Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boyo VTL17ir

Universal backup cam with night vision

MFR # VTL17ir

Boyo VTL17ir

Boyo VTL17ir

Universal backup cam with night vision

MFR # VTL17ir

153 reviews
View this product

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Sapulpa, OK on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well at night. Seems perfectly controlled by the head unit. I didn't wire to power off the reverse light as it said but ran wiring from the camera power wire off my head unit. I assume either way will work the same. Only complaint is color quality isn't the best during the day. The picture is decently clear, but almost a black and white look more then vivid colors on that scale.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from W Valley City, UT on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this camera. Really easy to hook up, picture is clear. Makes hitching trailers, which I do a lot, very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great, but designed for center mounted license plate

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great and functional but would not work on my car. I have a Chevy Tracker and the license plate is offset on the back. This is designed for a vehicle with the license plate in the center.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Frame is supper light in build. Secondary stop to keep the camera from tilting is very poor quality. The previous vision works camera I had cable was ten times the quality of this camera. It works and has night vision , but quality is very sub par. I would spend more if there was a better quality that talked to my head unit. Previous camera was amazing compared to this one but it didn't hook up to my knew kenwood head unit .

Pros: Inexpensive Night vision

Cons: Cheap built Poor mount design

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Chatham, NJ on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Cummington, MA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awsome

Crutchfield customer from Eagle Pass, TX on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Gives me a great view day or night

Cons: N/a

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Opp, AL on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera has a great picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Aurora

Charles from Aurora on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, you gotta love Crutchfield. It arrived when it was supposed to for starters. When I opened the box and measured the cable, it was just under 25 feet, they claim it's only 20 plus 5 on the camera. The install on my 2002 extended cab Silverado was a breeze. I first tested to see if it would worked before running and hiding the wire to the front. I found it worked without the ground hooked up, one less wire to splice into. I had heard some head units also act a a ground for the RCA. Picture is pretty clear, I use the guidelines I can adjust from the head unit, so cut the wire for that on the camera. With a low sun in the sky, you see some haze from distant objects, but the point of this was to see what was right behind me. If it holds up over time, then well worth it.

Pros: Able to conceal plug from camera to main cable inside light housing where it will stay dry because the camera cable is long enough. Feels sturdy, and plate mount is hidden, only see a small camera after install.

Cons: Well, the trigger wires are of very thing gauge, would have felt better if they were a bit thicker, easy to cut wire when trimming insulation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good clear video. Easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Ft Mill, SC on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Cheap wiring

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, PA on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for SUV's/Meh Image Quality

Josh from San Jose, CA on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee and found the cable coming from the camera to be too short. This camera is really made for car, not SUV. The image quality is also pretty poor, but passable.

Pros:

Cons: Short cable length. Meh image quality.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Albino from Toms River, NJ on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera for the money u pay for it! easy to connect. So far is working fine...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Havelock, NC on 12/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to hook up used posi tap it to tap into backup wire from truck 7 pin trailer connection.

Pros: No different from a factory one.

Cons: None I can think of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works nicely

Crutchfield customer from Poway, CA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice clear image

Crutchfield customer from Leominster, MA on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clear image

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lit up for about 5 seconds and black screen. Crutchfield was quick to replace or refund, I opted for a refund and upgraded to another brand

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jesse

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, GA on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice rear view camera. Picture looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great camera

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. Great camera, great price

Pros: Easy installation Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons: Night view not that good.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and was easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Never happier!

Crutchfield customer from Northampton, PA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the absolute best bang for your buck! super easy to install and great quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camera, OK. Instructions? What instructions?

Crutchfield customer from Van Nuys, CA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't have a lot of experience with rear view cameras but this one looks pretty decent on my new Dual XDVD headend. I installed it myself, as I did the head unit, and had no illusions about the intricacies of the process. The one complaint I have is that the instructions enclosed were for a previous version of the camera. The schematic did not match the harness provided. I tried to contact tech support at Boyo, which is actually nearby where I live in California, but they neither answered their phone nor even had a voicemail! It just RINGS! Forever. They also never answered my email. So, I called back to Crutchfield and they forwarded the correct set of instructions and confirmed that I was planning the install correctly. Bottom line: decent enough camera at a good price but don't take their installation instructions too seriously!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, NC on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera especially for the money. Good clarity and night vision. It was easy to install and it has plenty of wire (as we installed it in a full size service van.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir review

Crutchfield customer from Mcalester, OK on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be a decent camera. Tag mount is all metal so it should be durable. One issue I had installing is that using crimp on splices with camera and cable power wires didn't work out well, since the wires are extremely small. I couldn't get enough voltage through the splice into the power wires. Finally had to use a short 16 gauge wire in the splice and wire nut the other end onto the camera and cable power wires.

Pros: Durable metal mount. Power wire in the video cable.

Cons: Size of power wires to camera and in video cable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great buy option!!

Crutchfield customer from Cayey, PR on 10/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camare reverse

Pros: Good view

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Millstone Twp, NJ on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it, works great. Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Hilton Head, SC on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product !! Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Oktaha, OK on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this backup camera. The clarity of the display is outstanding! The Infrared night display is also extremely clear. I would recommend this device to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Dearing, GA on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was clear and understandable. Was easy to install. Would recommend this camera to anyone looking to add a camera to their vehicle

Pros: Simple and easy!!! Instruction were easy to understand

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Raymond from Topeka, KS on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good color and clarity. The night vision works very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from White Pine, TN on 10/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Black Screen

Dalton from Hillsboro, OR on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No instructions were included, but found a helpful youtube video. After installing, only a black screen was displayed. Don't buy this item

Pros: None, it's truly terrible

Cons: No instructions, no wiring diagram, and doesn't even work.

Crutchfield response on 10/6/2020
Dalton contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear image and works great at night. Mounting and install were pretty straight forward. Running the lines through the car and hook up took about an hour.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Terrible at night despite the IR LED's

Chip from RINGGOLD, GA on 9/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this camera to help me align the trailer hitch to the trailer. I specifically chose this one since it had Infrared LED's on either side of the lens, which is supposed to illuminate the area at night. During the daytime, this camera works great but at night - wow, it's totally washed out. It seems like the lights may be far too bright, resulting in far too much exposure to the lens. This makes it just about impossible to see anything in the field of vision. After a very time-consuming and labor-intensive install, I am NOT happy at all with the performance of this camera. Save yourself the grief and choose something else. The fact it works during the daytime is the only reason it got 2 stars instead of 1.

Pros: It operates

Cons: Useless at night

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Impressed me for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, WI on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son installed with the Jensen touchscreen. For the price I wasn't expecting the crystal clear picture! Very happy!

Pros: Crystal clear!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great back up camera with easy wiring installation and great night vision!

Pros: Works as advertised!

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Newcastle, WA on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy installation but not great night pictures

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Shreveport, LA on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Redmond, WA on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear image and a great price. This worked fine with my Sony head unit. Makes parallel parking my truck much easier, even at night with the IR.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Dededo, GU on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I got the back up camera and got it installed and it shows black screen on my monitor. I mean it's a good looking camera but there's a defect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/8/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good picture

John from OAK RIDGE, TN on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked up easy. Pretty clear picture on my receiver. Has night vision.

Pros: Night vision. Easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Hyattsville, MD on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Night vision is crisp and clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Arnoldsville, GA on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic, but overall works just fine. Clarity is great

Pros: Low price, good clarity, relatively easy installation, good fit

Cons: Parking lines don't move

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Carencro, LA on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera very easy to install. Has very clear image. Exceeded my expectations.

Pros: Easy install. Clear image. Easy set-up in radio. Plenty of cable for truck.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2012 wrx, perfect

Curtis from FORT GREELY, AK on 8/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice clear camera and good value.

Ronny from MARTIN CITY, MT on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice backup camera for a teenage driver. Added this to my daughters car being she is a first time driver. She saw this feature on my car, and asked if she could have it on her car. Pretty decent resolution on the camera, can definitely recommend it.

Pros: Good value and crisp picture.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It works OK.

Crutchfield customer from Aubrey, TX on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's good for the price I guess. I have it wired and grounded properly, but the camera image glitches some with the truck running. Seems to be some sort of interference from the alternator or something. Works well for what it is though. I would spend the money on a higher end one if you are looking to buy a new camera. The glitching doesn't affect the usability of the camera, it's just a minor annoyance that makes it seem like a sub-par product.

Pros: Cheap Works Infrared is decent at night (nothing spectacular)

Cons: Glitchy screen Not a super crisp image

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Budget Camera

Crutchfield customer from Lake Oswego, OR on 7/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, this camera is pretty great! I installed it on my own, which was surprisingly easy. Make sure to cut the guidelines cable if your deck uses it's own graphics for rearview guiding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For price point and what I use it for, perfect. Overall picture quality is good, could be better, but can't expect that for something a fraction of the price compared to others. My license plate is In/under bumper, so using it to get really close to items is not recommended (which they do state in the description). But I use it just to make sure no one/nothing is behind my car and in parking lots that traffic isn't coming, not for precise reverse maneuvers. Night time colors do look a little off, but once again, I'm not watching a 2 hour movie - it's for 30 seconds of backing out of a spot to see hazards, and it does that well. Overall, it took me about 15-20 minutes to run/hide wires and get it all installed (I already had stereo out for upgrade).

Pros: Cost Easy install Quick mounting location Works as intended

Cons: Picture quality The power/ground wires are super tiny, had to strip double and fold in half to get a good crimp on a connector.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Suquamish, WA on 7/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Great picture. Backup lines super helpful. If you tow a trailer it makes hooking up a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality for a reasonable price

Crutchfield customer from Edmond, OK on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Reasonably priced.

Pros:

Cons: Documentation does NOT cover all of the connections on the wiring harness.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Sebastian, FL on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera works great and my only gripe is that it is a little dark but the resolution is pretty good. I installed this on my son's car so I have not seen it in action at night so I also don't know how dark it is at that time either. Due to the stereo I connected it to display I did have to connect it to my reverse lights to get power for it although you can connect it to the accessory power line so that the camera doesn't drain your battery. The only other down side to this camera is that it hangs right in front of the license plate and not above it. In Arizona the state must be displayed in full or if you have an strict police officer she/he can give you a ticket for obstructing the state.

Pros: Easy installation and fits perfectly behind the license plate. The cable that is provided is long enough and then some to run from the back of the car to the front to connect to the display.

Cons: No display provided so you will need to have a way to display this. For this price point I have seen other cameras that come with a display as well.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Ebensburg, PA on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its a good camera but its ground wires are so tiny. I was having issues. With a new ground wire it works just fine

Pros: looks good , clear picture

Cons: does not operate from 9v to 16v like the box says. Anything under 11.8v you will have issues/ flickering

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Install

Eliza from CHARLOTTE, NC on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera is small and sleek. While running the cable all the way up the car can be a bit of work, there was more than enough for my 06 Tahoe, which is about 18' long. The installation was fairly simple, you just have to splice the power and ground wires into the reverse light. The pro tire quality is good, but the angle is not fantastic. No matter how many times I adjust the camera, its always just a little it off. Maybe it just takes some getting used to but so far it's average at best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Camera

Thomas from Fayetteville, GA on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Camera. Very clear and the Cones that indicate distance are kinda cool... Would give this 5 stars if product instructions were better but you can't go wrong with Crutchfield Tech assistance.... They are awesome!!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Rosedale, MD on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Vtl17ir

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install fairly clear picture on my Kenwood DNX9980HD. The camera is a bit bulky but works

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Bulky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works for a week and just blackout no images whatsoever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/26/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Johnston, RI on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inexpensive & fairly easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sensational

Crutchfield customer from Hamden, CT on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lovin the new camera feels like it came with the car

Pros: Perfect night light when backing up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield Park, AZ on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value for the price. Daytime view is perfect. Night time view is not great (this is the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars). Easy to install and on a Toyota Tacoma access cab, had more than enough wire length. Minimal instructions, so not sure what all the hardware provided was for and printed so small, almost impossible to read.

Pros: Day view

Cons: Night view

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome camera

Crutchfield customer from Central Point , OR on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install Great picture I had to call the Boyo customer service because I was a little confused with the wiring diagram. They walked me through it.

Pros: Easy install (for a backup camera) Great picture

Cons: Wiring diagram was a little confusing, but Richard with Boyo was a great help.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great picture quality

Crutchfield customer from Needville, TX on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Some of my friends complain that I have a better picture with my camera than their factory cameras

Pros: Clear picture

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simple to install, works well, but since installing my stereo has been getting feedback and humming. I think it has to do with the orca cable not being constructed well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Baldwyn, MS on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT BACKUP CAMERA FOR THE MONEY. Can't go wrong with this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Oak Ridge, TN on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good works very well plenty of cable to run through the Jeep

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Laurens, SC on 4/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Great view quality.

Pros: Ease of install. View.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very item that I need it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Great

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for my Truck, now I can see behind me. Picture is fine for what I need. Works good in the dark as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Athens, TN on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great installation instructions leave a little to be desired. Had to call tech support twice.

Pros: Price

Cons: Instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Westfield, MA on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works well and like the IR vision at night. All works very well with the Pioneer HU

Pros: IR night vision

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Greenlawn, NY on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not as bright as the one I had before. However that had a bright light like a backup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Porterville, CA on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just as described and was very easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Vernon, AL on 2/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to install, with plenty of wire to run to the head unit in an extra cab S10 pickup. The picture is very clear, day and night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Easy to install, instructions not as clear.

Pros: Easy to install. Fast Shipping. Long RCA and Power cable.

Cons: Unclear instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke Pines, FL on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great camera very clear at night

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Houma, LA on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, was a little disappointed in low light conditions or night time use.

Pros: Works as described

Cons: Night time use not clear hard to use

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Justin from PEARSALL, TX on 1/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect, easy install

Pros: Easy install, great picture

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid choice

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, UT on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It looks amazing at night and day. Great clarity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, IN on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera for the price. Very satisfied so far (she's only had it for 3 days though). Hopefully the camera will be durable and last a long time.

Pros: Very easy installation. Clear picture. Has wires to cut to be able to use the camera for different options.

Cons: The back up lines don't move (arc) to show you where your car is headed, they stay straight.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from New Llano, LA on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good clear picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Fpo, AP on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works but the image is not very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Greenback, TN on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading other reviews it was a easy to install the directions aren't the best but I really like how well it works and the night vision is great also

Pros: Great camera view is great and the night vision is great plenty or cable to hook up the camera

Cons: Direction that came with camera could be a lot better other than that it's great buy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Coeur D Alene, ID on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward camera and install. The interruption function with my Kenwood ddx 396 doesn't seem to be working but the push of a button and all's well! Great for $50!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear as day

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 9/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was a breeze thanks to Crutchfield clear cut instructions. Camera view day and night is superb absolutely love it and will recommend to others.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from San Leandro, CA on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great with my new radio,allowed me to add a back up camera to my car which didn't come with one.very pleased with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Camera is "okay" for the money

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon , OH on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera works well and meets expectations. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is because it is over-priced compared to comparable other models out there. But I was replacing an identical license plate mount and wanted to deal with the least modifications as possible.

Pros: Decent quality. Easy mounting.

Cons: Priced a little high for all the more features it has. Resolution is okay but not exceptional.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value camera

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee, OK on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great back up cam for the price. I have not used it a night just yet so I don't know if the ir makes a difference.

Pros: Small camera, bracket is hidden behind the license plate. Comes with an extra smaller bracket so it can be mounted some where other than the license plate.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Ripon, WI on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worried Purchase.

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 6/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works really great at night but it sticks out quite a bit. I'm really worried that one day it will get damaged.

Pros: Awesome at night.

Cons: Sticks out pretty far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from New Hartford, CT on 5/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit right on the license plate. Mounts behind the plate and camera is above. View is good and parking lines are about right so no need to change. Turned OFF the lines in the radio. Used with a Kenwood DDX6905S.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Another excellent buy from crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Yonkers, NY on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent camera works fantastic like visiting please absolutely perfect.

Pros: Great in the daylight great in the evening

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from New Market, MD on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very sleek looking and very clear image! Install was super easy.

Pros: Works perfect

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Canyon, TX on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good little camera for the money, it was easy to install and I love the self-centering bracket. Thank you Crutchfield for another great experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent price and good quality

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, IL on 5/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera

Pros: Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Satisfied With Product

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The install was straight forward after I figured out which wire to the rear taillight was for the reverse light. The power wire I think will be alright but I had to purchase an RCA extension cord to teach the radio. BOYO, you can do better. It's just a small piece of wire....

Pros:

Cons: Video wire with RCA plug was about two feet too short but, they did include a barrel connector for an extension cord.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MO on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works better than expected, clear video

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Gresham, OR on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sweet little camera. Easy to install and the picture is perfect day and night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cant go wrong for the money!

David from Hudson, NH on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a bad little camera for the money! You get a clear picture on my Kenwood head unit and night vision is pretty good. I mostly use this for backing up to trailers so I don't need a spotter and it takes the frustration out of it.

Pros: Great picture, easy install, doesn't stick out far.

Cons: Could have come with a longer cable.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Jim from Clovis, CA on 3/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality product, easy to install with the new Kenwood radio I bought. The view is like what in the newer cars.

Pros: Would buy it again.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice camera you can't buy anymore.

Greg from Reno, NV on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid construction, good materials, great picture. Could use better instructions (the red wire on the video cable is your monitor trigger). Following the stock harness on my F150 Super Cab, I had about 5 inches of spare cable! I was scared for a bit there. Power wash, dirt roads and heat, so far so good.

Pros: Solid camera, awesome price.

Cons: Poor instructions, discontinued model

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went bad in a month.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/14/2017
This customer contacted us and returned his back-up camera. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

7 of 8 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Kaila from Honolulu, HI on 2/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Hondo tx on 1/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera with nice picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great picture, poor design...

Bill from Bend, Oregon on 1/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera works great. The only reason I only gave it 3 stars is because it does not have a low profile. It sticks out well over an inch past the license plate. It is only a matter of time before the thing gets knocked off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

No instructions, unable to install

Vicki from Vacaville, CA on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Due to absolutely no instructions on how to install this, it's still not installed. We're going to have to hire somebody to install this, hopefully it's worth it once it's all said and done. But as of right now we're not happy with the product.

Pros: None

Cons: Everything. No instructions. Can't install.

Crutchfield response on 1/19/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Vicki to issue an apology and help her further. We'll either help her get the back-up camera installed and working the way it should, or help her return it for an exchange or refund.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir Back-up camera

Peter from Cary, NC on 1/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Going from a car with a backup camera to one without was a compromise I knew I didn't want to live with for long, so part of my criteria for picking a new headunit was that it had to support a rear camera. I picked this camera based on a combination of price (one of the cheapest on Crutchfield) and also the night vision with the IR LEDs built in. I just finished getting this installed in my 2010 Prius, no real issues with the cabling, the included wiring is long enough to go from front to back. The biggest challenge was getting the cable from the outside to the inside of the car, which involved removing a lot of plastic trim and partially popping out one of the license plate lamp holders in order to route the cable. Once it was routed it was relatively easy to run the cable up to the trunk lid hinges and to squirrel the long cable away along the door frames and back behind the dash to the head unit. I spliced the power cable at the back of the car straight onto the reverse lamp wiring and hooked up the pigtail at the front of the car to the headunit's reverse camera wiring, and everything sprang into life. The image quality in daylight may not be the absolute best, but do bear in mind that this is a relatively low resolution camera so don't expect miracles. It has a nice wide field of view and the distance warning stripes are a nice feature. I'm looking forward to seeing how it holds up with night time use.

Pros: Well priced, easy to mount

Cons: Instructions leave a lot to be desired

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Don't buy this for a tailgate installation

Tim from Cresson, TX on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't buy this camera if you intend to install it in a tailgate. The cable connected to the camera is too short to allow routing to the flex tube on my tailgate and into the car, and the long cable designed to connect the camera to the head unit has molded fittings on both ends that are too large to fit through the flex tube the other way. The manufacturer does not offer or manufacture an extension cable for this unit. I now have to seek a Plan 'B'. The only reason I wanted to upgrade the factory sound system in this car was to install a backup camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Good picture, easy install

Crutchfield customer from Murpheesboro, TN on 1/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This isn't a bad backup camera. For the price it's actually very good. It's easy to see at night. The only problem is it's hard to see anything when direct sunlight is hitting the camera

Pros: Good night vision Easy install Price

Cons: Hard to see in direct sunlight

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Picture for the money!

Anonymous from Bridgewater, VA on 1/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Picture!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Dothan, AL on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very clear picture looks good and was easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Marc from Finksburg, MD on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring instructions a little cryptic, but Crutchfield tech support was able to help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great pic. Very satisfied

Judy from Loveland, CO on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only hiccup was that the wire wasn't long enough from radio to camera, so had to go purchase new wire.

Pros: Clear picture

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Waynesboro PA on 11/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Horrible. Looks awful on the car. Doesn't work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/29/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 8 found this helpful

Not bad

Doug from Seattle, Wa on 11/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this camera 4 days ago. It seems to operate fine, and the night vision works acceptably. Main complaint was with the length of the cables and lack of any kinds of instructions. Cable was too short for a Jeep Cherokee and I had to purchase extra cable. With no instructions, I had to call Crutchfield tech support a couple of times. I mounted it upside down and had to re-mount it, again, due to lack of directions.

Pros: Cheap, and it functions as advertised.

Cons: Cables are too short for a Jeep Cherokee. (Not a large SUV). There was virtually no instructions or documentation provided.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

More than adequate

Joe from Bessemer, AL on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Video cable too short. Wires to reverse light wiring too short. Total lack of installation instructions. Does work well.

Pros: Tough install

Cons: Works well

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

William from Chandler, AZ on 11/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly, and really easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for price

Cody from Cincinnati, OH on 11/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very good for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

OK, Poor color!

John from Apopka, FL on 11/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works OK. Color is way off, but I was told by service rep that this was about correct for a 480i camera. Greens appear pinkish red. Also seems a little dark compared to cams in my other two vehicles. I may return it and try another one to see if it really is "all I can expect".

Pros: Easy install. Price.

Cons: Very poor color. Brightness seems a little dark.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not good at day

Megan from INDIANA on 10/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has terrible quality during day time use. It is fine at night

Pros: Good at dusk

Cons: Bad at day time

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Opelika, AL on 10/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Especially at night. Clear view of my tow hitch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works good

Tom from Wilkes Barre, Pa. on 10/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good, even in very low light. Have not tried in total darkness yet.

Pros: Good view.

Cons: Not the units fault but on my installation on a 04 GMC Envoy, the license plate is inset. If I aim the camera so the guide lines look level, I could see the top of the bumper. Cable from camera to connector needed to be longer in this installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Back up camara

Edward from Pompano Beach, FL on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far Works great came as advertised,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Crutchfield customer from Lake Havasu City, AZ on 10/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great. Really helps hooking up boat trailer with out help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backup camera

Mick from Illinois on 10/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got a fuzzy picture for a whole 3 seconds thenot it went to a black screen with white lines through it.

Pros: None

Cons: Doesn't work

Crutchfield response on 10/10/2016
Mick, we're sorry you're having problems with your back-up camera. Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help Mick. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

CRYSTAL CLEAR

andrew from Tupelo, MS on 9/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I AM USING THIS AS A FRONT VIEW CAMERA, PICTURE QUALITY IS GREAT, NIGHT VISION IS AMAZING, CAN ALMOST DRIVE WITH NO LIGHTS ON( DONT RECCOMMEND IT)

Pros: EVERYTHING, NO COMPLAINTS

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Audie M from Houma, LA on 9/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

spot on

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL 17ir

Gale G from Springfield, OH on 9/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not satisfied at all with the performance in daylight. The display is washed out (no contrast) and has a pink color to it. As others have said, the installation instructions are almost useless; an internet search and an ohmmeter provided more information. Performance at night is acceptable however contrast is still lacking.

Pros: Low light performance is OK

Cons: Daylight display is lacking. Installation instructions are useless

Crutchfield response on 9/7/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Bruno R. from Yuma, AZ on 8/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great camera however the instructions could use a bit of clarification.

Pros: Excellent view and the marker lines are a definite bonus.

Cons: The instructions direct the installer that the camera can be wired to the back up light circuit. This does not work. This camera requires a constant 12V power supply and direct chassis ground.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good Camera

Darryl from South Central, PA on 8/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera delivers as advertised. Hooked it to a Pioneer head unit and the picture is great. Haven't used it a lot yet cuz it's on a weekend car, but you barely notice it and the picture is good. It works perfect for my Trans Am. Would recommend.

Pros: works as advertised

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great addition to any non oem camera vehicle

Gordon from Ft Worth, TX on 7/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great. Installation took about 3 hours because of the amount of interior panels I had to remove to run the wires to the receiver.

Pros: Ease of installation. Clear wide view.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Camera

Dave B. from Baltimore, MD on 7/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to go along with a Clairon NX605 Nav Unit. Camera clarity & angle of view is excellent.

Pros: Clear image, easy installation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

William from Albuquerque, NM on 7/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera works well. Picture is sharp. The instructions were a little lacking. No information on the mysterious red wire coming out of the RCA plug that goes into the back of the radio. Didn't connect it and the camera still works. It would be nice if the installation instructions gave some idea what it is for. Other than that the install was easy.

Pros: Seems like a decent camera for the price.

Cons: poor instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy and affordable

Rob D from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Bolts right over the license plate. Has wiring harness that was ample enough to run the length of my pickup that has an 8' bed. I just spliced the activation wire to the backup light wire. Has a pigtail length attached to the cam and a separate cable with connectors at each end. I awarded 4 stars vice 5 because the nighttime resolution is not exactly HD but it's still fairly good. Daytime rez is excellent.

Pros: Easy install. Price. Daytime picture very good.

Cons: Nighttime picture a little lacking but still good.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Jay T from Elliston, VA on 7/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works well with my new JVC DVD Receiver. Because the mount goes behind the license plate, no special drilling was required. At the same time, it does not block the license plate, keeping the police happy. The rear backup wire not only powers the camera, but extends to the front of the car with the RCA video jack, allowing it to also switch the receiver to "reverse" mode. My only complaint: The instructions are horrible. I had to email the manufacturer to verify the functionality of the reverse wire.

Pros: Great camera for the price. Easy to install (no thanks to the instructions).

Cons: Install instructions are terrible.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good product - terrible instructions

Rick C from Bremerton, Wa on 6/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera works fine. Picture is clear and bright during the day. I haven't had a chance to test the IR night picture. Installation instructions are virtually non-existent. All that is provided is a simple diagram that doesn't even include all of the wires.

Pros: Nice clear picture.

Cons: Lack of installation instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Brett from Houston, TX on 6/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The mounting style of this camera is excellent, in my opinion looks much more cleanly installed than other license plate installed cameras. The image quality is okay and does the trick for backing up to a trailer. Giving 4 stars because the image quality is simply okay and not as stellar as i'd expect from modern technology.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Eric from Warner Robins, GA on 6/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Camera without the price!

Ben from Mt Carmel, UT on 5/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Boyo VTL17IR is an excellent addition to my Clarion NX605. Using as a backup camera, there are no longer any blind spots.

Pros: Low price, crisp clear images

Cons: Installation instructions leave a lot to be desired

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Camera

DmP from FL on 5/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and connect. Works great. I bought this to replace a camera which didn't have the reverse image. Much easier backing now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

david from Seattle, WA on 5/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, works well in low light. Attached to the top of the license plate frame on my Ford Ranger

Pros: effective in low light

Cons: none for me

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Advantus Media, from Kearney, NE on 5/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed with a Kenwood DDX373 and it looks great. It does stick out a little bit from the license plate, so I'll have to be careful not to kick it when stepping up on my bumper. It comes with a different mounting bracket and double sided tape so if you want to put it somewhere else you can. I thought about putting it inside the area right above the receiver hitch, as that would protect it better than the license plate mount. But when I tested the camera in that position, I didn't care for the loss of depth perception on the hitch. It's basically looking straight back at the ball and I think it would be hard to determine if the hitch was over the ball or not. The license plate mount gives a slightly higher POV looking down a little, so you can see the hitch position better as you position the ball under it. Wiring to my reverse bulbs was very simple and the 22' wire was perfect for my crew cab coming up through the e-brake plug in the bottom of the drivers side cab floor. It was hard to get the RCA plug through the hole in the rubber plug though. I had to duct tape the RCA connector to a piece of wire and feed the wire through first then pull hard to get the plug through. But it went. Then went under the carpet and up to the receiver. Haven't tested night vision yet or used it in the rain.

Pros: good picture, multiple mounting options, plenty of wire provided

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Camera

Chaser from Poplar Bluff, MO on 5/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera was easy to install and had a very clear picture. Both day and night look really good on my screen. I like the lines that come pre-built into the camera better than the ones for my head unit. Overall worth it.

Pros: Easy to Install Clear Picture

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice camera

Insco from Columbus, OH on 4/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works well. Easy to back up to trailer.

Pros: Clear picture

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backup Camera

Chris from Callao, VA on 4/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera arrived within couple of days. The salesman was very knowledgeable and helped me pick out a camera to best meet my needs. Upon arrival we called technical support and someone went over the installation process with us and within no time the camera was operational. Great camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great picture, easy install

Nate from Spokane, WA on 4/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounting the camera was as easy as removing an reinstalling the license plate. Getting the cable routed to the cab was the hardest part, and even that wasn't that hard. Picture looks great on my pioneer dvd deck. Easy to see in the dark too. I backed up to a trailer hitch in the dark, dead on. The built in parking lines are nice too

Pros: Great at night Wide angle viewing Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Aaron from bristol, VA on 3/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, very good value. Mounts behind the tag so you don't see anything but the camera

Pros: Works great

Cons: Instructions are very lacking

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17ir

Bob S from mesa, AZ on 2/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed camera on front and rear of 2003 F-150. Rear was installed using the license plate mount, front was mounted to the plastic bumper cover. Wiring was relatively easy to run and install, rear view worked first time. Have not tested front still waiting fro switch.

Pros: Easy to attach to vehicle. plenty of wire, harness is terminated where it needs to be.

Cons: Need better installation instructions. If you are not familiar with rear view cameras, like me, the red wire sticking out of the video connector is a little confusing. It is the trigger wire that connects to the head unit, but that was not intuitive at first. More than enough wire for super cab pickup. Had to bundle wire and find a place to wire tie under dash.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP