Easy installation. Small space needed.

Cons: 4 pin connector seems flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CA on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great! Reverse lines turn as the vehicle turns. Easy to mount behind license plate. Instructions say to connect the power to the reverse light power of the vehicle, but my radio had a wire labled "rear camera power" that it needed to be connected to instead. Just a heads up if you're installing the camera before checking the radio :-)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for a budget camera

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, DE on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price I am very happy with this camera, it sits above my license plate. It was a bit tricky to wire the power and ground to the reverse light, and the wiring diagram was a little confusing, but after some studying and watching some youtube videos it was easy enough to figure out. This unit hooked up great to my new 3rd party head unit, I like the guiding lines on the camera, they change direction when you are turning. For a budget camera, I recommend this one. I did have to drill a small hole in the trunk to wire the harness to the inside of the car and up to the head unit but it wasn't too bad, the camera came with plenty of wire to make it to the front with plenty to spare. The picture quality is good, it's not phenomenal, but it does the trick as a parking aid. The LED power wire tore out of the wiring harness as it wasn't super well soldered on, but I was able to use posi connectors and splice in.

Pros: Good quality Plug and play into head unit Wide angle Good parking aid

Cons: little tricky/confusing to wire up Not the best quality picture

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Rescue, CA on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera very cleat

Pros: Wide view

Cons: Guide lines distracting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Crest Hill, IL on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it. Great night light reception

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Dahlonega, GA on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great was installed by my dad and is fully compatible with standard video inputs on stereos. The only off quirk is that the guide lines will only move if the car begins a turn.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera, food price and options.

Crutchfield customer from Lynnwood, WA on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera works very well good clear picture. I partnered it with a Sony Ax5000. The length of wire was great. I did get extra length because I was running in my RV. Camera came with female to female connector making it easy and saving money. I intalled it up high on my RV so I just used the license plate bracket as a adjustable mounting bracket. The camera is attached by a screw and but to the bracket allowing you to flip it around and adjust the angle. Which I did in my case.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Hillsborough, NJ on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lined up with my license plate as it should. Optional lines look fine so glad I added this to my purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent camera.

Crutchfield customer from East Berlin, PA on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install and works well with my Alpine iLX-W650 stereo. The LEd light makes seeing at night easy. Simple install. My only negative is that the picture got "wavy" once I connected it to the reverse line.

Pros: Easy install Decent price

Cons: Picture could be clearer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Olive Branch, MS on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Let There Be Light!

Crutchfield customer from Robins, IA on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good view. 6 bright LED's work in zero light to easily back up to my trailers. Predictive lines are semi useful and can be disabled. Sturdy mounting bracket fits license plate. Very nice as I can still view my backup cam image when my tailgate is down on my Tacoma truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

picture is clear mounting was easy and the price was great.

Pros:

Cons: wasn't a big fan of the screw to lock in the angle of the camera

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Murfreesboro, TN on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good camera, but vague instruction manual, almost nothing.

Pros: Good price

Cons: Poor instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Kent, WA on 4/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works great !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

nice product instructions are unclear i had to YouTube it to figure out what to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great with my new radio! Wiring was easy

Pros:

Cons: protrudes out a little, so I have to be a little careful not to step on it when I am getting in and out of my truck bed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice picture. Haven't hooked up led's yet but still good picture at night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Centennial, CO on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great fit for vehicle

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera, easy install. Love the option to mount it without the license plate bracket. Just a note. Make sure you park with your wheels straight before engaging reverse, otherwise the active lines will become misleading.

Pros: Easy install, more than one option for mounting

Cons: active lines can be off if vehicle is moved with wheels not straight

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Camera. Install not fun.

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera. Great picture. Active backup guides. Install was not easy. Mounting the actual camera takes two minutes. Running the wires under the truck and getting the wires inside the cabin is not fun. Once inside there are a few wires that need tapped into to provide power and to turn on when car goes into reverse. The directions were very vague for this part and required some tech support help finding the right wires to tap into. I highly suggest getting some "T clip" wire connectors. I don't think I could have made the connections without them (in the kickplate and fuse box area...tight spaces with zero slack in the factory wires). Required some fishing of wires from the head unit/wire harness to the fuse box and driver's side kickplate. Installing the camera and wiring took as long as the head unit itself....maybe longer. *installed with Alpine iLX-W650.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2014 nissan titan sv

Terion from Virginia on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2014 Nissan titan SV. Great product I'm a very happy customer. It was a pain in the butt to install but thankfully the representatives at Crutchfield were only a phone call away. Todd from Crutchfield help me out the whole way.

Pros: Great view and the back up lines are awesome.

Cons: Very difficult to install I found myself having to spice into wires just to get it to trigger into reverse. You will definitely have to call a Crutchfield agent to walk you through it if you don't know anything about electronics like myself.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Aguada, PR on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great image and easy to instal. Works perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Fryeburg, ME on 3/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clear picture makes hookups with my toy hauler so easy

Pros: Plenty of wire

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice for the price

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great on my 05 Frontier, plenty of wire, tapped into my reverse light and works with no problems.

Pros: Bright LED light, great camera view.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Merritt Island, FL on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great resolution. Can see in total darkness with the 6 bright LEDs. I really liked how this unit has guidelines which the camera calculates. The guide lines can be jumpy compared to new cars were are outfitting with a steering wheel sensor.

Pros: Ability to see in total darkness

Cons: Jumpy guide lines when turning hard while backing up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson, GA on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

was easy to install and set up, picture quality is good on the Panasonic radio I connected it to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, PA on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A great camera, it was easy to install.

Pros: Clear picture , install easy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good price, good camera

Crutchfield customer from Sugarcrk Twp, OH on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great mounting options, but wiring harness could be better. There are small power leads which need to be nine feet longer from the camera in order to connect power and ground to the camera. I had to splice extension wires to complete the task. Easy part is connecting into back of multimedia receiver and connecting remote trigger wire. When all was said and done it worked as advertised. The LED's make for a very bright image, which is difficult under some lighting conditions.

Pros: Price, mounts

Cons: Wiring

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Lewistown, MT on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera sits out in the open fairly unprotected - I don't expect it to last long in the working environment I am in

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, clear image when backing up and works well with my Sony headunit. Installed in my 1996 Buick Roadmaster wagon and had plenty of cable to run to tailgate. Mounted behind license plate so not even noticeable unless looking for it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Riverbank , CA on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really like the LEDs that light up when camera is activated. Camera quality was pretty good but lacks in the rain but all in all good unit

Pros: LED lights for low light. Great video quality. Attaches to licence plate so no drilling required.

Cons: Video quality lacks in the rain but still visible.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple and does what it is supposed to

Pros: Easy install. Straight forward

Cons: None really, for the price it's perfect

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Shellsburg, IA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product sleek and works properly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jittery Picture!

Tom from Lebanon, NH on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wish I bought something else, i was going to pay a installer $150 to install it, but he was 4 weeks out. So I did a temp install, everything works, but the picture is jittery... I'm not going to pay to have it installed at this point, researching a better camera.

Pros: Easy install after you figure it out

Cons: picture is very jittery!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture quality for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Demitree from HARRAH, OK on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This a really good quality camera!! The led lights are REALLY bright. No problems at night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera

Crutchfield customer from Holly Springs, NC on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome camera and the led lights are a great bonus

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

nice

Crutchfield customer from Little Silver, NJ on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

a great improvement the lights really make a big difference

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product, vague directions

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The picture is great given the price of the product. I like the options for the led and parking lines. The wires for positive and negative are extremely small gauge making it a little harder to tap with the larger power/reverse/ground wires. Plenty of length in the rca, have several feet coiled on my full size GMC Sierra crew cab short bed. Would definitely have enough for a crew cab long bed. I also got one for a front facing camera as my truck is lifted so it helps in parking lots. On a side note, if your vehicle has a step bumper and the license plate mounts at the step, it's hard to get the right angle without part of the picture obscured by the step. May mount a different way

Pros: Cost, picture quality, led lights and options for configuration.

Cons: The directions suck. Crutchfield please make a video explanation of this exact unit! Not too hard for someone experienced with electronics but a novice will be lost

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I can see !

Crutchfield customer from Artesia, CA on 11/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Straight this camera! Super clear and great night vision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, OH on 11/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good view!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Irving, TX on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great form factor, the parking lines help a lot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Missoula, MT on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great, easy to install and wire

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Front and backup licenses plate

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 10/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does an outstanding job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice camera

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice camera for the price I got it because of the grid lines and lights works great. Just wire the power leads at the camera to the backup light positive and you will be good.

Pros: Lights, and grid lines

Cons: The enclosed wiring diagram is not very clear on the power side.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, CT on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera works as specified

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, IA on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clear video. Easy to install

Pros: Easy instructions

Cons: Not a thing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Joshua from Toledo, OH on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picture quality was great and didn't have any problems for a while until about 4 months after installing it, and now it doesnt work at all and is definitely not waterproof as the LED lights in it are filled and rusted.

Pros: Pretty good clear picture

Cons: Not waterproof

Crutchfield response on 10/6/2020
Joshua, we're sorry you're having issues with your camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, TX on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera, great picture quality

Pros: Direction lines and led lights

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So-so

Crutchfield customer from Fergus Falls, MN on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The camera quality isn't as good as good as other cameras I've installed and projected path isn't accurate. Unable to adjust

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The wiring was a little confusing, but found a video explaining it. (I didn't call because I had called the day before and didn't want to harass them on Labor Day.) It works great with my Sony head unit and my wife loves it, that's all that matters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works well

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, MD on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well with my new Alpine ILX-207 head unit. Finding the wires to connect it up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, MN on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Light is very nice and camera is adjustable I can see the hitch ball and trailer hitch when backing up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Westbrook, ME on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so far so good.

Pros:

Cons: Maybe user error, had hard time figuring wiring.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well with my stereo, do LED lights look cool but I'm not 100% sure how much they help. I was surprised on how well the guiding lines were. The LED power line was a bit short, but I did put it in a big vehicle. The directions could have been a little bit clearer. I did like the small back with adhesive vs. the license plate bracket. I did have some confusion and submitted a ticket. I figured out what the issue was 5 minutes after I sent the request, but the support for the camera did respond timely.

Pros: Small bracket LED lights Easy install Good support

Cons: Needs better directions

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Brookfield, CT on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We've only had it a week, I ran into a few bumps installing but Crutchfield tech support walked me through no problem (even on July 4). Works great with apple play and connected to the Sony XAV-AX1000 makes our clunker feel like a luxury vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice camera, wire too short for tailgates

Crutchfield customer from North Port, FL on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera, wire from camera is too short for my suburban and I had run an additional 6+ feet of wire to tie into reverse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unimpressed

Logan W from GREENBACK, TN on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed according to the instructions and worked for a few weeks, then stopped functioning altogether. Ended up disconnecting and tossing it into the trash. Sorely disappointed.

Pros:

Cons: Flimsy, doesn't last long

Crutchfield response on 7/6/2020
Logan, we're sorry you're having issues with your camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing video and quality, I had a wiring issue and crutchfield helped me solve it really fast. Mistake was on my part!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good video for back up camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from North Fork, CA on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is OK easy set up.

Pros: set up was fast but running the wire is hard.

Cons: Not a clear picture

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Four Oaks, NC on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great and has a clear image

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Rogers, AR on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not reflective on Crutchfield or their customer service. We called for technical support and ensured we did everything correctly as the instructions were minimal and the camera wasn't functional. We preformed all the steps mentioned by both tech support and it's still not operational. I believe I received a defective camera, which is said to happen on occasion with the Boyo VTL17LTJ. I'm taking it into a professional for further inspection. I will update my review if it's an operator error.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera has a pretty good picture. Instructions are a little misleading with the red wire connection with the RCA input, however I managed to figure it out. In my application I had to leave the red wire unhooked to make the camera work properly with the head unit. The responsiveness of the lines on the camera are a little slow so you may opt to cut the wires to eliminate them. Over all for the price it is a nice setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Bayfield, CO on 6/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome little camera plate mount really helpful for hooking up a trailer by yourself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera, Easy Install

Crutchfield customer from Temecula, CA on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This backup camera is great and easy to install. I purchased a Pioneer stereo, a JBL powered subwoofer, and this backup camera for my daughter's car. The kicker for my daughter is she had to install everything. The instructions that Crutchfield provided made the installation almost effortless. My 15 yo installed the stereo, subwoofer and backup camera while I watched and provided the occasional direction. The camera is clear and the lines are accurate when navigating backwards. I definitely recommend.

Pros: Easy install Great picture

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't. Buy

Crutchfield customer from Sunrise, FL on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The absolute worst camera quality I've ever seen , I bought 2, going to torture them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/10/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your cameras. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 5 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Allen, TX on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Has a good image. Easy to install. I have a 4 door truck and the cord was more than long enough.

Pros: Long cord, good picture

Cons: Very basic instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Normandy, TN on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Great resolution, too.

Pros: Easy install and good instructions.

Cons: Wire gauge for power is really small.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Damascus, MD on 4/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unit works very well, surprisingly even the active parking guide lines that turn as you turn the wheel. The only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars is the directions. First they are so small (I mean like 3 point font small!) you have to use a magnifying glass to see them; second, they do not explain the connections very well (red camera power wires vs. red trigger wire - Ps. they are internally connected and are the same; your choice is in how you wire, depending on if you want the camera always powered up (in this case connect the red wire attached to the yellow RCA plug to switched radio power; do not use the red wire in the red/black pair, and direct connect your receiver reverse sense wire to the GEM ) - or - if you only want the camera to only power up in reverse (in which case you will probably see a few second lag before you get video when you shift into R) Connect the red/black pair to the reverse light and ground per the BOYO directions, and connect the receiver reverse sense wire to the red wire attached to the yellow RCA plug. Likewise there was no mention of the green wire (which is for the integrated LED power in the Boyo VTL17LTJ - which I hooked up to the reverse signal so they only come on when the vehicle is in reverse). I had to contact Crutchfield TS to get this sorted out but in the end all was fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Good Backup Camera

Crutchfield customer from Sonoma, CA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really neat backup camera. Really like how easy to install no drilling required on our vehicle. Good picture, lines have cones on the outside of them, not sure yet if I like that blocks a lot of the view from the camera.

Pros: Easy to install, good picture

Cons: Cones next to backup lines kind of distracting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Prichard, WV on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product was incredibly easy to install...directions on point! The camera was simple to wire to my kenwood after-market stereo. The best part is the clarity of the camera...awesome product!! Kudos to Crutchfield!!

Pros: Easy installation, great video quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Dowagiac, MI on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good instructions, a little small to read for 60 year old eyes. But took a pic and zoom in. Good view when backing. Helps to be safer when backing to trailer.

Pros: Helps to be safer.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

review camera for 2012 vw beetle

Crutchfield customer from Seven Hills, OH on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to add rearview functionality to a 2012 beetle. Installation is pretty simple. YOu splice into the reverse parking lights, and run the line up to the video receiver up front. The camera has good resolution and has parking lines. The parking lines turn when you turn, though it is a bit delayed. For the price though, the value can't be beat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great backup cam

Crutchfield customer from Hayesville, NC on 4/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great backup cam, glad i have cam in my 2004 mustang Gt vert

Pros: Great picture, just what i was looking for. Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointing

Russell from Oshkosh on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked well for about a year and then failed.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: Failed just after the one year warranty was up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Clear

Crutchfield customer from Darlington, PA on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice clear picture and cable is very long. Long enough to go from plate mount to receiver on a crew cab long bed super duty.

Pros: Nice clear picture Cables are nice and long

Cons: Park assist lines suck

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Ogden, UT on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Supposed to have active lines but it doesn't

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Neat little camera

Crutchfield customer from Lineville, AL on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice field of view. Also includes built in led reverse lights.

Pros: Great for the price.

Cons: Directional lines are not very responsive to the direction of the steering wheel. Not a big deal the head unit I bought had this built in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good camera. Not as hard as I thought to install. I just went to YouTube to see videos on how to wire camera and just followed thier instructions. The camera worked as expected and quality is good enough to see when backing up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Lakeville, IN on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Crystal clear picture. Adjustable angle and simple to wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Camera

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, OH on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The image is good on this camera. I couldn't get the direction lines to work, so I just turned them off. On my C240, the position of the camera initially blocked the trunk release latch. So I ended up snipping the bracket, drilling a hole in the center, and mounting the camera over one of the screws. It was easy to do and doesn't really change the view that I see in the car. The backup lights are nice. They light things up at night so I can still easily see what's behind me.

Pros: Good image. Easy to install.

Cons: Blocked trunk latch before bracket modification.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo Camera, big value, easy to install and set up.

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy to mount, great picture, lines work well. Great product for the price.

Pros: Adjustable camera mount and led lighting Great price

Cons: none yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Walla Walla, WA on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome camera. Really like the additional LED lights on this camera. The guide lines curve when backing around a corner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

william from Chatsworth, GA on 2/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picture quality is so so at the best. I unhooked the parking lines and I'm using the ones built in the kenwood head unit . This camera is not hatchback friendly at all. If I had to do it again wireless is the way to go. In my 05 Santa Fe there was no room for a wire with a rca plug on the end to be ran into the car from the hatch .

Pros: It does it's job

Cons: Parking lines were a bit of a pain to use, I like the ones in the radio better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from St Thomas, VI on 1/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good camera to add ,, clear picture ,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Homer Glen, IL on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install.... Great picture quality for night and day.

Pros: Great price great picture quality.

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Emran from TROY, MI on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good backup camera, worked great with 2011 CRV

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product for sure

Crutchfield customer from Tipp City, OH on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Its a great back up camera for the price

Pros: Parking lines

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Made for smaller cars

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The cable is low quality and the way it's built doesnt make much sense. The connections are weak and won't hold very well. The 22ft cable is not long enough for a crew cab and a long bed. I wouldn't recommend this camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

above and beyond my expectations

Pros: very easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera for the money

Crutchfield customer from Clemmons, NC on 11/18/2019