Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology BP-9020

Bipolar floor-standing speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # IEDA-A

Definitive Technology BP-9020

Definitive Technology BP-9020

Bipolar floor-standing speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # IEDA-A

20 reviews
View this product

Feel the power and fidelity.

Crutchfield customer from Humacao, PR on 10/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelent product with non expensive cost and adorable sound. Love it

Pros: Integrated powerfully Active 8" subwoofer, Dolby atmos enable with awesome sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Def Tech Bp 9020

Crutchfield customer from San Tan Valley, AZ on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second set of Def Tech speakers! Absolutely love the sound they produce. Highly recommend definitive technology!!! Hands down.....Outstanding customer service!!!

Pros: Great Sound, Best Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9020

Crutchfield customer from Platteville, WI on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker, good bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9020

Crutchfield customer from Sewickley, PA on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Now I need more def tech speakers...

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 5/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super clean sound. Use these as stereo speakers with a Sonos AMP. Played around with equalizer settings to get my preferred treble and bass levels- absolutely perfect now. Physical hardware quality is also unquestionable. Compared with Sonos Play 5 speaker in person... no competition.

Pros: Fantastic audio and build quality. Balanced tone. Embedded subs are super convenient and work very well. Audio quality is great for movies and music.

Cons: Certainly not cheap.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well worth the money

Larry from Roseville, Mi on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These towers are awesome. Despite the size they have a big sound. Highs are crisp mids are amazing and the 8" powerd sub is quite punchy, so punchy infact I don't use my 12" 400 watt JBL subwoofer anymore. I don't need to drive these as hard as I did my old JBL towers cause the sound from these 9020 series is unreal,and when you team them up with the atmos speakers,look out! Well worth the money.

Pros: Great sound stage,small foot print,easy to use,look great and professional,kinda like you know what you are doing.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9020

Crutchfield customer from Killeen, TX on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the speakers sounds great. I really like it as it has subwoofer built in which fill out the surround sound in my living as I've matched it with two Klipsch 12" subwoofer center speaker and two R-82IIs. just need to run room correction. Plus the DT was on sale made my decision easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love them! Buy them!

Sara from Basking Ridge, NJ on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With these speakers I have no need to add a subwoofer. We use them for music and watching tv and the sound is EXCELLENT. Loads of power, rarely running at more than 50 volume. Great detail in the mids and highs and the lower frequencies are clean and powerful. Love that they don't take up a lot of space, and while I'd love a cherry cabinet (we have an 1800s home) these still look great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy them!!

Justadude from Los Lunas, NM on 11/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers and the best price anywhere. Speakers shipped out very quick. Arrived in perfect condition. They are very versatile when it comes to sound. You can add an external base module to your setup, but isn't absolutely necessary. You will surprised at the amount of base these things produce.

Pros: Sound quality, size, Price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers

Darrell from Dallas, TX on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Come on man, These speakers are incredible...

Pros: They are really powerful

Cons: They embarrass my 8000 series speakers

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

beautiful clear sound across the sound range

Stan from St. Thomas, VI on 9/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The cornerstones of my new 5.2 (or thanks to a y-splitter, 5.3) surround system. These two beauties paired with a CS-9060 center speaker and two 9040 rear speakers, which I was finally able to set up yesterday on my Denon AVR-X3400H receiver, now make sports (Dish and streaming), movies (blu-ray and streaming), and TV (using a Dish DVR) come alive. The two speakers were a snap to set up.. install the beautifully engineered base using the four supplied screws, installed the four flat floor mounts (included in addition, were four carpet spikes in case you have floor carpeting .... plug in, connect two cables, one for the channels and one for the LFE to the AVR, and voila.... some of the clearest dialog outside of a movie theater i have heard. Watched a CBS college game yesterday and it was like I was at the game... center, fronts and rears working in extreme harmony (no pun intended). I truly now understand why everyone says you need timbre matched speakers as part of a system.

Pros: clear dialog clear separation throughout the sound spectral range extremely well packaged... arrived US Mail with no damage whatsoever

Cons: None as of yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Beautiful Sound across the board

Sara from Basking Ridge, NJ on 8/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love these speakers! Wanted to get away from needing a separate sub woofer, and these speakers deliver. Sleek in the room, no distortion, details in the mid-range are great too. Highly recommend!

Pros: Excellent sound without needing separate sub-woofer

Cons: would have loved other cabinet option colors, but basic black is fine.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just Plain Great Speakers

Rob from Loudon, TN on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had them for a couple of weeks, but they sound terrific...and fill up our 2500 cubic feet of media room with glorious sound! Paired with the Def Tech ProCenter 2000 up front...great combo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9020

Crutchfield customer from La Plata, MD on 4/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with customer support, the product itself, and I will be back to you with any product I want.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Better than I expected

Brian from Plainfield, IL on 1/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding speaker platform, the bass response is better than expectations.

Pros: mid and sub ranges are excellent!

Cons: Treble isn't as pronounced

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9020

Hassan from Riverview, FL on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great products, I just love the sound and the built in powered subwoofer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Great speakers from Def Tech

Easwar from Parlin, NJ on 11/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of speakers that replaced Bose Acoustimass. I am using the BP-9020 with the CS-9040 and SR-9040 amplified by Yamaha RX-A870 and I have found this combination to be excellent. I am looking to add the A90 (Dolby Atmos) height speakers in the near future. So far I am impressed with the performance of the speakers and I am very happy with the suggestions provided by Crutchfield advisors Mick and Norm. With their suggestions, I was able to put together a great system for my home. Highly recommend these speakers and Crutchfield's service and ease of ordering. Great team!!!

Pros: Good bass and good looking speakers

Cons: Fabric finish on the speakers feel a bit light to the touch.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9020

David from Wolcott, NY on 11/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally decided to upgrade my fronts, after some research I decided to give these a try and I could not be happier. They are a perfect addition to my home theater system. The sound is awesome and they look good.

Pros: Great Bass output Perfect fit for my Pioneer Elite 90 VSX.

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9020

Dan from Minneapolis, MN on 1/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought BP9020's after researching comparable floorstanding models for 4 months. Bipolar design and adjustable, built-in subwoofers are a great fit for my 18' x 45' room. Sound is natural and clarity is excellent. I plan to add more Def. Tech. components in the future.

Pros: Small footprint, clean look, bipolar design, atmos speaker capabilities, great sound

Cons: Small washers for base fasteners could be beneficial

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Definitive Technologu speakers

Nic. from Ft Myers, FL on 10/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed new speakers after my 30 yr old Missions started to die. Looked at Cambridge and Klips. Called Eddie and as we live in a Florida house with a great room he recommended the Definitive Technology as they would fill the room and boy was he right. There is no single sweat spot, just great quality sound all around the room. I love the powered base that gives so much depth to the sound. Overall so much better than my very old, but very expensive speakers. Technology has come a long way. Highly recommend them.

Pros: Quality of sound. Clarity works well with my Denon and plenty of power. High and mid range are good. Need to work on the low range sound

Cons: They look very good. Not sure about fabric finish on all sides, especially if you have a hyper cat.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

TOP