Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
293 357 072 3
Connect ID #
293 357 072 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Bookshelf speakers

MFR # 1065839

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Bookshelf speakers

MFR # 1065839

144 reviews
View this product

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Kingsburg, CA on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little speakers pack a big punch.I couldn't believe the sound quality.I bought these to replace my vintage KLH 24's not thinking they could ever sound as good as those monsters,but I was pleasantly surprised by these little guys.I got the scratch and dent price which was pretty good and I couldn't find a single scratch on them.After hearing them on my Sony receiver I decided I wanted Bluetooth capabilities,which the Sony didn't have,I bought a Bluetooth capable Yamaha receiver from Crutchfied also a scratch and dent item to listen to my music on my phone.No scratches or dents or missing parts either.Very happy overall with Cruthfield as usual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy ears!

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the bright crisp sound of these Klipsch R-51M speakers. I wanted to replace my floor standing speakers with a wall mounted book shelf without compromising sound quality. I am using them as front channel speakers in my surround system paired with a 12" powered sub and klipsch r-52c center channel, along with my 4 surrounds to complete the 7.1 system. The sound quality is amazing, I am hearing details in both music and movies I have not heard in the past. I would recommend these to anyone wanting to add life to their entertainment experience without breaking the bank.

Pros: bright sound crisp highs great mid range, speaker size.

Cons: the primary drivers are 5" while they do great for what they are I strongly recommend a sub-woofer be paired to them to get the deepest/ richest tones

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dynamite Comes in Small Packages

Crutchfield customer from Mooresville, NC on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker, in keeping with Klipsch performance technologies. I used them as left and right rear surround units on my home entertainment system. Low range is being rolled off to a Klipsch powered subwoofer, however, the highs and mid range reproduction is crisp, clear and quite punchy. These speakers added a great deal of spacial quality to the total ambience of my system. I imagine they'd work just as well as front left and right in a small office or bedroom system. Crutchfield got them to me in less than 48 hours. Kudos to Crutchfield yet "again" for 5 star top notch sales and tech support services.

Pros: Crutchfield. Need I say anything more?

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, IN on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these speakers are what they are called, bookshelf, they may be small , but they sound Great, they sound better then many larger speakers,bass is great. would recomend them to others who are looking for small but powerfull speakers. i have an old Carver reciever with 140 watts per channel, they love the power, they sound great with a 100 plus watts going into them

Pros: excellent sound , great bass, they thrive for power

Cons: small

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for Action!

Matthew from DECATUR, MI on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers. I had a Polk soundbar before and didn't realize just how much better separate speakers could be over it. Watching Fury Road made me realize the difference. Hearing the engines roar from side to side was so much more immersive than before. Haven't listened to much high-def music on them but even from YouTube I had heard things I hadn't before from other speakers or headphones. Ivy, my Crutchfield Rep, helped me pick them out after my research and said they would be perfect for what I wanted. You can't get that service from other places and that's why I come back here.

Pros: Clarity Range

Cons: I can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Guest from Boonton, NJ on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Klipsch really did a fantastic job with these bookshelf speakers. Historically they're known for being on the "bright" shrill sounding. So far these have not bothered my ears after many hours of listening to them. They have a very lively sound to them. Very clean with a good sound stage. I've played Miles' "Birth of the Cool" and "Kind of Blue" and the horns came in very very nice and caused me no ear fatigue. Highly recommend!

Pros: Klipsch seem to have tone down the overly bright sound coming out of this model. They are articulate and clean sounding.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Weldon Spring, MO on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound, very satisfied!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Valley Stream, NY on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good set of speakers glad i purchase this product thank you.

Pros: sound quality & clarity is very good

Cons: none..

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big sound from a little speaker

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are my first set of Klipsch and will not be my last. Sound is excellent even at stupid high volumes - Had to break them in properly with some Distillers. I'm impressed at how much clear sound comes from a small speaker. I purchased these along with some Polk speakers and can definitely say they are better than the Polks.

Pros: Great bang for the buck.

Cons: Learning to pronounce the name

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Shamokin, PA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. Little less bass but overall sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent book shelf speakers that deliver at all volumes and music

Crutchfield customer from Whitefish Bay, WI on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent pair of speakers for my home office. I was looking for a pair of book shelf speakers to pair with a Cambridge Audio Topaz amp; not a tremendously powerful amp. With insightful, knowledgable help from Jasan, we alighted on the Klipsch. They work perfectly with the amp: remarkable clarity and separation and stage even at quieter volumes, exactly what I was hoping for. They work well for a wide range of genres of music, from orchestral to voice and solo instrumental.

Pros: Easily driven by 35 watt amp Tremendous clarity, stage, and separation Sound great when played quietly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

love them

Crutchfield customer from Indio, CA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible speakers for the price, I was lucky to catch them on sale I listen to all types of music from Blues, old country, reggae, and heavy metal are they handle it all extremely well ,chrystal clear with plenty of bottom couldn't be happier with them, already got my neighbor ready to purchase some

Pros: Very precise, clear and tight, extremely good for the price

Cons: Haven't found any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Knoxville

Mark from Knoxville on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only problem I have with these speakers is that they are masochists. They beg me to turn the volume knob to the right and I live in a condo!! When Robert Plant & Jimmie Page are tearing up "The Rover" these speakers practically scream to be let loose. And when I hear The Stones "Angie".....they almost make me cry. All my old music is new again by a factor of 100. If I were a Pharaoh I would want to be buried with these speakers. Aside from that......I don't have anything good to day about them:)

Pros: Everything

Cons: Just stop!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good sounding speakers

ERIC from Bronx, NY on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these because I was curios about Klipsh sound speaker were great sounded fine just didn`t fit in the space I had around my tv. returned them and purchased a pair of Plok Audio S-35`s

Pros: good sound

Cons: too big for my space

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Elegant and good sounding speakers, very satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Mason, MI on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an upgrade used with an older Yamaha Receiver (Made in Japan - 45 watts channel 20-20khz). Speakers are very efficient and sound very good. Only issue is with Bass. My rcvr has no Sub preamp output.

Pros: Very Efficient

Cons: Could use more low end. However my rcvr has no Sub preamp output to use with a Sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

Crutchfield customer from Florissant, MO on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially I bought the cheaper model to this and I was disappointed therefore I upgraded and bought these. Now I am happily awesome with these speakers for my bedroom because I can hear the bass and tweeter

Pros: Awesome soundS

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bookshelf beauty

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for a great price. First pair of bookshelf speakers and will make for a great full system at some point in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, OH on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good. First set. They handle everything great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bookshelves

Crutchfield customer from Crown Point, IN on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to fill a void left by taking my mains (Klipsch RF83's) for another system and needed something for the family home theater. Was a little anxious to hear if I would be satisfied based on what they were replacing. SURPRISE!!! These little dudes bring it. Have them on 28" stands as mains/fronts on a 5.1 being run by a Yamaha RX-V3900 (140WPC) AVR. They can keep up. Been listening to live studio concerts in bypass or straight mode in 2.1 configuration and they absolutely kill it. I wasn't expecting much at the price point but went with Klipsch to match the rest of the system and have been very happy with all of my Klipsch products in the past. More than happy with these guys. As expected, as bookshelves they would be hard to beat. As mains paired with a sub they have far exceeded my expectations. As a 5.1 surround they are more than adequate. And of course Crutchfield was great to work with as always.

Pros: Great price. Great service. Greater sound.

Cons: None really. A bit light and concerned they could fall off stands easily.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

As advertised, outstanding Klipsch product

Crutchfield customer from Navarre, FL on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound as advertised, really surprised with the solid bass sound. Perfect size and sound for a bookshelf speaker.

Pros: Nicely made, sound is perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Little Package

t from MD on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are Klipsch - do we need to say anything else? Great sound. Very pleased with the quality of comes out of these little guys. I could not be happier with the quality at a great price, which even price matched a big box store. Nothing like Crutchfield customer support and customer care. Placed in my home office which I wired to my Zone-2 of a Denon AVR-X3500H which I purchased from Crutchfield in November 2019 as an early Christmas gift to myself. I can control everything from my office via my iPad. But wait, I'm reviewing the speakers, the not receiver (awesome BTW)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

EXCELLENT SPEAKERS

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For such small speakers I was suprised at how warm & clear they sound--even better than my larger Paradigms which I thought were fine.

Pros: Rich & Warm

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Richard from TRABUCO CANYON, CA on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice looking speakers with or without the faceplate. Amazing sound from a bookshelf speaker. They get louder than my old tower speakers. Very detailed sound. I've used these in two locations with a low power Yamaha and a more robust RX-A1050. Both can drive these speakers well. Nice magnetic Face Plates.

Pros: Look Good, Very Efficient, Magnet Face is a nice touch. Very Loud.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

cine en casa

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

super sonido combinado 5.2

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Killer Klipsch!

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for the price point, could use a bit more bass but would need a larger enclosure for that. Otherwise, signature klipsch sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

speakers

Crutchfield customer from Capitol Heights, MD on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

Crutchfield customer from Clyde, NY on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Klipsch blew me away. So clear and precise. My avr set them to large with the crossover at 40. Wow 40, but that is in my bass heavy harsh room. First I used a Yammi 501 integrated amp. These will rock the house, give you clear movie audio. They will handle it all. Then I used a Yammi 481 avr, both rated at 80wpc. The integrated gave a louder result, the avr gave me room correction and bass control. The avr cleaned the sound up a lot, but in the end my ears are still ringing. My main system has a set of JBL 530s, they have spoiled me in my search for other speakers. I will be returning these, for a bookshelf with a soft dome tweeter. These are a very good product just not for me. Do not let the size of these worry you, big big sound.

Pros: Clear Clean Precise

Cons: Highs are not bright, but very very strong!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Cobleskill, NY on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast shipping, awesome sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Killer Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Port Royal, PA on 4/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Killer speakers at an affordable price!

Pros: sound good for a small price

Cons: Have none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What a Great Addition to my System

Crutchfield customer from Grand Blanc, MI on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They were on sale and I couldn't pass up the savings on these outstanding speakers. I use them as surround left and right speakers. I am not disappointed. The R-51Ms bring those channels to life. If you have the chance don't hesitate to buy these speakers. They are now part of an awesome Klipsch listening experience. My system employs the R-820F speaker for the fronts, RP-500C center speaker, the R-51M for the surrounds, the CDT-5650 C-II (2) for the surround back, the CDT-5650 C-II (2) for the middle height for Dolby Atmos and DTS-X and finally the R-12SW (1) sub and the R-120SW (1) sub. I also have a pair of vintage Acoustic Research AR-3 speakers for addition front sound. The system is powered by a Marantz SR7012 along with a OSD Black A5500 5 channel amp. I have both pairs of fronts and my center channel connected to the A5500. This works perfectly. I will add a picture later once I get them on their shelves.

Pros: They are Klipsch Speakers. They produce excellent sound. Small foot print

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice bookshelf/surround sound

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound love them

Pros: All around nice speaking looking another set

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent speakers for the money

Crutchfield customer from Richland, WA on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've paired these with a Yamaha receiver and I really enjoy the tonal quality they provide for my 90's records. They are such a magnificent upgrade that I'm going to be redoing my entire home entertainment system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cannot go Wrong

Ben from Seattle, WA on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, I have these hooked up to a receiver that is capable of 85W/channel. I really like these speakers. They perform great for a broad range of listening - news in the morning to music in the evening. The Klipsch has the iconic "higher" sound with the horn-tweeter, but I can listen to them all day with no fatigue. Balancing the levels helps when changing genres, etc. helps to get what you're looking for. At this price point for a quality passive speaker this is hard to beat, but if you're looking for a hifi setup - do some more research. This review is based on only having/experiencing a few other speakers to compare to.

Pros: Great Sound, Replicates music

Cons: Lacks Low Frequencies

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, NC on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best people to do business with. Great communications and quality all around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from P C Beach, FL on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers.Very speakers.Very impressed.Definitely recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Rockaway, NJ on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

From a first time buyer of audio equipment, easy set up and great sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Morganton, GA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A LOT OF MIDRANGE BRIGHTNESS,BUT THE BASS IS TIGHT, AND THE SOUND IS PRECISE! IM SURE AFTER A MONTH OF BREAKING IN AND REPOSITIONING{THEY ARE ON THEIR SIDES,FRONT SURROUNDS,7FT HIGH},THEY WILL SOFTEN. PAIRED WITH KLIPSCH 8IN. TOWERS AND SVS ELEVATION BACK SURROUND, OFF BRAND SUB AND CENTER. USING YAMAHA RX-A750 ,5.1,I THE THINK IT SOUNDS BETTER THAN THE 7.2,MADE ALL SPEAKERS SMALL IN COFRIGURATION. SOME MUSIC SOUNDS FANTASTIC, OTHER MUSIC COMPRESSED!

Pros: TIGHT BASS,PRECISE

Cons: RASPY MIDRANGE, COULD BE SMOOTHER,SOFTER

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

amazing for the price..

Crutchfield customer from Batavia, OH on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Klipsch R-51M speakers are amazing. I bought them for my rear channel speakers for my home theater but they are so good I think I might move them to a different room and use them for bookshelf speakers and add my older NHT 10inch subwoofer.. Highly recommend..

Pros: Very clear and precise music reproduction..

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Rear Surround Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new Klipsch Reference R-51M speakers. They are perfect for my surround system and serve as the rear surround speakers. I replaced a set of speakers I have had for years. I am very pleased with the sound they produce.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Carteret, NJ on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds real good. Handles alot more then it's rated for. Also speedy delivery

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Happy With These Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers work really well for surround sound. Very pleased with the system I bought.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 1/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers give a nice clear sound. The highs are very bright and over power the midrange. Overall good speakers for the price.

Pros: Good clean sound

Cons: Very bright highs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Rego Park, NY on 1/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, GA on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great. Using as rear speakers. Great for listening to Classic Rock at a high volume.

Pros: Great price. Well worth the money. Shipment was here on time with no issues.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Adjuntas , PR on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shocking sound Where it is music or a movie, they sound spectacular.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Montpelier, VA on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best front speakers at great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

James David from San Diego, CA on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the 2018 Klipsch 5.1.2 Reference Series for my Christmas Present. R-820F(2), R-34C (1), R-51M (2), R-41SA (2), R-120SW (1). Coming from a 90's Marantz setup, this is truly a major upgrade. The new setup sounds and works amazing and is perfect compliment for our new LG OLED experience. I would recommend this system and all the speakers we purchased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice speakers good as surround speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted better surround speakers. I was looking at floor speakers but these were on sale. With stands they sit at a better height. I brought a pair of older Klipsch I own into the AV system I was putting together and Klipsch would match, look good, on sale are competitive in price point. I noticed with my older Klipsch the horn tweeter is good off axis and directional meaning it sounds good off angle a bit but directs the sound. A larger choices than some other models but not too big to look good on a stand. By adding Klipsch subs and center channel I have mostly Klipsch with 5 big horn tweeters pointing at me and 12 woofers not including the non Klipch overhead speakers. As stand alone speaker I can't comment but could be nice with a sub. As a surround speaker they are great and bring nice clear dialogue closer to you. Would recommend. Crutchfield is great offering sale prices that match Klipsch or other sellers but with better shipping and service.

Pros: Good looking good size good sounding good price point on sale.

Cons: Back is a little unfinished looking compared to some other speakers but does match the long of their sub.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Rocks!

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent bookshelf speaker. Balanced sound, with a surprising amount of bass for its size. An excellent "all-rounder" that can handle any genre of music. Jet black color will fit into almost any decor. Highly Recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Locust Valley, NY on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product for the book shelf.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great performance for the money.

Crutchfield customer from Shamokin, PA on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers exceeded expectations. Getting them at half price on a special purchase was a steal. Perfect for my living room as an add-on to my home entertainment system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install. Excellent sound for the size of the speakers. Would definitely purchase again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Madisonville, TN on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Running as front and rear side channels on my 5.1 setup. 100watts does t come close to taxing them. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Home theater journey

Crutchfield customer from Shelby Twp, MI on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all I would like to thank Crutchfield representative, River for her patience and understanding for the goal of completing a more extensive home theater system. What I was trying to accomplish was to expand a 5.1 to a 9.2 home theater system. Rather than discarding my Bose Acoustimass 10 Series speakers, I wanted to suppliment them with Klipsch Reference speakers, I found that Klipsch speakers were quite compatible with my existing Bose , I replaced my center channel of the Bose with the Klipsch R-34C which provided far greater clairty of dialogue. At first I used the R-41M for surroundsound back channels but replaced them with the R-51M which provided a far greater presence. Owing to the fact that that I might be considered OCD by others, I don't like to walk into a room full of speakers which is one of the main reasons I orginally bought the Bose in the first place. With the size of the R-51 M was easily able to blend them into the background. Finally, I added another subwoofer R-10 SWi. I know you wanted a review of the R51M not diatribe of my system but after a month long process, I felt intitled. Now, prior to connecting the R-51M speakers to the home theater system, I set them up as bookshelf speakers for non-scientific testing. I found the high level range (tweeter) very good with the midrange adaquate. The base is clear without rolling over and thumping. Once again thanks to River for her patience on my home theater journey.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Front Surround Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers for my front surround sound system. More than some more expensive competitor offerings. They are matched with other Klipsch speakers in my new setup.

Pros: Size and clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Alex from Lynden, WA on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This should complete my 7.2 After I get my R 820 in To replace my F2 Its sound pretty good

Pros: These are great speakers The sound is awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Christoval, TX on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound , but weak on low end. These are great if you are completing a surround system, but if planning to utilize the as your primary speakers in a small stero set up you may want a subwoofer.

Pros: Price, size, quality of mid and high range reproduction, quality of the units themselves

Cons: Weak low end reproduction

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

EDWARD from Richmond, TX on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never thought I would get such a big sound from such a small speaker. Yet, it works just fine for our bedroom, and could actually work in another part of the house. Overall, it works fine right out of the box.

Pros:

Cons: Nothing at this time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Park, TX on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound! I'm using these as my surround speakers. I haven't mounted them yet (I plan to) but they sound good as is. I don't know how they'd sound as front speakers, I haven't tried that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great

Crutchfield customer from West Paducah, KY on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good for the money bought for my mom with a Yamaha AVR unit Bluetooth EXCELLENT and speakers worth every penny.. Crutchfield is great to deal with one. The speakers are impressive. KNIGHTRACE

Pros: great for money

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nítido

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brutal el sonido

Pros: Profesional

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Blairs, VA on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these speakers for my office. They sound amazing! Crisp clear highs and clean, tight mids. I paired them with a pioneer 2 channel receiver and a Klipsch 12" powered subwoofer for the ultimate office setup and i couldn't be happier! They also look amazing for an aesthetically pleasing modern look that i absolutely love. I even convinced one of my coworkers to buy him a set! Absolutely would recommend and these speakers are just another reason I love Klipsch!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Pocatello, ID on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound without a big investment in money or space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Kennett, MO on 11/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers

Pros: Small but powerful, great sound, very stylish

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am revisiting my vinyl collection and these speakers sound great. Not looking for wall shaking sound anymore. These speakers are very clean but still give the bass a thump.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

A Great Buy

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are extremely pleased with our new Klipsch speakers. They are connected to a new Sony receiver in our cosy listening room. No TV, just music. Look good, fit well, put out awesome crisp, clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Massapequa Park, NY on 10/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic Speakers As Always!

Michael from Woodstock, GA on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had a great set of Reference speakers in my basement theater for 15 years now and they still stand up to anything new out there. When I was upgrading my living room TV to 4K I wanted a little more thump than the old Jamo surrounds (which were good speakers) I had there. So I went with the R-51s for the fronts and R-34 center for a little 3.1 upgrade. I wanted something to feel a bit higher end but not a full theater set-up as I have the full deal in the basement. This is perfect. I am so happy I am a whole home Klipsch guy now. They need a few more hours to really break in, as I remember my other second took a bit to hone in. But the upgrade is obvious. The center makes the dialogue so much clearer and for a discreet setup paired with a decent sub I get a pretty good bit of thump. Movies in 4K on the new 65" are just going to be that much better now for everyday use instead of having to retreat to the basement. I won't buy another speaker that is not Klipsch going forward. Truly the best in sound for the value and performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clearer than SSF-7000's

Crutchfield customer from Warrenton, VA on 9/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went from a pair of Sony floor standing speakers (SSF-7000) to this along with a nice SVS subwoofer, and while sometimes I do miss the bit of a punch from the mid bass the Sony's had, the clarity is worlds apart and the music now fills the room in a way that I had only read about. I think perhaps my room was too small for towers, because these sound incredible and look nicer here too.

Pros: Clarity

Cons: Lacking punch found in lower mids characteristic of tower speakers

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Cuba, AL on 8/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers...I was worried going with bookshelf spearkers for the front mains, but that worry left when the first sound of Neil Peart's drum solo came booming thru these little speakers...Awesome is all I can say...I have these for front and rear surround and the 502c center paired with a R10swi sub...The receive is a Sony DN 1080...Great little system with a big, bold and clear sound

Pros: The sound...Clean and dynamite does come in small packages..

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Denise from Haverhill, MA on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these as the back surround speakers. I debated over doing more surround speaker but I am not disappointed at all. They are so clean and clear. It doesn't matter if I am listening to music or watching a movie. No regrets. These are excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powering these with a vintage Kenwood KA 9100. They can handle the power and deliver clean crisp sound for such small speakers. Very happy with my purchase. I am going to hook up to my semi-vintage Adcom power amp and see if they are just as clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jack

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 7/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound for a speaker of this size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Topeka, KS on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had them for a week or so. Listened with Pandora prob 5-7 hours, and watched a couple movies on Netflix. I know people talk about the horn design being harsh or beaming when you sit on axis with them, but I don't notice it at all. I'm very happy with them and I've had large tower speakers before. These sound bigger than they are.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bob M

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Gdn, NC on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small package with big clear wonderful sound I'd do it all over again and I will if I catch them on sale

Pros: Quality product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sounding speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Cedar, MI on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great and we like them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Garrettsville, OH on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little guys pack a punch. I received 4 of them for Father's Day to replace my old surround and rear channels. I love them.

Pros: Beautiful clean design with or without the covers.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Rockdale, IL on 5/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Van Buren, OH on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I actually purchased these for height speakers for my system. Ive had klipsch speakers on my home sound systems for years and love them. You will love them even more with the right reciever. I upgraded from a yamaha to an onkyo and wow its amazing. Ive had no warranty work done on klipsch speakers even the ones that Ive owned for 12 plus years. For my budget this is the only speaker brand I buy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Darby, MT on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounted in master bedroom with wall mounts, looks and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Has Really Upped Their Game

Crutchfield customer from Monona, WI on 4/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All of the audiophiles gave these speakers glowing reviews. Add in Crutchfield's end of year discount and that sealed the deal. Klipsch has lately addressed issues that made prospective buyers reluctant to buy their horn speakers in the past. I was pleasantly surprised at how good these sounded at this price point. Bring 'em to the dance and they could be the life of the party!

Pros: Better driver integration makes for an impressive performance.

Cons: Klipsch has been pretty much a "you either love 'em or hate 'em" proposition. These will convince some, but not all.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros: Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Thatcher, AZ on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking speakers with the traditional crisp sound of Klipsch!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Coos Bay, OR on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works good with my system, thinking about two for the back of the room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Used as surrouds

Crutchfield customer from Martinsburg, WV on 4/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another pair of speakers caught on sale makes the price really good. Have these as surrounds to a matching Reference series setup. I did not try these as stand alone speakers because I like a bigger sound for 2 channel music. As for surrounds on movie playback they sound nice turned up to get that theater sound in your movie room. Good speakers with enough watts and a small footprint for home theater use.

Pros: Good value for the money

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Big Sound From A Small Package

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply A Great Sounding Bookshelf Speaker. You Would Not Be Sorry With This Purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, WI on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the speaker, great sound and size for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Egg Hbr Twp, NJ on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers have perfect blend of sound for my home theater and music taste.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Northern Pa on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very nice sounding speakers, compliment the rest of the system very well. Delivery was fast and customer service excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

They sound great

Crutchfield customer from Battle Creek, MI on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They reproduce sound in a excellent way. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros: Sound very well for the size of the speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Paul from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers

Pros: Sound great Clear

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and perfect size for my bookcase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Customer Service as good as ever.

Derwin from San Juan, PR on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received these on time from Crutchfield. One connected notice something was wrong as one speaker was louder than the other. After quick checks to cables and amplifier discovered that on one speakers only the tweeter was working, not the woofer. Immediately requested a return on line which was shortly followed by a friendly call from a Crutchfield representative. Return authorization together with return shipping label was provided. As expected will have to wait for the return to arrive before the replacement pair is shipped. Have been purchasing from Crutchfield for over 20 years and is good to know their customer service continues to be as good as ever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 27 found this helpful

Great Speaker

Katie from Osage, IA on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp, great sounding speakers. Impressive bass to them as well. Perfect speaker for a great price!

Pros: great price. crisp clear sound. Impressive bass for size.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

brandon from Honolulu, HI on 2/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

James from Macon, GA on 2/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love'em, awesome sound!!

Pros: Can put them anywhere because of size, never imagined the sound quality that they put out!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Warren from Malone, NY on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just a amazing Speaker. I just love the sound Quality.

Pros: Great Quality Sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Elma, NY on 2/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

exellent speaker,goes well with my system,used as front heights along with 820 fronts,14m heights 2,24f as suround,14s rear with a marantz 7012 and external amp.

Pros: got them on sale,great deal

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent system component

Stan from Dayton, OH on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think that the only way to review this is as a system, which in my case is comprised of a Sony STR-DH590 Home Theater Receiver, three Klipsch R-51M bookshelf speakers (using one as a center channel speaker), and a Klipsch R10SWi wireless subwoofer. The Sony STR-DH590 is, in my opinion, a very good receiver, and I think its sound enhancement features significantly improves the sound of the Klipsch speakers and brings the sound out of the speaker enclosures. I think that a subwoofer is needed with the R-51Ms to produce adequate bass, however.

Pros: Capable of very clean, crisp sound

Cons: Need the help of a subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Walter from Aiken, SC on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are clear with a good mix of highs and lows for a bookshelf type. I was between these and a similar polk model. The highs are just better with klipsch. If your speakers are the same brand you wont know any difference. If you mix and match your speakers,you will have to compensate. I would make the same purchase if i had to do it all over again.

Pros: Great balanced sound with a Denon receiver.

Cons: Nothing so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound, could be more efficient

Kent from Bayside, NY on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these for a stereo setup - not home theater. Nice sound stage. Very acceptable bass for the speaker's size. Full tonal range perfect for any type of music. I was surprised to find that I need to pump my receiver (100w/channel), up to 50% power for good volume from all sources ( phono, blue tooth, pc), other than the tuner. Otherwise I'm very pleased with these Klipsch R-51Ms. Banana plug capable terminals would be nice.

Pros: Sound Quality Range Price

Cons: Efficiency Not banana plug compatible

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Glen Burnie, MD on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound up front with R41m in rear with Klipsch10 inch wireless sub. All I need for my 16x16 room.

Pros: Compact, low profile. Great combo

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great alone of with system

Denes from Germantown, NY on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker alone. Sound amazing and very level and clear throughout range coupled with R820F. Definitely significant sound for the size. They port the enclosure to the rear, so they need room away from the wall!

Pros: Great sound at this price level

Cons: I want more of them!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value.

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, IN on 1/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall very impressed with these speakers. I am running 4 of them as part of a 5.1 setup with a Klipsch 12" subwoofer and a Denon 740 for power. Range is fantastic, and bass is respectable for the size. I have driven them hard, and have yet to hear them strain under load. I can hear some hand off between the sub and the front channels during challenging movie scenes, but I suspect that may be remedied with some crossover tweaking. I would buy these again for sure, and at the sale price, nothing comes close.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Kris from Anaheim, CA on 1/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the crisp sound. Bought a pair in last month while on sale and it is a great addition to the home theater system.

Pros: Good sound Good price Good choice

Cons: Have not seen any cons yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch R-51M - Awesome

Dave from St Louis, MO on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just bought a pair of these on sale and I'm really impressed. They're bookshelf speakers but I have them on a carpeted floor. The first thing I tried was the CD soundtrack from Isle of Dogs and the Japanese drumming sounded phenomenal. Incredible bass from these small speakers! Then played a Mozart violin concerto and the midrange and highs are equally phenomenal. Some of the best sounding speakers I've ever owned in over 50 years, and extremely impressed especially at the price.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound!

George from Homewood, IL on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got two pairs, one for front L/R, one for surround. Together with a Klipsch R-120SW Subwoofer and an Onkyo TX-NR585 I have an awesome sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Rosharon, TX on 1/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 2 pairs of these speakers for my system. One set is for surround, the other for rear surround. Sound great and like the others Klipsch speakers, they are very well made and solid construction. They were packaged very well for protection.

Pros: Sound great, really complete the system.

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Clarinda from Salinas, CA on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm really happy with my Klipsch R-51M. Great sound for the money. I can recommend this to anyone who wants a good sounding bookshelf speaker but on a budget. I also want to thank Crutchfield for the fast shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! Wonderful price for the quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive little devils!

Jim from Suffern, NY on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Moving to a much smaller house meant we no longer had room for our heritage Wharfedale corner enclosures. We didn't expect the Klipsch bookshelf speakers to match the effect of the Wharfedales, but they came close, except for the bass of course. We will add the matching Klipsch sub-woofer to get back that 16-inch bass.

Pros: Great sound for their size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Ramon Rivera from Toa Baja, PR on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers and very good sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Exeter, NH on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound! Absolutely love it, got them on time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Eugene from Mechanicsburg, PA on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are of good quality and sound. The sale on these speakers along with the 5 to complete the set was incredible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Seffner, FL on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look and sounds awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great over all speakers.

Pros: Great for price. Sounds awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

JEFFREY from Fullerton, CA on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

.

Pros: .

Cons: .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers at a great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great rear speakers

David from Creedmoor, NC on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these for surround sound. The perform very well doing that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Darrel from Bronx, NY on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Scott from Ann Arbor, MI on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Compact size.

Pros: Nice responsive to the tuner.

Cons: Only handles 85 watts of power.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Detailed and "In-your face"

Michael from Woodacre, CA on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At the sale price these speakers are a no-brainer- solid built, attractive and distinctive design, great sound- if not near-field, which they are not meant for.. The highs are detailed and prominent, the bass sufficient, especially when supported by a subwoofer. I tried them out near-field by my desktop to replace Pioneers BS22s,and while I appreciated the detail and clarity of the highs, I found them a bit overwhelming after a while and switched back to the Pioneers (which are available for $ 80-100 these days) and am using the Klipsch in my 2.1 living room set-up. Many reviewers comment on the in-your-face impact of Klipsch speakers, so folks who prefer a smoother sound may need to look elsewhere.

Pros: Detail, clarity, built quality, sensitivity

Cons: may be too overwhelming near-field

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers sound great. This is the second set of them that I have purchased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Stephen from Cambridge, NY on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great small speakers for my sons place. Driving them with a Sansui G-2000. Room filling sound with only 14 watts.

Pros: Klipsch sound at a great price.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worth the money

Derek from Blanchard, OK on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big upgrade from the infinity system i had. Needed a few tweaks after setup with mic but sounds great out of the box. Only downside is at 11# I needed different wall mounts to set up as satellites bought through amazon.

Pros: Great sound bought 4 at 50 off sale.

Cons: None if used as bookshelf, but klipsch doesnt make a wall mount for these.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Jason from New Braunfels, TX on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 2 Polk Rti A7's & 1 Kilpsch 12" sub. I added the R-51's & the speakers really added another dimension to my system. I had a feeling they would be good but they turned out Great.

Pros: Good bass & mid from this small package

Cons: Can not find one.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Huntingburg, IN on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Reaches the high peaks as well as the lows easy set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Mason, OH on 12/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! Great service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Most Improved Award

James from Northbridge, MA on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although the specifications of this speaker appear very similar, it sounds much more engaging than last year's equivalent (or at least, my recollection of last year's). Last year's seemed rather lifeless; this year's is anything but. Not the last word in terms of detail, but a speaker I find myself drawn to. Although these are too small for home theater (at least without a subwoofer), I would expect the tower equivalents would be gangbusters.

Pros: * Lively and engaging sound * Looks good with either the grille off or on (retro cloth grille is a nice touch) * Great at any price but a stupendous value on sale

Cons: * Midrange maybe a tad thin * Black vinyl wrap is unexciting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lively!!

david from Wilmington, NC on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very lively, dynamic, and enjoyable to listen to. Impressive bottom end for a bookshelf this size. A bargain at the regular price and an absolute steal at the sale price!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sounding speaker. the price was good too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Adan from Brentwood, NY on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good speaker, sound & price great value tank crusthfield

Pros: Nathing

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-51M

Crutchfield customer from Alplaus, NY on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

big sound in a small unit. typical klipsch type clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bookshelf speaker at a great price (assuming the sale is still o

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 11/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, entry level bookshelf speakers. Has the classic Klipsch clarity in the mids and highes, but needs a helping hand with the low end. Pair these with a decent sub and you will be happy. I bought these A.) Because I was looking for an inexpensive way to raise the ceiling space that my Elac B6s were lacking. B.) Because they were "half price"! ?? Now I have these R-51Ms, a pair of Elac B6s, and an old Infinity sub. My "Budget Wall-0-Sound" has far exceeded my expectations and these R-51Ms are a big part of the improvement. Extremely pleased with the purchase.

Pros: Clarity in mids and highes

Cons: Little lacking in the low end.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value!

Darren from Branson, MO on 11/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great performance for a small price. I am using them for surround speakers and they added a pleasant dimension to the sound.

Pros: Outstanding clarity.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does not disappoint!!!

phillip from Chenoa, IL on 11/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went from a 5.1 3 and 1/2" JBL system to these. These Klipsch sound awesome. My wife complained they are to big (compared to the JBL's ) but eventually she even agreed they sound great. They sound great with music and also movies. Great highs and bass. These are the absolute best deal when they are on sale. I almost went with a Polk setup, I am so glad I didn't.

Pros: Great bang for the buck.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean and Simple

John Adams from Easton, MD on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice of set of bookshelf speakers at a great price. I Purchased them for my bedroom system and they work perfectly. These are not as bright sounding as the Reference Premier series speakers from Klipsch but still have loads of clarity. They do sound a bit hollow at certain lower frequencies due to the simple box design. Some simple EQ adjustments and they sound perfect.

Pros: Clarity Small Footprint Great Price

Cons: A little boomy without EQ adjustments

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

clear sounds

Crutchfield customer from Waipahu, HI on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, great looks, and quick shipping. Living in Hawaii shipping sucks but Crutchfield came in clutch with free shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great pair of bookshelf speakers awesome sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

TOP