Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Klipsch CA-800-TSW

8" commercial weather resistant surface mount subwoofer (White)

MFR # 097096000001

Klipsch CA-800-TSW

Klipsch CA-800-TSW

8" commercial weather resistant surface mount subwoofer (White)

MFR # 097096000001

15 reviews
View this product

Crisp highs with lots of bass!

Gaylon from Muscle Shoals,Alabama on 11/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the best outdoor speaker you will find anywhere. A little pricey but worth every penny. Two was great but now have four by the pool.We now have a live concert every night.Definitely 5 Stars! Special thanks to Tony from Crutchfield for all your help!

Pros: Concert sound in a small package!!!

Cons: absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Way low bass guttural booming low sound

Robert from Clarksville on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow it's low

Pros: Weather resistance. And tough with a catclaw proof cover. Great speaker's rubber surround will last a lifetime As opposed to the foam one's that rot out. Crumble and n

Cons: NO cons.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch CA-800-TSW

Crutchfield customer from Fifield, WI on 8/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers were exactly what my deck needed (I installed two). I currently have them connected in series to Klipsch AW650's. They added some depth that was missing to the music I was listening to. I will probably add a dedicated sub woofer amp to clean up the sound even more and add some punch.

Pros: These speakers live up to the Klipsch name for very high quality and sound.

Cons: User manual is very lacking. Connection instructions are vague and don't include enough detail on how to hook them into your system whether it is commercial high voltage or residential 8 ohm. Crutchfield actually called me to make sure I understood how to install them.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch CA-800-TSW

J.T. from Point Pleasant, WV on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great outdoor sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great subwoofer, just what was needed to round out the system.

Crutchfield customer from Saratoga, NY on 6/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to compliment my recently installed Klipsch AW-650 outdoor speakers. I have it mounted on the deck facade board where the deck meets the house. This gives it the proper corner needed to radiate the bass into our large backyard. I have this powered by an AudioSource AMP100VS amplifier that is bridged, signal is fed by a Sony STR-DG500 that also powers the AW-650s. The crossover on the Sony sends 100hz and above to the AW-650 and everything below to the Subwoofer being reviewed. The long story short of it is that this baby fills the back yard with serious bass. If needed I can make it sound like we are at an outdoor night club, but I'm sure the neighbors wont approve. Just about anywhere I stand in the back yard I can hear the bass, it plays clean and does not sound muffled. When playing it at "the Sheriff is going to be here soon" levels it sounds like it is barely moving; clean, no distortion. BUT, at low levels after 9pm when enjoying the evening stars it plays just as well, linear with no amp adjustments, at low volumes this is due to its efficiency. Its very versatile playing well on classic rock, pop, and even 90s Hip-Hop. Now that we have this setup my wife is asking for an outdoor projector for movies. Now to now on to research them!

Pros: A good size, not too big, blends with the AW-650s. Very efficient, plays very well at all volumes. Easy to mount and take down for the winter months.

Cons: Cutoff at 51hz is a little high, even for an 8" sub. If it went down to 40hz +/-3db it would be perfect. Bass drops in some pop/dance fade off and its a little noticeable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Grest Subwoofer

Terry from Nashville, AR on 2/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My second purchase of this item, already had this setup for back porch, now it's for the front porch. Like the first purchase, I am using it with a subwoofer-dedicated 100 watt amp (same amp as I use for the back porch)...SW speaker switch setting is in "bypass" position. Makes bass strong when used with a pair of 650 Klipsch model outdoor speakers. With upper corner positions for the 650's and this one also mounted high but mounted so it gets a bass sound assist from two intersecting surfaces, I have uncompromising stereo sound on my porches rivaling my expensive indoor speakers, also Klipsch...I mean, is there any other speaker manufacturer...I think not.

Pros: Great bass!

Cons: Have to be willing to swim around in your attic insulation to install speaker wire, something I am still willing and maybe stupid enough to do at age 78...if I can, surely you can!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sub woofer

Raman from San Francisco, CA on 10/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Sub. I bought a pair of these to enhance the sound in my backyard. They compliment 2 pairs of Bose 251 speakers connected to a Niles 2150 amp. Sound is clean and clear with good bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect addition to the Backyard

Ron from Phoenix on 9/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put this sub on a 100 watt amp and my backyard is now full of sound. It is the addition I've been waiting for, it is worth every penny.

Pros: Adds the thump and body to your outdoor speakers.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AWESOME SUBWOOFER

Jeff from Arlington, TX on 7/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWESOME SUBWOOFER!!! I purchased one just over a year ago, for my patio. I mounted it on the ceiling, facing the exterior wall. The sound reflects off the wall and into the pool area. It fills the patio and pool area with rich, deep bass. I just bought another one for my new outdoor kitchen and cabana. It sounds great there as well. Now, my whole backyard has AMAZING sound!!! I would highly recommend this sub for your outdoor system!!!

Pros: Sounds Great!!! Easy to mount. Quality construction.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing addition

Garth from Garwood, NJ on 6/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this subwoofer still exploring its limits. Bought an amplifier just to power this beast.

Pros: Pros: Everything about it looks, sounds and cost

Cons: Cons: the lack of instructions from the manufacturer was frankly appalling. Thank goodness for Crutchfield support.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch CA-800TSW (WH)

ronald from Lebanon, PA on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Outdoor Subwoofer. I hooked this Subwoofer up without using AC Voltage. I connected it to a Subwoofer power amp and this Subwoofer works great. No second thoughts on buying this Subwoofer.

Pros: Great sound. No need for AC Voltage. Only requires a Subwoofer power amp.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic bass for its size!

Crutchfield customer from Abilene, TX on 5/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two Definitive Technology speakers (AW6500) connected to an Onkyo receiver (TX-NR555), paired with this sub. I connected the sub to one of the front channels, and connected one of the Definitive speakers to the sub, and the other Definitive speaker to the other front channel. There was a difference with the sub connected that way, but it was very minimal. I got a separate amp for the sub only (Audio Source Amp 100), and connected it that way, and it made a world of difference! It literally will rattle things and the entire setup sounds excellent and clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fills in without overwhelming

Graham from New Orleans, LA on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already had three pairs of Klipsch AW-400 outdoor speakers, and this replaces a budget crossover sub-for-satellites rock speaker which died after about 6 months. My setup is pretty unique, and kind of elaborate: CasaTunes music server pushing to an AppleTV with AirPlay, optical out to a Rotel RSP-976 Surround Sound processor connected to a Niles SI-1200 integration amp so each speaker has a dedicated 25watts The CA-800-TSW can be wired to commercial daisy-chain 70v or 100v OR conventional amplifier, which is how I'm set up. After I placed the order, Corey from Crutchfield Sales Support called to review those settings with me, which was great, as it gave me a chance to review my setup prior to install. Per his advice, I bridged the CA-800 to 50w on full signal (not sub-only), and later added an adjustable crossover, which definitely made a difference. For my setup around the pool, 50w is just right - filling in without overpowering, which is important since the 'Klipsch sound' is famously mid-forward and can sound thin without EQ. The install is only a month old, but I'm very happy with the result so far, and Corey's input really helped.

Pros: Good sonic and aesthetic match with existing AW-400 speakers

Cons: Would prefer an integrated adjustable crossover

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best on the market

BillW from California on 9/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't sure if this would work correctly if driven only from one channel and on the same line as one of my regular speakers. It did and sounds great. I ran a separate wire up to the speaker in case I needed to power it with a separate sub-woofer amp but think it sounds strong enough without the amp.

Pros: Sounds good when wired in line with one of the regular speakers and doesn't affect the volume of that speaker.

Cons: Directions for a speaker that costs this much are embarrassing confusing! Suggest Klipsch rewrite their very short instructions and include a hookup diagram for speakers other than their own.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great subwoofer

JLGarcia from Texas on 12/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great subwoofer, my placement was under soffit corner it was a little to big for the location but I must say is worth it, I installed 2 pairs of Klipsh CT4 as complement for sound, powered by a Dayton Audio subwoofer amplifier connected to a Onkyo 8050 networked stereo receiver and an Apple airport as source, i can play wirelessly from Iphone, or ipad and sound is amazing, from pool or outdoor without a problem ( I had to amplify my wifi signal with a commercial grade Access Point) great rich sound for outdoors

Pros: Great looking speaker. Sound amazing

Cons: Big

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP