Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
124 433 239 3
Connect ID #
124 433 239 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology AW6500

Outdoor speaker (Black)

MFR # NECA

Definitive Technology AW6500

Definitive Technology AW6500

Outdoor speaker (Black)

MFR # NECA

256 reviews
View this product

Definitive Technology AW6500

Steve from Pass Christian, MS on 6/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from these all weather speakers. I mounted them on our covered porch deck which provides sound for the pool. Rich powerful sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

DT AW6500

Kyle from Toledo, OH on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had these for a few years mounted under the eve on my back patio area. They are exposed to the full gamut of NW Ohio weather year round. Direct sun, snow, sleet, wind, rain, hot, cold, etc. They still sound brand new after 4 years in that environment. The sound is extremely clear and detailed. Bass comes through well even in the open air environment. Mids and highs are crisp and clear. I power them with a Yamaha receiver that is nominally rated at 100W per channel. Although I rarely play them loud, they have enough power to visibly shake the windows below. They maintain their clarity and detail at any level I could possibly want in an outdoor speaker. Can't recommend these enough.

Pros: Clear, detailed, loud, and have maintained their condition in a harsh environment.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Ryan from Cypress, TX on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super quick delivery and sound great. Replaced some older Yamaha speakers, the sound is much fuller. Awesome improvement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Good Outdoor Speakers

Bernard from Los Altos Hills, CA on 6/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good outdoor speakers. I am an audiophile and drive them with a Blusound Power Node using mostly Tidal Master recordings.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: Bass a little thin but not bad for their size and price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crisp loud ans wholesome sound

Dave from Whitefish, MT on 5/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big Bang for the buck. Have since decided to upgrade my amp to get full capacity out of these babies. Can't wait to throw a party!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

????

Axel from San Juan, PR on 5/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best hay had

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outdoor Speakers

Bob from Asheville, NC on 5/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The clarity and detail presented by these speakers is top shelf! I like them so much I ordered another pair. I use them in conjunction with a subwoofer so their bass response isn't an issue.

Pros: Detail and Clarity

Cons: The bass isn't great but the overall sound is!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers with catch

Mark from Glenview, IL on 4/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this speakers for more than 5 years, installed on my patio. After two years they stop working so bring them to electronic repair shop and they fix them. Next spring same think, so did open them (like to fix things) and find the problem. Wires catch the moisture and loose connection. Simple re_Soldering them fix the problem. Still sounds great. Use Heos to operate receiver and can use phone, iPad, any Sirius radio etc. Few screws inside rust but are easy to replace.

Pros: Sound great with quality receiver Easy to install Weather proof (at least speaker's)

Cons: Bad to install in direct sun and rain

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Outdoor Speakers!

Jeffrey from Lenexa, KS on 4/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great outdoor speakers! I upgraded from the 5500aw to these and both are outstanding performing and sounding speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Paul from Saugerties, NY on 3/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and great sound. I have 4 of these for our back yard/pool area. It's about 50' x 100' total. Sound fills it and my neighbors yards all around me. Good thing they like our music ??

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Larger than some older speakers. May need to modify older mountings.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Guest from Chicago,il on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had two av 6500 speakers partnered with T I C 100 watt Bluetooth amp in my 14 x 10 gazebo over 6 years still sounds amazing with all windows open the sound fills the entire yard perfect for personal listening excellent for our yard parties well worth the investment

Pros: Doesn't distort at high volume attractive easy install versatile mounting angles years of flawless performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology Household

Taron from Austin, TX on 3/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers. I've had a set of AW6500 on my patio for six years. They perform so well I replaced the speakers in my garage with these. I highly recommend the AW6500.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Charles from Atlanta, GA on 2/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced an older generation pair of DT speakers. These sound great, look good, and were easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nothing better that these!

Ronald from Bainbridge Is, WA on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second pair I have owned of this product. They are solid built and the sound is audiophile quality. High end drivers and the rear passive radiator really puts out serious bass output. There is not another company out there at this price point that gets close to this sound and quality. And on top of that, they are really good looking.

Pros: Sound and quality, and serious bottom end bass.

Cons: Tricky holding the monitor with one hand and screwing in the side mounting bolts. I would prefer they consider a "snap in" system.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spectacular Sound Experience

Gavin from Gulfport, MS on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been patiently waiting for Definitive Technology & Crutchfield to restock these as they were out of stock EVERYWHERE for months. They were super simple to install on my front and back porches and the sound quality is AMAZING!!!!! Super crisp treble and warm bass that fills up our porches and entire 2.0+ acre property!

Pros: - Crisp Clean Treble - Warm Surrounding Bass - Sound Fills Large Areas at just 1/4 Volume (Sony A/V Receiver) - Quality Sound

Cons: - None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 10/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice full sound. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome !!!

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CT on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers, getting better every time I hear them. Running 110w per channel to them , sound great at all volume

Pros: Easy to install, perfect size , great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean and clear

Crutchfield customer from Bonney Lake, WA on 7/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Teamed with the high powered Denon AVR3600 and OSD Forza 10" sub, the back deck sound quality is amazing. Great clean mids and highs. Without the sub the lower frequencies do lack, but I expected any outdoor compact to deliver as such. This is why outdoor subwoofers were created. I have yet to really "crank" up the volume as I haven't needed to, but even at low volume the clarity is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Impressive!

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 7/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic speakers and I'm a huge Klipsch fan. Much better bass, equal treble, and near the sensitivity as the Klipsch competitor.

Pros: Bass!

Cons: ?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding sound quality and volume!

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood, MO on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound quality and volume! I am running these at 125 wpc (2-channel mode) on my open air patio, attached to the back of the house 10 feet off the ground, and 35 feet apart. I was concerned about this large distance apart but had no choice due to aesthetics. They sound fantastic. Very clear, nice bass, and they can get quite loud while still being clear. Definitive's customer service was a bonus. During install, my dog ate one of the the mounting screw discs. Definitive asked no questions when I called but simply stated they would send me a new one for free, and it arrived within one week. Thanks DefTech!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

DEf Tech - can't go wrong

Crutchfield customer from Davisburg, MI on 7/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned Definitive Technology speakers for several years. So when I decided to install some outdoor speakers, and after looking and testing a few other brands, I went back to Def Tech. Nicely made, Sound is really good as is the power handling capability (when I get to crank it up) is very good. Using a Sonos amp to drive them.

Pros: Easy to mount and point.

Cons: The need to run speaker wire through my attic to get where I wanted them (but I knew that going into it).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Moseley, VA on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great outdoor speaker! I have them mounted is gazebo by the pool. Very clear stereo separation and details for an outdoor speaker. But no surprise coming from a Def Tech speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cabana Sounds!

Crutchfield customer from Champaign, IL on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and perfect for my new outdoor cabana around my pool!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockdale

Jeff from Rockdale, TX on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have lived in my house for 6 years. Purchase 4 of the definitive speakers. Sounded good but the covers on the speaker would fall off. I returned I think 4 of the speaker to Crutchfield and they sent new ones. Then they stopped. I now have 3 more on my house with no covers. Definitive does a crappy job of mounting the covers. And Crutchfield does not back up what they sell.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

great speakers

Crutchfield customer from E Patchogue, NY on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love the speakers

Pros: great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Ricky from Fresno, CA on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT SOUND from these speakers. clear and clean sounding with low end when needed. very happy to purchase a pair of these.

Pros: very clean highs and impressive low end.

Cons: non yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Rogers, AR on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitive speakers never disappoint. These speakers are impressive in their clarity, and ability to produce bass in an outdoor area. These speakers were really easy to install, and would definitely recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Linden, CA on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sounding outdoor speakers hands down. This is my second pair I purchased due to the great sound quality. My friends and family are amazed by the sound and keep asking where the subwoofer is hidden. Just buy them, you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Pros: Sound quality, crisp highs and great mids with some lows too!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Incredible imaging

Crutchfield customer from Vincennes, IN on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The base response is definitely not 40 hz, it might be able to produce it but not at any db. I opened one and listened to it and was not impressed with low end, was going to return them. I went ahead and mounted both on the far side of my pool, 25' apart. I was blown away by the imagining, clarity, definition... Anywhere you sit or stand on our pool or surrounding areas feels almost like you have a headset on. Even at very low db you are "in" the sound. After walking around the adjoining neighbors yards I am happy with lack of deap base as it would carry too far. I will probably add a sub at some point but use it sparingly to keep my neighbors happy lol...

Pros: Clarity, imaging

Cons: Low end

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Morristown, NJ on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and well constructed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, TN on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the sound from these speakers. I haven't finished the break in period as of now but am looking forward to hearing them at a higher volume. Now after hearing them I'm not as sure of placing them where I had originally intended to. At the moment they are acting as a third set of speakers in my living room and now I realize I need a new pair of some sort to complement theBoise acutimass and the boise bookshelf speakers. I now have six amps running with the majority of the 22 speakers outside. I'm thinking these 6500 are clearer than the boise 251 but until I get them outside I'm not sure. I like them so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Full Range Sound

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, OH on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an initial review as I just installed them this week. They are inside my detached garage "theater" but I wanted an outdoor rated speaker to handle the changes in humidity. The included mounting brackets were also a deciding factor. I am powering them with a Denon PMA -600NE (also new). I am guessing the wattage is likely around 45watts with thrse 8 Ohms speakers. It is plenty to drive these. I may add a subwoofer because I have a spare but the 6500s don't necessarily need it. The sound is quite full. Not "tinny. That is only listening to streamed audio this far. I imagine once the BluRay/ CD player is connected I will like them even more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Lake Orion, MI on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! I had a pair of RSL Outsider speakers and was underwhelmed by the low-end their 6.5" woofers produced. I took advantage of the sale on these and glad I did. The marketing says the bass radiator is equivalent to a 10" woofer...in size, yes...in output, no. These certainly have more low-end than the RSLs I was using, but they have about as much as you'd expect from a standard 6.5" woofer on a ported bookshelf. The highs and mids are excellent. Very smooth, crisp, and detailed. They are punchy and certainly produce a lot of sound. I tested them using a Cambridge Audio Edge W and Anthem AVM70 processor. They sounded great. In my outdoor setting I use an Arylic A50, it powers these just fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Olcott, NY on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to replace an old pair of Polk Atriums and I am very pleased with the sound quality. Packaged well, quick delivery, well made and great Crutchfield service!

Pros: Great sound for the money!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Fontana, CA on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound from the aw6500, coupled with the polk atrium ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sweet

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, NM on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound fantastic! I used the to replace a 25 year old set of pioneer speakers with 12" woofers that hung under the awning on my deck. And these definitely fit the bill. Shout out to Scott gout helping me decide.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 5/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bass carries the sound quality across our patio. Thanks for the recommendation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome speaker 0

Clarence from Millville on 5/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say is wow!!!!. I first heard this speaker the AW-5500 at a best buy store. The gentleman informed me that definitive technology also made a larger speaker the AW6500, but they didn't have any in stock. I called Crutchfield and asked if they had the larger speaker in stock. They informed me that they did and that they would price match the price I gave them. I bought the AW6500 without hearing them. I was not disappointed in the sound and the quality of this speaker. But it if your looking for an outdoors speaker for your deck porch. Take a look at the AW6500 speakers . Love them

Pros: Everything a music lover could ask for in a speaker. Clarity,power, range and looks

Cons: I wish the grill was easier to remove

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are solid outdoor speakers. Very happy with the quality. Low end is much better than others I've looked at. Mid's and Highs are clear and not harsh. Happy with my choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I was nervous!

Jesse from Louisville, KY on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was between the DF AW-6500 and the B&W AM-1 and I'm so glad I went with the AW-6500. When testing for placement I started as they advertise against the house, but could not.The sound filled my neighbors yard at about 60db of sound. For reference my back yard is about .2-.3 acres. So, I placed them along the back of the deck pointing towards the house to maintain the sound to the listening environment. With that placement the deck is filled with sound! The low Bass-Radiator rattles the deck placing a smile on my face. Simply Amazing! *I'm powering 2 AW-6500 with a Denon AVR-X4300H using Zone 2 and 12 gage speaker wire.

Pros: *Lots of bass. *Great sound *Loud

Cons: *Expensive *Need a powerful amp

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Lake Hopatcong, NJ on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned 5 other pairs of Definitive speakers so I'm not surprised by the performance and quality of the AW6500. Placement is key with these to get the best bass possible. Having something behind them for the sound to bounce off makes a big difference. They also took a little time to break in but sound great. Powering them with a 250wpc amp and they easily fill my75'x90' back yard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Totally blown away! These absolutely cook!

Crutchfield customer from San Rafael, CA on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally impressed with these. The power, clarity, and ability to handle loud volumes, while projecting out into the ether is unreal. I paired these with a current gen Sonos Amp, and the 125 watts x 2 drives the heck out of these. If you're using less than 100 watts on these, go with the AW5500s. These truly shine with legit power, and will accurately reproduce sound at whatever volume you throw at them. Honestly, these are practically PA speakers. Repeat after me: I WILL BUY THESE. I WILL GIVE THEM GOOD POWER. I WILL IMPRESS EVERYONE. MY LIFE WILL BE BETTER.

Pros: Mind blowing performance at high volumes while powered by Gen 3 Sonos Amp

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Severn, MD on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added 4 speakers to my 1200 square foot patio and it sounds great. Good base and great range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

highly recommended for outdoor/backyard

Crutchfield customer from Royal Oak, MI on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded my backyard speakers to these from the DefTech AW5500s. Love the sound. Really fills the outdoor space completely. No dead spots. The mounting/positioning options allow you to perfect the sound quality, direction, coverage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Port Allen, LA on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice bass response when installed against a wall or under an eave. I prefer the AW6500 over other outdoor speaker models that I have owned in the past.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The nicest outdoor speakers I've ever owned

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, FL on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had these up for about a week and they sound phenomenal! Clear, bright highs, full, punchy lows, and a well-defined mid-range. So far they have easily handled all the power I've given them, but, admittedly I haven't pushed them hard yet as they have a 40-hour break-in period.

Pros: Clear highs, will defined mids, full lows - beautiful sound!

Cons: Big, but not unruly

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best Sounding Gym!

Crutchfield customer from Tyler, TX on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second AW6500 I have installed in my nephew's new Fitness Gym For Athletes. I gotta say he has the best sounding gym in town!

Pros: Quality "Pump-Up" Sound I have come to expect from Definitive Tech!

Cons: Not a single Con.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great, with strong base and crisp highs, and no distortion. They are installed in our lobby, with 11' ceiling. with a lot of traffic and AC units blowing in lobby. But with minimum volume setting on the amplifier

Pros: Great speaker

Cons: running and concealing speaker cables in high end lobby..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome outdoor speakers wish i had bought them before

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Brainerd, MN on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little big in size but sound great and form and fit are excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Crawfordville, FL on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Butler, NJ on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound and bass response!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product and great addition to our patio. We bought to for our outdoor area for our business. Speakers sound very good with a wide range of music. Super easy set up. 100% will recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Guest from , MO on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had these speakers for 3 years now . Best outdoor speaker I have ever had including Bose . Only problem is after two winters the following spring both tweeters were blown . I replaced with waterproof tweeters keeping the crossover in tact . The lady up the hill 2 hundred yards away says I shake her house .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Valley Ne on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound awesome. I replaced a set of speakercraft and it was a significant upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outdoor speakers

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesvle, VA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added these speakers to my Sonos system that is around our pool and love them. Crutchfield is the only place to go for your electronic needs!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Noblesville, IN on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provide good sound at all volume ranges.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Pollok, TX on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers at a very affordable price! Plus ... Crutchfield's tech support is the BEST.

Pros: Sound and price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome speakers...well worth every penny

Crutchfield customer from Florida, NY on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to replace a pair of Bose 251 Outdoor Speakers that had been in use for 10+ years but the sound was tinny and fading. I have purchased other Definitive Technology speakers in the past from Crutchfield and have been impressed with their sound over a wide range of music. I purchased these speakers and out of the box they were awesome. After about 30 hours of break-in they sound even better. Great bass and clear tones throughout the range. Only thing I would recommend is that if installing in a horizontal position with banana plugs you may want right angled ones as normal plugs are a tight fit. Fantastic service from Crutchfield, ordered on a Friday and they were delivered on Monday.

Pros: Impressive sound Quality construction Ease of installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Bellmore, NY on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! As advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Vicksburg, MI on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sounding speaker with exceptional bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Running Four with Sonos Amp

Crutchfield customer from White City, OR on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased four of these powered by a single Sonos Amp for our pool area. I was skeptical that a single Sonos Amp could power all four and was I ever wrong. The quality, power and low end from this combination is incredible. You will not be disappointed.

Pros: Low end, clarity, sound quality

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Whitestone, NY on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound, and bass response

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound/quality

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, definitely worth the extra bit of money for the 6500 over the 5500. Would recommend! Easy mounting options.

Pros: Great sound, easy to install.

Cons: A little big for shallow eaves.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Wenatchee, WA on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW just as advertised. The bass is amazing, only had a few days waiting to get pass brea k in period. But I'm sure it'll be great. Always wanted to try Crutchfield I'm glad I did

Pros: Great bass,great sound, easy installation. Heavy seems very well built. So far I very much like these speakers

Cons: Non so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Danielson, CT on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had these a little over a week and so far it's all been good sound is unbelievable for an outdoor speaker bass is better than expected they look great.The only complaint i would have is there was a small dent in the speaker grill . Bottom line thought is I would definitely recommend these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Sean from ROSEVILLE, CA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for outdoor pool application. Very happy with sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonderful outdoor speaker

Crutchfield customer from Goode, VA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these for years. Great sound. Better if you feed them plenty of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Visalia, CA on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Darn good speakers for the price. Impressive clarity and bass response. Durability is yet to be seen, but build quality and overall appearance are on point. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Hawley, MN on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers!

Pros: Great speakers for country music!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best sounding outdoor speaker on the market !

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, MD on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing clear clean sound with deep bass !!! Plenty of loudness..I can't believe an outdoor speaker could sound that good..It sounds better than lot's of indoor speakers!

Pros: You won't regret buying them

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

DT AW6500

Crutchfield customer from La Porte, TX on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product well made and easy to install. Nice to know they can be painted and instructions included. Little disappointed in bass but not a show stopper. Time and weather will tell the whole story but am very satisfied with the purchase and would recommend.

Pros: Easy to install, paintable, clear sound.

Cons: Lacks bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgrade to AW6500's

Crutchfield customer from Ballwin, MO on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a pair of AW5500 with these AW6500's ... as I wanted to get just a little bit more bass. Have just gotten to approximately 50 hours of play time on the AW6500's and they sound fantastic ... you do need a break in period to achieve the full sound spectrum. Also, the units were easier to mount than I anticipated.... have them mounted vertical under eave. Long time Def Tech fan .... good company with great after the sale support.

Pros: Full rich sound with deep bass for an outdoor speaker(s). A great value.... esp. when on sale.

Cons: Would be nice if they came as a mirrored set rather than identical(s).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the deal! Handle high power and the weather real well. This is my second set; first set lasted about 8 years when exposed to East Tennessee weather 24/7/365....mounted on open deck rail posts. Passive rad does better than expected; no sub needed. Love them.

Pros: Handle power without damage. Durable, withstand rain and winter. Good bass, all freq range.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive!

Crutchfield customer from Strongsville, OH on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW! These are the absolute perfect speakers for our lanai. The clarity and bass are excellent and sound excellent playing contemporary jazz, classic rock and soft rock.

Pros: Clarity Highs Lows

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Batesville, IN on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my is my third pair. The other two still work GREAT and sound INCREDIBLE but my two Infinity atrium type speakers I've had for over 20 years on my side deck gave up the ghost. I saw this pair, on sale and I couldn't refuse to add these to my side deck . The clarity and base are awesome at all volume levels

Pros: Great sound for the buck!

Cons: They're a little on the large size but once you hear them you won't regret it one bit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500 - Great speakers

Randy from Fallbrook, CA on 3/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers both in sound and build quality. They certainly need to be anchored properly. I have mine mounted in stucco ceilings with 1/4" concrete anchors. Really simple to install and adjust. I have mine powered by a Denon AVR-1500X with the crossover set at 40. Per the DT website that's what they suggest and after trying numerous different crossover points I have to agree. I also have a rock subwoofer in the yard about 20-25' away to handle the lows so with both the music sounds excellent. I initially thought about mounting flush-mount speakers but wanted something with a bit more bass and and directivity. These fit the bill perfectly and after a bit of break-in really show their colors. Highly recommended for those seeking audio quality as the primary goal.

Pros: excellent audio great build quality good looks easy to mount and adjust highly efficient so they don't require tons of power

Cons: fairly expensive (for outdoor speakers) large/heavy size (not really a con but could be a turn-off for some)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers with full range of sound and crispness

Crutchfield customer from Piney Flats, TN on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these on our covered patio, about 250 sq ft and they are perfect. At half volume powered off my Onkyo RZ-630 they are pleasantly loud enough. At 3/4 volume I can hear their crisp sound and the bass radiators provide a pleasant low on all songs throughout our back yard. If I wanted to piss off my neighbors, these can do the trick at nearly full volume with little to no distortion. I would definitely recommend these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Aaron from LUBBOCK, TX on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bass response at longer ranges is where this product excels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Guest from St Petersburg, FL on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed two of these speakers in my back patio and in about three weeks blew out both of the tweeters. My whole system in my house is difinative speakers which I brag about all the time and very proud of. I did not purchase the cheap ones. I was super excited to get these outdoor speakers of the same brand as my indoor speakers. They are not cheap and I was very disappointed after talking to definitive customer service thinking they were going to send me new speakers which I did not want they sent me to new tweeters which I had to have installed myself. I take my sound very seriously and entertain often I was very embarrassed and disappointed That I blew out my speakers in less than a month And then hugely disappointed again to have the customer service just send me two tweeters without any directions or advice on how to disassemble and install the parts they sent me And this is after I told them I did not want those speakers I had already purchased new ones which are electro voice and running them off the same receiver and I have had Them maxed out and They did not miss a beat.

Pros: None

Cons: Very in adequate product and horrible customer service

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Norristown, PA on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had these speakers for about 5 years in an all weather environment. Recently I blew out the left channel and had to purchase a replacement. System is as good as new. Love these speakers and fill up the yard with great sound.

Pros: Great sound. Durable speakers well worth the money.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love these but install well!

Paul from St Petersburg, FL on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great. Efficient. Wide dynamic range. Great treble and bass. Especially bass. Sound is amazing. Have them mounted horizontally. Had big issues at first. Rattled like crazy. Bracket was shaking against wall. I went to the hardware store and bought 3m double sided tape and white silicon weatherstripping. Surrounded perimeter with foam tape and then taped on the weatherstripping. Then installed using screw locations as supplied with bracket. Cured it. Went from rattling to amazing! They have so much bass they shake too much otherwise. Get them and install this way. Speakers are amazing!

Pros: Amazing sound.

Cons: Shake too much for mounts as designed. But fix is 10 bucks and easy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Over Rated

Sean from Seaford, NY on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over Rated

Pros: Sound Great At First

Cons: Over time these speakers are garbage. I love my indoor DT home theater speakers. But I have had these speakers for about 3 or so years and have had to fix them every year. I am on my 3rd year and again one of the speakers do not work. First year the speaker terminal broke off due to ice but is safely under a wide over hang. 2nd year the driver did not work. Definitely was not tested for harsh New York winters.... Maybe they would fair better in Florida....

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Nice Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Kasson, MN on 6/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my one of a kind Klipsch and am still trialing, but the sound is very clear, bottom is robust. I like to crank it up outside, and these fill up my deck and backyard listening area very well. I give them a high rating because of the sound clarity playing hi-res files.

Pros: Attractive speaker that sounds quite good at all listening levels.

Cons: I used to refer to my Klipsch outdoor speaker as really "cracking"(in a good way) at loud volume. Haven't quite heard that yet, but still very new installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Superb Outdoor Speakers

Scott from Kings Park, NY on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had these beauties for several years now and the sonic capabilities are truly impressive. They fill my back yard with amazing sound. Bravo!!!

Pros: In a nutshell - exemplary sound. Well built for serious weather durability.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Hauppauge, NY on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent outdoor speakers so far only had them for a week

Pros: Excellent

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thumbs up

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and excellent performance on my new rear patio. I bought 2 sets so the areas can be split between music and tv when we have parties and events.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WOW - Surprisingly Loud and Clear!

Crutchfield customer from Encino, CA on 6/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW! I was not expecting such a clear sound and punchy bass from this speaker! I have a 2500 sq ft back yard, open with lots of landscaping and a pool. It is not huge but not tiny, and two of these AW6500 is WAY more than I needed, haha. Super loud with nice clarity and surprisingly punchy bass. VERY impressed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Minnesota on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I cannot believe the sound that comes out of these speakers. Unbelievable! I have a 50x50 shop and was worried that 2 of these were not going to be loud enough. Boy was I wrong! They are still within their break-in period, so they will only sound better then they already do! Highly recommend to anyone who needs a speaker for outdoors and other high moisture areas!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound at a great price.

Crutchfield customer from Massapequa, NY on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great overall sound and strong bass response! These speakers sound great up and down the volume band.

Pros: Great Sound. Great Price.

Cons: Larger than some outdoor speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Friendswood, TX on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are awesome outdoor speakers. I mounted a set of 4 in each of the four corners of my patio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Jenks, OK on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finding it nearly impossible to audition multiple outdoor speakers in person, I had to make my choice based on my AV installer's recommendations along with internet reviews. For me clarity, depth, and spacial perception were more important than pure power. I prefer to play light jazz while grilling out on the Big Green Egg on my patio! I considered the Klipsch Reference AW-650 speakers but ultimately went for the DTs. They sound amazing on my covered patio and look fantastic. A word of caution, though. The black finish appears pitted likely due to the paint not bonding perfectly well with the metal. DT says this is their "new" finish. I purchased the AW6500s in white which actually are a much better match for my white stucco/gray wood trim patio. The paint finish on the white speakers looks really, really good. Don't worry about power with this pair. If you want all the neighbors to think you have a live band providing your party entertainment, just crank up the volume and you won't be disappointed (until the police show up!). Overall, very happy with the Definitive Technology AW6500s and Crutchfield is still my #1 go-to for all home electronics.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound from a compact speaker

James from Schenectady, NY on 11/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looks and great sound from such a small compact speaker.

Pros: Great sound, great looking speaker

Cons: Speaker grills are firmly attached and require some skill to remove.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Jeff from Taylorsville, KY on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great.i actually have bought a second pair for a separate area. It does help if you have them in a corner or with the back again a wall.

Pros: Sound great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good sound at first then...

Brian from Sterling, VA on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not purchase if installing on the side of your house without cover.

Pros: Good sound when new. However, see cons.

Cons: These speakers slowly started getting quieter. Two years in they both stopped working at different times. I decided to open one up and found a bunch of water pour out. the padding inside was completely soaked and the speaker cone and magnet were rusted no allowing the speaker to move freely. We live in VA and do not get an enormous amount of rain. More than disappointed.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

????

Pros: All good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

David from Altoona, PA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the price. And the 5 year warranty is pretty incredible!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Impressive outdoor sound!

Ron from Lynchburg, VA on 7/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just added a pair of AW6500's to my pool area and am extremely pleased. They sound great at both low and high volume and boy can they crank out the sound. I'm running them off a Sonos Connect via my Yamaha AV receiver and sending them 90 watts each in stereo. This seems to be a sweet spot. I installed them under the eaves along the rear of the house horizontally which gives the passive woofer a chance to shine -- really great base for a 6 1/2" speaker. I am very pleased with how well they sound 75 feet away from the house.

Pros: very clean highs remarkable amount of base excellent imaging

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Hilo, HI on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and sounds great in my gazebo!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Killingworth, CT on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, super easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, IN on 6/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Prior to this purchase I wasn't familiar withDefinitive Technology, so I was reluctant to go with them instead of a Bose or similar "name brand". However, the reviews convinced me otherwise, so I took a chance. When I first turned them on, quite frankly, I was a little disappointed. The midrange frequencies were somewhat muddled, but I figured what the heck, we're outside in the great outdoors so what can you expect. The documentation that came with the speakers indicated that there was a "break in" period before the speakers would sound their best. I was like, yeah right. However, after listening to them now for over a month, I must admit that they do sound better than they did right out of the box. Highly recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Dave from Macomb mi on 5/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did have these for about 6 years. Sounds decent but when you turn them up the bass vibrates the whole speaker. But my main problem was they leak water. Sent one back to company and they sent me back a refurbished one and it leaked again and eventually stopped working. Not a good speaker for outside. Going to try the Klipsch speakers. They have a lifetime warranty so that should tell you something about there product

Pros: Sounds good

Cons: Bad speaker for outside

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Kevin J from Arcadia, FL on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for the price, didn't expect anything more , having said that certainly the best outdoor reproduction of sound I have ever heard Thank you for selling this product

Pros: All

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Big disappointment. Does not last

Craig from Hamilton, OH on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounded amazing initially. I bought 4 of these 2 years ago. I just plugged them in and one of the speakers is dead. I opened the case and the inside was a mess. Corrosion over the wires and board. Tested for current which goes into the board but dead on the output side. Contacted customer service and no response. One of the last 3 is also failing. The woofer doesn't work only tweeter. Tested all wires and connections. I am very disappointed since Def Tech is usually a quality product. I have all def tech for my surround system. I am off to buy Bose.

Pros: Initial sound quality

Cons: durability, quality build

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great full sound

Bob from Evans City, PA on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the fourth pair I bought. Very full sounding outdoor speaker. Great highs and decent bass.

Pros: Full, detailed sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent outdoor sound!

Crutchfield customer from Nevada City, CA on 4/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely worth the price. Rich full sound even at low levels. I'm using them for both music and outdoor home theatre.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Gregory from Bay City, MI on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great buy.....Definitive quality and very good sound....mounts that come with it are sturdy and strong and could probably hold 20 pounds or more.....speakers are sleek and very attractive on my back deck and go with any décor you may have....Thanks Crutchfield....

Pros: Great sound Very attractive....easy to mount strong and sturdy too....Great buy.....

Cons: None....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

shattering of enclosure at moderate levels

Charles from NV on 4/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up my pool patio with a pair of DT AW6500 and a pair of Klipsch AW650. The Dts reproduce base ok, but not without significant shattering of the enclosures even at moderate levels. Happens to both of them, so most likely a design flaw. The Klipsch speakers have no problem there. [Pachelbel Chacconne in F minor]. Klipsch hands down. No comparison.

Pros: efficient

Cons: don't handle bass well.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AS always, phone sales & support is excellent as well as timely notification & delivery of product. Thank You!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great for covered patio for music and surround

TJ from Hermitage, PA on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 25ftW x 36ft L covered patio with a TV above the fireplace. I bought 5 of these to use for surround sound with the TV and music. The first night my brother-in-law came over, he liked them so much, he was outside until 5am listening to a variety of music. He mentioned that there were subtle tones and sounds in his favorite songs that he had never noticed before. He was impressed by the clear and clean sound. The bass is very good, especially considering the size of the speaker. But since I am using them for TV and movies, I am going to add a powered sub. I've had these about a year now and have had no problems thus far. The only precaution I've taken is to not play them very loud when it is really cold out.

Pros: Sound is very clean and excellent frequency range for this size speaker

Cons: I bought these when they cost $50 more per speaker, but still worth it at that price.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Bitz from Mebane, NC on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure why anyone complains about this speaker being too large. Can't imagine a more compact speaker with a 6 1/2" driver. Bass is very good, but do not expect it to match a 10" active driver. The definition and clairity of the highs and mids are amazing. Very happy, and sitting out in 20 degree weather just to hear these speakers.

Pros: High quality sound for the outdoors.

Cons: I did not buy them sooner.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Philip from Rockport, TX on 11/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker, I purchased it to donate to the Rockport Texas community pool after hurricane Harvey destroyed the audio speaker at the main pool. I'm excited to hear it when it gets hooked up. The pool director was very excited, as he knew the brand and felt really good about the donation! Thanks for making ordering so easy! Cheers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'm impressed . Glad I bought these

Alex from poway ,ca on 9/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did a bunch of research and went between these and the bose 251's. I went to the Bose store and I wasn't blown away by the bose. They sounded great just no bass for my liking. I listened to the 5500's in best buy and thought they sounded good . I figured these would sound even better which they sound awesome. I used the Bose SA5 amp and they work great together. Everyone that comes over says there jealous.

Pros: Great bass and sound !

Cons: There's some rattling sound but I believe it was my install . The shake the walls need to fix it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

These are definitely NOT the best Outdoor Speakers!

Joycelyn from Brooklyn, NY on 9/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have four speakers. Not one of the is working right now. Only had them two years. Not good! Sorry!

Pros:

Cons: They don't work.

Crutchfield response on 9/5/2017
Jocelyn, if you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. Our toll-free Tech Support number is printed on your invoice, and is also available under the "My Orders" tab in the "My Account" section of our website. If you did not purchase this from Crutchfield, then you may want to contact Definitive Technology at 800-228-7148 for further information about the 5-year warranty on these speakers.

2 of 9 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

DanDan from Edgartown, MA on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid purchase, great performance in 20-40w per speaker. Excellent dispersion and solid bass response

Pros: Excellent sound overall. Great dispersion, solid base. I have 4 speakers under eaves to cover 40x65 pool area. Easy mounting

Cons: Brackets and boxes seem a little flimsy, but they are mounted in a safe, protected, no-touch location. Should hold up OK

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

You will be impressed!

Mack from Dayton, OH on 8/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers ROCK! I had no clue about Definitive Technology prior to my purchase (~ 1.5 yrs ago) however after checking the specs and looking at reviews I decided to take the plunge... these speakers were so impressive that I will definitely have to look into other products made by DT. The speakers are able to provide complete sound for my backyard (about the size of a two basketball courts). The bass that comes out of these things is pretty amazing given their size, however if you're looking for some serious rap concert thump I would look into getting a dedicated sub. The clarity is noteworthy and the volumes the speakers attain without distortion is outstanding. I was expecting to buy a lot more speakers in order to fill the backyard's sound however two speakers do more than fine (you can hear them from several houses over). The only downside to these speakers (which may not actually be a fault of the manufacturer) is the fact that I tend to get birds nesting on the speakers (a quick google search can provide solutions, the details of are out of the scope of this review). Overall I would highly recommend these for price, quality and performance.

Pros: Clarity, bass, sound output, build quality

Cons: Keeping them bird nest free, having to tighten the mounting screws by hand every month or so because the bass shakes them loose causing the direction of fire to change slightly

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best Outdoor Speaker

JD from Cherryville, NC on 7/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned many outdoor speakers throughout my life we have a pool and a dedicated system for the outdoors inside a pool house and these speakers are mounted on the outside of the building. Brands I have owned Bose, Polk Audio and some other brand years ago that I can't remember. These are by far the best I have ever had. Great clear sound bass is supplemented with a powered subwoofer but these speakers out perform any other. For the money they are definitely worth it. This was a replacement for one that had gone bad after being used since 2010 the other 2010 year speaker is still going strong. Can't go wrong with these speakers, made in the US and they are quality built. You get what you pay for in quality electronics but these are reasonably priced.

Pros: Awesome clarity and loudness, great quality and durable.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Mamaroneck, NY on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! Got these to replace older Boston Acoustic Voyagers. Clear sound both loud and not so loud. Used on open roof deck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sounding, high quality outdoor speaker

HG from Austin, TX on 7/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are exactly as described. Great sound straight out of the box and relatively easy to install. The rear firing woofer adds a level of depth that I haven't experienced from outdoor speakers. Very happy with the purchase and the Crutchfield service.

Pros: Sound, depth of field, sensitivity, build quality

Cons: Size - the size of these speakers feels a bit like 1997. For the sound quality, maybe it is to be expected and I'm not deducting a star for it. I would like to see Def Tech evolve the size of these speakers while maintaining the sound.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 6/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my third one. Sound quality is outstanding. A little disappointing that one of my original 2 blew out after 7 years. I guess that's a decent life expectancy. Mounted outdoors under and eve - kept outside all year in NorthEast. I liked it enough to buy another one. Hoping to get a few more years out of these. 10 years would be ideal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

Brian from Morrisville, PA on 6/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers deserve 6 stars!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Milbank, SD on 6/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice full sounding speaker. Bass is very good. Ability to turn the speaker to bounce the baas off a wall really is slick . Nice size and easy to inatall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Tremendous outside speakers

Scott from Bluffton, SC on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are excellent speakers for our screened-in back porch -- well made and the sound they produce is better than expected. I would but them again.

Pros: Well made. Excellent sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Streator, IL on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with these. I almost got Bose speakers because that is a name I know and like, but after reading reviews I asked the sales guy at Crutchfield what he would recommend and I am very glad he suggested these.

Pros: Good bass for an outdoor speaker. Good value.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

AJ from Spring, TX on 6/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great at low decibels, also has a nice balance w the additional bass. Would highly recommend over the 5500 for outdoors

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great units!! I'm impressed

Josh from Glasgow, Mt. on 6/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased 2 pair of these and installed them under the roof of the cabin deck and I will say I'm very impressed w these units. Very great sound. Decent bass for the size of the woofer. I would recommend these if you want some great tunes outdoors!! I wouldn't bother w the Bose, these in my opinion run circles around Bose for bass!! Little spendy but who cares, there worth it!!

Pros: Very decent bass for the size of the woofer.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

Jay from Prosper, TX on 6/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. 4 across back of house negate needing a sub. Running unbridged Dayton 12 channel feeds plenty of sound. Especially with the Def Tec aw5500s firing from pergola behind pool!

Pros: Good sound, nice bass, sturdy construction

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great outdoor speaker

Kevin from Midlothian, VA on 5/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was going to use a different retailer but wanted to check another company. Glad I did, spoke to Norm and he was great. I have a beach house with 3 decks and wanted whole house system. He recommended these speakers, I wanted the Bose, they sound fantastic. For an outside speaker, I was impressed with the bass and overall range. Loud and clear with good depth. Thanks Norm.

Pros: Good look great sound and bass for an outdoor speaker

Cons: For this price should have stainless steel mounting hardware. It comes with none.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

AW6500 and Sonos Excellent Pair

Mark from New Richland, MN on 5/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing 15+ year old Bose Outdoor speakers and amp. After a lot of research I installed (2) AW6500 on my upper deck powered by a Sonos. The sound blew me away on the deck and down by the lake 100+ feet away. Excited to add the 2nd set of speakers on the lower patio!

Pros: Great Sound and Easily Installed

Cons: Slightly larger than ideal per my wife.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Michael from Clearwater, KS on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding outdoor speaker. Easy to install. Seems like a very high quality component. I installed a pair of these in my pool area and a pair of the AW5500's on my patio and I must say the sound is awesome! Each pair delivers excellent bass, don't bother with a sub unless you are searching for absolute audio perfection. Both pairs of speakers are driven by a single Denon Heos amp.

Pros: Awesome sound, very good bass, high quality products.

Cons: A bit pricey but you get what you paid for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Outdoor Speaker

Eddie from Woodbridge, Va on 5/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchase two of these outdoor speaker for a 13' X 13' covered patio. Exactly Bass, easy to install.

Pros: Easy Installation, Great bass do not need a sub.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Brendan from St Paul, MN on 5/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great rich sounds for a good price. Made my front pario into a party zone. Easy install. Sounds great.

Pros: Sounds great, easy install, turned my front patio into a party zone.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Value

Doug from New York on 5/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers rock! Solid bass, clear mids and highs. All around great value.

Pros: Quality Sound

Cons: Cant find any yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh NC on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for a large outdoor area. This is my second set!!! I enjoy them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BEST OUTDOOR SPEAKER!

Jason from Cape coral, FL on 12/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker significantly exceeded my expectations and when paired with a Sonos Connect:Amp makes for a perfect outdoor system!

Pros: Great highs and lows

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Russell from Morris Township, NJ on 11/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a relatively small speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Patio Surround Sound

TJ from West Middlesex, PA on 9/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 5 of these wall mounted in a covered patio (25' x 36'). The bass radiator is aimed toward the wall and does add quite a bit to the low end compared to other outdoor speakers I have heard. Even with this simple 5 speaker surround setup, movies and TV sound great. These have a wide sound dispersion as well, which is a bonus for outdoor speakers.

Pros: Better bass than most outdoor speakers, wide sound dispersion

Cons: Fairly large speaker, but improved bass makes it worth it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from Alice TX on 9/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome powerful sound and clarity for such a small item.

Pros: Easy to mount and connect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very clear, powerful & stronger bass than I expected

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 8/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear and powerful. Better than I had expected. Mounted them on the ceiling of my back porch near the wall. The woofers are on the wall side, reflecting low frequencies out (as advised in install instructions. With midrange and tweeters facing outward. I am driving them with a 130W per channel amp. If I crank it up my neighbors 5 houses down will hear it clearly. So while overkill at lower levels it sounds very clear, with more bass than I expected from a small speaker

Pros: Easy mounting, very powerful

Cons: The box they came in only had foam on the ends. One of the speakers box had a huge hole gashed in the side when I received it. Luckily it didn't damage the speaker, it just missed. I think their packaging needs more protection on the sides.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speakers

Crutchfield customer from South Royalton, VT on 7/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound my backyard sounds like MEADOWBROOK 1st Row dead and company concert love it thanks bill

Pros: The whole experience from shopping online to delivery of quality product with exceptional service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

outstanding speakers

Grant from San Diego, CA on 6/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic speakers! I didn't expect much from an outdoor, waterproof speaker but these sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing Sound

Jon C from Coarsegold, CA on 5/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even though I wouldn't classify myself as a true audiophile, I am a serious lover of high quality music. These speakers do not disappoint. The sound is crisp, the bass is deep and the clarity is amazing. These speakers are the only ones you you need for your outdoor arena.

Pros: Fantastic sound Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Patio Sound

Dylan G from Chicago, IL on 5/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers provide big and balanced outdoor sound. I'm using 4 of them on a 1300 sq ft roof deck, and have clear sound everywhere. The bass isn't as quite as powerful as you might expect, but it works well for outdoor use.

Pros: Sturdy construction, balanced highs and decent lows.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointing bass response

DJ from South Bend, IN on 5/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these Definitive 6500s for my new deck based on the excellent reviews for their sound quality. They DO sound very clear and accurate in the mid and high frequencies, however the bass response is much less than I expected for drivers of this size, especially with the passive radiator firing right into the roof soffit. I've tried everything from hip hop to rock and country from CD and vinyl (not just some 128k MP3s) and they are consistently weak on the low end even with significant EQ. I'm a DJ, and I'm used to professional speakers, so my expectations might be too high, but a speaker at this price point should have better bass than a boombox IMO. I also hoped the grills (or the Definitive logo) would be flippable to the top or bottom of the speaker. I mounted the tweeter ends of both speakers in mirror image to give the best stereo separation, but now the logo is at the top of one speaker and the bottom of the other. Minor detail, but again at this price point, that should be a given. Overall, I'm satisfied with the purchase and this does seem to be the best speaker on the market for the average homeowner. It's great for casual listening. For parties, I'll just bring out a couple RCF HD32a's and give the little Definitives a rest, lol!

Pros: Great warranty, solid build quality, attractive look

Cons: Weak bass, grills not reversible

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Great product

Jon P from Town and Countr, MO on 5/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After buying the Bose Freespace outdoor speaker and TIC GS3's, these speakers are the best of both of those previous speakers. The TIC speakers had good bass but sounded like a speaker in a bucket. The Bose sounded very crisp but lacked bass. The Definitive Technology 6500's have great crisp sound, good bass and were very easy to install.

Pros: Good bass, crisp sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing

Dr. V from Richmond, VA on 5/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable sound. Crystal clear with great bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Terrific performance for your money

GodzillaPowerHour from Wharton, NJ on 4/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to spend the extra money and get the 6500s over the 5500s thinking the little extra frequency and sensitivity and bigger woofer would be worth it. 40-30k and 92 dB. Seemed like the best bang for the buck in terms of performance over all the other outdoor speakers as well. They sound great. I don't live in a neighborhood where I can crank them very loud, but at a reasonable volume, you get terrific sound and great bass. A great and very balanced sound. I play vinyl mostly and have been very happy. So happy in fact that I just bought my second pair when I saw them on sale! Strike now while you can! Weather resistance so far has been great. We've been through some very hard winters in the NE and thought about bringing in but didn't, and they've been fine. I even have one under a leaky gutter (not smart on my part), but no trouble at all. Installation is very well thought through as well. Very easy to mount the brackets, connect wire and then the speakers. Very easy to position as well.

Pros: balanced sound, great bass. Good value for sensitivity and frequency range. Especially when they are on sale. Weather resistance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Can you Say BOOM???

Jason from South Dakota on 11/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been looking for some good out door speakers for my sports court. I decided to go with AW6500's. I mounted these speakers under my covered deck over looking my sports court and can I say BOOM baby. These speakers are very good sounding with great bass which my kids love while out on the court with friends. I am pushing the speakers with a Crown XLS 2002. Sound is great VERY loud and deep bass. I am very pleased so far.

Pros: Bass, Bass, and more bass

Cons: Nothing I can think of. You get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sound

Thadd from Texas on 9/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First time to buy any outdoor speakers. So I purchased Definitive Technology AW6500s based on previous Crutchfield reviews for my patio. Mounted under the eave as recommended. Amazing sound right out of the box. Sound quality is crisp at all sound levels.

Pros: Sharp design and very easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good product

GregT from Michigan on 9/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for an outdoor speaker system to provide better bass response compared with my old Bose 151SE units. I have been very pleased with their performance to date in delivering full, accurate sound to our outdoor environment.

Pros: Rich, full sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

def tech aw6500- awesome

wendad from Washington on 8/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just got these about a week ago and got them hooked up outside around the pool area. They sound crystal clear and great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice sound, good quality

Novaguy from Virginia on 8/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound quality on these speakers, nice housing and hardware, very easy to adjust and install. Bass while very good not what I expected after reading other reviews but not shabby, overall they sound fantastic. 6.5" drivers can only do so much, and my location could be better in some respects for bass response. Love the fact that these are made in Baltimore and not overseas, a true quality American product! Yah!

Pros: Nice clean sound, very spacious, no distortion with quality amp. Nice hardware, easy to mount and adjust.

Cons: Rather large, bass less than expected but without a sub to be expected. Price is up there but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

definitive tech aw 6500

dennis m from California on 8/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent bass and highs

Pros: fills the void for bass in an outdoor setting

Cons: none- very pleased

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome outdoor speaker

N.Pirate from Ct on 7/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing full sou ding speaker. Delivers full range of sound, highs and base. I had the big Klipsch speakers outside,also great but more directional, and they didn't fill the space on the deck. These do a great job with the by p ointment the mid and high toward the listening area, and letting the base bounce of the walls and fill the space. Great choice, produces a full rich sound.

Pros: All weather, reflective, easy install, sounds great

Cons: If you have the room for them there are no cons, if space is a limited these might not work for you

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent speakers Deftech 6500

Milind from Tampa fl on 7/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds really as described in reviews and by Crutchfield support team. Haven't compared with any other speaker. I need to install in the patio that's when I can really comment.

Pros:

Cons: Slightly bigger than expected but I was told that's why they sound so good.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

outdoor enjoyment

GED from Wisconsin on 6/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As usual Crutchfield did NOT let me down. I made a purchase back in 2008 and when the tec support helped guide me to the equipment I purchased based off of my living room layout, what I was planning on doing and what I expected with success I had to see them again for what kind of outdoor speakers to get. Again based off of my backyard layout and what I was looking to hear I was suggested to purchase these speakers. I mounted mine under the eve and to the house itself. Beautiful sound and good base. Thanks again Crutchfield

Pros: Plenty satisfied with the volume not even halfway. crisp and clear - so clear it just gives me chills - very nice sound and will help drive me to get more outside work accomplished

Cons: This might lead me to drink more often

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Crutchfield customer from North Carolina on 6/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far the product is meeting expectations. Haven't had much time to use as of yet. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

heavy duty outdoor speaker

Art from West Seneca,NY on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker,very rugged

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice clear, crisp sound for an outdoor speaker!

DarinK from Kirkland, WA on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these same speakers for my back yard several years ago and just love the clear and crisp sound that they deliver, so I decided to buy a second pair for my garage. Because outdoor speakers tend to be made of more durable materials (e.g. some speakers use Kevlar cones and drivers) I also expect that means some compromise on sound quality, but not so with these speakers. Aside from their clarity, they also have an excellent range from lows to highs and everything in between.

Pros: *Clear, crisp sound *Speakers themselves seem highly durable

Cons: *On my older speakers (same model) I have noticed that the grills are now loose on both, just hanging off of the speaker a bit

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology AW6500

Bill from Massachusetts on 6/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had them for a short time, so far they sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Outdoor Speaker

Bsrgn from Laveen, AZ on 6/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of speakers! After hooking them up bass was good but after the break in period they ended up sounding much fuller and the bass was great! Highly recommend these!

Pros: Great bass output (after break in)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

AW6500 White

Clayton from Annapolis, MD on 5/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace old Dual outdoor speakers at our community pool. It's a large area to fill and these do it very well. Pretty good bass and very nice mid. Very easy to install with the included bracket.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very good, but pricey

JimS from Pennsylvania on 5/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased four AW6500's to replace my aging Infinity Outrigger (large ones) speakers on my deck. As the Infinity's were still kicking after 10 years, they were getting a bit tired from being exposed to the elements 365 days a year (snow, rain, etc.). Everyone raves about the bass response of the AW6500's ... I honestly don't think the bass response is any better than my Infinity's were at normal listening volumes. You really have to put some power into the AW's to make them sing ... once you do, they sound awesome, but, are lacking at lower volumes, in my opinion. Now, DT claims to have a 20-40 hour' break-in' period for the sound to be at it's best. To summarize, these are very expensive, but, are worth it if you are going to push them. If you are looking for low-volume only speakers, these may not be a good choice for the cost. Thank goodness, I am going to push these on occasion. Hope that helps!

Pros: Sound fantastic at loud volumes.

Cons: Pricey Lack of bass response at low volumes.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Adequate

steel from Oklahoma on 5/23/2015

Verified customer