Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Powered home theater sound bar with Bluetooth®

MFR # 4005001

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Powered home theater sound bar with Bluetooth®

MFR # 4005001

26 reviews
View this product

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, PA on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked this up with o a 60" LED TV. For our room. We increased the Bass to +2 and treble the year +2. Initially thought I would use a sub, but that is not necessary.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Iowa Park, TX on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to connect. Sounds great, easy to use remote control. Even looks great on the mantle. Fills the room up with sound. Thinking about getting another one for the bedroom.

Pros: One piece soundbar. Sounds great. Easy usage. Bluetooth.

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Totally satisfied!

Crutchfield customer from Centralia, IL on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and great service!

Pros: Everything I expected!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does dialog well

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not hearing impaired just installed in very noisy environment so I can hear news better. Does that. Crutchfield got it here swiftly and intact.

Pros: Dialog yes Nice build and look Very well packed and documented

Cons: For dialog - don't expect 7.2

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It needs a second display that can be seen when it is used facing ip. I would but 2 more if it had that feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Loudon, TN on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received the order in two days and it was easy to set up. The support of Crutchfield personal is outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Riverhead, NY on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This has totally solved my inability to hear dialogue, especially British accents. Plus TV sound is incredible and my music through Bluetooth is quite good. I've returned several soundbars but this one is staying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Saint Marys, OH on 5/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sb500 sound bar is a excellent product. My wife a I were having problems understanding some of the statements being made on Netflix and we also had our tv volume turned up real high but with the sound bar we now have it turned back down to a normal setting. I highly recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dialogue is somewhat better than JBL 3.1 soundbar I was using. Lacking in movie sound experience. Could not get LG tv or cable box remotes to control soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Palm Harbor, FL on 2/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

product has performed as described and completely meets my expectations. And as usual Garrett and the staff at Crutchfield exemplify what customer service is and should be!

Pros: reasonable price for the quality and performance received.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 1/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very crisp and clear dialogue with accuvoice. I am hearing impaired and this sound bar works great for voice clarity when no one else is in the room. All other times when someone is in the room I use my Sennheiser headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Nearly Perfect

Den from SusquehannaValley, PA on 1/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This SB500 I've not thoroughly tested, thus, I can presently report simply on how it handles sound via Ultra TV, OTA reception + skilled hook-up. I find it nearly perfect; but, the Output Leveler that is designed to diminish increased sound with commercial ads IMO should have more advanced circuitry for auto-sensing once it's depressed on the remote. Therefore, if you wish to use this feature and you'd rather spend your efforts pushing buttons, i.e., on-off...on-off...I suppose, then, this won't detract any by it's crisp delivery otherwise.

Pros: Quality Build

Cons: A few features not perfected.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Jasper, GA on 12/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good, full sound and the dialogue is very clear with Accuvoice. With a sub--and I would suggest one-- it will blow you away. Very much recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Bill from Prospect,CT. on 9/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and voice enhancement .works well with direct TV remote

Pros: Excellent

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Best bang for the bucks!

Scott from Dallas, TX on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally rocks! Bass is better than expected. Highs are crisp. A lot of higher priced models would not compare well. Worth the bucks and and would recommend highly.

Pros: Great sound for the price.

Cons: None, accept I wish I would have heard about them sooner.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Mcpherson, KS on 7/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had problems with dialog especially with loud background sound. Doctor said I needed a pair of hearing aids for $3800.00. Purchased an SB500 sound bar in the hopes it would help if even a little. Well glory-be, the ASB500 has allowed me to hear all dialog covered by back ground music or not. Even understand foreign accents. 5 stars all the way.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Butler, PA on 5/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am completely satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound, best vocals!

Ron from Sequim, WA on 4/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally, a soundbar that offers us mid-seventies seniors full range and incredibly crisp vocals even at low listening levels. And a steal for the money.

Pros: As advertised

Cons: remote did not work. ZVOX sent us new on same day and now works perfectly

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

ZVOX SoundBar SB500

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, RI on 3/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did considerable research looking for a soundbar that provides the best clarity for the spoken words from TV programs, and so far this units is providing a much improved (for us) sound. We are happy with this choice. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Really Man ! .... this is it.

Ed from Lake Buena Vista , FL on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Without out a doubt the BEST sound bar I have ever purchased in the under $700. category. I have tried Samsung, Yamaha, Vizio and a couple others .... many have their good points but none had it all. I was concerned at first about the lack of a separate subwoofer ..... no problem! This sound bar belts out great base and I have it just barely turned up. This music wonder fills my 12 x17 room (11' ceiling) .... with great sound. Without additional add on speakers it seems to make my movies play dimensionally . This sound bar sits on a table below the flat screen. As a plus the unit looks good and feels substantially made. This is so good I am trying to justify (to my wife) replacing two other sound bars purchased a year ago! ( side note: This ZVOX is in my man-cave not my media room 80" flat screen w/ Yamaha RX 3060 receiver Definitive Tech speakers )

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Good Alternative

Blair from Clarksville, TN on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to get away from having to use a home theater receiver to get better sound from everything I watch. The products from Zvox had good reviews so I thought this should work out ok. It does a better job than the tv speakers for sure. I use it as a wall mount under my Samsung UN60KS8000. It has a very clean look as well as good sound. It does not pair up to the Samsung remote. It isn't compatible due to the fact that one is IR and the other is RF. You can go into the samsung setup and use the universal remote setting to fool it by setting it up as a home theater system. The problem is you only have a maximum of 2 "sources" that work with a home theater system. I have TV, A channel master ota dvr, and Amazon fire tv that I watch. So I have to use the zvox remote with one of them. There may be another way around this, but nobody had any suggestions. I found this remedy on my own. If someone knows of a better way to make this work I would appreciate any suggestions. All in all I think it is a great sound bar. It does a very good job with the speech clarity. It has good bass considering there is no sub. I am glad I bought this and would recommend this if you are looking for a very clean sound bar, especially if you don't have enough room for a sub. I take off a star because of the lack of info from zvox because they are aware this does not pair up with some tv remotes.

Pros: Simple , Good Sound , Speech Clarity

Cons: Some TV remotes don't pair up

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent soundbar!

Doug from Clinton, NJ on 2/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a fantastic sound bar. The bar is a perfect fit for our 20' family room, fills the room with great sound. Excellent lows, mid and highs and crystal clear sound using the accuvoice setting. Definitely recommend this to anyone looking to improve their sound while watching tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great Dialog Sound Bar

John from Mokena, IL on 12/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound bar. Terrific for dialog. I purchased a Yamaha sound bar several years ago when I wall mounted our first flat screen TV. The sound seemed okay - at least better than the TV speakers. Lately my wife and I (both now in our seventies) noticed that the sound, especially dialog, was not so okay. We kept asking each other, "What'd they say? I began checking reviews on many sound bars and kept coming back to ZVOX models. I am really, really glad we bought the SB500. You can customize the sound to exactly fit what you are watching or listening to. It's great to be able to understand dialog again.

Pros: Great sound quality. Wall mounts easily.

Cons: Maybe pricier than some other sound bars, but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

One nice soundbar

Mark from San Bernardino, CA on 12/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this soundbar, the speech comes out so great so you don't hear the people mumble. I don't think that the bass is all that great but it doesn't come with a subwoofer so what can you expect. I hooked it up with my daughter bluetooth phone and it plays music wonderful. I think that the price tag is a bit high though, I had 2 other soundbars and had problem getting the subwoofer to work right(Klipsch r10b). This is so nice I programed it to work with my Directv changer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great Overall Package

Dave from Wildwood, MO on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set-up, intuitive design. Sounds great; only wishlist feature would be bit of a more robust amp. Bass is great for a single unit and the built in Bluetooth is seamless. Good sound overall, vocals are crisp; have already recommended to colleagues at work.

Pros: Build quality, ease of use, good vocals and bass.

Cons: Perhaps a bit more power.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent soundbar

Gordon from The Colony, TX on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this Zvox because of some other online reviews about dialogue clarity. They were right! Terrific improvement understanding voices and outstanding bass without a sub. Zvox is the best I've heard. Highly recommended

Pros: No sub need. Dialogue is easy to understand. No sub needed. Bluetooth works great.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

TOP