Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
980 004 941 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
980 004 941 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

With universal backup camera and 5" monitor

MFR # VTC175M

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

With universal backup camera and 5" monitor

MFR # VTC175M

18 reviews
View this product

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

Crutchfield customer from Bridgewater, MA on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the camera for my wife's 2010 Civic based on the recommendation of a Crutchfield representative. She had told me she wanted one, but after I bought it, she was concerned that it would block her vision. My mechanic installed it to the left of the steering wheel, and she is fine with it. The camera works well. The negative is that it is a bit small, but I have noticed that it is the same size of many of the ones in new cars. I would only remind people that are considering one that they should take into account the price of installation, which was fairly expensive in my case.

Pros: Looks good and works fine. Price of camera is very reasonable

Cons: A bit on the small size and probably should be installed by a professional.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backup mirror

Guest from Roseland, VA on 10/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the back up mirror installed in my 2013 Subaru Impreza. The placement is to the right of the steering wheel and it doesn't obstruct my view at all.

Pros: Clear

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent

Crutchfield customer from Dorr, MI on 8/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little distorted at times but gets the job done

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Random distortion

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Quality

Crutchfield customer from Bancroft, MI on 6/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, and a very clear and nice image on the screen. Works great for towing our vintage camper with our vintage truck!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Problems when installed in 2011 Forester

Guest from Charlottesville, VA on 4/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the VTC175M kit at Crutchfield and had them install it on my 2011 Subaru Forester. But I experienced intermittent video distortion when backing up. Crutchfield added an "Ignition Line Noise Eliminator", but that didn't fix the problem. Crutchfield was kind enough to completely replace the camera and monitor with another identical kit. Unfortunately the video distortion is now continuous. So at least for my car I rate this backup camera kit a "1".

Pros: Don't know

Cons: Doesn't function properly in my 2011 Subaru Forester.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, VA on 2/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty solid little camera for the price. Installation instructions were a bit sparse and confusing, requiring some serious internet searches to clarify things.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very poor instructions made installing a challenge. Cables were short

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Home, AR on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality, but a little hard to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camera works for 2005 Toyota Highlander, but wiring can be improved

Crutchfield customer from Essex Junction, VT on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish that the camera wiring can be much improved. As an engineer myself, I find wiring design for all of the aftermarket camera, including this unit, is totally inadequate. RCA video connection is too wide and making it very difficult to snake through small space, particularly through my 2005 Toyota Highlander. A smaller piece such as 1/8" connector would be much more ideal. The camera works great. Video console is too small for the actual road use. I used the video console for diagnostics purpose only to make sure all wiring is good before final connection. I wish that a small piece of rubber grommet can be supplied for easy of installation since this unit requires drilling a 5/16" hole into a vehicle. More ideally, a camera should be screwed onto a vehicle with O-ring seal to prevent water leak. Unfortunately, no such design exist for any after market camera.

Pros: wiring better than most other cameras and small video control is very useful for diagnostic test.

Cons: Wiring not easy to snake through vehicle.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

Susan from Coconut Creek, FL on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Before I purchased the backup camera and monitor I confirmed with the company representative that it was compatible with my car Mercedes C250 2013. It was confirmed that it was. Mercedes of this year do not have a constant voltage to the reversing lights. A connection is required to the reversing lights for the monitor to turn on for reversing. When connected the monitor ran for 15 seconds and then turned off for 3 seconds. I contact technical support and was told to connect the live wire to the fuse box this way it would have continuous 12 volts. Now the camera and monitor are on continuous and I have to switch off the monitor manually. Having it on continuous is very distracting. If I had know this before I would not have purchased this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

Crutchfield customer from Kaysville, UT on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's cold out and I have not felt much like laying under my truck for an hr to run the lines, so i have not done it, but i have hooked it to my battery to take a peak and I'm satisfied. I had a credit with Cruchfield so I only paid 33.00 bucks for the camera so I am very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good-quality, inexpensive backup camera, but....

Bill from Parker, CO on 10/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Actually, the equipment in this bundle seems to be of good quality, but getting virtually no directions made it very annoying to install. Perhaps a more knowledgeable gadget freak would have fared better, but I was at a loss. I sent a detailed email to the address enclosed for 'technical support' over a week ago and have yet to receive an answer. I called the Boyo 800 number and spoke to a very friendly guy, but whose English was sketchy. I don't think he really understood my questions and I certainly didn't understand his answers. Camera images and screen resolution are fine, but the lack of explanation was maddening. Once hooked up and working, I discovered the monitor has to be manually turned on each time car is started (!) and then the blank screen stays lit while you drive unless manually turned off (!!).

Pros: Equipment seems good quality and the price was very attractive. Crutchfield was great to do business with, too. I didn't call them for help, thinking the manufacturer would be better equipped, but I will this week, just to speak to someone with no language barrier!

Cons: Monitor has integrated on/off switch, so every time you start the car, you have to turn it on. (can't just be left on and controlled by the key) Then, after backing, the blank screen stays on as you drive, unless you reach up and turn it off. Very unsatisfactory. The camera engagement should trigger it on & off. I suspect the generic monitor is made for other uses and not specifically as part of a backup video system?? Maybe a different monitor would solve problem?

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Good bright picture

Jim from Ft Myers, FL on 9/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The monitor displays a bright image in the South Florida sun that is highly visible and good clarity. The monitor is mounted in a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan via a suction cup (chose not to stick to dash) to the window, resting on the dashboard, on the left side of the steering wheel near the roof pillar support. It is aligned near the outside mirror for ease of rear view visual scanning. The camera was not used as I had a per-existing camera. Crutchfield service is extraordinary. The staff are highly experienced, competent, and helpful. Thank You!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I might buy another one.

Bob from OHIO on 7/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture. Good monitor size. I think I will buy another one for my pickup. If it holds up in the weather and continues to work, I would call it a good product for the money. Owners manual almost worthless. No good diagrams. If you search You Tube you can get some help. Never found any real good info " easy to understand and slow enough to comprehend " but you can put it together if you read most of the available info. I worked as an electrician for many years and that helped. I would not call it a con but if you do a nice job concealing the wiring and soldering the connections etc. you will need some time to make a good installation. I put it on a Tahoe.

Pros: Great picture. Good monitor size.

Cons: Owners manual almost worthless.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 6/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

pain to install

Pros:

Cons: pain to install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo back up camera bundle

Malcolm from Oakland, Ca on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality picture, and viewing angle. The reason I give it four stars instead of five is the windshield mount feels cheep and it's a bit finicky to adjust right. As far as cables go there are plenty long. I'm pleased over all.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Finicky windshield mount

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Back-up Camera

Ron from Storm Lake, IA on 4/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTC175M Camera Bundle

Crutchfield customer from Florence, SC on 1/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this system to replace one I had purchased recently and was very unhappy with its performance. I had not shopped Crutchfield for several years but remembered that I had always been very pleased with the products. I went on line and found exactly what I wanted. I had it professionally installed in my SUV and it is working perfectly. Color and picture definition are great day and night. I am very satisfied.

Pros: Excellent view definition

Cons: I did not feel proficient to install, so I had it installed professionally. This does not differ from any other system I might have bought.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

TOP