Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Bipolar floor-standing speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # IECA-A

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Bipolar floor-standing speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # IECA-A

18 reviews
View this product

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Guest from Coral Springs Fla on 9/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound. I've added the Atmos speakers and a matching Def Tech center with a separate sub. Just outstanding room filling sound at any volume. 5 stars all day.

Pros: Just listen ??. And these speaks seem to get better with use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice

Larry from Dade City, FL on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very crisp mids and highs with a pleasant sophisticated bass response that fills the room nicely.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Heavy at ~ 50 pounds.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Ulisses from Milwaukee, WI on 9/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sounding speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Love the nicely integrated subwoofer

Ron from Leesburg, FL on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW! bought these from scratch and dent for a great price. Very clean and classy looking but the crystal clear crisp sound even at low volume sets these apart. Replaced my stand alone DT sub-woofer and two front speakers from a DT pro theater system. Kept the center and rears. Totally happy.

Pros: Looks, size, sound, integrated subwoofer

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

BP 9040's sounds amazing!

Scott from Johnson City, TN on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced 25+ year old Klipsch floor standing fronts and a 12" Klipsch sub. Connected with full range speaker level input (no LFE) as is recommended in Definitive Technology literature. They are amazing! Will never miss dedicated sub. Debated heavily whether to get 9040's or 9060's - demo'd both, and very little difference - slight more range with 60's, but almost indistinguishable in smaller size room. Like with all speakers, some sources sound better than others. Overall: sound awesome, looks modern, frees up room space, and has very slick way to add Atmos!

Pros: Small foot print but big sound, bipole design, sweet looks, built in powered subs, ability to seemlessly add Atmos.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Crutchfield customer from Budd Lake, NJ on 5/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound experience

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 12 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

speakers sound great with clear subwoofer operation - no distortion. Customer service is great - one speaker's LED failed to illuminate with subwoofer operation, but customer svc has a replacement on the way - no questions asked/no hassle (subwoofer sound operated fine)

Pros: look great with all cloth grill covering 360 degrees. No wood matching worries. Sound great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Richard from Fort Myers, FL on 3/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would classify myself as a middle of the road audiophile on a budget. I appreciate clean, crisp sound reproduction with solid bass. I rate these speakers head and shoulders above other brands of equal or much higher price. The built-in subwoofers give the bass response that is lacking from most of the competition. My listening room is quite large with poor acoustics. My 130W/Channel receiver is able to drive these speakers to provide the immersive experience I enjoy. Buy a pair of these speakers or spend more on another pair and then add a subwoofer to match the performance of the 9040's. Your choice!

Pros: Great sound. Built-in subwoofers. Expandable with addition of Height Module.

Cons: I tend to notice the variable quality of the source audio signal more with these speakers than my old ones. Probably because the good source material sounds so much better on the 9040's. That's a Pro not a Con, isn't it?

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Incredible

Raymond from Fresno, CA on 2/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Truly incredible sound from these awesome looking speakers. One of the best hands down and highly recommended. Very precise and crisp sound and massive bass when needed. Absolutely love it.

Pros: Precision, looks, price, sound quality, built quality and bass.

Cons: Nothing!!!

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Good overall.

Fola from Omaha, NE on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Built in bass is good quality and very convenient. Excellent speaker.

Pros: sturdy easy installation on board subwoofer good sound output

Cons: clumsy putting in banana plugs in the back

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Tom from Jadwin, MO on 2/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought open box........speaker has random pop in it!!!

Pros: Sounds great........except for the pop

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/20/2018
Tom, we're sorry you're having issues with your speaker. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 32 found this helpful

Definitive BP9040

Crutchfield customer from Waverly, IL on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good like the extra base missing a little separation of sound but overall I would recommend. A little over priced but like the small footprint. I sent another set of speakers back for these for size the only thing bad with Crutchfield is that they charged me 75$ to send back

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 22 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Crutchfield customer from Belleville, IL on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound for both music and home theater use. Definitely recommend. Crutchfield customer service is top notch!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Highly Recommended Speakers

Dr. J from N Little Rock, AR on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great. The built in sub-woofer eliminated our need for a separate sub-woofer and gave us extra space in the room. Another benefit is each speaker has a bass level control. The sound is very clear and crisp and I could hear sounds in old movies that I had never heard before even though I have watched the movies numerous times. These speakers fill the room with quality sounds. I would highly recommend them.

Pros: Space Saver, great sound, looks very good

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Edward from Cary, NC on 12/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great crisp sound and solid Base with the built in amps!

Pros: Compact size Incredible sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound, deep bass, smart design

Louis from Houston, TX on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The expansive, boxless sound of these direct/reflecting speakers makes them great for movie sound. The built-in powered subwoofers produce deep, resonant bass for effects you can feel, and the design saves you from having to place a separate subwoofer cabinet. The tower form means you don't need speaker stands, and the feet come with both carpet spikes and flat pads for concrete, hardwoods, etc. Because I didn't read the manual, I made a couple of dumb setup mistakes but Crutchfield tech support bailed me out. First, I didn't attach the height speaker modules, so the "height channel" inputs don't do anything. I also didn't realize that I needed to connect the subwoofer outputs on the receiver to the subwoofer inputs on the speakers.

Pros: Great form factor, open sound, deep bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9040

Crutchfield customer from Oak Lawn, IL on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AMAZING!!! The sound of these speakers is just amazing. The built in subs makes life a lot easier when you have limited floor space and they have plenty of bass.

Pros: Sounds and looks great.

Cons: Can't find any.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

BP-9040 bi-polar speakers

RINO from San Marcos, CA on 7/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sonic clarity and I saved money by not having to replace my sub-woofer as these speakers deliver awesome base with built-in powered sub-woofers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 16 found this helpful

TOP