Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Rear-view camera with LED lights and active parking lines

MFR # VTL17LTJ

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Rear-view camera with LED lights and active parking lines

MFR # VTL17LTJ

101 reviews
View this product

Made for smaller cars

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The cable is low quality and the way it's built doesnt make much sense. The connections are weak and won't hold very well. The 22ft cable is not long enough for a crew cab and a long bed. I wouldn't recommend this camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

above and beyond my expectations

Pros: very easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera for the money

Crutchfield customer from Clemmons, NC on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great back up camera. Works as described. Routing the wire was tricky but this was because of the car not the unit. Installation instructions could be a little clearer.

Pros: Great view

Cons: Instructions not clear as could be.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Orange, CA on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very satisfied with this camera it was easy to install and has good resolution.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Addition.

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, GA on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was very straightforward once the backup light wire (black w/pink stripe) could be identified. Cable was plenty long enough for F250 crew cab. Still getting used to active parking lines. Not sure they will stay. Seem to be hyper sensitive.

Pros: Makes hooking up a trailer a breeze.

Cons: Sensitivity of active parking lines will put you in a ditch if you're not paying attention.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superb picture, very easy installation

Crutchfield customer from Laurinburg, NC on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad I spent a few more dollars to get the Boyo VTL17LTJ. The quality of the picture is superb and the installation and resulting location (behind the license plate so that nothing is obscured) is excellent. Installation on a 1997 Suburban used almost all of the wire provided, but it was enough! Definitely a camera that I would purchase again in the future.

Pros: Excellent image, easy installation without obscuring the license plate.

Cons: The backup lines are not really that useful, as there is no tie-in to the steering column for angle.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still not working even though Crutchfield has provided excellent phone support. Product's instructions poorly written.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/24/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Jordan from NILES, MI on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Heckin good! 13/10 would buy again! But seriously, the picture quality is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Seymour, TN on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too dark to see. Can't see my trailer hitch at all. LED are worthless. Image should be brighter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera. Crisp,clear image and easy install. Highly recommend.

Pros: All around great product. Great picture and good visibility at night.

Cons: None that I'm aware of.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product... Easy Install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Vista, CA on 8/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent back up camera. Didn't give it 5 stars because I haven't had it long enough to test it's reliability.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Scappoose, OR on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meh. It has a super clear pucture, but objects will be WAY closer than what appears.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered a Sony headunit and Boyo backup camera back in Feb 2019 from Crutchfield (CF). I dropped my car off with the CF ordered equipment to my local shop (LS) for the install. The LS got everything installed however could not get the steering wheel controls to work. They troubleshooted the issue with the manufacturer of the PAC module and both thought it was an issue with the headunit. So I got my car back from the LS with everything working but the steering wheel controls. I called CF, they had me reprogram the PAC module (~2+hours) and wanted to try replacing the module first. After I received the PAC module, I called CF again for programming/install guidance (~2+ hours). At this point, CF realized the Sony XAV headunit was the culprit. After I received the replacement JVC KW-M750BT headunit (Sony out of stock), I called CF again for tech sup (~2+hours). Everything seemed to work well but started having camera issues within a day or two. I called CF again (~1hour), we thought we figured out the problem but issues persisted. I ended up finally taking my vehicle to the LS again. The LS determined it was a bad RCA connection. I went with one of the LS camera units they had in stock vs waiting for a replacement from CF. TLDR: Due to a faulty headunit and backup camera, spent ~7+hours with CF support and ~$300+ in labor at the LS. Despite CF customer service being great, I overall had a pretty terrible experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Best rear view camera

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product the leds around the camera make night time backing up super clear. Easy to install as well fits right over license plate using existing hardware.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The LED lighting is great! Really added a lot of value to my truck!

Pros: Very convenient and cost effective way to improve your vehicle

Cons: A little difficult to install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Ashland City, TN on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straightforward install and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Plainview, TX on 6/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install good value for cost

Pros: easy to install, very clear image

Cons: has a little more fish eye effect than i like but still nice clear image

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Key Largo, FL on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera has great picture and I like how it mounts behind the plate instead of on top

Pros: Great pic and easy mount

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Washington, IL on 6/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, good recommendation by Crutchfield staff.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Gary from San Mateo, CA on 5/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The back up cam works

Pros: Great day video, so far works fine no trouble.great help from Crutchfield.

Cons: I bit of work to install. And still not sure how to set the the cam parking lines. The less light gives it of blurry vision at night

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

JAMES from Tulsa, OK on 5/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed everything from front to back but the reverse wire to the back up light wasnt working so i had to tear into my vehicle wiring harness to find the reverse light wire,. Spent multiple times on the phone trouble shooting the wiring and hours with he install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Alex City, AL on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a easy hook up with great help from techs. Work like dream .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bottom line. Solid camera

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little camera. The moving guide line do not really work as well as I had hoped. The light on the back is bright. The creek resolution is great. I installed this on a 2009 Honda CRV and the power wire on the camera side side was not long enough to reach my reverse power supply, so I had to use a jumper wire to tap into my reverse wire, not a big deal. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the moving guide lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

I can see clearly now

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera gives a very clear view. I like the parking lines and the vector lines that turn with the car. Plenty of cable to do my Expedition. Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great. The only downfall of this camera is the quality of the RCA where it hooks into the stereo. Not the tightest fitting RCA so we will see how it holds up over time behind the dash, hopefully no issues in the future. As for the guage of the wiring to hook into all other wires on the truck for power, would just be nice to have something a little thicker, even a 22ga at least.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Drose

Crutchfield customer from Salem ma on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera and I couldn't ask for a better quality of a camera for the price I payed and it was easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2008 Jeep Wrangler

Darrell from El Paso, TX on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this on 2008 Jeep Wrangler and I found some mounting issues with the supplied license plate bracket. I had to remove the camera and install the bracket upside down so it would fit under the license plate light. I found a useful YouTube video to help me find the proper reverse wires to connect to. Since the camera sits on the drivers side of the vehicle and not centered, it takes a little bit to get used to, but the camera has a wide angle and led lights which help at night. I'm using this with a Pioneer AVH-2440NEX so you get a great large screen to view and with the custom Crutchfield wiring harness they made it so simple to wire in.

Pros: Great camera view, extra long cables, easy install instructions

Cons: Mounting bracket for Jeep license plate

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Star, NC on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly easy install and camera works good during the day. the trajectory lines when turning are not accurate and get in the way. Would love to see them work but I will be removing them and using the parking lines from radio.. also view after dark isn't the greatest. I probly wouldn't buy this product again.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Not good at dark. Trajectory lines are not accurate.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Short life

billie from Columbia, SC on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using this product for about 11 months. At first the lines went out qnd now the camara itself is out. Short life expectancy!

Pros: Worked at first.

Cons: Wouldn't work after 11 months.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

not the greatest, seems to be affected by rain

Mike from Greer, SC on 2/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked at first although the active parking lines are not very accurate. Starting flickering during a heavy rain then the picture went out completely in less than a week. Now it works occasionally but the picture is not always as crisp and clear when first installed.

Pros: crisp clear picture (at first) installs as any other backup camera

Cons: lasted about a week but quit during a heavy rain have to replace it and run the cables again!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Wilson from Arecibo, PR on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera

Pros:

Cons: New

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Installed on 2001 F250 7.3 long bed

Crutchfield customer from Baytown, TX on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on my 2001 F250 7.3 long bed. I was worried that the wire wouldn't be long enough. I ran it along the frame and up through the rubber plug under the drivers foot area. Plenty of wire. Easy set up to my Kenwood head unit. Clear picture and I like that you can clip the wire to delete the backup lines. Highly recommend especially for the price!

Pros: Easy set up Options to delete guide lines Clear picture Night view looks great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not installed yet, but hope will work as described. Looks decent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Makes my 2011 Ford seem like a 2019

Crutchfield customer from Cottondale, FL on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Camera. Easy Install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, LA on 1/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good cameras, easy install. Does a great job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am well pleased with my Boyo VTL17LTJ backup camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Roodhouse, IL on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Aaron from Lemon Grove, CA on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice camera and bright even at night

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Backup Camera Present

Emily from Jasper, AL on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a Christmas present for my husband, and he is absolutely going to love it!! I love the packaging! Can't wait for him to open it on Christmas morning!

Pros: Small and compact, excellent packaging and shipping was super fast!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Clear picture

Bill from Madison, MS on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture from camera.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Poor video quality in the evening

Carlo from Annville, PA on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the camera for about three weeks and I'm not very happy with the quality of the video when there's any light in the background. During the day, there aren't many issues. But, in the evening, it's very difficult to make out what's on the screen. There are LED lights built into the casing for the housing, but I have yet to see them turn on; I'm not sure if they work. Even though the installation was fairly easy, I would not recommend this camera due to the quality of the video in any type of lighting.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: Poor video quality

Crutchfield response on 12/4/2018
Carlo, we're sorry you're disappointed with your backup camera. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love this camera

John from West New York, NJ on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera even better price. Don't waste your money on more expensive ones when this one does the job great. It even has reverse lights to help out in the night

Pros: Image quality, backup lights at night

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Richard from COLUMBIA, TN on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on 2005 Impala 3.4 Base. Used with a Sony XAV-AV100. Works well, but I did disable the lines. It's nice that the lines are able to be jumped - ie on some cameras, you need to clip the line whereas in this one you can simply remove the jumper or reinstall; could be useful if you ever want to sell the camera/car down the road and the new owner wants to change something.

Pros: Works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Install nightmare in 4Runner

Jack from Chesapeake, VA on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not suitable for SUVs w a back hath that swings open. The tethers are way too short making installation an absolute nightmare. I have a 4Runner and online videos show many other backup cameras with less bulky connectors that would work better. Also, if you have a latch release above the plate, this is going to be a nuisance the rest of your vehicle's life span. This would probably be great in a sedan, but in a 4Runner, I have to make several modifications to the factory suggested installation. This product should not be recommended for a 4Runner at all.

Pros: Nice packaging

Cons: Supplied connection not appropriate for an SUV with top hinges

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Gregory from Sunnyvale, CA on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Parking lines go way overboard on slight turns. Lighting and visual effects are excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Westerville, OH on 11/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works well. Instruction sheet ( only one diagram with notations) should be at least two times larger. If you do not have excellent eye sight, a magnifying glass will be required. Also, a step by step listing of instructions with definitions of terminology should be included. Wiring gage is extremely small, making connections difficult. Increasing the wire size would make installation easier and improve strength, doing so would be very inexpensive to the manufacturer.

Pros: Works well

Cons: Too small wiring size. Too small and too little instruction information

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Bolingbrook, IL on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and easy to install , the Led is bright and the color is great as well .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Garrett, IN on 11/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The install was easy, but the instructions were a little lacking. I tied into the backup light for power as I had read reviews online for some ideas. The picture is clear, the color seems to be accurate, and the led lights do a great job of illuminating behind the truck in the dark. If it holds up it will be well worth the money.

Pros: Simple to install. Better night vision than my other vehicle with its factory camera. Affordable.

Cons: Poor instructions.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice Camera, terrible documentation

Wayne from LOUISVILLE on 10/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera is easy to setup. But the manual is in such small print, you need a magnifying glass to read it. Better to find it online. The daytime picture is clear and bright. I've only had it installed a few days, but I think like the other reviewers that the active guide lines are generally useless and I'll probably disable them. You should use this to confirm your distance to an object behind and to be sure you are clear, but use your side mirrors for getting between objects. Mostly pleased and since my radio supplied a power lead to the camera that I connected to the red lead, I didn't need the extra power wires to go to the reverse light. That wasn't well documented but is a nice feature.

Pros: Good quality picture

Cons: Terrible documentation

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Dean from Harper Woods, MI on 10/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good image day and night, affordable, is a nice convenience to add on an older vehicle

Pros: Nice mounting option as well as adjustability of actual camera was an affordable option for my Kenwood unit

Cons: Wiring diagram leaves a bit to be desired, if your not strong with vehicle wiring I would suggest reaching out to Crutchfield for support. The connection leads were not even close to being long enough for installation on a minivan. Backup lines are a bit distracting, ended up using thelines on Kenwood unit.For the cost and quality these are minor inconveniences

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Edward from Naples, FL on 10/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's ok back camera

Pros: Good

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Bellefonte, PA on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

GREAT PICTURE AND LANE LINES

Larry from Greenville, TX on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product to integrate with your camera capable radio.

Pros: Relatively easy installation Great picture

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 9/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clear picture, very easy to mount and adjust

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

charles from Green Cv Spgs, FL on 9/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Operates as advertised. Strong and powerful, while been small.

Pros: Small, powerful and bright.

Cons: Wiring diagram was pitiful. Trigger wire to radio did not work. More information is desirzble for novice installer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good picture quality

Sheldon from Wellsville, KS on 9/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought to hook up to my Kenwood DDX 9902S receiver in my 2005 Equinox. I didn't want to spend what Kenwood wants for theirs, bought this since one of the Crutchfield advisers suggested. I think it has a pretty good picture day and night. I use the back up lines in the Kenwood, and after reading reviews won't hook up the jumper for Boyo's active lines. I agree instructions are very bad (non existent really) and printed way too small. I would like to see back up cameras with longer leads from the camera for back hatch applications where tail lights aren't in the hatch, especially with such a short reverse light lead. It would have been nice for that to be where the power in leads are. I didn't use the trigger wire (hook up to reverse light circuit) so trailer loads can be monitored (by the passenger for safety) while going down the road.

Pros: Good, clean picture

Cons: Vague instructions, too small of printed instructions, too short camera lead/reverse light lead.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good image Quality

Crutchfield customer from Chehalis, WA on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price. Easy to install Great camera I would by again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Beaver Dams, NY on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Camera

Kevin from Parkland, FL on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was easy and works great in light and dark situations..Great Parking Guides too.

Pros: Plenty of length of cable Great pic in Light and Night Very unassuming too..

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Tomball, TX on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall very disappointed with this camera. I've tried 3 different cameras to date (different models and manufacturers), and am tired of disassembling my car trim and carpeting for having to run wiring each time. This Boyo unit looked good on paper like it was going to be the final solution.

Pros: Pros: great resolution, clarity, good nighttime view, wide angle view, impressive depth of view

Cons: Cons (and the reason I give it only 2 stars): the active parking lines are HORRIBLE. So bad that they are distracting whenever the camera is displaying. When my steering wheel is barely turned, the active lines go full turn, then they refuse to straighten out even when I straighten my steering. I realize these are rendered only via software (not by any actual link to my steering wheel), but the software needs serious fix.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Okatie, SC on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

shiped on time , working as advertise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Jim from Penngrove, CA on 8/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera because it has active parking lines that track the trajectory of the vehicle. The lines react pretty quickly as the front wheels begin to change direction, however they are quite exaggerated in that they indicate a trajectory that is not an actual representation of the movement of the vehicle. Further, they're very slow to react (if at all) to turning the steering wheel in the opposite direction. Fortunately Boyo provides a simple disconnect to turn off the active lines. I'm going to play with it for a while, but am pretty sure that I'll end up disconnecting the lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, no issues with camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

solid camera

Daniel from Lake Orion, MI on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This boyo camera is working great in my Impala, allowing me to easily see directly behind the car. The led light are nice touch adding illumination so the camera is still useable in the evening hours. My only complaint is that the instructions that came with the camera didn't explain much, but after watching a few videos the problem was fairly easy to overcome. If your looking for an easy and affordable way to add a backup camera, this would be a solid choice.

Pros: works well, decent picture, led lights

Cons: instructions were poor

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from WA on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This backup camera was installed after several hours of chasing a power issue. My biggest complaint is that the printed instructions are horrible and you have to use the online instructions to even read it. Secondly if you use wire splicers the wire is so thin the splicer doesn't cut the wire it just bends. This my chasing power issues for an hour. Lastly the camera sticks up just enough from the bottom mounted position that the tail gate still hits it and moves the camera every time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

WAYNE L. from georgia on 7/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked very well up untill this week, which would make it 90 days in use. the screen is jittery and may work and may not.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Keith from Highland, IN on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantastic camera, love Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good canera

Kenneth from Granbury, TX on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring instructions are a little vague and it took me a few tries to get it correct, but the camera is working great now with an excellent picture.

Pros: price picture quality features

Cons: wiring instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Horrible instructions

John from Bozeman, MT on 7/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions included are abosolutely useless, they are printed so dang small that you cannot read it and I have 20/20 vision. The drawing again useless - too small too general. Easy enough to pull the wires and mount but how the heck does it hook/wire up! Beyond me. The Crutchfield videos and help were way to general to do any good.

Pros: Easy to mount.

Cons: Horrible instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Kate from Mililani, HI on 7/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear image, wide field. I took off one star because we had to disable the parking lines because they were acting strangely, but I don't really need them anyway. An excellent price for a good product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Do not buy this! Not worth $0.99.

Crutchfield customer from Schwenksville, PA on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

waste of money. Worked for 2 attempts then stopped. Not about to unwire the unit out so now it just sits idle in the jeep as a reminder to never buy Boyo ever again. Crutchfield should remove this garbage from their site rather than sell customers shoddy products. Instructions are nonexistent.

Pros: Crutchfield's tech support was very helpful to get it up and running. You will need tech support for this garbage.

Cons: instructions suck. product sucks.

Crutchfield response on 7/16/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Daniel, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Everything that I was looking for.

James from Ormond Beach, FL on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for an upgrade for my existing backup camera. This was perfect. Super clean, brackets mount behind your license plate. Picture quality is really good. Super easy install. Thanks Tim ( my service advisor ) for recommending this model.

Pros: Clean and easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Okolona, MS on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't been able to get it working yet? Probably my connections. The directions could have been better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/27/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Jason, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Slocomb, AL on 6/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install on my 2012 Jeep JKU watch video on YouTube of installation of backup camera on Jeep JK and it will answer all your questions, because instructions are not very good for someone that hasn't had a little automotive wiring experience. Works great very clear pic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 6/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good picture. Guidance lines are no help but can be turned off easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Douglasville, GA on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works fine, however the guide lines aren't accurate, so I disconnected them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very good camera

dominic from Blairsville, GA on 6/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good but not as clear as I would like, but I would probably buy it again.

Pros: Easy hook up

Cons: Not real clear resolution, directions could be better but Crutchfield service helped me through it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Darlene from Anderson, CA on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Instructions for trigger wire were my only hiccup.

Pros: Works great.

Cons: Install instructions need to be better.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little camera

Rich from Lincoln Univ, PA on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works well. Installation took about an hour on my Silverado. Only hiccup was determining trigger wire connections. Crutchfield helped with that. (Only need to connect one end to +V ) I used the 12v for the reverse lights for power and trigger.

Pros: Great view, led's are bright and active lines work well

Cons: Install instructions could be better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 5/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good picture and reasonable accuracy. has been an excellent addition to my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

John C. from Merced, CA on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty easy to install (manufacturers instructions were bad). Good picture quality for the price. No complaints yet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clarita, CA on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The installation was easy except that the length of the wire was not long enough to reach my Sienna van - the reason for the 4 stars. However, everything works well with the after-market dash-in stereo. Great product for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera to help you.

Kevin from Garfield, WA on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera works great, the camera comes with several options including lines, or no lines. I use the clear lines. Night time back up is good. Picture is clear, if you don't want the license plate bracket, comes with a clip. Lots of choices and great picture

Pros: Great picture with lots of options.

Cons: Really only thing I can think is that you can see the camera unlike some of the new cars with hidden cameras

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Value

Steve T from Biloxi, MS on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great camera for the price. The installation is simple, but instructions were somewhat lacking. I emailed BOYO about what to do with the extra red wire by the RCA jack and they provided additional helpful instructions within a couple of hours. Hook two wires to the backup light for power. Plug the RCA jack into your head unit and the red wire to the reverse "trigger wire" in your head unit or fuse box and you are good to go. The backup lines are are a little off, but still helpful.

Pros: Great price Picture quality is good BOYO customer support is responsive

Cons: Instructions are minimal Backup lines are a little cheesy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Tavares, FL on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great image capability

James from Rockmart, GA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing has amazing video capability. BUT it could use better factory instructions

Pros:

Cons: Instructions were vague

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, OH on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great angle of view and good quality camera. Is also barely noticeable on the car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great back up camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Backup Camera

Tony from Poteau, OK on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is better than expected and super easy to install in my new Kenwood head unit.

Pros: Great color, perfect lines, great LED backup lighting. Very easy install.

Cons: Absolutely none!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from West Kingston, RI on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Met all expectations. Clarity of camera much better than I thought it would be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Crutchfield customer from Concho, AZ on 3/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, great picture. A lot of work to install. Instructions leave a lot to desire.

Pros: Excellent picture, looks great

Cons: Lousy instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow...just wow!

Jon from Decatur, GA on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In every possible way, this camera has impressed me. Since my head unit has inputs for front and rear cameras, I bought two, and I'm thrilled with the results. The picture is clear, the LEDs provide ample light for night driving, and the camera itself is fairly discrete tucked under the license plate (the front camera is less discrete, but that's to be expected). Installation was as easy as could be expected (you do have to run a cable from the trunk all the way to the head unit, so it's painful in that regard). For this price, I'd recommend this camera to anyone.

Pros: Great picture. Discrete profile. Uncomplicated install.

Cons: None--This camera is a steal at the price it's going for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent product

David from Brooksville, KY on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good view

Pros: Good picture Good viewing angle

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 2/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good quality camera at a great price! The picture quality is excellent. It was easy to install.

Pros: Great video quality and options.

Cons: The trajectory feature can be distracting.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Roper from Johns Island, SC on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera provides a clear picture and installation was not terribly difficult. My only complaint is that the RCA cable and trip wire were about 3 feet short for my installation which was for a Toyota 4 Runner. This required me to purchase additional cable, wire and a female connector. Outside of that it's a great camera and didn't cost a great deal

Pros: Great picture

Cons: Cable and wiring too short

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A camera to make others jealous!

Brian from Winter Garden, FL on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture quality and it's amazing how the lines move when you turn! It's better than the camera that came stock in my Range Rover! It came with a well thought out license plate mount as well as a small mount that I used to tuck it up under the trunk lip of my daughter's prius. I'd highly recommend this camera, the only downside is abysmal installation instructions. It doesn't even show the voltage requirements (prius factory harness only puts 6v to the camera, so this was important for me to know) and some wires are just labeled "trigger" with no explanation of where they would hook to. Once you figure out the wiring (Crutchfield can help you with that) you'll have a camera that will make others jealous!

Pros: Great quality, awesome moving lines, well thought out brackets

Cons: installation instructions are abysmal - you will need help from Crutchfield to interpret them unless you're familiar with installing rear cameras already

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Eric from Lead, SD on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera is working great! Nice wide view and image is good. Camera is small and not that noticeable. I really like the light - it lights up the whole rear area making things more visible not only on the camera, but for myself when looking in mirrors and over my shoulder. The Crutchfield peeps were great at helping with some install details. Every car is different and there are several different ways to wire these things in. Install on my 06 Explorer was pretty involved - getting the car interior panels apart and wires ran to my head unit required about 3/4 of the rear hatch to be pulled apart, and some drilling. About a 4-5 hour job. Well worth it knowing there aren't kids, pets etc. behind me. My dad had some butylene rubber that worked well in several areas with protecting the wires.

Pros: Works well. Great safety feature. Extra Back-up light to improve night visibility.

Cons: Pretty involved install. Instructions are a bit vague.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Karl from Vincent, OH on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and decent picture quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17LTJ

Matt from Conejo Valley, CA on 11/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera has great picture day and night. I would have given this 5 stars but the installation instructions are pathetic. The sad part is they don't need to be. All they provide is a small connection diagram. If you have installed backup cameras before, you would probably be okay, but for a first timer, you will end up calling Crutchfield tech support.

Pros: Great backup camera

Cons: Poor installation instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP