Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Center channel speaker

MFR # KECA-A

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Center channel speaker

MFR # KECA-A

33 reviews
View this product

A rich sounding center

Crutchfield customer from Del Rio , TX on 11/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Coming from a Pro Cinema 1000 set up in which I loved, I really didn't think it could get much better unless I spent an exorbitant amount of money, well the CS9040 has proven me wrong. Everything sounds so much clearer and fuller, no regrets in the purchase and although it is a sizeable speaker it fits my cabinet and looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 7/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible speaker that matches well with my BP9020 towers and Supercube I.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great center channel speaker!

Crutchfield customer from Milford, DE on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired these with my def tech 9020 towers and super cube 2000. Great sound and clarity.

Pros: Nice clarity with dialog.

Cons: Takes up a lot of space on my stand, but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Shelby Township, MI on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 2/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great center speaker. Voice matched with the towers, good volume for a large room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Clearer sound when watching tv

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, IL on 1/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is definitely a upgrade from my from my 18 year old center channel. I can here the voices clearer and its louder and it looks nice,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound

Claudia from Woodbridge, VA on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound...I just bought it and I look forward to many movies with a good sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 8 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Gordonsville, VA on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

what a huge difference in my 5.1 setup

Pros: clear dialogue and improved bass

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 10 found this helpful

Dad Tech 9040 Center Channel

Crutchfield customer from Riverview, FL on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional speaker crystal clear dialogue. Very happy with purchase and a great sale price purchase. Would recommend. Paired with Def Tech STS Mythos. Great sound!

Pros: Crystal Clear

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like Definitive speakers. I have an older set of BP-10s that I am using as front/main speakers in a media room, and they still sound good, but I was running the system without a center channel speaker, and even though the receiver was calibrated for its absence, the sound was still a bit off. I have Definitive in-wall rear speakers as well, so I wanted to stick with Definitive for the center channel. This series of speakers looked fairly impressive, but I didn't need a center channel with a powered subwoofer (even though it was tempting) because the Velodyne 12" subwoofer I currently use more that fills the space with bass. This was a nice option in that it has an additional passive woofer to round out the low mid ranges, while the mids and highs are accurately reproduced. This fits nicely in with my existing speakers and rounds out the sound perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, WY on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptionally clear, full range center speaker. I was having difficulty understanding some TV and movie dialogue, and this replacement center speaker solved the problem completely. I previously purchased the same speaker for the better of my two surround sound A/V systems, and I thought it was well worth the price I paid for the first one. The same speaker is now much cheaper, which is an excellent price for its high quality. Some people see the center speaker as secondary, especially if they use a good front L/R pair with a sub for critically listening to music (as I still do); but most TV, video, and online music sources rely first and foremost on the center speaker -- so don't try to skimp (save money) there. My advice is to make the center speaker the best (typically, the most expensive) speaker in your system, and this one is a great choice (as are the DefTech CS9060 and CS 9080) if your budget allows.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 11/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent purchase. Does everything I need it to do.

Pros: Perfect size and awesome job making it look like a piece of the furniture instead of a chunky speaker

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 13 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Full range and clear dialog. Great for movies and TV. Very happy with the purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 13 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 10 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Christopher from NC on 8/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this center as part of a 3.0 setup in a small room (10' x 11') with the DefTech D7 bookshelf speakers as fronts and a Yamaha RX-A780 AVR. The center is placed within an open front media cabinet with a couple inches of clearance on both sides and above the passive woofer. Dialogue is clear, with plenty of low end and blends well with the front speakers after using the microphone calibration from the AVR. I have not noticed any boominess or resonance from the placement in the cabinet. The speaker cabinet itself feels very solid.

Pros: Clear dialogue. Plenty of bass.

Cons: Difficult to place due to the size of the speaker.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Shaun Kalwani

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 3/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing clean sound. Best center I've ever heard. Glad i mad this purchase. Had a smaller definitive center already. Glad I upgraded best purchase ever!!! Hands down.

Pros: Best center speaker ever

Cons: Shaun Kalwani

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good, distortion free clarity

John from Midland, TX on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This purchase was the icing on the cake. It completed the sound that was incomplete in the tower speaker ONLY configuration. Although the tower speakers were sufficient and offered good clarity, adding the center speaker really expanded the sound and completed the treble delivery that was lacking.

Pros: Can handle even the highest volume and still remain distortion free.

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

A Great Center Channel Choice

Mike from Calumet, MI on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 5.1 system of Definitive Technology speakers that I purchased way back in 1995 that are still going strong, but I am finally upgrading them to newer models. I started with the CS-9040 due to the sale price at the time; it is replacing an old CLR-2000 center that is still working. The new one is lighter, and a bit smaller overall than the old one, but the sound is excellent. It projects dialogue out into my listening room better than the old speaker, and has plenty of punch. I looked at the 9060 and 9080, but since my setup already has plenty of subwoofer presence, I chose the 9040. If you sometimes have problems understanding dialogue when watching movies, this unit might solve your problem. I have also purchased the SR-9080 surrounds, and hopefully will be adding the 9080 front towers this spring. You can't go wrong with Definitive Technology. They are not cheap, but they sound like other systems I've heard that come in at a much higher price.

Pros: Crisp, clear dialogue projects out into the listening room.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Clarity

Darrell from Dallas, TX on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The excellence Ive come to expect from Def Tech

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Marlton, NJ on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear sound. Good bass. Matches the BP9040 towers perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 12 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Pinole, CA on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 18 found this helpful

STRONGER CENTER SPEAKER

Jim from Independence, OH on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even though I got this speaker on sale, it was still expensive. It improved my ability to understand dialogue of TV drama programs by about 50% - but - no cigar. I purchased this speaker specifically to improve my ability to understand TV drama program dialogue. Turning up the volume does not work since it becomes too loud for others watching TV eve though they also cannot always understand the dialogue. I know it is not the receiver since it is also new and is at 130 watts and I have tried every Movie/TV audio setting on the receiver. Not sure if I am going to return the speaker or keep it. I rated this speaker 4 stars because of all the other reviews and I am probably an exception because I wear hearing aids.

Pros: Impovement over Def Tech 1000 center speaker.

Cons: Did not completely resolve my issue of not being able to understand dialogue of TV drama shows, ie. NCIS, Bull, Elementary, etc. - especially dialogue from females.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 14 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Charles from GA on 4/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This center speaker smell like electrical burn coming from it. Defective Will be sending it back.

Pros: Sounds good

Cons: Electrical smell.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 40 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great. good voice separation from L/R speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 11 found this helpful

Finally a Center Channel that fills the middle!

Eric from San Diego, CA on 1/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fills in Center channel that Ihad been missing with my DT Mythos center. Big upgrade and love it. Crutchfield is the best.

Pros: The 9040 finally fills in my center audio field wit rich full sound and I can actually hear the dialogue.

Cons: Expensive if paying full price and non-powered sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Belleville, IL on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound for both music and home theater use. Definitely recommend. Crutchfield customer service is top notch!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Edward from Cary, NC on 12/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice center speaker Voices fill the room No distortion

Pros: Free with purchase of front Speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Hassan from Riverview, FL on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitive Technology is the brand to go with, this center channel offers exactly what I was looking for, clarity of the speech.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Great deal and sound!!

David from Akron, OH on 11/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered open box unit for a great deal. Looked great and works flawlessly!!! Sounds great with my system!! Love the new center speaker!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Good overall sound

Carlos from Jupiter florida on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great center speaker for the money. Replaced procenter 2000

Pros: Good sound especially mid range

Cons: Quite large.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Crutchfield customer from Oak Lawn, IL on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this center channel to go with my definitive technology 9040 tower speakers. After I connected everything I realized I was missing so much dialogue with my old system. The passive woofer adds just enough low end to the center channel.

Pros: Looks good and sounds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9040

Dan from Minneapolis, MN on 1/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased CS9040 to accompany my BP9020's. Replaced older Bose surround system. Naturalness and clarity of sound is exceptional. Matches up well with the floorstanding speakers. When Def. Tech. says their center is "full range", they're not exaggerating.

Pros: Superb clarity with sound and dialogue. Well constructed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

CS-9040 center speaker

RINO from San Marcos, CA on 7/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

before purchase of the CS-9040 we had difficulty following the dialog of both streaming and DVD movies. Now that has all changed and we can concentrate on the movie and soundtracks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP