Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology AW5500

Outdoor speaker (White)

MFR # NEAB

Definitive Technology AW5500

Definitive Technology AW5500

Outdoor speaker (White)

MFR # NEAB

77 reviews
View this product

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Bolton, MA on 8/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! These speakers are everything I hoped for - and more!! We installed them on our screened in porch and followed the instructions of putting the large bass speaker near the wall so it reflects and enhances the bass. Not only does it work, but I think it sounds better than our inside system with a separate subwoofer! (Granted, that is an older system, but this set is making me want to replace the other system too!!) I listened to a classical recording that I have and some of the parts felt like they were being played right next to me. I know it's not set up to be surround sound, but the clarity and the way the speakers reflect into the room makes for a lovely listening experience. I love these seakers!

Pros: Sound Quality Easy installation

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Attleboro, MA on 7/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Grate speakers that blow me away, maybe I wasn't expecting much but great mid range and the sound overall is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Piedmont, OK on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound around pool

Pros: Sound, easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crystal clear sound!

Crutchfield customer from Polk City, IA on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 2 on my deck and they sound amazing. Crystal clear sound with a good punch to them. You can play them loud with no distortion. Very easy to install. Great outdoor speakers!

Pros: Sound, appearance, quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Folsom, PA on 4/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have not used just yet, but if it's anything like the reviews and experts describe, I'm sure I'll love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound for the speaker size

Guest from Charlottesville, VA on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Blown away by the quality sound to size ratio of these speakers. Good sub base too. Very good service from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

John from Lithonia, GA on 10/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A lot of sound, great addition for my patio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Chapin, SC on 10/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! They really fill the open back porch with quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Base Response

Josh from Hamilton, VA on 9/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers really rock. I purchased these based on Crutchfield's recommendation for my pavilion and hot tub areas. The pavilion is 20x20 where I installed 4 speakers and the hot tub is under a 10x10 pergola where I installed 2 speakers. I had no idea what to really expect as I'm pretty picky about my music. My indoor system is an anthem amp, PVA 8 connected to a Marantz 8801 with Paradigm reference speakers. I'm using a Denon AVR 3313CI to power the 6 AW5500s using multi channel stereo to run all of them at once. Since it's a long run to the speakers I'm using 10 gage wire. The bass response is much better than I expected. I was expecting to connect a sub, but at this point I'll wait. Over all I'm very pleased with the speakers. The bass response is good and the mids and highs are a good blend. They're not "critical listening" speakers, they're perfect for an outdoor gathering. The price is okay, but adds up when buying this many. It would be nice if they offered a discount when buying 4 or more. I originally purchased white speakers thinking black would absorb too much heat, but they're under cover plus I decided to paint the ceiling black, so I returned the white ones and purchased the black. My only complaint is that I was charged $10 for one of the speakers. Perhaps this was the one I had opened. I didn't open the rest.

Pros: - Bass response - Ease of installation - Over-all sound quality - Crutchfield Support - Blocks out the noise from the highway

Cons: - Being charged for my return (they really needed my $10?)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High fidelity outside

John from Augusta, ME on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've bought and enjoyed Definitive speakers for many years. Last year I moved to Maine and wanted to install a pair of outdoor speakers for my deck, just hadn't yet got around to it. What got me off the dime was seeing in the Crutchfield catalogue that Definitive makes outdoor speakers (who knew?). Yes, they're a bit more expensive--but that's the cost of a premier-class product. First thing I needed to ascertain was whether the climate of Maine would destroy outdoor speakers: It gets cold here in winter. Crutchfield's advisors didn't know the temperature range tolerance, and apparently couldn't find out, so I called Definitive and spoke to one of their tech support folks. I learned that they should be fine down to 30 below zero--very rare here--and can be played safely down to freezing (32 above zero). Who entertains outdoors below freezing? So I bought them and they arrived in good order. On their website, Crutchfield has a helpful set of instructions and videos for installing outdoor speakers. Though I have done it before, I reviewed all of these and picked up some good tips (thanks, Norm). It makes me nervous anytime I need to punch holes in my walls or the outside of my house, but I steeled myself and went ahead. Got lucky: My holes lined up and my cable snake (fish tape) went right down to the inside hole and I was able (after some struggle) to pull my speaker wires out through the upper hole outside. Norm's tips came in handy. The rest was easy. They sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very reliable

Crutchfield customer from Washington, PA on 6/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound, second one I had to buy in 6 years. So holds up well in the outdoor elements, past the 5yr limited warranty.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

darin from Galt, IL on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sound great so far, still in the brake in mode

Pros: awesome sound

Cons: they are a large speaker, make sure have the room

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Bill from Middletown, CT on 5/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got these and set them up today. The sound is excellent with nice rich base tones and excellent midrange even though you are outside. Imwould recommend.

Pros: Great sound Easy to hang

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound When They Work

charles from Ashburn, VA on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought my first pair of black AW5500s from a local electronics big store as part of a house-wide upgrade during the summer of 2015. These speakers sounded absolutely amazing out on my deck and everyone loved them. In the summer of 2017, I had to replace one of the speakers which would not operate. Now, here we are, a year later and yet another speaker has bit the dust. For me, they are expensive speakers and I can not afford to replace a speaker each year. Hopefully I can find something comparable in price and sound that will last.

Pros: Fantastic sound, great bass

Cons: Short life span

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sounds awesome

Tab from Brandon, FL on 4/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers

Pros: Awesome sound

Cons: Zero cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy with the performance.

Lanny from Port Orange, FL on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. I installed them on the patio. Construction is very good and should withstand the elements.

Pros: construction quality, sound performance

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

William from St Augustine, FL on 6/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad I purchased them.

Pros: Good sound and working well so far.

Cons: Having to cover them when not in use due to exposure and warnings to keep them relatively dry but it is no big deal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive AW5500 Each (BK)

Todd from Du Bois, PA on 6/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Crutchfield rep recommended these speakers and they are great! super sound quality! A little pricey, but worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Bay Shore, NY on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound and attractive

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Michael from Clearwater, KS on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding outdoor speaker. Easy to install. Seems like a very high quality component. I installed a pair of these in my pool area and a pair of the AW6500's on my patio and I must say the sound is awesome! Each pair delivers excellent bass, don't bother with a sub unless you are searching for absolute audio perfection. Both pairs of speakers are driven by a single Denon Heos amp.

Pros: Awesome sound, very good bass, high quality products.

Cons: A bit pricey but you get what you paid for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Use Carefully!!

Chris from Kansas on 5/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speaker design has poorly supported driver and easily blown. These were hooked to an outdoor system with bluetooth. As happens at partys, different people wanted to control. As someone took control, their phone was accidentally turn all the way up. The amp was within speaker tolerances but one speaker lasted about 2 seconds. Company support was less than stellar, as no service center is located anywhere near, so they sold me the parts (and then THEY forget to send the waterproofing supplies for use after opening the cabinet, but proceeded to charge ME the additional shipping cost!) Have since switched to another brand of outdoor speakers (Polk) sold by Crutchfield and have had no problems...even had a couple times of being hit by full volume 'DJ's' and the drivers survived!

Pros: Easy to mount

Cons: Can not handle high volumes

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not That Great After Time

Bob from Morrisville, PA on 2/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Most reviews are written by people soon after they have purchased an item. As a result the reviews reflect the purchaser's initial satisfaction or dissatisfaction with the product. I purchased the AW5500's from Crutchfield in 2013. They have been put outside each year in mid-May and taken down in October when I close down my pool. I noticed last summer (2016) that their over-all sound had definitely deteriorated. They never had great bass but always had a clean, crisp sound, especially for an outdoor speaker. After four summers they now sound harsh, with little bass, even at louder volumes. The passive radiator design used for the low-end doesn't hold up. I expected a better product from Def Tech. If you need volume, I'd look at something else. At the price they cost per pair they are disappointing.

Pros: Well built; easy to install; good sound at low volume levels.

Cons: Weak low-end;

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 10/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Summerland Key, FL on 9/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound, perfect for smaller areas like a porch or patio. A true quality feel. Look good. Surprising bass for the size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AW5500

Michael from Las Vegas, NV on 7/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was impressed by how full the sound is coming from these speakers. While I only have about 15 hours on them so far, I expect them to only get better as the hours increase on them. While I could of , or rather only needed 1 speaker due to the square footage they indicate it covers, I purchased 2. The stereo imagining and overlapping coverage is outstanding. They are very rugged speakers, sturdy brackets, packaged well. Installing the speaker. i.e. mounting them the wall, connecting the wires to them is super easy, adjusting them is just as simply, which I am still playing with.

Pros: Rugged, Sturdy bracket, full sounding

Cons: Should be sold in pairs

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

Definitive AW 5500 Outdoor Speakers Rock!!

Dwight C. from Charlottesville, VA on 7/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These AW 5500 Far Exceeded my Expectations! They have Great Sound Quality and Plenty of Power. Went into Crutchfield to get educated on outdoor speakers and Bryan L. Could not have been more knowledgeable or helpful!! Came out with Two Sets of these speakers and a new Receiver and could not be happier with both products and the Awesome Service I Always get at Crutchfield!! It is such a -pleasure to walk into a store and actually get to speak to folks that are experts in their field. Thanks to Crutchfield now all of our outdoor parties Sound Great!! If you are considering Any Stereo or TV related products Stop into Crutchfield, you'll be glad you did!! No I don't work for Crutchfield or get any kick backs from them, I'm Just a Very Satisfied and Thankful Customer who appreciates this Great Company!!

Pros: Great Sound Quality and Plenty of Power!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Wexford, PA on 5/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. I have it connected to a Yamaha RX-A3040 receiver, and the sound quality is generally good. Decent value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Much better than expected!!

Terry from Waukegan, IL on 5/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using on the Bridge of a Boat and I was debating going with the 6500 or 5500 and decided on the 5500 due to a little smaller size. I have to say I was surprised with the base that comes out and the highs are crisp and clear. I would recommend these and may have to get another pair!!

Pros: Great base and easy to mount.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

They don't disappoint!

Matt R. from Hershey, PA on 5/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had these speakers for about 5 weeks now and they are SWEET! You will not believe the depth and clarity from such a small form factor. I would definitely play around with your EQ settings on whatever you use to power these, adding a little bass and treble on Zone 2 of my Denon AVR made a rather noticeable difference. Another thing, I have several sets of Definitive Technology speakers around my house and I can say they sound better and better as the surrounds break-in. You won't be disappointed with these units!

Pros: Depth and clarity of sound, quality construction.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

SteveM. from Pennsylvania on 7/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Spent a bit of time researching and must admit I made the right choice. I set the AW5500 speakers up to break in on an old Sony receiver in my music room and was amazed at the sound. I really didn't expect the clarity and bass response and they crank if needed. I have since installed on my deck and am somewhat limited as to how loud I can turn them up. That said, even at a lower volume, they are balanced and have more bass presence than I thought for an outdoor speaker. Great value for the money. Definitely the right choice!

Pros: Easy to install. Great sound Good value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Cort from Nebraska on 7/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Kevin from Clarkshill sc on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a pair of cheap builder grade outdoor speakers for 5 years but after reading up on new speaker. These aw5500 flat out rock!

Pros: Good price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW 5500 Outdoor Speakers

AndyC from Ohio on 6/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading many reviews on the Def Tech 5500 speakers I pulled the trigger. I have them connected to a Sonos Connect AMP that sits in my family room. The wire run for one speaker is roughly 45' the other 30' (I used Audio Quest 14 gauge wire). They are mounted outside on my deck under an overhang and against a brick wall so the mid and tweeter face towards the listen area and the bass reflects off the wall. I can not explain how good they sound, truly no need for a sub woofer outside. The range is great from lows, mids, and highs. Very balanced, clear, and a lot louder than I expected. I was concerned I needed to go with the AW 6500's but these are plenty loud enough for the 15 x 25 deck I have. I could not be happier with the set-up. I highly recommend them too anyone looking for outdoor speakers.

Pros: Quality of the build, sound clarity and range, ease of install, and looks...

Cons: None...

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Exceeded Expectations

BL from Grafton, Mass on 6/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed outside, under the eaves of a pool house, speakers sound awesome across the entire sound spectrum, sub woofer not needed.

Pros: sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Speakers

DavidM from Georgia on 5/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these on my screened in porch and they provide plenty of sound to fill my entire backyard. They are wired into my Denon AVR 2100 receiver using the second zone. Considering I do not have an outdoor sub, these speakers provide a good amount of bass and a clean sound. They are easy to install and look great!

Pros: Design, Sound, Power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound, Easy Installation

anonymous from Texas on 4/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install and great focused sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW 5500

Brennan from Illinois on 1/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, good bass for size! Sturdy!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Cabot, AR on 7/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, good base for size and load enough that my neighbors across the street hear them clearly from my back yard. love these speakers.

Pros: Great sound and good base for the size.

Cons: None noticed yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

mvillerob from Marysville, WA on 7/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. These speakers are mounted underneath my soffit on my deck. They don't have a wide dispersion so I can turn them up loud and not disturb the neighbors. I use them with zone 2 on my Yamaha rx a830 receiver.

Pros: Easy to mount Sound great base gets better after these speakers are broken in.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from MN on 7/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got installed on deck. Look and sound great.

Pros: Good quality, full sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

if you're looking for bass, these are not for you

gtyup88 from Nashville, TN on 6/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally ordered the 5500's but was not happy with the bass response. I thought it was the scrawny wire I was using but when I hooked them up to 16awg wire it did not improve. I have to admit however the midrange and high clarity was amazing. I then ordered the Polk Atrium 7's and was more impressed with their full sound so I am sticking with them. Overall, not completely impressed with either of them (I'm used to 500w Mackie for outdoor fun) but my advice is if you're looking for full sound out of your outdoor speakers I would go with a 6.5 or larger driver.

Pros: Clarity is unmatched. Construction is stout. Connectors and adjustors are better than Polk.

Cons: The bass radiator is not a speaker. This speaker lacks bass response.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Great quality speakers

PumaChabra from Midlothian va on 6/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautifully designed all weather speakers with a full range of sound quality. Works great for an outdoor pool area.

Pros: Great highs and lows (40hz!) very loud for a small speaker with excellent quality.

Cons: Had to mount them with bass side down (as opposed to vertical with bass on left or right.) to avoid a very sectional sound. Would have been fine verticle if I ordered two more but who wants to do that.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW 550 - WOW!!

Ed from Dothan, AL on 6/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great!! They have excellent bass for speaker their size with exceptional detail on the highs as well. If you are looking for a great sounding outdoor speaker these are great and provide more than ample sound. I was afraid I would need to step up to the next level, but that was a fleeting thought after I hooked them up. They are hooked up to basic Sony stereo receiver with a Sony CD player just for patio and backyard use. They sounded great right out of the box and should only get better after the break in period. If you want great quality outdoor sound at a great price I am not sure you can beat these speakers! Wow!! They don't sound like outdoor speakers at all, very clear with excellent lows and highs! You can't go wrong with these in my opinion. I am VERY PLEASED with their performance!!

Pros: Great sound - Highs and lows - You hear details you don't hear on lesser indoor speakers on this quality set of outdoor speakers!

Cons: NONE!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Performance for the $$$

Tom from Denver, CO on 5/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair of the AW5500s to mount over my back deck and they sound great. I am driving them with a Yamaha R-S500 stereo receiver and I can't detect any distortion even at high volumes (haven't truly cranked them because my neighbors would hate me). The bass is much better than other outdoor speakers I've heard in the past. Being rear-facing woofers, they use the wall they are mounted on to aid in the bass quality. For best results, the manual says to install them under and eave so you have two solid surfaces for the bass waves to bounce off of. I could hear decent bass from 0-15ft but then it kind of fell off after that. This is no surprise though being outdoors where acoustics are pretty terrible in general. If you have the space, consider the AW6500s because they are only cost a little more per speaker and the bass response looks to be better. The AW5500s are already big outdoor speakers themselves, so I think the 6500s might be too big for my eave overhangs.

Pros: No noticeable distortion Good bass within 15 ft Solid mounting brackets

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

DEF TECH AW5500

D from Allentown, PA on 4/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent outdoor speaker. Very easy to set up. Excellent value. Would definitely recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

aw5500

mikey from charlotte nc on 1/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not the tinney sound you expect from most outdoor speakers. In fact these are so good you could use them inside and be extremely pleased.Buy them, you won't be disapointed !

Pros: great sound, quality built item !

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Sean A from Tulsa, OK on 1/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for the price. Just got them installed. Easy installation and sound great.

Pros: Good full range from the lows to the highs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Victor from Puerto Rico on 12/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers, clear sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Aw5500 outdoor speakers

Mark L. from Redding,Ca. on 11/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing outdoor speakers.Everything I was looking for and more.Thank you Crutchfield again for your help as always. Can't go wrong with this speaker,highly recommend.

Pros: Great bass and mids and highs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent outdoor speakers

Chigo from Atlanta, GA on 9/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed these about 2 weeks ago, so can't say anything about durability/longevity yet, but so far, so good. They sound great; they aren't going to challenge the reference speakers in your main system, but the highs are reasonably clear and open, and the midrange and bass are surpisingly satisfying for such a small speaker - I think the passive radiators help with that, especially if you reinforce the bass with some walls/corners. They feel very solid with quality materials and were very easy to install, and super flexible in terms of installation/placement/positioning options (e.g., they can be mounted vertically and angled in/out or mounted horizontally and angled up/down). My only wish is that both angling options were available in either orientation (e.g., that I could mount them vertically and angle them both inward AND downward), but that would require a more complex mounting system, and that's a but much to ask of an outdoor speaker at this price point. Overall, I'm very satisfied; I would buy these again and would recommend them without hesitation.

Pros: - Sound great for small outdoor speakers - Active midrange/bass driver + passive radiator produces satisfying bass - Higher maximum power handling than many other outdoor speakers in/near their price class - They make grilling and hanging out on the deck just that much more enjoyable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

AW5500 Great Sound

John S. from Nahma, Mi on 9/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have wanted new speakers on our front deck for some time. I haven't bought speakers for some time and was unsure of the sound quality of a sealed outdoor speaker. My family and neighbors love the sound. The AW5500s sound awesome, two of these on zone 2 of our Onkyo TXSR 875 readily fill this area with great sound. Easily the best small outdoor speaker I have heard!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Gary J from Wilmington Nc on 8/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are great. They were a lot better than I expected. Sound is Great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

High quality outdoor speakers

UpHillEd from Colorado on 8/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i recently purchased two pairs of AW 5500. They sound excellent, as advertised. My comparison outdoor speakers are Bose 151's and Boston Acoustics Soundwave compact outdoor speakers. The sound quality, tone and range is much better than both the Bose and BA. I'm pleased with them.

Pros: excellent tone, range and general quality

Cons: large for outdoor speakers, but that's all relative.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology Outdoor Speakers AW5500

Dave T. from Long Island ,NY on 8/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to get these speakers since I have this brand for my home theater setup(Pro Cinema 600- huge Bang for your Buck). Was originally going to power these via my Denon AVR2809CI...but the process of wiring was quite detailed considering where I was going to mount them. Fortunately, my backyard entertaining area allowed me to put these on my garage. So I wound up buying a 2 channel SONY A/V receiver/Amp - 75watts/Ch. I was a little hesitant to use an inferior amp as far as Quality/Power, but once I got these speakers going I was more than happy. I mounted them horizontally, about 16 inches below the garage soffit with the bass radiator facing up...can definatley hear bass along with treble and mids. There is a break in period for these or any speaker...so if they are going to sound better with time...I will be even more pleased than I am now.

Pros: Defintive Technology Quality. Paintable surface. Very easy to mount.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW 5500

Java_Joe from Downingtown, Pa on 7/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

VERY NICE Speakers!!! I am soooooo pleased with my selection of these for my outside deck. I'm running them off Zone 2 of my Denon 2312CI system and they sound great! The tweeter and midrange are crystal clear and I hear instruments playing in the music I haven't heard in my other speakers. I have them installed under the eaves of the second floor and quite close to the house. They are separated appx. 11 feet horizontally and are located appx. 4 feet above seated position. They are pointed to a focal point appx. 10 feet onto the deck. I've adjusted the bass a little from the receiver as I believe my speaker placement hurt the base a little. But I'm very happy after he adjustment. Installation was easy but customized. The speaker brackets have the installation holes for mounting 10 inches apart and my joists under the eaves are 16 inches on center. Since the speakers are somewhat heavy, I felt uncomfortable hanging the speakers from the vinyl covering the underside of the eaves. So, I screwed the bracket to a 1 inch by 2 inch and 10 1/2 inch piece of wood and screwed the center of the wood up into a joist. This way I have sufficient support for each speaker. Again, very nice speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Performance and Quality

AI from Houston TX on 7/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound quality, great manufacturing materials, simply a very good product. I installed in a gazebo and they are connected to a Yamaha receiver....very good sound.

Pros: Quality in sound all levels high and low, great bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW 5500

Wesley from Raleigh, NC on 6/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I mounted these on my screened in porch about a foot under the ceiling on the wall with the right one about 3 ft from the corner of the adjacent solid wall and the left one about 6 feet from the open screened wall. They are running off Zone 2 of my Denon 3212. I have them EQ'ed slightly to bump treble and bass just enough to remove the mid honk. I haven't broken them in yet, only about 10 hours of moderate volume play so far, but really I am impressed with the sound stage they create! I was thinking I may still need a Sub at some point, which I may as I tend to be a bass head, but for a smaller set of speakers that got full spouse approval (after I painted them to match the house and the 6500's were just a little too large to be acceptable) they sound awesome! Diverse range of music testing so far from Gary Willis' solo bass to JT to No Doubt to Dethklok and it all works well and with good detail and really good low end. Having them so close to the ceiling with the passive radiator just about a foot away and almost perfectly parallel to the ceiling surface helps a lot I'm sure!. I'm not sure they would do so well out in the open without the coverage to help amplify the low end. It'll be interesting to see how they do when I've got them broken in. I think the 6500's would sound better, however, for the price and the fact that the size is not overly distracting and got full spouse approval makes these solid winners!

Pros: Size, paintable, sound, detail, range extension with really good low end, easy to mount.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Def. 5500

Speakers from Allenwood, NJ on 6/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, sounds great, what more can I say.

Pros: Easy to mount, adjust and comes apart to clean.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW 5500

DavidJ from Oklahoma City, OK on 5/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers. Purchased to replace an existing set of outdoor speakers that were barely adequate. Great sound, extremely easy mounting bracket.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Orchard Park, NY on 5/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent

Bruce from Philadelphia, PA on 3/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound absolutely awesome. I upgraded from mid range pair of yamahas. Theyre under the roof in my covered porch, connected to my HTPC. I have around 10 hours on them, and they really do sound very nice. Best sound I've ever heard in an outdoor speaker. Excellent base and crisp highs. I explained to Daisy that I wanted full sound, at low to moderate volume levels, and she recommended these. I have turned them up to test drive, and they sound great at high volume. For my purposes though, listening at low volumes, they also sound great. Nice deep base with very low volume. I'm very pleased.

Pros: Just sound great.

Cons: Had to drill some holes in the mounting bracket for my application to mount horizontally on a vertical stud. Not really a big deal though.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Outdoor Sound!

Dusty Mark from Florida on 2/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We finally decided to use our lanai for something other than drying the step-son's sweaty workout clothes. The bugs in FL are an issue so we're having it screened in. We selected these speakers at the recommendation of Budddy, a Crutchfield advisor. We have a busy, four-lane road adjacent to our back yard so there is a lot of competing noise. The Def Tech AW-5500 speakers put out plenty of clear highs and mids with strong bass to help mask the traffic noise. The speakers are mounted on a support beam about 9' above the seating area and 1' below the ceiling. This gives the bass something to reverberate off of. I connected the speakers to our Yamaha home theater receiver on the B channel. I wired in a Russound WALTX-2 volume controller and installed it behind my place on the love seat. The volume control allows me to adjust the music for traffic and wind conditions. I give these speakers a strong five-star rating. I'm normally a Klipsch person, but these Def Techs probably put out more bass than the comparable Klipsch. I'm extremely happy with the full sound of these speakers and highly recommend them!

Pros: Bright highs and mids. Strong bass. Easy installation. All-weather. Full sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid Speaker

Mark from Virginia on 9/30/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these speakers to enjoy music on the back deck, pool area, and near the home outside and I am very pleased with them. Great sound, bass, highs, these speakers do it all. Opted to go with these rather then the 6500s and do not regret it. They produce plenty of sound.

Pros: design, sound, mounting ease

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Happy Ears!

Jeff K from New Orleans, LA on 8/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these Definitive Technology AW 5500 speakers about 3 months ago while my house was being remodeled. I had plenty of time to perform the suggested 30-40 hour break-in period at moderate volume levels by hooking them up to the surround sound system at my temporary quarters. I recently moved back into my newly remodeled house and installed the AW5500s on the covered porch ceiling and close to the wall. They sound awesome! It is not very often that my expectations of a product are exceeded by the products performance.

Pros: Easy to install, Sound great and look great.

Cons: 30-40 hour preak-in period before you can really crank them and hear the true quality.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AW5500 Outdoor Speakers

Mike from Rhode Island on 7/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I selected the Defenitive Technology outdoor speakers becuause I trust them. I have my surround sound system from Defenitive Technology in my town house in Florida and they sound fantastic. These speakers are well built which will be able to withstand the New England weather.. The specifications are right there 40hz to 20Khz and a signal to noise of 91. You wound be dissapointed with these speakers.

Pros: S/N Ratio and the 40hz to 20Khz range. Good bass responce.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Finishing touch for a new patio

Ian from Leesburg, VA on 7/8/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a bit leery of ordering something without being able to hear it first, but I knew a little about Definitive and with Crutchfield's return policy, I figured it was worth the risk. Installed them on a screened porch, totally protected from the weather and close to the wall and roof to maximize bass response. I've only had them up and running for a couple of days, but so far, I love them. Easy to listen to with just about any kind of music...not harsh, but they do provide a good detailed sound and crisp bass for their size. Installation was very easy as well. These will not be returned!

Pros: Crisp, clear, full sound. Easy installation. Good bass response.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

Crutchfield customer from Chicago il on 6/29/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall good speakers nice bass and easy set up

Pros: Good bass, sturdy speakers and brackets for outdoor use

Cons: Pricey compared with similar models

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very Impressive

MH123 from Cinci,OH on 6/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't sure what to expect since this was my first outdoor speaker. I have been very impressed. Install was a breeze and we have been enjoying ever since.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW 5500

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock on 5/27/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome full range sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice speakers, easy installation

David R from Bluffton, SC on 5/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just received these speakers late yesterday afternoon and also got them installed on our back patio. First let me say that the installation was a breeze! I have Hardieplank exterior walls (a cement type product) which require masonary type screws. Total cost from Home Depot for the masonary bit and the 3/16" x 1' 3/4' screws needed was about 7.00. I marked the location for the screws using the provided speaker bracket, drilled the holes, screwed the screws in about 3/4 the way, slid the bracket onto the screws, and tightened the screws. Both speaker brackets were installed in less than ten minutes! As far as the sound quality overall, they are very warm sounding. There is quite a bit of bass output. I turned them up using the 140 watt per channel amp I am using to drive them and they sounded good. However, these will require a breaking in period (per DefTech's manual) before these will really shine. After three hours of continuous use I could already tell a difference in the sound than right out of the box. I am confident my review will change to a full five stars after the break-in period is complete. Great speakers at a great price equals a happy customer.

Pros: Very easy instalation, good sound quality after a break-in period

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Paulo from Atlanta, GA on 4/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a long search for outdoors speakers I found these as the best in the market. I installed a pair in my outdoor kitchen and they sound awesome. I also bought 2 rock speakers to install close to my outdoor fireplace. But honestly, I would not need them since the quality of sound delivered by these speakers would cover that area too. The only reason I kept the rock speakers is because I added them as "zone 2" in my receiver. So I can listen different channels in the kitched and fireplace or even music at fireplace and game in the kitchen. Since these speakers are connect to my TV. I strong recommend these speakers. But please, don't save money on wiring cables. Make sure to use properly cables. HDMI

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

As Good As it gets for the Money!!

EZ_E from Socal on 12/1/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed them in the corners of my patio cover and they really produce quality sound for an outdoor space. bass response is good when mounted under the eave and projects very well. Very happy.

Pros: These speakers and mounts work fantastic. Easy set up and installation.

Cons: Wish they had mounts that rotate right and left

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound!

Corey from Charles Town, WV on 5/20/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Speakers for the money. I have two of these on my screened in back deck, and they sound great. There is moderate bass and crystal clear sound, even at the louder volumes. The outside volume controller (seperate purchase) is awesome and well worth the $100. I would buy these again, and after lots of research, I think I got the best speakers for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great outdoor speakers on a moderate budget

Brian from Austin, TX on 4/15/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, easy to mount even in akward locations, feel sturdy, sound very good. Only negative for me is the 3 inch yellow sticker that comes attached to the grill telling users to point the speaker face with the driver and tweeter toward the listening area - the sticker is right on the grill and impossible to remove entirely, so a good looking speaker ends up tainted with sticky white backing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW5500

MikeH from DeBary, FL on 1/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic speakers. Wired them up under my lanai roof against the wall and the results were exactly what I was trying to achieve. Highs are bright and detailed without the harsh brittle sound, while the low end is well rounded and full. Maybe try and get at least one of them mounted in a corner if possible to accentuate the lows. Getting lows out of small drivers, especially outdoors can be a challenge. Bass frequencies are non-directional so having one of my speakers in a corner gives good overall spectrum. I love them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great high end, decent bass respone

David from Weston, CT on 9/23/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a speaker with strong bass for my patio. These have decent bass but extremely clear high end which fills the outdoor space well. Good solution at the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Outdoor Sound

Chad from Minneapolis, MN on 7/23/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just hooked these up last week, so they still aren't fully broken in yet, but they sound great already. They produce good bass for an outdoor setting. We had 75 mph winds the day after I put them up so I can say with confidence that the brackets and speaker enclosures hold up to the elements.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP