Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Klipsch The Fives

Powered speaker system with Bluetooth® and HDMI (Walnut)

MFR # 1067562

Klipsch The Fives

Klipsch The Fives

Powered speaker system with Bluetooth® and HDMI (Walnut)

MFR # 1067562

82 reviews
View this product

Can't take it anymore

Stephen from Shelburne, VT on 5/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since Last month, I've tried so hard. I've done all the updates step by painful step. The sound is great, until the song stops and won't pay anymore, unless I skip to the next song. The lame Klipsch app also tries to connect and most of the time will fail as well. I've never had this happen with any Bluetooth device, down to a lower end portable speaker. I've done factory rests, multiple USB updates along with each time Forgetting the device and re-pairing. This is likely the end of the line with these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/11/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Stephen to get a replacement set of these speakers on the way to him. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Joseph from Chicopee, MA on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Fives from Klipsch look and sound fantastic, with far more connectivity options than your standard pair of bookshelf speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy setup

Steve from Shelburne, VT on 4/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just unboxed them and setup. So this is an initial half-hour review. Pretty robust cabling, very well finished. To make this a quick test, I turned them on, and connected via bluetooth on my iPhone. First 10 minutes or so, the song would stop playing halfway through, iPhone shows it's still playing and connected. No idea yet, more tests to follow. Not an ideal setup yet, the bookcase I have is a cube setup, so maybe some less than ideal bass for now. Might investigate small speaker stands. So after 20 minutes, it's now playing two songs one after the other. That's a good sign? Letting them break in a bit now. Very good sound so far, little better highs would be nice.

Pros: Very nice cabinets, perfect size, easy setup, strong sound low or high volume.

Cons: To be continued

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not recommend without a sub?

Chris from Portland, OR on 4/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't understand. It is almost like 30% of these are bad or something? Maybe if you use a sub and remove everything below 100Hz these might be ok. So that could be it. If you are planning to use a sub. Which I could. But sort of the point to pay this much would be too not require it for many applications. They sound very veiled. It could be the bass is so hot that I can't turn them up enough. I suppose I could try and drop everything via eq. Kind of a bummer that mine didn't have the newer firmware which apparently has the ability to drop more of the low end. I mean I am a bit of a bass head. But it sounds like the mid and highs are 15 feet behind the woofers. Strangest speakers I have heard that were this highly rated. I tried them like 3 feet off the wall and still the treble was not clear. The imaging was ok. Maybe this is for people that like low quality low end? But I can imagine that dialog is also not great given how far the singers sound away. I am confused by the people that found them harsh. I wonder if they are just really varied in quality control. Mine are going back.

Pros: Build seems good. Bloated bass appears to be of high quality. Pretty. Cable between speakers is good length. Sub out with low frequency cut off.

Cons: Default freq response is quit bad. There is no easy way to fix it. (maybe firmware update?) Limited external controls (required app).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buy them!

Jean-Luc from Lebanon, NH on 2/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Probably best money spent on speakers!! I would recommend a sub for music and movies. The sound quality is exactly what I like. I purchased these to replace my Bose 700 soundbar which was ok no complaints just not enough from the soundbar. The clarity from the Fives is perfect.

Pros: Sound quality Connection options Quality Build, really good looking speakers Exceptional value

Cons: Too many wires going to the speaker. Wish they could have a "Hub" to connect everything and have 1 wire go to the speaker itself. Sounds simple but probably more complicated. Sometimes transition from Bluetooth to HDMI doesn't happen smoothly

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic Speakers!!

David from Watertown, MN on 2/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers. Great sound quality and sooo many options for linking to sources. I prefer the sound quality of the USB connection, but the blue tooth sound quality is pretty decent.

Pros: Great sound quality regardless of whether you use USB or Bluetooth!

Cons: None that I've found.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Fives: Simple and Elegant

Kurt from Harrisburg, PA on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are perfect for our creative space. My goal was to arrange a stereo system that would be superior to a simple Bluetooth speaker, and remain simpler, tidier, and easier to use than a conventional component system. We can now enjoy lps, cds, Bluetooth, etc., while achieving a minimalist aesthetic. And, of course, The Fives sound amazing!!! At first, I wasn't even considering powered speakers. When I discovered these, my curiosity was piqued. I researched these exhaustively before pulling the trigger, and they're living up to their excellent reputation. They have very detailed sound, and the depth of their bass is uncanny, given their handy size. I have not had the chance to update them yet, but I'm looking forward to using the Klipsch app, which promises additional EQ controls. Overall, I am extremely pleased with The Fives. For many budgets, my own included, these are costly, but they offer great value.

Pros: Simplicity, Power, Beautiful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great little speakers.

Guest from Coral Gables, FL on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first these sounded a bit harsh. However, after some break in and proper positioning, the sound is impressive. They are great paired with a turntable and are a good soundbar substitute. The bass response is impressive for such a small speaker and they create a decent soundstage.

Pros: Good bass response and decent soundstage. Good soundbar replacement.

Cons: Require some break in time to reduce tweeter harshness.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice speakers from Klipsch

Crutchfield customer from New Smyrna, FL on 1/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Klipsch has always been a staple when it comes to speakers and these do not disappoint. I also thank my advisor Stone who helped point me in this direction.

Pros: Easy set-up and easy to pair\connect. Great sound from my phono. Also love the ability to connect my iphone etc..

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great. After update Klipsch connect app won't connect. So cannot use new eq settings

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Bad app

Crutchfield response on 12/22/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support specialist, John, for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

6 of 11 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, NJ on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding, easy to configure, powered speaker option that accepts a wide variety of inputs. Rich, full sound, with solid bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Fresh Meadows, NY on 12/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have my tv and turntable hooked up directly to this. These have great range and soundstage, and boy these go DEEP. HDMI ARC is fantastic being able to use my tv remote to control volume. I have an external phono preamp hooked up to the LINE input, so I cannot comment on the phono section on this speaker. The fabric grilles and walnut finish gets a high WAF.

Pros: Bass HDMI ARC Endless connectivity. WAF

Cons: Picky on the height for optimal listening. The tweeters need to be just above ear level. I will need to buy some risers to stop slouching on the couch.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Speakers that really deliver

Scott from Utica, IL on 12/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Iam so pleased with these speakers I have a Klipsch sub hooked up to them and a CD player hooked thru optical . The blu tooth sounds as good as the CD player . MJ suggested this system and Iam so happy he did.

Pros: Sound that is really clear and room filling.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Norman, OK on 12/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Aesthetics- these things look amazing. Perfect merge into mid century modern home and decor. Performance- very warm, full, balanced and neutral out of the box streaming Tidal and vinyl. These are a bargain

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CO on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound . Would not have known about Klipsch without help of Crutchfield's personal advisors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Classic Klipsch Sound in an All-In-One Package

Stephen Aaron from BIG STONE GAP, VA on 10/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sometimes the setup needs to be simple and compact, whether space is a concern or one doesn't want stacks of equipment to clutter up the living room furniture. Enter "The Fives" from Klipsch. With nearly every connection needed to get source material into them, The Fives will accommodate standard RCA connections, digital through optical or USB, a turntable, and even TV sound through HDMI. No matter what you feed to them, the classic Klipsch sound comes through loud and clear with plenty of power to fill a room without distortion. The most impressive feature from these powered speakers is their bass response. While they won't hit low enough to completely negate the need for a sub, they are surprisingly punchy with their 4 1/2" woofers. Occasionally, I even turned off the Dynamic Bass EQ to lessen some of the punch, and I do like bass. All in all, if you are in need of a very compact and easy to use set of speakers that only require a source to connect to them, these will fit the bill and sound great while doing it. And... like all Klipsch speakers, they look great with grills on or off.

Pros: Great bass response Classic Klipsch sound Compact Plenty of power for a small to medium room

Cons: Bass can be overwhelming with Dynamic EQ on in certain music styles, but that can be deactivated

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If your looking for a unit with everything in it,THE FIVES ARE IT. Klipsch always comes threw. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THESE SPEAKERS!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Klipsch The Fives are really awesome bookshelf speakers!! I can't believe that much bass is coming out from these speakers!! They play loud and clean as well!!. I really love the versatility of these speakers.

Pros: Good speakers for movies and music

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Redwood City, CA on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Those speakers have fantastic quality while matching all my portability needs. Having a simple speaker / turntable system which can also cater for digital audio streaming on a small form factor is a must for me!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent and very functional

John from California on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these for tv/movies and music. Looked at many reviews for similar products. Excellent speakers for the sale price, nothing compares! For tv/movies, dialogue is clear (no more subtitles for the British dramas ??), other sounds and explosions are consistent, and the HDMI arc connection is great to have. Listening to music is just a dream. Going through the Apple TV 4k, playing lossless music sounds so pleasant. Of course it can rock out too! Was initially looking for a soundbar for our tv but really wanted more function and better soundstage/separation for such a high price. The soundbars I looked at for the price didn't compare, especially build quality. The 'Atmos' ones seemed gimmicky even though they were highly rated. I can't wait for the promised equalizer function in the app. Girlfriend was very hesitant about buying 'big ugly speakers'. After placing them, she loves the aesthetics and looks forward to listening to music, podcasts or watching tv. As for Crutchfield, they get 5 stars as well. Excellent customer service! Answered so many of my questions and seemed excited for me to receive these speakers. I'm very greatful!

Pros: Sound quality, soundstage, base, functionality, hdmi arc and many other connectivity options, physical volume and source knobs. Good speakers at low volumes (due too the dynamic bass eq).

Cons: Temporary con-wish there was a way to manage the bass better. Was told it will be solved with an app update in the next month which will add eq. Can't wait!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

The Fives are nice option for anywhere use

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like how they sound, easy to set up, & they work very fast when steaming from my phone. Have not tried other inputs. Remote is nice cause I can contol while lying down. Plugged in extra sub I had sitting around and things sound better, so nice they allow for this. They are very attractive.

Pros: Sound quality Ease of playing streami g from phone

Cons: Heavy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Little Gems!

Crutchfield customer from Mahwah, NJ on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are beautiful. Perfect fit and finish. Build quality is just so nice. Very easy to use with simple controls to understand. Plenty of bass at low and high volumes. Too much for me at times as I live in a condo. I need to see if there is an update/additional DSP update that gives another option for the bass level. The mids and highs are just amazing! So clear and crisp. I only have about 50 hours under my belt with these speakers. I do believe they will get better and better with time. That 5th star may get added after I play a little longer with these little gems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Park City, UT on 7/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way too boomy. Too much bass, very little high end. I'm returning'em.

Pros: Loud

Cons: Muddled sound

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

Great all in one sound system.

Matt from Houston, TX on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these are a fantastic choice for music, movies, streaming, or anything else you can through at them. They are a great solution for the modern listener and a budget conscious way to get audiophile sound without having to drop $30,000 or have a bunch of separate expensive components. I bought mine to use for TV sound instead of a sound bar. I listen to music from apps off my Roku TV. I stream to them from my iPhone. I have a record player set up too. I have them paired with a jamo 8" sub. Omg Wonderful. Can I get better sound? Yes. With more parts. And more money. Yes. But this is a great alternative that can move all over the house as you upgrade and/or redesign your system supposing you feel you must. Great work Klipsch!!!!

Pros: Can do everything. Stream. HDMI to Tv or other source. Optical. DAC. Powdered. Phono preamp. Horns just kill classical and opera. !!

Cons: Nothing at this price.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

The Fives are a 10.

Crutchfield customer from Rush, NY on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

"The Fives" has much going for it. Top notch materials and build quality, very compact, excellent sound, great versatility, a comprehensive remote and great bluetooth range. These are beautiful and small. Impressive to the eye and touch with real walnut veneer and aluminum controls. They are easy to hook up and there is a quick learning curve to fully operate them from the back panel or remote. The sound is very full and rich. There is the brightness that one expects from Klipsch. The mids are present, yet perhaps the weakest part of the sound stage. Bass is surprisingly "big" for such a small cab and mid-woofer. I have read that "they sound like floor standing speakers". That a stretch, but they offer deep, soft and not too punchy bass. They are easy to listen to for hours on end with no ear fatigue or harshness. Listening to Sealevel was a treat. Keyboards were strong, vocals exactly where they should be and other instruments/back ground vocals were distinct, even in some very complicated mixes. Diana Krall live in Paris put whatever instrument was playing lead in the forefront weather her piano, jazzbox guitar or upright bass. Her breathy vocals were spot on. That's my "go to" vinyl for testing audio equipment and I was not disappointed. Various other music from Delbert McClinton, The Stones, Kevin Mahogany, The Turtles, Hall and Oates, J. Tull, Smokey Robinson, Coco Montoya, Dropkick Murphys, Clint Black and others were all pleasing and true. 2 thumbs up!

Pros: Well build, thought out and executed Extensive inputs (incl phono) and sub out Defyingly large sounding for their small size Very good value

Cons: Strong highs and bass somewhat at the expense of mids. At the price there are no significant "cons"

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Klipsch does it for me again!

GMAD from Argyle, TX on 6/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 5's came in yesterday afternoon and I could not wait to get them unpacked and rocking! I am a 28 year Klipsch owner- Forte ll. Walnut and they still look and sound great. I just moved into a new home 2 weeks ago and needed sound for my study so l've been researching powered speakers. These obviously had the inside track. Set up was very simple, all needed cables in the box! I listened via Bluetooth (easy pairing to iPhone 11 & downloaded app) for a couple hours. Fantastic sound. R&B, Streaming smooth jazz from Sirius and Blues channel. Some songs sound just like a sub is connected. Others not so much and that's ok. Where does the bass come from?? Wife says study sounds great honey! She rarely comments on sound!! Says they sound better than the big ones, lol. After listening for a couple more hours today I went ahead and connected my little velodyne 10" sub because I have it (10 years) but it's really not needed. These babies are solid and look great- Walnut. Now if This other store will bring my 55" LG the fun will really begin.

Pros: Great big sound from a really small package.

Cons: Dang TV still not here.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bass is great but..

Temujin from EASTON, PA on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not completely sold on these to be honest. The bass is great on these speakers. The mids and highs aren't as vibrant as I thought they'd be. It sounds a bit muddled. Slightly disappointed

Pros: Great bass

Cons: Mids and highs are lacking

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Stafford, VA on 6/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressive small speakers. Wood finish looks great. Provided cables are of good quality and length. I added a small sub to help round out the bottom end which was also very easy considering the provided sub preout. Simply adjusted the crossover on the sub I'm using these as computer speakers for my workstation which is primarily music

Pros: Affordable. Good sound. Good fit and finish lots of good cables provided.

Cons: Benefits from a sub

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch 5s

Crutchfield customer from Texarkana, AR on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers! Very impressed and completely satisfied!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Seminole, FL on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great connection options. Perform as advertised. Look good.

Pros:

Cons: Bass is slightly heavy at times

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

These Handsome Retro-Looking Little Dudes Pack a Punch

Crutchfield customer from Parker, CO on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These handsome retro-looking little dudes pack a punch. I purchased The Fives as external speakers for our bedroom TV where we have a little sitting room. I also liked that they were Bluetooth-ready so we could play tunes from our phones in our home office, which is in the sitting area. I had a little trouble getting the speakers connected to the TV using the optical setting. I did some online research and read that this was a problem that could be fixed by updating The Fives software. I downloaded the Klipsch app and updated the software/firmware. It worked. I was immediately impressed by The Fives punchy base and overall throw power. I have played everything on these puppies, rock, opera, jazz and classical. They handled all genres well. Male vocals sound terrific as so do lead guitar solos. Female vocals can be a tad bit fatiguing for my ears likely due to the horns The Fives deploy. With that said, these compact speakers are rock solid, even at high volume. Absolutely no distortion. Clean and clear. They are also nice to listen to at lower volumes, delivering a realistic base, without that annoying booming sound, and clear mids and highs. These cuties are not going to replace the audiophile speakers you may have in another room, but for what they are, they met and even surpassed my expectations at this price point.

Pros: Solid power and clarity from a small compact, but handsome speaker. The Fives have a great look and solid feel.

Cons: Female vocals can become a little fatiguing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound. Love the Bluetooth feature. Small speakers with a big punch!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not bad, at all. Just not for me...

B from Lake Wylie, SC on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to love these. So much. But I just didn't. They are very impressive for their size, but something just didn't click with me. I wasn't expecting miracles, but I just couldn't get into them. Mostly bc too much bass and it kinda chokes out the higher mids. Crutchfield was great in the return process. I wound up returning for the Klipsch RP-5000F. No comparison. If you have the needed equipment and space, you can get these towers for less than the fives and they outclass them in every way. Another issue for me is was poor app support. I was expecting some sort of an eq or dsp control by now...and still nothing. I think had that been available I could've been happier. I still don't regret sending them back though.

Pros: Great sound (with some adjusting) Convenient Phono pre USB audio Good detail

Cons: Too bassy Higher mids are a bit recessed Lack of app support (this would be a game changer and I would consider buying again if that was offered)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, PA on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really happy with these speakers. They look great and sound even better. Loved the next day shipping at no charge from Crutchfield also!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Kahului, HI on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these are great little speakers with good bass. I got these to down size from my Klipsch tower speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powered Speaker without a power switch

Crutchfield customer from Daly City, CA on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speakers, lots of connection and "punchy" speakers don't need a subwoofer. What I don't understand is this is a powered speaker why it doesn't have a power switch in the back like any other powered speakers. I use the hdmi arc every time I turn on my television the speakers also wakes up and it becomes the primary source of sound. But overall I like the sound quality and speaker appearance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent for music. Great all around speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted something better than a soundbar, especially for music, but something that could still be used like a soundbar. These speakers, with the HDMI-ARC input, do the job perfectly. They get pretty loud and have good sound quality. I have them paired with a Klipsch SW100 subwoofer, and that is all I need for my medium sized living room. I do wish there was some sort of volume/input indicator you could see when looking at them from across the room. Also, when using the TV remote to control the volume, it adjusts the volume at an awfully slow rate. (I have an LG CX). These are minor nitpicks. So glad I bought these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These exceeded expectations. Absolutely love them. Hooked up to a late 60's turntable directly and could not be more thrilled with the sound. Worth the $$.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, NH on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great but Samsung TV does not play nice through the HDMI ARC port.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Adams, NY on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am thrilled with the incredible sound from the speakers. We are finally listening to old vinyls again! I also connect to my blue tooth and play anything off my phone. Why did I wait so long for such great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice looking, OK sounding speakers. Not for any critical listening.

Dan from Scottsdale, AZ on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking, OK sounding speakers. Not for any critical listening, but great as lifestyle additions. Not good pairing with a turntable over $250. The Good: - nice looking speakers - reasonable sounding. Great for a dorm. - quite loud. Great party speakers. The Bad: - unrefined sound. Great for a dorm. - no AirPlay support. - short cable between the speakers, depending on your setup needs. - flimsy buttons. Look nice, but cheap feeling. - line in has a mini jack input, not RCA. - the phono preamp is at best, mediocre. - not made in the USA.

Pros: - nice looking speakers - reasonable sounding. Great for a dorm. - quite loud. Great party speakers.

Cons: - unrefined sound. Great for a dorm. - no AirPlay support - short cable between the speakers, depending on your setup needs. - flimsy buttons. Look nice, but cheap feeling. - line in has a mini jack input, not RCA. - the phono preamp is at best, mediocre. - not made in the USA.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Yonkers, NY on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear sound & easy to connect. For a small room, it is perfect. It's worth the cost. Carl Tan, Retired Teacher (Stuyvesant H.S.)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from El Cerrito, CA on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers for vinyl!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Monroe Township, NJ on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to connect to all devices and sound great. No need for any additional bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speakers, however the bass is too much. They work well and are very attractive, But they tend to overwhelm the room. I have the Klipsch R-51pm in another room and they actually sound better to me!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great powered speakers

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the ease of use, crisp highs, and all the small details packed into these speakers. The walnut finish and tweed covers are beautiful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product; good speakers

Joe from Fairfax, VA on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Fives are an outstanding consumer product that are good speakers. Concept, design, construction, fit, finish are excellent. I didn't think consumer electronics were built to this standard anymore. Perfect wood veneer; and a cork base, so as not to scratch a nice table. We have needed a proper two-channel (expandable to 2.1 channels) TV and streaming media solution for a long time, and it's finally here in The Fives. The only ding is the sound. It's merely good enough for most people; just not for me. I demand lower harmonic distortion than these speakers offer. That said, most TV dialogue is clear enough. Perhaps someday I will experiment with swapping out the woofers, tweeters, or both.

Pros: Versatile; well-made

Cons: Sound merely good, not great

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

- do it

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

- do yourself a favor and get some good speakers - crutchfield had them to me in 24 hours - once i got them hooked up (in about 5 minutes), i wondered why i had put off for so long - do it

Pros: - crutchfield service is A+ - arrived quickly - no problems

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Five stars for The Fives.

Crutchfield customer from Saginaw, MN on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are really, really nice. I will qualify this with I don't have much to compare them to. I have a Bose sound bar and some great Bluetooth speakers, but these are easily superior to all of those. My parents gifted me a Sony turntable from the late 70's and I while my old receiver had a nice phono amp, I really wanted a standalone powered speaker option. Pricewise, these seem middle of the road, but are absolutely a wonderful listening experience. I have not connected these to a TV yet, but plan to at some point. These were primarily bought for music, not for home theater. I would buy these again, in fact, I would buy these as a gift.

Pros: Fantastic sound quality Powered phono amp built in Easy setup Build quality is tremendous Good looking addition to any shelf modern retro in black

Cons: Expensive depending on what you are comparing them to

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Austell, GA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new blue tooth speakers! Great sound and no wires to deal with. I called for guidance and got a very knowledgeable person named Atheana who listened to my needs and found me exactly what I wanted at a great price. Will definitely be calling them when I'm ready to expand my system. It's wonderful to listen to my record collection again! Thank you so much.

Pros: Great and knowledgeable staff. Prompt shipping.

Cons: Can't think of any!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rich and Mighty

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley, CA on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Auditioned several speakers of this sort. For ease and great sound...hands down winner!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very nice bookshelves

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Nice packaging. Great aesthetics. Easy connectivity. High quality units for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Coatesville, PA on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these bookshelf speakers! Perfectly balanced with a warm sound.

Pros: Sound great. Look great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Flexible and Amazing

Joseph from MINDEN, NV on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace the B&W MM1s connected to my iMac that I use for music listening. I have other Klipsch speakers in my home and I appreciate their approach to horn technology. I stream from Amazon Music's selection of HD and UltraHD music. I hooked the Fives up to my Mac via USB and used Apple's MIDI setup to make sure the OS could match the capabilities of the Fives. Out of the box, the speakers had very clean highs and mids but the bass was too boomy for my taste. If you're not intending to use these in a near-field listening situation like I am, then the bass might be fine. But for near-field, the bass is too sloppy. Turning the Fives' bass compensation feature off helped a bit. Next, I tried feeding the Fives from an AudioQuest Dragonfly Red to see how that compared to the Fives' internal DAC. The DF Red definitely sounded better, highs were more crisp and there was greater delineation between instruments. The Fives offer support for an external sub so I tried that next. When you connect a sub, the Fives automatically turn on an 80hz filter that sends all of the bass to the sub. I used an SVS SB-1000 as the sub. This really opened up the mids and got rid of the boominess. The bass from the SVS is clean and tight and it blends in perfectly with the Fives. The last tweak was to use a Pro-ject Pre Box S2 as a DAC instead of the DF Red. This opened up the sound stage even more. In the end, these are amazing sounding speakers that I would recommend.

Pros: Flexible, Beautiful, Dynamic

Cons: Expensive, Boomy

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good speakers at this price point

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, VA on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speakers for the price. Could use more bass, however. Purchased a subwoofer to add to the sound.

Pros: Easy set up. Good sound

Cons: Not sufficient bass.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superb sound

Crutchfield customer from New Albany, OH on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for our new media center. The TV and Brennan B2 run through them (plus Bluetooth). Superb sound. Versatile. The Fives take the place of a soundbar/subwoofer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Believe the hype!!!

Crutchfield customer from Pompano Beach, FL on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are awesome speakers. Worth the hefty price tag IMO. Placed these on 28" Monolith stands (filled with kitty litter) and the sound quality is far superior to any sound bar. Wall mounted a 65" LG NANO90 TV and have the fives hooked up via HDMI ARC. It makes for quite a viewing experience.

Pros: Excellent build quality. Real wood veneer. Simple hookup with HDMI ARC.

Cons: None thus far.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 11 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Inkster, MI on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 the fives are the best speakers I've ever owned babe they have sounds I I never even heard music before I love the compact size of them the big sound they produce I got the black ones they go real well with my decor thanks Klipsch and all the engineers that went into making these and I'd like to thank Crutchfield for making them available and my credit card for making it possible for me to buy these they are kind of pricey but well worth the money thanks-thanks-thanks

Pros: HDMI and all the other hookups compact size and superb loudness

Cons: The wavy material used for the grills Maybe it's by Design or just loose

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy peasy

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 1/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and great sound. Very versatile. Use them in in-home dance studio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great set up

Crutchfield customer from Purchase, NY on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I set these up in a very unique room where I moved a turntable with no preamp and also wanted better TV sound. This perfectly delivered for this set up. I like the ability to add a sub down the road as a true sound bar replacement although given how they sound out the gate I don't think I will need one.

Pros: All in one unit, HDMI ARC

Cons: Pricey but worth it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice sound signature for small room

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, Tx on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these in a 12x12 office room upstairs ( ie off the concrete ). The bass from the rear port is surprisingly quite good for the size of these speakers. The range of inputs is great too. I regularly switch between phono ( su-9 dac to shiit magnius ) , Bluetooth and HDMI arc. The cable to connect the speakers to one another is only 8ft but works well enough for good separation. It's good for TV but no 2 channel solution is going to compete with a dedicated center channel. The finish is quite nice as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

love 'em

Crutchfield customer from Shelby, MI on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

super awesome! Classical music on these are superb; tv hookup is easy... I love these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Albany, OH on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent $1200.00 dollars on these speakers and an SVS 12" subwoofer. I set them up in the same room as my Edifier 1700bts. The overall experience was not pleasing. The fives were harsh and hard to listen to. They sounded nice on a few instrumental songs but were overbearing when voices and more instruments were added. These are not warm speakers and the tweeter kills the sound. I asked my wife to listen to them. She knew I really wanted to like the speakers but told me they were not as nice as the Edifiers. I then set them up with my Samsung TV. I hoped that they would sound better with movies and voices but they did not. Again the sound as harsh and piercing from the tweeters. I know these are supposed to replace a sound bar but I kept my sound bar and sub woofer. The best way I can describe the speakers is fatiguing. My Edifiers sound is warm and full and surprisingly good for the money. I originally bought them to put in my garage and that is where they are going. I have ordered the Edifier s2000mkiii for my house. These cost this much and from what I know of my other speakers they will be fantastic. Good luck on your search.

Pros: Easy to set up with a lot of inputs.

Cons: Harsh and fatiguing. These do not sound as good as Edifier 1700BTS. You don't always have to spend a lot of money to get a good solid sound.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Feel & Power +++++

Marvin from Brooklyn, NY on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a recently purchased pair of Klipsch bookshelf speakers, that malfunctioned, I returned those and on the same day ordered these. Thanks to Crutchfield for the zero-hassle return policy and for getting me these Fives, both within 5 days, amazing! These are much better than the bookshelves I had previously bought. Everything deeper, wider and more full. Sadness of blown speakers turned into gladness for leveled-up speakers that blow my mind. I can't speak to audiophile specifics in a way that articulates them without tech speak...I can only review off of feel and power...I feel the music and it's power more than I ever have (for the space that I have). Thank you!

Pros: Feel and power.

Cons: Might require patience and financial restraint in order to save in order to purchase...if you're from the working class.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Good Bass

Ryan from Fort Collins, CO on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think these little speakers has great bass and highs. And a really good looking powered speaker. But i think i'm going to get a subwoofer, just a bass head i guess lol.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not a Soundbar Killer

Clifford from ARVADA, CO on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I honestly don't know why Klipsch market these speakers as "soundbar killers", because they aren't. After spending two days with these little guys, I couldn't wait to get the Sonos Soundbar that these were supposed to replace put back in place. Based on all of the reviews, I really wanted to love these little speakers, but they simply are no match for a high-end soundbar. The dialog gets lost, and soundbars seem to handle surround sound spatial effects better. These speakers will do 2.1 fairly well, but they are no replacement for my more expensive 2.1 hi-fi system that I already have. They are capable of producing a lot of sound for their size. The array of inputs in the back of these things is stellar. The finish is very nice, and even my wife liked the way that they look. Just please go into this purchase with the understanding that this may not be the replacement for your current soundbar, and perhaps you should consider the new Klipsch soundbar instead if you are looking for something with dedicated AV applications.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Syracuse, NY on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Klipsch what can I say!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Exceeded hogh expectations

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sounding speakers I've ever owned. Extremely easy to set up and connect to many different devices. The stunningly flexible interface, sound quality and aesthetics including tactile buttons are awesome. Don't intend to hook up a sub as the bass is more than ample.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Soundbar Upgrade.

Crutchfield customer from Stevens Point, WI on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Fives replaced a Zvox Soundbase in our family room. Movies sound great, voices are clear and the soundtracks come alive, all without adding a subwoofer. However the real great improvement is listening to music. Whether it be cds or playing iTunes through Bluetooth the Fives give a nice soundstage. Hookup is easy, currently using digital optical from 11 year old Sony tv. Can control sound with cable remote. Love my Fives, never going back to soundbars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Abingdon, VA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a small package Placed in an area that was not possible to have input from anything but Bluetooth

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product overall, amazing materials, sound is good for music but not exceptional for the TV, especially due to very high bass and a not perfect volume control. Below a certain volume level, basses are too strong to enjoy the film. Over that volume, the song is equilibrate, but such volume level is too high to be used during the night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great speakers but....

Robert from Sheboygan, WI on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker pair just didn't work with our older technology.

Pros: Great pair according to the ratings

Cons: Doesn't pair well with some older technology

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Washington, IL on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and can get loud if needed. Far better than a soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cool

Peter from LOS ANGELES, CA on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its like drinking cold water on a Hot summer day. A really refreshing sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from MILWAUKEE, WI on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is phenomenal and the setup could not be any more convenient. Simply plug the hdmi from the active speaker to the arc port on your TV; no amp or receiver necessary. Decodes 24/192 PCM. They look and perform much better than a sound bar. Make the switch now

Pros: Sound, convenience, beauty

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing Sound!

Crutchfield customer from Medford, NY on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are amazing speakers!!! I cannot believe the full rich sound that comes out of these little powerhouses! They produce incredible bass for such a small cabinet. They don't necessarily need a sub but I paired them with a 10inch Elac powered sub and together they rival my multi-thousand dollar home system !

Pros: Amazing sound, easy connectivity , multi source inputs, sub out.

Cons: Short cable between left and right speaker

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Expensive but good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Fives

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound!! Easy set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Fives

Crutchfield customer from Shortsville, NY on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are so nice it's hard to describe. Easy hookup, tv remote works effortlessly. Bluetooth is perfect. But most importantly perfect sound. Deep base, clarity. Simply the best. Ditch your soundbar.

Pros: These produce perfect sound for music and the TV both!!!

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from White Hse Sta, NJ on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I figured I would try these to replace my computer speakers although the reviews I read stated that the base may be a little too much. After getting them I made sure that they were separated a healthy distance and told them in toward the seat and not too close to the wall. This seem to work in the speaker sound great probably one of the best speakers I've ever listen to but I am not an expert on speakers. These also work great as a alternative to a sound bar. Especially if you do not want to spend a ton of money on a system. They also have lots of inputs including hdmi arc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Shockingly Good!

Rod from Pflugerville, TX on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent a lot of money and effort over the years on various high end music systems and some mediocre home theater systems. We moved a few months ago and I wanted to simplify my life a little. The Fives in walnut are beautifully finished and have a very high quality look. The knobs on the primary speaker are machined aluminum that is very tactile. I mostly use the included remote but they look great. They have multiple inputs including Bluetooth, digital USB and optical, HDMI ARC, Phono/analog and a 3.5mm jack and a subwoofer out. The only other input I would like is AirPlay but I have an Apple TV so I can use that. With the HDMI ARC the volume can be controlled with the TV remote. These speakers are remarkably flexible. I think they sound great. Without a sub they use DSP to boost the base. They are rear ported so don't put them too close to the wall. Surprising amount of bass. I added a sub for placement flexibility. They are really smooth and detailed on the high end which I was not expecting. The midrange is a bit warm. They can play shocking loud for what they are. I prefer the midrange with the sub. Just seems more detailed and less colored. I used the Klipsch Connect app to update the firmware but it doesn't do anything else. They have promised an EQ function in the future. I couldn't be happier with these speakers. I am listening to lots more music lately. Shockingly good.

Pros: Lots of inputs HDMI ARC is a game changer Punch way above their weight Great build quality and style

Cons: Proprietary cable could be an issue No WiFi connectivity No EQ control other than to turn DSP on/off

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Top of the line.

Crutchfield customer from Ogdensburg, NY on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sound and setup options of any tv speaker on the market today.

Pros: If it's klipsch it's the best

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound