Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Backup camera with LED lights and active parking lines — license-plate-mount

MFR # VTL17LTJ

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Backup camera with LED lights and active parking lines — license-plate-mount

MFR # VTL17LTJ

189 reviews
View this product

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Rescue, CA on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera very cleat

Pros: Wide view

Cons: Guide lines distracting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Crest Hill, IL on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Great night light reception

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Dahlonega, GA on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great was installed by my dad and is fully compatible with standard video inputs on stereos. The only off quirk is that the guide lines will only move if the car begins a turn.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera, food price and options.

Crutchfield customer from Lynnwood, WA on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works very well good clear picture. I partnered it with a Sony Ax5000. The length of wire was great. I did get extra length because I was running in my RV. Camera came with female to female connector making it easy and saving money. I intalled it up high on my RV so I just used the license plate bracket as a adjustable mounting bracket. The camera is attached by a screw and but to the bracket allowing you to flip it around and adjust the angle. Which I did in my case.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Hillsborough, NJ on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lined up with my license plate as it should. Optional lines look fine so glad I added this to my purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent camera.

Crutchfield customer from East Berlin, PA on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and works well with my Alpine iLX-W650 stereo. The LEd light makes seeing at night easy. Simple install. My only negative is that the picture got "wavy" once I connected it to the reverse line.

Pros: Easy install Decent price

Cons: Picture could be clearer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Olive Branch, MS on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Let There Be Light!

Crutchfield customer from Robins, IA on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good view. 6 bright LED's work in zero light to easily back up to my trailers. Predictive lines are semi useful and can be disabled. Sturdy mounting bracket fits license plate. Very nice as I can still view my backup cam image when my tailgate is down on my Tacoma truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

picture is clear mounting was easy and the price was great.

Pros:

Cons: wasn't a big fan of the screw to lock in the angle of the camera

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Murfreesboro, TN on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera, but vague instruction manual, almost nothing.

Pros: Good price

Cons: Poor instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Kent, WA on 4/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice product instructions are unclear i had to YouTube it to figure out what to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my new radio! Wiring was easy

Pros:

Cons: protrudes out a little, so I have to be a little careful not to step on it when I am getting in and out of my truck bed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice picture. Haven't hooked up led's yet but still good picture at night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Centennial, CO on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit for vehicle

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera, easy install. Love the option to mount it without the license plate bracket. Just a note. Make sure you park with your wheels straight before engaging reverse, otherwise the active lines will become misleading.

Pros: Easy install, more than one option for mounting

Cons: active lines can be off if vehicle is moved with wheels not straight

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Camera. Install not fun.

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera. Great picture. Active backup guides. Install was not easy. Mounting the actual camera takes two minutes. Running the wires under the truck and getting the wires inside the cabin is not fun. Once inside there are a few wires that need tapped into to provide power and to turn on when car goes into reverse. The directions were very vague for this part and required some tech support help finding the right wires to tap into. I highly suggest getting some "T clip" wire connectors. I don't think I could have made the connections without them (in the kickplate and fuse box area...tight spaces with zero slack in the factory wires). Required some fishing of wires from the head unit/wire harness to the fuse box and driver's side kickplate. Installing the camera and wiring took as long as the head unit itself....maybe longer. *installed with Alpine iLX-W650.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2014 nissan titan sv

Terion from Virginia on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2014 Nissan titan SV. Great product I'm a very happy customer. It was a pain in the butt to install but thankfully the representatives at Crutchfield were only a phone call away. Todd from Crutchfield help me out the whole way.

Pros: Great view and the back up lines are awesome.

Cons: Very difficult to install I found myself having to spice into wires just to get it to trigger into reverse. You will definitely have to call a Crutchfield agent to walk you through it if you don't know anything about electronics like myself.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Aguada, PR on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great image and easy to instal. Works perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Fryeburg, ME on 3/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good clear picture makes hookups with my toy hauler so easy

Pros: Plenty of wire

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice for the price

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great on my 05 Frontier, plenty of wire, tapped into my reverse light and works with no problems.

Pros: Bright LED light, great camera view.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Merritt Island, FL on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great resolution. Can see in total darkness with the 6 bright LEDs. I really liked how this unit has guidelines which the camera calculates. The guide lines can be jumpy compared to new cars were are outfitting with a steering wheel sensor.

Pros: Ability to see in total darkness

Cons: Jumpy guide lines when turning hard while backing up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson, GA on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

was easy to install and set up, picture quality is good on the Panasonic radio I connected it to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, PA on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great camera, it was easy to install.

Pros: Clear picture , install easy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good price, good camera

Crutchfield customer from Sugarcrk Twp, OH on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mounting options, but wiring harness could be better. There are small power leads which need to be nine feet longer from the camera in order to connect power and ground to the camera. I had to splice extension wires to complete the task. Easy part is connecting into back of multimedia receiver and connecting remote trigger wire. When all was said and done it worked as advertised. The LED's make for a very bright image, which is difficult under some lighting conditions.

Pros: Price, mounts

Cons: Wiring

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Lewistown, MT on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera sits out in the open fairly unprotected - I don't expect it to last long in the working environment I am in

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, clear image when backing up and works well with my Sony headunit. Installed in my 1996 Buick Roadmaster wagon and had plenty of cable to run to tailgate. Mounted behind license plate so not even noticeable unless looking for it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Riverbank , CA on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like the LEDs that light up when camera is activated. Camera quality was pretty good but lacks in the rain but all in all good unit

Pros: LED lights for low light. Great video quality. Attaches to licence plate so no drilling required.

Cons: Video quality lacks in the rain but still visible.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and does what it is supposed to

Pros: Easy install. Straight forward

Cons: None really, for the price it's perfect

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Shellsburg, IA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product sleek and works properly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jittery Picture!

Tom from Lebanon, NH on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish I bought something else, i was going to pay a installer $150 to install it, but he was 4 weeks out. So I did a temp install, everything works, but the picture is jittery... I'm not going to pay to have it installed at this point, researching a better camera.

Pros: Easy install after you figure it out

Cons: picture is very jittery!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture quality for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Demitree from HARRAH, OK on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a really good quality camera!! The led lights are REALLY bright. No problems at night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera

Crutchfield customer from Holly Springs, NC on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome camera and the led lights are a great bonus

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

nice

Crutchfield customer from Little Silver, NJ on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a great improvement the lights really make a big difference

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product, vague directions

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture is great given the price of the product. I like the options for the led and parking lines. The wires for positive and negative are extremely small gauge making it a little harder to tap with the larger power/reverse/ground wires. Plenty of length in the rca, have several feet coiled on my full size GMC Sierra crew cab short bed. Would definitely have enough for a crew cab long bed. I also got one for a front facing camera as my truck is lifted so it helps in parking lots. On a side note, if your vehicle has a step bumper and the license plate mounts at the step, it's hard to get the right angle without part of the picture obscured by the step. May mount a different way

Pros: Cost, picture quality, led lights and options for configuration.

Cons: The directions suck. Crutchfield please make a video explanation of this exact unit! Not too hard for someone experienced with electronics but a novice will be lost

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I can see !

Crutchfield customer from Artesia, CA on 11/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight this camera! Super clear and great night vision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, OH on 11/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good view!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Irving, TX on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great form factor, the parking lines help a lot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Missoula, MT on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to install and wire

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Front and backup licenses plate

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 10/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does an outstanding job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice camera

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice camera for the price I got it because of the grid lines and lights works great. Just wire the power leads at the camera to the backup light positive and you will be good.

Pros: Lights, and grid lines

Cons: The enclosed wiring diagram is not very clear on the power side.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, CT on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works as specified

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, IA on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good clear video. Easy to install

Pros: Easy instructions

Cons: Not a thing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Joshua from Toledo, OH on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture quality was great and didn't have any problems for a while until about 4 months after installing it, and now it doesnt work at all and is definitely not waterproof as the LED lights in it are filled and rusted.

Pros: Pretty good clear picture

Cons: Not waterproof

Crutchfield response on 10/6/2020
Joshua, we're sorry you're having issues with your camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, TX on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera, great picture quality

Pros: Direction lines and led lights

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So-so

Crutchfield customer from Fergus Falls, MN on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera quality isn't as good as good as other cameras I've installed and projected path isn't accurate. Unable to adjust

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring was a little confusing, but found a video explaining it. (I didn't call because I had called the day before and didn't want to harass them on Labor Day.) It works great with my Sony head unit and my wife loves it, that's all that matters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works well

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, MD on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with my new Alpine ILX-207 head unit. Finding the wires to connect it up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, MN on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Light is very nice and camera is adjustable I can see the hitch ball and trailer hitch when backing up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Westbrook, ME on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

so far so good.

Pros:

Cons: Maybe user error, had hard time figuring wiring.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with my stereo, do LED lights look cool but I'm not 100% sure how much they help. I was surprised on how well the guiding lines were. The LED power line was a bit short, but I did put it in a big vehicle. The directions could have been a little bit clearer. I did like the small back with adhesive vs. the license plate bracket. I did have some confusion and submitted a ticket. I figured out what the issue was 5 minutes after I sent the request, but the support for the camera did respond timely.

Pros: Small bracket LED lights Easy install Good support

Cons: Needs better directions

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Brookfield, CT on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We've only had it a week, I ran into a few bumps installing but Crutchfield tech support walked me through no problem (even on July 4). Works great with apple play and connected to the Sony XAV-AX1000 makes our clunker feel like a luxury vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice camera, wire too short for tailgates

Crutchfield customer from North Port, FL on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera, wire from camera is too short for my suburban and I had run an additional 6+ feet of wire to tie into reverse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unimpressed

Logan W from GREENBACK, TN on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed according to the instructions and worked for a few weeks, then stopped functioning altogether. Ended up disconnecting and tossing it into the trash. Sorely disappointed.

Pros:

Cons: Flimsy, doesn't last long

Crutchfield response on 7/6/2020
Logan, we're sorry you're having issues with your camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing video and quality, I had a wiring issue and crutchfield helped me solve it really fast. Mistake was on my part!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good video for back up camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from North Fork, CA on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is OK easy set up.

Pros: set up was fast but running the wire is hard.

Cons: Not a clear picture

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Four Oaks, NC on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and has a clear image

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Rogers, AR on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not reflective on Crutchfield or their customer service. We called for technical support and ensured we did everything correctly as the instructions were minimal and the camera wasn't functional. We preformed all the steps mentioned by both tech support and it's still not operational. I believe I received a defective camera, which is said to happen on occasion with the Boyo VTL17LTJ. I'm taking it into a professional for further inspection. I will update my review if it's an operator error.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera has a pretty good picture. Instructions are a little misleading with the red wire connection with the RCA input, however I managed to figure it out. In my application I had to leave the red wire unhooked to make the camera work properly with the head unit. The responsiveness of the lines on the camera are a little slow so you may opt to cut the wires to eliminate them. Over all for the price it is a nice setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Bayfield, CO on 6/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome little camera plate mount really helpful for hooking up a trailer by yourself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera, Easy Install

Crutchfield customer from Temecula, CA on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This backup camera is great and easy to install. I purchased a Pioneer stereo, a JBL powered subwoofer, and this backup camera for my daughter's car. The kicker for my daughter is she had to install everything. The instructions that Crutchfield provided made the installation almost effortless. My 15 yo installed the stereo, subwoofer and backup camera while I watched and provided the occasional direction. The camera is clear and the lines are accurate when navigating backwards. I definitely recommend.

Pros: Easy install Great picture

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't. Buy

Crutchfield customer from Sunrise, FL on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The absolute worst camera quality I've ever seen , I bought 2, going to torture them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/10/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your cameras. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Allen, TX on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has a good image. Easy to install. I have a 4 door truck and the cord was more than long enough.

Pros: Long cord, good picture

Cons: Very basic instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Normandy, TN on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Great resolution, too.

Pros: Easy install and good instructions.

Cons: Wire gauge for power is really small.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Damascus, MD on 4/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works very well, surprisingly even the active parking guide lines that turn as you turn the wheel. The only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars is the directions. First they are so small (I mean like 3 point font small!) you have to use a magnifying glass to see them; second, they do not explain the connections very well (red camera power wires vs. red trigger wire - Ps. they are internally connected and are the same; your choice is in how you wire, depending on if you want the camera always powered up (in this case connect the red wire attached to the yellow RCA plug to switched radio power; do not use the red wire in the red/black pair, and direct connect your receiver reverse sense wire to the GEM ) - or - if you only want the camera to only power up in reverse (in which case you will probably see a few second lag before you get video when you shift into R) Connect the red/black pair to the reverse light and ground per the BOYO directions, and connect the receiver reverse sense wire to the red wire attached to the yellow RCA plug. Likewise there was no mention of the green wire (which is for the integrated LED power in the Boyo VTL17LTJ - which I hooked up to the reverse signal so they only come on when the vehicle is in reverse). I had to contact Crutchfield TS to get this sorted out but in the end all was fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Good Backup Camera

Crutchfield customer from Sonoma, CA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really neat backup camera. Really like how easy to install no drilling required on our vehicle. Good picture, lines have cones on the outside of them, not sure yet if I like that blocks a lot of the view from the camera.

Pros: Easy to install, good picture

Cons: Cones next to backup lines kind of distracting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Prichard, WV on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product was incredibly easy to install...directions on point! The camera was simple to wire to my kenwood after-market stereo. The best part is the clarity of the camera...awesome product!! Kudos to Crutchfield!!

Pros: Easy installation, great video quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Dowagiac, MI on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good instructions, a little small to read for 60 year old eyes. But took a pic and zoom in. Good view when backing. Helps to be safer when backing to trailer.

Pros: Helps to be safer.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

review camera for 2012 vw beetle

Crutchfield customer from Seven Hills, OH on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to add rearview functionality to a 2012 beetle. Installation is pretty simple. YOu splice into the reverse parking lights, and run the line up to the video receiver up front. The camera has good resolution and has parking lines. The parking lines turn when you turn, though it is a bit delayed. For the price though, the value can't be beat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great backup cam

Crutchfield customer from Hayesville, NC on 4/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great backup cam, glad i have cam in my 2004 mustang Gt vert

Pros: Great picture, just what i was looking for. Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointing

Russell from Oshkosh on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well for about a year and then failed.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: Failed just after the one year warranty was up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear

Crutchfield customer from Darlington, PA on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clear picture and cable is very long. Long enough to go from plate mount to receiver on a crew cab long bed super duty.

Pros: Nice clear picture Cables are nice and long

Cons: Park assist lines suck

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Ogden, UT on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Supposed to have active lines but it doesn't

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Neat little camera

Crutchfield customer from Lineville, AL on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice field of view. Also includes built in led reverse lights.

Pros: Great for the price.

Cons: Directional lines are not very responsive to the direction of the steering wheel. Not a big deal the head unit I bought had this built in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera. Not as hard as I thought to install. I just went to YouTube to see videos on how to wire camera and just followed thier instructions. The camera worked as expected and quality is good enough to see when backing up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Lakeville, IN on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Crystal clear picture. Adjustable angle and simple to wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Camera

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, OH on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The image is good on this camera. I couldn't get the direction lines to work, so I just turned them off. On my C240, the position of the camera initially blocked the trunk release latch. So I ended up snipping the bracket, drilling a hole in the center, and mounting the camera over one of the screws. It was easy to do and doesn't really change the view that I see in the car. The backup lights are nice. They light things up at night so I can still easily see what's behind me.

Pros: Good image. Easy to install.

Cons: Blocked trunk latch before bracket modification.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo Camera, big value, easy to install and set up.

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to mount, great picture, lines work well. Great product for the price.

Pros: Adjustable camera mount and led lighting Great price

Cons: none yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Walla Walla, WA on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome camera. Really like the additional LED lights on this camera. The guide lines curve when backing around a corner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

william from Chatsworth, GA on 2/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture quality is so so at the best. I unhooked the parking lines and I'm using the ones built in the kenwood head unit . This camera is not hatchback friendly at all. If I had to do it again wireless is the way to go. In my 05 Santa Fe there was no room for a wire with a rca plug on the end to be ran into the car from the hatch .

Pros: It does it's job

Cons: Parking lines were a bit of a pain to use, I like the ones in the radio better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from St Thomas, VI on 1/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera to add ,, clear picture ,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Homer Glen, IL on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install.... Great picture quality for night and day.

Pros: Great price great picture quality.

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Emran from TROY, MI on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good backup camera, worked great with 2011 CRV

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product for sure

Crutchfield customer from Tipp City, OH on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its a great back up camera for the price

Pros: Parking lines

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Made for smaller cars

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The cable is low quality and the way it's built doesnt make much sense. The connections are weak and won't hold very well. The 22ft cable is not long enough for a crew cab and a long bed. I wouldn't recommend this camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

above and beyond my expectations

Pros: very easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera for the money

Crutchfield customer from Clemmons, NC on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great back up camera. Works as described. Routing the wire was tricky but this was because of the car not the unit. Installation instructions could be a little clearer.

Pros: Great view

Cons: Instructions not clear as could be.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Orange, CA on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very satisfied with this camera it was easy to install and has good resolution.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Addition.

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, GA on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was very straightforward once the backup light wire (black w/pink stripe) could be identified. Cable was plenty long enough for F250 crew cab. Still getting used to active parking lines. Not sure they will stay. Seem to be hyper sensitive.

Pros: Makes hooking up a trailer a breeze.

Cons: Sensitivity of active parking lines will put you in a ditch if you're not paying attention.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Superb picture, very easy installation

Crutchfield customer from Laurinburg, NC on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad I spent a few more dollars to get the Boyo VTL17LTJ. The quality of the picture is superb and the installation and resulting location (behind the license plate so that nothing is obscured) is excellent. Installation on a 1997 Suburban used almost all of the wire provided, but it was enough! Definitely a camera that I would purchase again in the future.

Pros: Excellent image, easy installation without obscuring the license plate.

Cons: The backup lines are not really that useful, as there is no tie-in to the steering column for angle.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still not working even though Crutchfield has provided excellent phone support. Product's instructions poorly written.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/24/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Jordan from NILES, MI on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Heckin good! 13/10 would buy again! But seriously, the picture quality is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Seymour, TN on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too dark to see. Can't see my trailer hitch at all. LED are worthless. Image should be brighter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera. Crisp,clear image and easy install. Highly recommend.

Pros: All around great product. Great picture and good visibility at night.

Cons: None that I'm aware of.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product... Easy Install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Vista, CA on 8/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent back up camera. Didn't give it 5 stars because I haven't had it long enough to test it's reliability.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Scappoose, OR on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meh. It has a super clear pucture, but objects will be WAY closer than what appears.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered a Sony headunit and Boyo backup camera back in Feb 2019 from Crutchfield (CF). I dropped my car off with the CF ordered equipment to my local shop (LS) for the install. The LS got everything installed however could not get the steering wheel controls to work. They troubleshooted the issue with the manufacturer of the PAC module and both thought it was an issue with the headunit. So I got my car back from the LS with everything working but the steering wheel controls. I called CF, they had me reprogram the PAC module (~2+hours) and wanted to try replacing the module first. After I received the PAC module, I called CF again for programming/install guidance (~2+ hours). At this point, CF realized the Sony XAV headunit was the culprit. After I received the replacement JVC KW-M750BT headunit (Sony out of stock), I called CF again for tech sup (~2+hours). Everything seemed to work well but started having camera issues within a day or two. I called CF again (~1hour), we thought we figured out the problem but issues persisted. I ended up finally taking my vehicle to the LS again. The LS determined it was a bad RCA connection. I went with one of the LS camera units they had in stock vs waiting for a replacement from CF. TLDR: Due to a faulty headunit and backup camera, spent ~7+hours with CF support and ~$300+ in labor at the LS. Despite CF customer service being great, I overall had a pretty terrible experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Best rear view camera

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product the leds around the camera make night time backing up super clear. Easy to install as well fits right over license plate using existing hardware.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The LED lighting is great! Really added a lot of value to my truck!

Pros: Very convenient and cost effective way to improve your vehicle

Cons: A little difficult to install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Ashland City, TN on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straightforward install and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Plainview, TX on 6/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install good value for cost

Pros: easy to install, very clear image

Cons: has a little more fish eye effect than i like but still nice clear image

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Key Largo, FL on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera has great picture and I like how it mounts behind the plate instead of on top

Pros: Great pic and easy mount

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Washington, IL on 6/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, good recommendation by Crutchfield staff.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Gary from San Mateo, CA on 5/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The back up cam works

Pros: Great day video, so far works fine no trouble.great help from Crutchfield.

Cons: I bit of work to install. And still not sure how to set the the cam parking lines. The less light gives it of blurry vision at night

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

JAMES from Tulsa, OK on 5/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed everything from front to back but the reverse wire to the back up light wasnt working so i had to tear into my vehicle wiring harness to find the reverse light wire,. Spent multiple times on the phone trouble shooting the wiring and hours with he install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Alex City, AL on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a easy hook up with great help from techs. Work like dream .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bottom line. Solid camera

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little camera. The moving guide line do not really work as well as I had hoped. The light on the back is bright. The creek resolution is great. I installed this on a 2009 Honda CRV and the power wire on the camera side side was not long enough to reach my reverse power supply, so I had to use a jumper wire to tap into my reverse wire, not a big deal. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the moving guide lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

I can see clearly now

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera gives a very clear view. I like the parking lines and the vector lines that turn with the car. Plenty of cable to do my Expedition. Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great. The only downfall of this camera is the quality of the RCA where it hooks into the stereo. Not the tightest fitting RCA so we will see how it holds up over time behind the dash, hopefully no issues in the future. As for the guage of the wiring to hook into all other wires on the truck for power, would just be nice to have something a little thicker, even a 22ga at least.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Drose

Crutchfield customer from Salem ma on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera and I couldn't ask for a better quality of a camera for the price I payed and it was easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2008 Jeep Wrangler

Darrell from El Paso, TX on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this on 2008 Jeep Wrangler and I found some mounting issues with the supplied license plate bracket. I had to remove the camera and install the bracket upside down so it would fit under the license plate light. I found a useful YouTube video to help me find the proper reverse wires to connect to. Since the camera sits on the drivers side of the vehicle and not centered, it takes a little bit to get used to, but the camera has a wide angle and led lights which help at night. I'm using this with a Pioneer AVH-2440NEX so you get a great large screen to view and with the custom Crutchfield wiring harness they made it so simple to wire in.

Pros: Great camera view, extra long cables, easy install instructions

Cons: Mounting bracket for Jeep license plate

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Star, NC on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly easy install and camera works good during the day. the trajectory lines when turning are not accurate and get in the way. Would love to see them work but I will be removing them and using the parking lines from radio.. also view after dark isn't the greatest. I probly wouldn't buy this product again.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Not good at dark. Trajectory lines are not accurate.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Short life

billie from Columbia, SC on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using this product for about 11 months. At first the lines went out qnd now the camara itself is out. Short life expectancy!

Pros: Worked at first.

Cons: Wouldn't work after 11 months.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

not the greatest, seems to be affected by rain

Mike from Greer, SC on 2/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked at first although the active parking lines are not very accurate. Starting flickering during a heavy rain then the picture went out completely in less than a week. Now it works occasionally but the picture is not always as crisp and clear when first installed.

Pros: crisp clear picture (at first) installs as any other backup camera

Cons: lasted about a week but quit during a heavy rain have to replace it and run the cables again!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Wilson from Arecibo, PR on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera

Pros:

Cons: New

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Installed on 2001 F250 7.3 long bed

Crutchfield customer from Baytown, TX on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on my 2001 F250 7.3 long bed. I was worried that the wire wouldn't be long enough. I ran it along the frame and up through the rubber plug under the drivers foot area. Plenty of wire. Easy set up to my Kenwood head unit. Clear picture and I like that you can clip the wire to delete the backup lines. Highly recommend especially for the price!

Pros: Easy set up Options to delete guide lines Clear picture Night view looks great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not installed yet, but hope will work as described. Looks decent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Makes my 2011 Ford seem like a 2019

Crutchfield customer from Cottondale, FL on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Camera. Easy Install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, LA on 1/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good cameras, easy install. Does a great job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am well pleased with my Boyo VTL17LTJ backup camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Roodhouse, IL on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Aaron from Lemon Grove, CA on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice camera and bright even at night

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Backup Camera Present

Emily from Jasper, AL on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a Christmas present for my husband, and he is absolutely going to love it!! I love the packaging! Can't wait for him to open it on Christmas morning!

Pros: Small and compact, excellent packaging and shipping was super fast!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Clear picture

Bill from Madison, MS on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture from camera.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Poor video quality in the evening

Carlo from Annville, PA on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the camera for about three weeks and I'm not very happy with the quality of the video when there's any light in the background. During the day, there aren't many issues. But, in the evening, it's very difficult to make out what's on the screen. There are LED lights built into the casing for the housing, but I have yet to see them turn on; I'm not sure if they work. Even though the installation was fairly easy, I would not recommend this camera due to the quality of the video in any type of lighting.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: Poor video quality

Crutchfield response on 12/4/2018
Carlo, we're sorry you're disappointed with your backup camera. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love this camera

John from West New York, NJ on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera even better price. Don't waste your money on more expensive ones when this one does the job great. It even has reverse lights to help out in the night

Pros: Image quality, backup lights at night

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Richard from COLUMBIA, TN on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on 2005 Impala 3.4 Base. Used with a Sony XAV-AV100. Works well, but I did disable the lines. It's nice that the lines are able to be jumped - ie on some cameras, you need to clip the line whereas in this one you can simply remove the jumper or reinstall; could be useful if you ever want to sell the camera/car down the road and the new owner wants to change something.

Pros: Works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Install nightmare in 4Runner

Jack from Chesapeake, VA on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not suitable for SUVs w a back hath that swings open. The tethers are way too short making installation an absolute nightmare. I have a 4Runner and online videos show many other backup cameras with less bulky connectors that would work better. Also, if you have a latch release above the plate, this is going to be a nuisance the rest of your vehicle's life span. This would probably be great in a sedan, but in a 4Runner, I have to make several modifications to the factory suggested installation. This product should not be recommended for a 4Runner at all.

Pros: Nice packaging

Cons: Supplied connection not appropriate for an SUV with top hinges

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Gregory from Sunnyvale, CA on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Parking lines go way overboard on slight turns. Lighting and visual effects are excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Westerville, OH on 11/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works well. Instruction sheet ( only one diagram with notations) should be at least two times larger. If you do not have excellent eye sight, a magnifying glass will be required. Also, a step by step listing of instructions with definitions of terminology should be included. Wiring gage is extremely small, making connections difficult. Increasing the wire size would make installation easier and improve strength, doing so would be very inexpensive to the manufacturer.

Pros: Works well

Cons: Too small wiring size. Too small and too little instruction information

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Bolingbrook, IL on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and easy to install , the Led is bright and the color is great as well .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Garrett, IN on 11/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The install was easy, but the instructions were a little lacking. I tied into the backup light for power as I had read reviews online for some ideas. The picture is clear, the color seems to be accurate, and the led lights do a great job of illuminating behind the truck in the dark. If it holds up it will be well worth the money.

Pros: Simple to install. Better night vision than my other vehicle with its factory camera. Affordable.

Cons: Poor instructions.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice Camera, terrible documentation

Wayne from LOUISVILLE on 10/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera is easy to setup. But the manual is in such small print, you need a magnifying glass to read it. Better to find it online. The daytime picture is clear and bright. I've only had it installed a few days, but I think like the other reviewers that the active guide lines are generally useless and I'll probably disable them. You should use this to confirm your distance to an object behind and to be sure you are clear, but use your side mirrors for getting between objects. Mostly pleased and since my radio supplied a power lead to the camera that I connected to the red lead, I didn't need the extra power wires to go to the reverse light. That wasn't well documented but is a nice feature.

Pros: Good quality picture

Cons: Terrible documentation

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Dean from Harper Woods, MI on 10/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good image day and night, affordable, is a nice convenience to add on an older vehicle

Pros: Nice mounting option as well as adjustability of actual camera was an affordable option for my Kenwood unit

Cons: Wiring diagram leaves a bit to be desired, if your not strong with vehicle wiring I would suggest reaching out to Crutchfield for support. The connection leads were not even close to being long enough for installation on a minivan. Backup lines are a bit distracting, ended up using thelines on Kenwood unit.For the cost and quality these are minor inconveniences

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Edward from Naples, FL on 10/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's ok back camera

Pros: Good

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Bellefonte, PA on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

GREAT PICTURE AND LANE LINES

Larry from Greenville, TX on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product to integrate with your camera capable radio.

Pros: Relatively easy installation Great picture

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 9/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clear picture, very easy to mount and adjust

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

charles from Green Cv Spgs, FL on 9/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Operates as advertised. Strong and powerful, while been small.

Pros: Small, powerful and bright.

Cons: Wiring diagram was pitiful. Trigger wire to radio did not work. More information is desirzble for novice installer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good picture quality

Sheldon from Wellsville, KS on 9/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought to hook up to my Kenwood DDX 9902S receiver in my 2005 Equinox. I didn't want to spend what Kenwood wants for theirs, bought this since one of the Crutchfield advisers suggested. I think it has a pretty good picture day and night. I use the back up lines in the Kenwood, and after reading reviews won't hook up the jumper for Boyo's active lines. I agree instructions are very bad (non existent really) and printed way too small. I would like to see back up cameras with longer leads from the camera for back hatch applications where tail lights aren't in the hatch, especially with such a short reverse light lead. It would have been nice for that to be where the power in leads are. I didn't use the trigger wire (hook up to reverse light circuit) so trailer loads can be monitored (by the passenger for safety) while going down the road.

Pros: Good, clean picture

Cons: Vague instructions, too small of printed instructions, too short camera lead/reverse light lead.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good image Quality

Crutchfield customer from Chehalis, WA on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price. Easy to install Great camera I would by again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Beaver Dams, NY on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera

Kevin from Parkland, FL on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was easy and works great in light and dark situations..Great Parking Guides too.

Pros: Plenty of length of cable Great pic in Light and Night Very unassuming too..

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Tomball, TX on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall very disappointed with this camera. I've tried 3 different cameras to date (different models and manufacturers), and am tired of disassembling my car trim and carpeting for having to run wiring each time. This Boyo unit looked good on paper like it was going to be the final solution.

Pros: Pros: great resolution, clarity, good nighttime view, wide angle view, impressive depth of view

Cons: Cons (and the reason I give it only 2 stars): the active parking lines are HORRIBLE. So bad that they are distracting whenever the camera is displaying. When my steering wheel is barely turned, the active lines go full turn, then they refuse to straighten out even when I straighten my steering. I realize these are rendered only via software (not by any actual link to my steering wheel), but the software needs serious fix.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Okatie, SC on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

shiped on time , working as advertise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Jim from Penngrove, CA on 8/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera because it has active parking lines that track the trajectory of the vehicle. The lines react pretty quickly as the front wheels begin to change direction, however they are quite exaggerated in that they indicate a trajectory that is not an actual representation of the movement of the vehicle. Further, they're very slow to react (if at all) to turning the steering wheel in the opposite direction. Fortunately Boyo provides a simple disconnect to turn off the active lines. I'm going to play with it for a while, but am pretty sure that I'll end up disconnecting the lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, no issues with camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

solid camera

Daniel from Lake Orion, MI on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This boyo camera is working great in my Impala, allowing me to easily see directly behind the car. The led light are nice touch adding illumination so the camera is still useable in the evening hours. My only complaint is that the instructions that came with the camera didn't explain much, but after watching a few videos the problem was fairly easy to overcome. If your looking for an easy and affordable way to add a backup camera, this would be a solid choice.

Pros: works well, decent picture, led lights

Cons: instructions were poor

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from WA on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This backup camera was installed after several hours of chasing a power issue. My biggest complaint is that the printed instructions are horrible and you have to use the online instructions to even read it. Secondly if you use wire splicers the wire is so thin the splicer doesn't cut the wire it just bends. This my chasing power issues for an hour. Lastly the camera sticks up just enough from the bottom mounted position that the tail gate still hits it and moves the camera every time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

WAYNE L. from georgia on 7/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked very well up untill this week, which would make it 90 days in use. the screen is jittery and may work and may not.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Keith from Highland, IN on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantastic camera, love Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good canera

Kenneth from Granbury, TX on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring instructions are a little vague and it took me a few tries to get it correct, but the camera is working great now with an excellent picture.

Pros: price picture quality features

Cons: wiring instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Horrible instructions

John from Bozeman, MT on 7/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions included are abosolutely useless, they are printed so dang small that you cannot read it and I have 20/20 vision. The drawing again useless - too small too general. Easy enough to pull the wires and mount but how the heck does it hook/wire up! Beyond me. The Crutchfield videos and help were way to general to do any good.

Pros: Easy to mount.

Cons: Horrible instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Kate from Mililani, HI on 7/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear image, wide field. I took off one star because we had to disable the parking lines because they were acting strangely, but I don't really need them anyway. An excellent price for a good product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Do not buy this! Not worth $0.99.

Crutchfield customer from Schwenksville, PA on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

waste of money. Worked for 2 attempts then stopped. Not about to unwire the unit out so now it just sits idle in the jeep as a reminder to never buy Boyo ever again. Crutchfield should remove this garbage from their site rather than sell customers shoddy products. Instructions are nonexistent.

Pros: Crutchfield's tech support was very helpful to get it up and running. You will need tech support for this garbage.

Cons: instructions suck. product sucks.

Crutchfield response on 7/16/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Daniel, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

2 of 4 found this helpful

Everything that I was looking for.

James from Ormond Beach, FL on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for an upgrade for my existing backup camera. This was perfect. Super clean, brackets mount behind your license plate. Picture quality is really good. Super easy install. Thanks Tim ( my service advisor ) for recommending this model.

Pros: Clean and easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Okolona, MS on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't been able to get it working yet? Probably my connections. The directions could have been better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/27/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Jason, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Slocomb, AL on 6/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install on my 2012 Jeep JKU watch video on YouTube of installation of backup camera on Jeep JK and it will answer all your questions, because instructions are not very good for someone that hasn't had a little automotive wiring experience. Works great very clear pic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 6/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good picture. Guidance lines are no help but can be turned off easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Douglasville, GA on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works fine, however the guide lines aren't accurate, so I disconnected them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very good camera

dominic from Blairsville, GA on 6/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good but not as clear as I would like, but I would probably buy it again.

Pros: Easy hook up

Cons: Not real clear resolution, directions could be better but Crutchfield service helped me through it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Darlene from Anderson, CA on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Instructions for trigger wire were my only hiccup.

Pros: Works great.

Cons: Install instructions need to be better.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little camera

Rich from Lincoln Univ, PA on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works well. Installation took about an hour on my Silverado. Only hiccup was determining trigger wire connections. Crutchfield helped with that. (Only need to connect one end to +V ) I used the 12v for the reverse lights for power and trigger.

Pros: Great view, led's are bright and active lines work well

Cons: Install instructions could be better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 5/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good picture and reasonable accuracy. has been an excellent addition to my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

John C. from Merced, CA on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty easy to install (manufacturers instructions were bad). Good picture quality for the price. No complaints yet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clarita, CA on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The installation was easy except that the length of the wire was not long enough to reach my Sienna van - the reason for the 4 stars. However, everything works well with the after-market dash-in stereo. Great product for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera to help you.

Kevin from Garfield, WA on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera works great, the camera comes with several options including lines, or no lines. I use the clear lines. Night time back up is good. Picture is clear, if you don't want the license plate bracket, comes with a clip. Lots of choices and great picture

Pros: Great picture with lots of options.

Cons: Really only thing I can think is that you can see the camera unlike some of the new cars with hidden cameras

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Value

Steve T from Biloxi, MS on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great camera for the price. The installation is simple, but instructions were somewhat lacking. I emailed BOYO about what to do with the extra red wire by the RCA jack and they provided additional helpful instructions within a couple of hours. Hook two wires to the backup light for power. Plug the RCA jack into your head unit and the red wire to the reverse "trigger wire" in your head unit or fuse box and you are good to go. The backup lines are are a little off, but still helpful.

Pros: Great price Picture quality is good BOYO customer support is responsive

Cons: Instructions are minimal Backup lines are a little cheesy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Tavares, FL on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great image capability

James from Rockmart, GA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing has amazing video capability. BUT it could use better factory instructions

Pros:

Cons: Instructions were vague

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, OH on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great angle of view and good quality camera. Is also barely noticeable on the car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great back up camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Backup Camera

Tony from Poteau, OK on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is better than expected and super easy to install in my new Kenwood head unit.

Pros: Great color, perfect lines, great LED backup lighting. Very easy install.

Cons: Absolutely none!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from West Kingston, RI on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Met all expectations. Clarity of camera much better than I thought it would be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Concho, AZ on 3/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, great picture. A lot of work to install. Instructions leave a lot to desire.

Pros: Excellent picture, looks great

Cons: Lousy instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow...just wow!

Jon from Decatur, GA on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In every possible way, this camera has impressed me. Since my head unit has inputs for front and rear cameras, I bought two, and I'm thrilled with the results. The picture is clear, the LEDs provide ample light for night driving, and the camera itself is fairly discrete tucked under the license plate (the front camera is less discrete, but that's to be expected). Installation was as easy as could be expected (you do have to run a cable from the trunk all the way to the head unit, so it's painful in that regard). For this price, I'd recommend this camera to anyone.

Pros: Great picture. Discrete profile. Uncomplicated install.

Cons: None--This camera is a steal at the price it's going for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent product

David from Brooksville, KY on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good view

Pros: Good picture Good viewing angle

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 2/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good quality camera at a great price! The picture quality is excellent. It was easy to install.

Pros: Great video quality and options.

Cons: The trajectory feature can be distracting.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Roper from Johns Island, SC on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera provides a clear picture and installation was not terribly difficult. My only complaint is that the RCA cable and trip wire were about 3 feet short for my installation which was for a Toyota 4 Runner. This required me to purchase additional cable, wire and a female connector. Outside of that it's a great camera and didn't cost a great deal

Pros: Great picture

Cons: Cable and wiring too short

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A camera to make others jealous!

Brian from Winter Garden, FL on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture quality and it's amazing how the lines move when you turn! It's better than the camera that came stock in my Range Rover! It came with a well thought out license plate mount as well as a small mount that I used to tuck it up under the trunk lip of my daughter's prius. I'd highly recommend this camera, the only downside is abysmal installation instructions. It doesn't even show the voltage requirements (prius factory harness only puts 6v to the camera, so this was important for me to know) and some wires are just labeled "trigger" with no explanation of where they would hook to. Once you figure out the wiring (Crutchfield can help you with that) you'll have a camera that will make others jealous!

Pros: Great quality, awesome moving lines, well thought out brackets

Cons: installation instructions are abysmal - you will need help from Crutchfield to interpret them unless you're familiar with installing rear cameras already

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Eric from Lead, SD on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera is working great! Nice wide view and image is good. Camera is small and not that noticeable. I really like the light - it lights up the whole rear area making things more visible not only on the camera, but for myself when looking in mirrors and over my shoulder. The Crutchfield peeps were great at helping with some install details. Every car is different and there are several different ways to wire these things in. Install on my 06 Explorer was pretty involved - getting the car interior panels apart and wires ran to my head unit required about 3/4 of the rear hatch to be pulled apart, and some drilling. About a 4-5 hour job. Well worth it knowing there aren't kids, pets etc. behind me. My dad had some butylene rubber that worked well in several areas with protecting the wires.

Pros: Works well. Great safety feature. Extra Back-up light to improve night visibility.

Cons: Pretty involved install. Instructions are a bit vague.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Karl from Vincent, OH on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and decent picture quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Matt from Conejo Valley, CA on 11/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera has great picture day and night. I would have given this 5 stars but the installation instructions are pathetic. The sad part is they don't need to be. All they provide is a small connection diagram. If you have installed backup cameras before, you would probably be okay, but for a first timer, you will end up calling Crutchfield tech support.

Pros: Great backup camera

Cons: Poor installation instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP