Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Dolby Atmos® enabled bipolar floor-standing speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # IEAA-A

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Dolby Atmos® enabled bipolar floor-standing speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # IEAA-A

20 reviews
View this product

Dad

Crutchfield customer from Hutchinson, KS on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After getting all the kids raised, it was time for me to finally upgrade my speakers. And boy, did I. The 9080x is everything you would want in a speaker, clarity, depth, range. These speakers are amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Defective Def Tech BP9080x

Harold from SAN ANGELO, TX on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have given this review a lot of thought regarding whether or not it should be submitted. I purchased a scratch & dent Def Tech BP9080X. I expected a blemish or two, but received a defective speaker. The "D" light on the front of the speaker, a neat aesthetic feature, does not work. I called Crutchfield and it was agreed that the light was probably the reason the speaker was returned. I was advised that this issue qualified it as scratch & dent. Crutchfield defines scratch & dent as "These open box items have minor cosmetic damage. In some cases the manufacturer's accessories have been replaced with generic equivalents. The manufacturer's warranty applies." I do not believe that any defect on any item, as defined by Crutchfield, falls into the scratch & dent category. A DEFECTIVE ITEM SHOULD NOT BE OFFERED FOR SALE WITHOUT THE BUYERS KNOWLEDGE. If I had been made aware, I do not know if I would have purchased the speaker. I was not given the opportunity to make that decision. It was suggested that I could contact the manufacturer. I have two problems. They did not sell me the defective product and it appears that I would have to pay for shipping and insurance to get it repaired. Ouch! I did purchase a second BP9080X and reserved a CS9080 at Crutchfield. Because of Crutchfield's reputation, I passed on "open box" opportunities at Best Buy on both speakers. The purchases at Crutchfield were made for the amount of the sales price.

Pros: Great Speaker

Cons: Defective light

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound--got the 9080 specifically for the 12" subs which give very nice deep bass.

Pros: Very nice quality sound both tweeters and with the subs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Def Tech 9080x

Bobby from LITTLETON, CO on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I LOVE my BP-9080 Def Tech tower speakers!!! You can't go wrong with built in subwoofers in each tower!! I have never had Def Tech speakers prior to purchasing my 9080x's. I had many speakers before and in my opinion Def Tech blows them all out of the water! I have since upgraded my home theatre to a 9.2 surround sound all Def Tech speakers! Had to get the matching 9080 center speaker and that speaker is killer with it's built in subwoofer! In my opinion it only makes sense that a center speaker has a subwoofer. In a 5.0 setup I noticed that the bass tends to come through the center speaker the most without a sub. As always Crutchfield has the best customer service and they are my go-to for my electronic needs and/or wants. Would definitely recommend to anyone and everyone that like me needs great bass, excellent treble, excellent midrange and phanamanal acoustics. I can't turn it up without knocking down the house!!! I might mention that make sure both sub volume knobs are in the same position for nice stereo bass.

Pros: Treble, bass, midrange, acoustics and superb life like sound

Cons: Heavy but nothing else

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Crutchfield customer from Grove City, OH on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently upgraded my sound system in my home with the Def. Tech. 9080x to replace my older mirage speakers .. I was honestly nervous at first because I never heard of the brand but trusted Crutchfield and I am so glad I did because these speakers are awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced aging Mirage surround sound speakers. The Definitive Technology BP-9080X speakers are amazing. The highs are crystal clear without being harsh. The mid-range is clean and focused. The built-in subs have plenty of power and range to support any movie or music without getting muddy or boomy.

Pros: Built-in Dolby ATMOS. Built in powered sub-woofer.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology Bipolar Series Is Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Moved up to this speaker from a 15 year old def tech bp 10. SPECTACULAR. I LOVE the sound from these speakers. Literally the best I have ever heard. I highly recommend these and expect them to last me another 15 years.

Pros: Awesome unbelievable sound

Cons: Lots of connections to make for primary + atmos speakers + sub LFE channel....but well worth it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow

Nathan from HIGH RIDGE, MO on 1/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing speakers. Music sounds incredible. The bi-polar speakers fill the room like you're in a concert hall. The movie watching experience is better than going to the theater. I've had a traditional theater setup in previous house with a 12" sub and there is absolutely no comparison. Without an additional sub the bass from the towers is so powerful you can feel it in your bones, but no matter how much I turn it up these things are crystal clear. I have them paired with the matching center/surrounds and a Denon 1403. Keep in mind you'll need an extra set of speaker connections for the Atmos speakers.

Pros: Sound quality is next level.

Cons: Large size and bi polar setup requires they be setup several feet from the wall, so you'll need a significant amount of space. Biggest downside is how badly you'll be spoiled. You won't be able to listen to music or watch movies any other way.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kick A** Sound!

Crutchfield customer from Downers Grove, IL on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely fabulous! This set of speakers is pumping out sound that frankly....I've never heard before....It sounds like you're in the recording studio with the muscians. Can't go wrong....The design is also very sleek.

Pros: Delivery was tracked very well. Packaging was good. No damage to the speakers. Easy to install and set up with our Yamaha receiver.

Cons: A bit tall but we're ok with it.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Michael from Ashland, VA on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded to these from a set of Definitive Technology's BP-9040 and was blown away. These speakers give every bit of performance that you would expect from a flagship speaker. The stereo imaging is very good and the built in subs help even out my room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible, beautiful, full, rich sound!! Best speakers I have ever had. Immersive - a three-dimensional sound experience - the music just pops right out and makes you feel good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Tony from Calera, AL on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speakers I've ever owned without a question! Very full speaker and I got rid of my sub and only use the 2 towers subs.You won't go wrong!

Pros: Best sounding speakers, full sound!

Cons: No cons at all!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9080x

Bill from Greenville, IN on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers. They sound great with good mids ,highs and lows. There is a full emersion with the bipolar design that really just pulls you in the movie itself. The atmos speaker on top does and effective job to help the full emersion with movies and music. I like that you can adjust the bass to the level you desire with the touch of a button. These speakers are tall and fill a room with sounds you probably have never heard. I paired them with a Marantz SR8012 and they just came alive like I never heard music or movies before. The CS9080 center does a yeoman's job to really set the stage and literally just reaches out and grabs you. Special thanks to Crutchfield they made everything go very smooth and that's why I keep coming back for all my needs. Cheers!

Pros: Very good appearance, sound and quality. Good emersion from the bi-polar design . Touch control on the bass is a nice touch and Atmos speaker on top does an effective job to help everything come together. The Cs9080 center channel is just simply amazing.

Cons: The center channel is big so be prepared to make room for it. You just might love them so much you'll need another pair.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology BP-9080X

Crutchfield customer from Federal Way, WA on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic speakers. I compare them against my Martim Logan electrostatic system speakers and they are close to MLs in all respects. Great buy from Crutchfield, they responded to my order quickly and accurately. I reccomend them highly, a great company to buy from.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sound

Darrell L. from Charlotte, NC on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound.

Pros: Blends in with furniture.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Beautiful Sound

Joseph A. from Huntington Beach, CA on 12/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers. Ordered on a Saturday and arrived via UPS the following Friday. Large well-padded packaging. Easy to follow unpacking directions except for the limited space imposed by my ceiling. UPS called the morning of delivery to see that someone would be home (gave a three-hour window), and the delivery driver called later to narrow the window to an hour-and-a half. Delivered on schedule. Not counting navigating the speakers through the living room furniture, the set-up was easy and connecting to my new Yamaha RX-A1070 Receiver and Panamax M5300-PM Power Conditioner was a snap. The sound produced by these speakers is beautiful. Highs, lows, mid-range and bass (nice to be able to remove my massive Yamaha sub-woofer). Movies and shows from cable, disc and Apple TV sound crisp, sharp and warm. My 50-year-old vinyl sounds better than ever -- The Doors -- just WOW. When the rest of my cables arrive, I'll connect the "height" speakers (and the last two surrounds). As part of the purchase of these two towers I received a "free" CS9080 center speaker. Alas, the center speaker is too large for our cabinet and too small to mount the TV on. I will correct this sometime in the future, although that future may be a bit distant. My current B&W CC6 center speaker does an excellent job with the towers and the four B&W DM-601s provide excellent surround sound. I am quite looking forward to enjoying their sound for some time to come. Will amend this review if necessary.

Pros: The sound is just beautiful.

Cons: Packaging is a bit unwieldy, but even this retired 67-year-old teacher was able to unpack and install on his own.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Two speakers + one bass = This product

Will from Charleston, WV on 8/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great. Also like how this is one unit which gives you two speakers and a subwoofer. It is tall so be prepared for a special delivery and a really large box to recycle. Unit comes well packed with some extra details taking to packaging that gives it an elegant experience. There is a light on the front bottom, but this can easily be turned off.

Pros: One unit serving three functions Impressive look in your theatre.

Cons: Large box to get rid of afterwards

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awsome!

Dennis from Las Cruces, NM on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't matter if you're after the sight or the sound -- these beautiful speakers have both! When the boxes containing the speakers arrived, I couldn't imaging HOW I was going to get them OUT of the boxes. Definitive packaged them very neatly-- no sweat!,

Pros: Exceeded expectations

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Money well spent

BIll from Wilkes Barre, PA on 1/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the previous reviewer, I am using the CS-9080 as a center. I also have Polk surrounds for 5.2.2. I am using a Marantz AV7703 processor and two Emotiva XPA Gen 3's for amplification. These 9080X towers were a BIG upgrade from my Def Tech BP7002's I had previously. They are very crisp, have deep bass, and great imaging. Very pleased, you can't go wrong with these.

Pros: Excellent sound stage, easy to drive, very crisp sound

Cons: none,

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

The dream set

Manny from mdfuzz@gmail.com on 1/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My units are currently running off a Marantz SR5010 receiver. The sound is unbelievable with the self powered Def Tech CS9080 center channel. It immerses you in sound you can feel in your chest and bones at any volume level. The bass and mid range clarity is super crisp and second to none. Took the pricey leap when the sales promotion included the $1000.000 CS9080 center channel for free that let me score the described highest end Def Tech trifecta for under 4 grand. Will soon be using a pair of Polk T20e reference speakers as rears for the complete surround effect. Happy customer!

Pros: Second to none, believe the hype!!

Cons: Pricey without sales promotions. Large speakers that mean business!

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

TOP