Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
033 592 942 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
033 592 942 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Surround speakers (Ebony)

MFR # 1065826

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Surround speakers (Ebony)

MFR # 1065826

39 reviews
View this product

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from OLIVE BRANCH, MS on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the way to go for surround speakers. If you want a tad bit more low end you might want to go with the 502s. But you can't go wrong either way if your getting your low end from your sub. Customer service seems to be great with Crutchfield. Doug was most helpful in my purchase. This is one of the reasons I made my purchase through Crutchfield.

Pros: Great sounding surround speakers.

Cons: Can't think of any now.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been using the Klipsch R-14S for my side surround sound speakers. I always thought that the R-14S were a little muddy sounding and I was looking to upgrade to the RP-402S but they never seemed to be on sale until the pandemic arrived. I picked these up for a great sale price and used some points that I had which made them affordable. Although I think that they sound better than the R-14S it is not a huge improvement. I also purchased them to match with my RP-6000F and RP-600C speakers which I like very much. Overall they are a good solid speaker, just not a good value at full price.

Pros: Small footprint, good quality construction, built-in hook for hanging.

Cons: Overpriced if not purchased at a steep discount.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow!

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Ni didn't get them sooner

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking product and sound to match

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, TX on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bidirectional speak provides a very full sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small foot print with a very compelling sound stage. It adds a great dimension to the home theater sound.

Pros: small but powerful

Cons: none noted

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Cape May Ch, NJ on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sounding speakers,solid build,just what i needed to finish off my 7.2 theater system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incredible sound for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, MI on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the quality, sound and price of these surround speakers! Great upgrade for my sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Dan from COLORADO SPGS, CO on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with these as surrounds in my 5.1 system, replacing a pair of cheap Bose that I was gifted. What an improvement! The bipol design defuses the sound well and creates a nice wide field. I haven't heard the RP-502s but these completely met my needs. I have them paired with some older Klipsch (RB-35 fronts and a RC-25 center) and they match really well.

Pros: On sale!, wide sound field, easy to mount, nice magnetic grills for easy on or off, high quality construction.

Cons: With four drivers they are pretty heavy, helps to find a stud rather than using anchors.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Juncos, PR on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent surround speaker. I've got them placed on the sides of the listening position. The 402S added a very unique surround experience. These speakers blend incredible well with the rest of the speakers. No regrets on this upgrade.

Pros: Added more depth of field than anticipated. They blend in with the rest of your speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Milford, PA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing speakers for my home theater. Perfect size, power and finish.

Pros: Easy mounting and sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch 402 surround speakers

Crutchfield customer from Haltom City, TX on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good surround speaker as any klipsch speakers is worth it. No regrets here my whole 5.2 .2 is klipsch except 2 sony Dolby atmos which work great together

Pros: Great craftsmanship on speakers, look gorgeous, and sound amazing what more can u ask for.

Cons: The only con I'd say is wierd shape of them can make finding right stands a little difficult due weight also but if you are wall mounting wouldn't be an issue. Really just a con for me in my current living area.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

More than expected

Patrick from San Diego, CA on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the most amazing surround speakers I've ever had. I've got them place slightly behind the sitting point on the left and right wall and about 2 feet above head.. Our couch backs against the rear wall and space is pretty limited. I think the set up would have been just as effective on the rear wall with our setup due to the speakers angled dual output. Having the dual sides helps to make the sound feel more full and less direct compared to having bookshelf type speakers as surrounds. I wanted to get the 502s but came the realization that my space did not require them. The 402S speakers add a very unique surround experience. Whereas others will be more direct sounding, these will blend in to the surroundings, and you wont be able to pinpoint where they are. Superb! I purchased these along with Klipsch Atmos add-ons. Even without the Atmos speakers, these speakers perform amazingly.

Pros: Added more depth of field than anticipated from a surround speaker. Even though you may sit close to them, they blend in with the rest of your speakers and become "invisible"

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Syracuse, NY on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great! I am now using them as my rears and plan on getting more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great buy

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, IL on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look great and sound fantastic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound and look amazing, and definitely gives a wider soundstage in the back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Ayer, MA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Real Nice! Great Sale Price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Folcroft, PA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The RP-402s is one of the best upgrades i have done, using these as surround backs bring out more action pack sounds to your Klipsch speaker setup. With these you can't go wrong!

Pros: Outstanding & amazing sound!!!

Cons: None!!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Box of tissues need for tears of joy

Crutchfield customer from Bourbon, IN on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The clarity of sound from such a small package brought a tear to my eye. They may not be bookshelf speaker quality, but that's not what they were designed to do. As a surround sound speaker they are top notch. I set them up in a 2 channel config just to test out. Boy now I know why Klipsch is called the keepers of the sound. This kind of clarity will have me asking is that police siren outside or is that are dog barking out back...pause movie nope surround sound tricked me again.

Pros: Great price Look and finish rocks

Cons: They are not helping me finish my man cave

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

True surround sound

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds jump out from everywhere!!

Pros: Sound and quality build!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Catano, PR on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pure and clear sound...The size is perfect....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Medusa, NY on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All l can say is by just replacing my old surround speakers with these klpish RP-402S, I have finally reached perfection. The way these surround speakers shoot the sounds around the room is just mind boggling. My entire home theater system is powered by my Onkyo 125 watt 7-2-1 reciever. With solid log walls and a 18 foot cathedral ceiling my main room is as good as any movie theater I have been in.I mounted the speakers five feet four inches on the walls.this seems like just the right height.

Pros: Professional craftsmanship and impressive looks .

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound wonderful. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I Love Klipsch

Reuben from Cleveland, OH on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love Klipsch. I originally bought these to be my rear speakers in my 7.2.4 setup. But ultimately decided to use these as my rear heights. I personally like the bipolar sound for heights.

Pros: Everything

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice surround speaker

Thomas from Fayetteville, NC on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Combined with the RP-8000F and RP-504C W in a open living room with vaulted ceiling this produced a nice sound that fills the space nicely. Sounds great with movies and music.

Pros: Quality, looks, sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dipole pattern is great

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are really great surround speakers. I purchased them as part of a package with the RF-5000 floor standing speakers, matching center channel, and subwoofer. They produce very realistic, high quality effects and with the dipole pattern the sound seems to be more natural. It seems like they're less sensitive to lateral placement as well. I mounted ours on the walls using the keyhole on the back and hid the wires in the walls. Nobody even notices them there until they hear them.

Pros: High quality surround effects Forgiving on lateral placement Easy to hang on the wall with hidden wiring Great match for RP-5000 floor standing speakers and RP center channel Look great on the wall with the woodgrain cabinet

Cons: Expensive compared to some other options, but totally worth it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Berlin, NH on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Undeniable quality. A little smaller than I thought but very clear sound. Not overly powerful for filling a big room with surround but perfect for the smaller room surround or paired with floor standing surround or Dolby atmos setup to fill a big area

Pros: Quality Easy setup

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Cape May Ch, NJ on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent surround rear speakers to accommodate my front RP 8060 Atmos speakers being driven by an Onkyo TX NR 797 receiver.Just finished my sound system and theater with a QLED Q 90 75 inch Samsung on wall.Very happy with my Klisph speakers and QLED TV ,at least I won't get burnin on this TV like the high end 55"LG OLED that's 2 years old and LG won't recognize anyone,s burnin with a warranty. .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Falmouth, MA on 11/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great surround love the v set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake Cty, UT on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already own Klipsch reference premiere speakers and need a pair for rear surround speakers. These sound wonderful and are stunning to look at let alone listening to them. Great sales and customer reps at Crutchfield.

Pros: Great sound, love the speakers without the grills.

Cons: These are large speakers for surround speakers but it's not an issue.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Klipsch Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound from these speakers. Can't say enough good about them, separates sounds nicely. Very stylish and the perfect size to fit on top of my curio cabinets.

Pros: Sound, size, style

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Can't beat them!

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, KS on 6/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good, does its job, matches my other speakers well.

Pros: Sound, Looks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Bayville, NJ on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sound quality. Very impressed. Worth the price.

Pros: Nice design, easy to install, great sound, love the magnetic screen cover

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Warner, NH on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Nathan from Sheridan, WY on 2/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great surround speakers, they really fill the room with sound while watching movies. They even sound great while listening to music. I definitely recommend these awesome speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Jill was extremely helpful & very knowledgeable about the products!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Crutchfield customer from Mansfield Ctr, CT on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really fill me large space with awesome powerful clear sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-402S

Adam from gatlinburg, tn on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

they sound amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

TOP