Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Center channel speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # KEAA-A

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Center channel speaker with built-in powered subwoofer

MFR # KEAA-A

32 reviews
View this product

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, DE on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow great center speaker I purchased from Crutchfield. All associates are very very helpful providing answers to my 1,000 questions I had to make my decision. The speaker it self was well packaged and after figuring out how to connect my banana cables and with the help of Crutchfield we figured it out together! I Can't wait to complete my front stage with def tech BP-9080X after another payment for my center speaker! Congrats to Def Tech for making a beautiful center speaker sound great with crystal clear dialogue and with the built-in amplifier you simply can't go wrong with this system! I will complete all my speakers BP-9080 line with Def Tech Towers, surround and backs really soon!!! After that TV is the next thing to purchase and I'm sticking with Crutchfield for all my future purchases and beyond

Pros: Crystal clear highs Has weight to the voices I never had Bass for that explosion's scenes

Cons: Only thing I can think of is sheer size It's HUGE. Make sure it will fit into your cabinet!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Surprise, AZ on 10/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great CS speaker the CS9080 adds depth and voices are clear and rich. This is a great company with really superb products and if you love full rich and a true to life experience, this is the product line (the 9080 series of towers and CS ) that I would recommend.

Pros: Excellent price to quality ratio

Cons: If quality sound is not a priority for you, it is a waste of money

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Santa Maria, CA on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality product, have it paired with 2 SR-9080 speakers and a SVS PB16-Ultra. Sounds amazing at all levels.

Pros: amazing quality, sound and looks

Cons: heavy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unbelievable FULL RANGE SOUND from a center speaker.

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 8/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best center channel I have ever heard in person. Blows away the B&W and large Martin Logans for realism. In less than a month, I thought my son was speaking to me on several occasions, when it was in fact, coming from this speaker. This speaker will allow you to ditch Close Captioning or notice the mistakes the CC system makes, as you can actually hear what is being said. The enclosed active subwoofer is quite impressive. I've got 4 subs in the system now, including front BP 9060s with built in subs and a HSU research 12" dedicated beast (goes down to 16 HZ). Also a Boston Acoustics sub that only goes down to 38HZ. Being that the towers go down to 18HZ, the 23HZ bottom end of this center is icing on the cake. But believe you me, it is something you won't want to give up once you try it.

Pros: Realistic human voice. Reference volume capable. Full Range down to 23HZ. All the bass you need for music. Great looks. Big, but not too big. Solid build construction. WAF is very high. Plenty of bass even without the sub plugged in.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better sound

Crutchfield customer from Elizabeth City, NC on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the sound I get from my center channel. It is a much more lively sound and completely fills my listening area. Can't wait to complete the set with more sound from this lineup. Thanks Crutchfield for making owning such an experience obtainable through your payment options!

Pros: Full sound

Cons: No option of displaying your speaker without the covered grill.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Oak Hill, VA on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! Final piece of my DT 9000 series system and it makes a world of difference. Perfectly balanced soundstage for movies and kicks on music as well!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Broken Arrow, OK on 7/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm happily surprised with this speaker. Highly recommend.

Pros: Clear sound, great bass, fills the room.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Theater Like Sound

Crutchfield customer from Hartland, MI on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dialog is warm organic and natural sounding. Subwoofer adds a nice heft to male voices. Excellent value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best center channel

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very impressed by the sound. Are used to have the definitive technology 8060 center channel and now just upgraded to the 9080 center channel and it was able to tell a huge difference. Send of technology knocked it out the box

Pros: Clear an excellent sound. Powerful subwoofer and when it's on sale it's an excellent buy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MO on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the CS-9080 to replace a high-quality but much smaller Def Tech center speaker I bought with a Def Tech surround setup a number of years ago. I immediately noticed an improvement in intelligibility of speech and much better center fill generally. The low end benefits a lot from the built-in powered sub, also. And it was very easy to hook up: speaker wires and plug it in. I am very pleased with the CS-9080

Pros: See above

Cons: It's heavy, but worth it!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Sargentville, ME on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've long wanted a speaker that would put my center channel on equal footing with my front left and right channels and the CS-9080 certainly fills the bill!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker. Should have purchased it sooner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Massillon, OH on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best center channel I've ever heard. This is the first step in updating my speakers and I'm very impressed. Loads of floor shaking bass, clean mids and smooth highs. I ordered the center first and I'm happy I did. It fills the room with excellent sound even at low volume. So I can thoroughly enjoy this full range speaker for a long time while I save for the towers,surrounds and atmos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology and the best center speaker ever

Michael from Providence, RI on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is easily the best center channel speaker I've ever heard. I know audio is subjective and there are plenty of audiophile brands out there but I can say with absolutely certainty that this speaker has the ability to wow any listener. Run it as a large speaker so it does it's own crossovers internally and let the speaker shine. Crystal clear highs without that piercing sound. Even and detailed mids and clean, consistent bass. It really does enhance your front stage and will even over power your mains if you don't have the matching BP9080X towers (trust me I know). You will not regret this purchase I'm sure if it. The best center channel speaker of all time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, MI on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is amazing! No more muffled vocals. Built in subwoofer makes a huge difference in center stage draws your attention more to the screen. This thing produce a lot of bass I turned mine down to just below half paired with BP8060 really happy. Beware this thing is a beast very heavy for center.

Pros: loud vocals and nice bass. Cost is little high but you get what you pay for.

Cons: big and heavy

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pairs perfectly with the BP-9080X towers. The built-in powered sub really fills out the center channel. Very clear dialog.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Really cool

Crutchfield customer from Rensselaer, IN on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like this center. Took a little getting used too. Love the addition sub for my setup. Still need to run audio balances. Definitely more sound than my older klipsch center. Probably will upgrade to the towers in the near future. Not sure I would pay full price though.

Pros: Great highs mids and lows.

Cons: Makes an odd sound when first getting a signal

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great base

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best center channel u can buy. Great base

Pros: Bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Expected More

Tom from Indianapolis, IN on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I guess I had too high expectations. I was looking for more bass even though there's only an 8" sub in it. Granted, my center channel was not working and I used the left channel to try it out. I took it back because I needed a new receiver. However, I will probably look at a different brand when I do. For a $1000 I felt it should have been better.

Pros: Size

Cons: Lack of bass

Crutchfield response on

3 of 51 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Tony from Calera, AL on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome center channel, goes perfect with my 9080's! Makes the sound that much fuller!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

John from Little Neck, NY on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best center channel speaker out there. You will not regret this you'll actually recommend it to everyone. Sound is beyond awesome, nothing more to say.

Pros: Excellent sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They staff was knowledgeable and extremely important helping with the decision of what would be the ideal center channel for me. All I can say is the product was exactly what I needed to give the high performance sound someone is looking for in higher end system. They speaker made a huge difference . It is the best center channel I have ever heard. Worth every penny spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 9/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really awesome sound!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Crutchfield customer from Miramar, FL on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from a CLR 2002 which I had for 14 years, thought this was going to be to much bass cause of the sub built in, mind you I'm running 4 SC6000 but I was wrong. This center has amazing clarity when playing movies/music. I recommend this center.

Pros: Great sound, impressive power, the subwoofer alone sounds like a independent sub.

Cons: Not really a con but make sure you have space for this monster and support since this center isn't light.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Dominic from Seattle, WA on 10/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this as an open-box item from Crutchfield with a nice discount; it had some minor wear marks on the exterior aluminum bits and the box had clearly been to war or something, but it arrived safely. The unit itself provides great sound that pairs fantastically with the DefTech BP9080 floor standing speakers. I've got mine driven by a modern Yamaha Aventage receiver and it sounds fantastic. Just be warned, this thing is BIG - make sure you've got enough room wherever you're planning on placing it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Definitive Technology CS-9080

Mark from Colorado on 6/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great center channel dialog couldn't be clearer and bass is impressive.

Pros: Crystal clear sound great bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 21 found this helpful

Excellent Clarity

Robert from North Las Vegas, NV on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just below a 75" Sony. Amazing clarity in dialogue channel. Paired with BP-9060 powered by Yamaha. Sound bars have thin tinny sound to me so this was it; no complaints.

Pros: Build quality. Excellent sound reproduction.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Worth every penny!

Justin from Syracuse, UTAH on 1/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best center channel I have heard! Extremely crisp mids and highs with thunderous low end that doesn't muddy the sound or boom at any volume! This speaker makes other center channels sound like dialog is coming out of a tin can. My next purchase will be a pair of BP9080x's. They have earned a customer for life.

Pros: Incredible sound quality and range Built in subwoofer Very well built Great looking

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

25 of 28 found this helpful

Definitive Technology Rules

Raymond from Fresno, CA on 12/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once again Def Tech has left me speechless! This piece of art really does produce sound that's no different from lifelike. So clear and pleasant to the ear that you just can't stop listening to it. Amazing tweeter, mind blowing mid ranges, and killer built-in subwoofer. Very beautiful to look at and very well built. Love the size and feel of it. I have this paired with Def. Tech. Mythos ST-L's as front left and front right along with 2 Klipsch R112 Subwoofers. All this is hooked up to my Pioneer Elite SCLX901. I have 4 pro monitor 800's as surrounds. By the way, I love Crutchfield. They are truly the best in the World.

Pros: Sound quality, built quality, looks, size, price etc...

Cons: From Def. Tech?? Are you kidding? Never!

Crutchfield response on

104 of 106 found this helpful

Big Bang

Doran from NC on 12/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This center channel speaker is an absolute beast and performs very well at clear, bold(big bass), full bodied sound. It's a difference maker!!!

Pros: Bass in the center channel and full tone dialogue!!!

Cons: Zero!!!

Crutchfield response on

23 of 26 found this helpful

Exelent

Alberto from Guayama, PR on 12/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Close your eyes and don't thinking twice. Wow what a great sound. Don't forget good cables. Audio quest. Esta bocina de canal de centro es tremenda, no piensen dos veces en comprarla cierren sus ojos y procedan a hacer la compra, no se arrepentirán. This center cannel speaker is tremendous, do not think twice about buying it, close your eyes and make the purchase, you will not regret it.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on 12/7/2016
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

8 of 386 found this helpful

DefTech CS-9080

ebyronf1 from Newcastle, OK on 9/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker, as always. I have had several versions of this same speaker and they have all been great. This newest one is no disappointment. Great sound and great bass response from a center channel.

Pros: Great sound. Great bass response, especially from a center channel speaker.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

20 of 23 found this helpful

TOP