Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Center channel speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # KEBA-A

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Center channel speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # KEBA-A

34 reviews
View this product

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Hagerstown, MD on 11/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A beast. Really fits well in most any environment. I can't imagine why you'd need the next model up which has a 2nd subwoofer. This speaker voices music well in addition to speech and that's important to me since I use the enhanced stereo mode on my receiver.

Pros: Rich and clean.

Cons: Electronics may limit life of the unit as opposed to a non powered dynamic speaker.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Maiden, NC on 10/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible!!! I had an older DT center channel that I was completely happy with but wanted to upgrade to match the 9060 Towers. I was afraid I might be disappointed considering the drivers were a size smaller than my older center channel but was totally blown away with amazement at how well it performs! Very intelligible dialogue and excellent low end response! I would recommend this setup to anyone wanting professional sound for less than $5000! Pair them with a YAMAHA receiver and you won't be disappointed!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 7/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great center speaker. It adds clarity for the speaking parts as well as center bass when called for. I couldn't be happier. The same high quality and craftsmanship from Definitive Tech.

Pros: perfect match for my A 9020 Towers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Hermann, MO on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dialogue is clear and understandable. Definitely the center of the soundstage. Hard to beat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded to CS-9060 from a CS-8040, significant improvement and better matches our BP-8060 towers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Must-have for a minimalist approach to a massive sound stage!!!

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For those who want a minimalist approach to a massive sound stage.. look no further. The built in amp + subwoofer adds much needed clarity and power to your home theater. The center channel is the work horse and this horse started galloping @ full speed after install. I was able to hear dialogues, small sounds to massive sound effects... all without having to increase the volume & in full clarity! I'd been reading about this on multiple sites and forums & I'm glad that it was on a $100 off... the one day delivery from Crutchfield made the deal sweeter :) If you're putting this on the floor of your theater - use silicon door stops to tilt it upward to your seating & you'll hear the difference!

Pros: Additional amp without the additional wiring Massive sound stage Clarity in audio without increasing the volume

Cons: Pricier & heavier than your average center channel

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Martin, TN on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! The center channel is the most important speaker in a home theater setup. You will be impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

balanced

David from Springfield, OH on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are some very good center channels and this is not to downgrade any of them but this is by far the best channel center speaker I have heard. As I do with anything you should listen for yourself and take the time as this should last a long time. DefTech have put together some outstanding products. Price is always a concern for most including me but I am glad I bought this. It puts a smile on my face and my wife's face every time. I will say that you are best to run other DefTech equipment like the BP towers as DefTech already sets up the timbre (balance between each speaker working together). Remember your ears are your perfect source for anything when it comes to speakers.

Pros: does not sound like voices coming from a box. crisp clear imaging balanced sound stage is excellent

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

It's Meh

Carl from POOLER, GA on 8/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The center speaker does 90% of the work in a 5.1 setup. I was willing to pay more for the right the center speaker. Setup was easy, plug in the speaker and adjust settings. I kept it for a full 2 weeks, 4K movies, music, and HD Comcast. Conclusions: - Ran it in LFE configuration. Still REQUIRES a stand alone sub. This center by it self is not going to feel immersive in the lows and depths that only a powered stand alone sub can provide. (I run a Klipsch 10") - when you adjust sub on your receiver, you still have to manually adjust the center speaker. That means getting up because no two shows sound the same. - Speaker pops every time on power up. Got old, dogs didn't like it either - Dialog from tweeter was not as bright as Klipsch if thats your thing. If a person is going from speakers on just the TV or a cheap all-in -one surround speaker kit,yes, this speaker will appear phenomenal in the sound dept. But at this price point and you still need the stand alone sub, there are better center channel speakers to pick from at a lower price point. I also took into consideration the $1000.00 per tower speaker if I choose to keep this center. More money and just more outlets needed to supply power. (more popping during power up) I have ran Klipsch for 5 years. I went back to Klipsch and ultimately got the RP-600 center and Klipsch RF280Fs. Much better sound stage and much, much cheaper investment.

Pros: Customer support A+ Deb, SJ, Tom and others

Cons: Price point Wouldn't wanna try and wipe dust off after an extended period of time being the enclosure is all speaker fabric.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 14 found this helpful

Def Tech center channel

Crutchfield customer from Quilcene, WA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds Greate

Pros: Let Yapo set up and add the x bass in settings dont need built in sub because of Def Techs 9060 floor standing with subs built in for dual out put

Cons: Little tricky to fine tune with new complete system Yamaha RX A2080 A/V and Def Tech 9060 floor standing with atmos A90 9060 center and 9080 back surround and set up the Yamaha app takes a little bit of time but not doing this kind of set up before it is very easy on screen step by step instructions Make sure you open the face and push the connect button

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic center channel speaker

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is amazing, I'm actually kind of mad I didn't buy it earlier. It replaced a Polk CS20 which I've had for years. The difference is just huge, so much clearer! The woofer, while I thought would be kind of dumb, actually helps to balance out my system and provides a nice mid-bass. Overall, I'd easily buy this again in the future..just a fantastic speaker.

Pros: Sounds great, very clear, nice all around sound.

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Florissant, MO on 3/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CS 9060 is a great sounding center channel voices are clear it's very detailed when watching movies also great when listening to music

Pros: Would recommend to anyone looking to buy center channel

Cons: Nine

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, SC on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cost a lot, works really well as a center speaker. As we age, we may need extra help in understanding the voices coming from our hi-fi system. This center channel speaker does an excellent job, better than the last two I have used. Highly recommended. Most important speaker in my 5.2.2 system.

Pros: Does what it is intended to do well.

Cons: A little expensive; bought open box. No problems. Is it worth the money? Would buy it again.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best Center Channel!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such a full range of sound for a center channel. The added Sub makes so much difference!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very clean with style

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with a built in subwoofer. I noticed the difference as soon as I replaced my polk center channel speaker with the DT

Pros: Best of everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Kettering, OH on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Def Tech product. Excellent center channel speaker. The 8" sub built into the center channel speaker is awesome.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Ron from Springfield, IL on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars

Pros: Sound preformance is incredible !!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 10 found this helpful

excellent clarity and separation at all levels

Stanley from St. Thomas, VI on 9/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say, except "wow" Ordered this a month ago but had to wait for my BP-9020's and rear 9040's to arrive... finally got everything set up over the weekend and "wow, just wow". Using a Denon AVR (3400H) for a 5.2 system using a Y-splitter for the sub's on the fronts (so I guess in reality, it is a 5.3 system) and straight LFE connection for this center channel. The sound stage overall is awesome, but the center really seems to light it up... my room where installed is quite small and the distance between speakers is small, but I plan on moving and wanted a system that would work well in any potential new residence. Separation is awesome... clearest dialog for my Dish DVR, ROKU, and Blu-Ray movies (using a Sony 4K Blu-Ray). Listened to the college game on CBS yesterday and it was like I was at the game.... simply amazing. All the adjustments had to be manual because the Audyssey seems to be very confused regarding Bi-polar speakers but that was fine (I prefer to tweak it myself). Make sure you follow the recommendations if you use the LFE connection and set the crossover to 80 Hz or less. I went with the 9060 because of the addition of a subwoofer and so far, I don't regret that decision.

Pros: clear dialog excellent separation between the mids and the highs

Cons: so far, none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

My Definitive Technology CS-9060 is HERE !!!

Garry from Raleigh, NC on 8/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wooottt!!!! it has been delivered to me !! Unfortunately I am in the middle of construction building cabinetry for additional storage and to install my electronics... So right now my Home Theater system is torn down.. :-( My first impression upon opening the box was wow.. The Styrofoam that encased the speaker is solid. I love that the speaker was put into a black fabric sock. It felt really good and protected the speaker from scratches. The speaker feels really SOLID and pretty hefty in weight. The one thing that was a bit of a disappointment (not in a bad way) is that the fabric grill is one that is wrapped all around the speaker and is not easily removed like a traditional speaker grill. You can take the fabric off but you will end up disassembling the speaker and my luck would never be able to get the fabric back on and tight like how it arrived, it'll end up all wrinkly. Sometimes i like the look of exposed speakers. Can't wait till i get my equipment put back together and give this speaker a run. I am looking forward in what this center channel can produce. I will give an update.

Pros: Solid and quality build. Heavy.

Cons: Speaker Grill not removable like traditional grills.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 15 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Hannacroix, NY on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!!! I hooked this up with a set of BP9040s, I replaced a smaller center after hearing the CP9060 at a sound center. The base in this makes a big difference too. Its nice with music and movies for all that dialogue and I hear sounds I never heard before, I was missing so much but not know more!!

Pros:

Cons: Very large speaker make sure you have the room

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing center channel

Scott from Johnson City, TN on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced 25+ year old Klipsch center. Amazing sound! Built in powered sub in center channel - seeet!

Pros: Built in powered sub, clear dialogue, sweet looks

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Watsonville, CA on 3/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love the sound quality and wonderful center speakers

Pros: love the built in Subwoofer

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 12 found this helpful

Awesome Speaker

Sam from Brooklyn, NY on 2/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An amazing center channel speaker and the bass is great.

Pros: Excellent speaker, great clarity, super bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Fola from Omaha, NE on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

clean crisp dialogue built in bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 14 found this helpful

Center stage!!!

Dave from Porta del sol, PR on 12/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this center paired up with my BP-9060's and wow they are a match made in audiophile heaven. Dialog is crystal clear and natural as if someone was speaking in your living room. Music and movies sound alive, detailed and engaging. Driving you in the middle of the enormous sound stage the BP-9060's produce. Ares voice in: Wonder Woman will give you the "chills"... Even my wife said "wow... dialog sound's awesome" Settings wise: I have this set up with no LFE connection, receiver settings set to "small" and crossover set to 80hz. This was the sweet spot for me in terms of clarity and warmth as It blends perfectly with i'ts internal bass amp.

Pros: Clear dialog, warm and detailed sound in movies & music.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

A must have

Louis from Naples, FL on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just got this center channel for Christmas and I'm blown away. I just had the 9040 towers before and it sounds 100 times better with this addition. I'm extremely happy.

Pros: Dialogue, clarity, bass, quality

Cons: Size

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound Quality-Wow!!!

Joyce from N Little Rock, AR on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome speaker. It contains it's own sub-woofer so you don't have to have an addition sub-woofer giving more space in the room. The sound quality is excellent. We have been able to hear sounds in movies that we never heard before. And listening to music is pleasant. We love this speaker.

Pros: Excellent sound, easy to hook up and set up, great look.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

Crutchfield customer from Spanish Fort, AL on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Completely changed my home theater system. Excellent punch from the sub. Highly recommend this center channel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Added Bass

Crutchfield customer from North East, MD on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Dialogue with fine tuning. Added Bass with 150 watt built-in Sub. All in all a good addition to my Onkyo Home Theater System.

Pros: Great Dialogue

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

Awsome sound

Randall from Port Huron, MI on 4/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say that hasn't been said? This speaker is killer. At low volume it really thickens the sound. At high volume it just plain kicks butt! It blends perfect with my 9060 towers! The only down side is the size. My wife was able to find a very nice and expensive solid hickory cabinet that works real well with this speaker though!!

Pros: Sound is killer!

Cons: Size

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

greatspeakers

gary from Martinez, CA on 1/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well I'll start out,by saying it's a good speaker one that is tight and flexible!!!.Like many of the def. dec. speakers the manual for them is hard to understand?.large or small or both lfe or not?Called Crutchfield and they agreed with me play them small and the crossover 80.I have the 8060 towers and they can be confusing to set up as well.I have a Marantz 7010av.I like the the way sound on small no lfe for center channel but we have lfe both front 8060's two front towers.had the 2000 center def dec speaker they are also great speaker's.I'm 63 and old school -------------Just turn on and play. No not anymore you need a degree bio science etc.----buy these speakers and your friends will think your going on vacation "cs-9060 looks like a suit case lol. All and All they are a great speaker and the whole line is good,def dec.

Pros: nice volume

Cons: Looks suitcase.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

travis from Winter Garden, FL on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing bass for this center channel! I used to think that the bass wouldn't matter from the center channel - this thing proved me wrong! I love hearing every detail of the voice channel when listening to movies!

Pros: Sounds excellent!

Cons: Slightly larger than my previous center channel

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent Center Channel

John from Clarksville, TN on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker replaced an aging Paradigm center channel speaker, and I have to say, the upgrade is unreal. The powered sub in this speaker allows voices to come across more clearly and it blends very well with the BP-9060 front towers that I use. I no longer have to boost the center channel with the receiver in order to hear dialogue clearly. All voices out of this speaker sound very full, rather than the somewhat tinny sound I have had with other centers. Even though I received this speaker at no cost due to a Definitive promotion (buy 2 towers, get center free), I would have gladly paid full price for it to complete my home theater system. As always, Crutchfield service and selection are top notch, highly recommend.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Heavy - make sure you have adequate support

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9060

David from Grain Valley, MO on 8/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am in the process of upgrading my sound system and my research led me to Definitive Technmology speakers. I purchased 2 9020 tower speakers and they are spectacular. I then replaced an aging Infinity center speaker with a Def. Tech. 9060 Center Speaker. Wow! I am now mad I did not do the upgrade sooner as I hear things now in my music and movies I have missed before. What a difference these speakers have made! My next move is to add the ATMOS speakers to my Def. Tech. 9020's-they just fit right on top of them- and then add 2 more Def. Tech. 9020's to the rear. How exciting!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP