Contact us
Close contact box
Monday, May 25
Crutchfield's website is open today, but our staff has the day off to observe Memorial Day.
Connect ID #
575 862 022 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
575 862 022 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Current Crutchfield time is 8:36 AM ET.

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology A90

Dolby Atmos® enabled speaker modules for compatible Definitive Technology powered tower speakers

MFR # AUMO-A

Definitive Technology A90

Definitive Technology A90

Dolby Atmos® enabled speaker modules for compatible Definitive Technology powered tower speakers

MFR # AUMO-A

26 reviews
View this product

super suround performance

Vic from Poulsbo, WA on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great add on for Definitive Technolagy 9060 floor standing fromt speakers and I am turning my head to see whats on my sides great vantrillaqust like surround sound

Pros: none

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Humacao, PR on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitive awesome sound with the atmos speakers. Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A90

Crutchfield customer from San Tan Valley, AZ on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These A90s are outstanding!!! Unbelievable sound I highly recommend these Atmos speakers you won't regret it.

Pros: Unbelievable sound easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology A90

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent speakers but the frequency response is not as flat as I would have liked

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

inexpensive addition to a fantastic set of speakers

Stanley from St Thomas, USVI on 5/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I continue to be impressed by the products Definitive Technology put on the market I started off with a set of front BP-9020 speakers coupled with a CS-9060 center channel speaker and two 9040 rear surround speakers and was perfectly happy with it, until my daughter bought me some Blu-ray 4k discs for Christmas and I realized I was missing something from my audio setup. I decided to go ahead and get the (relatively) inexpensive set of A90 modules and give them a try and I am glad I did. Setup was even simpler than a breeze... press the magnetic plate on the top of each of the BP-9020, and carefully drop the module in place... I mean, come on, at best a hint of a breeze, connect the speakers to the AVR using the banana plugs on the back of the 9020's, open the speaker setup on my Denon AVR-3400H, enable Atmos, and done... maybe 10 minutes. Now, is it worth it... yes, if you have the proper encoded audio feed and the proper decoding algorithm. Would I be as happy if I had to spend any more money.. probably not... ~250/module pricepoint is pretty good with the results obtained. So to summarize Aesthetics... fantastic setup... couldn't have been easier results.... exceptional based on the price and the results... higher price, probably wouldn't have been as enthusiastic

Pros: Add atmos capability in a simple and inexpensive manner Seamless integration into BP-90XX speakers (you can't tell they are there) True plug and play with no additional cables or wires needed, just the additional cable from the back of my 9020's to the AVR

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great addition

Crutchfield customer from Leadville, CO on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already had the Deftech 9060's so this was an easy addon. The sound is fantastic, even with a sloped ceiling. Added a great dimension to the sound both for movies and music. I highly recommend.

Pros: Easy to install, great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rock the house

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Make movie experience great. Fit right on top of speakers. Make alltop surround - surround!

Pros: If you have difinity speaker add these for front dobie.

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Great addition to the 9060's.

Barry from Astoria, OR on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers top a pair of 9060's. Extremely happy with them. Great sound.

Pros: Love these speakers with my 9060's. Great sound. You won't be disappointed in my humble opinion. Thank you Crutchfield customer service for your input when choosing the Definitive Technology speakers, very happy customer.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology A90

John from Port Orchard, WA on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. They round out my 9060 towers nicely. Worth the money

Pros: An affordable way to enjoy atmos or Dts x coding

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 10/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds Great adds a new dimension to audio music as well as dynamic movie sound!!

Pros: Sounds great and look great Music sounds good with these Got them at a fantastic price and they look so cool.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology A90

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, FL on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The A90's are designed to fit neatly on top of my Definitive front tower speakers, so it was a natural choice. Only problem is I had to upgrade my receiver/amplifier to a 7.1 amp with Dolby Atmos because my recently purchased 5.1 does not support that technology. I tried winging it by paralleling the speaker wiring hookup off of my front speakers but finally said nahhh. Gotta do it right...."ORDERING" ! The new amp arrives tomorrow

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unexpected sound

Michael from Hannacroix, NY on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unexpected sound, made the system

Pros: Easy hookup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Must have with BP9000 Series

ChrisM from Mckinney, TX on 6/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the A90! Great addition to my BP9060. Very clear and detailed sound.

Pros: Easy install Detailed sound

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Clean looking height surrrounds for BP 9000 series towers.

Scott from Johnson City, TN on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean looking way to add height surround. Sound not as noticeable as I though would be, but also haven't played anything recorded with Atmos yet.

Pros: Clean look, same premium materials and attention to detail as BP 9000 towers,

Cons: Price, adds more physical height to towers

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology A90

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, OH on 2/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound dispertion, crisp, clear, void filling, not to mention, they look kick-ass !!

Pros: Excellent sound, nice design, ease of installation

Cons: Notta

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Full Soundscape

Anthony from Clarksville, OH on 1/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Full sound, clear and bright, mounted on BP 9060, fills large space with great detail.

Pros: Detailed sound ease of installation

Cons: Not fully directional in relation to mount on speaker

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sounding

Joyce from N Little Rock, AR on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We added these speakers to our 9040 towers. With surround, these modules light up. They made the sound come alive especially on movies with Atmos. We heard sounds that we hadn't heard before in old movies. Totally adds the missing element for the Def Tech towers.

Pros: looks good on top of towers, great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology A90

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 12/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers add in a small but noticeable way to the overall immersive sound produced by Definitive Technology BP9060 towers, a CS9060 center speaker and a pair of 9040 surround speakers with respect to music via Dolby Sorround. For the few movies/shows with Atmos, the contribution of the A90's is greater and indeed adds an overhead presence that is more noticeable and pleasant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Atmos must have

David from Sodus, NY on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers add a whole new level to your home theater system, I replaced some low level atmos speakers with the A90s and could not be happier with my decision. Plus a couple weeks after purchasing these speaker, Crutchfield had these on sale and they refunded me the difference the same day I asked.

Pros: discrete, easy integration into system.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology A90

Hassan from Riverview, FL on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great product. Having the Dolby Atmos over the Floor-standing speakers. I'm adding in-ceiling speakers to add more fun

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology A90

Crutchfield customer from Little River, SC on 10/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, these Dolby Atmos units are the perfect final piece for the Definitive Tech. speakers. The surround sound on videos is super. You hear the sounds bouncing off the ceiling, witch completes the experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology A90

Crutchfield customer from Oak Lawn, IL on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little beauties complete the surround sound while watching movies. These speakers fill the room and makes you feel like you are in the middle of the action.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Addition to support Atmos

Tom from Alexandria, KY on 1/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best part about these speakers is that they drop right into the BP 9000 series speakers. I have the BP9060 for fronts and BP9040 for the rear so it was easy to drop four of these right into the top of the speakers to be Atmos compliant. Since they are more of a background speaker its hard to say if the overall speaker quality is better than the competition but because they are matched for the other Def Tech towers I believe they are the best solution for anyone using Def Techs. Since Def Tech pre-wires the towers you dont have to have wires climbing up the back of the tower to reach these. When you mount them they plug into the tower and down at the bottom are the binding post for these height speakers. Well thought out by Def Tech.

Pros: Nice looking, they match the BP series towers Easy to install without having to run cables up the tower when connecting to Def Tech towers.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Terrific Atmos!

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 1/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Atmos speakers sound amazing. I have a low ceiling (about 7.5'). The height channels did the trick. I played Sicario and you can hear the sound coming from the ceiling. Definitive "definitely" scored a big one.

Pros: Sound great, look amazing!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid purchase

Shawn from Boise on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tv and movies brought to life. Made a world of difference. Put on xmas list for added surroundings

Pros: Takes up no space. Hidden. Hear those sweet sounds

Cons: Could be louder but may just how movie sends signals but I still playing with systems overall no bad

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best atoms addons !

Anthonyr11 from Norfolk on 9/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these from Crutchfield and arrived the next day!! Works perfect with my definitive technology 9060 towers.

Pros: Great atmos and dtx:s effects

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP