Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Bipolar floor-standing speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # IEBA-A

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Bipolar floor-standing speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # IEBA-A

29 reviews
View this product

Impressive!

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sound! Very wide presence (aka soundstage). Excellent but not overdone bass. Paired with DT A90's and some old surround and center speakers (future DT upgrades). Sound is so lifelike I feel like I have to look out the window to see the birds I am hearing when playing Valhalla (which is done in surround btw). Also cranked some Pink Floyd Dark Side! 109 dB peak without working the amp too hard. Just like being there! Impressive!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Defective speaker. TERRIBLE DT CUSTOMER SERVICE and POOR DESIGN!!!!

Todd from ZELIENOPLE, PA on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair of these speakers. Straight out of the box, one had a dead "D" logo and a dead light on the back, indicating a dead subwoofer. I posted a message to DT Tech Support and was told that the amp board failed and they would order another, which would be available at the end of September. Who has to install it??? They wouldn't even answer that question. Early October, still no word. I check the status of my 'trouble ticket', and it was marked COMPLETED, but I didn't receive any part or any contact. Nice customer service. I had to open a TOTALLY NEW trouble ticket, explaining EVERYTHING all over again. After a couple of weeks a new amp board arrived. To be installed soon. The 'good' speaker seemed to work in the beginning, but when it is muted or turned off, it has a VERY annoying "tick" every 15 seconds that continues for 20 minutes, at which time the speaker exhibits a "pop" before going totally silent. THIS IS DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY ENGINEERING??? THAT'S RIDICULOUS!!! WHY??? Furthermore, they STILL won't answer my question that I post on their Technical Support regarding this problem. They simply ignore the question and mark it "Completed". I've invested this much in this pair of speakers, with over $3000 in Definitive Technology equipment, and this is the quality and service that you get for that price??? Inexcusible. This shows the true character of the company and the people that work there.

Pros: Unknown. Haven't been able to enjoy long enough to know.

Cons: TERRIBLE QUALITY CONTROL!!! TERRIBLE DESIGN!!! TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! TERRIBLY EXPENSIVE!!!

Crutchfield response on 10/27/2020
Todd, we're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. If you purchased these from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Well balanced

David from Springfield, OH on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me preface this by saying I am not an audiophile person. I only can provide feedback as to what i think is good or bad. I bought the BP-9060's and set up was simple which I love. The sound for home theater is so good and the included power sub woofer is plenty of deep bass (unless you prefer earth shattering wall shaking bass). Don't get me wrong there is deep bass but it is balanced which I like. The sound stage is excellent! No matter where you sit you feel like you are directly in front listing. Oh and for music they are excellent as well. For me a speaker should be just as good for both music and home theater in today's world. I am a average everyday person and if you are then these are excellent buy. Heck I think even some audiophiles would love them as well. Keep in mind your own ears is what you should use to determine what is best for you. Go try them out somewhere before you buy. Be patient and make a good choice. I did and found these were the best over all for the money I had to spend.

Pros: crisp clear voice, detailed, controlled bass, excellent sound stage, fills a big room, control the bass on each speaker, flexible where you set them up (play around if you can to get the best sound for you) and nice to look at.

Cons: Can get a little bright at higher volume. if you like earth shaken window rattling bass you will need more subs but that is for any floor-standing speakers in my opinion.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Vic from Poulsbo, WA on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super Awsum They are the best speakers That i have owned and coustomer support is the best I have ever dealt with Super job Crutchfield omly store I think I will deal again Definitive Technolgy A 9060

Pros: Bought 1 open box and one new one did not power sound contacted Crutchfield they had ups pick the next day for return top of the line Concert sounds

Cons: sorry I did not have the funds to purchase the 9080x

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Best in the market

Guest from Bridgewater, NJ on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its one of the best speakers for the money... just wish could replace all my speakers with these

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, IA on 2/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound amazing and even better customer service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers

Jerry from Jackson, MI on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these to replace my old Polk RTI 2000, Powered Towers speakers. I also decide to go all in replace my entire Polk surround system with all Definitive BP-9000 series, Towers 9060, Center CS 9060, Height speakers A-90 and Rears RS-9040. SHAZAAM! Huge I mean Hugh difference! What an upgrade, in movie watching to just listening to music. My Onkyo TX-RZ720 has many sound fields to make these speakers the best sounding speaker I have every heard weather I am watch normal Tv, DVD movies or just listen to music. I only had them for a couple of days playing so they are not even broken in yet. Manual says as they get broken in the sound quality will be better then just out of the box. Wow!

Pros: Adjustable Bass volume on back helps fine tune bass if you aren't using a good receiver. Great Highs and Mid range sounds. You do not need a separate bass this power sub is more than enough.

Cons: None than I can see right now.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Amelia Ct Hse, VA on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this pair of DefTech to go with my first pair from a purchase in 2013. Awesome sounding speakers. They are connected to my Yamaha Aventage A2010. The speakers sound excelleat all levels. I am very satisfied.

Pros: Excellent full rich sound. From the deep rich bass to the full mids and highs...All around excellent.

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Benton City, WA on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The BP-9060 has excellent sound quality throughout the entire listening range. The adjustable powered sub woofers produce deep, smooth base and is a feature all systems should have. The BP-9060 takes up very little floor space and is a very attractive addition to any room. It's hard to imagine other floor standing speakers that are as attractive and have the exceptional sound quality as the BP-9060 for a similar cost.

Pros: Exceptional in every respect.

Cons: Hard to think of anything.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great,very clear highs and good mids.

Pros:

Cons: One speaker came reasonably boxed and the other was loosely packed no protective foam and has damaged top left corner . This was not my first speaker from Crutchfield ;very disappointed if this is how they shipped my speaker. I will be buying more speakers and I try someone else.Very disappointed.Also the powered subs on these units pop every time they'er activated by audio. I didn't expect this from a modern speaker in this price range,my 18 year old KLH sub woofer does that go figure.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Small Powerhouses!

Michael from CALUMET, MI on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this pair of BP-9060s to replace an aging pair of Definitive Technology BP-2000s, which I have owned since 1995. They were still working well, but I wanted to replace my front towers, since I had already upgraded most of my other home theater components. The first notable difference was in the size; the new 9060s are much slimmer, and smaller overall. The weight difference is huge, also. (My old BP2000s were 120 lbs. each, and these are 50 lbs. each). But the sound of these new speakers is exceptional. They easily fill up my large 24'x24' room. The imaging is excellent; although they are bipolar like my old pair, the focusing is weighted more toward the front firing drivers, making them excellent for movies as well as 2 channel music listening. Plenty of bass, crystal clear, smooth highs, and a nice full midrange without any bloat. I love them so far, and if they last as long as my previous pair, they may be the last pair I need to purchase. As usual, shipping from Crutchfield was timely, and the packages arrived without a scratch. I'm very pleased with this purchase.

Pros: Small size, light weight, but huge sound.

Cons: They are expensive, but I purchased them during a brief discount period, which saved me $$$.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Finksburg, MD on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Port Orchard, WA on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the bp9060's as an upgrade to my 9020s. Wow!. Simply amazing. Topped with the a90 atmos modules they bring my home theater to life.

Pros: Amazing sound. Deep bass with decent highs

Cons: Maybe a slight to much in the midrange

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

WOW!

Crutchfield customer from Breaux Bridge, LA on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker! Awesome sound! Upgrade from klipsch R-26f. Will possibly buy two more for the rears. Purchased as scratch and dent other than the packaging looking like scratch and dent the speakers look flawless!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent sound, no sub needed.

Jim from Sarasota, FL on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has been a long time since I have upgraded my system speakers. Had Bose 6.0; they never really gave me the sound I wanted. I needed a multi use speaker. TV for the family, music for me. The Customer service steered me right. These are awesome speakers for the price. I purchased scratch and dent to save a little.the boxes were looking rough upon arrival, but the speakers were perfect.

Pros: Great full sound. Good with movies, great with music.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent speakers

Paul from Hightstown, NJ on 2/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these as part of my home theater setup because I needed speakers that were great for both movies and music. These sound very good for music with a decent flat frequency response (as measured with a phone app). For movies I was impressed with the low frequency effects. With the subs turned up the speakers seem to automatically compensate with the levels of the midranges (provided you use the speaker inputs, not the separate sub inputs from your AVR).

Pros: Flat frequency response

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Mirage, CA on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great, complements the room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Barry from Astoria, OR on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crutchfield customer rep. and I discussed both the Klipsch and Definitive Technology speakers and for my needs Lori recommended the BP-9060's. Glad she did as they have worked out perfectly for my needs both sound wise and size wise. They look great and sound even better. Thanks Lori.

Pros: Crutchfield service is great. Extremely fast shipping. Love the integrated bass speakers.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers

Bryan from Tulsa, OK on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the speakers. The Crutchfield customer support was outstanding as well.

Pros: Look and sound fantastic

Cons: I didn't get them sooner.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Amazing! Look and sound!

joe from Little Elm, TX on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for the integrated subwoofer and the stunning design. Love them, wife liked them too. They sound amazing. Bass is clear and natural. I'm getting two more and A90 for 9.2 surround all diffinative tech!!

Pros: Huge sound. Small footprint, no need for separate sub.

Cons: Absolutely none!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, OH on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im running 4- BP 9060's with A- 90's on top of each, along with a 9060 center channel & I am very pleased with the sound from this set-up. Fully enveloping, good crisp highs & plenty of bass with all of those powered subs!!

Pros: everything about them

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Outstanding

Dave from Porta del sol, PR on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This are better than expected and I did have high expectations... Movies-sound live and in your face with lots of presence and dynamics without being harsh or fatiguing. Action scenes will leave you wanting more. Music- this is the part I was more impressed by the 9060's. They handle acoustic music with finesse and detailed while showing warmth that begs for more volume. Sound stage is enormous and just envelops you in a bubble of sound. With my 2 power subs subs I have the x-over settings set to small towers @ 40hz, center @ 80hz and surrounds @ 90hz. I do think they can suffice well without additional subs if your room is not that big but know that the 9060's will go down with authority to the low 30's, beyond that you will start losing the punch they give in the 30-60hz region. Overall amazing speakers for movies & music with sleek aesthetics but please pair these with a decent AVR/AMP such as , Denon, Yamaha, Marantz, Pioneer-Elite, Onkyo etc. Rest of the system: Yamaha RX-A1050 AVR, def tech 9060-CS, def tech pro-monitor 800 x 2 and JBL-ESL250B(12" 400W) subs x2

Pros: Detailed warm sounding, sleek

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

John Knows

John from Little River, SC on 11/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super,Super speakers. When I saw these on sale, there was no delay in placing my order. So happy to have a set in my home. Thanks, Crutchfield

Pros: All Pros !!!

Cons: None !!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 6/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for a speaker with integrated subs to save space in the living room. Still running these with an older Yamaha THX receiver until the new Yamaha receiver version is released. These speakers rock our 23' deep by 18' wide theater room! Can't wait to hear it with the newer Yamaha RX-A2070 still waiting to be released with Atmos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent Choice

Robert from North Las Vegas, NV on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was between this or the BP-9080. I chose these for the 10" subs; much tighter to my ear. I love Definitives built in subs; it saves space. I'm a gear junky but have gotten to the point where I'm tired of so many speakers (surround setups). I have this paired with the CS-9080 (center) powered by a Yamaha RX-A3060 in just a front stage setup. I purchased the Atmos modules and they throw sound up which to me is just enough without over doing it. I actually enjoy my music and movies more with it straight in the face. Kind of old school but to me it's become much more enjoyable without the business of surround. Love that early Eddie Van Halen left channel guitar.

Pros: 10" sub built in Atmos module ready. Great looks.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

travis from Winter Garden, FL on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things rock! I had heard these speakers before and was worried that I would need the 9080's. but these things are the perfect size and sound great, for my room! The powered amps sound great and help offload the main amp.

Pros: Look great, sound great!

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Solid front tower speakers

John from Richmond, VA on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I decided to replace my aging Paradigm home speaker system, I read numerous reviews all over the internet about speakers within the price range I wanted to spend. After speaking with my advisor, Buddy, I decided on the BP-9060's. At the time, Definitive was providing a center channel free with the purchase of two towers which made the deal even sweeter! These speakers are unique with their bi-polar arrays. I wasn't sure if I would like them, but I thought I would give them a chance and I have not been disappointed. My current setup is two of the 9060's, a CS-9060, and two SR-9040 surrounds driven by a Yamaha Aventage A-2050. When watching movies, the powered subwoofers in these speakers give adequate rumbling and bass while maintaining amazing clarity on the high end. I have decided against adding in my powered 12 inch sub due to the strong bass provided by the towers in my man cave. The sound field is much wider with the bi-polar design than what I previously had with the Paradigms. The high's are also much more crisp. They also seem to be very efficient as I don't need much volume from the Yamaha to drive them to more than adequate listening levels. Crutchfield's service is unbeatable in today's day and time. Glad I made this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Tony from Abilene, TX on 10/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed them paired with a CS9060-they look great and sound awesome! No regrets! Crutchfield's customer service is absolutely the BEST!

Pros: Looks great, Amazing Sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9060

Crutchfield customer from Folsom, CA on 8/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still breaking them in and I'm not one that writes reviews well, But I love the sound from the Pair of BP9060's and CS9060. I am now enjoying my vinyl LP's again and and the movies truly come alive,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

TOP