Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Klipsch Forte III

Floor-standing speaker (Ebony Special Edition)

MFR # 1065922

Klipsch Forte III

Klipsch Forte III

Floor-standing speaker (Ebony Special Edition)

MFR # 1065922

26 reviews
View this product

Stratford

Kevin from Stratford on 10/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speaker I have ever bought.always sounds better than yesterday.

Pros: Every thing there's too love about a horn loaded speaker.with a fantastic 12" woofer in front &a passive 15" woofer in back to really extend the bass.

Cons: Heavy speakers you're going to need help.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They do a lot of things well, but were just too bright for my taste. The harmonica on most of Bob Dylan's songs, some of my favorites, was so unpleasant that I had to change the song.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

PISCATAWAY

Reginald from PISCATAWAY on 9/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

"Oh My God" Are You Kidding Me?? If you're still on the fence about the Klipsch Forte lll You better Get Off. I have heard many great speaker through the years, and the Klipsch Forte lll has been the most impressive to my ears. I don't care what your genre of music throw at them classical, Jazz, hard rock, or R&B the Forte lll will naturally adapt.I will say if you're willing to spend $4000.00 on a pair, go all out and match them with great gear and cables. They are hand crafted in Hope Arkansas with several beautiful finishes and the engineers at Klipsch made sure to improve on a classic without sacrificing nostalgia. No new vacuum cleaner looking speakers here. if you're looking for a great sounding, well built classic looking speaker that can hang with the best of them in this price range look on further the Klispch Forte lll is the speaker for you. I have never been bored listening to this speaker, the more you play them the better they sound. So get off that fence, go listen to them and compare them to other speakers, then call Crutchfield and order you a pair.

Pros: Great Speaker.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 7/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound awesome. Very clear highs and mids. Extremely good bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the most exciting speaker I have owned under $35,000 (and I have owned many). It is rare to find a speaker that plays beautifully and so full at lower volumes. Full volume will absolutely amaze you. With a 12" woofer in the front and a 15" passive radiator in the back it should totally satisfy the rockers. The horn midrange and tweeter are crystal clear and absolutely smooth. I use an upper range SS amp but, because of the 99db efficiency, a small powered tube amp should be more than adequate. Another advantage is they can be placed as close as 6" to the back wall. I have a smallish 12W x 13L x 10H room and I am convinced they will also perform great in a much larger space. To get this product for this price, when it outperforms others at 9X the price, is a true bargain. I was fortunate to get the Special Edition ebony matte black. Crutchfield is awesome.

Pros: Physical and musical beauty

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A Bygone Era Reborn

Joseph from Minden, NV on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't even know where to begin other than to say, do yourself a favor and give these a listen. Hands-down the best sounding pair of speakers I've ever owned and I've owned plenty since the 80's. You just can't get sound like this from 6-inch'ish drivers, you just can't. I've changed out so many speakers and components and spent so much money over the years looking for that perfect sound and I believe I've finally found it. This is how speakers sounded back-in-the-day, big, spacious, and in command of every nuance. I haven't even broken mine in yet but I've thrown some Coltrane, Stirling, Colbie Caillat, Thievery Corporation, Adele, Queen, Lifehouse, Flock of Seagulls, David Lanz, Chvrches, and OMG, everything sounds fresh, alive, and new. I listened to Klipsch speakers decades ago and I always held the opinion, like many do, that they sounded harsh at the upper-end. These are not harsh at all; they simply articulate well. I'm driving mine with a Marantz SR7011 receiver, NAD CD player, and Rega P3 turntable with Vincent phono pre-amp. I chose Crutchfield because of their return policy, if I didn't like the speakers I could return them with no questions asked. These babies found themselves a home for life.

Pros: Articulate, Crisp, and Full-Bodied Sound Warm and Silky Mid-Range Vintage Looks Heavy and Stable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Out of this world!

Steve from Milwaukee on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally pulled the trigger on these, as replacements for my beloved 27 year old Klipsch KG 4.2's. In a word, these speakers are stunning. The range, separation, depth and clarity are simply amazing. You've heard the cliche "I'm hearing things in music I'd never heard before". My new Forte iii's are proving this, time and again. From Opeth to Miles, Porcupine Tree to XTC, Phish to Floyd, I'm amazed with what these speakers are capable of. I'm running these with a Pioneer A-S701 integrated amp and an NAD C-546BEE CD player, and it's heaven. Worth every penny!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, SC on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only one word comes to mind - magnificent. Excellent sound at every volume. Bass is deep and tight. There is no harshness in the treble. I really like these speakers. They were an outstanding upgrade for my system.

Pros: Every sound that comes out of them

Cons: Weight

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pricey but you get what you pay for

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, NJ on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I will start by saying these are a bit pricey. But you do get what you pay for in this case. Made in the US, real wood veneer beautifully done and a sound you just have to hear. Very open and detailed in sound with great bottom end. Drums sound like they are in your living space and some instruments really come out due to the horn mid . At times the mids can get a little much depending on what type of music or recording but still using a Aidiocontrol eq I tamed that easily for my taste. I have been speaker building for a long time as well as playing in bands in my younger days, I wanted to see what was out there and researched like crazy. These came into view and with the help of Crutchfield's 60 day return policy , I dove in and glad I did. I wanted to buy my next set of speakers as my last and I do believe I'm there

Pros: Sound , looks

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound. Lacks slightly on bottom end.

Mike from Eugene, OR on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The highs and mids on these speakers is outstanding. Crisp and clear across all music genres. My only gripe, and it's a slight one, is that there is not quite enough punch on the bottom end. Overall a very good speaker.

Pros: Highs and mids are crystal clear.

Cons: Lacks some bottom end punch.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Should have bought these a long time ago

Mike from St Charles, IL on 2/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are simply perfect. I play only vinyl through my system, and the upgrade to Klipsch Fortes made a tremendous difference. The low end bass tones are totally natural sounding, the mid and high tones are perfectly matched. Albums that used to sound just ok now sound fantastic. At times, it almost seems like the performer is in my music room. In this case, you certainly get as much or more than you pay for. I listen to a variety of genres, and all sound great on these. I have never heard a pair of speakers get the drum sound so perfectly. All instruments sound great, but the crash of orchestral symbols is amazing. The mellow sound of an acoustic guitar sounds exactly like the instrument live. If you have a good system, an upgrade to these speakers would be a great change. I love mine, and they also look great. (Distressed Oak). I had a few issues with my delivery folks, but Crutchfield was very helpful even though it was not their fault. The customer service at Crutchfield is remarkable, and these folks know their stuff.

Pros: Perfect sound, well balanced, picks up so many nuances of the recording.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent bass and crisp sound

Ishar from Hayward, Ca on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i bought a pair in 1988 and just upgraded my receiver to Yamaha TBA7I50 and they sound excellent. Very good quality product. i will only buy Klipsch.

Pros: Sound is clear without distortion.

Cons: Its heavy but real wood isnt light.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 16 found this helpful

Blast from the past!

Jerry from Fort Worth, TX on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A BLAST from the 70's! I bought these speakers for my 2-channel rig, and they took me right back to that sweet analog sound of the 70's! Could not be happier!

Pros: Clean and articulate Classic Klipsch sound

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Good Stuff

Donald from Sacramento, CA on 8/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are very good at handling a variety of music at different listening volumes. They are clear, detailed and have great bass.

Pros: Excellent build quality, excellent and clear sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Bring Live Music into your Livingroom

Elaine from Pensacola, FL on 7/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had my Forte III speakers for 6 months now...they are paired with the Yamaha A-S2100 Integrated Amp. They sound so warm, rich and just beautifully made. Fall in love with your music collection all over again!

Pros: Beautiful speakers Amazing sound Crutchfield rocks!

Cons: Should have bought them ages ago

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Forte 3's

Jeff from Mcallen, TX on 5/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful speaker. Sound amazing. Customer service exceeded my expectations. B & H has lost a long-standing customer. Many thanks

Pros: look great and sound even better.

Cons: Nope

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III

lewis from Fort Worth, TX on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got the Forte's to replace a pair of Heresy II's in a combination music / surround system. The added bass also allowed me to eliminate the powered sub-woofer that only played in surround mode. Fo music the Forte's are a dramatic improvement on the low end. There is obviously more bass, but more importantly the bass is clearer and cleaner, and even with music where the bass and drums are played very softly (for example Stan Getz) they remain audible and distinct. Midrange is also more clear and distinct, while the highs are about the same as the Heresy's. For surround, audio-visual modes, the bass is a huge improvement. The subwoofer emitted plenty of generic low noise, but the Forte's let you distinguish which objects on the screen are exploding at any given moment. They also allow aging ears to understand softly spoken dialogue, and the midrange again benefits here from raising the crossovers and letting the low speaker handle more of the work. There is also an advantage in using the Cambridge surround amp rather than whatever was in the subwoofer. I love my Heresy II's (I've had them for 25 years, and also have a pair of the III's), but I love these more. Appearance: Crutchfield special ordered the distressed oak veneer for me. It's beautiful. The wood is a light chocolate brown with gray in the knots. Technical: My amp provides 170 watts per channel in direct music mode, 125 in surround, more than enough. The Forte's blend well with Klipsch center and si

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III + McInstosh MC302 = O.M.G.

Patricio from Santiago, Chile on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received my Forte III just a couple of days ago, in addition to a McIntosh MC302 P.A. My first impression ?: 3 words: O.M.G.! This match sent me straight to heaven! and I'm still making positioning adjustments. Amazing soundstage. Clear, sharp and precise highs, absolutely present and live mids, and a balanced lows that give the level of presence you can find in a live show !. I must admit that I am beginning to discover the true sound quality that this "couple of monsters" can offer, however my ears (and eyes) are more than happy so far. Thanks Klipsch! ... thanks McIntosh! I recommend Both 100% !

Pros: Soundstage, presence, build, rich "live" sound, nice "vintage" look, powerful sound!

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Depth and Clarity to rival Cornwalls

Gary from Mount Olive, AL on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a pair of Klipsch Forte IIIs for use as the main right and left front speakers in my home theater system. System sometimes doubles as a music system for parties upstairs (main tube hi-fi is downstairs). The Fortes are fantastic. Great depth, amazing clarity, full and honest bass. Couldn't be happier with them. The modest footprint for such a grown-up speaker makes it really convenient to fit in with other components.

Pros: Smaller footprint but Full-Sized Sound

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III

Crutchfield customer from Ankeny, IA on 2/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best term to describe these is "balanced". I have a couple pairs of the original Forte I that have upgraded drivers and crossovers. After extensive comparison between the upgraded Forte I and the Forte III, I can say this new model will not disappoint. I do think the upgraded Forte i has a deeper bass response and slightly more articulate high end, but the Forte III gets the nudge for overall balance and sound stage presentation. If you are experienced at upgrading speakers, you can get a used pair of Forte I or Forte II fairly cheaply, upgrade the drivers and crossovers, and have a very nice set of speakers. But, none the less, the redesigned Forte III is well worth the purchase price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

audio nirvana

james from waukesha,wi on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just got my Forte`s last week, and a shout out to Buddy at crutchfield for all his help. thank you. I can only say one word....WOW...after upgrading from a pair of bose 901 to the forte`s I was in audio nirvana.what a great speaker, sounds good with all types of music, rock, jazz, classical....very impressed and very very happy.great soundstage, big sound....excellent last speakers I ever need to buy.....

Pros: everything

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III BK

Terry from Nashville, AR on 12/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A set of speakers this expensive should perform superbly. They do. Was initially interested in a pair of old Heresy speakers until I discovered Mr. Klipsch initially designed the old Heresies, not the current Heresy III, as interior complementary speakers for his Klipschorns. Then I went to Crutchfield and talked to Otis, one of their very knowledgeable advisors, and he recommended the Forte III's. I couldn't be happier with the choice, plenty of bass, and midrange and treble performance is a great improvement over my old 60's-era Altec Lansing 15" Duplex speakers. For those who may be interested, I am driving these with a Dynaco PAT5 preamp and a Dynaco S416, two kits that I put together way back when (the late 70's). My computer is my music server, but with the Dynaco stuff I don't have a dedicated DAC. Have a Yamaha A-S801 (also bought from Crutchfield), which has its own supposedly superb DAC, waiting in the wings for when my Dynaco system goes belly-up....may never happen, so am going stick in the Yamaha next week and see how it does. The Dynaco's may become the standby for the Yamaha...sob, sob...feel like I would be running out on my best friend, but I expect Otis would tell me that I won't go back to the Dynaco amp/preamp units..

Pros:

Cons: Only one con: No Klipsch emblem on front of speaker, only Forte III.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Finest balanced sound from works of art

Charles from Las Vegas, Nevada on 10/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nowhere could I find comparison of the Forte III to Forte II. Now here it is. Amplifiers: Sansui. CD players: Oppo95 and 205, Tube Research Labs modified Sony 595. Speakers: ESS AMT 1B, 1D and Ltd Ed; Klipsch Forte I, Forte II, Forte III, Chorus, RF-7. With ESS since 1978; 20 years with Forte II, Chorus and RF7. Music: Liszt, Bach, Mozart, Beethoven - piano, string quartets, cathedral organ; Stevie Nicks, Debby Harry, Norah Jones, Hope Sandoval, Jewel, Donna Lewis, Ann Wilson, Shawn Colvin, Margo Timmins, Ani DiFranco, Roberta Flack, Alison Krauss, Miranda Lambert, Annie Lennox, Sarah McLachlan, Regina Spektor, Whitney Houston, Joni Mitchell, Neko Case, Tori Amos, Gabriella Cilmi, Nelly Furtado, Joan Jett, Lita Ford,, Gwen Stefani, Amy Winehouse, Emmy Lou Harris, Janis, Peggy Lee, Cindy Lauper, Courtney Love, Meredith Brooks, Christine McVie.... The Doors, Dylan, Duane Eddy, cathedral organ SACDs... I will never part with my ESS AMTs. Perfect highs and lows. The Fortes revealed the hole in the ESS midrange. Fortes are perfectly balanced. Fortes at one end of the room and ESS at the other is perfection. Now, Forte III. No need to A/B with the earlier Fortes. The difference is cosmic. The Forte III has it all, possibly the finest of all time. Explosive. Forte II is balanced. Forte III is balanced, sweet & ballistic. Glad I splurged on the California Black Walnut Special Ed. Works of art. Even if you don't like music you want these in your home. Forget the Monets. UPDATED 10/23/17: Just ordered two more pair. This is a follow-up to my previous review, "finest balanced sound," to share unpacking instructions. 1. Place unopened box one box length from where you want to place the speaker. 2 "Open this end" leads to the speaker base. 3. Do not remove the protective sleeve - fold the top of it out of the way around the speaker base sides. 4. Gently tip the box on its side toward speaker placement. 5. Tip the box upside down, making sure the opened flaps are splayed out of the way, so that the base sits on the floor exactly where you want it. 6. Lift the box straight up and away. 7. Keep the box!! No need to cut or open anything other than the tape securing the "open this end" flaps. No need to drag these heavy things around to where you want them, risking damage. You gotta love how Klipsch designs even the box! Klipsch should write these instructions on the box top.

Pros: Finest balanced audio in the universe from any music at any volume

Cons: black base can stain carpet, recommend lightly sanding bottom of base when you first open the box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III

Guest from miami on 9/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great look! It's nice to see speakers that looks like speakers and not like vacuum cleaners! The sound...well....it's a Klipsch!!! it's like live!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Klipsch Forte III

Andrew from Rocky Hill, CT on 8/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Modern speaker with a great classic sound!

Pros: Simply one of the best sounding speakers, for the money, ever!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Lifelike Sound that Belies their Size

John J from NC on 8/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These CA blk walnut are beautiful cosmetically. The sound is formidable in the bass, mid and high ranges. The "sound stage" if you will is immediately noticeable and deep, lifelike, no matter the volume. The bass my old Heresy IIs couldn't quite make is in these Forte IIIs. You will have to position them in conjunction with the wall or corners to get the best out of the radiators. Mine are almost a foot out now. The highly sensitive Klipsch speakers do not require triple digit wattage to fill your home (and yard) with great sound. Bi-wired to a good Cambridge amp what I'm hearing does not sound like it's reproduced!

Pros: the Sound, the Appearance, the build quality, the Sound, a Good Little Investment

Cons: not safe for your neighbors

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP